Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Passaic County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i realy dont like the people who work here in offices, they can be rude make you wait an hour for a one minute question. No wonder the graduation rate is only 6%.

  • 05/14/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    Going back to this school I will learn alot and start my new major.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go on computers or leave.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't tried it.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    If your going to go to one campus make sure the classes you need are there.

    In three sentences

    PCCC is very small. There are many different campus's. I only go to one.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is always on alert mode, there always walk around the campus like library, hallway, outside and in parking garage.

    Greek Life

    Non at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    Arab Club Asian Club Baseball Club Business Club Caribbean Club Catholic Campus Ministry Cheerleading Club Christian Club EOF Club Gay and Straight Alliance International Discovery Club Latin American Club Math Club Muslim Student Association Nursing Student Organization Organization of African Ancestry Performing Arts Club Phi Theta Kappa Psychology Club Radiography Club Silk City Journal Teachers Clubs Visions Student Newspaper Wanaque Student Advisory Board

    Great for these types of students

    Martial art club

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    PCCC now has a main Paterson campus at One College Boulevard,Paterson,NJ, that encompasses 7 buildings and a new parking deck. And two more one in Wanaque 500 Union Avenue Wanaque, NJ, other in Passaic, 2 Paulison Avenue Passaic, NJ

    Bang for the buck

    school cafe lunch menu there is always a lunch called lunch special and it cost $1.99 in which 5x6 box of fries and 3-pieces of buffalo wings or nuggets or 1- cheeses burger.

    What to do for fun

    There is game room in the campus in which it has 2 pool table , Table Tennis, air hockey, couches, 4 - 42 LCD TVs and no game consoles not include an less one brings to share it and of course ask permission from campus security that on is going to be using it.

    Food and Dining

    Wendy's and subway are across the street, white castle is up one block from campus going north, Dunkin Donut beside the campus

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in PCCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    When Registering for next semester class don't do it the last day to do it, because some/most student Registrar early to pick the early morning class or there might be one class of that course that semester.

    In three sentences

    PCCC is small campus, there are some great professors. and applying for FAFSA is easy online, but being documents to financial aid office it hours on the line so do it early because it take 3 weeks to get financial aid.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it is very economical

    What to do for fun

    you can join different clubs

    Food and Dining

    culinary students do a good job but could be more professional

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life whatsoever

    Academic Rigor

    Its competitive in the science department, but other classes are a bit low average academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students with a GPA of 3.5 and above, i recommend you join the Phi Theta Kappa, not only will you learn a lot but there are a lot of benefits that can come from being a member

    In three sentences

    This school is seen as a low class school, but upon attending i realized the school has a lot to offer and the faculty tries to help students as much as they can. Although i enjoyed my experience, the school organization overall could have improved, and the help outside of the classroom could be much better.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join activities, Game room and theres also a gym.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour around the campus and gather as much information about your major. Ask questions and learn where your classes are.

    In three sentences

    Passaic County Community College is a diverse school with all different types of students who are willing to learn and express themselves in many ways. Campus is expanding and the classes are small and spacious.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun, one can join the volleyball or basketball team, of course. But, if committing to something long-term for fun isn't what you're looking for, there is also a game room behind the gym that has a pool table and some arcade games, if I'm not mistaken. In terms of entertainment nearby the college, there is a mall only 4 blocks away from the college that has restaurants, a movie theater, an arcade and even an art gallery.

    Food and Dining

    Truthfully, the cafeteria at PCCC is average. However, the surrounding restaurants in Paterson are exquisite and easily underestimated by most. There are many excellent Arabic and Lebanese restaurants in PCCC, as well as a really quaint and calming cafe right behind one of the college buildings.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at PCCC, and as far as I know, no programs that incorporate students to live in nearby apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the courses at PCCC are more difficult than others; as usual, it really depends on the professor. In my experience, however, the difficulty has been fair, but not terribly challenging. There have been times where I have worried over certain tests since some classes had very few tests within the entire course, but in terms of subject matter, nothing has been too challenging as of yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most useful tip that I can give to any prospective student, besides studying hard and not underestimating a class, is to not judge a book by its cover! It's easy to enter a community college and quickly undermine its quality solely because people shun the idea of going to a community college. But not only is it a smart move in terms of financial aid for the future, but also in terms of social and learning experience.

