Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Parkland College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    For any college student it's important to remember to put yourself out there. The college experience is only what you make of it, so enjoy it while you can!

    Bang for the buck

    While college is financially frustrating at any institution, Parkland helps in the sense that it's not quite so overwhelming and impossible for families to find a way to manage the payments. The required books and materials for classes can be pretty expensive. However, after the initial shock of the college payments in general, it's easily understood that Parkland is the most financially wise decision for prospective freshman and sophomores to take before upgrading to a much more expensive 4-year university.

    Am enjoying being here

    College is a very big step, but Parkland makes it an easy transition from high school. The campus seems very intimidating at first, but there are signs to point any lost freshman in the direction in which they need to go. Not only is the campus laid out in a very common-sense matter, but the first day of each semester you can find a staff member almost anywhere wearing a shirt that says Ask me, I'll tell you where to go. The comfort in the friendly staff and smaller building helps ease any freshman of their first day jitters, and helped me to enjoy my first year of the college very enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    Parkland is a really great way to get accustomed to the college life! From my personal experience thus far, the professors truly care about their students and are passionate about the subjects they teach. They are there to help and answer any questions, which definitely wasn't something I got to experience with any of my teachers in high school.

  • 06/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Vet Tech GREAT SCHOOL! HARD WORK!

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    As far as schools go Parkland is one of the best. Not only am I learning a lot and it is affordable but I am so comfortable here. It has a home like feel and people are very friendly. If you are looking for a great college experience without the university price Parkland is for you. The professors are just as kind as the students and even become long lasting contacts. It is a great place to get an education. I don't ever want to leave. Hopefully this will help many of you in your decision on this college

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police officer's here at parkland are great at what they do if there is any crime going on they are they right away and i feel very safe having them around.

    Clubs and Activities

    Pre-law club.

    What to do for fun

    I am in alot of clubs here at parkland but the main one i like is the pre-law club. I hang out with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is very good. The people who cook the food a very nice people. They don't charge alot either.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think parkland has any dorm rooms, because it's a two year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a very good school to come to. You learn alot of new things.

    In three sentences

    It's a very good school to go to. They have people here to help you when you need it. It's a very safe school.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's very safe in Parkland College, there is cops nearby to protect students. There are barely any fights in this campus since it's such a friendly and safe environment. And for each classroom, each computer is provided with a 911 Room Alert button/icon where you only click on it once and the police will show up within seconds in the classroom to assist the teacher/faculty or student.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs that are open to all students to join; Student Government, International Club, Gay & Straight Alliance, and more. Many opportunities to have students engage in extracurricular activities and to able to meet other people in these fun clubs/activities.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for International/ESL students who would like to learn English or to meet other students of different cultures, religions, races. This college provides lots of ESL classes and chances for International students to immerse themselves into the American culture.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is brand new for its customer service, food choices and chefs that makes healthy and fresh food. The menu would have new food each week and it let's you know what kind of ingredients are in the food and how many calories it has for students that are health-conscious. The cafeteria is great for meeting new people or to study in with a laptop.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorms since it is a community college, however, in the Fall of 2012, there will be Parkland apartments provided for Parkland students that have applied from different states or faraway cities/towns. It's cheap, efficient and a safe place to live at, and have great transportation (bus stops) to travel to Campus Town or to other parts of Champaign-Urbana.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great, the classrooms are small so students will be able to get one-on-one help from their teacher or have chances to get tutored by the instructor. The academics in this college offers a variety of courses, classes, subjects that are complex and challenging for students. And each individual class helps students to get where they need to be, to help them prepare for the workforce or in their career or to explore what life has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Parkland College is a great and friendly environment with lots of diversity and culture within its campus for all students of all ages. It also has many great helping opportunities for many students to get tutored or to get efficient help for their classes. This college is one of the best community colleges in Illinois and it is well-known for its great service and for encouraging students to engage in the community as a whole.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ever since my first day at Parkland, I have generally felt that I am in a safe environment. There are security guards that stroll the hallways at all times, and if I should ever feel like my life was in some sort of danger, I need not look far.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different activities, clubs, and sports for the large variety of students attending Parkland College.

