Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Palm Beach Atlantic University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 out of 31 people found this review useful. 1 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian, strong-willed students who don't mind learning about the bible and a mile walk to the beach. it is in the city so it's a small campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared, everyone is EXTREMELY nice and EXTREMELY helpful, ask every question you need and make sure you apply online.. it's free and simple. once accepted make sure you get the deposit in to secure your spot, i got in early and i received housing information sooner! :)

    Bang for the buck

    I absolutely feel I'm getting my moneys worth. i would not trade this school for any other one. PBA prepares you to be a strong christian in a none christian world! they give you everything that you need to be successful in the world.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the people I live with and the friends that I have made. Its a great campus, not to big or small and everything you need is in a 3 mile radius. the School always offers lots of fun activities on campus as well... their great events to win free stuff, get to know people and have fun.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great! they are very willing to help you succeed in class. My first semester teachers were lively and wanted to teach! I cannot wait to see what I get second semester.

  • 04/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Whether your walk with Christ is strong or you're working your way along this is the right college for you! The Bible studies, chapels, workship (community service), and other Christian based activities help students with their faith and understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into this school with an open mind and heart, people are so nice and helpful. You'll have a great time!

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers and there willingness to help makes PBAU worth it, you couldn't find a better school.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere here is unlike any other. There are so many activities to participate in and volunteer opportunities. Not only is the school great, there are plenty of fun areas around West Palm Beach that are right next to the school!

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are great, they're set up in a way that is easy for you to learn and get the full hands-on experience. I'm learning more than I did in high school and every teacher is out to help. Don't be afraid to ask any questions!

  • 11/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you change your mind a lot, PBA is for you. With tons of majors and minors, it is hard to stick to just one. We have plenty of Art and Theatre like Majors, Many Business Majors, Nursing, Pharmacy, and for those who LOVE to watch CSI, we even have a new Forensic major. Every and anything is possible here, and I mean that!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the Christianity scare you. You do not have to be a Christian to come here, but they certainly do help you find God within different task. It helps you to become a level headed person and smart at decision making. People are always here to listen or help, and whenever your faith gets low a little song will do you well. If you want to be successful, PBA is definitely the place to be. Hands down, touch down, this is the greatest experience of a lifetime. It's not the traditional way of a college experience, but it is one of the best.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, PBA is a little heavy on the pockets, but we have the BEST reputation. For job opportunities while a student, or after graduating, we always get picked first. The beach is a nice mile away from campus on the Island, and you barely know your walking for 20 or less minutes because the scenery is breath taking. The Intercoastal Waterway is right across the street from Campus and it is perfect for those late night walks with friends. The education is phenomenal as long as you apply yourself.

    Am enjoying being here

    The rules may be strict at time, but when you do the right thing it is completely invisible. There are ALWAYS things to do on campus, the Anchor is a band that plays every Thursday at 8 and we sing and hang out. The gym has many classes like Zumba, Core Crunch, Latin Cardio; all for free! Downtown West Palm Beach is only 1 minute and 45 seconds away, so being bored rarely happens to the best of us.

    Am learning a lot

    When you come to PBA, the teachers honestly do genuinely care for your education. Being a Christian and Faith based school, they strive on our success. If a class is a little difficult, the writing workshop in the library is there to help you with English and essays for all classes, and there are plenty tutors (teachers and fellow students alike) to help you get a better understanding of your anticipated major.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small classes and the ability to talk to professors and get great advice from them about your future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as you can and the college doesn't even end up being that expensive.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little expensive seeing as it is a private school but it is definitely worth it. Especially if you are going for your Doctorate of Pharmacy.

    Will enjoy being here

    I love the atmosphere. My roommate is great. They do an awesome job setting you up in the class First Year Experience with people in your major.

    Will learn a lot

    The professors are great. Always willing to help and always willing to see you after class if you need extra help. Small classes give opportunity for personal interaction between students and professors

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want more in a college experience than academics (and realize that they aren't always the most important thing), and have a strong or growing Christian faith, you'll like it here. Also, you'll love it here if you like the beach. There's a small downtown area nearby too, but it's not a very big city, so if you want tons of things to do off-campus (and don't like the beach), the location might be a downside.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus if you can, and take the time to talk to some of the students (preferably in your major). Sit in on a class. You'll get a much better idea of whether PBA is right for you. I was set against coming here until my dad persuaded me to go to an open house. Now I'm glad I came.

    Bang for the buck

    For a private school, it's not too bad. They do offer a decent amount of merit-based aid, based on your test scores/high school GPA. Financial aid and work-study jobs are also available for those who qualify. Basically, if you diligently apply for scholarships, you won't end up breaking the bank. It helps if you're from Florida, as Bright Futures and the Florida Resident Access Grant will cover a chunk of the cost. There are also departmental scholarships for certain majors (Theatre, etc.). One bit of advice: Check online for books; the bookstore doesn't always have the cheapest prices, and you can save lots of money renting/getting used books elsewhere.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the Christian atmosphere of PBA. Of course, not everyone contributes to that atmosphere, but a large portion of the student population really are actively involved in church and campus ministries. The school offers mission trips, hall Bible studies, weekly student-led nights of worship, etc. There is a moderate amount of school spirit (people get into Sailfish Cup -- the annual dorm competition -- but hardly anyone goes to sports games), which suits me fine, but may disappoint others. There are downsides to any school, and I could possibly get better academics (for less money) at UF or another public university. However, I think PBA offers more good than bad, especially if your faith is important to you.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are very encouraging and willing to help students succeed. I have a one or two professors whose classes didn't challenge me at all. However, I've also had many professors who are not only incredibly intelligent with high standards, but are wonderful people and strong Christians, too. I think it depends partly on the program you pursue here; some (Nursing, Pharmacy, etc.) are stronger than others (Math, etc.). Overall, your academic experience is what you want it to be. If you want to learn and be challenged, you will put forth an effort, pick professors who will challenge you, and, preferably, look into the honors program. You can also slack off (to an extent), pick easy professors, and live it up at the beach all the time. That having been said, there is a great potential for academic growth here, in a Christian environment.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    pba is a great school, the teachers are really caring and helpful. i have loved and still love being a student here. i've had a great experience living on campus and off campus.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student that wants to grow in Christ and in academics should go to PBA. Oh and if you want to live a mile from the beach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live in Baxter Residence Hall if you are a girl.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth the amount of money I have to pay.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love PBA. The teachers, pastor, everyone that works there is so passionate about being a Christian it makes the campus shine.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are passionate about the subjects they teach which makes learning so much easier and so much more fun. I love PBA

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a very great Safety and Security program that PBA has. There are red buttons throughout PBA which one can press whenever they are in trouble.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on at PBA. Every day there is something new: activities (sports, intramurals, praise and worship, etc.) or club meetings.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian people will be more than satisfied with this university.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth paying a great amount for this university because there is an excellent education and a great ambient to live in.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is a mile away; students usually go running along the nice view we have right in front of us, until they reach the beach.

    Food and Dining

    In order not to get one bored of the Caf (as PBA students call it) food, they vary the food every day. It is delicious!

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are very spacious and neat. The bathroom is a little small, but it is still comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Try to stay on task and do all your homework, even if they are not graded, because once the test comes you should be very prepared. It is easy to get help at PBA because there is free tutoring and your professors are available to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are capable of working in the computer without getting distracted very easily it will be easy for you to stay on task on pbaonline.net. This campus is small, meaning that it is a very amicable ambient.

