Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Parsons The New School for Design Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/31/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you love Fashion and are serious of being part of the Fashion World. Parsons is to Fashion, like Harvard is to Law. No. one in my book.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage any future student to enroll in the summer program at Parsons. its one month, but you are on the go from day one. and you will really know whether Parsons is the school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    My parents spent the funds to send me there, because they wanted to make sure I would accept the NYC lifestyle. I loved it.

    Did enjoy being here

    The Dorm was nice,I learned to live with two other girls,who were very nice and I made a friend from Sweden for Life!

    Did learn a lot

    I attend the summer intensive course this year (2011), I worked hard,long hours, but loved every second . My drawings from day one to the last day improved 1000%, recieved a B+

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security gaurds are always on campus and I feel extremely safe. There are always signs up warning students of upcoming events that may interfere with our schooling, for example a hurricane was to hit NYC and they emailed us of some safety precautions to be aware of and/or if school were to be cancelled. The communication and awareness at Parsons is always up-to-date and that makes me feel like I can feel safe at school and not have to worry.

    Greek Life

    Other than different groups and/or activities there is no real Greek Life but this in one positive aspect offers all of us to come together and to work hard and make the most of our school expierence by involving ourselves with school and a professional career at a New York state of mind.

    Clubs and Activities

    Parsons offers many clubs and activities you will never feel alone or bored! They even welcome students to create new groups which inspires new ideas and events.

    Great for these types of students

    The fashion dept. is mainly in the NYC fashion district so you are always around that kind of environment. It's central to all of the fabric company's so if you ever need anything for projects its at your footsteps. When you have a lot of classes, work, internships, homework,etc. it's impt. to have time and convienence at your side!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fashion dept. is seperated from the rest of the departments/academics offered at Parsons, which can be somewhat annoying b/c I'd like to involve myself with other people and see what they are doing. However, some classes are required at the other location at 14th street and 5th avenue, which than I can communicate and interact with non-fashion students. All in all it is a great community at the school whereever you are.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for at Parsons; meaning it is an expensive school but the education and opportunities given to you and all of it happening in New York City is worth the funding.

    What to do for fun

    Parsons has so many group activities, they offer low priced tickets to professional baseball and football games, you can attend college games and cheer for your team. They also offer group picnics, weekend trips, community groups to get involved in like student government. I thoroughly enjoy working with career servicees b/c they help me get information about internships and career events to attend so that I can meet people already in the fashion business.

    Food and Dining

    I have not experienced any of the food and dining at Parsons, however being in New York there are so many convienent stores around the classrooms I can always find something that is open and that serves healthy food!

    Dorm Life

    I have not experienced the dorm life myself, however I have had friends who lived in various Parsons dorms for different academic majors, all of which have been positive responses. They loved the communial atmosphere which helped them with friendships, projects and future business connections. The rooms are clean and have everything a student would need while attending Parsons.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very strict on it's late or no absence policy, for example 3 missed classes is grounds for failure in a class and 1 missed class during summer is an automatic fail. This is rigorous but important, because a lot of information is given during class and you can easily fall behind if missing a class. The school grounds is safe and clean and I respect there strict guidelines b/c I feel I am getting the most out of a school that expects the best, at a professional level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all the information you can by speaking to your advisor and the financial aid department before you get started in school and as you progress. These departments and advisors are great mentors and give great guidence that will help you financially, mentally be prepared for a career and help in know all the facts to ensure the students and parents are getting the best out of Parsons.

    In three sentences

    Parsons is a high end school that offers a resonable sized student to teacher ratio. I gained a lot of information in the one semester I attended and find that I have evolved as a student that is preparing for my career in fashion. I am able to focus on not only my degree but all other aspects of the fashion buisness by being at Parsons and it's location in New York City.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security 24-hours in the buildings. They are pretty nice and let us do our homework etc. Just here to protect us from non-students entering.

    Clubs and Activities

    I see a lot of clubs and activities, internships etc. Unfortunately I'm so busy with homework and 2 jobs that I can't do them. But plenty of opportunities for activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Who love to do homework!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fire drills kinda make me laugh, because it disrupts the class but the guys who organized it were very nice and told us they wanted to keep us safe which was appreciated.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is expensive but I didn't get into FIT and I wanted the recognition so I got it. I do feel like I'm learning in the end result, its not where you learn, how you learn but if and what you learn because ultimately you need to understand what you are learning. I do however feel that its harder for me to learn since I have to work 2 jobs and go to school full time.

