Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Palo Alto College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Want to get a headstart on their education without having to pay university price, or who want to go back to college after a hiatus.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is relaxed. The student center almost always has an event or two going on for the students' benefits. Whether a concert, a live speaker, or even small shopping booths, something is always happening.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here at Palo Alto are always willing to help you. Also, the Learning Centers provide additional help in case you need just a little extra studying!

  • 07/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This place is great for first time students because it gives them the opportunity to see how college life is about. They won't make a mistake on a decision on a school they decided to go. So Palo Alto College is a great place to begin a career.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a good place where your money does not get thrown away. Getting in is very affordable many students do not think they could go to college and they see that they could afford it and get a career. This school is very helpful for people that really needed.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really do enjoy being here because I have made so many friends here already. For me personally is great, it is close to home, so many things I can do to pass time and its a clean environment.

    Am learning a lot

    This school is great for a learning environment. This is a community college the professors here are great, they want to help the students. Overall a good place to start your education career.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its a great choice of college if you want to get started on your studies and then transfer to a four year college. You can transfer all your credits easily to the university of choice within the state.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you make your schedule consider the time and how you are gonna get from one class to another.

    Bang for the buck

    Oh yea and this college is very affordable. I am getting help from financial aid and paying for tuition is not as bad as paying for a four year university.

    Will enjoy being here

    I only been to student orientation and i got to see how nice the college looks from the inside and out. The people there are friendly and the staff is very patient and helpful.

    Will learn a lot

    I will attend palo alto this fall and i am already going to attend a math course next week. This course is meant to help my math skills for the accuplacer and i am glad this college has this math summer session because its useful for anybody who wants to improve their skills in math.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join one of the many clubs there

    Tips for prospective students

    always ask for help

    In three sentences

    Palo Atlo is a great college. People are very friendly the campus is nice. the teacher are very helpful as well

  • 08/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to be a scientist, mathematician, historian, photographer, or pretty much anything, this as a great place to start. They have a good veterinarian program. If you are pre-nursing or pre-med, you can get the classes you need to move on the university level. They offer classes in aviation, business, and education. You can even receive an associate of applied science in turfgrass (turgrass and golf course management).

    Tips for prospective students

    PAC is the place to go if you are working for an associate degree or considering a two-plus-two plan. Its location in the South-side of SA is very convenient for students in southern Bexar county and for those in northern Atascosa county. If you are out-of-state, there are apartments nearby. If you are fearful that you will not do well in a college environment, rest assured, they do their very best to make students feel at home. The learning center offers tutoring for math, writing, and science. The computer labs are great, and the library provides sufficient sources for research.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid is very helpful, and the scholarships students get are an answer to their prayers. PAC is very affordable. Because they offer so many different courses, most of which are transferable, the price of less than $2,000 a semester for full-time students is not bad at all. You get the same education for less.

    Am enjoying being here

    PAC has culture. The unique culture of San Antonio spills out throughout the entire campus. The buildings remind students of the Spanish Missions nearby and the new red building that can be seen miles away expresses the Hispanic heritage of San Antonio. The faculty is helpful, and students are friendly. The small classes help to enhance the learning experience.

    Am learning a lot

    There are a vast variety of learning opportunities here at PAC. Whether it is in the classroom, in the library, or on display, learning here is a good experience.

  • 08/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    As Stated in my Am Learning a lot box, the teachers here are cream of the crop in my stand point and for a community college price you can't beat the level of education that the students will receive.

    Am enjoying being here

    Palo Alto always has some type of event going on. It can be the music classes putting on a show for us or the debate team showing their skills in the Cafeteria.

    Am learning a lot

    Palo Alto is a great facility filled with a great choice of grade A teachers that make learning fun and not just work. Of Course you will have to do your part. Palo Alto offers culture and a certain amount of freedom that many students such as myself really seem to enjoy.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security constantly driving through campus to ensure the safety of faculty and students.

    Great for these types of students

    great for anyone looking for a good affordable education, and for someone not wanting to travel too far from home.

    What to do for fun

    pacfest, entertainment in student center, attend basketball games and swimming meets.

    Food and Dining

    i have had many lunches in the students center cafeteria and was happy with the choices they offered.

