Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Paine College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay focused on your studies because it is very easy to get distracted. Remember that you are the one pursuing a degree and not to let anyone delay your dreams.

    Bang for the buck

    Paine College may be on the expensive side, but it is worth every penny. I am getting my education, meeting new people, growing as an individual, having fun, and learning a lot about myself. There is no question in my mind that I am happy where I am at.

    Am enjoying being here

    Paine College is filled with much excitement and extracurricular activities. When involved, one is always busy. Even if you're shy, something is always taking part to keep students entertained and informed.

    Am learning a lot

    Due to Paine College's size, which is limited, learning is an essential. Many students, like myself, are hands-on learners. The smaller classrooms and less students in each class make it much easier to stay alert and focused.

  • 12/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Before going off to college learn to manage money and apply for scholarships.

    Bang for the buck

    Paine College is expensive but it is also a private college but the education is productive.

    Am enjoying being here

    You get to know nearly everyone there because the school is small and you get to enjoy the school events with friends that you meet.

    Am learning a lot

    Paine College is able to be more hands on because of its small size. Most student are able to learn better with more attention from the teacher.

  • 12/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college will be good for students with good heads on their shoulders and come eager to learn. Also for the ones ready to give a good addition to the alumni.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on coming the Paine College stay focused and you will learn a lot. There is plenty to do on campus so you will not become bored and there is times when they work together and make studying a habit.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy every moment of being here. There are wonderful fraternities and sororities. Don't forget the extremely talented sports teams that we have on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn a lot at Paine due to the small classroom sizes and hands on experiences. Here at Paine teachers know your name and your always able to have a one-one with your teacher. If you still seem to have trouble there are numerous amounts of tutorial places you can go to on campus free of charge. There is one for math, english/writing, and many more.

  • 06/01/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    That want to get away from home, but not to far.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is open to locals to walk around on. Some people who come on campus are drunk, but they don't stay long. If you call the campus security with any type of problem, they will help you

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at Paine is live. You will always here some kind of call being said during all times of the day. When its the weekend, there will be battles on the yard. Those are fun to watch.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs you can join at Paine it is ridiculous. I find it crazy if anyone graduates from Paine not being apart of something.

    Great for these types of students

    Paine is great for hard-working, head-strong, patient, lively, fun, and drama-free people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Paine is a religious school so you do have to attend chapel every Wednesday.

    Bang for the buck

    I seriously believe Paine costs too much, but that's just because I'm broke. Paine is a private College so there are reasons you have to pay more than you will feel comfortable to.

    What to do for fun

    At Paine, there are a lot of activities that go on throughout the week. There are parties by Greek organizations almost every weekend. The fall semester is the best semester because of the basketball games and local football games.

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast at Paine is AWESOME!!! There are so many choices. Lunch is not the best, but Paine makes sure you get all the nutrients you need. You also have the option of going to the Den. A side to the cafeteria that serves hamburgers off the grill and chicken tenders. Dinner is better than lunch, but not always the best.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Paine are old! They have been there for years. Some have been remodeled. You will experience some kind of problem once you are settled into your room, but, thankfully, we have great plumbers and etc. to fix all those problems.

    Academic Rigor

    At Paine, there are some teachers that are very difficult. Some of which are so confusing that it is up to you to study and teach yourself. Then, you have others that are passionate about their work and students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about going to Paine, I absolutely would advise you to meet all your professors through email, save money for books, and, most importantly, set goals for yourself and stand strong on them. There will be distractions!

    In three sentences

    Paine College is a College full of excitement and fun, if you make it that way. It's a small school, so you will be able to get that one-on-one attention from your professor. At Paine, your college career starts but, hopefully, you will take it farther.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    if you follow protocol and the campus safety regulations, you will be fine!

    Greek Life

    the greeks played a big role on campus. they stayed active which i enjoyed, there was always something they had going whether it was community based, campus based or simply a party or mixer.

    Clubs and Activities

    although i wasn't a part of any organizations there, i did affiliate and participate in a lot of things the different organizations had.

    Great for these types of students

    the fraternities and soroities always had something going on whether it was community based, campus based, or just for leisure. there was always a party to go to on the weekend and you didnt have to worry about anything crazy happening while you partied!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    when i went to school there we had chapel on wednesday. being a church girl, i found it exciting to go every wednesday, plus we didn't have class because it was mandatory. sometimes it could be a bit boring tho.