    Great for these types of students

    Parkland is great for a number of different types of students. It is great for those students who are not quite ready for the drastic changes that come with going to a four year college; Parkland helps edge your way into a college lifestyle. It is also great for those students who are not ready for the academic challenges that come with being at a four year college; the professors are all generally nice people and help any type of student succeed in their classes.

    Bang for the buck

    I was surprised how well I did end up enjoying Parkland. It is a great, more economical alternative to a four year college. It is incredibly less expensive as a four year college, yet you still get the attention and resources you need in order to receive a college education.

    What to do for fun

    I would suggest just taking a walk around the Parkland building. Yes, winding Parkland hallways and wings can make you feel like you are trapped in a maze, but once you acquaint yourself to your surroundings, you will find that the artwork and the hallways themselves are quite endearing.

    Food and Dining

    They have a great cafeteria. Although they may not have a lot of restaurants and fast food places that four year colleges have, they have great, friendly staff at the cafeteria that make great food for every meal of the day.

    Dorm Life

    Because it is a community college, there is no dorm life at Parkland College. However, I believe that Parkland is building some apartment buildings for students to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Coming from a college-prep high school, Parkland classes do seem a bit easy to me. However, every class produces different challenges, but I still feel academically stimulated with the classes that I have taken.

    Tips for prospective students

    If wanting to go to a four year college, go to Parkland first. You are able to get all your gen eds out of the way in a cheaper, more efficient way.

    In three sentences

    Parkland College gives the best education possible to those who choose not to study at a four year college. It is the smarter, more economical way to get a college education. Always has welcoming and friendly staff that are well equipped to help you succeed.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Parkland College has its own security patrol and security phones throughout the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Parkland offers many different types of clubs and activities. There is just about a club for every area of interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Parkland is a perfect school for single parents, adults going back to begin a new career or gaining education for promotions, or even for the new college student who may be intimidated by larger schools.

    Bang for the buck

    Parkland College is a community college which has lower cost than a 4 yr school.

    What to do for fun

    Parkland College offers several different extracurricural activities. There are athletics, student government, and their own radio station.

    Food and Dining

    Parkland College has a variety of food in the college center. The prices are reasonable. There are soda machines and vending throughout the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Parkland is building housing currently which will be an asset to the school.

    Academic Rigor

    While the classes may be challenging the instructors have a way of making learning fun and not boring. I feel that I have been able to get help when I needed it. Many instructors base grades on attendance too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parkland College is a great school for the beginning student with small class sizes. Parkland is also an affordable school. I would encourage prospective students to utilize all Parkland has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Parkland College is wonderful school for someone who needs a flexible schedule. The campus is easy to get around. The professors and instructors are personable and always willing to assist a student.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus they have at least one patrol car watching the parking lots and a few security guards inside. During the times that most students are present, they have more guards on duty, like the weekday mornings.

    Bang for the buck

    At Parkland, I know that I'm getting the education that I am paying for because I learn many new things each day. Besides learning new material I have also learned many other skills that help me in everyday activities.

    What to do for fun

    Parkland always has something going on whether it's colleges visiting, promoting awareness days, or other fun activities. They've brought in games, music, food, and much more in which they meet the satisfaction of many students.

    Food and Dining

    They offer a variety of food however most of it consists of fast-food quality.

    Dorm Life

    Parkland does not have dorms however they have many apartments within blocks of the school. Therefore, having a quick walk to school also helps save on gas.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor will decide whether or not the course will be tough. However, for most of the courses that I have taken are quite manageable with some effort of studying. The professors are always willing to help with any struggles or questions that come up. Most professors actually promote students asking questions or discussing in class so that everyone can come to a better understanding of the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you sign up for classes at more than one time expect two bills to come in the mail. I made the mistake two semesters in a row paying for the first bill and then later on having to go to the school in order to complete the amount due. Also, since this college has a more complex setup compared to other junior colleges, I recommend finding where your classes are a couple days before school starts.

    In three sentences

    Every professor that I've had has been very enthusiastic about teaching and always willing to help anyone. However it is not a smoke-free campus so many days you will have to walk by people smoking right outside the doors. Overall, Parkland College has several great qualities and holds many opportunities for their students.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Parkland is great for working students who see the value of an education as a means to securing stable employment and financial security in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into your counseling session with an open mind and open ears. They will try to steer you in the right direction based on your goals.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel for the price I am getting a quality education without the added expenses of a four year university.

