Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Paul Smiths College of Arts and Science Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this college is for people that like the outdoors. people who like to explore the outdoors and be surrounding by woods.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    paul smith's is right in the andirondak mountains and has over 14,000 acres of woods that become your playground. mountain trails are close so hiking can always be an option. when you walk into the dinner hall and look out the big glass window, your looking across saint regis lake. the campus is absolutely beautiful.

    What to do for fun

    -kayak-fishing-climb the rock wall- swimming in the pool-work out-play bingo-hike-ice fishing- hunting

    Tips for prospective students

    freshman year will the be a huge adjustment and it proves to be challenging but stick with it. after your first semester things will get better. you'll know what will be expected of you as a college student. you learn to set goals and reach for the sky. and you'll feel right at home.

    In three sentences

    paul smith's college is a amazing school. the campus is gorgeous and it offers so much opportunities to go outdoors and explore. i knew it was for me because if offered all the factors i needed to continue my education.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In all honesty, we're pretty far out in the sticks up here. The nearest town is 12 miles away and even then there's not a whole lot to do in town. If you enjoy the outdoors, there's hiking, skiing and snowboarding (or sledding if you can't handle that stuff), two ropes courses to monkey around on, and plenty of lean-to's you can canoe to and have a fire at. If you're more the indoors-y type or can't stand the winter cold, the faculty puts on plenty of fun events, and there's also a rock-climbing wall, indoor gym with a heated pool, and tons of other stuff to do.

    Food and Dining

    As stated before, make friends with the baking students and their chefs and they will feed you crazy well! Otherwise, the culinary kids don't usually share their amazing food (because there's so little of it to go around) and the food in the dining hall is, to be honest, quite a bit less than stellar. Be sure to ask mom and dad for plenty of care packages, snack food goes quick up here!

    Dorm Life

    Everyone's super friendly up here, and that extends to everyone that lives in the dorm. While quiet hours aren't always enforced with an iron fist, it's not as though everyone's playing rugby in the hallways 24/7; they usually save that for the weekend! If you forget to bring something up, chances are someone will be kind enough to lend theirs to you; since a lot of us are up here without any form of transportation, we look after each other like family.

    Academic Rigor

    I can only speak for the culinary and liberal arts schools, but the teachers and chefs know what they're doing. It can be a struggle at times, but it's all worth it; the teachers will never overload you with work that's out of your range of skill, they will push you past what you thought was your limit and make you a better student than you thought was possible. The teachers here are so experienced and well-taught themselves, we're honestly on-par with many Ivy-League schools from an education standpoint.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring warm clothes and a willingness to work your butt of to get to the top. The temperature during the winter can get to thirty below easily, and while you're snowed in, you might as well work on acing all your classes! Also, make friends with the baking students and they will feed you very well.

    In three sentences

    This is a fantastic school in the middle of nowhere. Not many people have heard about it, but they really should have. If you want a great education about anything doing with food, hospitality, wildlife, or forestry, this school is definitely one that you should be checking out.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will never feel unsafe on this campus, I guarantee it. It is so small and everyone knows everyone. Everyone treats each other with respect, and the campus safety officers are always keeping an eye out. I have one friend that always likes to joke that if anyone ever tried to shoot people on our campus, he would be dead before he could pull the trigger because of all the hunters on campus that own guns. But seriously, this is such a safe campus. I'm a rather good-looking young woman and I have no fear walking by myself in the dark.

    Greek Life

    No fraternities or sororities! We used to have fraternities, but they got so wild that they have actually been banned.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list, honestly, but you should check out the college website paulsmiths.edu and look up the list of all the clubs. There's definitely something there for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, environmentally-minded students. We also have an amazing culinary program.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a little pricey, so don't come here if you're coming to hunt, drink, and screw off. Seriously. Because even though you'll have fun, I guarantee you won't come back (I knew one kid who partied all first semester and ended with a 0.39 -- yes that's a zero in front -- and couldn't afford to go to any more college, ever!). Make sure you know what you're getting into, financially speaking. Work your hardest, save money, and apply for scholarships and grant aid whenever you can!

    What to do for fun

    GOSH well we are the only four-year institution inside the Adirondack Park and we're within an hour of 46 high peaks, all that are above 5,000 feet. There is great hunting and ice-fishing, etc., if you're into that sort of thing. We get a ton of snow, so it's perfect for all your winter hobbies (we're 40 mins from Whiteface mountain, and there's also Mt. Pisgah and a few other ski places). We have ice-climbing (too scary for me personally) and we are 40 minutes away from an Olympic training center in Lake Placid with a crazy ski jump. You can even go bobsledding! We have a lot of free classes here, like yoga (which you have to pay for at most schools!) and dance classes, and you can even be set up with a personal trainer. We have some unique clubs, too, like the Adirondack Mycology Club and the Drafthorse club. There really are a ton of things to do for people of all different interests. Come check it out and you'll see for yourself.

    Food and Dining

    Our dining services aren't spectacular honestly, but the local food and dining in Saranac Lake (15-20 mins away) is amazing! There are several restaurants that offer affordable, local, organic food that is absolutely delicious. The natural food store in town (Nori's has the hook up). Some students don't mind the dining hall food at all (I have been called a food snob), so you should check it out at least -- you might think it's just fine. But if you don't like it, don't worry -- good food is not far away!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great and there are a lot of activities set up on campus, so you'll never get bored if you put yourself out there. Some of the dorms are a little dated as far as the interior goes, but they're safe and completely clean (and some are getting completely renovated this summer and in the coming year).

