Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Pennsylvania Col. of Technology (Penn Col.) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    The college atmosphere here is very friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    This schools professors know what they're talking about. I have learned a lot in just my first semester! Every major has a ton of hands on training.

  • 09/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to learn cause everything it mostly hands on

    Bang for the buck

    it worth it

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like the people here and its a club in walking distance from campus

    Am learning a lot

    Never go a day without homework in one of classes

  • 06/02/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 12 people found this review useful. 6 people found this inaccurate. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Teamsters on welfare

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT ATTEND

    Bang for the buck

    RIP OFF!!! Do not let the Penn State sheild fool you, this is not a affiliate of Penn State. The nature of this school is to take as much money form you and the government

    Did enjoy being here

    The atmosphere is cold and unfriendly. The general feeling is us against them toward anyone that is not from the immediate surrounding area. Even the instructor's maintain this attitude.

    Did learn a lot

    Contrary to the other two students this college does not provide instructor's that a complete understanding of their subject. And many teachers here just can not teach at all. I had to do most of my learning on my own. When I needed to use the tutor center some of the tutors claimed they had no knowledge of the subject they were meant to tutor! For the amount of money that they charge you would think that the college would provide a better education. They only care about the money,,, truly,,,beware!!

  • 06/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IF YOU HAVE GONE TO A VOCATIONAL SCHOOL AND WANT MORE THAN JUST AN ENTRY LEVEL JOB, THIS IS THE PLACE, ESPECIALLY FOR THOSE WHO WOULD LIKE TO WELD, BECAUSE THAT IS WHERE MY EXPERIENCE HAS BEEN THESE PAST TWO YEARS.

    Tips for prospective students

    MATH IS VERY INTENSE AND DIFFICULT. HAVE A STRONG MATH BACKGROUND AND SCHEDULE PLENTY OF TIME FOR HOMEWORK.

    Bang for the buck

    TOTALLY WORTH ALL THE LOANS I AM TAKING OUT, I HAVE REAL EXPERIENCE, NOT JUST BOOK KNOWLEDGE.

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE BEING HERE. MY FIRST YEAR WAS ABOUT GETTING USED TO BEING AWAY FROM HOME AND INDEPENDENT. MY SECOND YEAR I WAS AN RA AND LEARNED TO JUGGLE CLASSES AND WORK. NOW ENTERING MY 3RD YEAR I AM A SENIOR RA AND AM WORKING ON CAMPUS FOR THE SUMMER.

    Am learning a lot

    I AM DEFINITELY LEARNING MORE THAN I COULD HAVE IMAGINED. THE WELDING CLASSES AND WELDING THEORY ALONG WITH THE CNC PROGRAMMING AND ROBOTICS REALLY HELP ME TO SEE WHAT KIND OF FUTURE I MAY CONSIDER.

  • 01/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hands on students

    Am enjoying being here

    Its Williamsport, PA with little things to do..That keeps you actually on track of your studies.

  • 02/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hands on

    Tips for prospective students

    Hands on is the best way to learn, but you have to remember that the textbook is your second professor for that class. Meaning if the professor assigns you a chapter to read for homework read it, knowing that the teacher can pop a quiz on you to see if your reading the material.

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the buck I really see paying 22000 dollars a year kinda obsure when some of the classes aren't counted towards your major.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying myself here with all the fun things that are going on (on or off campus).

    Am learning a lot

    As a Penn College student I am learning a lot, practically a lot more than what I did know, by learning hands on. With great college professors they're willing to help you learn even better in and out of the class room.

  • 03/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that benefit from hands on learning, visual learners, and people who are eager to learn!

    Tips for prospective students

    A great list of different majors, all classes are great and the labs that go with them are hands on and interactive. All of the teachers are willing to help you succeed if you make an effort to ask for help! It is a great school!

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive, but classes are all hands on and labs are a great place for additional learning and for places to practice what you learn in class.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are always events going on that are lead by various campus based clubs, and sports games are a way to show school pride!

    Am learning a lot

    All of the teachers are very knowledgeable in their specific fields. They know their information and teach it in a way that helps everyone learn.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Business and Technology oriented students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do you're homework and show up on time to class.

    Bang for the buck

    A little on the high side, but who said college wasn't expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a fun place to learn. I haven't had a bad professor yet!