    Academic Rigor

    the faculty makes sure you get a great education to prepare you for the next step in your educational path.

    Tips for prospective students

    put palo alto's resources to use. accessible library, student center, welcome and advising centers, and tutoring for a little extra help.

    In three sentences

    palo alto college is a community college that makes you feel at home. the instructors are welcoming and friendly. a great learning environment that is close to home.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i haven't had any bad experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    many to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    all students are welcome, even if you are 50+ like me

    What to do for fun

    you can go walking, play tennis, go swimming with pac great pool, and of course eat out.

    Food and Dining

    there are great resturants around campus...

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focus, committed, and don't be afraid to ask for help..

    In three sentences

    home away from home, i feel at home here and the staff is wonderful. everyone here is so friendly and kind. i enjoy attending palo alto college come and join me.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college once in awhile will have crime alerts such as theft, but as long as you are not careless, forgetful, and not leave your things lying around, you will be alright. The college police are quite strict and are always roaming around. Night classes are a little harder for them notice anything but there are only a handful of classes that are at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of clubs that you can be apart of. PAC always has a spring festival. Throughout each semester, they always have free food and prizes. They also take the students to certain places like LaserQuest, bowling, and movie theaters.

    What to do for fun

    They have a large pool which is free for college students. You can attend basketball games (girls and guys). They also have a workout room but you can go only on certain times because of class times (same for basketball gym).

    Food and Dining

    Food is is really good but quite pricey like any college. The cafeteria is large and can get pack, but they do have picnic tables throughout the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Study (whether by yourself or with a group) and you get an A; Study on occasion and you get a B; don't study and go out with friends and you get a C or lower. Your professors also influence your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is not high school; you are responsible for choosing your own classes. You are treated like adults and therefore must be responsible like one, since you are in a classroom full of them. Getting to know some of your classmates is also very important in college for knowing which professors to take or any important news/deadlines they heard of.

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto College is a very good college that cares about its student. A majority of the professors take time to help the students out and the faculty is willing to answer any questions you have. There are a few cons just like any college but other that that I highly recommend this college above its sister colleges.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school provides great safety. Security guards there monitor the campus to make sure no trouble comes to the campus. It's always great to see such a great campus being protected by those who are responsible and who care for every student. It's simply amazing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We actually have some few unusual traditions but they aren't to strange, our campus has some strange art exhibits outside but they're so amazing aswell to behold and makes you ponder about the genius this school has.

    What to do for fun

    Palo Alto College has a wide variety of fun experiences that students can attend or be apart of. We just had our PACfest ceremony for Fiesta Week and it was planned out great, lots of food, fun, many games for students and their families to enjoy the customs it was an overall success. Their are also lots programs that offer fun especially robotics, planning study times with friends, walking around the campus and checking out the art exhibits as well.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Palo Alto College offers a wide variety of food for everyone. Different forms of food, they also supply great food choices, healthy and proportional for every student to enjoy. Breakfast to stimulate the brain, lunch to feed the body and soul it increases a students chance to do better throughout their day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great for those who live in the apartments close around, it provides great care for the students as well as a small hospital next to us in case of emergencies to care for students.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at the campus are very useful and provide well being for every student.

    Tips for prospective students

    My best advice to new students who are going to attend this school, is to go in and not be terrified of what college holds. Go in and face it head on, Palo Alto College is a fun experience to prepare you for the universities that you may be transferring to. The college has great sources for you to use, they help you out so much, the people their are excellent to work with. The department heads make sure each student is shown respect and can walk around this campus with a smile on their face after they finish learning for the day.

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto College is an excellent school, the professors there are very helpful and care about there students in achieving there goals and pushing them to make a better future for themselves. Palo Alto College has a great campus, very clean, very suitable for studies especially during final exams, the tutors and the library are excellent resources to use to prepare for the finals. Excellent works here. Palo Alto College also has a great program called TRIO which any new student who is the first in their family to go to college, that they can help you with tutoring, counseling, planning your future with what degrees you plan on achieving. They also help you with financial issues, signing up for your classes and more.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is great. Ive never had to worry or had a thought of danger.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are great. People get really involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great if you're not ready to go to a 4 year university and if you need to save money.

    Bang for the buck

    You save a lot of money!