    In three sentences

    Palm Beach Atlantic is a Christian Liberal Arts university that focuses in the student's writings and critical thinking. I really like this about PBA because it helps develop our ideas and opinions and not only develops them, but it also helps the student express those ideas and opinions both orally and written. Their Christian foundation also helps with keeping up the relationship between the student and God.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that love the Lord and want to pursue their greater education.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is definitely worth the money. The students and faculty are great, and the atmosphere is friendly.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of different clubs that you can get involved in. There's also sports, drama, and other equally exciting activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good! There's also a Chick-fil-a and a cafe in the library.

    Dorm Life

    Your roommates will have a profound impact on who you can become. Don't let them control you. Be a light and have fun! The dorms here are great!

    Academic Rigor

    Your education is VERY important. Learn not to procrastinate, and balance your time between academics and fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of the other students. Make friends, but budget your time wisely.

    In three sentences

    This is an amazing school that has a great, Christian atmosphere! I can't wait to attend in the fall!

  • 05/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The Pharmacy School gets nonstop press for being absolutely fabulous, however I'm not personally a part of it. Also I have several friends in the film department and they all love it. The professors are a bit spacey and unorganized, but as far as their education goes, my friends rave about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider things like having to go to Chapel and having a Freshman curfew before coming here. Not that those are terrible things, but I think it is a big challenge for some new students.

    Bang for the buck

    Its on the expensive side for a Florida school, but you're paying for the location. Everyone around the school is paying triple what PBA students to live in the area.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have never met friendlier people or nicer teachers than at Palm Beach Atlantic University!

    Academic Rigor

    My classes are not half as hard as I expected and its rare that I find a difficult class where I learn a lot.

  • 11/14/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It may be expensive, but I think it's worth it!

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful! There are so many things to be involved in! When I visited, I really enjoyed sitting in on a Music History class! The professors seem so willing to do everything they can to make sure the students understand and learn to their highest potential.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    active everywhere on campus! always riding their bikes through the streets, parking garages, and busy areas in campus. drive around and check for suspicion and are helpful to students with car problems.

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Great for these types of students

    christian related determine open-minded kind

    Bang for the buck

    pba has a lot to offer around campus. they have a sailfish cup that you can buy for 4.99 and you can refill it anywhere on campus for .49 cents. they wonderful coffee and tea for cheap prices in the bookstore and sell used books there also.

    What to do for fun

    what to do for fun? the beach is so close, cityplace is walking distance to see a movie, have dinner, go to plays at harriet hilman, and there are many different churches in walking distance. it is a great place to enjoy the outdoors and has wonderful extracurricular activities go get involved in!

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students should prepare for classes before they start and be dedicated through out the entire semester. dedicate time to volunteer and help out around the community by getting involved in the clubs that pba has to offer.

    In three sentences

    palm beach atlantic university is a great school where the people have kind-hearts, caring personalities, and helpful hands. it is located near the beach and inter-coastal and has a wonderful areas to bike, walk, jog or enjoy the environment. the christian atmosphere is very welcoming and inspiring to always take one further step to lend a hand or go one step further to achieve better study habits.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    PBA is an open campus so anyone can walk through at any moment and you won't know them. There is theft and I never walk alone at night. Campus Safety and Security does a good job with keeping the campus safe.

    What to do for fun

    PBA is located in the city so there is an endless supply of fun things to do. Sailfish Programs and Student Success put on fun activities for students throughout each semester. Go to the dances!!

    Food and Dining

    The caf has good food and many options. I'm a vegetarian and I found it very easy to find healthy and tasty options. The downside of being on the meal plan is it is very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Choose to live in Baxter Hall for your first semester. It is very friendly and a great freshman dorm because you meet so many people.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more rigorous than others and it depends on the teacher. My first year my roommate and I were taking the same Exploring the Bible class but with different teachers. I had a very difficult professor and she had an easy going laid back teacher. Needless to say, we had different amounts of homework and studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend getting involved with on campus activities. This helps you get connected quickly with students that have similar interests as you. Don't be afraid to get to know the upperclassmen; they can really help you get connected, too!

    In three sentences

    Palm Beach Atlantic University has beautiful facilities especially the music and fine arts building, the sports and recreation building, the cafeteria, and the pharmacy building. The class sizes are small which allows for more personal attention and further one on one meetings with professors. I especially love this because you get to know the professors on a personal level and they genuinely care for each student.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is pretty good. they are around all day long and have an office located in the middle of the campus. there are security guards roaming around on bikes, and in golf carts. for those students who have late classes safety and security will pick you up and bring you to your car or dorm. over all there are pretty good.

    Greek Life

    greek life is great !

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs offered at pba. there are language clubs, dance clubs, fitness clubs, community service groups, art clubs, you name it. these groups are established by students who are interested and different things and they attract others.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for those students who enjoy living in a very mellow and tranquil environment. the beach being just a few miles away attracts even more students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    because palm beach atlantic is a christian based school , they host a social gathering which they call the anchor. this is a time where the students go to praise and worship.

    Bang for the buck

    palm beach atlantic, is overall, an excellent school. it has so much to offer and its location is very nice. with its excellent academic system, wide range of international people and locals, the teacher and staff, and the community makes it all the better. because palm beach atlantic is a private school, it is a little pricey, however with financial aid, grants, and scholarships it could be affordable.

    What to do for fun

    for fun, students go to city place, the local shopping plaza and dinning area located a half a mile away. it is walking distance. also there is clematis another street located within a half a mile away and is known for its night life. 90 percent of the students got to the beach frequently.

    Food and Dining

    food and dinning is great. could be improved with more choices, but the food taste great. sometimes they get a little packed but i am pretty sure this is the case with any school.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life at palm beach atlantic is okay. freshman are required to be in there rooms no later than 11:30 for there room checks. some students do not like the idea of curfew, however, it helped me tremendously. it allowed me to complete more work and gain more sleeping hours. curfew only last for the first semester, but you must achieve over a 2.0 to be exempt from curfew. the people in the dormitories are great, and i mad a lot of new friends my first year.

    Academic Rigor

    teachers and staff at pba are great ! they say bigger schools know students simply as a number, or frequent emailng back and forth. at palm beach atlantic, it is every teachers goal to have a personal relationship with there students so they can help them succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students, you should always do a school tour before considering any school, especially palm beach atlantic because of is location. while some enjoy frequent trips to the beach, others may enjoy a different setting.

    In three sentences

    palm beach atlantic is an excellent christian based college located in the heart of west palm beach. this prestigious university offers excellent education, a chance to explore and improve your faith with god, and grow as a person. once you submit your application, you will not regret it. apply!

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    heavy work load.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    online classes tough, but worth it. eight weeks to complete a course and professors that help you all the way.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You could go to the beach. You could hang out down town to shop. Also there are plenty of restaurants to keep you full.

    Food and Dining

    Some days are good and some not so much. There is a variety of different types of food. It's all what you make it.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are new. You get to meet and connect with more people when you stay on campus. I would recommend staying in a dorm , you will be more connected.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is accredited. There could be more options dealing with majors. The classes are challenging and will not keep you bored.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and don't let the environment completely distract you. Also remember to have fun and continue to keep your values strong. Try to find out who you are in Christ with everything you have.

    In three sentences

    Palm Beach Atlantic is a very small school with big determination. A very diverse school and close to the beach. It will prepare you for your future and who you want to become.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cameras and security is visible all over campus.