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The hands on experience is a great learning tool.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read all material that is given to you. Take advantage of the help they offer. Study hard and have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little expensive, but you get allot for the money. Experience you do not get at other schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    I move to the area 5 years ago and love it here.

    Am learning a lot

    There is allot of information that is learned just in the firs semester. The professors are great and help when asked.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who has likes a hands one style of learning, or wants to work with the most updated technology in the industry. Penn College is a special mission affiliate of Penn State, like Hersey's Medical School. Penn College is a Penn State Technology School but is a different entity from Penn State. The college keeps everything in their labs updated constantly, and even updates the buildings and lab areas constantly. The masonry lab is a brand new facility on the north side of the campus and the welding lab was just renovated in August 2010.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some of my tips would be to get involved in an organization as soon as you can. It helps you learn how the college operates, meet new people quickly, it all looks good on resumes, and it's a lot of fun! Another is don't go home every weekend, your missing out on your college experience. At the point that you do go home every weekend you are just paying for an education instead of the life experience that being at college has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is a little expensive for my personal taste but with the amazing atmosphere the faculty and staff produce, the up to date technology, the laundry list of organizations and events, I have come to the conclusion that this education and my time is worth every penny and moment that I spend here.

    Am enjoying being here

    Besides this past weekend, because of a Family Reunion, I haven't gone home in over 4 months, including these past summer months. There is so much to do here at Penn College its almost upsetting that I can't do everything that comes up on my calendar. Student Activities has events for almost every single day of the year. There are over 50 organizations, from major related, to religion based, to just hobbies, and even fraternities and sororities, that all do events on campus for the Penn College body and personal activities too. There is a ton of stuff to do here.

    Am learning a lot

    I came to this college with already 3 years of vocational experience in my major and 2 years of work experience. Starting my first class year I was already learning things that I have never knew before or we went into more depth on those fuzzy subjects that never really stuck. Now being 2 years into my degree I'm constantly learning new things. I'm a Manufacturing Engineering student and I just finished a robotics class this past semester, we got to use, program, and design the brand new robots and robotic cells. Its incredible!

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    dorms are sizes of real apartments! hard to find at most schools.

    Academic Rigor

    pay close attention to academics. help whenever needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    bring a laptop lock. dress appropriate on weather days. find new friends and get involved as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    i love the small classes. i love the attention given by each professor. and the food isn't bad either! :)

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are cops everywhere out here. the school has its own station right on campus and they watch over every one who comes and goes.

    Greek Life

    we have those here and they are nothing like the movies i hear they are a great thing and are really fun to be in.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a lot for one person to do here. this school has everything you could imagine for fun in every field.

    Great for these types of students

    this is great for the vocational type of student because you dont have to do a lot of the boring math and english classes. you really get to do what you want. don't get me wrong you still have to take the not so fun classes but they are not bad.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they had different majors build a house in the middle of campus. they had engineers, hvac, electrical, earth moving, builders, block layers. they had the whole nine yards there.

    Bang for the buck

    you get everything you could imagine form this school they do everything they can to help every one. all study groups are free and you major activities really go into what you really want to do with all the fun stuff.

    What to do for fun

    you can go see movies, run, play a sport. you can get a gym membership. there is a lot to do really you just need to make your own fun. that is if the school does not have anything for you to do they have people come in from all over the place like comedians and other fun things. there are information things every where.

    Food and Dining

    the food is not the best but you also need to see that they cook for a lot of people in one day. yet they will make you anything you want and any way you want it.

    Dorm Life

    everything here is nicer than a hotel room. you are close to everything. the food is just a short walk away also with any study places.

    Academic Rigor

    this school is not a hard place to attend. the cores are easy just don't fall behind and you will do great. none of the teachers want to see you fail so they help you as much as they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    get started as soon as you can. don't be afraid of anything like leaving friends and family its really easy to make new friends. once you get in a major your with the same people every day so you all become really close.

    In three sentences

    this college is one of the best colleges out there for some one who is not to excited to go back to school. this school has short corse. it is an amazing place every one is extremely nice and you really do learn about what you love.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Cops are on alert here on campus and off campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    so many activities that go on. There are so many that I cant go to 3 in one day or week!

    Great for these types of students

    that love to walk around, and love to be with other people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not sure about. But everything is right there and easy to get to.