    What to do for fun

    Join a sport league.

    Food and Dining

    Great! Everywhere you go there are food places around there. The cafeteria is pretty good too.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take it seriously and study. As much work you put into it is as much you will get out of it.

    In three sentences

    My experience there for my first year of college was great. I feel they have prepared me to go into a 4-year university. They also were pretty good when it came to helping me with my schedule, financial aid, etc.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is outstanding. There are plenty of officers patrolling the college during classes and after classes are over. It is a good feeling to know you will not have to look over your shoulder.

    Greek Life

    I do not know of any fraternities in the college just clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs. The most popular clubs are the honor society, anime and mariachi clubs. It definitely benefits the student to join a club because it helps get scholarships and meet different people.

    Great for these types of students

    Palo Alto College is great for anybody. Your race, gender, sex preference, and economic background does not matter. The only thing the college cares about is your desire to better yourself and learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Palo Alto College offers their own version of fiesta. Fiesta occurs in April at downtown San Antonio. It is called the PAC Fest it is very fun and much cheaper than actually going down town and paying an arm and a leg for small entertainment.

    Bang for the buck

    Palo Alto College has very reasonable prizes for great classes. You will definitely get your moneys worth.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do for fun. The gym is free for students. There are also a lot of clubs for all types of people.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome especially the pizza. There are also vending machines everywhere so it's really good to have some extra cash.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at the college.

    Academic Rigor

    This school provides great education at a bargain price. There are many classes. The most difficult classes are the science classes but that also means they are the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should defenetely know what classes they want to take so that their time and money is not wasted. Students should not be shy it is important to ask questions so that the student is informed. A very important tip is to always check your student account called ACES it has the answers to most of your questions.

    In three sentences

    This collge has high quality education at a very reasonable amount. This college is welcoming and the staff will help if the students ask questions. This college has great transfer programs and a variety of classes that will be needed for any program.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college is pretty safe, even though there are some car break-ins and people stealing computers.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities like the Criminal Justice club and Veterinarian club.

    Bang for the buck

    The intuition fees are not too expensive, its pretty affordable.

    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs or organizations, there are some festivals like PACfest and Graduation festival.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty to eat and plenty to drink. There are a lot of coke and snack vending machines all around campus, outside and inside of the buildings.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in this college, which pretty sucks.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of academics to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always get to class on time and turn in every homework by the due date because most instructors won't accept late work. Do your very best and ask anyone if you need help.

    In three sentences

    This college is very beautiful and well clean. The instructors are really nice and help you at any way they can. You can easily find your way around campus and never get lost.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you can exercise,swim, ad we have a alot of events

    Food and Dining

    The chef is very good in cooking

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    try joining organizations

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do the work and be on time for class. don't disrespect your teachers and listen what they have to say.

    In three sentences

    I like Palo Alto, all the people is very informative.They are organized and clean. I really appreciate all the ad visors that support me and others.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gymnasium is amazing

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very affordable

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto is a great campus and provides lots of different programs. The Instructors are great and go above and beyond to help their students succeed. Palo alto also provides students with programs to help transfer to 4 year colleges very easily.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Helpful staff in first attending school and helps in your major

    In three sentences

    Great school to attend. Very great staff and friendly

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have a variety of different things you can do around the campus that will keep you busy.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the classes you want for a really good price.

    Food and Dining

    Have not eaten there yet so i wouldn't know.

    In three sentences

    From what I have experienced Palo Alto is a really beautiful college. I love how they have small classes you you have a high chance of really understanding the the work. The staff is really helpful and interactive with the students and that is what i really like about it. It is a really good college and excited to attend in the fall.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every time I go I usually see security roaming the place. It seems to be pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    I don't think there are any Greeks.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, hard working students with a passion in their chosen field. It will be fun for you. :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Like every school Palo Alto has it's pros and cons. It's good if you know another student who has attended with them for a while so they can mentor you on what to watch out for, and what teachers are good to take. Many Palo Alto students love their teachers and give them detailed ratings on college professor rating websites. My sister has been attending this school for a good while now and really likes it. I am looking forward to attending this semester.

    What to do for fun

    they have activities every so often and drama plays that are really good.

