Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Pellissippi State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    No money, don't pile up debt so soon!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to save money, and stay close to home for a while, I suggest you attend here. Why spend $25,000+ when you can spend $800?

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition for one year at ETSU, was $20,000. For one year! Pellissippi was only $800 full time. So much cheaper, but the classes are not.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are mature, which is a definite plus. Much better than high school. Believe me.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are short and sweet. You attend for 55 min. just enough time for you to get what you need yo know, and be on your way. It's great.

  • 07/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult learners, disabled students, parents, working individuals, or anyone who hates having to get up to go to class! Also, for those wanting a traditional classroom setting, PSTCC is equipped with the latest in training equipment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the online classes. For those of us who find it difficult to be somewhere at a specific time, online learning can't be beat!

    Bang for the buck

    By adding an extra class here and there, students are able to enhance their educational credentials with Institutional Certificates. By only adding 4 classes to my curriculum, I am earning 3! Tutors are available for almost every discipline. The Educational Resources Center (library) has a computer lab and laptops are available, as well as WiFi access almost everywhere on campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful, but the ability to go to class in the middle of the night via the Internet is terrific.

    Am learning a lot

    The instructors at PSTCC are very good at helping the motivated student learn. The advising is first rate. For those of us that are disabled, Student Services With Disabilities is unparalled.

  • 02/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pellissippi is great for any student just starting college.

    Tips for prospective students

    I know it sounds corny but Pellissippi truly deserves all five stars. It would be a great idea to come here.

    Bang for the buck

    The thing I appreciate most about Pellissippi is how cheap it is compared to other colleges. It is a great idea to go to Pellissippi for you basic classes because it is so cheap.

    Am enjoying being here

    One of the things I enjoy the most about Pellissippi State is that they have a lot of things for you to do. There is a gym, a great library, and much more.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers at Pellissippi at excellent teachers. They are always willing to help out. I have heard from many that Pellissippi's teachers are much better than those a UT.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe, security guards gnome the campus constantly.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Watch out for the smokers.

    Bang for the buck

    Some great teachers for a very cheap cost to go to school. There are also some bad ones also. Do research on the professor before taking class.

    What to do for fun

    Not a whole lot. They have activities here and there. I entered into the golf tournament and had a pretty good time.

    Food and Dining

    Stocked with sports drinks ad what not. Cafeteria itself is mediocre food. What can you expect from a public community college?

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are not that hard. All you need to do is show up to class and you should make an A outside a little bit of homework here and there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Education is what you make out of it. I always thought to myself that I don't have to go to college, I get to go to college. Most people take school for granted and it is one of the most quintessential parts of anybody's life.

    In three sentences

    I transferred in from a much bigger school and found that the student to teacher ratio was much lower. I attended a small school in high school and this has helped me progress in my studies. I have learned much more than if I was at a bigger school.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had any problems.

    Great for these types of students

    If you don't like big schools or just want to ease back into school without jumping into a four year school, this is a great school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Pellissippi is much cheaper then a four year college and I feel like the education equals out the same or maybe even better since you get more of a one on one with teachers.

    What to do for fun

    There are always plenty of activities on campus if you are interested.

    Food and Dining

    Never eaten here.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Pellissippi is not a crazy hard school. Make sure to do your assignments, turn them in on time, and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before entering Pellissippi State make sure you get everything with financial aid taken care of. Don't be afraid to call and ask questions. If you plan on transferring to a 4 year university make sure to speak with an advisor about articulation agreements and transferring classes.

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi State Community College is a good two year college. The student to class ratio never goes above 35 so there is never a concern for large lecture classes. The teachers are great and are there to help.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is constantly patrolling and doing their job well. They are friendly and helpful and I feel very safe when on campus.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like small classes and individual attention from professors. Good for both students who like to be involved in campus life and those who simply go to class then go home.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has a VERY reasonable tuition and with my experience, I think it is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Although it is a community college, there are often fun things going on. There are sometimes concerts or events on the quad during the week which makes class days a little more exciting. In the fall there is an annual hot air balloon festival.

    Food and Dining

    Although there is no on-campus living, there is a very nice cafeteria with lots of choices, good food, reasonable prices, and very friendly staff.

    Dorm Life

    No on-campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    Prepare to stay busy with homework and studying, but not to a point where it consumes your life. A happy medium. Tests, papers and assignments reflect course work well.

    Tips for prospective students

    See an advisor!! They are very helpful and truly do want to help you! As far as classes, know that your teacher desire to see you succeed and are helpful, but you must put forth and effort and try your best.

    In three sentences

    Very clean and beautiful campus. Professors show a genuine interest in helping you succeed. Faculty and advisors are extremely helpful and readily available.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Plenty of officers patrolling and they are actually nice!

    Clubs and Activities

    If you can think of a club they have it!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student can go here and of all ages.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pellipalooza is great! So many things to do and so much food to eat

    Bang for the buck

    Pellissippi is great and not that expensive!

    What to do for fun

    I train in Mixed Martial Arts.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good. Way better than high school food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great here. The teachers know how to teach!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply and attend Pellissippi! You will not regret it!

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi is an oustanding college. I feel like I actually mean something here. In my opinion, every college should be like Pellissippi.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, security personnel are always patrolling the campus from opening hours to closing time.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During Spring Fling you can get free customized license plates:). Food/snacks for students during exam weeks and extende tutoring center hours and nutritious snacks specially during Finals Week.

    Bang for the buck

    five stars!

    What to do for fun

    walk, sit in the sun, hike at the smokies, hang out with friends, theater, river

    Food and Dining

    Various food vendors come to serve food.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study early on in the semester. Browse the master syllabi for information about your course. Go to the tutoring center.

    In three sentences

    The tutors at the tutoring center are knowledgeable. The advisors give sound advice and are patient in finding the solutions to problems. The faculties have Master's degrees in the field that they teach and they employ interactive teaching methods that suits various learning styles.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While I am aware that campus crime is present on all college campuses, I personally have not witnesses nor been a victim of such crime at Pellissippi.

    Greek Life

    While I am a member of Phi Theta Kappa! I have been unable to participate fully because of job, school, and family responsibilities. I do hope to be more involved in the future.

    Clubs and Activities

    Due to work, school, and my family obligations, I did not participate in extracurricular clubs/activities, but I know there are a wide variety of choices available to students.

