Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Peninsula College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/10/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Great for getting an AA degree and trying out classes in fields of interest.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is great and they are very helpful too. when people lock themselves out of there cars or lost something they are on top of it just like that.

    Great for these types of students

    this college is great for any type of student especially people that love the outdoors, wildlife, mountains, and a beautiful view of victoria and the straights.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    on campus in the back of the woods there is a challenge course that people can do, even people that are not applied at the college can sign up to take the course to build trust and friendships.

    What to do for fun

    there are a variety of clubs and organizations at pc. the student board is creating activities all the time. at the pub there is a giant chess board you can play against a friend with. you can chill with any of your buddies in the pub there are also some concerts that play there and more.

    Food and Dining

    there is the bookaneer book store they sell snacks and some food and all the supplies you need to. there is also a little cafe' and coffee shop located in the pub building, they make really good sandwiches and some other food.

    Dorm Life

    peninsula college does not have any dorms, if they did i'm sure it would be fun.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics are challenging but all you have to do is pay attention ask questions and do your work. the teachers will go over stuff again if you need more help or you can even get extra help after classes. so just pay attention and do your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    this college is a perfect place to start, not to big and not to small. it is easy to find your way around campus and the staff are ever so helpful.

    In three sentences

    peninsula college is a beautiful college on the olympic peninsula up in the hills around the forest. the staff are very friendly and the teachers are ready to help you succeed in anything you do. overall i would recommend this college to anyone who is thinking about going to college in this area or from anywhere else.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't live on campus, but I did meet so many great people.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have trouble in any of your classes, your teachers are there to help you, but you have to show you want the help.

    In three sentences

    College is completely different from high school. Everyone is there to futher thier education. There are wonderful teachers that are there to help you every step of the way.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movies, diner, and enjoying nature.

    Food and Dining

    It has a cafe that serve homemade goods.

    Dorm Life

    unknown

    Academic Rigor

    good

    Tips for prospective students

    Study

    In three sentences

    The teachers here are great and know their stuff.......love it.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play soccer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention do all your work and work very hard.

    In three sentences

    This is a very friendly college. The staff is always there to lend a helping hand. a wonderful place to do work.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are shows in the Little Theatre, performances in the PUB and some sporting events.

    Academic Rigor

    A Peninsula College student has the opportunity to be intellectually stimulated by the subject matter and/or the teacher's/professor's interaction.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't give up on the initial administrative rigamaroll you have to endure when registering to become a student. Teachers/Professors have office hours - USE THEM! The Math Lab is a godsend - use it.

    In three sentences

    Peninsula College provides a comfortable and dynamic learning environment for all its students, no matter their station in life. A graduate of Peninsula College will be well prepared for the next academic or vocational post they hold. Nestled at the base of the Olympic Mountains, a Peninsula College attendee has a beautiful and serene view from any classroom.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you are taking night classes, you just have to call the campus security and they will walk you to your car...even if your classes are during the day.

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I'm aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for the amount.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities with the ASC. You'll just have to look at the student calendars.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you get all of your financial aid in before it's due, and also make sure that there isn't going to be anything that is going to stop the financial aid. That's what happened to me. And be active in the school...

    In three sentences

    The student services and book store has been very helpful in getting everything set up with me. They don't mind my 101 questions. Peninsula College is really great college to attend.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It's really expensive, bring your own food.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply to me.

    Academic Rigor

    Great! staff is available to help at any time as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep dates to withdraw and sell back books handy, because no one will tell you when it's happening.

    In three sentences

    Great professors and staff, terrible internet access. Great campus.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is at least one campus security officer on campus at all times. They are all friendly, and willing to open classrooms in order to find lost things. They also have a system where you can get alerts sent to your phones, email, etc. if anything is happening on campus. They are also willing to walk you to your car.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistant.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can create any kind of club possible at Peninsula College, you just have to find enough people to sign up.

    Great for these types of students

    Introverts. Creative minds. People who seek knowledge.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a ropes course in the woods behind campus.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the dances. Go to the games. Watch the movies that are there often. Get involved in the theater.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places you can get food on campus, from the campus bookstore, or through the cafeteria. The cafeteria can be a little overpriced. The cafeteria also doesn't offer fruit of any kind, because not enough people buy it, and it goes bad.

    Dorm Life

    I know that there's dorms somewhere, but have no clue where.