    Greek Life

    Should fit it well, is kind of a yuppie crowd.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to mention.

    Great for these types of students

    Sport orientated as they are one of the few colleges that sport orientated degrees such as athletic training/trainer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    1 mile to Atlantic ocean.

    Bang for the buck

    Food prices reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and organizations to join. Also can go to beach and near by clubs and shopping as school is in the heart of all of it.

    Food and Dining

    Good food which is sometimes right next to your class so you can eat and not be late for class.

    Dorm Life

    Quiet and spread out campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Relaxed but strong learning environment in classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take bible study class it is great!

    In three sentences

    Love the location on the beach. The classes are smaller as compared to public colleges which allow more individualized attention from the instructors/professors. Feel safe due to security measures.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    PBA does have some Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    While PBA doesn't offer as many clubs as the bigger schools, there's still a lot to be involved with at the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for Christian students and students looking for a more personal educational experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have dorm competitions, each dorm competes in several activities for a prize.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are experienced, TA's don't teach the classes so you always have a professional teaching you. Everyone that works at the school is committed to your success.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is less than a mile away. Also Cityplace is right outside of the school.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of dining options.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of dorm options, some with AMAZING views :)

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know yet. I haven't taken any classes yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in contact with the school and keep looking for scholarships. Visit the campus!

    In three sentences

    PBA is a beautiful campus and offers a lot to do. The beach is really close to campus. The teachers and students seem to be really nice.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've always felt safe in spite of the fact that we are right of the heart of downtown West Palm Beach.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshman/Transfer Welcome Week is amazing. Just experience it. The Sailfish Cup is where all the dorm collide head to head in innumerable activities and events in hopes of winning the Sailfish Cup Trophy. I played Racquetball, The (insane) Obstacle Course, and Dodgeball for Rinker. Rinker won :D

    What to do for fun

    How about I give the list? There's the beach. We have open gyms and two racquetball courts. If you like movies, we live right next to Muvico Parisian 20 and IMAX. Plus, if you are a night-owl like myself, Cityplace is right next door. To describe it, it's basically where all of West Palm Beach goes to enjoy themselves with friends and family. A big thing on our campus though--longboarding. We head over to the Island and have a blast.

    Food and Dining

    I personally enjoy the caf--that's what we call it. It's the place where everyone goes to chill and talk to others in between classes. The food is gormet and buffet style. I love it. I've been blessed with having the opportunity to go whenever I want thanks to my All-Access meal plan. Get one. Sometimes, its just nice to sit down and work with friends at a table or something.

    Dorm Life

    Oh boy. If at all possible, LIVE ON CAMPUS. I've had the opportunity of being a commuter and living on campus and I can honestly say that making the switch to being a campus resident is one of the best decisions of my collegiate career. Rinker dorm is the freshman dorm and I loved it so much, I decided to stay for my Sophomore year. There is definitely a kinship that develops within the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Dedicate yourself to your studies as much as you do to the friends you'll meet on campus. It's tough having to say no to an invite to the beach, but it will be worth it when you see your report card. Not to mention, there are plenty of scholarship opportunities for those students who are dedicated too their work and who are serious about their majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on attending PBAU, don't be nervous about the process. I know the employment in the departments involved with the admissions process and all are dedicated to making the Next Big Step easy to make and an incredible experience. Just be prepared to have an awesome time.

    In three sentences

    The sense of community at Palm Beach Atlantic University will exceed anything that one may be expecting. PBAU wasn't even on my list of colleges I was planning on attending, and now I regret spending time on searching for anything else. I'm very thankful to be there as I'm sure most people would.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, Musical, Theatrical, Dancing, Worship, Etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are outgoing in any kind of circumstance can go here.

    What to do for fun

    They do have a lot of activities that you can have fun in. Beach and City Walk are the hang out areas...

    Food and Dining

    Organic food is scarcely available. However, food is okay. The Caf personnel give their best effort in preparing and serving the students.

    Dorm Life

    If you don't get along with your roommate or if they happen to be a bully, you're stuck with that person no matter what.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are pretty good. I am learning. Looking forward to graduating.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a radical Christian, look carefully where you're enrolling. PBA is not at all they say it is. Pray about your choices and let the Holy Spirit lead you.

    In three sentences

    Based on Biblical principals, my rating for PBA is two stars.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walking to the beach is one of my favorite things to do since it's a 15-20 minute walk. Also, the shopping center, City Place, is a fantastic place to find shops, Starbucks, and entertainment. The best part is that you don't even need a car to get to these places.

    Food and Dining

    As a vegan I didn't think the school's cafeteria would offer anything that I could have. I was wrong. There's an entire section that focuses on fresh foods that are all vegan friendly and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live on campus my first year, but many of my friends did. Living on campus makes it easier to create bonds with fellow students. When you live on campus you really don't even need a car since everything is within walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    You learn a lot. My freshman year I though I'd just get a general overview, but I learned a lot pertaining to my major. The professors are interested in giving you a good education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your volunteer hours done during the summer. Even though you think that you will have time during the weekends and breaks, you actually won't. And join in on all of the on-campus activities, because they are a lot of fun.

    In three sentences

    Small classes that allow for great discussions among students. Professors that are interested in your learning experience. And it's a smaller school which creates a wonderful sense of community.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    PBA is located in the center of an extremely expensive shopping plaza- CityPlace. There is the beach less than a mile from the college, shopping surrounding the college, literally.

    Food and Dining

    They just rebuilt the cafeteria a few years ago creating a cafe feel to it and in my opinion, it is over the top nice. There is a huge salad bar, an american grill, your healthy foods, and like a grill in the center where a cook stands there and you give him food you want him to cook and he stands there and cooks whatever you like. On top of all of this, there is a Chick-fil-a on campus! Welcome to the South!!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are definitely what you pay for is what you get. The school costs about $34,000/year without any grants or scholarships but that money is being put to good use because even the freshman dorms are nicer than any other dorms I've seen.

    Academic Rigor

    Because of the size of the classrooms, and the ratio being like 12:1 or 14:1, it creates a more one-on-one experience and the teacher can challenge students individually. So, even if the material being studied isn't rigorous, the teachers will challenge each student to a different capacity that they can handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a Christian school, meaning there are morals and rules the school requires you to follow: chapel hours, community service, and rules about public display of affection such as lights in a room must be on and there are curfews. If you can't handle the rules, then don't come.

    In three sentences

    This school has the most beautiful campus I have ever seen. It is obvious the school takes pride in everything they own - the dorms, the food, the class rooms, and the administration. On top of all of this, you are not a number at this school; all of the teachers, and admissions counselors treats every student and ever prospective student like they will be attending and that this school is the right school for them.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All stypes, espcially working students

    Bang for the buck

    School is not cheap but keep in mind that you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    It's south Florida, head east and you will find a beach quickly!

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared, the courses are tough but fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are proficient in APA style of paper writing.

    In three sentences

    My experience has been awesome so far! The Professors actually care about your learning experience and challenge you to go beyond what you think you are capable of. I am an online only student so the program fits into my busy life nicely.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus are very safe. They have security on the campus for 24 hour.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of fun clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students are friendly and fun to be around

    Bang for the buck

    School is expensive. Make sure apply financial aid and lots of scholarships

    What to do for fun

    Go to beach, late night club, movies. Shopping center is right around the corner.