    Bang for the buck

    The education at Pellissippi is top-notch, but the price tag is far less than other colleges/universities in the greater Knoxville area.

    What to do for fun

    Being employed full time and enrolled in three or four classes each semester left very little time for fun, but I am sure there is fun to be found at school as well as within the communities surrounding the college.

    Food and Dining

    Pellissippi has partnered with several area restaurants and chains and offer varied menu choices on different days. While not gourmet, the food is good and fresh, with several choices available daily.

    Dorm Life

    I lived at home with my husband and children and commuted daily to classes and group study sessions.

    Academic Rigor

    While I have found the coursework in my classes to be demanding and difficult, I cannot speak to all classes at Pellissippi. As an older student, I had to devote a greater percentage of my time to studying and preparing for classes and tests, but my grades reflected the time and effort I put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most instructors are very willing to assist you along the path, but students must demonstrate a willingness to learn and be accountable to their own education. Students must attend all classes, pay attention, and participate fully to successfully master the material.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security guard driving around the campus. Also, security guards are seen in buildings , most of the time. If you don't feel safe, you can call and security guards will escort you to your car. The school sends text alerts for weather, security, and school closings.

    Great for these types of students

    Undecided about your major, just to take core classes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an Apple computer lab located in the Bagwell building.

    What to do for fun

    There is a recreational center: the Bubble.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay but can be expensive for college students. I found it cheaper to drive to the nearby fast food restaurants. Beware of credit card charges!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be cautious when registering for an on-line class. Teachers are helpful but the responsibility is ALL yours. Don't always trust the advisors when going easy on your first year of college. It won't help in the long run (summer classes...)

    In three sentences

    Classes are smaller , and teacher-student ratio is 1 to 30 or less. Students have access to technology that they will need to succeed in their career. The faculty genuinely wants to help students succeed in their educational pursuits.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is ample security at all campus locations. There are postings and notices to advise you of the text-alert features the school offers.

    Greek Life

    I am not aware of any Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    You name it.

    Great for these types of students

    I have found, as a non-traditional student, that going back to school after 14 years is not as difficult as I thought it would be due to the assistance of the student advisors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not been there long enough to know of any traditions

    Bang for the buck

    Pellissippi State C.C. can get you all of your core course requirements and save you a lot of money while you are trying to decide on your major. With five campuses there is bound to be one close to your home. They also offer a cohorts program with Roane State C.C. that you can take at the campus of your choice.

    What to do for fun

    In Knoxville you can choose from many activities, some free, some quite pricey. Libraries have free lectures and art shows. The Ice Bears play hockey in the winter and UT has baseball, football, and basketball for every sports fan.

    Food and Dining

    Each campus has it's own style/appointments for cafeteria settings. Plenty of fast-food places for a quick lunch nearby. Many restaurants in the area offer a vast array of dining choices.

    Dorm Life

    This is a city community college, there are no dorm facilities, but there are ample rental properties nearby in all price ranges.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses offered will stretch you as far as you want to go. The Compass test will point you in the right direction for you freshman classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    register early for the best class selection. Meet with you academic adviser.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the diversity of the student body, and the class selections. A small community college that can offer me the world.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent. Security is always walking and driving around.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Alot of interesting clubs and activities!

    Great for these types of students

    great for all students.

    Bang for the buck

    Great Value.

    What to do for fun

    Student Recreational Center.. great workout rooms and good way to met new people.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, its a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Many different options!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to all financial aid and scholarships before you attend, and get active, a lot of fun stuff to do here.

    In three sentences

    Great College, It is helping me succeed my educational goals and all the teachers are on my side. I have learned so much for cheap. It helps me get my basics instead of going to a big college right away.

  • 10/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who like smaller class sizes

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to apply for every financial aid that is offered through the college. Make sure to do all the free activites the college offers, they are lots of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for those looking for a simple place to begin the college search

    Am enjoying being here

    There's always something to do or someone to help you with your classes or just to study with

    Am learning a lot

    Never had a day something didn't just blow my mind.

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend this school only to study who know how to stay focused.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i love to go to the Rush and work out. I also like going out and having fun with my friends. And I also like to read.

    Food and Dining

    There's No cafeteria on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It's great!! The teachers are awesome and understanding. The work is taught to where anybody could understand it and easy to get access to, such as the learning commons.

    In three sentences

    I love this college because they try to help you get over obstacles. Moreover, the classes are small so it's easier to stay focus and comprehend more. Lastly, it's affordable and transferring isn't a big problem.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In every class room there are sheets of paper posted to a wall with every safety plan possible.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not familiar with the clubs yet but I hope to be soon

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students getting right out of high school and parents coming back to school. Pellissippi is a farely small school and perfect for shy students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    The reason I am currently going to Pellissippi is because of the price. With my financial aid I am getting all of my school paid for and still getting a thousand dollars back! If you do not have money for school, I would definitely suggest Pellissippi.

    What to do for fun

    The student life is incredible. There are always students in study groups and they all seem to be having fun. I have heard that in the fall, Pellissippi has a very fun fall festival and have all sorts of activities.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Pellissippi does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Pellissippi is very fast pace, and all of my teachers know what they are talking about. The material is not hard, it is the amount of material that is hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest a lot of note taking and a lot of reading :) Never text during class!

    In three sentences

    I just graduated early from high school and Pellissippi has helped me incredibly. The student atmosphere is very helpful and so are the professors with helping me get over all of my fears. I have only been here for a week, but I can tell I am going to love it here.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 17 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    cheap

    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    don't go there if you're expecting a normal college experience.

    In three sentences

    i do not like community college.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who desire a small campus, a small town, in a small area but much to do downtown.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are many traditions and activities that take place.

    What to do for fun

    depending on the campus you go to, there are all kinds of activities constantly happening on each campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    figure out which campus you would like to go to then tour the campus to get a better feel. talk to students there already and ask how they like it. get to know your teachers and find out where your classes will be.

    In three sentences

    pellissippi state is a great college for students looking for a two year school. it has four wonderful campuses for one to chose from. pellissippi also is great to work with a student in areas they need help whether deciding a major, financial help, or help with classes.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is very safe. there are security guards in many locations, including the parking lot. there is also no smoking except in the designated areas.

    Clubs and Activities

    outdoor club, active black student club, environmental club, many support groups and many more!

