Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Paul Quinn College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always on guard, best officers in the nation

    Greek Life

    terrible, full of hate and discrimination

    Clubs and Activities

    basketball, chess, soccer, drill team.

    Great for these types of students

    black, white, cuban, jamaican, brazilian

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    no second dorm room

    Bang for the buck

    if there was a buck the school would need it

    What to do for fun

    nothing but make arts and crafts

    Food and Dining

    never ate on campus

    Dorm Life

    terrible, nasty, stinks, could be better

    Academic Rigor

    is ok, on a scale of 1-10 i say 5.8

    Tips for prospective students

    dont drop the soap, never leave your door unlocked, and work out

    In three sentences

    paul quinn is great for meeting good teachers and meeting women

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Their is a specific Fraternity that is always doing things for the students. One night they threw a barbecue for the school and while we were their they sat and talked to us and gave us advise on how to make it through school with not good put great grades. After they performed they told all of the freshmen we may be a small school but we're family.

    What to do for fun

    Paul Quinn is always having an activity for the student. We have movie night, pizza night, or we just hang out with one another.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great here at Paul Quinn with a variety of choices. The have introduced a healthier menu with food grown from their own farm. Yesterday i went to dinner and one of the choices was pasta, I stood in line and realized that they were cooking the pasta fresh right in front of us. They even allowed us to customize it.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms at Paul Quinn are great. The same day i moved in the R.A.'s and i spent the whole day together, introducing me to almost everyone in the dorms. Even though we have lots of fun the students respect your privacy and your sleep.

    Academic Rigor

    The reason i say that its not very rigorous is because the teacher take out time to help you and they wont to see you do well.

    In three sentences

    Paul Quinn College is acutually a very good college, everyone looks out for one another. the first day of registration I made a mistake concerning my dorms, and the president of Paul Quinn took care of it within the hour. Considering how nice not only the President was put everyone I've met so far i would give Paul Quinn two thumbs up.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus security is one of the best. Our security team is on campus 24/7.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have created a farm on campus. In order to do this we tore down our football field and replaced it with a farm. we have strawberry,potatoes,greens,blueberies,cantelupe,onions,and many mopre types of produce as well as chickens. Whats interesting about our farm also is that we are a 100% organic.

    Bang for the buck

    Our school President makes it a point to get to know each and every student. He is always around to help you in what ever your issue is .

    What to do for fun

    Their are a lot of activities and organizations on campus. We have a student lounge area where you can play pool, WII,PlayStation, and other games.

    Food and Dining

    In our cafeteria the menu is pretty set. But If you have any special request like smoothies or ice-cream bar all you have to do is ask and they will try to make it happen as soon as possible. The menu is relatively healthy we no longer have tons of fried foods except on fish fry Fridays.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it. There is never a dull moment because you'll always have an event or function to go to. Everyone is friendly and easy going. One thing that I really enjoy is every other weekend or so we always have a family get together/potluck.

    Academic Rigor

    Paul Quinn is an excellent school because you have to be great both academically and also be focused on not just helping yourself but your community as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make it a point to get to know your professors and students. If you need anything at all don't be afraid to ask because here at Paul Quinn college our famous saying is closed mouths don't get fed. If you follow that motto you will get the chance of a lifetime to be your very best.

    In three sentences

    Love my school it is family oriented.Here at Paul Quinn College you won't be treated like a number like many other institutions. Everyone here wants you to succeed and be do and be your absolute best.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It has a great family environment.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    need more people

    Clubs and Activities

    is pretty fair

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    to expensive

    What to do for fun

    read

    Food and Dining

    need more choices

    Academic Rigor

    excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    stay in

    In three sentences

    paul quinn is a decent school. paul quinn is very clean paul quinn is very quiet

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Very cool at some points but very mutal

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Quinnite Leadership, Outdoors, and Greek life

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, Greek parties and organzations, and sports.

    In three sentences

    I believe Paul Quinn College is not for everyone. Some have to be motivated to be here. It takes much courage and responsibility for a student to attend here.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is a gated community and limits who they let in the gate unless they are first approved by someone who knows the potential visitors personally. The campus is secured with security guards and cameras all around the institution inside and outside of buildings.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is alive and in full effect at Paul Quinn College. The most active Greek organizations that are involved in something on and off campus on a consistent basis from Paul Quinn's Chapter are the Alphas, A.K.A's, Omega's, Delta's, Sygma's, and the Kappa's.

