Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Paris Junior College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Spanish Club, Phi Theta Kappa, French Club

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student, especially students from smaller towns and communties.

    Bang for the buck

    Every penny spent at this institution is well worth it. This school offers a high quality education at a very very great price.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers many activities for students. There are many club events, video gaming events, movie nights, and other social gatherings for students to enjoy their college experience to the fullest.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten at the schools cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in any of the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The science classes I have taken are very tough. They require a lot of study time and discipline.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest this school to anyone working towards an Associates Degree because it is an institution where the students and the faculty both strive for educational success. I would suggest a study schedule for all students so that time is set aside for each subject.

    In three sentences

    Paris Junior College is a wonderful institution for one to further their education. Instructors at Paris Junior College are very dedicated to student success. Tuition is very affordable and education is top quality.

  • 12/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Specific programs

    Tips for prospective students

    This is just a junior college so I would expect transferring but as a start out school or a continuing education it is great. Also, PJC has a good nursing program.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is amazing! It is so cheap and they offer you help as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    Socializing is huge to me and here it is easy. The people are laid back and since the classes are easy as well, there is time for you to go hang out with your peers.

    Am learning a lot

    The programs that are here at this campus are very well taught. The classes are enjoyable and the teachers offer help if needed. There is no reason to fail because of all the attention the teacher will offer. A very good school indeed.

  • 08/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The Nursing program is awesome. You can study to become an LVN and then continue your schooling to become an RN. There's also a short program to become a CNA. There's also a great Gemology program.

    Bang for the buck

    As an out-of-district student, the tuition is twice as much, but still cheap enough that my pell grant and scholarships will pay for it every year.

    Am enjoying being here

    I loved taking History and Math the most. There was one particular History professor who would make the class more fun. He doesn't have a soft or monotonous voice, and he teaches as if he were telling stories, so it makes learning all the more interesting and fun! I wasn't able to get into his class for Hist 1302, which I did not like. The new teacher was really sweet but she had a soft voice and I just fall asleep, get bored, etc, when someone with a soft low voice tries to lecture. Plus she taught mainly from the projector, and I find those really boring. I prefer teachers who get more into their lectures, use the whiteboard, etc.

    Am learning a lot

    Due to the college being on the small side, most teachers will have the time to talk one-on-one with you.

  • 08/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who learn a bit slower then others, the teachers will slow down the pace if you needed it to.

    Tips for prospective students

    The teachers will help you further your college experiences and help you with what you need

    Am enjoying being here

    This is a great sized school. Each class is about 20 students or less to 1 teacher, It makes things easier for both the teacher and you, The teacher can focus on each student more then having 40 people in the class,

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are amazing, They will do everything in their power to make sure that you get what is being taught and if they have to slow the teaching process down they will.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My friend's car was broken into along with a few others. The campus police did absolutely nothing about it.

    Great for these types of students

    People who just want in-and-out, want a fresh start, or are financially strapped, this school is for you.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm glad I went here for my associates, however, I feel another junior college could have handled my finances and wishes a bit better.

    Food and Dining

    I ate off campus mostly, since there was only a vending machine at the branch I went to.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some professors out there that truly love to teach and are enthusiastic about the subject. However, many of the professors don't want to stay for the whole class and are horrible at presenting the information needed to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are familiar with the phrase, you get what you pay for then this applies to the school. Don't expect the nicest people to work with you and guide you through the most important phase of life.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Academic savvy students!

    Bang for the buck

    Always try to look for bargains and sales!

    What to do for fun

    Work out, go to church and spend time with my boyfriend is what I do for fun!

    Food and Dining

    I always cook my own food so I don't really know what their food is like.

    Dorm Life

    Well I didn't stay in a dorm, but I can expect it to be a good experience from what I hear.

    Academic Rigor

    You can achieve a whole lot when you set your mind to it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up the good work!

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing Junior College! I would recommend it to any student planning to attend College! I wouldn't say a bad thing about PJC!

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take good notes for study guides later. Get a syllabus its a outline of what information yo will need through your semester.

    In three sentences

    Greenville ,TX campus is a terrific place. Love the space for studying but need quite rooms. The staff is very nice and helpful. Schedule time for classes very well organized. Needs a resturant in it.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    older mature

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    3 locations for convienence

    What to do for fun

    homework

    Tips for prospective students

    do things early so there is no rush and less stress

    In three sentences

    very helpfull staff very informative. lots of choices

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Check the Student bulltin at the school, there are lots of different interest posted here!

    Food and Dining

    none availiable - at greenville campus

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at the Greenville ccampus

    Academic Rigor

    Haven't yet attended

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask questions the staff has more then enough to share with you. They answered every question I threw at them.

    In three sentences

    The Staff was very very friendly and super helpful. The Greenville campus does lack fitness and cafeteria facilities. Lots of computers available, I would rate it a 7.5

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Great for people who are looking to study in a smaller environment instead of a large class setting.

    Food and Dining

    No dinning hall at the campus location i attend.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at my campus in Sulphur Sprigns.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take it serious. Even though its only a two year college. You don't want to spend 5 years trying to get an associates degree.

    In three sentences

    Very well rounded education. Small but most of all affordable. Teachers and staff care about the success of students./

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The Blend Club is an awesome club. Students hang out and also volunteer around the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that just want to get the best education for the least amount of money.

    Bang for the buck

    PJC is defiantly worth the money you spend.