    Food and Dining

    No Idea, live off campus. But I'll rate the food around the campus. Lots of options since its in the Garment District.

    Dorm Life

    No idea live in an apartment off-campus

    Academic Rigor

    I do feel challenged, even as a person who has some familiarity with fabric. I definitely think that these programs weed out the shallow and less hard-working students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do a lot of homework!

    In three sentences

    Great, I'm learning all the foundation concepts for my major.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none..

    Great for these types of students

    artistic, hipster, hard working, city-lovers.

    What to do for fun

    eating out (nyc is full of places), yoga, whatever you can think of the city probably has it!

    Tips for prospective students

    work really hard and never wait until the last minute. it is extremely competitive so try your very best and take every chance you get at an internship!

    In three sentences

    this is a great school especially for fashion and it is conveniently located in new york city, where many fashion companies are located. there are many opportunities for jobs and internships.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Despite what you may have heard, NYC is a safe place to live. I came from a small town hearing horror stories about the dangers of New York, and have been pleasantly surprised at how safe it is. You cannot get into the school buildings without an ID, and there are security guards at the door. Because the city never shuts down, there are always people around. Most school buildings are within a block or two of the subway, making transportation convenient. I have never felt unsafe walking around at night in NYC. The rule of thumb is to just always be aware of your surroundings.

    What to do for fun

    New York City is like no other place in the county, and there is never a shortage of things to do. The only problem is choosing what to do! Surprisingly, many of the activities are cheap or free. Look at http://www.timeout.com/newyork for things to do, though it usually only takes a short walk down the street to find something.

    Food and Dining

    The food is unmatched in New York City, because you can get delicious, authentic food from all over the world. It is, however, fairly expensive. The key is to balance the pricy meals with packing your own lunch and snacks for between classes. There are also cheap options, like slices of pizza and the food carts, which have great, fast meals for fairly cheap.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are extremely expensive, though a great option if you are coming out of state and unfamiliar with the area. The dorms provide a great home away from home, and a solid community out of the classroom. Space is limited, but perfectly comfortable and doable. Plenty of clothing storage is provided, and some dorms even have kitchens!

    Academic Rigor

    Parsons academic environment is very competitive, though collaborative. Most likely, at least 50% of your peers will be international, so you will be working with the best of the best from all over the world. The environment is very fast-pace, challenging, and fun. There is no stopping points during the semester. You will work harder than you ever worked, but will most likely have had a great time doing it, so it is worth it. The professors will challenge you beyond your own expectations, so it is up to you to take it to the next level. Parsons integrates critical partnership opportunities that will provide you with real-world experience. Make connections, and NETWORK! These partnerships will prove to be very valuable throughout your time at Parsons, and afterwards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to be different! Parsons welcomes students that aim to shape the next generation of the design field, which is evolving into something that it wasn't before. In your personal statement, don't be afraid to mention the frustrations you've experienced with the field, and how you can address the new challenges that arise.

    In three sentences

    Parsons is one of the best non-traditional design schools in the country, focusing on intense collaboration with your peers and external partners. The school is very competitive, though welcomes students with sharp, creative minds that are not afraid to initiate change. Parsons design will force you to explore the limits of design in theory and practice in a challenging atmosphere.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Financially, it is a bit over-priced given the amount of space and facilities students have to learn and make art. However, this is probably due to its prime location in the city.

    Am enjoying being here

    As Parsons is located in the center of New York City, its culture is pretty much merged with the entire city culture. The school makes use of the unique qualities in New York to inspire students. Most of the social activities happen in the city rather than on actual parsons campus areas, which makes it always an exciting and new experience.

    Am learning a lot

    Parsons provides a very all-rounded curriculum for its students in foundation year to prepare them in establishing strong portfolio with basic skills and concepts in design, such as hues and values, composition, adobe software skills, volume and space.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    depending in your major, it's a rigorous school that excepts a lot form the students. it can be a hit or miss sometimes in terms of the classes and teachers. if you work hard, you'll get the most benefit

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well the area is union square, so there's lots that goes on. You can be in times square in matter of minutes. There's lots to see, very busy, lots of activities.