    Clubs and Activities

    Every week at least three times out of the five days on campus Paul Quinn has an event taking place involving every student that is interested in participating.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for the type of students that do not like large crowds, like to have fun, sociable, interested in greek life, ambitious, self-motivated, and innovative. Paul Quinn helps to build leaders and positive mided individuals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has a spot on the first floor of the S.U.B Annex called the Tiger's Den where I always hang out, shoot pool, associate with other students and watch videos, movies, or just t.v. Every wednesday we have baked and fried chicken in the cafe and every friday they serve baked and fried fish. We also have chapel on friday from 10a until 11a and it is mandatory unless you have to work or something along those lines.

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone has their own opinion about this subject. I honestly believe that the school does the best of their abilities to make the institution as pleasurable and satisfying as possible for their staff, employers, employees, and students.

    What to do for fun

    Paul Quinn College has events on campus often either with Greek organizations throwing parties, formal events, dinner and clean slow music, dances, fashion shows, talent shows, guest speakers or entertainers that are internationally known, off campus bowling, intramurals, sports, shooting pool, big screen televisions for your pleasure, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The college has its days where the food is ok, but for the most part the food that is served is healthy, delicious, and is absolutely a pork-free campus. They have a wide variety of food to choose from, they have a main line with the full course meals that alternate from day to day, a hamburger and fries line, a deli, a salad bar, fruit bar, and a grill bar.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not stay on campus so I am only rating from what I hear a majority of the students say when I ask them what it is like to stay in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have attended large universities so compared to University of Texas at Arlington and Southern Methodist University, Paul Quinn's academics are not as rigorous but they definitely challenge you and try to help you go that extra mile in order to be a fierce competitor and ready for the real world before you graduate from the institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students interested in attending Paul Quinn College dress business casual. We do enforce a dress code that is blue and white collar ready for corporate America. If you would like to build a close relationship with your professors and have people that will encourage you and give you that additional push Paul Quinn College is the institution for you.

    In three sentences

    Paul Quinn College is a great institution for individuals who are self driven and enjoy being educated in a small community. The college offers multiple opportunities for students to succeed in their career field by giving students free tickets to seminars catered to their interest and majors. Paul Quinn College is currently under construction and is remodeling the inner and outer appearance of the college.

  • 03/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Paul Quinn College is a gated community. The safety of students and staff is at a high priority.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at Paul Quinn is very dominant.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus such as Praise Ministry,

    Great for these types of students

    Students who have ambition and seek challenge. Also, willing to develop a better campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Summer and new semester, a Heritage Bell Ceremony is performed. New students join together with graduating or attending students and pray at a bell for a prosperious year.

    Bang for the buck

    Paul Quinn offers many opportunites to help build students foundation for the future. Ever

    What to do for fun

    Paul Quinn College offers many envents. Basketball games, workshops, parties and group outings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to research any institution before enrolling.

    In three sentences

    Paul Quinn College is a close-knit college. The professors care about you and are available whenever you need assistance. However, at times as a student, I feel like a product rather than a student.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for opportunity

    In three sentences

    Paul Quinn College is a place of opportunity. Paul Quinn College challenges you to strive for more in life. Paul Quinn College serves a beacon of hope for all who desire to pursue an education.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are a gated community with cameras. I think you'll be fine :)

    Greek Life

    You can tell as soon as you arrive that Greek life is present. They have like 16 different trees dedicated to certain sororities and frats.

    Great for these types of students

    Well its a HBCU. So yeaa. Its also great for people who like a small environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a low reasonable price.

    Food and Dining

    They used the football field and made it into a farm. They said they use the freshest ingredients.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live on campus the dorms they had our college prep program check out, looked filthy but that's just my opinion.

    Academic Rigor

    They offer great opportunities for Their students but since it is such a small school there isn't a wide range of majors to choose from. You must dress casual at all times except Fridays and attend service. That part was the only thing i didn't like about their academic outline when i visited.