    Bang for the buck

    most students get a lot of financial aid, i only had to pay about 7k a semi so it wasn't to bad

    What to do for fun

    they have a lot of sport and activities to do, they can sometimes include the teachers also! For example we just had a volleyball match against the teachers. It was teachers vs. students. Had so much FUN !

    Food and Dining

    food is so good here, i didn't think id like it but I LOVE it.

    Dorm Life

    It is very clean, and good atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    I would give it a four star, because its reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say to just show up to classes, most professors base their grades on how many times you show up for class about 20 percent of your grade is based on attending college!

    In three sentences

    I love all of my teachers here, they makes it easier to learn but at the same time make it FUN for all! Love this place, so easy to get around also.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The instructors all seem very eager to help and truly want the students to learn.

    What to do for fun

    I commute, but there seem to be activites available.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten in the dining facility.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage new students to get familiar with the campus. I would also stress the importance of forming a relationship with the instructors and attending all classes.

    In three sentences

    I am pleased with my experience. The instructors are knowledgable and eager to help. I plan to continue attending.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    ok. could use more healthy options at a lower cost.

    Dorm Life

    non-traditional student not living on campus

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own police force that patrol the campus. There are security gates around the dorms that lock after 10pm and only students can get in. It is an extremely safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for anyone at this school.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want hands-on experience to go with their degree. There are a lot of labs at this school for your major. You learn hands on what it is going to be like when you go to work after college!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite tradition is the Midnight Breakfast. Sunday before finals week each semester, the school hosts a Midnight Breakfast from 11pm to 1am. They serve pancakes with ice cream! And there are so many toppings to put on! A ton of people show up to this. It's a great place to meet new people and go hang out with your friends. It's also cool because they have live music. Even if you don't want to eat all the sugar, it's still just fun to hang out at. And free!!!

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a really good price for tuition compared to a lot of major universities. At this school, you are still getting a degree with a Penn State affiliation without the price of going to Penn State! The dorms are really nice for a low price. The bookstore will help you out at the end of the year and buy your books back so you don't lose that much money buying them!

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on around campus. Your Resident Assistant will post flyers in the hallway of your dorm building! There is always something to do. My friends and I liked to have movie nights in our dorms-- we'd make popcorn and hang out in our pajamas. It was fun! There is also a mall within 20 minutes. There are a lot of spots to go hiking at too, which is a lot of fun. The school also does rock climbing days and bowling days.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many options to eat on campus. Some of it is buffet and some you can order different items. There is also an on-campus restaurant that culinary students prepare and serve food at. Twice a semester, you can use a board meal to eat at the restaurant. It's really neat! One of the dining halls is also open til 11, so you will be able to eat late at night if you want. There are also two convenience stores that you can buy snacks and drinks at. The library has a small cafe where you can get smoothies and coffee. Delicious!!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms come with one, two, or three bedrooms. They also have a living room, bathroom, and kitchen (with a full size fridge, sink, and microwave). Freshmen dorms in Dauphin Hall are in pods, where you have your own room or one roommate. These dorms have a shared bathroom with about five people. The other freshmen dorms each have their own bathroom and you can have 1, 3, or 5 roommates depending on the room size. These dorms are actually really nice! I was surprised on how much space there was. It's like a mini-apartment. I really loved that there were two rooms because it gave us for girls a lot of space!

    Academic Rigor

    It's very important to stay on top of your academics at this school! If you find yourself not doing so well, talk to the professor to see what you can do to bring your grade up! There are strict policies at this school regarding academic probation and suspension. Also, don't take too many classes as they can get overwhelming! You want to have time to go to the library and study along with relaxation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go out and do things around campus-- don't just sit in your room! It's easy to make friends with all the events around campus. If you don't know where something is, ask a student! People are more than willing to help you out if you're lost.. we were freshmen once too! If you need help in classes, go to the teacher's office hours. They will be more than happy to help with any questions! They want you to succeed! Don't bring a lot of extra things you don't need to the dorms. Even though the dorms are really big, with a kitchen, livingroom, and bathroom, don't overclutter the area. You are sharing with other people! Have a meal plan! Going to eat on campus with friends is always fun.. especially because there are so many different spots to eat at! Take a tour of the campus on the day you move in so you know where your classes are. Take your roommates and have some bonding time! If you miss home.. call your mom or dad. Everyone gets homesick and it's nothing to be ashamed of! HAVE FUN! Try things you wouldn't normally do! Make new friends! College is a learning experience, both in and out of the classroom.