    Bang for the buck

    the school is very expensive but its a private school so you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    its only so much you can do in augusta. my roommate and i often traveled to south carolina to find things to do. the campus is very small, so on the weekends its like a deserted time. either get a car or find someone with a car and become their best friend lol! its a lot more exciting then sitting at school all day by yourself!

    Food and Dining

    the food was okay in the cafe but i really enjoyed the lion's den!

    Dorm Life

    i stayed in graham hall and i have to say, it wasn't the best but i enjoyed the freedom! i wish they would put some of the tuition we paid towards building some new dorms tho!

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers were very knowledagble in their area of study and offered tutoring whenever needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    have transportation! either have your own car or find someone that does because if not, you will be bored out of your mind, definitely if you aren't from augusta!

    In three sentences

    the tuition is high, the campus is small, but the environment is friendly.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it's a safe environment.

    Greek Life

    awesome.... need more kappa's...

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many like french, business, and computer science

    What to do for fun

    i hang off campus with my friends, go to mall, movies

    Food and Dining

    need more food suggestions. at least they watch out for the diabetics.

    Dorm Life

    they need to rebulid

    Academic Rigor

    many teachers care about their students succeeding. that's an honor. now and days many don't even care.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to excel for your best, let no one decide your future , only you.

    In three sentences

    paine college is an excellent school for preparing a great future. they provide an an extraordinary source for each subject you need assistance with. there are many clubs , scholarships, and internships that you can apply for.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    visits other schools in the area, great mall and school activities/sports.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining is your typical campus food experience.

    Dorm Life

    i stayed in the dorm for one semester. the dorms are in need of rennovation and upgrades.

    Academic Rigor

    excellent student ratio and professors are available to help you succeed in classes. the courses and grades are setup on point systems as opposed to your a,b,c scale.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know your professors, find students who have the same goals and who desire to get a college education. finally, take advantage of augusta and all it has to offer especially in the medical arena.

    In three sentences

    i'm currently a sophomore student who transferred from jsu in mississippi. at paine college, i appreciate the smaller classes as it relates to the student ratio. the smaller classroom setting allows for a better learning environment and personal relationships with your professors. the college is enriched with history and prides itself as one of the best hbcu schools in the nation. i'm equally proud to be a part of the new baseball program under the new head coach.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    English Club, Spanish Club, Orientation Team

    Great for these types of students

    Those who minded their own business!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Library!

    Bang for the buck

    Nothing!

    What to do for fun

    Read, Read and Study and hang out at the mall and walk.

    Dorm Life

    Lived it done that and it's not pretty had to move out! It needs to be more up-to-date and modernized I did not do well with dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Study, Study and Study some more focus, focus and focus and stay prepared to succeed for not only you the parent or parents or person who is pushing you towards completion and success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early when your mother says go to the campuses and look go! Prepare and save get a summer job in 10th, 11thand 12th grade and keep your money to help. It was hard for my mother a sinlgew parent without help to secure student grants, scholarships and beg plus we now have a $11,000 + loan that needs to be paid off.

    In three sentences

    I would rate it high since has helped me the past 4 years to get to the graduating status as a Senior. I am excited to look towards the future in school or a carrer path. I need all the financial asistance I can get to pay off existing loans.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety actually comes around and checks for locked doors on campus and check cars at time from the security booth.

    Greek Life

    A decent number of Greek fraternities and sororities are available for pledging at Paine College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a decent number of clubs here at Paine that are mostly geared towards the major you decide on and we also have a choir.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking to go into Biology, Paine College has an excellent Biology program that is steadily growing. They also has an excellent Communications department. If you are most about completing your degree and having a very academic setting, Paine College is an excellent choice. Paine College is also great for those who will need a lot of nurturing in their studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Due to the fact that Paine College is a religious based college, we have chapel/assembly every Wednesday. Chapel attendance is a great way to learn information about what is going on at the school and a speaker comes to inspire us every Wednesday.

    Bang for the buck

    The local bus transportation is free with id. The transportation cost are included in the tuition and fee for Paine. You also have a year long meal plan if you are living on campus.