    Food and Dining

    They have the meal plan but i don't intend to take the meal plan hopefully I won't have to. With meal plan it'll cost a lot for my dorms.

    Dorm Life

    Again I have not check out the dorms, this summer though i'm going to see what the dorms are like. For your dreams though you have to be up for anything and be able to adjust to your surroundings. They have security surveillance all the time so you will be very protected.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not yet began the school, but they seem pretty strict on school work. When I was taking a tour the girl told me that she would have an hour of homework for each class. Though, it makes sense it's one of the best art and design school in America.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want to be before going to this school. If your there just for a try out that's not so great. It's probably best you go to community college first and see your options. If you know what you to be then by all means sign up this school.

    In three sentences

    I definately think that parsons is the school for me. It's filled with upcoming designers and such. The only obvious thing is that the tuition is super expensive.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of free activities: movie screenings, rock climbing, and even ski trips!

    Food and Dining

    Lang is the best for sushi. Always go to Arnold hall for the best hot food- you won't even know a lot of it is vegetarian/vegan! All the food containers are also compostable!

    Dorm Life

    Nice dorms but SUPER expensive. But great if you don't know the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Time management is key, but there is a lot of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work on your portfolio! I worked for two years on mine, so I could submit only my best work. Prepare to work hard too, your professors only want your best.

    In three sentences

    Parsons is really geared towards creative people. You don't need talent to go here, just potential. You must always be willing to learn and have an open mind.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everywhere you go in the city!

    Food and Dining

    They almost dont have a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Very expensive, yet you make great friends

    Academic Rigor

    Compare to other top art schools, Parsons' studio classes aren't the toughest, yet its still tough enough for you to worry about deficiency of sleep and nutrition.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare many and a variety of different ideas, and be sure to create individuality.

    In three sentences

    A great design school that focuses greatly on concept creativity, commercial and business intended career, as well as many great opportunities offered by the city. The school also has strong bias on its fashion department.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You must always be on a personal lookout for your own safety but over all security cameras and law enforcements bombard the surrounded area.

    Greek Life

    There is none in Parsons.

    Great for these types of students

    Fashion, Illustation desighn, and Architectual desighn.

    What to do for fun

    For fun i sit down and do nothing. My mind is constantly moving with thoughts project ideas, along with balancing family relationships ans school. And being so determined i cannot rest until i complete each innovative task. This is good because seldom i find myself two steps in front of everyone else but i never have time to relax. So when all is done i love to go to the park and just walk around of lye down, and think only about the beautiful scenery.

    Food and Dining

    With a meal card you are set. The cafeteria is always stocked with all kinds of fresh food, whether you are a vegan, vegetarian, or someone like me who enjoys their turkey sandwiches. Dining outside of campus is no hassle at all. Their are restaurants just minutes away that will not burn a whole through your wallet.

    Dorm Life

    Resources are a short walk away. Study, social and studio space are always available. Although each floor mush share a compact bathroom the rooms are pretty spacious, mindful that they are primarily used for sleeping.

    Academic Rigor

    If you like to challenge yourself, be inspires mat a constant rate, and have to opportunity to learn with hands on projects Parsons is the perfect school for you. The staff is more than experienced, the city is diverse and frankly, clean and safe, and the dorms offer countless resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before arriving at Parsons it is recommended that you become familiar with the vibrant city, which if not investigated can become a bit overwhelming, especially during classes. Come into school with an open mind, meeting new people, and seeing brand knew things is inevitable; it is best to take these knew things and be willing to let them inspire you. Overall, stay focused and have a list of priorities. As fun as the school is we must forget that it is intern a very competitive and demanding environment.

    In three sentences

    Basically, Parsons is ideal for anyone looking for an nontraditional college experience! The rules regarding attendance are strict because here you cant just take notes to learn; everything is hands on. The campus is surrounded by life and diversity inside a city that never sleeps*

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's not that it isn't safe. It's that there isn't really a campus. The city is your campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    They exist.

    Bang for the buck

    Because of the location, it can feel like you are throwing money away.

    What to do for fun

    ... it's New York City. Let your imagination run wild, because you can find anything. Don't be afraid to take the subway out to Coney Island, Central Park, or whatever. Just get out there.

    Food and Dining

    Just small cafes in different buildings that you can use the dining dollars at which come with the dorms. Nothing too special.

