Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Patrick Henry Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is fairly a safe on. Just drive slow and make sure you dont hit anyone walking to class or mowing the lawn. This last symester a 70 yr old man mowing the campus lawn was hit and killed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activies there, but none peaked my interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the working student with a family at home.

    Food and Dining

    I never really ate much from the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life at this college

    Academic Rigor

    Study, Study, Study.

    Tips for prospective students

    The advisers messed me up on my classes and I had to take another year to finish my degree. If you plan to transfer, check with the college your looking to transfer to to make sure your credits will transfer. Also, double check the classes your taking against what you need to graduate!

    In three sentences

    They gave me the skills needed to continue my education. Some of the teachers were very inspirational. The advisers messed me up on my classes and I had to take another year to finish my degree.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students, great for prerequisites!

    Bang for the buck

    $117 per credit? - not so shabby!

    What to do for fun

    Sports, clubs, just hang out!

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall has snack machines, drink machines, and plenty of room to lounge before your next class!

    Dorm Life

    Must live off campus, PHCC does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Treats each student as if they're college bound!

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to admissions, there always there to help!

    In three sentences

    Patrick Henry Community College is great for certifications, degrees, or transfer students. The faculty and staff are very helpful and treat each student like an individual, not a number. Choose PH Patriots!

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security truck observing what goes on the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Things to do for fun in Patrick Henry Community College is join academic clubs and there is a ping-pong table in the dining area.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for the prospective students is to always try to be in class at least 10 minutes before class begins because teachers are very punctual and to be able to find a good parking space.

    In three sentences

    PHCC has great faculty staff who are always gladly to answer any questions.The campus is very organized and neat. Patrick Henry Community College is a nice college to go to.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a few activities done throughout the year

    Food and Dining

    Great food and dining options

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Not a tough school at all

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay organized

    In three sentences

    I think PHCC is a great college for people that need to advance their lives and can't travel to school. Not every college student is straight out of high school and can afford to go to a university. PHCC accommodates to different dynamics.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I have most certainly received the most bang for my buck. The fees and tuition are reasonable. I don't purchase books through the college, though.

    Food and Dining

    Unknown- distance learning student

    Dorm Life

    Unknown- distance learning student. This college does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are sometimes challenging, but not too stressful.

    In three sentences

    PHCC has a wide array of distance learning classes, which fit very well into busy schedules. I haven't had to set foot on campus, and this has helped tremendously as I also work full time.

  • 07/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who live in and around Henry County, VA, who live at home, and need to work full time while going to school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I take night classes, but they are still enjoyable.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Although these activities are not located on campus, bowling and eating out are truly the only things available in Martinsville.

    Food and Dining

    This past year, there was a new cafeteria built which offers some options. For those that are health-conscious, myself included, salad is always available. In addition, there are other restaurants to survey.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is non-existent because housing options are not offered here. :) (Since the rating is required, I just selected one star).

    Academic Rigor

    Obviously, depending on the courses taken and with which professors will determine the amount of work involved as well as the level of difficulty. Overall, I think that the work was somewhat challenging and moderately thought-provoking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive on time, be prepared for class, complete all assignments by deadlines, actively participate in class, and above all use your time wisely. Time management in college is one of the most important aspects of success in college in my opinion.

    In three sentences

    I thoroughly enjoyed attending Patrick Henry Community College. It ultimately served as a stepping stone to transferring; the process was more gradual. I have learned that college is not just based on academics, but it is also a spiritual, social, and emotional journey, allowing one to grow.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Things that are fun at PHCC:go to the gym, join clubs or athletics.

    Food and Dining

    PHCC cafe is alright

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you come to class everyday, do the work assigned, and read the textbook you'll pass.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are well informed and they truly care about the students education. Furthermore, the flexibility of my schedule fits around my work hours. In conclusion It is a great foundation for my continuing education.

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security are always around and very friendly to the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cannot stress enough how much there is to do at PH and a long range of clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, casual learners, specialty courses, and people who love smaller class sizes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is the beginning of my second year so I am still finding out all the traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    Patrick Henry is an amazing school with a wonderful staff and great atmosphere around the whole place. Students can't help but feel at home when you finally make it back for classes the next day.

    What to do for fun

    A well equipped slim-gym, weight room, huge basket ball court, volley ball area, tennis courts, soccer field, a dining area we all play cards and ping pong. Plays, dances, clubs, PH is a fun and great place to hang out all day long, with or without classes to attend that day.

    Food and Dining

    Has an awesome student run cafeteria with great food and fast service!

    Dorm Life

    Unsure, I live off campus. I have heard no complaints though.

    Academic Rigor

    Every teacher has been great in teaching, assisting, and making every course enjoyable to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Feel free to ask anyone for help, every person I have came across has always been happy to help.

    In three sentences

    I have attended Patrick Henry for a year now and it has been the best experience of attending a school. The teachers are amazing and they all have been very knowledgeable in their fields. The College itself is clean and has a great atmosphere.