    Great for these types of students

    great for students not wanting to take out loans for college, great for students wanting a two year degree, great for transfer students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    it is located right next to another campus, tennessee tech, so you get to know a lot of different people with different majors.

    Bang for the buck

    for the price, pellissippi is a great deal! you can get all of the credits you would get at a big university for less than half the price!

    What to do for fun

    there are many groups, organizations, and student gatherings at pellissippi. there is something for everyone!

    Food and Dining

    one campus has a dining hall, and it is delicious!

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would say it would be a good idea to get your books early, and also to go a day early and find out where your classes are. it is also a gerat idea to go to orientation.

    In three sentences

    pellissippi state is a great school. every teacher i have had has been wonderful so far; they actually care about you and your work. the students are also friendly and it is easy to make friends, and i would reccommend it to anyone searching for a two-year college.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    great ensemble here! lots of clubs including a recreation building

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you speak with your advisor before signing up for your first semester.

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi State is my number one choice for college. They have so many opportunities here. They provide excellent teachers with small classes. It is also within driving distance for me to attend which is very attractive to me.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. Security patrols constantly and are very friendly. Will help with dead batteries and getting keys out of a locked car!

    Greek Life

    None at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of different clubs, approximately thirty, that vary based on culture, religion, hobby, and interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Working students who have families or other commitments and want to go to school from home instead of dorm life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Wonderful place at a great price for a degree-seeker to get core credits and a good education.

    What to do for fun

    The school has an open gym, yoga and aerobics classes, racquetball, soccer and basketball teams, ultimate frisbee and more.

    Food and Dining

    The school is located near many food options, fast and sit-down. Also the cafeteria has a variety of food choices at a low price.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor depends on the class you take and the teacher. Overall the majority of the teachers push students to do extra work and excel in the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to campus at least fifteen minutes early to find a parking spot as the school is getting crowded and finding one is an adventure. Utilize the many tutoring resources that are provided in almost every building on campus; most tutors are actual teachers! Also look into the TNCIS program its one of the best travel abroad programs in the state and offers the best rates and scholarship opportunities for students.

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi is a great school to attend! I especially love the fact that I have been here almost three years and every teacher I have had has gone above and beyond to assist in my full understanding of a subject. Also, the classes are relatively small, the campus is beautiful and open, and there is always some kind of activity to involve and unite the students and faculty.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security officers do their job at keeping the campuses very safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are really fun!

    What to do for fun

    At least once a week they have something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but just a little pricey.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are a lot harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY STUDY STUDY!

    In three sentences

    It is very clean. The teachers rocks. The teachers will help you.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards are very friendly and helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities available at Pellissippi. No matter what your interest, there is something you can be involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    Pellissippi is great for a beginning college student, especially if you are not sure what your major is going to be. It is much less expensive then other colleges. This is a great college for Associate Degrees and Career Certificate Programs.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great college for those people who live on a strict budget.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different organizations that you can join with lots of activities for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a very nice cafeteria at the main campus, but all of them have a student lounge with vending machines and microwaves for food brought from home.

    Dorm Life

    Pellissippi does not have a dorm that I am aware of. This is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently enrolled in the Paralegal Studies program. The professors are wonderful, and I have learned so much already in my first year of college thanks to them! Oh, and the paralegal professors have a great sense of humor which makes going to college more fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to file your FAFSA for financial aid as soon as you file your tax return. The earlier you get your FAFSA filed the better.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy attending college at Pellissippi State. The Academic Staff and the Financial Aid Staff have been a great help to me. They are easy to talk to, very helpful, and genuinely want to help each student succeed in their chosen career.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't feel any threat whatsoever while on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to get involved in on campus. There's really no reason not to be involved on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for students just getting out of high school and transitioning into the college life. Most classes are smaller so you have a more personal feel and you can really develop a good teacher student relationship which will help you in the long run with recommendations if you are planning to transfer out to a university

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get more bang for your buck here tuition is very cheap for in-state students.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places nearby to eat but they have a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms but there are plenty of decent and reasonably priced apartments within the local vicinity.

    Tips for prospective students

    For fellow recently graduated seniors this isn't high school anymore be prepared.

    In three sentences

    Seems like a great school so far, I've had numerous problems with financial aid they've given me the run around. Very helpful for high school students planning to transfer to a 4 year university. Most everyone on campus are very friendly and helpful.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards will escort you to your car at night if you feel unsafe when leaving a late class.

    Greek Life

    I am Phi Theta Cappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a long list of clubs that put on many events.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of student, even students with disabilities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As for unusual, I am not sure. But they do have the Festival of Cultures each year. It covers a lot of different cultures. They serve food (free) from several different cultures. There are live performances, booths that represent each culture, and decorations. It is lively and free to students and the public.

    Bang for the buck

    Pellissippi is one of the lowest tuition colleges in the area. They offer an excellent education at a reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs. There are also a lot of events. The school is very active. And the Knoxville area has lots of attractions.

    Food and Dining

    There are restaurants in the area. The on-campus cafeteria is pretty good too. And there prices are about like any where else.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what you are taking. As in all things, some things are easier because you like them and others are harder because you have no interest in them. But this is a college and they expect you to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep a schedule. Don't wait until the last moment. Check with your advisers before making changes to your course load.

    In three sentences

    The college is easy to navigate. The instructors are very helpful and want to see you succeed. It is a great learning environment.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus security on all campuses. They drive around the parking lots at all times as well as walking the campus and classroom corridors. I feel completely secure at school.

    Great for these types of students

    PSTCC is perfect for any student, 17-70. Whether just starting a college career, coming back to one, or starting all over again, there is a place at Pellissippi. There are programs to accomadate everyone, and the professors are extremely interactive. It is a smaller classroom environment with no on campus housing so those who really want the university experience of dorms, frats, etc. would probably be better suited by a larger university. If you want a good education, for a good price, at a school that sets you up to succeed, then PSTCC is the place.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to four year university, I feel we get the same education, with even more personal attention and help from our professors, and all at a fraction of the price. Why pay more for the same basic classes we all take during the first two years.