    Am enjoying being here

    I thoroughly enjoyed my first semester, and anticipate the same satisfaction in completing my degree.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel the professors here care if you succeed and do everything in their power to make it a possibility.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is ample security at Parkland. There is decent lighting throughout the campus and always an officer nearby. I don't think there are many issues on campus, it is a pretty laid back area anyway.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple clubs and activities going on all year at Parkland.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, diligent and motivated

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, I think Parkland is a fantastic place to learn. There are ample resources and chances for academic success.

    What to do for fun

    There is the Planetarium, multiple sporting events and honors projects going on all year.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a little small for so many students, but there are multiple other areas to sit in. The food is good, it can be pricey but overall it is a great place to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunatly I do not think there is a dorm at Parkland.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and material are challenging, but not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parkland is a great place for returning students, and it is fantastic for new students. The atmosphere is impressive, there is ample time and room to study. The staff is very kind and also very helpful.

    In three sentences

    Parkland has an amazing staff, they are patient and know their fields well. The campus is beautiful and has all the right resources. The classes are informative and relativly cost effective.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well lit and patrolled. It's on the edge of town so there's not a lot of crime.

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Students hoping to transfer to a four year university or for people who want to get a two year degree that will help them get a job, such as vet assistant, nursing, radiology tech, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I'm aware of...I live at home.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value...it's the main reason I'm here for now.

    What to do for fun

    Campus town for the University of Illinois is the place to find others your age. That's where the night life is. Otherwise, check out downtown Champaign for things to do.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but not crazy competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check in with an advisor to make sure you are on the right track with regard to your goals. Make sure you are taking courses that will transfer to the school (s) you're hoping to transfer to.

    In three sentences

    Parkland is great for what it is - a community college to prepare you for transfer or a place to get an associate's degree for an occupation. I've taken mostly online classes because I work full time and that has been a great option for me. Parkland is flexible and the faculty really seem to care about the students.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    i think the tuition fees are worth it.

    Food and Dining

    i ate at a restaurant near there. it was pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    they don't have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    i'm just going off what i think. i don't attend the college yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend another college after parkland.

    In three sentences

    i would rate parkland college a 3.5. its big for a community college. i start in the fall so i don't know what its like fully yet.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On any given day there are 4 armed police officers in the biulding,it is however unnecessary as evyone greets everyone so kindly. They helped me find my way to one of my classes my first day, very helpful!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a costume contest on or around Halloween, also wje you enter the theater, if you are an cater you must touch a horse shoe, to appease the theater ghost, it is all in good fun, we all know it is a prank pulled by the older students by some older male student dresses up from time to time in a costume like the Phantom of the Opera a loved musical, and play silly pranks on the younger actors. T is all in good fun as we all love the musical!

    What to do for fun

    The classes are fun, in the Theater, each student and teacher is like a family. I even took place in the costume contest they had on Halloween!!!! I didn't win, that however will not stop me from trying next year! It was a blast.

    Food and Dining

    My school just got two new eat in food stores on campus, I love it! The food is a reasonable price, and although I can cook better at home, I much enjoy the option of eating in-between classes something that has flavor, not the normal cafeteria food.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fast paced, but the professors give you enough time to complete assignments, I even have seen professors give extended deadlines to help students. I have learned more in one year of collage then I did all four years in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Trust in your self, even if a friend tells you a class would be to hard, give it a shot if you think you can do it try! Trust the concloers, when they say you NEED a class, pleas do not blow it off to take a fun class, do not make the mistake I, and several others make, get your GenEd classes out of the way first. College isn't your own pace, do not take more classes then you can handle full-time is more than enough, that girl or guy will not find you more impressive just because you are taking more classes.

    In three sentences

    For less money than the large universities I am getting a quality education. The professors are kind and helpful, they are willing to work with you. The school is student friendly and easy to get around, I love attending classes!

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is some Greek Life!!

    Great for these types of students

    Students are right out of high school and those that may have taken a break from college. Also for students who want a smaller and afforable school but still big enough to be a college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There isnt anyhtign unusual about the school and its campus. There actually expanding.

    What to do for fun

    Get lunch or a snack in the cafeteria or stop and watch student play music or watch tv

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you have all the information that you need. And never be afraid to ask for help or telling them that you dont understand something.

