Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Paradise Valley Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    PVCC is great for students who are looking for a cost-effective education with all the same amenities that a university offers, students who would like to participate in distance learning or independent study, and students who would like to someday transfer to a university. In addition, PVCC is a wonderful choice for students who would like to join a valuable honors program or extracurricular activity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the Learning Support Center. Tutors are always there to help you with whatever question you may have on your homework, no matter how stupid you may think it is. Along with receiving help on homework, students can also have their writing looked at and edited in the Learning Support Center, so make sure to take advantage of this service. Having your work edited can especially help if you're writing an essay for a scholarship.

    Bang for the buck

    With only seventy-one dollars per credit hour, it can't be more affordable to receive an excellent education. Moreover, PVCC offers the opportunity to receive certain bachelors degrees from Arizona State University and Northern Arizona University right at their campus, via online and in classrooms so students don't have to relocate to attend either university. Also, there is a convenient on campus daycare, wonderful honors program, and a multitude of affordable extracurricular activities that one would all find at a regular university, except at a much more economical price.

    Am enjoying being here

    Though the campus may not be as pretty as some universities and it lacks the tightly knit campus life you can only find at a university, PVCC still contains friendly people and the services you need for your education. PVCC has a quality Learning Support Center that is open Monday through Saturday, which has tutors that are always available to help you with any homework and writing issues you may have. In addition, PVCC has a Computer Commons section located right next to the Learning Support Center that houses a wide variety of computers, printers, and rooms for all of its students. Overall, the ambiance around the campus is a positive, warm one and if a student ever needs any kind of help, there are 600 work stations to go to and there is always someone to help you. Counselors, academic advisers, financial aide advisers, and librarians can be reached at any time classes are in session.

    Am learning a lot

    I know many preconceptions about community colleges revolve around them not providing the same quality of education as the big universities do, but I'm happy to report that those judgements are sadly incorrect. From learning how to successfully construct a ten page or more research essay to learning how to create a lesson plan for future students in my introduction to education course, I can confidently state that I've learned many new skills, structures, and techniques to further my education, and undoubtedly myself. Because I had the opportunity to work in groups and compose projects together with other students, I also polished my interpersonal skills and learned how to work together with many different people since there are always students of all ages in your classes. Also, if you're looking for rigorous courses, PVCC has an honors program with specialty classes to give you the focused academic experience you want.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is like a life guard anything you need they will be their from jump starting your car to a lost memory chip.

    Greek Life

    haven't experienced.

    Clubs and Activities

    their are dance clubs, drama, hiking, christian, study, art anything you can really think of its here..

    Great for these types of students

    great for young students and adults.attending a community college allows more freedom and flexibility . many students at a community colleges have kids and jobs like many at universities might, yet the flexible hours and smaller classes allow better interaction among professor's and students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    at pvcc their is a tradition with barbecues. every time their is a set up of clubs trying to recruit or a big announcement their will be food involved.

    What to do for fun

    i like going to the soccer games with some friends after having a long study session in the library.

    Food and Dining

    the food verity is great. a very wide verity of salads, sandwiches, pizza, hamburgers, mini buffet, so many drinks to choose from and great deserts. the prices are very reasonable .

    Dorm Life

    we have no dorms, but i spend so much time their it's like a second home.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are very well prepared and show experience by the many techniques they use to engage the students and help them to learn and understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    engage in activities and get studies groups. doing this will make your college experience run smoother and fun.

    In three sentences

    paradise valley is a school with many different types of ethnic groups and they find a way to adapt to all the needs. their safety department is very useful and quick. thus, the flexibility in its class hours makes it easy for anyone to adapt and attend school.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I love campus safety officers! They are always there to help and it doesn't have to be just for safety purposes. They have a sense of humor and are always on top of things. If you're having car problems, they can jump start it, change a tire, or whatever, they are helpful with finding class rooms, finding loss items..you name it!

    Greek Life

    Greek food is wonderful!

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Life and Leadership has all the clubs you would want to get involved with and if the one you are searching for isn't there, then they will allow you to create it, lead it and expand it.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Celebrating all nationalities!! African American Month, Native American, Asian...etc. They also have a great Health building complete with simulation rooms. If you are studying Nursing or EMT, it is the most unusual, but extraordinary building. I also love the Q building!!

    Bang for the buck

    The tutors are awesome! They care about your learning needs. The Disability Service Center is there for those who need that extra help and the step up to success. The staff interacts well with students and always gives a positive push. You Can't beat the price per credit, the fact that you can get there by bus. The bus stops right there on campus and they are not too far from the movie theater, places to eat and shop.

    What to do for fun

    Student Life and Leadership ALWAYS have fun things to do! Funraisers, Video Games competitions, staff and student events...and MORE!

    Food and Dining

    There are restaurants that surround the area, but there are two cafes on campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but there are some houses in the area that rent to college students.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay focused and don't take on more classes than you can manager. Remember that throughout your semester, life may get in the way and knock you off course, so take what you can handle each semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to apply for financial aid EARLY! Go to the New Student Orientation...it's a MUST! Take the tour and sit with your advisor at the beginning of your education career.

    In three sentences

    Paradise Valley Community College is family-oriented. We act as if we are one big happy family by helping everyone achieve their goals. I love the Vice President of Student Affairs' positive attitude that every student deserves an education regardless of by-the-book rules. You are guaranteed to succeed here at PVCC!

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Needing to save money, maybe didn't do so well in high school, returning to school as an adult, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Score high on your placement tests-- it makes for less work in the long run!

    Bang for the buck

    Explains itself.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a good school. I'm just waiting to transfer off to university.

    Am learning a lot

    The staff is very good. People don't expect much from community colleges, but the education you can get here is on the same level as any Arizona university.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 5 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are all types of classes to choose from, but the best ones, in my opinion, include the Theatre Workshop and the community plays that are open to anyone interested in performing arts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a meditation garden just outside of the Humanities building, which includes a few fountains, a non-smoking area and comfortable benches to sit on.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of extracurricular activities, such as sports, performing arts programs and a student lounge to just hang out in between classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to sign up for classes ahead of time and keep up with classwork. It's very easy to get behind so make sure to keep in communication with your instructor to know what you have to do.