    Academic Rigor

    It's what you put into it. Some of the classes may seem really easy, but you can get a lot out of them if you're willing to go beyond the expectations and set higher standards for yourself (which you should do regardless of where you go, since you're paying to learn! Make the most out of it!).

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of the cold. No matter what anyone tells you, I PROMISE it's not that bad! Have or be ready to adopt a winter habit. Even though the winter is not too bad, it is pretty long. You might get bored if you don't ski, hike, or at least make a snowman every once and while. Get to know your professors. As a small community, this is the perfect setting to get really close to some smart individuals! Take advantage of the wealth of knowledge that your professors have to offer, and start making solid connections that will help you in your future. Men -- don't cross PSC off your list just because some guy told you there are no pretty women here, that they're all masculine and ugly. That is sooo not true, and whoever told you that probably came here in 1970 or didn't treat women nice enough to get one. There are plenty of beautiful -- and smart! -- women here (just as a side note).

    In three sentences

    Ecologically-minded, but lacking in funds and motivation in times. Come here if you are an intelligent, hard-working student who desires to be an agent of change. We need students who are willing to help make this beautiful college of the Adirondacks all that it could be!

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hiking, canoing

    Food and Dining

    this is a culinary school, the food is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life if good

    Academic Rigor

    it was good, made me work harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you the love the outdoors, come here.

    In three sentences

    I love the feel of an adirondack college. teachers are very good. I met alot of real nice people.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety team is incredible. They are always strolling around campus ready to help, protect, or even just chat with us students. They never fail to be at our side when we need it, even to let us in our locked room at 3am. We have wonderful people on our campus who are willing to be there no matter what!

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy kids, cooks and bakers, woodsmen, tree huggers, cross country runners, and anyone who loves sports!

    Bang for the buck

    I'm an outdoorsy girl... I love nature and the life it brings out in anyone that chooses to enjoy it. Walking out of my dorm in my chef whites at 6am and seeing the sun rise behind a mountain over the lake was the most beautiful thing I could ever ask for. Not many students get to see what I see at PSC. It's a beautiful campus inside and out. It's my home.

    What to do for fun

    Anything outside! When at PSC you run, bike, swim, workout, play sports, fish, kayak, mountain climb, and hike. The library is also open most of the time and free or anyone to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The food could upgrade for sure. You would think at a culinary college there would be awesome food, but it definitely lacks flavor. Next year I will be cooking most of my and my friends meals with pleasure.

    Dorm Life

    I have only lived in a freshman dorm so far and it was definitely an experience I'll never forget. Deer Camp boys gutting fish and deer in our dorm kitchen and even boiling coyote heads.... yes, I'll never forget my freshmen year at Paul Smith's College. The other dorms are much nicer, especially the suites. We are treated well there in the mountains.

    Academic Rigor

    Paul Smith's is serious about what they do, but they also know how to balance teaching with allowing the students to have freedom in their learning process. I often feel pushed by my chefs and professors, but never forced. I am challenged to stretch myself mentally and am rewarded with exceeding even my own expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you're okay with being in the mountains and away from society. It's very quiet sometimes and often students go a little crazy if they aren't prepared for living in the woods. Prepare yourself mentally for it, and also physically as most students spend the majority of their time being active. Start running, biking, swimming, kayaking, or any sport and you'll fall right into place.

    In three sentences

    Paul Smith's is all about the experience and provides it hands-on or every student. I not only listen and learn about what I'll be doing for the rest of my life, but I am able to actually and physically try it out. This campus is all about nature, natural resources, and activity... I don't regret coming here at all!

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything you can think of that you can do outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many options for food and the cafeteria is open almost all day. The St. Regis Cafe has amazing food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are spacious and comfortable. The suites on campus are amazing. They do cost a little more, but are totally worth living in at least one year of your college career.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics rigor is not too bad. Classes are manageable if you keep up with the work. If you are the type of person who likes to party all the time and blow off school work, this is not the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you like being in the middle of no where. The closest town is 15 minutes away. There are plenty of activities to do around campus, but it is good to get away once and a while.

    In three sentences

    My first impression of the college was how friendly everyone was. From the students to the staff, everyone made my freshmen year one of the best years of my life. The campus is beautiful and I've never felt so at home at Paul Smith's.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is excellent here, but like all colleges there are still some problems that people find.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different activities involving the outdoors. There are many sports here from Rugby to Volleyball.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that love the outdoors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition that is upheld in one of the activities here is the Draft Horse Club.

    Bang for the buck

    Even if you have problems here financially the financial aid people here are extremely helpful.

    What to do for fun

    I go hiking for fun to see the views around here.

    Food and Dining

    Food selection as well as the food itself is good, but it could use more options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good except for other people trashing or not being respectful of the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is challenging if you don't learn time management skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip is to respect the dorms both your dorm and others otherwise you have to pay to fix it.

    In three sentences

    Paul Smiths College is a fantastic school. There is a strong sense of community here on campus. There is also a strong sense of experiences gained by attending.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Constantly roaming campus

    Great for these types of students

    Culinary Forestry Baking Environmental Sciences

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The point is on campus that overlooks the lake and mountains, its a great place to get away

    What to do for fun

    Canoe hike mountains play intramurals rock climb

    Food and Dining

    Food is bland and repetitive meals

    Dorm Life

    One dorm has cold showers and poor internet service.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dress warm and make sure you are passionate about the career you choose

    In three sentences

    The professors are always willing to help out. Its a great hands on experience.