    In three sentences

    Parkland is a great college. Its small but larger enough for a community college. The instructors and staff are amazing and helpful.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Parkland is very safe, there are always police officers walking around and security.

    Greek Life

    There are many fraternities and sororities at Parkland, many participate in volunteering such as tutoring and also many fun activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Parkland has every sport possible and clubs. If you want a specific club but Parkland does not offer it you can create it.

    Great for these types of students

    Parkland College is great for any type of Student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Parkland College has a program for students with kids. Children have a closed park area where they can play.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition for one semester is about $1600 for a full time student. Most students get financial aid and also scholarship. Students get a great education for a very chap price.

    What to do for fun

    Parkland College has many clubs that you can be a part of. Downtown there are also many clubs and malls.

    Food and Dining

    Parkland College has its own cafeteria and it is pretty good but most students prefer to bring their own food.

    Dorm Life

    Parkland College does not have dorms at this point but there are some in construction right now. Most students rent apartments near by and houses that are for rent. Parking is not a problem and therefor most students commute by car and prefer to live farther in the cheaper places.

    Academic Rigor

    Parkland College has challenging classes that push you in order to achieve new goals. There are many areas where you can study. Teachers are always willing to help you during their office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice is to apply early, go to the SOAR meeting and meet with you counselor as soon as possible because classes fill in quiet fast. Also apply to all the scholarships available.

    In three sentences

    Parkland is a wonderful academic college where you can achieve your degree. Parkland is best known for its Nursing Program which is challenging but very rewarding. Parkland also provides students with the knowledge and skills in order to get the job of their dreams.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Plenty of security. They are easy to find and are very friendly.

    Greek Life

    There is none

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty to do,all the time.

    Great for these types of students

    Parkland is a great place for students who are serious about finishing your degree and getting a career. Parkland is also great for students who want to take basic classes for less before transferring to finish a BA.

    Bang for the buck

    Great amount of classes and things to do for less than a traditional four year college.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I play sports and take part in the debate team.

    Food and Dining

    Great food.

    Dorm Life

    there is none

    Academic Rigor

    Still plenty hard even though it is a only a two year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. The earlier you apply,the better. There's many steps to go through before classes start and they take time.

    In three sentences

    I love the campus. I love the size of classes. I love my program.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many good restaurants in the area although some in the downtown areas are expensive. I suggest learning how to cook since there is no dorm life with dining halls. The Meijer in town has low prices and you can even switch back and forth between that and Wal-Mart. Easy meals can be chicken and pasta. You don't need to get too fancy and still be able to stay on a budget.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. Finding an apartment can be difficult if you are on a budget. Don't worry. There are plenty of apartments in Champaign-Urbana. The more roommates you have the cheaper it will be. Some apartment realtors even offer roommate matching services.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course every class is different in difficulty level but the teacher will try to make it as easy as possible for you if you visit office hours. I would say that if you enjoy the class you will do well. If you do not enjoy it there is a possibility of failure so keep yourself on track. Make a time table for yourself to manage your time and again, remember to visit office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have learned that the most important thing is to keep in good contact with your teachers and adviser. They are there to help you in any way possible. Visiting office hours and making consistent appointments with your adviser is important. They want to see you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Parkland College is a wonderful institution that will prepare students to move on to four year universities. The teachers truly care to see each student succeed in all aspects of their lives. This community college is affordable and a great alternative for students who do not know which career path to take.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sporting events at the college are fun. Otherwise a lot of fun things to do in the Champaign-Urbana area.

    Food and Dining

    Good food in the area!

    Dorm Life

    This is a junior college so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    If you do not take advantage of your teachers, they are usually pretty laid back and understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up and don't be afraid to ask questions. Answer questions in class and take notes.

    In three sentences

    Parkland College is an excellent school that is easy to get around. There are many good teachers and small classrooms, which allow for easier communication between the student and teacher. There are also many opportunities for students to be involved in the school.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Parkland only offers a few choices for food, but the main cafe is very good!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Parkland College. It is a commuter campus, with several choices of apartments and town homes in the immediate area. A brand-new apartment complex will be completed for the Fall 2012 school year.