    In three sentences

    The college presents a diverse community in terms of interests and nationalities, making it a very open and not at all intimidating place. In terms of professors, most are fair in terms of grading and strive to help students prosper (such as willing to take the time to help one with a recommendation.) The college doesn't offer as many extracurriculars as it can, but the ones that are available are fun and immersive.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For anyone.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't tried but I've heard that is decent.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are okay. They're not hard but not easy. Feels like a highschool class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid done quickly, the advisors are basically helpless so you're on your own. They always tell you to come back another day.

    In three sentences

    Feels like Highschool only that you get to go home every hour or so.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great caf ! 4

    Tips for prospective students

    Hard work and dedication is key

    In three sentences

    PCCC is a very good community college. It is helping get ready for a four year university. I am glad I chose PCCC as my two year school!

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Despite being a dangerous city the campus is extremely safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Large variety of clubs and activities such as sports like soccer,basketball, dancing etc..

    Great for these types of students

    for everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus is located in the downtown area so there is plenty to do

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are fairly inexpensive compared to universities

    Food and Dining

    There are fast food places and restaurants very close to campus within walking distance

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent education

    In three sentences

    A good school to do your basic courses without having to pay thousands of dollars to other universities when you can get the same classes here but at a much lower price

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a safe campus.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs to join. I personally am a member of The Student Programming Committee. It's a great club to be in.

    Great for these types of students

    Older students who want a degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely affordable.

    What to do for fun

    You meet great people.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard but you have to be determined. Seek extra help if you need it, it's available for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't declare a major on your first semester. Know what you are interested in. See if that intended major is a perfect fit. Talk to academic advisors to see what classes are involved.

    In three sentences

    The school is affordable. They have great professors and offer plenty of student services.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security which do nothing all day besides sit down and eat.

    Clubs and Activities

    Besides bake sales and maybe couple hiking trips there is absolutely nothing else.

    Great for these types of students

    For the ones who want to spend 3 years earning their bachelor degree.

    Bang for the buck

    School is only good if you want to spend your money and time there. Like I said they will try to keep you there as long as possible and the counselors are horrible. They tell you to take classes you don't need.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really to do there. The gym which is suppose to be for students is mostly used by high schoolers which the schools has agreement with them. Or by basketball students.

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria really nothing just fries or pizza. Those sort of things. There is a wendys and subway across the street.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorming at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Its alright not really too bad. The professor try to help however they can and its up to the student after that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go there. Go to another college or university pay more money but finish on time. They want to keep students there for as long as possible. I have 80 credit currently and graduating this semester but I should've been done from there couple months prior.

    In three sentences

    Some great professors who care about their students. Some bad professor who don't care about their students. They try to keep the students there as long as possible so they can squeeze money out of them.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs and activities available

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    have not seen any unusual traditions

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely cheap compared to other schhols

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs, school trips, and events like every other school just depends on your interests.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good and also at economical prices.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life at community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your own work and keep professors in check if you have to.. your grades are the most important thing.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1-10 I would give my school a 5. I would do so because of the location of the main campus, it is not the best location in the world and security isn't either. Also, because I have had more than one professor who aren't the most responsible.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They just walk around the campus bored and unhappy with their job.

    Greek Life

    None existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone can come hear as long you transfer or graduate on time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Paterson is very ratchet especially at night.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a moderate price. $1,000 per semester.

    What to do for fun

    The game room, workout in the Panther gym and you can play basketball in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    Bad and cheap.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms in community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework is not hard. As long as you apply yourself to study and try study groups it works well too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your placement test serious!!! do well in all your classes and transfer A.S.A.P!!!