    What to do for fun

    Hung out with friends and meet new people around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Not many place around for food and drink.

    Academic Rigor

    At PJC you get a good education and the teachers do not put to much work on there students. If a student needs help there is always some one to help them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the other students before signing up for a class to see if the teacher is good or bad.

    In three sentences

    At PJC you get to know your teachers. Its small and personable. At PJC you get a good education at a good price.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I did not live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay positive, keep your head straight, know that this time as you are young is a lot easier to get school done now then, later in life if you have a family.

    In three sentences

    Is very convenient for everyone. Has excellent staff and counselors to help you in any way to make you achieve more in life. Is very local and loyal and will work with you through everything.

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have campus police. Also located across the street from the Paris PD. South Campus dorms if you don't live there you cant get in without a resident letting you in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Activities happen periodically through the semester weather its game tournaments for prize money or just going to the movies for free!

    Great for these types of students

    Students going for basics and Certificate programs (CAD Design, HVAC, Welding).

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very reasonable and good schooling

    What to do for fun

    bowling, movies, games.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria style meals. all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    Great on campus life students are very welcoming and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    teachers help the students out with what they need and try to push the students to learn as much as they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a fun and good college experience that won't cost a fortune then this would be a good college to look into.

    In three sentences

    Paris Junior College is a fun, friendly, and all-around great environment to learn in and make friends.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Police on campus at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list. Please go to www.parisjc.edu

    Great for these types of students

    PJC is great for students who want to earn their associates degree and wanting to transfer to a university. They prepare their students to be successful at universities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    PJC offer traditional parties in the ball room for their students.

    Bang for the buck

    PJC offers a great education at a lower cost than many junior community colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities and clubs that are available to students who want to be involved.

    Food and Dining

    Dining was great. They serve what students like.

    Dorm Life

    PJC has new dorms and they are beautiful. I did not live in the dorms but had many friends who did.

    Academic Rigor

    The number of students is fairly small, which makes learning a lot better. The classes are not that stressful if you study. The teachers are wonderful. 4 star

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class, work hard and get involved in school activities.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Paris Junior College as one of the top community colleges in the state of Texas. It's goal is to produce productive students and groom them for university transfers. They are very involved in the community.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Paris Junior college is a great school! The faculty and staff are wonderful, and care about my education.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is always patrolling the parking lots and side streets. The security staff does make me as a student feel more safe.

    What to do for fun

    Paris is a small town. You can go to the bowling alley, Movie theater, golf course, public pools.

    Food and Dining

    The Campus has a PJC affiliated-food-cafe across the street. Prices are cheap and food is excellent!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently in the nursing program and feel that i am challenged everyday with new information. You have to study or you will fail!

    Tips for prospective students

    easy arrivals get better parking!

    In three sentences

    Paris Junior College has great teachers/professors/instructors that are encouraging and are there for you to help you get to your goals. The smaller community feel gives students a more one on one opportunity with the instructors/professors. Although Paris Junior College does not support student loans, the financial department does offer payment plans, which I've been grateful for in the past.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    A walking track is nearby, as is the Trail de Paris. Tennis courts are also available, and a student center is on-site.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with them. The website includes the basics, but for the best benefit and to answer any further questions your best choice here is undoubtedly to call and speak with someone rather than try and research online or receive an electronic response.

    In three sentences

    PJC is a cheap, convenient place to begin your college education. Degrees and certifications are offered whether you need technical instruction, your basics before entering a four-year university, or as AA/AS. Staff are generally friendly and will work with you when reasonable.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Police do a great job as far a security, many of them once being members of the local city police.

    Greek Life

    The only sorority here is the Phi Theta Kappa honor society, Beta Zeta Chapter. This sorority is mostly volunteer-work based, just like National Beta Club. One must hold at least a 3.0 GPA to stay in.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Blend club is the biggest group on campus. It is a diversity-based group that hosts various activities. The Library hosts gaming tournaments both video games and table top.

    Great for these types of students

    Undecided Majors, gamers, techies, artists, just about anybody fits in here.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is exceptionally affordable. I have been able to attend using exclusively local scholarship winnings, and very few here have to take out student loans.

    What to do for fun

    There are various groups, such as the Blend club, weekly gaming tournaments for games like HALO and Call Of Duty:Black Ops II, and the student center has billiards and ping pong. The Tennis courts are also always open, the library rents out movies, and, if all else fails, there is a multitude of knowledge in the library.

    Food and Dining

    I have heard mixed reviews on the cafeteria food, although from Tuesday 'til Thursday, a local Christian association housed right next to the college hosts lunch for free.

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, I live off campus, but I have heard it's pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here really prepare you for life at bigger colleges or in the workplace. Most of the staff are down to earth, and very reasonable. Most of them really engage you in the learning and research process.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Take advantage of the school's scholarships and grant programs early on! 2) Use time to your advantage! 3) The resources are there for a reason! USE THEM!!! 4) The teachers don't bite, don't be afraid to ask questions. 5) This isn't an isolated university like in the movies; DON'T DO SOMETHING YOU WILL REGRET. 6) If you live off-campus, get there at least 20 minutes early to find parking!!! 7) Books are cheaper at B.O.B.'s

    In three sentences

    For a Junior/Community College, 4 1/2 Stars! It has that home-town feel, with mostly helpful and friendly teachers and staff (unlike the ones you hear about in major universities). A great place for those who want to transfer up to a larger college rather than going in head-on.