    In three sentences

    PVCC has a variety of stimulating classes. The advisers there are also very helpful. And the campus is very clean and modern.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is always on patrol. there are police officers on campus and safety is 24/7. they will also jump your car if you are having car troubles.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs and activities on campus. pvcc has a two week 'club rush' allowing students to be aware of clubs as well as sign up for those that interest them.

    Great for these types of students

    all types of students have a great experience at pvcc. pvcc has wide variety of education programs suitable for any area of study.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the only unusual location on campus is the q building which is the math building. it is located south of the softball and baseball fields. it is the newest building on campus but unfortunately a little further from all of the other buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    what you pay for is what you get. the professors all have at least master degrees, all offer office hours, and are willing to help you out whenever you need it. the campus is beautiful and have plenty of options if you need something to do between classes.

    What to do for fun

    the student life center is awesome, there is always something to do. there are games you can check out with your student id card. there are grassy areas to throw around a football or frisbee or even relax and read a book.

    Food and Dining

    depending what you get some prices are a little high but the amount of food you get it great!

    Academic Rigor

    you will learn the information and material presented in your classes. they are not super easy but they are not unbearable, you will have to work for your grade and you will earn what you work for.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved and make the most of your time at pvcc. never be afraid to ask questions, or get help because no matter who you talk to they will be willing to help and if they can't they know who will be able to help you.

    In three sentences

    paradise valley community college is a 5/5 college. the professors are friendly, knowledgeable, and always willing to help. campus is beautiful, clean, and is very easy to find your way around.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    well!!!!

    Greek Life

    join phi theta kappa its a honors program that offers multiple scholarships

    Clubs and Activities

    join clubs....they have tons to offer.

    What to do for fun

    go to sporting events, club functions, and theater.

    Food and Dining

    they offer vending machines all around campus and the cafe is full of food. plus its open till 8pm.

    Academic Rigor

    some teachers are easy than others but the academic rigor is good.

    Tips for prospective students

    be active in clubs.

    In three sentences

    classes are small and professors are willing to help. the campus is pretty and there are alot of clubs to join.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there's a pretty decent sized cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    challenging courses, good place to get basic courses out of the way if you plan to transfer to a university.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Reliable and safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty to choose from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Puma Pride

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, socialize, Learning support center has internet access, as well as on site tutoring.

    Food and Dining

    Small, but pretty good food.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Put in what you get out. Work hard and smarter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that all the credits you take apply towards your degree, and get ahead with classes for your Bach.

    In three sentences

    Good school with a organzied program for students who want to move on after they complete associates. Great veteran services department.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some fun areas around campus and in Phoenix its self.

    Food and Dining

    A small cafeteria on campus, not much but the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Amazing

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early for classes and if you have no idea who you want as a teacher look at ratemyprofessor.

    In three sentences

    Amazing friendly atmosphere. The staff are all friendly and want to help you succeed. I wish I could stay here forever.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY well.

    Clubs and Activities

    Christian Challenges.

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Q building which was recently built this last year is very eery for the fact it was were an old library use to be. and to see it new and updated is pretty cool.

    Bang for the buck

    I love the college life i get at PVCC. it may not be a university but it sure does seem like im walking at ASU.

    What to do for fun

    I am in a club called Christian Challenges which i attend every tueday at 1:3o.

    Food and Dining

    the food there is really well made and presented. IT also is a an affordable price.

    Dorm Life

    There arent any dorms at Paradise Valley Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    Being able to but education above tall things in your life and realizing how important it is for you. Focusing and attending every class, asking questions, and study for tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first semester of college will be the hardest of your college career. Stay focused and attend every single class. Its all on you your the person in charge and responsible for you going to school.

    In three sentences

    I believe that Paradise Valley Community College is one of the best community colleges in t he country. For the fact they put you first above all things. They help you succeed to your fullest potential.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I take night classes and I always feel safe. There are cameras everywhere, security patrol everywhere and there is an on site security office.

    Bang for the buck

    Of course community college is cheaper than a univeristy so you can't beat that. Its about $72 per credit so $300/class is what it comes up around.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of sports courts! There is a computer commons and a huge library.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't yet been to the cafe but it does smell good and there are tons of soda machines everywhere. There is also a Starbucks in the Q building

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not offered here. But there are plenty of nearby apartments

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor really depends on the classes you are taking but I haven't had any problems yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help and carry a map with you. It might take a few weeks to get accustomed to the layout.

    In three sentences

    This school is huge and yet simple to navigate. The campus is widespread and has various sports courts. Each subject has a different building too.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe

    What to do for fun

    The clubs do have activities for the students

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    You really need to study depends on class

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help, the prof will take time to talk to you.

    In three sentences

    I really be enjoy my prof.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a goodwill down the street

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and try hard!

    In three sentences

    It is a helpful great school. I love going here and it has so many different groups, you never feel left out. A wonderful school.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security officers are truly devoted to your safety. If you are locked out of your car, or just need someone to walk you there, they are more than willing to help. They are so friendly, you may find yourself stopping by the security office just to chat!

    Greek Life

    The only downside to life at Paradise Valley Community College is the lack of Greek Life. Most students use PVCC as a starting line before a transfer to a major university, which will often have a great Greek Lifestyle in action if that is the route you want to go.

    Clubs and Activities

    PVCC offers dozens of clubs for students to join that will host different activities for students. One of the best events the school puts on is the School Involvement Fair, where you can see all the clubs the school has to offer and join them the same day.

    Great for these types of students

    Students of every type would love attending Paradise Valley Community College. They offer classes day and night, online and in person. Whatever your needs, they will be fulfilled at PVCC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Meditation Garden is a beautiful spot to sit between classes and listen to the beautiful water feature splashing around you, in the shade of full luscious mesquite trees.

    Bang for the buck

    The low cost of classes makes Paradise Valley Community College an amazing deal for students who are paying for their classes out of pocket or adults reentering education.

    What to do for fun

    Living in metro Phoenix leaves you with a plethora of activities to enjoy. From nightlife in downtown Scottsdale, Tempe, and Glendale to hiking and museums, there is no shortage of entertainment in Arizona.