    What to do for fun

    The main events to do for fun are going to the mall, the movies, or just hanging out.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Paine College lacks a variety at times. The weekends can be tough for students who stay on-campus. Thankfully, there are a number of fast food restaurants and other options to eat around the area.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is not always the best here in Paine, but at least they have dorms. The dorms here are not co-ed, because this college is a religious-based private college. There are four men dormitories and currently three female dormitories. I will leave it up to you whether you will want to stay in a dorm or off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The class here at Paine College can be extremely vigorous, especially as you pull closer to completing your degree. All majors must write a major paper before graduation. The classes can be tough, but ample help is provided on campus to help tackle those tough courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is perfect for adult learners and people coming to college straight out of high school. The curriculum is rigorous at times, but they provide a very nurturing environment for their students.

    In three sentences

    A prestigious religious-based Historically Black College that has a sensible college curriculum. The college has an interesting history and is very proud of its history. Paine College makes you feel like family and help you get there from here.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety could be a whole lot better. Paine College states that this is a gated school but none of the gates are closed or even finished! Campus security are late to uneventful things like fights or shootings. Campus security does not provide rides for students to the nearest doctors appointments, bus station, or airport shuttles that the college said they do for students if they can not find a ride.

    Greek Life

    Greek life has its ups and downs. The greeks do not get along with each other causing them to not participate in opposite sorority or fraternity events. There are no specific greek stones on campus or evidence that there are certain greeks at Paine College. Greek events may be unorganized or uneventful due to lack of participation or lack of requisition placed.

    Bang for the buck

    Paine College is not bang for the buck but more like bust for the buck. Tuition is 22,000 but the presence of the campus and student life is not what it should be to pay that much.

    What to do for fun

    Fun is what the students make it because their is not much to do on campus. The students play catch, dodgeball, kickball, baseball, football, and water balloon fights on the quad. If students do not create their own activities of fun, student life will be very boring indeed.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is something that was unexpected. Food is recycled because enough students do not eat the food. Dining could be in a bigger area because when the food is actually good, seats are limited so students are required to sit elsewhere. The food preps do take in precaution towards food allergies or vegetarians while preparing food for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay. The buildings are very old and could use major upgrades. From the early morning fire drills to the maintenance problems, dorm life could be better. Dorm life is what you make it cause not everyone is what they may seem.

    Academic Rigor

    Paine College has a limited academic curriculm based on them being a private, United Methodist church based college. This school has limited majors or extensive majors that are projected into a master's degree type of study. It is hard to transfer or go to summer school at Paine because they do not offer particular classes or have a strict curriculm where credits do not transfer.

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety are rarely even there to go through checking everybody or making sure nobody dangerous come on campus. The securtiy are only really deeply doing their job the first and last week every semester of school.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is growing now on campus because everybody is starting to join building more and more, and it is making Paine College be more effective in college.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are pretty good going through to be active on doing this, but the bake sale is getting really really old on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    It is not as great as it should be for students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The unusual traditions will be when we sing and say our PC, 1X, 2X, & 3X for our chant

    Bang for the buck

    It is terrible with the amount of money we pay every semester is no where even close to what we pay (we have financial aid trying to pay) each semester through school

    What to do for fun

    The fun activites may be some parties, sports events, or the couple of student events in the student center but that is mainly all. Every now and then greek life will throw parties and have something on campus but it is lesser and lesser each semester.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is terrible because it is sloppy, not fully cook, hard, and sometimes they run out of food. The food is not as good as the price that it is for the meals at Paine College. It really needs to be better because they will lose students and students will transfer from Paine because of the lack of effort they give to help students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is not up to the price or hype at all at Paine College. The dorms, for the guys, basic are with no stove, white walls, small rooms, smaller closet, and small lobbies with used or donate items. The Paine Villas is slightly better but is 3 out of 5 for stars just being nice with the place.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is ok, it can be better with more passion, communication, and working together as a team being truthful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be focus and be sure to look into every single details in the process of college or university

    In three sentences

    It is a good school for people want to show their education and talent. It is a college that needs to bring more and have more passion. It is a college that is way too much money that have very little for students.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety at Paine College's campus ok. Every since I've been there, the campus crime hasn't been as bad as it has been years ago. Although there are some people who come on campus and shoot guns, which i've experienced 2 years back. Security nevered made it on time and students would be running all over the place. Now they have took the security

    Greek Life

    Paine Colleges Greek life is very interesting because when you see someone Greek they are always open to hear what you have to say. the Greek's on campus are very friendly and they all get along because they knew each other before they went Greek. the main thing is that they actually make you want to become part of Greek life at an HBCU

    Clubs and Activities

    Everyone is almost the same on campus as far as religion, culture and politics. I gave it a because there are some who are outside the box and think/act as an individual.