    Food and Dining

    they have chic a fila near the gym which is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    I wont be living in dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Not Yet I havent start yet

    Tips for prospective students

    Read review before you attend PBA because the rule are little strict.

    In three sentences

    People are very nice and they know who you are. The classroom is small and professor care about you and your work.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety patrols campus constantly, blue boxes located all over campus to page safety.

    Greek Life

    no fraternities or sororities, a drug-free and alcohol-free campus (drinking permitted for students of drinking age as long as they are not drunk). No smoking on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are very active and there are always activities going on: Sailfish Cup, intramurals, Deck The Halls, GLO, Welcome Week, Paradise Weekend, Spring Formal, Coffee Houses, Culture Week, MNL, ALICE improv comedy, student recitals, career fairs, workship fairs, TNL, Rinker Pit, Christival, worship, MLK challenge, guest speakers, guest concerts, Battle of the Bands, and of course all the clubs, specifically ILT )Impact Leadership Team).

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, (or of faith), seeking community, nursing or pharmacy students, academic students, students who like the beach, students who want to be involved in clubs, events, intramural sports, and students who play instruments or interested in music. STUDENTS INTERESTED IN A LIBERAL ARTS EDUCATION (which concentrates not only on a career, but on the growth and knowledge of the individual)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Christian (non-denominational) campus, but as far as Christian campuses go, we are pretty welcoming, and sometimes even called liberal.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, I love this school. It has its ups and downs, but I wouldn't want to be anywhere else. The Honors program is what makes it for me, without that, it would just be a great school. With the Honors program, it's and AMAZING school. But the art department could use some love.

    What to do for fun

    1 mile from the beach, also walking distance from City Place and Clematis (Clematis gets pretty gross on week-end nights, but is very family-friendly during the day-green market, free events, food, shopping, play fountains). City Place has a movie theater, Publix, food venues, shopping, starbucks, Panera, etc. And also a Christ Fellowship. A lot of students travel on breaks, long-board, kayak, camp, bonfires on the beach, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has good food, great staff, and pretty decent pricing. There is also a Chik-fil-a and Einstein Bagels on campus. The P.O.D. food quick store has things like hummus cups, premade sandwiches and NAKED juice. The staff is always willing to take suggestions and the caf has pretty a good selection.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life depends on the dorm. Weyenberg (Honors housing) is VERY active and close-knit. Certain floors in other halls are very close and do a lot of events and activities together, while some other suites or halls are pretty much just neighbors as they do their own thing.

    Academic Rigor

    The basic level classes are pretty easy (too easy in my opinion), but the Honors program and more serious majors (Pharmacy, nursing, science, education, business) are not to be taken lightly. The honors program is based on the Cambridge great books program and is LIFE-CHANGING as well as compelling and filled with amazingly intelligent people.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest doing a campus visit, they treat guests very well. For incoming students, get involved with something right away and this will be the best school in the world. Impact Leadership team (club), ALICE improv, coffee house, student activities, and workship are examples.

    In three sentences

    A great liberal arts Christian school. The professors are amazing, the people friendly, the location beautiful, AMAZING Honors Program. Sure we have our stuck-up goodies and our crazy party-goers but the great majority is a wonderful community.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very good there is usually someone going around campus on a golf cart all through out the day and night. They sometimes offer rides and you can also call the office if you need a ride. There is emergency buttons pretty much everywhere. They are all very nice.

    Greek Life

    There is a few clubs not major there is a theater fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a whole bunch of clubs, we have a club fair every year at least twice. There are clubs pertaining to your major then those for leadership, or bible studies. There is athletics.

    Great for these types of students

    Like I said for students that want to pursue their career and follow God. Also, you have to have self-discipline because there is so much nightlife near by it's easy to lose direction in your goals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual tradition PBA has is cockroach races which is totally gross and weird but kinda funny. Then there is the Sailfish Cup, which is where all the halls compete against each other in a whole bunch of different sport events and the hall that wins gets a big trophy. Then there is welcome week for the freshmen where every year there is a lip singing contest.

    Bang for the buck

    This is hard to judge because PBA is so much money. I do think PBA is a fantastic school, but if you have to borrow more than $10,000 a year in loans then its a definite no. I also think it matters your major, the ministry program great and nursing is top notch.

    What to do for fun

    The beauty of PBA is that it is in downtown West Palm Beach. There is Clematis that has restaurants and places to hang out, but the clematis is also filled with nightlife, there are clubs, bars, and lounges so you have to be careful what you get yourself into. then a little bit farther west is Cityplace which is like Clematis but more family friendly. There is a movie theater and live music usually on the weekends. There is a ton of stores and restaurants along with a Publix. In driving distance there are tons of places to go. Then east of PBA over the bridge and a little farther is the beach.

    Food and Dining

    For food there is only the cafeteria, Einsteins Bagel, chick-fil-a , or the P.O.D. The cafe isn't horrible its very nice inside and out but the food is not the best, after a month you are tired of eating the food. Einstiens is good they have a variety of stuff but are pretty expensive. Chick-fil-a is good and decently priced. Then the P.O.D. is like a convenience store. All are open during the week during normal school times, but only the cafe and Einsteins, sometimes chick-fil-a, are open on the weekend.

    Dorm Life

    I have heard not all of the dorms are great but I stay in Johnson Hall and it is wonderful. Johnson Hall is literally across the street from the inter-coastal and it is for girls only. Then, there is Baxter hall which is next to the library and gym, behind Baxter is Oceanview hall. Oceanview is on the parking garage and is coed. For the guys there is Rinker Hall which is a part of the business building and across from the cafeteria. The Weyenberg hall is a coed hall for honor students and right next to the cafeteria. then Flagler Towers and Lakeview apartments are are away from main campus but still close enough to walk and are only for upperclassmen. Last, Mango apartments are for graduates and married people along with some staff.

    Academic Rigor

    Usually you are only allowed to miss three classes sessions per class before they withdraw you from the class, but certain professors allow more. Also, if your more than five minutes late it counts as an absence. Most professors do offer extra credit but not always. Last, there is workship hours you have to complete which are basically community service hours, 45 hours are due every year in May.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like I said the school is for those who want to follow God in their careers, if your going because of other reasons, such as location, then you will not enjoy your time very well. A lot of people do go that don't believe in God but, don't have as good an experience as they would have had they gone somewhere else. There are rules for dress code and the dorms, in addition to the campus wide ride of no alcohol or tobacco products on campus.

    In three sentences

    Palm Beach Atlantic University is a fantastic school or those who want to follow God while pursuing their career. All students are required to take a specific bible class freshmen year and another senior year, in addition to the chapel credit required. Almost all the professors have a doctorates degree and have seen the world, they will enlighten you with their abundant knowledge.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe city over all. They also have many safety preventions in place including tight campus security.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many to name.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for students that need small class sizes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The location is on the intercoastal of the beach.

    What to do for fun

    There is a beach right over the bridge and a many extra-curricular activities to be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    I'm a picky eater but I like that there is a chick fil a on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. They are pretty big compared to all the other schools I've seen. Also it's next to the beach.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started but I like the attention the provide if you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get started early. Do not procrastinate. It makes the process a lot easier.

    In three sentences

    I will rate Palm Beach Atlantic University a 10 out of 10. I start soon. I think I'm going to love it.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Always activites and things going on. Best thing to do while attending this college is to get involved!