    Food and Dining

    The food in their cafeteria is really good, but as usual with college eateries, fairly expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Palo Alto has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on teachers. Some teachers are kind of outrageous with how much work they give you. Others really want you to succeed and make the work load really reasonable and straightforward so you can focus on learning and passing rather than worrying about having time to complete and pass assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    The staff members while nice, don't seem well informed all of the time. Make sure you research the rules and requirements for everything you need to do on the website as well talk to a few different staff members. Make sure you are being fed correct information about everything in time enough that if you had anything wrong you can fix it before it messes up your schedule.

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto has friendly staff and students. Palo Alto lacks a lot of trained and well informed staff members (non-teachers). Palo alto seems like a nice school close to home with nice teachers.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are clubs that host different type of activities all the time. There are always posters with announcements of the next activity available for you to join in on the fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with activities always ask for help if you have a doubt on anything.

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto is a great communit college that offers a wide variety of classes. The faculty is very helpful they are always willing to help. The professors take their job serious and make it ease for you to learn and understand the material.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of great clubs all around San Antonio .

    What to do for fun

    Downtown San Antonio is a great place for fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help or have questions never be afriad to ask.

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto is a great college to begin or complete your major. It has a variety of majors you can choose from the staff is all very friendly and help you in everything you need. I recommend Palo Alto College to any one who hasn't decided on a college, it's a perfect place to begin your educational journey though life.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food and dining is really good.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    a great academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Something i wish i knew more about was the events that take place. There are a lot of events that go on in the school and its good to be connected in order to go to all the events.

    In three sentences

    This campus is very nice, beautiful, and is a great college for me to spend my first year at. It is a small campus which helps me get from class to class easily with out getting lost. The campus was very welcoming by handing out free things and had booths to get to know our college.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great. There's the emergencies buttons scattered through out the campus, not to mention many posters on the buildings with the campus security number.

    Greek Life

    I'm Hispanic. ^^ Kidding, I'm not in the Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Otaku Alliance: Those interested in the Japanese Culture and animated shows not mainstream. TRIO Program: Such a helpful and caring group. I get special tutors to help me, a quiet section to study, and every once and a while they take us out for bonding group activities like cookouts, ice-breakers or various other activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for motivated and inspired students who wish to make friends, learn by thoughtful teachers, and just have a pleasant experience. Recommended for...well everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ....I don't know of any as of right now. ^-^;

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are way cheaper (it is a community college) but the teachers and the curriculum is no joke. I feel challenged each day I come to school.

    What to do for fun

    There's so many organizations and student clubs here. I've checked out the Otaku Alliance and the TRIO program, but tomorrow I'll be attending the Club Fair and hoping to meet new people and add more groups under my belt.

    Food and Dining

    Great food! Yummy food. c: -pats tummy-

    Dorm Life

    Sadly, I don't live on campus. Actually, I don't think they have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always get everything ready on time. The EARLIER the BETTER.

    In three sentences

    I've barely transferred here and already I feel like I've been since day 1. It's such a close community that's extremely helpful. PAC is such a great college!

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone gets informed on their ACES account about a burglary, or anything else that happens at ANY of the alamo colleges. The campus also has posts that have big buttons that you push for the police on campus, and there is always a security guard riding around 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Not so much. There are only a few clubs, fraternities, or sororities that deal with that stuff.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are awesome, and the activities are GREAT!!! There's always something going on somewhere on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Hispanic, Spanish, and the not so wealthy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Hispanic Heratage Month!!, and PACfest for FIESTA!!!

    Bang for the buck

    A huge slice of pizza is $3!!! and most of the vending machines have stuff for all price ranges. ($2-.50)

    What to do for fun

    Volunteer on campus, go to some or all of the free activities on campus and get free stuff.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty great, and the prices aren't expensive, but it's the FREE stuff I like.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are great while others not so much. Ask around and that'll help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check your ACES account. Try to attend activities on campus, you never know who will be there. Have fun and don't stress!

    In three sentences

    Helpful, If you know where to look. Great professors. Lots of opportunities.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a campus security guard in sight. That makes students feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and organizations to join from honors programs to the art club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students worrying about money should come here for a college education.

    What to do for fun

    Palo Alto College always has fun activities set up everyday. There's always something to do between classes.