    Food and Dining

    Paradise Valley Community College has a great cafeteria with hot, fresh food that is cooked right in front of you. The prices are reasonable and they have a continually changing menu so you never grow tired of the offered selections.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on campus living arrangements, as it is a Community College. Fortunately the neighborhood it is located in is thriving with affordable housing options and safe, low crime areas.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very understanding that many students have to work for a living, hence they do not overload you with pointless homework assignments. They go over the course work in great detail and the smaller class size ensures that no one willing to put in the effort gets left behind. Paradise Valley Community College thrives in getting students the best education possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should highly consider getting involved in all the clubs and organizations the school offers. The school is great with helping out the local community and it builds a lot of self confidence by helping others.

    In three sentences

    Paradise Valley Community College is truly a college about community. There is a close relationship between the students, teachers and administrative staff that is beneficial to a fulfilling college experience. The best choice of my young life was to attend Paradise Valley Community College before transferring out to finish my bachelors.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Superbly safe campus with traffic security in golf carts constantly patrolling.

    Great for these types of students

    Fantastic teachers for serious students straight out of high school.

    Bang for the buck

    Great pricing for the classes and lab fees.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of plays, film festivals, music to see and listen to. This place even has a student lounge room that has a gaming system and baby grand piano.

    Food and Dining

    Reasonably priced food and fairly good quality.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are harder than high school classes but the teachers and faculty are available almost all day to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    First thing is to get in touch with the financial aid department and have your questions and concerns written down before you get there.

    In three sentences

    The GREATEST math teachers that provide excellent help and feedback to students. Small campus and class sizes to provide one-on-one assistance. EXCELLENT resource centers and tutoring facilities.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    As I mentioned before, there are tons of clubs and tons of things to do at almost any given day. The school always lets you know when a big event is happening, and there's always a club fair early on in each semester, so you'll know what your options are pretty early in the semester. And you can always visit student life and ask, or start your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds! Of course, if you're more social and mature, you're more likely to have a good time. Just like with any school you have your introverts and extroverts, your partiers and non-partiers, drama queens and mature people, etc. It's just a matter of who you associate yourself with.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a homecoming and spring fling week, and they highly encourage new students to get involved. Lots of volunteer opportunities too. With all the clubs, and theatre, and on campus events, there's really not a time when something isn't going on.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for, and then some. Obviously, being a community college, it's cheaper than a university, but that means the educational value is mostly just a bunch of lower-level division classes, and a ton of intro classes. It's the perfect place to go to transition you from high school, or being out of school for a long time, into university, and I never once felt like I was getting ripped off. Don't buy your books on campus though, because you'll end up paying 2 to 4 times more for books than you would buying them online. Use the bookstore as a source for ISBN numbers so you can find the books online.

    What to do for fun

    There's many clubs, and the people are really nice. It's really just a matter of putting yourself out there. If you make a lot of friends, that will open up more windows of opportunity for fun. Plus there's a lot in Phoenix you can do anyway, so campus isn't the only place to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty overpriced for what it is, so I would recommend going elsewhere for food breaks, or bringing your own meals. The salad guy is really good and is reasonably priced for what you get. But they have different people there every semester so for all I know, he won't be there. The grill is reasonable, but since everything there is fried, you may as well eat fast food every day and get the same nutritional value. Avoid the coolers. The food is terrible, and it's overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors really seem to know their stuff, and I have never had an instructor that missed more than a couple classes. However, as with any school, there are teachers you should definitely avoid, but overall, I learned a lot and did really well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely get to know some people on campus. It really helps. Phi Theta Kappa is a really good idea, and can make you eligible for scholarships that otherwise wouldn't be accessible to you. A campus visit isn't really necessary, as the campus is smaller and pretty easy to figure out, but if you have classes in the Q building, I would highly recommend a campus visit, because it's confusing to find even if you've been to PVCC before. Otherwise, just know who to talk to and where to go for any questions you might have. I highly suggest utilizing the counseling department. Marianne Roccaforte is one of the best, however she is really popular, so make sure if you need an appointment, make it at least a couple weeks in advance, especially around busy times. The advisors are kinda rude for the most part, but if you know what to ask, generally they answer your questions satisfactorily. Cher is a really nice one.

    In three sentences

    PVCC has good teachers, for the most part. The staff is friendly too, but beware of the financial aid office, they suck and don't care about you. I went to PVCC for 6 semesters and for 5 of them, they either lost my paperwork or refused to talk to me about anything, because of various reasons, and they're condescending.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang around the computer commons it's a great place to get home work done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check in with advisers regularly and have a good relationship with the professors!

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed my small journey through Paradise Valley Community College I feel that this institution is has a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. The school itself is a decent size and it is very well equipped with the necessary tools and resources so that students can succeed. It is a very social place and a great way to meet new people.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see campus security staff in the parking lot and around campus which makes me feel safe, especially at night.

    What to do for fun

    Catch 22 across the street is a bar/restaurant. There are also many on campus events such as concerts put on by the PVCC band and plays by the theater department, as well as a few film festivals throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    The staff is pretty friendly in the cafe and the food is standard cafeteria style. Not great, but not bad either with several options available.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at Pvcc.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the professors. I have had some classes (especially Chem & Bio courses) that have been higher level of difficulty. Most of the humanities type courses are fun and easier on your brain!

    Tips for prospective students

    See a counselor to insure you stay on track with your degree progress. Look into the many transfer programs available through state universities known as the Mapp program.

    In three sentences

    The campus is clean and neat. There are great professors and guidance counselors available to help you throughout your college studies. There are many opportunities to transfer to a major University through your coursework at PVCC.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'm not very sure myself about the campus safety at this point. It's a very nice campus that to me seems to have no problems.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe and dining area on campus that is great for a quick bite to eat in between classes that is convenient.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm living areas on this campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    My number one tip would be to have all items needed to start classes August 18Th turned in BEFORE their deadlines, this in order to not be caught up in the stress of turning in things the day they are due, which becomes pretty stressful at this school if your put in that position. I would just keep up to date with deadlines on the schools website and by calling the school to make sure of deadline dates in case there had been changes. Don't be afraid to make sure of anything and everything!