    What to do for fun

    Go to city place, beach, mall, or hang out with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to class prepared. Don't be late for class. Never be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    This school is simpily amazing. The atmoshphere herre is great because everyone is nice and welcoming. Classes are not huge so the teacher will know your name, and is willing to help with what ever you need.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Seeing as PBA is located in the middle of downtown West Palm, there are plenty of things to do. City Place, our local outside mall and dining, is within walking distance, and there is always an event going on during the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    The Fresh Food Company has improved significantly since last semester, and they have made many changes. It is also convenient to have Chick-Fil-A and Einsteins on campus.

    Dorm Life

    All in all, the dorms are acceptable. Some are better than others, and most have different reputations around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Despite the fact that the classes are small, the amount of work given is quite significant. However, it is always nice to feel accomplished after completing the tasks that you have been given.

    Tips for prospective students

    If possible, live in Oceanview your first two semesters. It is a great experience; furthermore, it is located on main campus.

    In three sentences

    Palm Beach Atlantic University isn't just concerned about their ratings, they are concerned about the students. It is one of the best decisions I've ever made, even though I had to leave my family. It's not just about the education, it's about the community

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great on campus security that is always on duty and a phone call away.

    Greek Life

    2 options

    Clubs and Activities

    a large range of clubs and activities. There is never a dull moments if you get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, Strong work ethic, and willingto put in the time and effort to succeed

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bug Race Strong Man Competition

    Bang for the buck

    Great Education and Perfect Location

    What to do for fun

    1. Beach 2.City PLace- shopping, restaurants, movies 3. On Campus Events 4. Museums

    Food and Dining

    There are two main restaurant chains present on campus- chick fil a and einstein bagels. The cafateria provides a few different options each day and a constant salad and cereal bar. There is also the POD which provides on the go snack options.

    Dorm Life

    The available on campus housing is less than perfect, but still very comfotable and larger than most dorm rooms at other colleges. There are a variety of housing options that range from two-eight person rooms or apartments. All housing is seprated by gender.

    Academic Rigor

    PBA has excellent staff that consists of a very diverse and experienced group of profesoors and administration.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Apply Early 2. Apply Early for Scholarships 3. Enroll in class ASAP 4. Be aware of the rules and regulations enforced on campus

    In three sentences

    PBA is an academically sound college that enables students to take advantage of the benefits of both an religious atmosphere and a fully accredited liberal art education. The student body is very diverse in both ages and ethnicities. The location is uncomparable to any other with the beach a few miles away.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very responsive on campus security

    Clubs and Activities

    A large variety with something of interest to everyone from sports to academics to hobbies to odd commonalities

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, well rounded, committed to excellence

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the roach race and strong man competition

    Bang for the buck

    Great Education and unbeatable location

    What to do for fun

    Beach, Bible Studies, Tons of Student Activities, City PLace

    Food and Dining

    Less than adequate, but there are many options other than the cafetaria. Chick Fil A and Einsteins never dissapoint.

    Dorm Life

    A large variety of dorms with rooms larger than most universities.

    Academic Rigor

    The pre med and pre pham and nursing programs are especially challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get carried away by the beautiful setting and forget tp study!

    In three sentences

    PBA is a four year university that offers a well rounded liberal arts education that integrates Christian views. It is a coed university that can be classified as very diverse with a variety of nationalities represented within the student body. It is a university that continually produces well equipped members of society to go forth of pursue their careers with their degrees.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never ever felt unsafe.

    Greek Life

    This is the first year of having a sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's lots to join!

    Great for these types of students

    Coming from a small school Seeking a closer and more meaningful relationship with God Beach-lovers People who want to find their soulmate by spring(:

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is supposed to be top secret until welcome week, but freshman always have to wear these personalized 'sailfish hats' for the extent of welcome week. Taking it off brings embarrassing consequences, so come prepared to swallow your pride..in a fun way.

    What to do for fun

    The city of West Palm is relatively small so everything is pretty much walking distance. City place is a huge shopping area/ downtown hangout and its less than a mile away. The island of Palm Beach is just across the bridge and the beach is always a great place for studying, relaxing, taking a deep breath, and of course for fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure a small community is what you want; If so, its the perfect college! Get involved as soon as you can in as many things as you can; It makes the transition much easier! Get to know your professors - they truly want to see you succeed.

    In three sentences

    It's a very tight-knit community here with a great student to teacher ratio. The beach is less than a mile away and everyday is beautiful. There are so many opportunities with the school and in the surrounding community to further your future.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety and security can always be seen around campus. They can do anything , from leading you into your room ,if you lost your key, to calling the police if you get into a car accident on campus or have some creepy person following you.,

    Clubs and Activities

    There's alot of clubs and activities on campus as well as off. For the ones on campus we have a variety of clubs, for instance TWLOHA, U CHAPTER, which is about educating students on suicide and other issues which college students deal with today, another club would be the book club ,in which a group of students and staff come to together to talk about random books they may or may not have read ,anyone is welcome to join .Another club we have is ILT, which is the impact leadership team ,which is about encouraging students on campus to be leaders for their friends and peers and what it meant to be a leader ,

    Great for these types of students

    For anyone who enjoys the hot weather and Florida sunshine! Also for someone who likes to be involved in the community!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have many fun events during the school year! first off freshmen are welcomed to our campus through WELCOME WEEK which contains of epic fun dancing and rallies. Of course the PBA way. safe clean fun! We also have sailfish cup ,which is basically all the dorms on campus battle it out in epic relay races etc to win the famous SAILFISH CUP! also we have battle of the bands, when students from campus who have bands perform

    What to do for fun

    one can go to the beach (which is like 5 mintues away!) one can go to downtown city place (plaza again like 5 mintures away) which contains of bars, movie theatre , shops ,resturants ,one can go to worth ave which is more shops ,, one can

    Food and Dining

    I find the food and dining here delishous! Not only that but they just updated it so theres more opions now! they have hot stir fry, hot meals ,cereal bar, salad bar and more!

    Dorm Life

    Theres plenty of options here on campus as to where you would like to live. I live in ODP or Oceanview which is the co-ed dorm on campus.(Its really just the boys on side of the bulding separated by a wall and the girls on the other all under one floor)

    Academic Rigor

    I think the programs of study here at PBA are phenomenal. Not only do the proffessors teach the courses well but they are always open to talking about something after class, or meeting in the cafe to disscus something you dont understand. The courses here provide a challenge but nothing you cant handle for there are plenty of resources ,such as our Writing for Excellence center and tutioring ,as well as your own proffessors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students I think will notice what a great sense of close-knit community we have hear at PBA. Everyone seems to know everyone. SO don't be afraid to ask questions about anything! Also with the beach just down the street who wouldn't want to attend school here? Not only that but there's alot of diversity, whether its relating to the different international students we have or where someone is in their walk of faith, there's plenty of different perspectives to hear from. One thing I've learned here so far is to just want to learn, and explore! The professors are always here to help answer and questions you have and they want to get to know you! Just be yourself and get involved with different clubs, events etc on campus, you wont regret it!

    In three sentences

    Small Welcoming Encouraging

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The people at Campus Safety and Security are there for you whenever you need them. They have someone on the phone ready to answer any calls whether you need a locked door to class opened, a ride back to your dorm after dark, or your car has just been stolen and will send someone to you in moments. These people work 24/7 to make sure the students are taken care of. There are also several panic buttons located all over campus for people to press in case of an emergency that calls both Campus Safety and Security and the police.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different activities and clubs on campus that it is difficult not to find a place for yourself here. If you don't, though, the school administration is very supportive of students starting up their own clubs and planning their own activities on campus. There are also Mission Trips throughout the year as well as study abroad semesters that are fun and invigorating.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that wants to learn about God alongside their coursework.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a traditional bug race each year in which students buy bugs such as roaches or ladybugs to race against other students bugs. The school also has a rat lab in which pharmacy, medical, psychology, and science students can conduct experiments for their research.