    Food and Dining

    For cafeteria food, it's pretty good. The sandwich bar is recommended.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors! Read, read, read (it'll help in the long run) Join clubs and organizations! Take advantage of available resources.

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto College is a really awesome campus to attend. They have lots of classes and events going on all the time, the staff and teachers are really helpful and nice, and it's just an all around beautiful campus. Palo Alto College also provides top-notch education for a way lower price compared to four year universities.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a good security around the school

    Food and Dining

    It is kind of expensive.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms in this college

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the teachers are mean, at your first day of class some expect you to know it all already.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walk the campus

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It's okay

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are good at figuring things out on your own, or live close by the school, don't go here. Unless you use the rate your teacher or meet them first to make sure the teachers are good.

    In three sentences

    a school with some good, and some teachers who shouldn't be teachers! if you ever need help, you will have to go to the school because none of the office people answer their phones ever! But the advisors are great at helping with different things school related.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police and security are very friendly and every where in campus. A lot of students feel safe leaving their cars in the campus parking lot, unlike in other colleges where vehicles are often stolen.

    Clubs and Activities

    PAC offers a very limited variety of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a calm campus with friendly students. And with excellent professors (and most of them attended the college themselves!).

    Bang for the buck

    One of my favorite things about the campus, is walking from one class to the next class, and passing though all the beautiful gardens and the colorful halls.

    What to do for fun

    Most students go out to South Park Mall or to Olive Garden during their lunch break. Some students run at the track at Palo Alto, play soccer or to the gym.

    Food and Dining

    Palo alto has a small cafeteria in the student center, which offers students lunch, snacks, drinks and friendly customer service. They have good coffee and the best homemade muffins!

    Dorm Life

    Palo Alto College currently doesn't offer dorms, but theirs apartments/ rooms for rent available for students. A lot of students rent houses close to the campus and rent the rooms out to other students.

    Academic Rigor

    Palo Alto offers some of the best and funniest professors I ever had! I learned so much from hands on activities. Palo Alto also offers an entire building full of tutoring services.

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto College is a beautiful campus on the Southside of San Antonio. Unlike, the other college campuses where the everything is crowded and theirs no room for gardens, Palo Alto has a calm and well designed campus. It includes many beautiful gardens ALL around campus(as well as hundreds of beautiful trees), many benches and tables, which create the perfect environment for learning and studying.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always cops checking areas. I feel safe at all times. I love the polls that calls cops to the area if you feel unsafe!

    Greek Life

    Hmmm, I honesty don''t know what to say about that.

    Clubs and Activities

    Check the catalog, there's a wide range of great choices!

    Great for these types of students

    Interacting and listening is great! Don't be shy. Believe me, being shy doesn't get you anywhere. Step out of your shell and your comfort zone, the students here at Palo Alto are friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is always something going on! It's fun. It ranges from concerts to booths. During the 2012 campaign, there was individuals helping students to resister to vote! The Booths may include sales on foods, sales on drinks, free foods, free drinks, free information about universitys, free one on one FASA help...Honesty there is soo much amazing activities to write. Come to PAC and become a Palomino! The campus is great!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Take A Tour! The campus is not that small. It is easy to find your classes and the buildings!

    What to do for fun

    I love to interact and help individuals study if they need help. The environment is friendly and great. I love it.

    Food and Dining

    I honesty never ate at the college, but I heard the pizza is great.

    Dorm Life

    I never had a dorm, but I bet it would be comfortable and affordable for any individuals budget.

    Academic Rigor

    I have got all A's and B's. Time management, listening skills, and study skills has really helped me get where I'm today. The student development classes is truly a great opportunity for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend students to always check out the website http://blog.ratemyprofessors.com/, because most professors teach differently. However, I believe as long as you have great listening skills, time management skills. and study skill you'll be reaching your high standards. And take advantage of the free torturing, its great!

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto Community College has wonderful faculty and staff. The Professors are truly amazing and make teaching exciting. Overall the community college is outstanding!

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    School Police in and around Campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    soo many clubs to join!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The aquatic center is pretty bomb.

    Bang for the buck

    Shopping online is the best way to go.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of clubs and organizations to join!