    In three sentences

    For all NEW incoming students, I'm mostly speaking to new high school graduates and students that are going NEW to the college scene. PVCC is awesome at helping guide you through your setting up process before your first year of college that is about to began. They definitely try to take care of you on an individual level as much as they can because that's what you need in order to start off in a comfortable position when you are guaranteed to be frightened with this new experience and milestone in life.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join sports and there's a gym available for credit

    Food and Dining

    The food is fairly good but at times it can be kind of expensive.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Very good teachers and are flexible.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards that roam the campus. The campus is also located in Paradise Valley which in general, is a very safe area. I absolutely love this campus compared to other campuses such as GCC, SCC, and RSCC/

    Greek Life

    I don't pay attention to any fraternities or anything like that. I don't have time and I'm done with the partying scene.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not big into clubs and activities due to me being in my mid-20's and having to support my education with work. I am however part of the honors program which is a great way to socialize and to further reduce the college bill. By doing the honors program you get a kickback of about 375 at the end of the semester for completing an honors project which is typically planned and completed 100% by you.

    Great for these types of students

    I think PVCC is great for all students. For the high school graduate who doesn't konw what they want to do yet. For the one that knows what they want to do and just wants to reduce their total college bill. For the student serious about their education looking for high quality professors. For a clean campus that has large variety of courses offered. For passionate professors that want to see us succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One place I really like to study is the Q building which is the math building located at the very south-west corner of the campus. The building is on the other side of the baseball fields (south of the main campus). When you first walk into the building and go straight four 100 feet or so you'll see stairs right in front of you. Take the stairs up and you'll meet a flat top with a modern feel of couches and chairs for studying. There are power outlets beneath the couches. The easiest way to plug in your laptop power cable is to just life the couch up on its end and plug away.

    Bang for the buck

    Well, considering college tuition has been on a constant rise for decades it's hard to compare now with 20-30 years ago about bang for the buck on any school. Maricopa being at $75.00 per credit though, is very reasonable in comparison with other states, community colleges, and universities. I definitely recommend anyone going to a community college for the first two years that can't easily afford a university for four years or more.

    What to do for fun

    PVCC has a great common area where there is a piano, big screen T.V., video games, and several chairs to just relax, socialize, and have fun to get the stress away from the test you just prepared hard for. There are also plenty of computers available throughout the campus (Cafeteria, LSC hallway, Library, LSC Computer Commons) When I have a lot of time before a test I like to play a game online called GO, it helps me relax and get my mind in a thinking mode. There are also several programs to keep you busy if you want like music programs, honors society, and others.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a whole lot right around campus in the way of restaurants, you'll need a car or bicycle to go south to Bell or Greenway. Otherwise there is a cafeteria on campus which doesn't have the healthiest options, but is much better than a burger / fast food joint. One thing I like to do that is relatively healthy and relatively cheap is get the chicken breast with cooked vegetables. This isn't on the menu but they typically have both and is a good way to get your carbs from the vegetables, protein from the meat, and a bit of fat from the oil (altough it's probably vegetable oil which isn't the best...but hey it's better than doing the burger and pizza every day!) If i an recall properly this meal costs around 3.50.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I don't know what it's like.

    Academic Rigor

    I've found most of the science courses challenging but every single science professor I've had has loved what they do. This helps a lot for students making a real effort to do their best and learn as much as possible. Even though it may be challenging, they make up for it in great instruction and enthusiasm.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not necessarily easy if you know exactly what you want to do but it sure does help. The sooner you know exactly what your goals are, the easier it is to plan. If anything though, get your generals done in a degree program that is versatile and can transfer to many different BS degrees.

    In three sentences

    Out of the Maricopa Community Colleges, I would say Paradise Valley is a notch above the rest. They have an incredible staff, many of which are PHd's in their field. The campus is clean and well maintained.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Salt River tubing, Wet n Wild water park, hot-air ballon rides, Grand Canyon, shopping in Old-Town Scottsdale, hiking, and the best Spas/Salons for facials, massages, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty in the area. Desert Ridge is very close by with upscale shopping and dining.

    Dorm Life

    Can't answer this one....

    Academic Rigor

    On line with any other college out there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared and be respectful to the staff. Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    The professors are great! They explain things and seem to really care about the learning evironment. The campus is easy to get around and the students are friendly.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to delay the high cost of a university for a while!

    What to do for fun

    I am a working student so I just went to class. Did not participate in extra curricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    Did not eat there.

    Dorm Life

    Did not live in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with an advisor to be sure your classes transfer to the university.

    In three sentences

    PVCC is a good choice for students who want to get their general studies completed before going to a university. The teachers are available. There is a learning center where you can get help.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Who doesn't love saving money? By attending PVCC, you're saving so much money. Universities charge way too much for college and this way, you're able to be in a classroom with a better student to professor ratio, increasing your chances at getting help in class.

    What to do for fun

    The best thing you can do is stay focused in class but then after, meet up with some friends and relax in the library in between classes. Also, attending sports games are very fun!

    Food and Dining

    There is a cute little Starbucks coffee shop in the math building that is very relaxing and a great place to study. The cafeteria also isn't too bad!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorming on this campus, but if there was, I would give it a 5!

    Academic Rigor

    A challenging part about college is that there are so many students attending, it can get very immpersonal with the teachers. PVCC professors do a great job at trying to help the best they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to study for your tests and never slack on homework. Also, take advantage of the tutors and never be afraid to ask questions when needed.

    In three sentences

    I am very pleased with the professors that teach the classes at PVCC. I would recommend this college to anyone of my friends and family. I cannot wait to complete the rest of my Associates degree here!

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is in a very safe neighborhood and if you require assistance there is always someone on duty that can walk you to your car. As always, be smart and stay aware of your surroundings.

    Greek Life

    I do not know if this is offered or not.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know there are many different clubs and activities. There is always something going on around campus. Check with Student Services to obtain more information.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all students, young, and ...young at heart. High school students are able to attend classes and gain college credit too!* (check with your counselor to obtain more information).

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a resident of Arizona it is a great value, $228 for County Resident Tuition and $723 for Out of State Resident Tuition for a three (3) credit hour course. There is also a $15 registration processing fee.

    What to do for fun

    They have a big screen with a game platform in the student community center near the cafe. They also have computers in there for the students to use. First come, first served. They do have an active Center of the Arts. This department is responsible for live performances such as plays, musicals, concerts, Battle of the Bands, etc.

    Food and Dining

    I don't recommend anything from the kitchen that is cooked. They offer many different types of coffee and variety of hot tea choices, a soda fountain, bottled water and energy drinks. Lots of snack foods and vending machines. There are vending machines around the campus for a quick snack. I like this because sometimes you cannot make it to the cafe during a quick break.