    Dorm Life

    It really is overpriced given the quality of and the living situation in the dorms. But, Loeb, Stuy, and 13th Street dorms are within walking distance of most of the buildings, which is fantastic.

    Academic Rigor

    Projects will consumer your life, especially during freshmen year. Be prepared for the biggest lessons in time management that could ever exist.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really assess your finances. New York is an expensive place to be, and you are going to either work work your tailend off or be emptying bank accounts to keep up.

    In three sentences

    First of all, it is in the heart of New York City! The location and available connections with big names might be the biggest reason to go here. Besides that, it is a very solid art and design school, though expensive.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    too much security

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    rich and snobby

    What to do for fun

    fun? you are consumed with work. theres no fun.

    Food and Dining

    overpriced cafeteria and local shops around.

    Dorm Life

    live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Expect no free time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider othe school options.

    In three sentences

    It is a very expensive school.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is in all buildings must have campus id to enter

    What to do for fun

    You have downtown Manhatten so lots to do

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is all made to order in very tasty.

    Dorm Life

    Activites are available and the rooms are spacious

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are there to push you to your potential

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are social in the beginning to meet new people and be prepared for the supplies that you will be purchasing the first 2 weeks of school

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    What to do for fun

    its new york city, there is never a dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    very poor

    Dorm Life

    very poor

    Academic Rigor

    all nighters are a regular.

    Tips for prospective students

    you have to come to this school with a confidence in yourself as an artist and as a person. you should already know a lot about design and art and your taste and aesthetic.

    In three sentences

    a school with an excellent reputation. Flaws in the system. Not very flexible.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you can't find something to do for fun in New York, then you're probably not in New York.

    In three sentences

    Parsons, so far, has been very challenging, but incredibly rewarding. I have loved the work I have produced and, more importantly, have become really comfortable and confident in views as an artist. I have really matured as a student and illustrator during my short time here.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Guards around the clock and RAs that help around.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs or sports teams but the dorm and the university host many activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, quirky, adventurous people.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out around the city, go to galleries or visit the museum. Attend the many free events around the school and the seminars too.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeterias offer food for any preference and diet, whether you might be vegan or not. They offer breakfast and many different lunch options.

    Dorm Life

    Quiet and no parties in the dorms since the parties happen in apartments in the city.

    Academic Rigor

    Every day homework that requires 2+ hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    The work load is rigorous and it requires attention to detail. But don't worry, the teachers are very much available after class hours to help with whatever you need.

    In three sentences

    A diverse enviroment where creativity is always at work. Also there are very great teachers who help with your creative process. Ideas are always being exchanged.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can get into some buildings without IDs. Overall good security at dorms and most buildings.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very inactive, even with the few clubs in the school, the Greek Life here is non-existant.

    Great for these types of students

    LGBT

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Small and crowded elevators...

    Bang for the buck

    Overpriced. But as a great man once said college education is how much you put in it. You can attend Harvard and never be active with the school activities

    What to do for fun

    We are a fashion school...parties, girls, alcohol.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plan is a bit overpriced, but it is decent food. Plus, its NYC, there is food literally every 20 feet.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are somewhat old, except for the new University Center that is being built right now. Other than that, some dorms are very low class, compared to residency you can find with the amount you will be paying.

    Academic Rigor

    Again, terrible first year program. Suitable for people with no design background, but horrible for people who has taken introductory courses already,

    Tips for prospective students

    Try not to antagonize your roommates, as your life in any college will become fun if you have close roommates. Do not procrastinate. Parsons is not a hard school, at least not first year, if you do everything on time. Wait till the last night, then yes, you will not get sleep.

    In three sentences

    A somewhat selective school, based off of mostly wealth and somewhat talent, with a terrible first year program that is being reformed. Definitely one of the best Fashion Design schools in the world. However, there are many improvements that can be done with the extremely easy first year.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great here and always making sure you are safe.

    Greek Life

    no greek life we are not your typical college.

    Clubs and Activities

    I dont have time for clubs but we have plenty for students who are interested.

    Great for these types of students

    People who know what they want to do and are passionate about learning.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You will always experience sleepless nights due to all the hard work.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive but so worth it in the end.

    What to do for fun

    Their is an endless supply of things to do here at Parsons, if you have nothing to do in NYC you are obviously doing something wrong.