    Tips for prospective students

    ALWAYS study, don't drag around.

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto College has a very friendly community, the professors are always willing to help to the best of their abilities.

  • 05/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Passkey

    What to do for fun

    Join an organization and there is always Pacfest in the spring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet with a counselor to help you with scheduling your classes. Try to join a club or do activities that the college offers it makes for a greater experience.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy Palo Alto because the classes are small and you get the attention you need. The professors there get to know there students better and are willing to help.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not much food choice and kind of expensive for what you get

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very good and expect you to do your work and turn it in on time and not very much homework depending on what class you take

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto College is the best place to get your basic classes done. And a good place to start when your fresh out of high school because, the teachers are there to help whenever you need it

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on at the campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Palo alto hosts an official fiesta event called Pacfest. Which includes lots of food stands, academic information booths, and live music.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is really good and its not to expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the faculty at the school insure that you are getting a great education to prepare you for the next step in your educational goals

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overload yourself with classes the first semester until you figure out what is a good work load for you.

    In three sentences

    Very nice faculty and administration. The atmosphere is very calm and relaxed, you will always find students outside studying. Palo alto college is a great school, you always feel comfortable and safe.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Some variation, but somewhat repetitive menus. Especially during holidays!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes designed to strengthen student learning. Library quite accessable, library staff very willing to assist in all research. Study rooms set up for the success of the student, as well as texts available for check-out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for all the possibilities in scholarships before applying. Get the financial aid situation clarified first.

    In three sentences

    Very good college. The professors work very hard to help students with their coursework. Very helpful fellow students.

  • 09/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Campus security and cameras always around.

    Greek Life

    Unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always fun activities throughout the year.

    Great for these types of students

    If you enjoy free food, and prizes. During the winter time they bring free hot chocolate and tacos for the students. During fiesta and mardi gras they free cake, punch, games and prizes. They always have days with free food and games. There are also always people selling jewelry, and other items. They also hold book fairs, on holidays they sell gifts like for valentines day,etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the.spring the have a huge festival called Pacfest. On this day most of the students wont have to attend classes because most teachers wont have class on this day or they will just tell you to just go to class for attendance purposes and let you leave afterwards. They have all types of foods, sweets, fun, games, prizes and performances. It is fun for the family.

    Bang for the buck

    Very inexpensive and work with you.

    What to do for fun

    Palo Alto always has something interesting to do. They always have games and contests were you can win money or ipads.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. The people who work in the kitchen are extremely friendly. So try to make friends with the cooks and servers because they really know how to hook you up when it comes to serving you alot of food.

    Dorm Life

    I live about seven to ten minutes away from the school at my mother's house. But there are many apartments close by the school. They are all close to many Resturants like Olive Garden, Mcdonalds, Sonic, Whataburger, stores like Target, Burlington, Ross and South Park Mall.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent teachers and staff always willing to help you with everything and anything you need help with whether its about work, financial aid and school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is ideal for students who are seeking a fun, down to earth school. This school is so welcoming to all it's students and guests. They do everything and anything to make it's students and guests comfortable, have a great time and.feel like family.

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto College is inexpensive and perfect for students obtaining their basics. It is a very fun environment. Everyone is extremely nice and helpful.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus right off of a major highway. Palo Alto is an open campus. There is campus security as well as campus notifications sent to all students via call/text when there is an issue.

    Greek Life

    I'm not familiar with it but I know they have sororities and frats.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was never a part of any of the clubs. There are music, art, science clubs. The are sports, recreational, and fitness clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Palo Alto is for any student. Palo Alto is for students looking for just a 2 year degree. Palo Alto is also for students who wish to pursue higher education beyond an Associates with their 2+2 degree plan.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are non I am aware of.

    What to do for fun

    Palo Alto has several athletics club. Palo Alto has social clubs with student activities and events. Palo Also has academic clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria. The cafeteria does not have a lot of hours of business. The cafeteria serves mostly things like snacks, drinks, and fast food.

    Dorm Life

    No student housing

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not difficult. I made the Presidents list my first year. There is a workload restriction so students don't take on more than they can handle each semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry if you don't know what you want to study because the advisors will assist you in making a degree plan. Don't be afraid to ask questions in class, the instructors appreciate it. Move at your own pace.