    Great for these types of students

    This University is beautifully planned with abounding trees and flowers -- not haphazardly placed concrete

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Extracurriculars (sports, clubs, student groups, etc ) are easy to get involved with -- not exclusive or of low quality.

    Bang for the buck

    Windows are fixed, bathrooms kept in order, lights replaced -- nothing is in a 'falling apart' condition.

    What to do for fun

    There is a great social life and atmosphere, fun things to do every day & night

    Food and Dining

    Most common fast food restaurants like mcdonalds and wendys are near the school, and walking distance. If you don't have a car you wont really be able to experience all of the other dining restaurants. All of the restaurants like apple bees, chili's, red lobster etc are located downtown Augusta.

    Dorm Life

    Paine College has a total undergraduate enrollment of 891, with a gender distribution of 37.5 percent male students and 62.5 percent female students. At this school, 53.0 percent of the students live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing and 47.0 percent of students live off campus. Paine College is part of the NCAA II athletic conference.

    Academic Rigor

    The student-faculty ratio at Paine College is 12:1, and the school has 67.9 percent of its classes with fewer than 20 students. The most popular majors at Paine College include: Biology/Biological Sciences, General; Business Administration and Management, General; Criminology; Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication; and Sociology.

    Tips for prospective students

    Paine College also offers campus safety and security services like 24-hour foot and vehicle patrols, late night transport/escort service, 24-hour emergency telephones, lighted pathways/sidewalks, and controlled dormitory access (key, security card, etc). Of the students at Paine College, 35 percent have cars on campus. Alcohol is not permitted for students of legal age at Paine College.

    In three sentences

    Paine College's ranking in the 2013 edition of Best Colleges is Regional Colleges (South), 75. Its tuition and fees are $12,502 (2011-12). It has a total undergraduate enrollment of 891, its setting is urban, and the campus size is 65 acres. It utilizes a semester-based academic calendar

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is not all that great. We had some slow reacting officers here whom are no longer working here and were replaced with some faster paced officers.

    Greek Life

    Most of the greeks here are the most involved on campus. When you attend a school with greek life try not to tell everyone what you want to be, in case you change your mind no one would know and greeks look down upon that.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for what ever your major is. You could also create your own club, it just has to get passed by the board of senators at the school. You could also join the dance, basketball, baseball, softball, cheer leading, and intramural teams.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Wednesday all the students must go to chapel and they serve chicken and macaroni for lunch.

    What to do for fun

    We have many fun activities here. The student center have many board games, a foos ball table, and two pool tables. We host a lot of mixers, basketball games, pageants, game shows, informationals, and other fun events.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't always great, so my advice is to get a refridgerator in your room. There are also kitchens in the dorms where you could cook your food if the cafe didn't satisfy your tatste buds. There are also fastfood restaurants walking distance away but have a group walk with you for safety purposes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here is ok the rooms are pretty cool. Wear shower shoes when you take showers, the janitors clean don't always clean them. Get to know more residence other than your roommate because there is curfew hours and the doors will be locked.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't attend all the parties to try and fit in. Stay ahead of your school work first and then party later. There are many students whom wish they would have done that and now are facing academic probabtion. Study first and party last.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice for incoming students, be active and don't go to every party thinking its cool. show your face to not only your collegues but to your teachers aswell so they know who you are. Stay active and your college experience will be great.

    In three sentences

    Paine College is a school where you go to get an education and leave with a family. Most of the students have school spirit and care about one another. Paine is also what you make, so if you are always in your room of course you are going to think it's boring, get out and get involved.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Paine just hired a brand new top security staff to ensure safety of the students

    Greek Life

    There are 8 of the divine 9 Black letter Greek organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of student led organizations on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious, Artsy Leaders Hard-workers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have weekly chapel sessions that focus on student leadership and motivational speakers.