    Academic Rigor

    I can only speak to the Allied Health areas, but the classes are challenging and the programs are highly selective.

    In three sentences

    Parkland College is a small 2 yr school that has a wide variety of programs. The staff and faculty are very helpful and care about the success of their students. Beautiful campus with a brand-new addition underway right now.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Parkland College is great for students who are not ready to be a four year school just yet and want to stay close to home. It provides an affordable quality education that prepares you to go off to your four year institution of choice.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun in Champaign, with the University of Illinois just down the road there are many businesses around town that are aimed for college aged students.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining around Champaign is excellent. There are many restaurants that are unique to Champaign its self that you will not find anywhere else. The cafeteria at Parkland is very convenient for grabbing a quick bite to eat in between classes or to munch on while waiting for your next class.

    Dorm Life

    Since Parkland is a community college there is not a dorm life, but you can have a great experience living with friends in an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers and Professors keep you working hard while attending Parkland. You will always be learning and applying what you learned in class in your homework and outside of class. They do an excellent job of keep what you learn relevant to life and your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy about getting involved in a student organization or activity on campus. Make use of the tutoring program if you are struggling in a class, everyone wants to help you. Take a class in a topic that you want to learn more about that you haven't had a class about before, class sizes are small, so you can ask questions and really learn a lot.

    In three sentences

    Parkland College has a very friendly and welcoming environment. There are endless opportunities to get involved in activities around campus. Teachers are involved in your education and want to help you.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get signed up as soon as you can! Do not wait until the last minute, you have to get things done soon!

    In three sentences

    Parkland College seems great. The staff is very friendly, genuine, and caring. The people there care about the students, rather than the money that comes with them.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are very nice, yet do a great job protecting everyone. I feel safe, but not intimidated by these officers.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel the only thing that the school is missing is more athletic teams.

    What to do for fun

    There are several intramural/organizations that can meet the desires of nearly any student.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe there is delicious and the prices are not outrageous.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus living which means there is no dorm life at all.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not as the surrounding University, U of I, but for a Community College it has great academics and very easily transferred credits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not shy away from seeking help and asking questions. The faculty is there for a reason and will go of their way to help you.

    In three sentences

    The Parkland College has treated me exceptionally well. When being helped it feels as though I am truly the only person that they care about helping. Overall, my Experience with Parkland College has been great thus far.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many great clubs and activities to do at Parkland. There are also many sports that you could get involved in. Also, we have a great art gallery that you could go to free of charge, it's small but it's an experience. There are also many plays you could go to in the parkland theatre.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining experience is much like that of the highschool dining experience. The cafeteria is fairly small. The food is good though.

    Dorm Life

    Parkland College doesn't have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some classes that are in fact troubling but overall the classes are pretty easy. If you're a lazy student but get you're work done then you should have no problem with Parkland.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're expecting a good campus then this is the college for you. If you're expecting a small college then this is the college for you. Lastly, if you're expecting a community college with a great atmosphere and student life, then this is the college for you.

    In three sentences

    Parkland College is a great college to go. It many not be the best but is one of the best. The Parkland College experience could be for anyone.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great

    Clubs and Activities

    Latin American club German club

    Great for these types of students

    returning, undecided,

    Bang for the buck

    you get your basic classes out of the way without spending a forturne

    What to do for fun

    planetarium, theater and they have a really good work out facility.

    Food and Dining

    a new student center is opening up soon.

    Academic Rigor

    on-line classes are very good

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide what you want to do and talk with a counselor.

    In three sentences

    Parkland is a great college for any age. The counselors care what students think. The college is very assessable.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to go to the Lady Cobra's Basketball games. They are ok, but it's not about how many games you won, it's about having a good time at the end.

    Food and Dining

    Parkland has a wonderful Cafe'. I go there a lot when I get out of class, it's a great pick me up. I especially like the little sub sandwiches they have!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very friendly. On another hand they are also strict when it comes down to doing work. They want the work to be proficient and on time, but they will help you if you ask for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students, I recommend that you do not slack your Freshman year. It is the hardest year and has the highest drop out rate. Stay focused on school and maybe work, and leave the partying for another time.

    In three sentences

    Parkland College is a great college. It is one of the top Community Colleges in state of Illinois. I am proud to be a Parkland Cobra!