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto is a very diverse campus. Palo Alto's instructor enjoy teaching students. Palo Alto is a great value as well as all of the ACCD campuses.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you ever feel insecure about walking to your car the college police are very helpful and friendly about walking with you to your car and making sure you feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I recommend the Puente Club, we are a family and we go through everything together.

    Bang for the buck

    Palo Alto gives you the motivation for school, the teachers build a connection with you so that you want to get up and go to school every morning.

    What to do for fun

    I love to participate in different clubs to get to know different people and so they get to know me.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is filled with different variety. Filled with couches to make nice and cozy.

    Dorm Life

    The school does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I love it, the teachers know exactly what they are doing and what they are talking about.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend the school but first talk to a counselor or advisor before enrolling in an unnecessary class.

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto College is very family friendly. The teachers are helpful and love what they do. If you need any help everyone is willing to lend a hand.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is really good here, Since we have our campus police always going around the campus checking up on things.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of clubs and activities, so there's pretty much something here for anybody:)

    What to do for fun

    To do for fun, well the college does have little festivals and parties ocassionally on campus. Just recently we were celebrating homecoming which was fun:)

    Food and Dining

    There's restraunts around the campus and the cafeteria has some good food.

    Dorm Life

    Palo alto doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I say it can be challenging and at the same time it can be a walk in the park. Just depends on how much you're willing to learn and just knowing how to paceyourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn how to manage you schedule and do not procrastinate, procrastination will become your enemy, so don't put off things to the last minute.

    In three sentences

    A great place to start for a first time college student. There's a great staff and Faculty members. The professors here really try to help and work with their students, to achieve greatness.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many types of clubs and organizations that one can join. On holidays the school provides entertainment in which a student can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive to eat everyday and about twice. That's why I bring lunch from home.

    Dorm Life

    At Palo Alto there are no dorms. This is a bad factor for students coming from far and aren't able to be coming back and forth. However, there are apartments near by for reasonable prices.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't had any problems or difficulties at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose a career that you are interested in and won't get tired of doing after a few years. Always look for things that are best for you, not at what other people want you to do.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for all types of students! The staff, teachers and faculty are friendly and comprehensive. The students are varied and don't have cliques.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have emegency posts all around campus with a 24/7 service of safety. Campus police office on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Inturmuaral sports, Photography club, Student Government, many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students wanting to go in slowly and one step at a time.

    What to do for fun

    We have inturmural sports, a new fitness center with an inside pool.

    Food and Dining

    We have a private Cafeteria, with a salad bar, chef, and many food options and specials.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    On point.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good GPAs and Very involved.

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto College is a great school to get more one on one with your education. The student body is not very big, so you feel confident and not so overwhelemed. It is a perfect school to begin your college years and slowly get into the habit of college.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a safe campus.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for any student looking to transition from high school to college and transfer to a university. It's great for any student really, there isn't one set type.

    What to do for fun

    It's great to join clubs, or participate possibly in after school activities. Its a great way to learn new things and get to know new people.

    Academic Rigor

    I hear that the students really enjoy attend their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice that I could give any prospective students is focus on getting your basics finished. Its a great school to network with other students, and figure out what you want to major in if you don't already know. It allows you to have breathing room to adjust to the transition from high school to college and get ideas of what would be a great career path for you.

    In three sentences

    PAC is a great local college in San Antonio. The staff is very friendly and helpful to future and current students that visit and attend the college. I would definitely highly recommend PAC to any interested students, it's a great campus.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been reports of criminal activity on campus but no students have ever been harmed. I do see police vehicles paroling around.

    What to do for fun

    There is a Pac Feast that is fun along with other festivals hosted on campus and variety of clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    There are fast food places close to the college to buy food, but the cafeteria on campus has good food as well.

    Dorm Life

    I there are no dorms available on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The vet tech program I am in is very rigorous, but fun as well. I have learned so much thanks to the enforcing staff that works hard to get us ready for our state exam to become certified after graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that if you are transferring that your transcript gets mailed to the college and which classes transfer over as well. Also talk to administrations and financial aid to make sure everything is in order two weeks before classes start.