    Bang for the buck

    Despite Palm Beach Atlantic University's high tuition price there is a lot that is paid for because of it. Students have access to the gym, a pool, sports fields, games, cultural and festive events throughout the year for free. The classes are also made up of smaller populations so that each individual is focused on.

    What to do for fun

    The school is about a mile from the beach and from a great outdoor shopping center called City Place. There are free concerts on the weekends, festive events {trick or treating, tree lighting ceremony, zombie marches, monster dashes, easter egg hunts, etc.} throughout the year for young and old to participate in. There is also a Green Market every Saturday and clubs that are open all week in City Place.

    Food and Dining

    There are various locations on campus to eat from including the cafeteria that is even open during the holidays like Thanksgiving, Fall Break, Spring Break, etc. for those that are too far from home to return.

    Dorm Life

    I only lived on campus for a part of freshman year because afterward I got married but my room was very spacious compared to the dorm rooms of my two sisters in their respective universities. Resident administrators live in the dorms with you, making sure that you clean your room and offer assistance whenever there is a quarrel between roommates and suit mates.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes offered at Palm Beach Atlantic University are taught by extremely knowledgeable professor of which most have their Master's degree in the field they teach so there is always a lot to learn in class. The Honors Program is made up of an extensive amount of reading from primary sources that cover the span of time being studied in that course. There aren't too many papers to write and professors are helpful about all aspects of learning, in and out of the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    As Palm Beach Atlantic University is a private university the tuition price is a bit steep so apply for scholarships early on so that you have school paid for and you don't have to worry about that while you're studying.

    In three sentences

    Palm Beach Atlantic University is a faith-based school that incorporates Christianity in all classes and aspects of life on and off campus. This school is tailored to an individualized learning experience with small classroom sizes and 14 to 1 student/teacher ratio. The atmosphere is accepting of all people and makes establishing oneself in their career a simple task.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In addition to the many activities the school plans out, the is also a beach located very closely to the campus. The campus itself is also located downtown, which means that the movie theater, countless restaurants, clothing/department stores, are within walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    Not many restaurants to choose from besides Chick-Fil-A and Einstein's Bagels, but the cafeteria is excellent. There is also a Food Pod to get quick meals while on the go.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms can be a bit small, but dorm life itself is quite good. There a lots of activities planned for students who live on campus, even during breaks like Thanksgiving.

    Academic Rigor

    PBA is a very good, yet very demanding University. To be fair, the majority of the general courses are not too difficult. However, the upper level courses can get quite difficult, especially for science majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to attend chapel weekly so that you don't have to worry about getting a lot of credits when Final Exams are approaching. Do Workship hours during frequently as well so that they don't pile up.

    In three sentences

    A very encouraging Christian school. Tutition and books are pretty expensive. Being a private university, it is quite peaceful.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent Campus Safety. Quick Responses. Always Patroling

    Bang for the buck

    I love PBA

    What to do for fun

    Read, Go to the Beach, Shopping, Travel, Weekend Travel

    Dorm Life

    Excellent Waterway Location from all the different Dorms at PBA

    Academic Rigor

    You will learn from outstanding scholars who also happen to be outstanding men and women of faith. Beyond learning in classrooms with a 13:1 student-to-faculty ratio, your learning will spill out into the world Â? through internships, research and study abroad opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you become a part of PBA, you become a part of a family a family that includes students from more than 40 nations; a family that includes faculty who go beyond imparting knowledge to imparting wisdom. From day one, you�¢����ll feel the support and encouragement of faculty, staff and your fellow students.

    In three sentences

    Palm Beach Atlantic has a excellent location in downtown west palm Beach. Palm Beach Atlantic School has a great Christiah life. Palm Beach Atlanitc has been chosen one of the top Schools in the whole southeast Florida

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When they wanna work...

    Greek Life

    none

    What to do for fun

    BEACH! and Shopping! Every girls Dream!

    Tips for prospective students

    It is Beautiful here Don't get to destracted by the beach tho!

    In three sentences

    It is a great school! Students and Teachers care about you all the time.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is on patrol 24/7. You can always see them Patrolling campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural sports and tons of clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Ones that value education, and wish to grow closer to Christ as a savior. Students that want a close relationship with their professor and enjoy the beach!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a local spot called the Big tree where all the couples go to spend some time. We have the Sailfish Cup, an annual competition between dorms where teams compete in various sports and games.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely worth the money. It provides a great environment for building your faith and growing as a person. There is so much opportunity down in West Palm Beach.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of things to do for fun. The beach is only a mile from the school and it is a main attraction for the students. There is an outdoor shopping mall a couple blocks from the school as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is by far better than most of the schools I have been to. Although it is a small school, it still has allot of options. With that being said, it is still a cafeteria, not a 5 star restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life was a good experience for me because it allowed me to get close with allot of the kids on my hall. The only thing I didnt like was that they have strict rules when it comes to visitation of the opposite sex. Other than that it was a good experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major the rigor of the courses can be pretty difficult. Biblical studies majors and any of the pre health majors are some of the most difficult. The professors test your knowledge and push your limits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you understand what is required of your major and make a graduation plan. Apply for as many scholarships and grants as you can to help pay for college. Get involved in school events and clubs early to get plugged in and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Palm Beach Atlantic University is a gem of a school. Centered in Christ and dedicated to developing well rounded students. One of the most prestigious christian schools in the nation.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do at PBA the main thing is the beach and or go to City Place which is a shopping center walking distance from the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent on campus they even have a Chick Fil A and an Einsteins.

    Dorm Life

    There are a lot of different types of dorms at PBA whether you want to live with 4, 5, 2, or 8 people they have it here.

    Academic Rigor

    PBA offers great opportunities, like internships.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be outgoing. Make sure you go to welcome week because that is where you will make all your friends.

    In three sentences

    Palm Beach Atlantic University is a wonderful college, it is located one mile from the beach which puts it in a perfect location. PBA also has great internship opportunities for when you get to the next step in your education. Lastly, PBA is a Christian college, this helps me by making my relationship God even closer.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    City place is right down the road with movies, shops, and dining. Of course there's the beach about 2 minutes away and theres a lot of things to do on campus all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to meet a lot of people and make sure to get involved in some of the clubs or in the community.

    In three sentences

    PBAU has a great location for both internships and activities. Being downtown West Palm there are plethora of opportunities to meet influential people and gain experience. The community is a perfect combination of fun and encouragement but still has an academic atmosphere.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great at PBAU. They're very friendly and helpful and always making students laugh and smile.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is less than a mile away, CityPlace is right across the street with tons of shops and restaurants, and you're in the heart of beautiful downtown West Palm Beach! What more could you ask for?!

    Food and Dining

    Like all college cafeterias, PBAU's isn't like your mom's home cooking. However, the staff is friendly and the food is pretty great compared to other college campuses. There is also Einsteins and Chick-Fil-A on campus

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life at PBAU. Since there is no Greek life, the dorms are a huge help in getting people involved on campus. Every year is the Sailfish Cup which is basically an Olympic Games style battle between the dorms and it's an awesome way to get involved and connect more with other dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty is wonderful at helping students. There are plenty of tutoring and academic help opportunities available, including one on one help with the professors themselves

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the campus! What made me fall in love with PBAU was visiting the campus and seeing how wonderful it truly was. It became my dream college and now my dream is reality!