    What to do for fun

    What can you think of?? Well we're near the mountains, near Oak Ridge, not to mention we have lots of lakes and forests. So let's see......camping,swimming,hiking,fishing,hunting,skiing,canoeing,kayaking,etc. for the outdoor people. About 15 minutes away we have historic downtown Knoxville. It contains the Old City, which has a few bars, local shops, and a couple restaurants. Market Square is located within walking distance of the Old City. An open air market look, with shops lining the sides makes up Market Square. In the summer here free concerts are performed while vendors of all types show thier wares. Pellissippi also has many activities to get you involved in various activities around town depending on what you enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    Typical cafeteria but couple of fast food restaurants across the street and all sorts of dining option within 5 to 10 minutes of campus!

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms on campus, there are however many local apartment complexes as well as campuses all around the Knoxville area. This has benefited me well. As I have worked my way through school I have lived in many different areas, each of which had a campus option in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    If I am paying for a class, especially taking out loans in order to attend classes, I expect myself to make A's. My mother pushed me hard through high school and did not settle for B's. While a B would not be the end of the world, I still see it as a failing in the class. I know I can do the work, and since I'm paying to be here I better work hard enough to get that A.

    Tips for prospective students

    You want to attend somewhere you feel comfortable. It is so much easier to relax, make friends, and focus on your studies when you are in an envirnment that you enjoy. Have confidence in you. You made it this far, so many don't. Don't waste the opportunity. You are not the only person adjusting so don't worry, ask questions, and enjoy!!

    In three sentences

    I have experienced the teachings of some of the greatest professors whose care extends beyond the classroom. With the support of the community, the school continues to grow and add new departments. It is more than just a school, it is a community through which I've learned, grown, and made lifelong friends.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt extremely safe while on campus; I wasn't worried about my car being stolen or nervous about walking to my car at anytime. There are officers that regularly patrol the parking lots, and their office is open nearly all the time.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who function best in a small classroom environment; there were only 25 students in the largest class I had.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If a club or the school itself can think up an excuse to hand out free food they will find a way to make it happen. It was one of the best parts of being a student there; you'd just randomly come across someone offering you cake, a hotdog, or a sandwich. Nothing brightens your day like free food.

    Bang for the buck

    I am extremely pleased with the education that I received for the price that I payed. I have so many friends that are thousands in debt, but I have a degree and I don't owe anyone a dime yet. It truly is an incredible relief.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoyed finding a quiet space beside the lake and reading between my classes.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food was questionable at best. It would do in a pinch or during finals week, but personally I preferred to simply bring my meals with me everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise anyone to not be shy around their teachers. In my experience as long as you show a willingness to work all the teachers are willing to do backflips to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    I was skeptical about the quality of my education when I first applied, but I realized within the first semester I had nothing to worry about. The teachers were knowledgeable about their subjects, and always willing to help. I believe with all my heart that my experience at PSTCC left me better prepared for anything another college could throw at me.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Fantastic choices!

    Great for these types of students

    First time college students, busy parents, workers who have trouble with scheduling, anyone!

    Bang for the buck

    Fantastic school! I really do recommend check this school out.

    What to do for fun

    Pellissippi State has a huge amount of clubs available. On the first few days of school, and then periodically through out the school year, there are club displays and sign up sheets for future members. Pellissippi also has a ton of student activities, such as Movie Mondays and free popcorn.

    Food and Dining

    At the Blount County Campus, different restaurants come everyday to sell food for most of the day. And Vienna Coffee has a cart set up in the lobby.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend coming to Pellissippi State to get those classes that every degree requires, such as; college math, speech, english, ect. Pellissippi is so much easier on the budget and their are very help educational resources here.

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi State is the school to go to get the core classes out of the way. The staff here is fantastic and they will do almost anything to make sure that their students are well on their way to graduate with honors. Pellissippi has a huge amount of clubs to allow the students to have a college experience without living on campus.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have the best security personal on campus. They are friendly and they make sure that they look out for everyone and are very helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to name. But we have them. We do have plenty of them. They arrange plenty of activities for our students to enjoy.

    Great for these types of students

    Straight out of high school to the ones who have sent their kids off to college already and have decided they want to go back to school. So anybody and any age. This college is for you.

    Bang for the buck

    I promise you, this school is a great place to learn, meet great people, and fun while your doing it.

    What to do for fun

    There is something fun going on every week at one of the campus's. There is total of five different campus in Tennessee now, they are all within a 30 t0 40 minute drive of each other or less. There is also so many different clubs or different activities to get involved in, that there is no way to be bored at PSTCC.

    Food and Dining

    The main campus has a cafeteria which has really good food. The other campus have a contracts with companies that bring in food so that students can choose to buy at the campus or you can leave campus. the schools are not far from your regular fast food places.

    Academic Rigor

    PSTCC offers alot of classes and great programs that will transfer to other colleges. The courses are hard but the instructors are great at what they teach and they are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your advisers, use all of the services provided to you. Do not be afraid to ask for help from your professors that is what they are there for.

    In three sentences

    It is one of the best two year colleges you can go to with the best professors and staff, you are not just another body, the professors and staff know your name. Pellissippi State Community College does not only offer the best education through all the different classes they offer but all of the different activities that they want the students to get involved in. It is affordable and you get way more than what you paid for, it is by far rated number one by me.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe, security is visible at all times of the day in most areas of the campus and are very easy to work with.

    Greek Life

    They do have an Honors Society.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you can think of a club, it probably exists in some form here.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for anyone looking to better themselves. It caters to all kinds.

    Bang for the buck

    With the rising cost of education, Pellissippi does very well to keep its costs on par or well below what you would expect from even a community college. As always, textbooks are cheaper elsewhere if you can help it.

    What to do for fun

    Anything and everything can be done at this school, from Math Academic teams to Anime clubs. From Traditional Art to Martial Art, if you can dream it you can do it.

    Food and Dining

    The food service is acceptable. The area is clean, and the entrees are above par with fast food. Also, they have a variety of salads.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have a dorm, it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Open minds will be taught, one way or another.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep a level head, this will get you farther with the staff and workers at the school than anything else. Always read the whole document; everything you could possibly encounter has been put to paper at some point. Always show up for class.