    Food and Dining

    normal college food but yu are in NYC so you can go to any resturaunt you want to.

    Dorm Life

    I mean your in NYC. Dorms are small like usual but liveable.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of sleepless nights but worth it cause you are doing what you always wanted to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, sleep is for the weak, and have fun.

    In three sentences

    One of the most innovative and creative colleges in the world. You are guaranteed a job in you field within 3 months after graduation. Parsons is on of the best design schools in the world

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun, I like to go hang out at coffee shops around campus or go to the galleries in Chelsea area (which is also only a walking-distance away from campus).

    Food and Dining

    The food in school is not that great. Even so, there are a lot of affordable cafes and restaurants around the campus, so it's not really a big problem.

    Dorm Life

    To be honest, The New School doesn't really have a great dorm life. However, I can't deny that the location of most of the dorms are walking distance from campus and everywhere else.

    Academic Rigor

    Parsons is the best design school in the United States. The work load is a lot, but it will surely prepare you for your future. You'll be ready for what you're going to face in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    I only have one thing to say to all prospective students out there. If you want to learn about art and design, this is the place to be. Not just because what the school's known for, but also it is because of its location (NYC). It is the centre of the art and design world. You'll get easy access to big corporations or companies out there.

    In three sentences

    Parsons offers learning experiences that you will never get anywhere else. All of the faculties are the expert in their fields. However, the most important of all, the school will provide you with all these great opportunities that you will never find anywhere else.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Food and Dining

    There' s a cafeteria in the 13th Street dorm only. Other dining halls are at school.

    Dorm Life

    I dormed at Stuy and mice and cockroaches came out once.

    Academic Rigor

    It's difficult if you can't manage time. A lot of students drop out within the first couple weeks because it's hard.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is currently no Greek Life at The New School, but there have been talks about trying to start it up.

    Great for these types of students

    Parsons is great for students who are: -More independent -Want a very urban college experience -Want to work in creative industries -Who are looking for internship experience they may not as easily get at other universities.

    What to do for fun

    The school sends out newsletters by email about different campus activities regularly and they're always really fun cool things that you can do in New York but for a very discounted student price. Being in New York you have access to almost anything you'd like to do. There's always a lot of great restaurants to try out, if you're 21 the bars in the East Village are an NYC college students favorite places to go, there's always somewhere you can go to listen to live music, and all the museums which are always great to go to. Also being a New School student you get free access to the MoMa and the movies they show at the museum on Friday nights.

    Food and Dining

    The food at all of the cafeteria locations I think is good especially for it being college campus dining food. They always have a variety of options for the students to choose from, especially for students who are vegan or vegetarian.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at The New School is okay, but I feel you pay too much for what you're actually getting. The RA's and RHD are usually always really nice, friendly, and helpful if you need anything. They also do plan a lot of activities for its residents to create a sense of community in the dorm building. I think the biggest plus though about living in the dorms is you get to meet people from all of the other schools apart of The New School and not just Parsons students.

    Academic Rigor

    Parsons has a very heavy course load from the moment you start as a freshmen. I personally have been basically taking the maximum credit limit you can take in a semester every year since I began attending Parsons, and I know the same goes for many of my peers.

    Tips for prospective students

    -This is a great school for those who don't want a typical college experience since it's located right in downtown Manhattan, but if you're looking for a university that's big on campus life and such The New School lacks in this. -If you're very serious about wanting to go into the creative industries this school is one of the best to go to because of all the opportunities and connections you can make by being at this school and in New York in general. -If money is a big factor for choosing a school don't necessarily rule out Parsons but weigh your options seriously because this school isn't the greatest about giving its students good financial aid which causes a lot of stress.

    In three sentences

    Parsons: The New School for Design being apart of The New School University institution is all about being innovative and thinking outside of the box. Parsons and The New School in general is where all types from all backgrounds comes together in this interesting little melting pot where you can learn from great classmates as well as your professors. This is a school that will work you extremely hard but the benefits you reap from it are well worth it.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Homework....homework annnnnd anything local. There tends to be cool things going on at Union Square and towards the holiday season, traveling uptown towards Bryant Park is fun.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan is somewhat ridiculous-most people had over $200 left unspent. I was not on that either-the food in the cafeteria wasn't worth it. You're located by Union Square-there's better things to dine on within the area.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't dorm so I only can share what I witnessed and was told. There are a lot of free perks that come with it including a gym, fitness classes, group events and parties in the rec. hall, and so on-but there tends to be conflict of hygiene. Try not to take the staircase alone in the Stuy Residence though you might have to because their elevator always breaks down.