    In three sentences

    Wonderful faculty. Perfect campus location. Vibrant dorm life

  • 06/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    42 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    PBA has safety patrols all seven days of the week, for Twenty-four hours. It also has Twenty-two emergency telephone call boxes that are located throughout campus.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities at PBA, which means that this university is free from corruptive partying, compared to other universities.

    Clubs and Activities

    PBA has more than 100 clubs on campus, giving students the opportunity to get involve in what interests them. It also holds monthly activities. Upcoming freshman experience Welcome Week, which is a week full of fun filling activities to make freshmen feel at home.

    Great for these types of students

    Hispanic Heritage week is one of a kind, here students from Spanish speaking countries get the opportunity to show off their native folklore dances, dishes and cultural wardrobes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every month PBA has something called the Coffee House Night, where students get together to show off their abilities and skills. Food and fellowship are a great way to connect with your peers, and meet new people.

    Bang for the buck

    The financial aid office frequently encourages students to participate in scholarship opportunities. They are extremely helpful compared to other financial aid counselors that do the minimum to help students, and parents.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is one mile away, and downtown West Palm Beach is one mile away as well, with that said there's plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    We have chick-fil-A on campus, Einstein Bros. Bagels, and Sailfish Dining, which consists of fresh foods only. Since PBA is in such a touristic area there is a wide variety of walking distance local restaurants for students to enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    Every dorm has an amazing view, and people get to know each other better through activities held there.

    Academic Rigor

    PBA is a small campus, which means that the population in class rooms ranges from 17 to 30. Classes are challenging, but students have the privelege of having one on one time with professors for extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay your deposit as soon as possible, also rent a parking garage. Having a parking garage guarantees that you will have a parking spot always, this is the best way to go.

    In three sentences

    PBA has an amazing staff. I will be attending in the fall, and I haven't even been there yet and I already feel welcomed. The staff and students make you feel at home. If you are looking for a Christ-centered environment this is the place for you!

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    From what I hear, there is ALWAYS something for you to do. Always.

    Food and Dining

    Have not tried, but I'm on the 7-day meal plan. A bit pricy, but I hope it will be good!

    Dorm Life

    All wood, dorms seem to have plenty of room. Good lounge areas and porches.

    Academic Rigor

    Known for some great teachers and students. Small class size, good academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check it out, talk to some admissions counselors, and ask about their scholarships. It's a great fit for anyone.

    In three sentences

    This is a beautiful campus that is clean and safe. It is a place where I know I'll get along with plenty of people. It is in a great location, just a mile from the beach!

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. There are always officers around ready and willing to assist you if you have any issues. They also can help you any hour of the day if you get locked out of your dorm.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is non existent. We have a couple academic fraternities but nothing like you would find at another university.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities for anyone and everyone. The school does a really good job at making people feel welcomed and at home. No matter where you might be from.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're not really into partying and things like that than this school is definitely for you. It's a dry campus meaning even if you are of age you can't drink on campus or be caught on campus with a blood alcohol level of .05 or higher.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a funeral home in the middle of campus. It's pretty unusual when you first see it but after awhile you just get used to it.

    Bang for the buck

    It's really expensive to go to PBA and they don't really help all that much in terms of financial aid. I wouldn't say it's worth all the money but it is a great school and if you can afford to go then I would definitely recommend it.

    What to do for fun

    I love going to the beach and playing sports. Mostly basketball. It's something I do everyday. I'm a Florida boy at heart so I love being outside and around water.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is top of the line. I personally love food and I truly believe our cafeteria is the best in the country. Such a different variety of food. Something different every single day. Always delicious though.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is alright. I personally preferred living off campus but dorm life is always a great way to meet new people and create new friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor can be difficult if you don't stay on top of things or if you get behind. Make sure you go to class and pay attention. Study for tests and quizzes and take good notes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class. Study hard. Always make time to go to the beach which is less than a mile from campus.

    In three sentences

    Amazing school with amazing people and professors. Accepting of everyone and really know how to make you feel like you belong. I would recommend if to anyone.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The staff has been so helpful in my registration process. Everything has been clear and thorough.

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    A true faith based education. An anointed faculty can make a difference in the education of your heart and mind.Be prepared for the Holy Spirit to meet you in class.

  • 10/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of our campus biggest clubs is Board Safety. Long boarders and skateboarders that patrol the school and all events.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few dining areas and the Cafe is an all-you-can-eat-buffet with a wide range of dishes.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know. I'm a commuter

    Academic Rigor

    More time is spent studying than in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a wonderful campus but try to keep your head out of the clouds. In any college you are responsible for your mistakes and mistakes have consequences.

    In three sentences

    Palm Beach Atlantic University is a strong, fast growing university, located near the Palm Beach beach on the inter-coastal. While I've only been attending classes here for less than two months I already feel welcomed. The faculty goes out of their way to insure a pleasant experience at PBA for all students.

  • 12/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are very helpful and even offer rides when needed - raining, lots of groceries, large packages from the mail room, etc.

    Greek Life

    There is little to no Greek life - only one sorority I believe.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is only a mile away! There is shopping very close by.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not great, but they offer Chik-Fil-A and Einstein's and there are many restaurants and food options close by campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Flagler Towers, and I recommend living here on in an apartment close by.

    Academic Rigor

    Although the courses are not impossible, they are definitely challenging and rewarding with all of the coursework assigned. I learned a lot in just my first semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have transportation of some sorts, as there is a lot to see and a shame if you have no way to go see everything.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is very calm and relaxing. The university itself prides itself on community service, maintaining a spiritual relationship, and thriving in sports and academics. The location for the campus is amazing.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 49 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Upside, it is an insanely safe campus. The campus safety is really really nice, and do their jobs really well.

    Greek Life

    none, haha

    Great for these types of students

    Wealthy, party hopping, alcohol drinking, skinny, squeely girls and surfer, skater, movie making boys. Every one is tan. Every one is skinny. And the girls always wear makeup and do their hair. You must love yourself more than life itself.

    Bang for the buck

    NOPE.

    What to do for fun

    If you have money: There are tons of great shops and theaters to go to around the school. You can literally walk to just about anywhere, and have so much fun. If you like the beach, it's a mile from school. If you're poor-good luck, you can basically only go to the beach.

    Food and Dining

    The first week of school the food in the caf is great! By the fourth week it will look like pig slop. There are no more parents or any one that could possibly be used to impress mirking around the school, so they let their guard down and apparently their food follows. DONT live on campus so you won't have to buy a meal plan because you will regret it.

    Dorm Life

    Loud, dirty, and no one cares. Basically what you'll have to deal with everywhere you go. It's horrible. If you are a girl, DO NOT stay in an all girls dorm like Baxter. It is THE WORST. If you are a boy, I'm sure it's different for you. Dorm life is horrible though.

    Academic Rigor

    EASY PEASY. Literally my first semester here was easier than my last two years of high school. The professors are kind, sweet, understanding and basically all push overs. The academic rigor here is a JOKE.

    Tips for prospective students

    First, I guess you must come to PBA knowing that it's a very expensive area to live in. West Palm Beach is ripe with filthy rich women and their spoiled rotten children, who simply attend PBA because they need an easy ride through school. There is a very very small amount of artistic, down to earth people who appreciate authenticity. Be ready to deal with that.