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi is a wonderful college that puts education first. They have worked very hard to keep current with the trends of education, including proposed reforms and web-based classes. Pellissippi really focuses on what is important for the college experience.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small campus with lots of security personnel.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    The school tries to have a vibrant club/student rec. program, but due to the high turn over rate from being a 2 year institution, it is difficult. Don't expect a robust and highly active club/student organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Highly focused students, who want to get through college in 4 years or less. Shy students, who might be intimidated by a larger school/university. Non-Traditional students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Have to watch where you step all over campus. The large duck pond has a large yearly residence of Canadian Geese. They leave droppings EVERYWHERE.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price, relatively small class sizes and attitude/helpfulness of the teachers, PSTCC is simply awesome. Its close enough to Univ. of Tenn. that you can participate in the larger amounts of extra curricular activities offered through UT, but gain the benefits of smaller class sizes with very helpful teachers at PSTCC.

    What to do for fun

    Again, this is a 2 year school, there are some clubs, but no real major activities like at a 4 year+ institution.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is way over priced compared to local surrounding fast food places, but the food is ok.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It is a community two year school, so all of the classes are freshman - sophomore level, so nothing to complicated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Submit your FAFSA before mid January to ensure funding, most scholarships and grants run out of funds by end of January. Go to your teachers for advising, not the student advising center.

    In three sentences

    PSTCC is a great school for starting out in college. The teachers seem to genuinely care and try to help students out as much as they can.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety has been great and I've always had help when I've needed it like when I had car trouble.

    Greek Life

    I'm not familiar with it.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've enjoyed the drama and music extracurricular activities.

    Great for these types of students

    It has been great for me. I am an average student but have a learning disability. It has been low key enough to where I've adjusted to the pressure of college academics but have also gotten the academic experiences that have prepared me for futher education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a place off of the cafeteria called the nerd room. It is where the kids who skip class go and play video games. It is a good place to avoid.

    Bang for the buck

    Sitting in the front of the class and talking to my teachers on a regular basis has helped me make better grades and make sure and follow the lectures better.

    What to do for fun

    I've enjoyed the drama and music extracurricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    The student center has lots of good food in the cafeteria and has been a great place to hang out.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone lives off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It has been a good way for me to get in the college groove with enough leeway to learn to manage my study skills and be prepared for what's next.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to enjoy the oncampus activities such as choir or ensembles.

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi State has given me a great start to my college career. I've been able to explore majors. The teachers are helpful and qualified.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who aren't ready to give up the high school setting. Classes are much smaller than what you would typically see at a university. Also great for students who want to get their generals out of the way before transferring.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the McWherter building, find the stairs by the elevator. They are far less crowded than the main stairs.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition isn't bad at all for what you get out of the college and its courses. I do not, however, recommend that you buy your books from the campus. They can be very pricey.

    What to do for fun

    Fridays are always a treat at Pellissippi!

    Food and Dining

    I don't always have time to sit and eat. However, they do have a vast amount of vending machines!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The course-load and difficulty is tough and may be hard to adjust to for first year students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize all of the resources the campus has. In order to succeed, you must ask for help. All of the administrators are more than happy to assist you in any way that they can.

    In three sentences

    It is not what you would expect from a community college. It has fabulous professors and administrators. It is an excellent learning environment.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus

    Greek Life

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable for everyone's budget

    What to do for fun

    Go to the bubble and play ball or lift weights. Get involved in anything and everything.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great but more expensive then fast food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. Its

    Tips for prospective students

    Do community college first and get the general education classes out of the way. Be on time to class and study.

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi is affordable for anybody. The classroom sizes are great for students to get hands on help from the teachers. The size of the campus is great for students who get lost.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many to choose from!

    What to do for fun

    Pellissippi plans many activities during all seasons.

    Food and Dining

    They desperately need a salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work. Constantly check in with your teachers and ask questions if you are even the sightest bit unsure of something. Teachers are interested if you're interested, so show them you are!

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi State is perfect for a student who doesn't want all the hustle-bustle of a large university. It's simple and accessible--people that attend Pellissippi range from all ages as well. The teachers do their jobs and if you complete your work, there is no reason not to make an A.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe!!! Security officers constantly patrol the parking lots and are never far away.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots and lots of options!!!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a small college experience coupled with the academic excellence of any other 4-year institution.

    Bang for the buck

    Pellissippi offers a very competitive rate as far as community colleges go, and it saves you several thousand dollars for the first 2 years of college.

    What to do for fun

    Hammocking is a wonderful, relaxing activity many students participate in during the warm months of the school year. There are many many trees perfectly situated for dozens of hammocks. The Courtyard is a good place for casual games of frisbee, football or soccer. The Recreation Center offers an indoor full work-out room (treadmills, ellipticals, weights, etc.), a basketball court, 3 tennis courts, a volleyball court (on the basketball court), a dance studio, and a ping-pong table. Outdoor facilities include a softball field, a soccer field, 4 tennis courts, a sand volleyball court, a basketball court and 2 putting greens. Showers are also available for you after expend all that energy.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria provides the basics: pizza, hotdogs, hamburgers, salads, etc. and also a specific daily meal buffet. It isn't like Momma's food, but better than other cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    Pellissippi does not have dorms at this point... but the apartments and little houses in a near vicinity to campus (and the Knoxville area) are lovely!!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but also enjoyable. There are many opportunities that professors provide for extra credit. Classes average on a size of 28 students. Student/faculty ratio is something like 11/1.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for challenging classes, but know that you will have the support of wonderful professors! Parking is pretty busy in the mornings... be prepared to possibly take a few extra minutes to find a parking spot. The campus is beautiful, so pack a picnic blanket in your trunk for the days you can lay in the grass in the sun!

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi is a small, beautiful, and intellectual campus that relates to students on a personal level. Students are not numbers at Pellissippi - they are people - and professors have a personal interest in each individual student's success, as well as the whole student body. Fellow students are encouraging and active, and the Courtyard is a fantastic place to hang out!

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is excellent on campus I have never felt unsafe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs ranging from disc golf to fencing.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want good quality education and honestly want to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you smoke it is nearly customer that you socialize with the other smokers. It is very rare to unable to find a conversation in the designated smoking areas.

    Bang for the buck

    This school's value is far beyond the price.

    What to do for fun

    Social life at Pellissipi is excellent, but students are given many opportunities to just have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Pellissippi is above par for any school I have been to.

    Academic Rigor

    This school can be tough if you let yourself get behind. Aside from that expect a college level curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not underestimate this school because it is a community college the classes are indeed college level be prepared to study.