    In three sentences

    You can tell the teachers really care about students; a lot of them will go above and beyond to help you succeed. The small class sizes allow you to ask questions and interact with classmates; the professor actually knows your name and it's just a really friendly learning environment. There are always tons of events going on around campus, which offers great opportunities to new students to meet friends!

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i don't dine there.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are very difficult, but if you work hard and put your mind to it with a little help it not to bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    one thing i would say if you are a perspective student is go in with a clear head.

    In three sentences

    if i had to rate kit by numbers i would give it an 8. it is a really good school with small classes and has a high placement rate.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Real college police with real guns. They love finding something to fine you $50 for.

    Greek Life

    I don't know I'm not involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    Every major has a club and there are also other clubs around campus to be involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Hicks and Rednecks..... and girls

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of are teachers kiss a cow.

    Bang for the buck

    Very uptodate and hands on.

    What to do for fun

    Fishing, Movies, Bowling; This is a very boring town and everyone on campus goes home on the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    Its edible and better than high school.

    Dorm Life

    Very Clean! They give you lots of room to stay in too.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major you will have a large work load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your major wisely. Don't jump majors around and waist your money.

    In three sentences

    Hands on. Very good teachers. Small classes.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When you come on to campus for the start of the school year we have a message alert system that you would need to set up that goes straight to your phone via text message. So if there are any cancelations, or anything else that happens on campus. You will get it via your phone incase you are away from a computer. Every night around 8pm all the doors leading into the dorms are locked, excpet for the weekends they are always locked. At 10pm the gates are locked so you need to swipe your id to even get into any of the gates to get into the doorm. There is always a police officer on duty at night. The police rive around campus all the time.

    Greek Life

    There are three fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many I cannot name them all. Different clubs for different majors as well.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like to go hiking, fishing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Christmas time each club and any other different organizations on campus make Christmas cards and they are set up in the green way and we have a whole lighting ceremony where the best cards are named and they win prizes. Another cool thing is that the Sunday before finals for each semester we have midnight breakfast. It is really cool because it is the big event before finals and a chance to relax before the coming week where you will be studying.

    Bang for the buck

    Find out from different students which teacher is good, because if not you will feel like you are wasting your money on a class because you did not learn anything from it.

    What to do for fun

    There are different activities going on all across campus. You just have to look at the stall wall to see what is going on. Also join a club. Another thing is that the first week back to school during the fall semester, you have the chance to see any of the little league world series games that are going on.

    Food and Dining

    We have about 10 dining units on campus and they do some great specials at Le Jeune Chef Restaurant that uses your board meals. Also Le Jeune Chef is the restaurant on campus that is open to the public that is used by the School of Hospitality.

    Dorm Life

    It is good, just if it a week or two before going home for the weekends to see what is happening.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends of your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your hardest to stay on campus for the first couple of weeks. You will meet new friends and you will get to see what is on campus during the weekends.

    In three sentences

    I love the class sizes, it is around 10-15 people per class size. You will know your teachers by name and they are all very friendly. Which is a plus because most colleges that are big do not even know your name or who you are at all.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I'm am part of Phi Theta Kappa. However, there are plenty of other Greek groups on campus to enjoy time with.

    Bang for the buck

    High tuition but very well worth it with the great staff and facilities. Just apply yourself!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking to transfer into this college from another, be warned that they dont accept many outside credits. You will have to retake a lot.

    In three sentences

    PCT has wonderful teachers that make you think for yourself. There are great labs for medical classes. Most importantly, the staff there cares what happens with their students!

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very very safe here. You need a college ID to get into the buildings at night and police sit at every entrance to insure the safety of the students.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for hands on students. There is plenty of things to do on campus and many oppurtunities and outlets to get help with any class you may be having difficulties in.

    What to do for fun

    For fun i like to go for dinner with my friends are do homework outside. There are also many sport activities to participate in and watch.

    Food and Dining

    The options of places and variety of foods to eat are vast. There is an all you can eat restaurant in my dorm building and also a convenience store. There is also restaurants all over campus and in the library to accomidate those students who do not live on campus and are near for classes.