    In three sentences

    I'd rate the college a 3.5/10 not that great.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take a deep breath and just go forward.

    In three sentences

    The classes are usually big and the professors give out work like we should already know the material. In some courses that is. Most teachers don't teach with calmness and just rush through. No extra computers in library and the staff in the offices aren't very knowledgeable and nice.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards all around the halls keeping an eye on things.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a library, writing center, and math labs.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who want a relaxed and safe community college setting. Also, for students who want a small college with small classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The doors only open with a student or faculty ID. The campus is surrounded by trees and nature.

    Bang for the buck

    The Wanaque campus for PCCC is really great. I'm glad it was an option to go to. I really dreaded the idea of attending PCCC when only the Paterson campus was an option but Wanaque is completely different. I love it there. I feel safe and comfortable. Also there is some construction going on, on campus, that suggest that they are making it bigger and better.

    What to do for fun

    There's a two floor library in the college and there are also clubs and writing labs.

    Food and Dining

    There's places around the campus where you can grab a bite to eat or just have some coffee. I've seen vending machines on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorming available in PCCC.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher that I currently have is really great. He makes sure everyone understands everything being discussed in class and helps you out if you are struggling. The class I have is great. Everyone there is pretty nice and great to be around, both students and staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about getting lost. There is plenty of parking and there are lots of food places around the area.

    In three sentences

    I'm attending the PCCC Wanaque campus. The staff is very helpful and nice. The campus is small, neat, and in a safe place.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who have no job and their parents can dish out the 800 a semester for them to become reclusive in terms of medical records.

    Bang for the buck

    If you get a D you have to repeat the course. -_- waste of money

    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Food and Dining

    took online courses

    Dorm Life

    took online courses

    Academic Rigor

    It is harder than it needs to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into a different career.

    In three sentences

    I cannot vouch for the other programs offered at this institution but I can vouch for the Health Information Technology Program. I would rate this program a 0 or less if possible. The program itself is supposed to be completed within 2 years if students are up to par on college level courses including English and Mathematics. However, I am still not done with the program and it is my 4th year into this college. I should have a BA because of the credits and patience you have to put into the program. I also feel its a waste of time and money because the information being taught only helps if you find a hospital or snf that is old school and years behind in technology. As for when classes are offered, forget about taking 3-4 courses a semester, you can only take up to 2 if you are lucky. Sometimes 1 course a semester. this would be an ordeal program if you are a student who is not working part-time or full-time, because the information is just extensive and literally the graduation rate is below 3% from this program. If you wanted something healthcare related, either volunteer at a hospital and wait for a position to open, or just invest your time into the nursing program. One or the other. Oh and forget it when you get to medical coding, just pray you make it to a C. There is only 1 professor and she is also the program director. So don't get her in a piffy.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You need an ID to get into any of the buildings and there are security guards everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs, but I haven't joined any yet.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for adults wanting to continue their education as well as newly graduated high school students. It's a great college for anyone at an affordable price.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth more than I pay for it. The college is great and there are a lot of majors to choose from. I believe they also have an agreement to make transferring from there to William Paterson easy.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy going to the library personally. There is a small mall within driving distance. There are a lot of computers you can place on in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    Next door to the Passaic campus there is a burger King. Across the street from the Patterson campus there is a Wendy's and a subway. And not far there are two pizza places one sells each slice for a dollar, the other one sells each slice for $1.99. Both are fantastic. There is a taco bell and one of the chain pizzaria, I forgot which, nearby as well.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms. It isn't a live in campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are very unforgiving, but most are kind and allow you to get used to the transition from high school to college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check which campus you register your class in and pick you classes as early as possible, so you can have first pick on all the classes.

    In three sentences

    It is a great price. The teachers are fantastic. It is a fantastic place to do your first two years, especially the general education courses, cheaply, so you can focus on the courses for your major once you move to a four year college.