Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Pearl River Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would suggest be punctual and don't miss any days if at all possible, every day is a new and you don't want to miss anything important in any of your lessons that you may need to know on any of your unit tests or quizzes. Some of these courses you will need to pay attention to detail. Personally I think they are fun and easy, but other may not think the same as where everyone is different. You will definitely need a USB and binders, and I would strongly suggest purchasing a computer with internet access if you do not have one already.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are awarded a full pell grant please spend it wisely on your tution costs and books, because you will receive a refund check back more than likely for the remainder of what you haven't spent for the semester's half of your grant and it can be a great help with you gasoline costs or whatever may come up that you may need it for.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe this school is very well priced at this time due to our economy and compared to all of the other options that are availabel to us right now.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am also the Treasurer of Phi Beta Lambda. I am very pleased I won the votes for the postion as this particulat officer.

    Am learning a lot

    I am taking mostly BOT classes here and doing very well in the course subject matter.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is spot on.

    Bang for the buck

    it is the perfect amount for me and its well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    hangout with friends you know and trust, join any activities and also watch your fellow college student play against other schools. go wild cats.

    Food and Dining

    many options to choose from in the cafe but long lines just to eat.

    Dorm Life

    i'm not sure about dorm life but i heard that is small but yet is surrounded with campus security just to make sure that everyone is safe and sound.

    Academic Rigor

    they have generous instructors to give you their time to aid you when in doubt and help you succed in their classrooms. best yet teaching wise.

    Tips for prospective students

    for future references: pay attention to your instuctors and their assignments they give to you, who knows, it will be very, very helpful and to also study too.

    In three sentences

    this college has many opportunities to offer to future students who wants to futher their education. helpful instructors to guide and lead you to the path you choose to go. great environment to be around when your in need for down time.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many different activities at PRCC. Sports, fundraisers, and etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tips I have for prospective students is get to know the people at PRCC. They are very helpful and dedicated to their jobs and the success of the students.

    In three sentences

    PRCC is a well rounded school. Friendly staff always willing to help you with your needs. The teachers care and want you to succeed.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    PRCC is a great place for students that need the extra individual attention and personal contact with their professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus and get to know the people. It's a great little college to get you started on your career path.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that PRCC is a great value as an out of state student.

    Am enjoying being here

    because it's small enough for me to meet and get to know others.

    Am learning a lot

    about how to be independant and manage my time for study, self and friends.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus policeman on site at all times.

    Bang for the buck

    PRCC's tuition is less than any other junior college in my area. They also have a flat rate tuitin of one thousand dollars for all full time students.

    What to do for fun

    As a junior college there are not as many things to do as there would be at a University. However, there are a lot of activities that are put on by some students.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining experience are great. There are also student lounges that offer snacks during the day. This makes it comfortable and convenient in between classes to have somewhere to hang out and eat.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus at the school. Other student's that I have talked to have said the rooms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    PRCC has a great academic system. The instructors are very interested in the success of their students. In each class, you will learn the required curriculum, but the instructors make it has easy and interesting as they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    To a prospective student thinking of applying to PRCC I would strongly suggest finding an advisor to help them start out on the right track. Most importantly, I would suggest for a prospective student to spend some time talking with the counselors, instructors, and advisers. The help is available, it is the student's responsibility to find it.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Pearl River Community College is a great place to begin an educational journey. PRCC has many programs to accommodate the different fields of study people are interested in. So far, Pearl River has been just what I need to get started.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus was very safe. Every time I was there I saw at least one security officer.

    Greek Life

    This community college did not have any sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There were lots of different clubs and activities for students to join.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great community college to attend.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There were no unusual traditions or locations.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I got a lot out of what I paid to attend Pearl River Community College.

    What to do for fun

    Pearl River is always offering different school activities for the students. From movie nights to football games, there is almost always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    I never had a chance to eat in the cafeteria at the campus but I did eat at the deli in the student center and it was great.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms so I cannot judge this.

    Academic Rigor

    Pearl River Community College is very serious about education and that is a good thing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and study!

    In three sentences

    Pearl RIver Community College is a great school to go to for general classes before transferring to a university. They also have several different degree programs and many different options for education. All of the instructors I had were wonderful.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe there thanks to the security guards always keeping an eye on things.

    Greek Life

    I am not really involved in that.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have everything from band,show choir,concert choir,sports and everything inbetween

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to get a quick degree in a field in a matter of 4 or 5 semesters. My friend went into the electrical program and it has worked wonders for him. My advice take a quick and enjoyable degree and that is smart thing to do, I think.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    theres a chapel, the bsu, which is like a youth group meeting place, student success center, to give extra help, a place to play baskeball and that is all I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    I do not personally believe it is worth what they charge to go to this school, I mean that is why im filling this out now I lost my pale grant because my mom messed up on her taxes. They definately charage way too much for a community college.

    What to do for fun

    There really was not much to do honestly, there were football games and movie nights here and there but Pearl River Community College is in a small town and there really is nothing to do there no movie theater, bowling alley, mall, rock climbing, skating rink nothing but a few fast food resturants.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is actually pretty decent much better than high school. I liked breakfast the most they had great eggs and bacon and a waffle maker and many other delicious selections.