    In three sentences

    The Vet Tech program is very challenging but the staff is very supportive. I have no had a problem getting help when I need it. It has nice scenery as well.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They offer a basketball court/ swimming pool/ soccer field/ football field/ inside gym/ game room

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, they have hamburgers/ burritos/ chicken tenders/ chicken nuggets/ they also have ice cream and all kind of different disserts

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, they have a small little complex dorm for a room mate or two. They have A nice lobby to do homework and assignments

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with all class work and assignments. Be in class on time Kep a GPA above a 2.0

    In three sentences

    Its an amazing school and offers lot of different criteria. The teachers are very helpful and easy to wok with as well as all students. They have all the resources to help you with any financial struggle you come across.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are on campus but if something happens they will do very little to help you. We had a part stolen from our car in the middle of the day and we heard nothing back after talking to them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lacking but can still be fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Its very cheap to go here!

    What to do for fun

    Make friends go out to eat, participate in student actives, hangout in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    Okay but make sure to order from EJ the old black guy. He is the best and kindest man on the campus.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Not difficult at all. Just do the homework and you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check http://www.ratemyprofessors.com/ for good teachers. Make sure to use the tutor building. Make sure to bug the financial aid office because they are lazy and will forget.

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto is a great starting platform. Most of the teachers are down to earth and understanding. However, the school board is unwilling to hear student concerns about charges.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is great about updating alerts, if there is any at all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My friends and I signed up for the same classes so we tend to hang out after class, or if it's a nice day we will walk around campus and talk about life.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs on campus you can join such as anime, or if you want to read there is a huge library with tons of books to choose from. They always have something different in the student center such as games and movies to watch.

    Food and Dining

    In the student center they always have food that you can purchase for breakfast or lunch, and if you can't find something you like there are a lot of restaurants nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home with my parents, I don't think Palo Alto has dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Phone of the instructors just do lectures however there are some that take tracing to the next level with videos relating to the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    You shouldn't procrastinate when it comes to reading the text book or writing an essay, most of the courses require essays and you will be writing a lot, so I wouldn't wait until the last minute to start working on a project.

    In three sentences

    The classes at Palo Alto are easy, and the teachers are really helpful when it comes to writing essays. If you are unable to meet with an instructor you can always email them and they will answer you back as soon as possible.

  • 07/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus but sometimes I do stay late and it feels like I'm the only person there. I think compared to other alamo college campus' Palo Alto is pretty safe and you don't really have to worry about something happening to you or your car.

    What to do for fun

    They have PAC Fest which I've been to once and it was nice. I don't really take part in much of the activities they offer but it seems like there is always something going on in the courtyard and sometimes they will have bands play or give away free food or stuff. There is always something going on you just have to look in the right places and ask the right people!

    Food and Dining

    I've never had a problem with any of their food. They have a lot of choices for everyone and they are all really good. The only thing is that they close the kitchen after a certain time and sometimes if you stay late the kitchen will already be closed. Sorry people who take night classes!

    Dorm Life

    Well you can't live on campus haha because it's just a community college but there are apartments nearby that are available. But most people live nearby or just commute everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't too difficult if you ask questions when you don't understand, pay attention in class, or go to tutoring. It is possible to make A's but you if you don't make any effort to show up to class or give your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If there was anything I would tell future students or people considering this school it is that tutoring or asking your teachers for help is greatly recommended. Also if you don't have a printer at home, I would suggest buying a go-print card (can't remember what it is called) so that you can print your work at the school. Also the library is greatly overlooked! If you're like me and you need a quiet place to study/do homework the library is a great place to go.

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto College is a beautiful campus! All of the teachers i've had have been very helpful and understanding. There are many resources given to you to help you become successful.

  • 08/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Overall, very inexpensive.

    What to do for fun

    LIBRARY! Free wi-fi and plug ins everywhere

    Food and Dining

    At the Student Center, food there is pretty good, you will always have options.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, there is no dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    Not only do they have wonderful facilities, but they have amazing teachers who are there to ensure that you succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    The college has a great performing arts center, although the huge library is my particular favorite!

    In three sentences

    Palo Alto College is an amazingly clean college with great people everywhere to help you out. It has a great location 10 minutes away from the heart of San Antonio. I love it and recommend it to anyone!