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety here is really great they do everything that they can to try and help you.

    What to do for fun

    Even now and then Parkland has activities in the center of the campus for the students. Or there are plenty of groups that you can join here at parkland.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is okay and is some what expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here at Parkland it is a community college but there are plenty of apartments near by.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are hard while others are really easy. It really depends on what you think is hard or easy for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip that i could give is to really get to know your instructors. They are there to help you and see you succeed.

    In three sentences

    I think that Parkland is a great place to start off for college. It allows you to start your general studies for what program that you choose. In my opinion it gets you ready for the next step if you are planning on transferring to another school.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very small campus, not very many places to be alone and without help (even at night). Parking lots have emergency phones that are lit up for easy location. Security patrols the parking lots regularly.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a short program that will allow them to enter the workforce quickly, students who want to save money by cutting the time they spend at a 4 year institute, students who are undecided about their major, students who are unsure whether higher education is right for them, students who need a little more time preparing for higher education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unofficial St. Patrick's day (actually a U of I tradition, however people at Parkalnd also celebrate). A big campus-wide party that lasts for a couple of days.

    Bang for the buck

    Parkland is very inexpensive and has many excellent professors. Parkland is a great school to prepare you for a 4 year university (or a job).

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to join, a planetarium, a theater and an art gallery. Most of the fun is located off campus. There is a lot to do on the University of Illinois campus which is not that far, along with downtown Champaign.

    Food and Dining

    There are 2 places within the building to get food, the cafeteria and a pizza place. I have never had food from the cafeteria but the pizza place wasn't very good. I just leave campus and get food elsewhere in between classes.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you pay attention and put effort into classes they will seem fairly easy. Many professors expect you to come to class and contribute. The small class sizes mean your professor will notice if you are gone, but it also gives you a better chance to stick out. Most work was not very difficult and rarely did it seem overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parkland is a great stepping stone, but it is not high school. You will get the most out of school if you have a desire to learn and engage with your professors. With that being said, it is not scary. The transition from high school to Parkland is easy.

    In three sentences

    Parkland can be a great stepping stone for those who think they might want to pursue higher education, those who feel they just aren't ready for a 4 year university, and for those who want to get a 2 year degree. Parkland has a very friendly staff and lots of opportunities to improve in academics. The best thing Parkland has to offer is small classrooms with an opportunity to get to know one's professors and make connections.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have had no problems yet.

    Greek Life

    I am not active in this.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not had a chance to do any of these yet.

    Great for these types of students

    Parkland is a great option for those who need to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mama Leone's has great pizza slices!

    Bang for the buck

    Parkland is more affordable than the University of Illinois classes.

    What to do for fun

    I have to explore this area since I am going to Parkland and high school at the same time.

    Food and Dining

    There are many eating options on campus and vending machines, too.

    Dorm Life

    I have not tried dorm life since I am still a high school student, too.

    Academic Rigor

    Automotive theory classes are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can do it - go for it! Even if you don't know for sure what you want to do give Parkland a try and you will be glad you did! I am gaining a lot of good knowledge in my automotive classes

    In three sentences

    Parkland Dual Credit classes are more interesting than high school classes. Parkland instructors know their subject and understand their students. Parkland College is a great place to begin college.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Parkland has a full-time police force. The Office of Public Safety is always open, and officers are almost always walking around campus. The officers respond in a timely manner, and are all very friendly. The parking lots, and perimeter road to the school are always patrolled.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    With the exception of three, all of the buildings at Parkland are connected.

    Bang for the buck

    I felt like I was getting a University level education at a fraction of the cost.

    Food and Dining

    Parkland's cafeteria is great, and not too pricey. You can enjoy fresh cooked meals, with real ingredients during breakfast and lunch hours. The only downfall is that it is not open during evening class hours.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms affiliated with Parkland College. Parkland Pointe is located on Bradley, but is in no way connected with the school. While I attended Parkland as a student-athlete I lived across town. There are many living options for students in the Champaign-Urbana area.

    Academic Rigor

    While attending Parkland I felt it necessary to study, and stay involved in all of my classes. Parkland has prepared me to transfer on, and prepared me for the real world. Classes are difficult only if you do not stay on top of things.