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi is a great place to start your education. The teachers are very responsive, and they want you to succeed. I value this school, because the class sizes allow students to really get the attention they need.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. They have security all over the place and in the parking lot as well.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Pellissippi has all kinds of clubs and activities for you to get involved in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are 5 campuses around knoxville

    Bang for the buck

    For a community college I think its a great price.

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of clubs to get into.

    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten lunch at school.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms it is a community college

    Academic Rigor

    You get out what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work, Do not be afraid to ask your teachers for help that is what they are there for.

    In three sentences

    I think it's a great school to get started at. If you do not know what you want to do it's a great place to start off and get your associates.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards everywehere it seems. They patrol the parking lot, and buildings at all times.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all sorts of foriegn language clubs, and other smaller clubs that i really dont know the names of.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who have a job, and bills to pay. Students who just need to get their general assosiates. Students who dont want to move away from their house should attend here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are non.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a fairly cheap place to attend. It gets you all the credits you need to pursue your major at a 4 year college. Overall, great place for the money.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, there isnt much to do on your down time. There is a computer lab that that allows you to browse the internet. Other than that, there isnt much to do.

    Food and Dining

    We have a cafetiria that serves good food. Ther only downside is that it's a bit pricey. The cafeteria is open at very convinient hours.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a great place to learn. If you want to change your major, its easy to do it here. The classes are tough and challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of all the assignments, because they get out of habd quickly.

    In three sentences

    A good school to go to to get your core classes out of the way. Its a great transitioning school. Smaller classes allow one on one help.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety makes an effort to be known by the students and to be present across campus on a daily basis. It's certainly an environment where students feel safe and can focus on learning.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of student clubs and organizations focusing on both the academic and common hobbies. Pellissippi offers Student Math League, Robotics, International Club, Active Black Students Association, Outdoors Club, and many others.

    Great for these types of students

    Pellissippi State is a great choice for students looking to start their education but save money, students looking for a second chance to turn themselves around and get focused, and for non-traditional students seeking to supplement previous study or who are returning to school to get their degree that they missed out on previously. It is a great environment for learning.

    Bang for the buck

    Students will never feel that they haven't gotten their money's worth if they take advantage of all that Pellissippi has to offer.

    What to do for fun

    Student Life & Recreation offer a variety of activities such as concerts, outdoor festivals, dance lessons, yoga, and other events. There are a number of clubs that also give students the chance to meet others who share their interests whatever they may be, from anime and books to business planning and foreign language.

    Food and Dining

    Surprisingly good selection for a small, on-site cafeteria. It's nice to be able to grab something quickly from the grill or get freshly cooked entrees from the main servery.

    Academic Rigor

    College will be what you make of it, but the classes at Pellissippi will leave you feeling that you're competitive with anyone else out there. The scope of topics covered in all areas is amazing, and supplementing the classroom side with faculty lectures will leave anyone more than fulfilled.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors and take advantage of their desire to teach. Participate in available activities because if you're connected to campus your grades will reflect it. Form groups with others in your classes so that you can feed off of one another and push each other to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi offers an excellent classroom experience. Smaller class sizes and professors who take the time to get to know students greatly increase the chance of success. The faculty presentations each semester are an educational aid that cannot be put into words.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria at the Straw Plains campus

    Dorm Life

    Commuter student

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends in your classes to help you out with notes and studying.

    In three sentences

    Love the new Strawberry Plains Campus, the class size, and the price.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security here is pretty good and watchful. They make me feel safe to leave stuff in a locker without worrying about it getting broken into.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is their honors society. You are invited into it by high grades and at least 12 credit hours per semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    The fencing club is awesome! There are several different clubs to choose from as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Pellissippi is great if you want to get your pre-requisites for a four or more year degree, or if you don't like big campuses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People like to string up hammocks in the warmer weather. During lunch there are several hammocks with students chilling.

    Bang for the buck

    Pellissippi is definitely worth the cost of tuition to go there. The teachers are all very good and helpful and the campus is very well kept.

    What to do for fun

    The rec center is a great place to workout or play racket ball, tennis or basketball. They have all sorts of clubs to join and even have zumba and yoga classes!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty good. There is usually a good variety of food. It can be expensive though.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life because it is a community college. If there were I would give it a five.

    Academic Rigor

    The standards in all the classes I have taken have been pretty fair. They are very enthusiastic about the students here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely tour the campus and find your way around before classes start. It's a small campus but it seems huge before you know your way around.

    In three sentences

    The main campus is beautiful and the buildings are always clean and have up to date labs and classrooms. The faculty and other staff are all super nice. I have not run into anyone who works there that has not been helpful and nice.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a recreational building.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat there.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you get everything turned in on time.

    In three sentences

    My college is great! I have all my classes and they help me know what ones I need.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students feel very secure on campus. There are very few, if any, situations that would put any of it's students in danger.

    Bang for the buck

    PSTCC is very affordable and offers scholarships for students who have financial needs. Many students pay very little and receive a very good education.

    What to do for fun

    Although the students do not live on campus, Pellissippi has events and classes that allow the students to enjoy their time there. When the weather is good, there is music in the courtyard and occasionally free food. There are a few inter-mural sports that the school hosts. Pellissippi also offers courses for credit in activities such as sing lessons, dance classes, and archery.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very small and is limited in options.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories at Pellissippi State. Most students live at home or in apartments that are paid for personally by the student himself.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fairly easy if the student studies outside the classroom and participates during lectures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should go in knowing where they are planning on transferring to allow them to take the two years getting all of their general education credits finished. They should take advantage of the advising office to create their schedules. Most importantly, students should take advantage of the intimacy of the classes to get the best grades possible.

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi is a wonderful school for students who are financially conscious. Even as a community college, individuals earn a quality education that prepares them for work or transferring. Since Pellissippi is such a small school, classes are usually less than thirty students, which allows for interaction between the students and the professor to insure success.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of opportunities to take part in Pellissippi's Clubs and Activities. Right now I'm considering signing up for Fencing, yet I didn't even know they had a Fencing Club.

    What to do for fun

    There are many oppurtunites to take part of. They will have a list of things you might be interested in that take part during each semester.

    Academic Rigor

    I've heard from friends who currently go to Pellissippi say that some classes are easy, and some are hard. My mom (went to Pellissippi) said that majority of her classes were easy but had some hard classes while she was attending there for college.