    What to do for fun

    There are several fun activities planned for the Paine family weekly, to engage student activity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work towards your future. Paine allows you to grow on a personal and collegiate level.

    In three sentences

    Paine College is a school focused on student involvement, growth and producing. Paine has been producing leaders since 1882.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you ever have a problem on campus, give campus safety a call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and they will be there as soon as possible. The officers are friendly but definitely no nonesense when it comes to protecting the students of Paine College.

    Greek Life

    Paine is home to chapters of the divine nine, we have a line of the AKA's, the Deltas, the Sigma Gamma Rho's, the Zetas, the Alphas, the Omegas, the Kappas, and the Sigmas.

    Clubs and Activities

    Paine College offers plenty of organizations whether you're a singer, or a poet or rapper, or a dancer, into sports, or love to serve your community on campus or off. We have over 60 academic and campus organizations like The Ajna Project Poetry Club, or the Paine College Chorus, or Sisters on a Mission Outreach Program. There is something here for every one and always active.

    Great for these types of students

    Paine is great for students who are looking for a place to belong, this is a place that students can come and gain friends who will become more like family, profesors who take students under their wing, and faculty who take genuine interest in students and make it a point to keep a check on the emotional, physical, and mental health of stidents.

    Bang for the buck

    Paine College is one of those schools which offers an experience like no other. Through your struggles and triumphs you will come out stronger and more determined than when you walked through the gates of Paine College. The faculty and staff of Paine genuinely care for the wellbeing of each of their students. This is a great school for networking for future career aspirations.

    What to do for fun

    Paine is near the heart of downtown Augusta which offers plenty of dives and hang outs and great restaurants whose usual customers are college students from the surrounding schools in the area (Paine College, Georgia Regents University-formerly known as Augusta State, Augusta Technical College, and Medical College of Georgia University- also known as MCG) Also near Paine there are bowling alleys, skating rinks, movie theaters, pools halls, etc. You'll enjoy exploring the nooks and cranies of South Augusta. It is also good to know for prospective students that Augusta Public Transit is free for Paine College students with their school id which routes run all over South Augusta.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food isn't the best, I'll be honest but there are plenty of options off campus if you don't enjoy what's being served. However, the cafeteria does offer fresh produce daily and a hot meal, it's not like mom's home cooking but, it serves its purpose.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm will be perfect, it's important that prospective students know that. However, the dormitories at Paine College offer friendly close knit living that allows for friendships with diverse people to form and 24 hour security to keep you and your dorm mates safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Paine like any other school is what you make it. You will be challenged in your courses but because Paine is a small campus you have the advantage of smaller student to professor ratio, this allows for the ease of your professors knowing you by name making it easier to have one on one tutorials with your professors. Also, Paine offers free tutoring sessions all week and in all subjects. It's the best of both worlds, you get the challenge needed to sharpen and open your mind but you have the opportunity to ask questions when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should make it a point to explore the area surrounding the campus before making the decision to attend Paine College as well as finding out what on campus activities and organizations are offered; it's always good to know what you can take advantage of during your college career. Also, being that Paine is a private institution, be sure to explore all of your options for scholarships and grants especially through the UNCF website; Paine is an HBCU (historically black college/university) this website offers hundreds of thousands of dollars in funding to students attending HBCU's. Also, a big tip for prospective students, become very well aquainted with your financial advisors in the financial aid office, they will be your best friend when it comes to funding your college career.

    In three sentences

    I would give Paine College a rating of 3 and a half. Paine like every other school has it's negatives but it also has its positive aspects too. Paine is a small and cozy campus that gives the feel of family orientation.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    top notch

    Great for these types of students

    Ones that want that home feel or where you can make a friend or have friends that will help you at any time.

    Bang for the buck

    For it to be a private institution of higher learning I think that I will get all my monies worth while attending this school.

    What to do for fun

    I havent really seen what there is to do for fun but from what most of the upperclassmen tell me there is always something fun to do at any given point on campus.