    Academic Rigor

    If you aren't a student that can settle for less, blood, sweat and tears are what it's going to take to soar above the rest. The professors here really push your skills to pro. standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you truly believe art is your career choice, be prepared to work as hard as any other liberal major. Projects due within 2 weeks, equipment and supplies to be bought every other day to accommodate a professors preferences, and those dreaded moments when you have to scrap an idea at the last minute. Art is no cakewalk!

    In three sentences

    Truly the New York experience and I'm from New York! The best place for aspiring artists. Will make or break you within the first year.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security and cameras help students feel safe.

    Greek Life

    No greek life here. This isn't a traditional college.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs here are amazing. They focus on helping the community and making the school better and better. The students are passionate and want to be in the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who have an idea of what they want to do in the future. This school isn't for the faint of heart. Art students will love the focus of art rather than math or science.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is quite pricey here but with all it gives you, I say it's worth it. You're prepared for more than one career so you have well-rounded skills. This is perfect for our ever changing world. The school sometimes has it's disorganization but overall, it's a fantastic school.

    What to do for fun

    Fun is all around you here. Just walking distance from Union Square Park, there is always something to do. You could go shopping or go biking. Coffee houses are all around if you and some friends want to just sit and hang out. There are also tons of clubs and recreation centers within the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is specially prepared by a chef who keeps a student's health in mind. The first day I arrived to the school check-in, he introduced himself to me and promised that all the food here was fresh, organic, and nutritious.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful here! Living in NYC, you don't expect to have anything big but the dorms here, especially in Kerrey Hall, are spacious and fancy.

    Academic Rigor

    This school was definitely meant to challenge you. It does get hard at times but if you keep up it'll be okay.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work! The minimum requirement here is 18 hours for the first year so make sure you keep school as a top priority. It may be in NYC, but you can't get too sucked into the fun.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great for an art student who wants a different approach on teaching. Keeping their promise on being progressive, the faculty always keeps the students alert and engaged instead of long, boring lectures.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is good, there're are security guards in every building. They even have systems in which you have to show your ID to get in the building.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities you just have to find them.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to pursue an art career even if you don't know art, this is a good college. It helps you push beyond what you can do. They make you think why you are doing art and teach you things to make you think what you could do for your community.

    What to do for fun

    You could do volunteer work, play in some sport. You can even sign up to go rock climbing,etc. or even go to baseball games when they offer tickets.

    Food and Dining

    They do have food for both the people living in dorms and for those who doesn't. The school even gives you coupons for outside stores for food. In some food stores you could get discounts for just showing your school ID.

    Academic Rigor

    They have high hopes for you. The professors help you whenever you need help, you can even send them an email and ask them questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need more help in financial aid sign up to the HEOP program.even though its hard work they do help you a lot. Always start looking for colleges in an early start. Visit your colleges if you can and ask questions about the school and how it could help you.

  • 11/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Times Square location is pretty safe

    Greek Life

    Does not exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Great for wealthy students to attend as tuition is $42,000 per year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    I attended Parsons thinking this would be a great opportunity yet it was a waste of money.

    What to do for fun

    Majority of the fun is spent after graduaton

    Food and Dining

    No much food and dining options on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am not living on the dorm. They were far over priced.

    Academic Rigor

    Parsons fashion design AAS program is very fast paced with little support form facility members.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for other schools. Do not attend Parsons simply for the name and be prepared to work really hard with minimum facility support.

    In three sentences

    The School is great if you have the financial stability. Its not too diverse. Parsons is very overrated.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    creative

    What to do for fun

    Hang out around the city

    Tips for prospective students

    Be creative!

    In three sentences

    Because of the school's connections, it's easy to find a job after graduation. The opportunities are higher compared to other colleges. Education is based on creativity in Parsons.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards at Parsons are your homies.

    Greek Life

    There is NONE.