    In three sentences

    I've been to the campus numerous of times, and I have to say it is great. My favorite part is the library because there is not a whole lot of distractions, and you can concentrate on work much better than any place else.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very peaceful, beautiful campus. The patrol are constantly doing they're job and keeping the campus a great environment to be in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different ones to choose from.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe PSTCC is more affordable when starting college and wanting to transfer. If you are like me and need help with Financial Aid Pellissippi has a great staff and they are ready willingly to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tip 1: When applying to Pellissippi State Community College carefully fill in the application and file it in on time. Tip 2: Determine what you might like to study or major in at Pellissippi State Community College. You do not need to find a solution here - several first year students are undeclared -- however if you do have an idea, then you'll be able to search for universities that feature a program that equals your pursuit. Tip 3: Have a listing of the criteria you wish to use to valuate and get the listing down to a range you are comfortable with.

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi State Community College has a beautiful campus. The students at Pellissippi are very welcoming. The orientation staff are very clear with what they say and friendly.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    47 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten anything there yet.

    Dorm Life

    I do no live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not attended any classes yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check with several people and check for yourself on what is required for different things. I have been told different things that I needed to do by different people. It is best to be sure what steps you need to take and in what order to take them.

    In three sentences

    I have spoken and met with several people at PSCC. I have had a pleasant experience with most people. A few people I have met with have appeared to not really enjoy their job and have had a very condescending attitude. But for the most part it has been a pleasant experience and they seem willing to help.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe at Pellisippi cause there is always atleast 5 security guys roaming the halls and even more so outside the campus area.

    Greek Life

    There is Greek Life held i believe it is in the spring time not been yet but i hear from other pellisippi students that it is a very educational and fun experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is to many clubs to count just about anything you can think of whether it would be art,music,dance,yoga,basketball,soccer, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    There is alot of Diversity at Pellisippi State and in my oppinion Pellisippi is a good start for anyone who is ambitious and goal driven.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Im not really sure on any traditions they do but im also only a returning sophmore but im excited to learn more about the college im attending.

    Bang for the buck

    They are also in comparison far way better place to start financially compared to alot of other community college's. In my oppinion and other pellisippi students would agree pellisippi state offers the best deal for transfer students and students who are just needing a little help to kick start their college endeavours because lets face it not all of us were born with thickwallets or so to speak just a little humor.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many events posted up in the halls for yoga,basketball,music,art events that any pellisippi student can sign up for and go too.

    Food and Dining

    The Food and Events that Pellisippi offers are a delight as well especially when they have breakfast and coffee in the cafeteria for students who are taking early am classes.

    Dorm Life

    There is no Dorms for Pellisippi State College however there are alot of apartments located around it that are very accomodating. Not to mention since it is located next to a University there are Dining And Activities you can always attend.

    Academic Rigor

    The Education is also very good here because you really get a sense of being one on one with instructors and the available tutors are a plus also.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering a community college before a major university like me than i would highly recommend pellisippi state.

    In three sentences

    As a fellow and current student of Pellisippi State Community College i would rate this school from a scale of 1 to 10 a solid 8. The School has a wonderful friendly atmosphere of students and staff not to mention the one on one time with tutors that help you here. I like it here also because I feel like you actually recieve a good education.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus security.

    Bang for the buck

    Best price i had found. Great deal for what i need done.

    What to do for fun

    It was a new college campus, It was just coming together at the end of the semester.

    Food and Dining

    I was at a new campus, so we did not have a cafeteria to eat in. We only had a couple vendings.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm, but if i did i believe it would have been a great time.

    Academic Rigor

    At the end of the semester i could realize i had become a little smarter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your head high. Do not be discouraged. Try not to drop out.

    In three sentences

    Great small classes. We all get equal attention. Nothings better then being able to learn everyday!

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    50 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For the price and scholarship opportunities offered, this school is great academically. You'll get your two years in without much of a pain in your pocket.

    What to do for fun

    Again, this was a bit of a problem at Pellissippi. There wasn't much to do for fun unless you became a part of the very few clubs offered. Even then though, the clubs met around the same time that most classes run, making scheduling conflicts often occurrences.

    Food and Dining

    The food offered was often just one local franchise set up in the cafeteria area, and more times than not, they didn't even show up for when they were scheduled. I often found myself living off of vending machines.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors challenge you to be better than what you are, no matter what level of intellect you came in as. They can be more interactive with a smaller class size.

    Tips for prospective students

    I strongly suggest this school if you're purely looking into the academics of college and not necessarily the experience.

    In three sentences

    I attended the Blount Campus for Pellissippi State Community College. Though there was a kind and interactive faculty and staff with open hours and student support, the campus felt lacking. There was little student interaction and few events to keep the students active. This school felt like the next grade in Highschool.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security officers are friendly, patrol the campus regularly, are present on the main campus 24/7, and are reachable anytime through their emergency hotline. They also offer first aid services, battery boosts, and vehicle unlocks. Their office is easy to locate in the administration building.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more than 40 student organizations and clubs available to join where students can meet like-minded individuals. During the summer, TNCIS also offers very generous study abroad programs where students can travel around the world to gain college credit. Scholarships are easily obtained that cover up to half of the program costs.

    Bang for the buck

    For around $2,300 a semester for tuition, fees, and books, Pellissippi offers numerous financial aid opportunities and a quality education that is recognized by multiple surrounding universities through established transfer pathways.

    What to do for fun

    There is a track surrounding the pond when first entering the campus which can be used for walking or running. During the summer, Melton Hill Lake is less than five miles away from campus and is a popular hang out for swimming and grilling out. There is also usually something going on in the courtyard, ranging anywhere from free food and people handing out voter registration forms to local radio stations giving away free merch.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria present on the main campus. The menu changes weekly and can be easily viewed online. The food is pretty good and the prices are reasonable, ranging from $3-$5. There are also multiple off-campus options within a mile, including McDonald's, Subway, Firehouse Subs, Double Dogs, Snappy Tomato Pizza, and KFC.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms since Pellissippi is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The majority of the instructors at Pellissippi have reasonable expectations and recognize that they are there to help students succeed and are willing to help. They have set office hours that are established at the beginning of the semester and can be viewed online and on their syllabus. The coursework obviously varies depending on the class, but some of which should be expected to be challenging and time consuming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to register early in order to get good class times. Classes tend to fill up fast (especially those that are major-specific). After the instructors are assigned, be sure to look them up on RateMyProfessors.com before the semester starts and make any necessary adjustments as soon as possible. While Pellissippi is generally pretty good about doing away with less effective instructors due to their student evaluation program at the end of each semester, students will want to be sure that each of their professors is right for them. A good teacher can make all the difference.