    Food and Dining

    From my first tour of the school I saw that they have a variety of different food selections on campus and even off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Sure its not your typical 5 star hotel nor your room back home, but its your home away from home. The security on the campus make sure that the safety of all students is protected at all times.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically paine college is top notch school and the professor make learning fun in a new way, especially with them emplementing the academic coach to make sure you stay on top of your studies outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early in the winter term of your senior year of high school, stay on the admissions and financial aid people to make sure you have all of your information on file and ready once you step on to the campus.

    In three sentences

    Paine college from what i saw is great campus for any student of any race to attend. The teacher to student ratio is great for those students who love one on one teaching and where the teacher knows you by name and not by number. I would recommend anyone to attend this school to acheive higher learning and to better themselves within their community.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a campus security office, and we have officers walking around all the time, sure. However I doubt they can really do much. Fortunately we haven't had any major issues after the first two weeks, seeing as they called the police in to arrest several people. I'm not kidding when I say that the police were in my dorm every three days arresting someone, in fact my first roommate was a drug dealer.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not a major part of this college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a few clubs, I'm currently an officer of the 100 black men club on campus, haven't paid much attention to the other clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    If you enjoy partying, truancy, and not studying and permeating negative stereotypes of African Americans, please attend this school, especially if you have over $20,000 dollars to waste.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a chapel service on wednesdays at 11 in the morning, that no one goes to unless they're required to do so. The service is normally conducted by the student council, and at the end there's a speech type of thing delivered by someone that the school brought in. That speech is normally not very well delivered, because apparently the school refuses to bring in people that know what they're doing to speak to us on wednesdays. I believe there were only three very good wednesday chapels on the last semester, that is not an acceptable percentage.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm paying way too much for what i'm getting. I dont' like it here, I intend on transferring in the summer.

    What to do for fun

    There's lots of parties, as far as I know they're open to anyone. Lots of people play cards on campus. That and a fair amount of the student body plays fighting video games, especially in my dorm, if you were to walk through the second floor of my dorm, you'd hear the games and the people playing them very clearly.

    Food and Dining

    I'm terrified of developing diabetes and high blood pressure from the food here. It's extremely salty, and a fair amount of the food is low-quality. I'd say you get what you pay for, but this school is NOT cheap.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't very nice, lots of roaches. The other students are not very considerate, I'm tired of being woken at three in the morning by loud rap music.

    Academic Rigor

    Just study, and you'll be fine. I had a major course in english, all i needed to do was be able to write a good one-page-paper in roughly 50 minutes. Everything else was just laziness on my part.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go, unless you have a time machine that can get you into the college roughly 10-20 years ago, back when the college was good.

    In three sentences

    The Community in general is lacking in motivation, said lack of motivation rubbed off on me, and effected my gpa. The teaching staff do the bare minimum, in general. The campus is lacking in the cleanliness area.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police and campus safety and security is always on scene even if nothing is going .They are ready for anything ,and trust me you safety is in good hands.

    Greek Life

    Omg we have so many but since I dont know all the names I will just say its an amazing life.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have modeling clubs , cheerleading , dancing girls, chorus ,ect

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for social butterfly, and enjoy being in different activites. You will diffentely flourish at Paine college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition that we have is that we have a midnight breakfast. Which is always a fun and memorable event.

    What to do for fun

    Parties and many events are the entertainment for the student attending Paine. With many working school and school work can prove overwhelming. Paine makes sure to take a load off you and allow very fun social events.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very optional and always hot and ready like lil Ceasar!

    Dorm Life

    Since this is my hometown unfortunely I am not staying on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    While attended Paine you will often have different school events,parties ect.With the privilage to attend a school that allows free time to relax, and emjoy yourself. You will also need to manage school work and your academics, because you can easily lose track of the important stuff. If you find yourself feeling overwhelmed,and the grades are dropping. Paine offers many free tutoring oppurtuities to help ,and they are willing to work around the schedule you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    * TAKE ONLY THE CLASSES THAT YOU NEED TO GRADUATE. * STAY FOCUS ON YOUR SCHOOL WORK. * HAVE A SOCIAL LIFE AS WELL, AND GIVE YOUR MINE A BREAK. * USE TIME MANAGEMENT AS BEST AS YOU CAN.

    In three sentences

    I would rate my school on a 1 thru 10 scale as a 8. Theyre are very organized when it comes to the student housing and finacial situation.They are also very responsible when it comes to our education while attending are school.