    In three sentences

    If you are athletic, skinny, white and a fan of Jesus, Palm Beach Atlantic University is for you. If you are in love with Jesus, seeking a deeper relationship with Him and others, PBA is NOT for you.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    As at most schools, the Caf food gets old.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's are lovely. Some of the dorms are great, while others could use a little work in the bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing student so all the science is difficult. Teachers are great though!

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus with a really great atmosphere.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Majority of the time, if you call safety and security they will be there in a hurry but also a lot of times they do not answer their phones or take forever to arrive somewhere.

    Greek Life

    There are two Christian fraternities as well as two Christian sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 50 clubs here at PBA ranging from student government to academic clubs like the pre-pharmacy society. We also have 7 varsity NCAA Division II sports including: men and women soccer, tennis, golf and basketball. Also, volleyball, baseball, and softball. There are many club sports such as women and men lacrosse. In addition to those, there is a cheer and dance team as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, wealthy, those who love the beach, those who love the city life and plenty of traffic.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a funeral home in the very center of campus which we purchased about a week ago to knock down and use for parking and other necessary things. Also, Oceanview, our coed dorm, over looks a cemetery so there is certainly no ocean view. The knick name for Oceanview is ODP for Over Dead People.

    Bang for the buck

    PBA is a private school, so it is very expensive and sometimes many of us believe it's not worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Being in downtown West Palm Beach, Fl and being exactly 1.1 miles from the beach always bring something fun to do for us college students or anyone living in the county. There is a dining/shopping center not too far from here called City Place where you can always do something. Because Palm Beach County is so big, you'll never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is not the worst I've ever had, but it's also not the best. There is one dining hall on campus that includes different things each day, but always have pizza, salad, stir fry, and a sandwich/wrap station. There is a Chick-fil-A on campus but they don't have the best hours. Einsteins Bros. Bagels is also on campus which is always great! In our student center, we have a little station called the POD Express where if you're on the go and over that way, can always go (when open) and grab something. They also have the cheapest coffee on campus!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very different. If you are considering a Christian school, make sure you visit and tour ALL the dorms. You may think they're one way, when they're the other. Here at PBA, there are a few different choices, however it just depends on your preference. I live in Johnson Hall which is an all-girl suite style dorm which 8 girls in each suite. There are 4 bedrooms with 2 of us living in each, while sharing a common room and one bathroom with 2 showers, 2 sinks, and 2 toilet stalls. There is an all-guy dorm set up the same way as well as another all-girl dorm with less girls and a coed (separated by an elevator) dorm. For upperclassmen, there are coed dorms as well that are like apartments, including a kitchen.

    Academic Rigor

    Because of the small classes (13:1 teacher to student ratio), the rigor of many of the classes is very challenging. It is doable, but you have to put time and effort into it, just as you would anywhere you go. Make sure you have your priorities right and develop time management. If you get those two things together, you will be able to accomplish anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know where you want to go. Transferring isn't a bad thing, but it'd save a lot of time to be 110% sure your top school is where you want to go and attend for x number of years. Put everything into perspective, not just cost, although it is a very important factor. Consider size, location, athletics (if you're into them), etc. You don't want to be unhappy at your chosen college.

    In three sentences

    Palm Beach Atlantic University is a very small, some-what diverse Christian University. I personally don't believe I fit here, but there are plenty of people that love it and want to continue to attend here.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The PBA Orlando campus itself is quite safe being contained in one building. Campus identification is required to enter the building after 7 pm when the doors are locked. A security guard keeps watch throughout the evening. Students are encouraged to be aware of their surroundings and to walk with each other to their cars after class. Most of the time students will be able to park close to the building and the parking lots are well-lit.

    Great for these types of students

    PBA Orlando is great for any student who wants to stretch themselves beyond the basics of getting a degree. Students who graduate from PBA will know what they believe and why and will have the tools and understanding necessary to make a positive impact on the world. PBA Orlando is also great for students who want to benefit from the experience of being in a diverse classroom.

    Bang for the buck

    PBA Orlando is a private school so tuition is higher than a public university, however, it is not out of range. Classes are small (generally less than 30 students) so contact with the professor is guaranteed. Relationships are easy to form because the campus atmosphere is so supportive and encouraging. Whether one is attending right out of high school or returning to school after many years (like me!), PBA Orlando provides an environment where students are challenged to stretch themselves and are supported on their path to achievement. Classes are comprised of a wide variety of ages, ethnicities, and backgrounds. In addition, most of the professors also have off-campus jobs which gives them more real-world applications and experience to bring to the classroom. Some professors have opportunities for their students to interact with professionals in the field.

    What to do for fun

    Central Florida is a hotspot for vacation and entertainment opportunities from shopping to sporting events. Nearly every activity one could desire can be accessed within a short drive from the campus.

    Food and Dining

    While PBA Orlando does not have its own cafeteria, there is a cafe in the lobby that serves a variety of options from snacks to meals and soup to sandwiches that is open until about 8 pm. Otherwise there are many dining establishments from fast food to elegant dining within a few miles of the campus. Due to the timing of the classes, eating during class time is accepted. Often classes will organize pot luck meals to be held during a break time. Vending machines with snacks and beverages are available, as are microwaves and coffee makers.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms currently at PBA's Orlando campus, however many housing opportunities exist in the central Florida area. Students are encouraged to develop friendships with their classmates on- and off-campus. Becoming involved in a community of faith is encouraged, as is community service and interaction.

    Academic Rigor

    PBA's Orlando campus employs a sub-semester system in which students attend two eight-week long classes for each of the two sub-semesters. This enables students to maintain the 12 credits required for full grants and scholarships and still be able to work part- or full-time. The accelerated schedule increases the academic rigor for each class but does not become overwhelming since only two classes are taken at a time. Each class meets one night per week in a four-hour block (6 - 10 pm). Online classes are also available. Professors have some latitude in choosing methods of determining academic achievement, however, papers written in APA format are required for each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be challenged spiritually as well as academically. PBA strives to prepare students for work and community service through helping them identify their strengths, understand their worldview, and see the world and their community with fresh vision. Communicate freely with your professors, especially if you are struggling with an assignment or issue. They are very willing to help in any way they can, but you must approach them.

    In three sentences

    As a non-traditional student returning to the classroom after 30 years, I was very nervous about my new adventure, however my experience at the Orlando campus of Palm Beach Atlantic University has been amazing! The ambiance of the campus is exciting, encouraging, and very supportive and the classes are challenging. Faculty and professors alike are invested in the success and growth of the students regardless of age or season in life.

  • 04/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs, organizations and societies with which one can get involved. There are dances and random fun activities that these organizations put on for the students.

    Food and Dining

    While the cafeteria is definitely better than some college cafeterias that I have eaten at, it does get old very quickly.

    Dorm Life

    I live in a dorm where I know almost everyone and am friends with almost everyone. This makes for an awesome communal experience.

    Academic Rigor

    I won't deny that the academics are more challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. While I didn't visit before I came down here, I recommend visiting. I love it but that may not be the case for everyone. 2. Consider the Honors Program. The faculty are devoted to their students' success and challenge students in the best way possible.

    In three sentences

    The campus is absolutely beautiful and the academics are wonderful. The Honors Program is a challenging but incredible alternative to general education requirements. I had never come here before I came to school, but I know I made the right choice.