    Dorm Life

    I enjoyed dorming because it gave me a sense of what it is like to be on my own. My roommate and I did not see eye to eye and I ended up changing rooms and they were surprisingly understanding of my situation. My best advice is try to find someone you know to room with and if you know them make sure they are someone you could see yourself living with.

    Academic Rigor

    I would have to say some of the classes were easy, while others were extremely difficult. I excelled in speech and psychology but struggled a good bit in English Composition I. My best advice is put forth all of your effort not just some because college is not high school it is much different and much harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for upcoming freshmen are: do not be shy if you get lost ask for help you make friends that way and find your way around, always check blackboard for your work that I cannot stress enough, try to branch out and most of all have fun but stay focused don't miss too much class you will regret it later on, and over all just try your best and go for a degree you are interested in.

    In three sentences

    Pearl River Community college is small but large. The college has a limited curriculum but a variety of directions to go in. I have already learned so many great things intending here.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lift weights

    Food and Dining

    It is ok but not like home

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    It is great

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not forget your check book

    In three sentences

    it is great.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus has a police station on it and you always see the police walking around the campus. I feel very safe at the college I attend.

    Great for these types of students

    There is every kind of student at PRCC look at me I am 40 and returning to college after 20 years. I wouldn't say there is a particular type of student for this college because no matter what the age or person even disability PRCC is very confident and helpful to everyone attending.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't had the chance to eat at the college yet but I'm sure I will before long.

    Academic Rigor

    I am taking all general classes at this time since it has been so long since I been in school and the fact that I will need them anyway. I am having to not only learn the subjects all over again but how college has changed so much from when I was in college before. We have a wonderful student center with lots of great people to help you with anything and for me that would be a lot but they greet you with a smile and leave you smiling when you are done.

    Tips for prospective students

    First off let me say go to a college that you really want to be at or you probably wont be there long. Always ask questions about anything and everything there is never a stupid question. Most off all get started early with all your paperwork for college so that you have a better chance at getting in and getting what you want. Take advantage of any learning centers they are usually free and can only help with your grades or even understanding how to use the school system. This is for the first time students out of high school remember that you may be out on your own for the first time and everything is so new your new found freedom especially but you are also the only one held responsible for any class, work homework and test so when you are asked do you want to go out tonight ask yourself one thing can your grades afford for you to go out or should you stay in and study tonight and go out a different night.

    In three sentences

    I love this college it is very different from attending college when I first got out of school and attended. I have been to every office and spoken with more people in the last several month on how to apply for anything and everything and everyone has been so helpful and it doesn't stop there all of the teachers are just as helpful and willing to explain anything you don't understand. Overall my returning to college after been out of school for 20 years is wonderful and I could not ask for a better college.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus life at PRCC is very safe. They have security guards that patrol campus all hours. There are curfews daily that are enforced by campus police as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    I mentioned a few before, but a few more would be SGA (Student Government Assn.), PTK (Phi Theta Kappa), River Navigators (office of recruitment), BSU (Baptist Student Union), and more. They also provide student Work Study(paid jobs on campus)....even if you don't qualify for government assistance, the college still offers work study paid out of college funds!

    Great for these types of students

    They also have a wellness center. It has a track, many exercise machines, as well as rooms where they offer different wellness classes. It is great for students that are majoring in any form of wellness, nutrition, or overall fitness education. Or for student (and staff), that just want to maintain their overall wellness/health.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Like I said before, this is an excellent college at a great price. It has been called the Harvard of community colleges! You definately get your money's worth!

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities to participate in on campus. You can be a member of the Band, the String of Pearls dance team, show choir (River Road), softball (Lady Wildcats), cheerleading, football, soccer, basketball, BSU (Baptist Student Union), and more.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on campus is delicious. It offers 3 meals/day and several different choices/meal. Choices include a salad bar, dessert bar, grill, or home cooked food, soda fountain, juices, milk, coffee, and more. It is definitely worth getting a meal ticket if you attend this campus.

    Dorm Life

    I would recommend living in the dorms to anyone that has over a 30 mile travel distance. The dorms are VERY nice! They have several different ones. The newest girls dorm is 2 stories high, each room houses 2 girls that share 1 bathroom. The dorm room price includes each students meal ticket which includes 3 meals/day 5 days/wk; again at an affordable rate. Staying in the dorm also offers the benefit of being close enough to walk to all your classes.

    Academic Rigor

    PRCC places a lot of emphasis on their academic program. They offer many scholarships R/T academics. They have well educated college instructors that offer top of the line education. They also have a large library which includes a computer and learning lab.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check into being involved in extracurricular activities....there is many activities on campus offered with great scholarships to go with them. Make sure and call or visit the campus prior to registration to gather all necessary information and dealines. Visit the office of recruitment & orientation AKA River Navigator office. They will give you a tour of the campus and any/all other information requested.