    Dorm Life

    The options for living arrangements on campus are vast. I currently have a room to myself and i love it. The other people in my hallway are shy like i am but we like to relax and cook together in our huge kitchen. There is plenty of space for big groups of people to hangout.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that the standard of learning here at Penn College is fairly easy to meet. By no means is it easy but they arent overly torturing you with assignments that arent relevent to the major you are pursuing

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip i would have for perspective students is to come prepared. Be stocked up on school supplies, you go through alot of paper!

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Penn College. I have only been here one semester but I have had a great experience. Its very easy to fin your way around campus.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Auto Tech, Computer Tech, Nursing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The old building on the street with the campus police is the old high school.

    What to do for fun

    There's tons to do around town and at the mall.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live off campus ASAP if possible and drive smart in the area there are tons of elementary schools.

    In three sentences

    They are close to almost everything. For everything they are not they have free bus access. Their graduates have high success rates.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is always 1 or 2 cop cars always driving around campus.

    Greek Life

    also good if you make the geek squad then your set.

    Clubs and Activities

    sports and activities are fun and you get good benefits from them.

    Great for these types of students

    technological students mostly students who learn by hands.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    human vs zombies is unusual because i wouldn't thought it would be allowed in a college.

    Bang for the buck

    this college is very expensive the classes aren't worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    i play sports for fun and also go to college sponsored events.

    Food and Dining

    3 star rating on the food and dining because the need to change what the cook on weekly basis.

    Dorm Life

    4 star rating on dorm life because it is really good but there are some flaws.

    Academic Rigor

    4 star rating

    Tips for prospective students

    this would be a good experience for you, when you leave you would not regret choosing this college.

    In three sentences

    This college has a fair residents life environment. This college is very safe has his own campus police. You are graded fair in this college.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own police department. (they become annoying when it comes to parking tickets)

    Greek Life

    Our greek life is relaxed, there are no greek houses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many of the men on campus have trucks that have big mud tires on lifts. There is a great TV room in the campus center.

    Bang for the buck

    Use your graduation profile on SIS to make sure that you are taking classes relevant to graduation.

    What to do for fun

    Campus life is pretty quiet but we do have many clubs and some on campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food varies between the eatery's. I would say compared to other campus food the food here taste pretty well.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus however I have plenty of friends who do. The dorms are beautiful only down fall is they shut down during breaks forcing you to go home even if finances don't allow you to.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be tough just stay strong.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep focused! Know the point system if applying for health science program.

    In three sentences

    The staff is very helpful and friendly. Beautiful campus with a mix of small city and rural life. Great place to call home!

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college police do not miss a beat. They have many many security systems in place to keep the students safe.

    Greek Life

    PennTech does offer a greek life, but I have never been a part of it, and I am not sure how it works.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and Activities, in fact, to many to list.

    Great for these types of students

    PennTech is a great school for the non tradional type, although they do have an amazing amount of right out of high school students as well, they seem to thrive very well in the atmoshpere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I honestly do not know of any specific traditions, but the main building use to be the high school that my mother attended as a child, it is very interesting to me to walk threw the halls and image my mother doing the same as a child.

    Bang for the buck

    Pennsylvania College of Technology is a wonderful school. I am very excited to be continuing my education there. I believe with the degree that I earn I will finally be able to support not only myself, but my two children as well. Thank you for your time

    What to do for fun

    Pennsylvania College of Technology offers many many activities to keep you busy. They have a newsletter called the stall wall that informs you of all the fun activities on campus. Also the school is located in the middle of an interesting city with activities the students can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The food could definitely be a little better, and maybe a little cheaper. In all fairness, they do like to get the students input on what food items to offer. It helps keep everyone happy, but feel free to pack a lunch, you might be happier at the end of the day for it.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived the dorm life being that I am a non-traditional student. But I do know that the College keeps them very clean, and well maintained. I would deffinately recommend it to anyone who was interested.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses that Pennsylvania College of Technology only meet once a week, therefore the classes are jammed pack full of information, other courses are spread out a little bit more, but all in all i would say that they will keep you on your toes for the next twelve weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would engourage every prospective student to check out every avenue that the college offers. They know how to make people feel welcome, and comfortable. Speak with your advises, and also students in the same study of field as yours, so you have an idea of what is expected of you.