    Academic Rigor

    Some instructors are more strict than others and difficulty is subjective to the class and intelligence of the student. Remember, there are many resources available if you are having difficulty. Don't be bashful, the services are free.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many resources the school offers if you need additional assistance in a class. Check out the Learning Center. If you want to get on the schools wifi (by the library specifically) without much hassle, use Firefox as your browser. If you are able to carpool with another student, I recommend it because you will receive preferred parking. Dr. D. Ortiz is an AMAZING teacher. Do the work, follow the rules, embrace the group project she assigns and you will pass.

    In three sentences

    Paradise Valley Community College, (PVCC), is an excellent school. PVCC, offers a smoke free campus, the grounds are clean and it is located in a safe community. The smaller classes allow the instructors more opportunity to engage with the students, which encourages a positive learning environment.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Superb! There are several on campus at all times, both on foot as well as on a golf cart to monitor the parking lot.

    Greek Life

    There are fraternities/sororities offered.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Students of all walks of life will enjoy this campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is right!

    What to do for fun

    The Computer Commons area has an open computer lab within the same building of the library. You can grab a book and read or write your papers in the computer commons area.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't tried the food, but they do offer a variety of made to order dishes, as well as grab and go items and beverages.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms offered.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here of very high standards. I have attended 2 other colleges, and am most impressed by this location.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a large campus, make sure you have a map! Listen to your professors' advice, they are more than willing to help you during your college experience here.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful Campus! Very outgoing, engaged professors.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. Not once have I felt threatened or uncomfortable. We also have campus security keeping us safe from open to close.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities at PVCC that it would take all day to list. Whether you're an athlete, a musician, an actor/actress, or enjoy giving to the community, and many more, you will find a club at PVCC for you.

    Great for these types of students

    PVCC is a great place for all kinds of students from actors to athletes to artists to scholors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the beginning of each semester, free hot dogs and pop corn are given out to students on campus. Who doesn't enjoy free stuff?

    Bang for the buck

    At PVCC you really see your moneys worth. You have tutoring in almost all subjects FREE OF COSTS!!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs, campus activities, and sports teams at PVCC...all you have to do is chose from the wide variety of entertainment!

    Food and Dining

    At Paradise Valley Community College we have a cafe with a wide variety of delicious foods and snacks all at low costs.

    Dorm Life

    Since, PVCC is a community college, there aren't any dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay calm and everything will be easier than you think! People are very friendly around PVCC from the professors to the students. Also, if you're not sure about what classes to take, or what you need to do, the advisers are always there to help you and relieve some of the pressure. Make sure to take advantage of the Learning Support Center. You have free tutoring provided to you and it really is useful.

    In three sentences

    College can be nerve racking, so if you are searching for a campus you can also call a home, outstanding professors who are hands on in helping you reach your goals, and a college with plenty of classes to fit your schedule, Paradise Valley Community College is the college for you. Paradise Valley Community College is clean and filled with very friendly students; you will feel at home instantly! If you want to feel comfortable and happy at college, than PVCC is the college for you!

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've seen very few signs of vandalism and no crime. The rent-a-cops seem jovial, but used to not worrying.

    Greek Life

    None, as far as I know.

    Clubs and Activities

    There isn't a music club, the drama club is struggling, and I am not aware of a dance club. I don't particularly care about the rest of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Introverts, stressful thinkers, outcasts, adult re-entry.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Nice computer commons, a few practice rooms. I wish that more of the resources were more widely available.

    What to do for fun

    I like to sing and dance and things, so I spend a lot of time in the practice rooms. I've not gone to any of the sporting events, but the art showings that they have are quite good. There is a phenomenal coffee house across the street.

    Food and Dining

    Terrible. The cafeteria sells horrid cafeteria meals, fast food, soft drinks, candy etc. The only healthy things are a tray of overpriced fruit-most likely genetically altered, based on their size.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any.

    Academic Rigor

    The education is not stressful, but I think leaves a lack in learning. Take the hard classes that you need here, but don't expect to really learn the material-a lot of the teachers are more interested in your passing now than in your success later.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go here if you're looking for something small and not particularly rigorous. Pick a major that interests you, not something that you think you should pick. It's more important to get good grades than to get a good major. Meet with your teachers and counselors often.

    In three sentences

    It is so small as to be like high school, but without the benefit of getting to see everyone. There are not enough resources to make it really worthwhile for me, but it is a nice stepping stone. The censorship in place feels very childish.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The ham and cheese grilled sandwich is amazing and so are the chicken tenders.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a student planner and write down all the homework.

    In three sentences

    The education teachers are great. People there are always kind and friendly. It's a great school.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great option for saving money before heading off to a university.

    What to do for fun

    Join some clubs/student life. VOLUNTEER!

    Food and Dining

    Decent cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm living.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on class type and commitment level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because its a community college doesn't mean you cant have fun. Get involved and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    I have had some incredible instructors at this school. Students are pretty friendly and outgoing and I have never had trouble working with students in class. There are also various opportunities to get involved on campus.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to school events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good but the Cafe closes early.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to get a good parking spot, you must go early. Also, sign up for your classes early, the good classes get taken fast.

    In three sentences

    The college is small but it is easy to get to your classes. Everyone is friendly and helpful when you have questions. The small classes make learning easier.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for everything you can imagine!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are nervous about starting college will be very comfortable here.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and student life activities all over campus.

    Food and Dining

    They just renovated the cafeteria, so it looks very nice.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at PVCC

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what classes you are taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure to communicate with the professors about any concerns specific to their classes. They are very receptive.

    In three sentences

    This is a great place to transition from high school to a college environment. There are many resources around campus to help with a variety of needs. They have a wonderful partnership with NAU that makes it so students can be classified as NAU students, but stay on campus at PVCC and pay community college rates for an extra year.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No fun at any time.. or they will find you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since it is a smoking free campus, sometimes i see people huddling under a tree, trying to take a drag before one of the 158 cameras see you.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy going across the street to a small cafe that has Wifi, to study and have a tea in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria could be way better. They have the space, so why not add on the selection? Dining is very open and spacious. Clean!