    Great for these types of students

    People who think outside the box and are not scared to challenge themselves A LOT.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student resource center on the 4th floor of 2 west 13th street is where most students go to do homework and work on projects. It's a room full of art and computers and a microwave.

    What to do for fun

    You live in New York City. The whole city is fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Arnhold Hall (our main dining area) is really good. There is a yoghurt and salad bar, sandwiches, soups and hot food! They also have vegeterian and vegan options for those who don't eat meat!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work on diversifying your skills. Step out of your comfort zone; try things that you have never done before and add them to your portfolio. Parsons really wants open-minded and creative thinkers who can look at a problem and bring up more than one solution.

    In three sentences

    Parsons has a wide range of students from different backgrounds and different talents. The teachers are skilled at what they do and honestly want to see you learn. I would not want to go to any other college.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are posted at every building. You are so safe. These guys are great and care about your safety more than anything. Cameras are in very elevator and you must be a student or staff in order to get into any building.

    Greek Life

    no greek life, thank God. Art school isn't for frats who drink beer and sorority girls who wear gym shorts and too much make up.

    Clubs and Activities

    cool clubs like LGBQTA, Gaming Club, Asian Club..etc. There is basically a club for anything here, if there isn't, you can make it.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for... *the weird art kid in high school You don't feel so weird here because everyone here is a little intense. *someone who reaches high for their dreams If you aren't goal oriented or self-motivating, you'll struggle. *the 'mean girl' You'll find out that most Fashion students are just as judgmental as you are.

    Bang for the buck

    For a stealthy $60,000 a year, I'd say sure. The school is a little disorganized and you're mostly playing around but I'd much rather go here and get all the privileges I can than go to a university. Universities are so boring and old school. If you wanna be hip, go here.

    What to do for fun

    Since the campus isn't really a campus but more a series of buildings in Manhattan, you don't have many events or clubs to go to but what they do have is pretty cool. The city of New York is really your playground. You have the opportunity to see so many things and visit so many awesome places. It doesn't even matter that the school doesn't provide much 'fun'.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is FANTASTIC. Food is prepared daily by crazy awesome chefs and let me tell you, this isn't some normal cafeteria food. You have rotisserie chicken, flat bread pizzas, fresh hand tossed salads, a sushi bar, basically anything. My favorite thing to eat is the wild salmon salad with goat cheese, cranberries, and walnuts, omg so good. All the food is local and organic so you're eating good all the time. It can be on the pricy side but you're eating better than most people in the city so it's worth it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at The New School is wonderful. The school is full of crazy art kids and the dorms are like a building full of fun every day. The Kerry Hall at The University Center is the best of all the dorm buildings. Each floor is a different color and it is conveniently placed across from most of the academic buildings. The dorms are suite-style so you're basically living in a schmoozy apartment in the middle of Manhattan. They're decked out. All the RA's are so sweet and the security is fun too. MAKE FRIENDS WITH THE STAFF. You have to dorm the first few years going here, it will change your life.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, the courses are innovative, idea-forming, and intensive. The way each assignment is created makes you think way harder than you'd expect. You have to really dig for the creative cells in your brain which is great. Especially in your seminar classes. (the writing part of art school.) It can be extremely difficult at times and you will lose a ton of sleep but you feel so good about the end result afterwards. Like I said, this school's workload is crazy intense but so is the design business. It really helps you understand what kind of career you'll be working towards. Definitely a 'real world' experience with this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    When considering this school, DON'T apply because 'art school is easy'. IT'S NOT. The homework will kick your butt, hard, but it's worth it if you're determined. Parsons is not for the weak. You must have a positive outlook towards the work because in the end, this is what you want. If you want an easy degree, go to a community college. The professors here are your friends, Mimi Kim especially. Most of the professors at Parsons are quite young. Don't worry about an old fart teaching you some ancient textbook crap, Parsons tries to stay trendy with their courses since art is always reinventing itself.

    In three sentences

    Parsons is perfect for aspiring artists/designers who want to understand design innovatively. Known for their always changing curriculum, Parsons is really helpful for students who need a fresh idea and want to be ahead of the curve. Although Parsons is widely known, it is also quite disorganized at times, which can be annoying but it is bearable!

  • 03/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every building has a guard on duty at all times. Dorms are protected by guards and key cards.

    Greek Life

    Does not exist. Someone tried to create a sorority and I don't think it survived past its first week.