    In three sentences

    I honestly did not like my visit to Paul-Quinn. I love that the pricing is low, but the school itself was a turn off: The campus needs to be fixed up ALOT especially the dorms rooms, our entire group was disappointed from our visit. But one thing i will say is that everyone who we met that day said they loved it, and that the couldn't gave chosen a better school

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its very safe at the campus 24 hour security nothing ever happen to any one on campus very safe place to be.

    Greek Life

    Many sorority's and fraternity's at the school that you can join there is a lot of options to choose from or they may show interest in you first.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have yet to join one but this year I do plan to and almost every weekend their is an event planed at my school so no worries entertainment.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a good school for people who do not like a huge campus and is cool with the fact of being in a family oriented school it would be perfect for you. The problems you would have with big schools you would not have here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of traditions I will only say one though cause the rest your gonna just have to come and find out there is a bell ceremony that makes you a quinnite.

    Bang for the buck

    If you do what your suppose to do and graduate you will be connected with so many jobs after leaving the school. Paul Quinn is only 22,175 a year which is pretty good considering how much others are.

    What to do for fun

    If you don't know we are a HBC and we may be small but we do know how to have good time also we are close to universities that have party kick backs stuff of that sort. We are also right in Dallas where there is much to do there. Lots of food places out here as well one of my personal favorites Rudy's chicken a must have.

    Food and Dining

    Food is mostly good all the time also they have alot of different choices so you will find what you like no matter what. The funniest part of the going into get food is the people who work there they give you that homey feeling treating you like family can't help but smile when they talk to you. Sometimes they have a Code Don Blu chef cook and make some fancy stuff for us as well.

    Dorm Life

    Staying in the dorms is very fun because that is how you get to know people but personally i stay to myself unless their is something going on outside. In my own thoughts it good not to be where the action is sometimes will keep you out of trouble. That's just me though feel free to do your own thing if you do decide to go to Paul Quinn College.

    Academic Rigor

    It was easy to me mainly cause me and my friends took the same class and helped each other with homework in all honestly its to many people that you can get together with and get help with your work on. Like every school you have every been to your gonna have a few hard teachers just like I did but none that I felt personally had a malicious content to put you in a position to fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind don't judge a book by its cover open it and see what wonders it holds. As long as you know when its time to study and when its time to have fun you will have no problems at Paul Quinn College. I suggest that you go to the Upward Bound Program to get the hang of things.

    In three sentences

    Over all I give my school a 4.3 out of 5 now this is pretty high, but if you have had the experience I have with Paul Quinn College you would understand why I feel this way. Its a big family themed school that is the biggest part of it that I admire. My rate isn't based on how big the school is cause it isn't or because it has the most hi-tech stuff or even cause its location but my most overall reason is that I feel that this is a place i see myself being able to graduate from based on the environment that pushes for success and making a greater person out of those who allow it to.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    All kinds of stuff! Go downstairs to see your friends, go to the local clubs and restaurants, or shopping nearby! Never a boring day unless your want it to be.

    Food and Dining

    Diverse, flavored cuisine offered daily. Pork free, healthy, and zesty to make anybody happy. Can't complain if you're eating delicious food, right?

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can get pretty hectic, but all in all, there's nothing like it. Friends come by time after time. See another family right outside your door everyday!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here will not be pushovers! Stay low and roll with the punches if you want to make it out alive. Studious students only.

    Tips for prospective students

    A good way to stay on top is to stay on your game. You can't skip or not classes seriously if you want to graduate here. Have fun, make groups, and you're on your way to finishing college in no time.

    In three sentences

    Paul Quinn College is amazing! Although many people can complain about the café or the other students, the atmosphere is breath-taking. Come to Paul Quinn to have a family away from home!

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The one thing is completely perfect on campus and has no room for improvement is the campus safety. The armed security guards on campus 24/7 and they are extremely friendly!

    Greek Life

    Our Greek life is a part of the National Pan-Hellenic Council which caters to the 9 Black Greek Lettered Organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unique thing about Paul Quinn is because of our size it makes it easier to start new groups, clubs, and organizations on campus due to there not being that many established clubs and organizations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mission Quinnite is a tradition the we put all new upcoming freshman through to build camaraderie amongst new students and to also get students acquainted with traditions on campus. (SHHHHHHHH its a secret)

    What to do for fun

    Its located in Dallas! There are a million things to do for fun!