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    PV enjoys being the top rated school, having highest graduation rate. The school does a organized job of promoting Rigor.

    In three sentences

    The college is more focused on regulations and social order rather than employing teachers who love what they teach. Kudos on no smoking policies. the cafeteria could be better.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security here is excellent. There has not been one incident that has gotten out of control. Also whenever an event is happening on camopus they are there making sure everything runs smooth and also make sure that the cars in the parking ots are ok.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are high amounts of clubs on the campus. Alot of them are involved with the community and some just with the schools.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who are trying to get their first two years at a community college then Paradise Valley Community College is recommended for you. Not only is it cheap but the professors are also great!

    Bang for the buck

    It is extremely well with pay. The classes are usually cheap depending on how many credits you take. The financial aid alos heps in finding you grants or schoarships if you are not able to pay.

    What to do for fun

    Some fun things to do are go to the sporting events from school or take a trip on the tran and head downtown and watch the Phoenix Suns!

    Food and Dining

    The food is excelent. They make all of the food here and it is not at a horribly high price. There is also a cafe in the math, which makes starbucks quality coffee.

    Dorm Life

    Since this is a community colege there are no dorms to ive in.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are extremey hepfu, but you also have to work for your grade. However, if you need hep the teachers are usualy more than wiling to help. If they are not able to hep then there is a free tutoring center that helps out students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students are to engage in everything that you can. There are plenty of clubs on campus. The more involved you are here then the better the experience.

    In three sentences

    The professors here are excellent. There are many student resources on campus Also they like to get the students involved with what the school is doing.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you need more interaction with your professor and like to be in a classroom where the professor actually cares about their students, I say Paradise Valley Community College is the place to go.

    Bang for the buck

    Paradise Valley Community College has a learning center where they provide free tutors for almost every subject! If I'm on campus and not in class, this is where I am. They are always so helpful and it's so convenient, even if you have a quick question about a problem you have trouble solving.

    What to do for fun

    Join the clubs or make your own! Also, I don't really enjoy plays or musicals, but every single one I've attended at Paradise Valley Community College, I have absolutely LOVED!

    Food and Dining

    I think the Paradise Cafe is a bit to expensive for what they have. I'm also not a fan of cafeteria food, so I choose to eat outside of campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    They key to attending any college is to never procrastinate. Also, the professors are there to help you and want to see you achieve your best. Never be afraid to ask questions and ask for more help if you need it.

    In three sentences

    Paradise Valley Community College has helped me achieve my goals for my education. I've had the honor of learning from such great professors. They have made my experience with college so successful.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are Campus Safety employees driving around all of the time.

    Greek Life

    There are a few clubs that have to do with greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for artistic people and people who are a little more intellectual. There is Greek life too.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student oasis is a nice relaxing spot with a pond that has a waterfall and might soon have fish.

    Bang for the buck

    You can get a lot of your basic classes taken care of here and even some classes working toward your degree. It costs a lot less than at a university.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to join and also there are lots of fun classes that you could take.

    Food and Dining

    Food in cafeteria is good but the tables are often full and it can be difficult to find someplace to eat.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers actually care if you learn the material or not and if you don't understand they will try their best to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs. Don't take to many hard hitting classes in one semester. You need a little fun too.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school. The teachers are attentive and helpful. There are plenty of clubs to join.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Food and Dining

    The french fries are great but everything else is average.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT take Math for Elementary Teachers with Stryk! Plan enough time to get to the Q building.

    In three sentences

    The only reason I'm attending Paradise Valley Community College is because it is free. The classes are at good times but other than that I do not like this school. People are not that friendly and the teachers are not the easiest to work with. I would not recommend this school unless it is the only option financially.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe there because the school is so small that if something was to happen everyone would know within minutes of it.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or group. I do not do any of those but they always are advertising movie night or have game stands each month.

    Food and Dining

    The food i would say is decent to eat that they make but if you rather just have chips or a canned drink they have plenty to choose from. Also they have many vending machines if you can not make it to the cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes depending on your major and the weaknesses you have for certain subjects will determine the difficulty. If you are there for your general classes though just follow what is asked and it is as simple as that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be on time to all your class, show up, take notes, listen for keys points, and you will do well in the class.

    In three sentences

    The college is pretty good in terms of education. The campus is not very big so getting to a class on time that only has a fifteen minute spacing is not hard. I really enjoy my professors so far because of how helpful an encouraging they are.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are well lit parking areas and security patrols

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs affiliated with majors and several competitive sports teams.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuter or adult students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not known

    Bang for the buck

    As a resident the cost is fair and affordable.

    What to do for fun

    If you are not involved in a specific sport or club, there isn't much to do on the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Small snack shop.

    Academic Rigor

    The president's honor list is awarded to those with a high grade point average each semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use rate my professor before choosing a course. Register early as some classes could be filled.

    In three sentences

    Good school to get prerequistes done. Most professors are knowledgeable and helpful. Class selection process is simple online.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never encountered or heard of any problems. There are campus safety officers who roam the campus on go-carts.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who need a cheap and easy way to get an associate's degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a scale model solar system on campus that tells a little bit about each of the planets.

    What to do for fun

    There are not a whole lot of activities. There are a few clubs and school events, though. You can also attend the school's sports games.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is pretty expensive. Most students eat at home.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it's a community college. You live off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This school was very easy. There were only one or two classes that were harder than the ones I took in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend all of your classes and you will be fine. Some classes are definitely harder than others, so be sure to research your teachers first.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school that is not hard at all. It is inexpensive. There is not a whole lot to do on campus.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to get involved with! Something for everyone!

    Food and Dining

    Yummy Cafeteria!

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are pretty straight forward and provided a comfortable challenge!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let the current renovation projects keep you from attending PVCC!

    In three sentences

    PVCC's location is easily accessed from the 51 freeway making it a top choice. Great opportunity, convenient classes and great staff members! Help available when ever it is needed!

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emails are sent to you promptly when there is a predator or something has happened on the schools campus or vicinity.

    Greek Life

    I am sure its there, just ask.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honors Club of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

    Great for these types of students

    Can't afford the other colleges, go here for two years.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The new north campus of Paradise Valley Community College is called Black Mountain Campus. They also have a YMCA attached to the campus. Great for activities, exercise, and fun!