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi State is a great community college. The campus is beautiful and practical, and is also easy to navigate. Their goal is to help each student succeed; they help walk you through the registration and financial aid processes, they are easy to get a hold of and work with if there any problems, they provide ample resources (such as free tutoring and a convenient bookstore), and the professors are willing to take the time to make sure students understand the content and do well as long as they are willing to put forth the effort.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    way too safe sometimes.

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic and starting out

    What to do for fun

    School work!

    Food and Dining

    so so dining...

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your work and never be late to classes.

    In three sentences

    I really like the school in the sense that it is more affordable than others. The only thing I would have to say I don't care for much is too many new teachers. I really love the activities from the school as well, they seem to be getting better and better year by year!

  • 10/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Safety and Security office is absolutely amazing! There is always someone there to talk to if you have any questions or concerns. If you have car trouble, they can send someone out to look at your car. If you have a night class, they can escort you to your car. I always feel safe with this security team around!

    Clubs and Activities

    Pellissippi has many different clubs and organizations students can join. Whatever one is interested, whether it be Philosophy, Anime, or academia, Pellissippi has a club for it!

    Great for these types of students

    Pellissippi has all sorts of wonderful programs, but some of its most outstanding are: pre-nursing, early childhood education, mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, video production technology, and photography. These are all degrees and programs that can be completed right on Pellissippi's campus. I, however, can personally vouch for their English department. It is full of the finest professors, and I am well prepared for my future studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pellissippi's art students are responsible for several sculptures around campus. They are very interesting and add a lot of color to the campus. We also have quite a few ducks and geese that live on campus. They are fearless, but loveable!

    Bang for the buck

    Pellissippi is a relatively affordable school, and the quality one gets for what one pays is outstanding. I feel as if I have gained more than just an education at Pellissippi. Community is the perfect word to describe this school. I not only have met life-long friends, but have also found a family of sorts. The quality of the classes and the experience a prospective student would have there are worth so much!

    What to do for fun

    Pellissippi has a lot of different clubs and organizations one can join. Something new they have begun is the service-learning. That's where students can volunteer with various organizations in Knoxville and the surrounding areas, and receive credit for their transcript and resume! If a student earns 60+ hours during their time at Pellissippi, they even graduate with special honors. There are always people to talk to and there are several special events for students that take place throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    Pellissippi's cafeteria is one of my favorite places on campus. I go there to grab some coffee and a snack between classes. It's also a great place to buy a meal if I am on campus at any time of the day. Breakfast, lunch, or dinner, it's all delicious, and I never regret getting my food there.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the quality and challenges I have found in Pellissippi's classes. My professors have pushed and stretched my abilities, and I have learned so much! I know I am prepared to transfer to a four-year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look forward to experiencing a diverse environment on campus! There are students of all ages and backgrounds. I have found long-lasting friendships in so many of my classes. Be prepared to have fun while learning, but also to do your work! Respect your professors and they will very much appreciate having you in class. Remember to have fun and work hard!

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi State Community College goes above and beyond for the sake of their students. My experience with academics, faculty, and student life have all been very pleasant! Choosing to attend Pellissippi is a fabulous choice, and I recommend it to everyone!

  • 10/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can always find a security officer in every building and nothing doesn't seem to be a hazard.

    Clubs and Activities

    These are pretty cool but not had a chance to join any this semester.

    What to do for fun

    I haven't been able to go to the gym yet but would love to because I have heard good things about it. The clubs and organizations are pretty cool.

    Food and Dining

    The pricing of the cafeteria food is a bit high.

    Tips for prospective students

    Can become challenging if you don't have a car. But the college itself is pretty good. The classes are an adequate size, it is a clean school, the teachers are pretty lenient under special circumstances.

    In three sentences

    Overall it is a good school. Yet it is still hard for me to be a student since I have no car and only one bus that goes out to the campus.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have great security!

    Bang for the buck

    It's very cheap compared to other schools I've looked at!

    Food and Dining

    I've never had a meal here, but I hear they are really good!

    Dorm Life

    You aren't offered dorms. So, you're either on your own or living with your parents.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier to pass than others. You just have to want it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend starting here if you have weaknesses in school. Otherwise, you may end up spending more and more money at a university than you would at a community college!

    In three sentences

    Pellissippi is a great school to begin at. I plan on transferring to a university for my bachelor degree from here. The staff is very helpful to everyone and a majority of them are nice!

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One thing I heard before I even started my first semester was that the security team on campus is amazing. A friend of mine told me that during his freshman year, he required their assistance a few times and they graciously helped him with things that ranged from helping him when he locked his keys in his car to walking him out after his evening classes to giving him a shoulder to cry on.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything on campus and they are available for all schedules.

    Great for these types of students

    All. Pellissippi is such a diverse campus that it absolutely surprises me.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on right on campus. If you take the time to read the flyers or leaf through your email, there is no way you can be bored. Also, the rec center is fantastic and has a ton of stuff available.

    Food and Dining

    The selection in the lunch room is really great. It's like a mini-store. A little expensive, but it's right on campus, so it's worth it.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The material for classes is challenging, but most instructors are willing to work with you. As long as you are willing to work for your grades, it is possible to do well.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is on all campuses.

    Greek Life

    I've seen a few Greeks, but not really a big deal here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and activities to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Working students and students with children.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    Main Campus and extension campuses for a student's convenience. Also less expensive than a four year college with transfer options to a four year college.

    What to do for fun

    Area venues and parks and recreation.

    Food and Dining

    okay...it's college!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but area apartments that are very affordable near public transportation.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take an interest survey to find out what career path is for you.

    In three sentences

    The application and registration process has been very easy. Every thing can be done on-line including obtaining financial information and awards. You have access also to an assigned advisor that will provide you with detail instructions on a degree path.

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat in the cafeteria so I would prefer not to answer as to if it is good or bad.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college, so it does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes it can be very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check online ratings for certain professors that you want to avoid getting.

    In three sentences

    It's challenging academically. The professors are not professional at all. The professors do not always respect the students.