    In three sentences

    Pennsylvania College of Technology is wonderful. They work very well with non-traditional students to achieve their goals. They also have flexible scheduling, and online classes to help, someone with a family, earn their degree.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police work hard to keep this campus safe and well maintained. cops patrol not only the campus but the surrounding streets of williamsport to catch any crimes and make it safe for students to enjoy themselves around campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is slowly picking up more at this school. There are a hand full of groups that raise a great deal of money and give back to the community. They are very involved in the college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a hand full of sporting activities to participate in throughout the course of your college career. Clubs are one of the colleges best assets. There are clubs for all types of groups.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students. There are hundred of degrees offered to meet any one's needs. Those that learn by doing and hands on activities will benefit greatly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many places students like to relax and hang out in. The largest place that this takes place at is the library. Many students use the library for its main purposes as well as a great place to meet up with friends and have a coffee.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for as well as getting out of classes what you put into them. The more you participate in the courses the more education you will recieve for your money.

    What to do for fun

    There are many sporting activities to do in the area. Located in the heart of the city is it easy to access almost any store needed. With a short drive down the road there is access to a large mall and many movie facilities1

    Food and Dining

    I wish the dorms still allowed a stove to cook your own meals but the food provided by food services is affordable as well as a wide selection to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are the perfect size for the number of occupants living in them. They could be a little more private but they are the nicest I've seen on the east coast.

    Academic Rigor

    Many classes are transferable as well as are accepted from other courses. This school has made its way up the charts very quickly.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you learn by doing than this is the best school to attend. Teacher to student ratio is perfect on getting the attention you need to learn.

    In three sentences

    Hands on Learning!

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a hands on learner then you will LOVE it here.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is awesome! There are nine dining places and they serve different things. they have panini's, pizza, buffet's, and much more.

    Dorm Life

    I love my room and roommates! I live in an apartment with three other girls. The room is very nice. The showers are small but everything else is awesome. And if you like to cook your in luck because there is a kitchen! there is no stove or oven but you can bring a toaster oven and it works the same.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you study and work hard you can do well in classes. some teachers are easy and others are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard! some of the classes can be difficult but if you study you will do fine.

    In three sentences

    Penn College is great! The students are great and the area is so beautiful. The professors are also very helpful.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hands on students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The nearly Naked mile is when students load up the layers of clothing and run a mile taking off articles of clothing to be donated.

    What to do for fun

    Meet new people. And they have a lot of activities on and off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get you application in as soon as you can. Start applying for loans and Grants. And Have a major in mind

    In three sentences

    This is a great college. The teachers are great. And so are the class sizes.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always responding to calls instantly and posting important things online for our safety

    Greek Life

    Fun and friendly, we meet new people and friends to hang out with and have fun

    Clubs and Activities

    Chess club and many many others available for construction and welding and every other major

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working and hands on students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight breakfast is the best and fun times on campus

    Bang for the buck

    Many things to do that are free of charge like bus rides and free boarding for bus trip to anywhere in Williamsport

    What to do for fun

    Watch movies, ice skating, sports, fun in the library with the Mac computers.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and chefs make almost whatever you want

    Dorm Life

    Always something to do around with new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Very helpful school

    Tips for prospective students

    Very great school definetly give it a shot, great technical aspects

    In three sentences

    Very good school, awesome hands on techniques. Teaches you to think on your feet. Teaches you hands on and liberal arts which even in my construction major is helpful to me.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Once you pay for your meals and boarding, there are alot of chances to get free things from t-shirts to cash. There are plenty of free activities and shows that run from concerts and comedians to bingo and pool nights.

    In three sentences

    This is a good school to learn Culinary Arts from. There are a great deal of opportunities to learn about the business from on the job training in Le Jeune Restaurant to getting an internship and learning at the hand of worldwide chefs. This school teaches you the basics and how to build upon them so you can get a good job when you graduate.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends and go into town.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and you will do great.

    In three sentences

    Pennsylvania College of Technology has taught me so much over the past 2.5 years. The teachers are excellent and will help you whenever you need it.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cope outnumber the cops in Williamsport

    Greek Life

    Their are 3 fraternities

    Bang for the buck

    Couple minutes from the famous Little League World Series held every fall across the bridge and seating on the lawn in the outfield is an amazing exerience

    What to do for fun

    movie theaters,mall ,etc

    Food and Dining

    All the food places on campus are very good .