    In three sentences

    Parkland College is a great start for anyone looking to recieve a great education at an affordable price. The staff and faculty will go above and beyond to ensure your success in the classroom. Overall, Parkland is a great place to begin!

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I got banged...and not even kissed.

    Dorm Life

    I'm out about $200.00 to get into this nut house of a school. No wonder the state is broke.

    Academic Rigor

    Very sad experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a crapshoot.

    In three sentences

    This is a dysfunctional school. I have been planning to attend since April, it's now August. I had to drive 200 miles to take a compass exam, pay for it,and all of the other hoops and they cancelled the program 1 week before it started.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club

    Dorm Life

    most students live off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the school. Getting around campus can be a bit confusing to anyone unfamiliar with the set up.

    In three sentences

    The Dental Hygiene department is very organized and the instructors are very helpful. The school is currently under construction to make great improvements and offer more opportunity for their students. So far I have great interactions with this school.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though Parkland College is small, they do have their own police force and violence (fights) are rare.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students (like me) who are trying to get back on their feet after leaving the work force.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is generally satisfactory but more/healthier choices would be nice

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    In three sentences

    Great college for people who cannot afford University prices. Friendly, helpful staff and small classes make it a great place to learn. Unfortunately, many of the students can be bothersome (inconsiderately loud and distracting).

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    During my time on campus I have never seen anyone attacked. Security takes potential threats very seriously and they keep a good eye on the parking lot to keep students from getting run over. During my 2 years there I have seen 1 tornado warning and 3 fire alarms, and they are always very quick to assess the situation and get students to safety.

    Bang for the buck

    Parkland is a great school for students who live in district 505 or who are planning to transfer to the University of Illinois. You will spend much less than if you started at a 4 year university, your courses will be more in depth in most cases or you will learn the material better because the teacher has time to go over individual students' questions, and you still have access to the campus life of both schools.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of student clubs and organizations, and there is an on-campus event going on every few weeks whether it's a job fair or karaoke night or international week. Plus there's the theater, the planetarium, the art gallery, and the musical performances.

    Food and Dining

    There are two restaurants on campus, although the owners have changed 3-4 times while I've attended. The food is always delicious, but the prices just keep going up. It's good in an emergency if you dont have the time or means to go off-campus for a meal, but if you can I recommend going to one of the many restaurants just off of campus.

    Dorm Life

    I lived at home about 20 minutes away from campus, but they recently built a set of apartments on the edge of campus called Parkland Point. The area of town around campus has lots of shops and restaurants and there's quick access to the bus lines if you want to explore U of I's campus too.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes here aren't difficult if you are participating fully. I have never had a class where something was on the test that was never mentioned in class, and there is always an opportunity to have your instructor take a sneak peak at your project before it's due and make revisions when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    The teachers here do a good job of making sure you don't have big projects due at the same time, so don't slack off. Get that homework done early and keep your stress low, you'll do better work that way.

    In three sentences

    Parkland is full of opportunity for students who want to learn. You will study with teachers who are passionate about their classes and want you to succeed. You aren't just a number, you're a Cobra for life.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a planetarium/theatre, and usually some type of campus activity going on like Jeopardy or a popcorn day.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is really expensive, it's rented out by a private vending company so the prices aren't student friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    A few of the classes are not 'accelerated' credits, but the professors ensure quality and quantity of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Maintain an open line of communication with your professors. Always be up front and honest if something is going on in your life, they are usually willing to work with you.

    In three sentences

    Parkland is an overall good school; the many of the professors are friendly and concerned for the students' success. Many of the staff o=are willing to work with and be flexible for the student's sake, and generally have a great deal of patience.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Not that bad of a school. Preferable to take math classes and electives here, but the science classes are a little worse. Pretty decent for a community college.

  • 11/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are on campus security and police whenever needed.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is a great school for students who plan to attend the University of Illinois. They have a great pathway program along with many other programs to help make the transfer process as easy as possible. Also, this school is great for students who have a lot of questions, they have tons of resources and counselors who are willing to help and guide you to where you want to be. Another great aspect of this school is Athletics, they take care of athletes and accommodate you as much as possible.

    Bang for the buck

    I was attending a great four year institution, and I absolutely disliked the experience. I was quite homesick and felt myself constantly becoming a loner. So, I made the decision to come back home and give myself some time to develop and mature as a college student, and I've been having the best time of my life since.