    Academic Rigor

    Peninsula College has professors that are more appropriate to their profession than their pay grade. Even though this is a community college, you are not missing out on a sub-par education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the staff. The staff are what makes PC run. Get to know the financial ladies, get to know the student services desk. Get involved.

    In three sentences

    Peninsula College is a great college for kids to start their academic careers! PC is also currently offering four-year degrees in four programs. PC also offers many different two-year degrees for fast-track career starters.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I found the cafeteria to be expensive and only open for a limited number of hours. Don't count on this being your primary source of meals. Pack a lunch.

    Academic Rigor

    I found the difficulty of the classes to range widely depending on what area of study you are in. Some of the classes can be laughably easy and others are extremely challenging.

    In three sentences

    This is a great small school if you live locally and want to get some technical training, or earn your AA. I found it very useful for completing prerequisites and suggested classes. Tuition is reasonable and they offer some unique and unexpected classes as well ( I took an excellent ocean kayaking class for my P.E. credit).

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Port Angeles is a pretty safe town. I've lived here my whole life and never had any trouble. Small town people watch out for each other. Plus there are always security guards on duty.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs and study body activities! There are a lot of ways to be social and meet people. I was a part of the Biology Club and got to go to Florida for two weeks to catch, study, track, and release freshwater turtles! One of the best experiences of my life!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone and everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a team building course in the woods at the back of the campus. I think its also called a challenge course? There are also awesome walking or running trails in the woods there too.

    Bang for the buck

    I think its a great college to go to and really isn't that expensive. I remember looking at other college and how much tuition and living expenses would be - AAHH! And I don't feel like a got a lower education just because I decided to pay less. I'm actually really proud of my education and college experience.

    What to do for fun

    Peninsula College has outstanding sports teams and also has a great ASB that plans all kinds of events and seasonal dances. There is always something going on!

    Food and Dining

    Peninsula College has a great gathering area called the PUB. They have a cafeteria there and coffee shop that serves yummy food! The Bookaneer (bookstore) is also in the same building and they sell smaller snacks and drinks. They have a lot of options to fit everyone's needs.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus living. But there are plenty of apartments and houses for rent within walking distance. There is also a city bus line that stops at the college.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not as rigorous as Harvard or Yale, but it is an outstanding community college working on expanding to a 4-year university. I've been a full time student there since I was a junior in High School and have taken plenty of great quality and challenging courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan! Get with an advisor or counselor and plan out your classes. Even if you're not sure what degree you want, they will help you pick classes that may spark something in you.

    In three sentences

    It's a great small town college, working on improving itself and growing. They have quite a few 2-year and 4-year programs for all walks of life. It's a charming campus and community focused.

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards always on patrol.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No parking cost for parking pass is a plus!

    What to do for fun

    There are many intramural sports, which allow you to get to know so many others and make lifetime bonds. There are a lot of clubs to join and the campus caters to the eco-friendly and hippies at heart. Plus, there is an entire ocean just blocks from class so when the weather is nice, you can spend the day at the beach!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are more challenging that the two colleges I have attended before. There are many classes to choose from, but you have to have self-discipline and a strong work ethic. The science classes are very hands on, so they are great to take if this is a learning technique you enjoy.

    Tips for prospective students

    A lot of the classes are 4 days a week, so you may want to keep that in mind when it comes to finding housing. Also, the curriculum is demanding and you do need to study every day. College is about having a social experience too, so keep that in mind.

    In three sentences

    It is a challenging, but fun school. There are many activities for students outside of the academic life. I also love the fact that it is so close to the water, because my labs are more hands on.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome!

    Greek Life

    Na/a

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots and lots of clubs! I'm not much of one to be in one but they look like a lot of fun.

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are nice trails with a river behind campus and we have a great view of the mountains.

    Bang for the buck

    Great prices

    What to do for fun

    They often have fun things to do in the pub and their gym is nice.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive! Ferry prices!

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any.

    Academic Rigor

    Not as difficult as a university I went to but, it challenges and teaches me what I need to know.

    Tips for prospective students

    A great community college that transfers to other universities. A great segue from high school.

    In three sentences

    Peninsula college's staff and students are friendly, welcoming and are there to succeed. I'm often quiet and stick to myself but when I do need assistance the employees are more than willing to help as much as they can.