    Bang for the buck

    If you dorm, you will be paying around $65-70,000 a year. That being said, Parsons has incredibly facilities open to their students like 3D printers, photography labs, many computer labs, film equipment rentals, and all freshmen get the entire Adobe Creative Cloud for free (valued around $2000). As long as you take advantage of everything the school and city has to offer, $70k is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    You're in NYC. You should never be bored. Go to parks, museums, concerts, galleries, or simply walk down the street. Something is always happening.

    Food and Dining

    They just opened the new University Center will extremely well cooked meals. The school also caters to many different cultures that exist within the school and almost always has vegan and vegetarian food options available.

    Dorm Life

    Parsons is not your typical college. Because we live in NYC, hanging out in the dorm all day is something that rarely happens. Be expected to use your dorm mainly for sleeping and working. Socializing will be done everywhere else.

    Academic Rigor

    One of my teachers said that Parsons is expected to give 6 hours of homework per 3 hour course and 3 hours of work per each 6 hour course. Just be ready to put your time management skills to the test.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work really hard. Parsons purposely makes the workload overwhelming to weed out students. Also, don't be afraid to try every medium possible and experiment with different styles. You may walk into Parsons with a major in mind but end up switching it completely by the time you declare your major during freshmen year.

    In three sentences

    Parsons is a school that is very aware of its reputation and pushes their students to reflect and support that reputation. The coursework can be incredibly overwhelming but at the end of the day, it is an extremely rewarding experience. The school is located in one of the most fun parts of Manhattan (Greenwich Village) so it is very easy to be inspired on a day-to-day basis.

  • 06/11/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although there is not real campus, The New School is located in Greenwich village which is moderately safe. Don't leave your stuff lying around because that is asking for people to steal it but at the same time, if you are walking back to your dorms late at night after staying in the classroom to finish a project or just finished partying, so long as you are with another person, you will be pretty safe. My tip to you is although you are in a nice area, you still need to be cautious of your surroundings.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not too much advertisement for clubs. There is a GSA.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are artistic, creative, weird, love fashion amongst every other discipline of art and design, you belong here. Even if you struggle finding a group or place at the school (which you won't because there are so many different kinds of people here) then you can go out and explore the city until you find your place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    It's New York, so everything is way over priced including the school expenses.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Manhattan. Party with NYU. Visit art galleries and museums. Walk around the city. Visit Brooklyn.

    Food and Dining

    Anywhere with a sushi bar and starbucks in the cafeteria has my vote.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm communities are scarce unless you join a specific community floor. The 13th St. dorms are terrible and out of date but the Stuyvesant are a lot better. Also, they are very accommodating to different gender options for upper classmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Once on campus you will not have time to do anything other than school because the work load is extremely intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for the Parson's challenge scholarship, otherwise they do not give you much scholarship money. Remember to attend portfolio days so that you can get feedback on yout potfolio and submit only your best work. Try your best to visit the campus in New York city because it speaks for itself and you can get a feel for how life will be like once you get there; hectic.

    In three sentences

    Parsons is the ultimate school to attend if you are looking for an art and design school in the heart of New York city. The school not only has beautiful and up to date facilities but also has staff that works in the field that they teach. Although the school focuses mainly on fashion, their other programs are world renowned and obtaining a degree from Parsons is not only well respected but looked for when applying for arts and design jobs.

  • 08/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Definitely try checking out the neighborhood, watch movies, eat in new places, and sometimes check out other neighborhoods as well. Get everything you can out of nyc

    Food and Dining

    The school tries to introduce new menus every now and then, some fail, some are alright. The food are reasonably priced and are of pretty good variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are quite alright, its equipped with necessary facilities and are around the campus area. There are plenty of food places to explore and art supply stores are also very near.

    Academic Rigor

    The absence policy in the new school is strict, but do vary for different teachers. It states 3 times absences to a class would lead to a failure, however I do know some of my friends who have been tardy for more than 3 times and still pass the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some of the first year courses are very unrelated to what you came to study for, but take this experience to do something new, treat it as a skill that might be handy in the future

    In three sentences

    Leader in Diversity, and uses very forward thinking method. Parsons have strived to be a leader in coming up with brand new ideas to approach learning. As one of the known design schools, I believe Parsons have maintained its reputation through its constant improvements on both facilites and educational standards.