    Food and Dining

    There is a home cooked meal available EVERY day!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a bit older, but very spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are challenging, but also cater to the needs of those who need extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really look at the college for what it is! Sure there aren't thousands of thousands of students, but truly look at what the college has accomplished within the last few years with the limited number of resources and students available. Learn why the current students love this college so much and why they continue to stay there even when it looks like there isn't much to stay for.

    In three sentences

    Paul Quinn College is a very unique college. The staff and faculty members nurture and continually groom their students to be agents of change within their communities upon graduation. It is the task of the college to ensure that every student who walks through these doors leave better and way more improved than when they came here

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is very important to the college we have a lot of guards working each day of the hour to keep the dorms and campus safe.

    Greek Life

    People who are in the Greek try to so there school spirit to show students how fun the Greek Life is. It also show student how much work they do to keep the Greek Life up.

    Clubs and Activities

    Paul Quinn College have different clubs that student can attended. like the soccer team they started off as an club an now they work there way up to an successful soccer team and plays different school.

    What to do for fun

    For fun the student have parities in the lobby. Sometimes the boys goes down to the gym and play basketball.

    Food and Dining

    Paul Quinn College is an Christian school that doesn't eat pork. They still find was so the students can eat healthy and have an good meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is nice everyone know each other and the everyone helps each other with there work and there problems in school.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Paul Quinn College challenges the student to work hard to earn there grade. They also help the students by finding way to make there grades better in there classes. Like some professors will offer tutoring student who need it.

    In three sentences

    Paul Quinn has an niece dress code. The dress code teach young adults how to dress for jobs. The school is a business school and will teach you how to become an leader.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Secuirty is always quick in response

    Greek Life

    Only the Devine 9 is on campus currently and one honor society.

    What to do for fun

    Be sure ato get off campus but join a view organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafe dining.

    Dorm Life

    Very close and cozy

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigourous course load your professors expect alot of the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to go to class and get to know your professors

    In three sentences

    Paul Quinn is a school that is steadily improving and making strides towards greatnes.. Despite minor set backs and the voices of those who wish not to see success in my instituitions future we are rising above. This is a place where not only have i grown but your child can also.

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    As a group we go to movies, maybe go out to shop, we have Roc the Mic night, and a number other things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food and cafe is a treat when it comes time to dine

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great you wil have a great time

    Academic Rigor

    You have nothing to worry if you stay on top with your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early, pick the right course, always visit your academic advisor.

    In three sentences

    Paul Quinn is a great college campus community, They have great staff, Paul Quinn have great courses.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Dallas is a very big city. Thers are a lot of things to do.

    In three sentences

    Paul Quinn College is a very small school. We are committed to servant leadership. You will get to know the college prseident.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    great.

    Great for these types of students

    all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    late night breakfast with Prz.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, go to the movies, skating or shopping.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for propective students, to be opened minded. Trying new things will not kill you. College is what you make of it.

    In three sentences

    Paul Quinn College has shown me how to be a professional at all times. To love something Greater than myself. And to live a life that matters.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is really strict.

    Greek Life

    awesome.

    Clubs and Activities

    The basketball team is fun. Both girls and boys. The sorority and faturity is also awesome.

    Great for these types of students

    Close mouths don't get feed. Open your mouth. Speak proudly and loud. Someone is listening.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The chapel building is interesting because we don't have chapel in there.

    Bang for the buck

    The basketball team is a family. Come play with us we need any help.

    What to do for fun

    Throw a party in your room. Go to the lobby. Get to know people that live on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the caf���© can have some foods that I don't like but that don't mean everybody don't like it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life can be really interesting. You have to provide for yourself at times.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get close to your professors. Pay attention. Be respectful.

    In three sentences

    I love my HBCU. My college is close to home. Its an diverse college. My college has exciting individuals in it. The people are loving.

  • 04/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    alpha kappa alpha kappa phi omega si phi sigma gamma rho delta sigma theta

    Clubs and Activities

    greek organizations basket ball cheerleading soccer

    Great for these types of students

    making a difference

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    chapel

    What to do for fun

    if you don't go greek or be active on campus then there is not a fun side

    Dorm Life

    negative

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you view the campus

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1-10 I would rate their connections with jobs a 9 because more than likely you will graduate with a job. Unfortunately the living environment there is not great at all. Ive maintained a 3.7 currently a 3.8 from my first year on the campus