    Bang for the buck

    Parking is free on campus as long as you have a valid school sticker on your registered vehicle. Can have as many as you want.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved. Ask teachers what you can do to assist.

    Food and Dining

    Salads are awesome and large at the Paradise Valley Community College cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Paradise Valley Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be tough if you make them that way. Jump ahead and stay on top of it all and don't stress. Keep a positive attitude and ask allot of questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Strive for A's in your education. Ask questions and read the syllabus on what is expected of you. Show up and do the work.

    In three sentences

    Paradise Valley Community College offers a north campus and online courses to meet the needs of a working mom. Updated computers are a plus at the Paradise Valley Community College. Many teachers hold Doctorate Degrees at Paradise Valley Community College.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Inexpensive!

    What to do for fun

    There are always many things to do while at PVCC. Sometimes they will have carnivals and other times you can walk through the gorgeous campus, read in the quiet area or sit in the student center with your friends!

    Food and Dining

    Always fulfills my hunger needs! The food is always perfect and there is a wide selection of food!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    PVCC is very disciplined when it comes to academics. I feel like i'm actually learning in all of my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up early before the first day of class, it's a big campus!

    In three sentences

    PVCC is a great school with great teachers and students. The environment is very outgoing. I felt very welcome on my first day there, as I saw many friendly smiles.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While sitting outside your school buildings, you are guaranteed to see at least one campus security officer every five minutes. This allows students to feel safe in knowing there are always authorities close by to assist in any needs or concerns.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are the type of student looking for a laid back environment while furthering your education, then PVCC is the school for you. Students can accomplish a tremendous amount of school work while wearing sweatpants and a tank top.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition and books are decently pricey, but that's just college in general. I would have to say for the quality time you get with your professors definitely makes it worth it, seeing as how most classes only have twenty to thirty students total. A semester is approximately a quarter of the price of any university or trade school.

    What to do for fun

    Paradise Valley offers a fully equipped gym for a small monthly fee. The most popular spot on campus where students spend majority of their spare time is in the Computer Commons. All the computers available are always in outstanding working condition and are running on the most updated software. Most student go here to study, work on projects, or just simply use the internet for whatever they desire to kill time between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The school's cafeteria has a decent variety of healthy snacks, meals and drinks at an affordable price. With that being said, they also offer greasy pizza, french fries and candy bars which is extremely convenient for those stressful finals weeks. Most students tend to be coffee drinkers with their morning schedules, which makes the on campus Starbucks a very popular feature.

    Dorm Life

    Paradise Valley does not happen to have any on-campus housing. Although, there are many nice neighborhoods and apartment complexes within close proximity to the school that are affordable for students. Some places may even need financial assistance by having a roommate or two.

    Academic Rigor

    Majority of student tend to be constantly challenged in every class they take and are being pushed to be the best student they can be. Every professor and department (financial aid, cashier, advising, ect.) hold you accountable for your academic responsibilities. This is helpful for making you ready for any future career you may chose.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to prospective students would be to have a good idea of what you would like to obtain a degree in. This is because it makes it easier to set your class schedule without taking any unnecessary classes that would be wasting your time and money. Also, always research your professors prior to signing up for their classes. The better the professor, the more likely you are to stay engaged and be successful in their class.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a college that has small quantity but large quality classes with experienced teachers that have a great sense of humor, then Paradise Valley Community College is the school for you. The layout of the campus is small and easy to navigate, which makes it quick and efficient to get to your classes. This school has a variety of degree programs which makes it a virtually perfect fit for almost every student.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    46 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Starbucks on campus @ the math building, natural desert landscape.has a meditation garden.

    Food and Dining

    Not that great,friendly cafeteria staff..

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been a few incidents but students are adequately informed and precautions are taken.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult students who work and those who prefer online.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is VERY reasonable and as long as you research your teachers, the quality of your education is in your hands.

    What to do for fun

    Catch a play or a baseball game!! I love going to the library to look at the art work and the books they have.

    Food and Dining

    Available and great all the time. Only ate here a few times and the food was better then other colleges I had visited. Huge variety.

    Dorm Life

    Lived off campus

    Academic Rigor

    The opportunities are there you just have to grab them and hold on. There are many teachers who sincerely care and a small few who don't. Do your research and trust me you will have a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip would be to take advantage of your resources. PVCC has more than enough help centers to allow you to succeed. The learning center allows you to learn and receive help on your own time and the library is always a great place to study.

    In three sentences

    A great college to remain debt free and receive a great education. The campus is always friendly, especially when you need a hand. The teaching staff is very good.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had anything happen where I should be concerned for my safety. Overall the campus is very secure.

    What to do for fun

    Check out all the campus events, like the Pumapalooza. They can be pretty fun! Also, make sure you get to know your classmates - you never know if you'll meet a new best friend.

    Food and Dining

    The food has its moments where it's really good, or so-so, but for the most part it's tasty.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here..

    Academic Rigor

    I've learned more in college than I have in all four years of high school. It is definitely worthwhile. I find that it's much easier to retain what you learn here, rather than what you were taught in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that someone is always available to listen when need be. Take all of your classes seriously.

    In three sentences

    The professors and staff genuinely care about your success and will do everything in their power to see you succeed. The students are fun and nice and will be more than happy to help you along during your adventure.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    POLICE IS ALLWAYS THERE IS YOU NEED HELP

    Great for these types of students

    LIKE SMALL CLASSES..

    What to do for fun

    JOINING CLUB... GO TO GAMES WITH FRIENDS!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    DO YOUR HOMEWORK...

    In three sentences

    I love pvcc...

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great people! There is no hesitation to approach them.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities to do in the student activity center. There is also a school social club you can join. If you are into athletics we have great teams too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. It just depends on what time you get there though, and what you want to order.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes will be difficult if you do not study. All the teachers are so nice, though, and willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Use the tutoring center 2. Meet with academic advisers regularly, to make sure you are on track. 3. When signing up for classes use ratemyprofessor.com

    In three sentences

    It is a great environment! Everyone is friendly and willing to help. I strongly recommend attending Paradise Valley Community College.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Paradise Valley holds numerous carnivals and movie nights. As well as the 5k dead race that was recently held where students dressed up as zombies and ran in a 5k race and all the proceeds went to the Phoenix Children's Hospital. For fun students can also attend the sporting events and show their school spirit by cheering on our local Pumas.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has plenty of options to choose from and they are all at reasonable prices. There are multiple vending machines throughout campus as well if you are just in the mood for a simple snack.