    Dorm Life

    It was a very friendly experience and most of my roommates have been cool and liked to hangout. I found it was better when i could pick my roommates cause then i could add my buddies and get someone in my major so we could help each other out on the big takes home exam that take an entire weekend to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major and the number of credits you take will determine how rigorous it will be.I'm in an electronics major where the theory gets confusing at times and the professor will throw an exams a day or two after the material is taught it possible to pass but you have to spend a lot of time on studying in order to pass the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get help if you are falling behind because the instructors move fast on certain subject. Form study groups with classmates or teach a friend someone not in your major the concepts and help them learn it Stay positive and never give up because you will succeed if you try your hardest

    In three sentences

    Penn College was high on my college list for several reasons the class sizes are small, their a lot of hands on learning on what the industries in the field use and campus life.They offer a ton of support for the students whether it's in person,in the tutoring center,interactive help on the web their always away to help kids succeed at Penn College.I would rate Penn College a 9.75/10 being a very good score .

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    get much of the stuff together for scholarship the soon the better overall you will be in ro an experience of a lifetime

    In three sentences

    willing to work with you help you even if you have disables this school too be 100out of 100

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe on campus. Campus police patrol regularly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many club and sports/ activities to do. Always things going on here.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student whether they are shy or outgoing.

    What to do for fun

    Always things happening on campus to keep you active.

    Food and Dining

    Not like home cooking but close.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very large, well maintained and well worth living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Very well rounded academically. Many options as far as careers or education.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe, theres this thing called the green zone, meaning it maps the whole campus out with green and tells you where the unsafe zones are.

    Clubs and Activities

    LOTS of clubs and activities to be done here.

    Great for these types of students

    Types of students who want to become nurses or guys who like to build things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing really.

    Bang for the buck

    I think its pretty reasonable

    What to do for fun

    I go to the gym for fun

    Food and Dining

    I dont really eat here at Penn College

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus. Never lived in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Some things here are hard, things like Bio15 and you really have to work hard to receive and A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you fill out your FASFA before the deadline!!!

    In three sentences

    Penn College has an amazing library. It also has one of the best gyms Ive seen. Penn College financial aid is pretty great too, it has helped me out a lot.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This college has something for everyone and there is always help when you need it.

    Food and Dining

    There's always something for everyone no matter what you're hungry for. There is plenty of places to chose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very clean and well kept. RA's are very easy to get along with!

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very welcoming! I don't have a problem with trying to contact any of my teachers and I haven't been disappointed.

    In three sentences

    Pennsylvania College of Technology is a very friendly college. The financial office is extremely helpful and can answer all of your questions. I feel very comfortable and confident attending Penn College.

  • 11/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Penn college has their own police department on campus. The dorms are gated and guarded starting at 10 pm each night.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the outdoors type of student, a student who likes to go home most weekends, a student who wants to bring their car to school with them ($80 parking pass per year).

    Bang for the buck

    Penn college is not the most expensive college I was looking at but it certainly wasn't the cheapest. My best advise on this matter (from experience) you get what you pay for

    What to do for fun

    Williamsport is actually a very boring town in all, but if your over 21 there is the cell block which is a night club/bar. Student activities try to have a lot if activities on campus. Penn college has a fitness center free to students. There is a river walk which is about a 2 mile path along the Susquehanna river.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Penn college is not the best food in the world but I would say that it's the best dorm food I've had.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the forms are great. As a freshman you will most likely be located in the roseð??¹ street commons which consist of different living styles as well as a large variety of apartment styles.

    Academic Rigor

    This would depend on your major of course, but if you work hard you will see it pay off.

    Tips for prospective students

    New students should take college life seriously. College is a full time commitment, if you treat it like your full time job you will get a lot out of it. The health science majors are very competitive so if you are choosing one of them just realize you will have to work very hard.