    What to do for fun

    Parkland College is located in Champaign, IL. Which is a pretty small town, so as far as things to do we have the common things. Such as the movie theatre, mall, and skating rink. If your lucky, you may catch some plays on campus at the local Parkland Theatre.

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of places around Parkland College to eat that are within 5 miles. McDonalds, Taco Bell, El Toro, KFC, pretty much anything you crave is within driving or walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    Parkland College is actually a 2-year school, which doesn't really have a dorm. They do however, have apartments on campus that you can live in with roommates. There are also apartments within five miles away from campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very challenging, it's not like high school anymore. Where you could skim books and answer the questions or copy your friends homework. You actually have to know the material and be able to explain key points. If you do well enough in a class, you have the opportunity to pass the course with an A with honors. Some teachers will ask you to teach a class or do a presentation in order to receive this award, and if you do well along with a certain amount of presentations you could receive scholarship money. So, by attending Parkland not only are you getting an opportunity to grow as a first year student, but your constantly being given chances to make your transferring process even easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always come prepared. ( Books, Supplies, and High energy to learn) Open mind. ( Sure, it's community college, you will see older people then you attending. Nothing wrong with continuing your education) Don't be afraid to ask questions. (That's why your counselors are there, ask!) Meet new people. ( Hey, there's nothing wrong with talking to some strangers) Study! (Taking the time to learn the material is vital for surviving college)

    In three sentences

    A community college that will exceed your standards of learning. Not only are the staff and students helpful, but you are given numerous amounts of resources. Don't ever let someone convince you that community college is low on the totem pole.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There is a public safety office in our school. We have on campus police from open to close.

    Greek Life

    at the University. (University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana)

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless clubs here at Parkland. I'm apart of Sister to Sister. Sister to Sister is an organization aimed at African American women to uplift and support each other. I've been a member for 2 years. I am currently the Vice President! There is always something going on here on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Any time of student. Great for party students, but also great for students who just want to buckle down!

    What to do for fun

    I'm a home body, but when I do go out, I usually go to the movies or on Green St. There's always something going on on Green St. since it's so close to campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. Parkland has one cafeteria and one restaurant currently. I think they will be adding another restaurant when they finish the new building.

    Dorm Life

    It's a junior college, so there aren't any dorms! Some people live at home, but for those from out of town like myself, get an apartment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be overwhelmed. Parkland is a very welcoming place to be. Just get your applications and financial aid in!

    In three sentences

    Parkland College is an awesome place to continue your education. The professors really care about you. It's about 15 minutes away from the big university, and by attending Parkland, you better your chances of transferring.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Champaign county police is on campus so I feel 100% safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    Any club you wish for, Parkland College has!

    What to do for fun

    Swimming, working out, and volleyball is some things I enjoy doing while I'm at school.

    Food and Dining

    There is just about every restaurant you can find down here at Parkland.

    Dorm Life

    We have to pay for apartments attending parkland, the rent is very affordable.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students should know it is very important to STUDY.

    In three sentences

    Parkland college is the number one 2-year college in the United States of America. Academically, on a 1-10 scale Parkland is a 10. I really enjoy learning at school.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports, clubs, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There are surrounding restaurants in the Champaign Area but there is a small cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms here but there are off-campus living quarters called Parkland Pointe.

    Academic Rigor

    I'd say it's average because of all the types of students that are here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule your classes early so you can have some leniency.

    In three sentences

    This is a beautiful campus. You can get to know your professors and peers on a personal level if you take the initiative. Classes are interesting.

  • 06/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Parkland has lots of different organizations, groups, and meeting spaces. The gym is newly constructed and is free to students.

    Food and Dining

    They offer a nice cafeteria and have just built a new food/dining area in the new wing.

    Dorm Life

    Parkland College doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very academically rigorous especially the science classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a prospective student, I would suggest you get involved with an advisor/counselor as soon as possible to discuss your options and what you need to do to succeed at Parkland College. They are so helpful and they help you see the big picture.

    In three sentences

    Parkland College is a great school that has small class sizes, the instructors really love their jobs and want you to succeed, and the size is big enough to be interesting but small enough to be easily accessed.