    Dorm Life

    As far as dorm life, Paradise Valley is a community college therefore there are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Paradise Valley are quite great because they offer an immense amount of classes to partake in. As far as the teaching staff, they are extremely helpful and caring because they want to see you do well in your classes and be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always speak to an advisor no matter how certain you may be about how many credits you have or what classes you need to be enrolled in because they are there to help guide you and keep you on track. It is a wonderful environment to attend school because the staff and the students are fairly welcoming and pleasant.

    In three sentences

    This is a phenomenal community college to attend because it is a beautiful and rather small campus. The professors are extremely personable and they sincerely do care about how well you do in their class and try everything in their power to help you succeed, because they do not want anything else but for you to succeed. Also, there are numerous ways to get help for classes and free tutoring is available at all times.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security always around and public safety phones stationed around campus.

    Greek Life

    One club called Phi Theta Kappa which is an honors society.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many varieties to choose form!

    Great for these types of students

    back to school adults, heavily involved in work, students with little income

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are multiple meditation gardens located on campus for students and faculty to sit and relax in.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are small and more personal and are also half the price per credit hour compared to a university.

    What to do for fun

    There are an abundance of clubs and sports opportunities available to become a part of.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a wide variety of food at a low cost. There are many vending machines with healthy and tasty beverages/snacks to consume.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available, but a lot of nearby apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but manageable and at a much lower cost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to speak to several advisers because they tend to give different information each visit. If at all possible, become a part of the honors department because it is amazing and so helpful.

    In three sentences

    Paradise Valley Community College has given me the opportunity to succeed in my academic career at a lower cost and with more support than a University could have offered me straight out of high school. The campus is full of friendly faculty members; all of whom care deeply for the students and strive to help each one succeed. I have really enjoyed my time thus far at PVCC because they are full of inspiration and dedication.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think i see security driving around but if something ever happened it would be a better idea to call the cops who cruise by every now and then

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life that i'm aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports but they don't have a football team.

    Great for these types of students

    baseball, soccer, and softball players.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Another good question that I don't have the answer for.

    Bang for the buck

    Its college there is no bang for your buck, its all highway robbery.

    What to do for fun

    This is a very good question, I don't have an answer at the moment. I'd say go to the sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    Its cafeteria food, so nothing special, but if you've been on campus all day it will hit the spot.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The library is only open until 8pm on weekdays and they close at 2 on friday, 4 on saturday, and they aren't even open on sunday.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the library instead of buying books that way you actually do your homework and save money. Try and get all your classes in 1 day so you have more free time to work.

    In three sentences

    It's a nice campus, and once you get enrolled and going its pretty easy to navigate your way around campus. The enrollment services building is annoying, they usually confuse or cause more problems than help.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great!!!!! they will makes sure to send you alerts to email and text messages when it is unsafe or when something is going on around campus.They are great and always are driving around campus looking out for stuff.

    What to do for fun

    Inside the KSC building right next to the cafeteria there is a pretty cool room where you could hang out and play a few games, there is music playing nice place to hang out. Also there is always something going on, like the film fest, theater performances some free of charge.

    Food and Dining

    Their cafeteria is great! there a large variety of choices when it comes to all the different menu items, from salads to burgers, soups all kinds of food. there will be something for everyone there.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm in the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically they are great if you are good and staying on track there should be no problem. Try not to stay behind or slack.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a lot of fun and joins different clubs. I would also recommend for taking advantage of the learning and support center they are amazing and always willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Paradise Valley Community College has been an amazing school for me.It is very flexible with class schedules and the teachers are great.I am very glad I made this be my first choice to where i would get my prerequisites done.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Zombie 5k run.

    What to do for fun

    This list could go on and on. 1. Cultural events 2. Dance and performance events. 3. Different Organization events.

    Food and Dining

    No vegan food.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Get Connected with the school. 2. Attend special events at school. 3. Get to know at least 2 people in every one of your classes. 4. Have fun. 5. Be active,Standout, and get yourself out there.

    In three sentences

    Paradise Valley Community College is a very diverse and well rounded community college. Paradise Valley offers multiple support centers, that consists of emotional, educational, and future life planning support. Paradise Valley Community College is a very well connected school to attend. Definitely recommend Paradise Valley Community College to anyone who is well rounded, outgoing student.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safe is the best, with anything that seems dangerous the school will send out a mass text just letting students know what is going on and if it is safe to be on campus.

    Greek Life

    Sadly with community college they don't offer greek life but there is one club on campus that has to do with greek life and is transferable to the 4 year colleges and looks great on applications because it takes a high GPA to join

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to join and also classes give you credits but are activity base such as yoga or dance, these classes are two of the easiest and a fun way to earn a credit and keep the freshman 15 off

    Great for these types of students

    Students who need a little more help the tutoring center is always willing, either by walk in or appointment. Students also who don't own a printer or computer the computer center is always quite and the students who work in there are always there to answer questions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best place for coffee is not too far, but it is off campus and its called Dutch Bro's they are always quick so you are never late for class but you get to have your morning coffee

    Bang for the buck

    The best place to get textbook is right across the street they also will buy the text book back or chegg they had what I needed and they ship fast.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is beautiful and around a city that has so much to offer from hiking to having lunch at a small cafe. The sport at PVCC are always practicing and theres always a game to watch, the boys baseball and girls soccer team game are a blast to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food at PVCC is affordable and always fresh the best time togo is in the mornings.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at PVCC but there are very nice apartments not far from campus

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small and most only have 24 maybe 30 students in each class and the professor work with you and know your name. The work load isn't too much to handle and the tutoring center is always willing to help and make sure you pass all the classes you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to get to know your professors, they are willing to help you with anything that comes up during the semester and they are always wanting to help you succeed in their class. Also, enjoy the class size and the help that is given to you, take advantage of the free tutoring and extra help.

    In three sentences

    Paradise Valley Community College is in the center of Phoenix and has an amazing campus with friendly advisors and students. The class sizes are small and the professors are very involved with their students and their work. The experience I've had at PVCC is one smooth ride and to transfer to a four year college will be a breeze!