    In three sentences

    Pennsylvania college of technology is a beautiful campus in central Pennsylvania that has a great selection of majors. The faculty and staff are always friendly and willing to work with students.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only concern of the Campus Safety crew is underage drinking while they have students being jumped walking in or around campus. Their priorities are not right.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on which type of major you choose you will get the most bang for your buck. Some degrees are in much more demand than others, also many majors have a very low starting salary.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym, go to the skatepark, play outdoors or even go hiking. Not too much to do around the town of Williamsport.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not too bad depending on where you go but there is not enough variety at all, it is the same thing everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not the greets place in my opinion, the RA's are trained to be very strict and do not allow students to have any fun. They are also very protected and gated, kind of like a prison.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be rigorous depending of your major, but most general education classes aren't too bad if you put your mind to it.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is not a party school, the security is quite strict about this.

    In three sentences

    Pennsylvania College of Technology has a great choice of majors that are both innovative and in high demand. The professors are great and class sizes are small. There are a few things that can be improved but for the most part it is nice.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students need a car to get anywhere off campus. There is a movie theater about a mile off campus, but anything farther, a car is needed to reach it.

    Tips for prospective students

    For other students, I suggest off campus housing. The meal plan and housing contract are expensive and unnecessary unless you can't cook at all.

    In three sentences

    Penn College offers interesting and employable courses for all of their majors. All of the teachers in the Welding Engineering Major have real world experience and I am able to learn so much as a student at Penn College.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has great security. The gate is locked from 10p.m. to 5a.m. of course you can still go in and out with your ID card.

    Clubs and Activities

    PCT has a lot of clubs to join. Activities are everywhere and people are really easy to get a long with.

    Great for these types of students

    PCT is really diverse we have everything from country people to people that love electronics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of pavilions on campus. You can go to them and have cookouts there really convenient.

    Bang for the buck

    PCT definitely gives you your education dollar. Many of the professors will remind you what your paying for, and encourage you to learn as much as you can.

    What to do for fun

    PCT has a lot of fun stuff to do on campus. They are always sending out emails to come to some event. They have XBOX competitions, and there is usually a football game going on in the court yard. In winter there are mass snow ball fights that are a lot of fun. PCT has many activities and organizations to join so you will never be bored.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a strong passion for your major. Form a strong relationship with your professors because they will be your primary learning source.

    In three sentences

    Pennsylvania College of Technology (PCT) is a great college that has great professors and majors. PCT will help you in any way from financial aid to ensuring you find a job after you graduate. PCT stands apart from other Colleges, every faculty member really knows how to keep you confident, and will you assist you in every way.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are constantly around. They send out emails to students any time something happens, so everyone is aware and careful. There are call boxes all over campus as well.

    Greek Life

    No sororities, but they're working on it.

    Bang for the buck

    Its pretty expensive, but everything here is NEW and in very good condition, from the buildings to the equipment.

    What to do for fun

    There's a giant mall very close, and free buses for students. When the weather is warm, they have first Fridays where students are bussed into town and can get food, crafts, or just shop. The town surrounding us is pretty nice.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the food is meh, but they usually have a healthy option. There is a place to get something to eat in almost every building. You can have sandwiches and such custom made, and they're always good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fairly new, and up to date. Certain dorm situations even clean shared bathrooms and commons. I got my first choice in dorms, which is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes have a decent workload. Majors requiring human anatomy and such require heavy studying. Some classes are fairly basic however.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work your butt off. There are super-competitive majors, and super competitive people. Take advantage of free tutoring and services.

    In three sentences

    Overall, a good school. The people are nice, dorms are clean, classes are challenging. You definitely get your degree that works.

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have found the campus to be safe. When you start school all safety produces are explained to you. The campus has police that are located on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of different clubs, activities and sports. I really enjoy using the gym that is right on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are several different places to eat. Sit done meals, or you can grab a quick snack. There are also eating places and grocery store very close to campus.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorm life, everything you need can be found on campus. The college has a lot of activities, clubs and sports.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had a good experience with my classes, if I feel I need a little extra help it is always there for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an appointment to attend an open house and you will see how much Pennsylvania college of Technology has to offer you. I'm pretty sure you will be impressed.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a college degree along with hands on training this is the college for you. I'm in my second semester and I have already learned more then I thought in such a short amount of time. This college has so many resources to help you to be as successful as you can.

  • 04/11/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    New college population is younger than usual now there is new dormatories

    In three sentences

    A-hole school, Told me to leave and not come back and not welcomed here ( to their school) Rude to this day, Think their all that and putting you in debt by the day.