    In three sentences

    PRCC is a great community college to attend. It has an excellent academic program. It also offers many different technical programs. I would recommend it to anyone. You can get a great education and its very affordable. They also offer a wide variety of scholarships that students may apply for.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Band Choir Show Choir Jazz Band Concert Band Musicals Football Baseball Disc Golf Basketball Soccer BSU

    What to do for fun

    Go to BSU

    In three sentences

    It is a nice school with a wonderful faculty. It also has tons of activities and clubs. If you are looking for a great education come on down to Pearl River Community College you will not regret it.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I havent been to school for 20 years so I was very nervous about returning. The first day of class all of my teachers told us about themselves before asking about us and I thought that was really great. These wonderful teachers are always reminding us that they are here to help us and will do anything they can to make sure we understand what we are learning in class. I love this school and the people at the school.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities to get involved with and you will eve get text messages to let you know what is going on.

    Food and Dining

    Cant rate the food since I haven't eaten on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The counselors are very helpful in setting up your classes so that your schedule works for you. The teachers will work with you and help you as long as you are willing to help yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start your paperwork early so that you can make any changes or arrangements you need. ALWAYS ask questions if your not sure of something.

    In three sentences

    PRCC is a wonderful college for any type of student. I would rate them with all A's for helping students with any situation. This college makes me want to go to class everyday and learn.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always around the corner. They try their best to make sure that everyone is safe and following the rules. Oh, and you wouldn't want to be caught outside after curfew!!!

    What to do for fun

    Since there is absolutely nothing but trees around the campus, everyone just hangs out with each other to have fun. Also, there are plenty of extracurricular activities and events that go on around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't always great. Occasionally, the cafeteria serves food that I really like. Even though the students carelessly waste food or drink everywhere, I have never heard any of the staff complain.

    Dorm Life

    All of the other students in my dormitory are really nice. The Head Resident is very understanding, kind and funny. My roommate respects my space and we get along very well.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers that I have had, have tried to explain the material as best as they can. They do not like to miss class and are always on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always remain focused. Study hard for exams. Don't just settle for a passing grade!

    In three sentences

    Honestly, I did not want to attend PRCC for personal reasons. Though, after just one semester here, Pearl River has grown on me. It is actually a great school and the academic system is tremendous.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, play video games,

    Food and Dining

    3 stars

    Dorm Life

    3 stars

    Academic Rigor

    3 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus. Great clubs and student organizations.

    In three sentences

    Great college with teachers who care. Nice campus and new buildings being built. Enjoying my time there.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are dedicated to safety. They are always patrolling the campus, and they also are very helpful with building locations and school policies.

    Bang for the buck

    Not only is Pearl River College affordable, but the one on one attention you get with teachers is beyond parallel. Pearl River College has made me a better student. I have done better in college than I ever did in high school.

    What to do for fun

    It is always fun to hang out in the caf�?�© to do a little studying and grab some snacks. Also the benches under the pine trees as the Allied Health building is a nice shaded place to sit and eat lunch.

    Food and Dining

    Every Wednesday different churches come and bring meals for students. All they ask for is a dollar donation. It is always great food and a great service.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms. I commute to school four days a week.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but studying hard and attending class are the most importing things to help make the grades you want. The teachers at Pearl River Community College are dedicated to help you do your absolute best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always pre-register, I hate having to wait in long lines for long amounts of time. I preregister every semester. Also do not be afraid to ask for help. The student success center is the best place to get help with any problems your having with your courses.

    In three sentences

    I love attending Pearl River Community College. The teachers and staff go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure each student's success. Pearl River Community College has a way of making you feel like family.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Excellent bang for the buck!

    In three sentences

    Classroom size is small and personal. It is a great place to learn. The instructors are very good.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fun events are movie nights and game nights.

    Food and Dining

    The food is just great. They have delicious varieties of food every day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awsome. The dorm peers are fun to hang out with.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic classes might not always be easy, but the teachers are fun to be with.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is easy to find friends

    In three sentences

    Pearl River Community College is a great college. It is an exciting school to attend. The campus might be small, but there are a lot of fun activities to attend while at Pearl River.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are sporting events around campus to go to and students get in free. Such as football, softball, baseball, and basketball. Also the school sends out emails to tell you when the next upcoming event will be. It is a very happening place. There is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Pearl River was always great. They have an amazing salad bar. And if your a picky eater like me they always had something I could eat. Very tasteful and healthy food. Even the breakfast is great. They also have a desert bar.

    Dorm Life

    This was the best time of my life. Around campus they always had activities we could go to such as pep rally's and dances. We also got together with a lot of the other dorms to go to football games and support the baseball team. It's was an amazing time.

    Academic Rigor

    They do not accept any slacking off. They hold everyone accountable. This is a great thing because now you are actually paying for school. You will need this degree to get a half way decent job. So the faculty treats you like the adults we have to become and this helps everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great place to attend college after high school. The best tips I can give you are to study and put forth the effort into each class. If you need help there are always tutors available. Don't get discouraged. Just push through and you will have your diploma sooner than you think.

    In three sentences

    Pearl river community college is warm and inviting. The faculty and staff welcome all students with open arms and make sure they feel at home. They make the transition from high school to college unbelievably easy.