Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Pennsylvania State Univ.-Penn State Abington Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/01/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Penn State Abington is a great place for the student who is not yet sure of what his major is going to be. The basics are covered, in detail, and even if you should decide to move on to another school, the education received should transfer easily to any other place you would want to go. Penn State Abington also offers a great deal of extra-curricular activities; and more than just sports, although the sports are an up and coming thing, for both men and women. Penn State Abington currently is a member of both the NEAC and ECAC and has earned a Division III status in the NCAA. They currently have teams in 13 intercollegiate sports including: women's cross country, men's and women's soccer, women's volleyball, men's and women's basketball, baseball, men's golf, men's and women's lacrosse, softball, and men's and women's tennis. There are groups and clubs of all sorts, and the staff are more than happy to help you start and even fund your own organization, if it is not already currently on campus! This is a great place to be!

    Tips for prospective students

    Penn State Abington has no on-campus dormitories, but can assist the non-local student to find housing in the area. Likewise, because it is a good place to start, the earlier you can apply, the better. The decision as to whether to transfer to University Park, or another campus can always be made at a later time, especially after getting a good start in the basics needed for any and all degrees. Being a Land Grant School, the tuition is much less than practically any other College or University in the Commonwealth, so applications come in early and many people apply. They do look at the entire individual, so just because your SAT scores aren't the best doesn't necessarily mean that you don't have a shot at acceptance. Likewise, the same goes for scholarship and grant applications and programs.

    Bang for the buck

    What can I say ... This is PENN STATE! One of the top Universities in the country; with opportunities and answers for all of your educational needs. The ability to not only turn out the best kinds of scholars, but also well-rounded individuals, who are an asset to the school and the community, as well as to themselves. I am a legacy student (meaning that other family members have attended and graduated from here: father, grandfather, aunt, great-uncle and 2 cousins), but I am starting to see that Penn State is more than just a place to learn and receive an eventual degree, but truly is A WAY OF LIFE! There is so much more to Penn State than just football (although that's pretty darned good) and the Abington Campus is now in the process of moving into a league of its' own, becoming an individual force to be reckoned with, as well as being a part of, and able to draw on, the vast resources of a powerful whole. They say that one of every 27 college graduates in the country has some manner of ties to Penn State, and I agree. It truly IS a lifestyle, and it is a matter of pride when we declare that ... We are ...PENN STATE!

    Am enjoying being here

    I decided to start with a smaller campus, a student body about as large as that of my Philadelphia Public High School. I will have the ability to eventually go to University Park (if i want) and move up to a campus that is as big as a small city! Or, if I so desire, I can stay at Abington for 4 years and earn a full baccalaureate degree in many majors, without leaving home. The campus is in a beautiful rural setting, is not too big, and makes every day a delight. There are both old and new buildings and people who are always willing to help you. A bookstore on campus, as well as a full cafeteria in the Student Union Building and a snack-serving lounge in the Science Building, along with a full and well stocked library. A very relaxing place to spend my time between classes.

    Am learning a lot

    I have just started and have already learned so much, that my horizons have completely changed. The teachers are so good, and so involved with their subjects and students, that they have started a fire in me which has caused me to re-think my goals and expand my horizons. I am now undecided as to my future, but I have many good people to help me on my way, and I know my future is brighter!

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs offered.

    What to do for fun

    The mall is cool or movie after classes.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is not the best but there are good resturants and food spots near by.

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms on campus but there is off campus housing available.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great here but not too stressful so I wouldn't call it rigors but there is critical and informing work involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in a small setting then this is a great school to go to.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school to begin your college career. Professors are helpful and the campus is clean and calming. You'll catch on quick too, so if that is a worry, no worries here. I love PSU and what it has to offer.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants in the area. I would not eat at this cafeteria! I found mold on the bagels!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms do not exist at this campus. There is a facebook group that you can visit though, for local apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at this campus push you, but not to the extend where you want to give up. It's an overall great experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Build relationships with the professors at this campus. I promise you, you won't regret it.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college campus, which provides many opportunities for college students. The campus is great, as well as the professors. PSU Abington is a school that is worth checking out!

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    During my time here, there were no trouble around. It is in a secluded area. The safety patrol roam the campus not as often as I would like.

    Greek Life

    If you want to experience the Greek life, this is NOT the campus for you. We only have one fraternity and one sorority here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to choose from. There is a mandatory common break from 12-1 pm daily. Most clubs are during this time, so there is always time for you to join a club during that time.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who live in the area and want to stay at home, prefer small class sizes, or who wants to get into main campus their junior year.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs that you can get involved. If there is not one that interest you, you can always start a new club. It is relatively easy to start a club.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay; however, there is only a small selection you can choose from. The campus have a buffet and many fast food areas around it that makes up for it. There is no all-you-can-eat buffet style dining option on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms. If you do not live nearby, there is apartments you can rent relatively close to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are hard; some of the classes are not. It depends on how prepared you were before getting on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to come here, schedule your classes as early as possible. Although the small class sizes are good for individual attention, it also feels up really quick.

    In three sentences

    It's a nice little campus. There is no dorming, so a great place for anyone that wants to commute. If you like smaller class sizes for more individual attention, this college is for you.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are good

    Great for these types of students

    Every type; smart, geeks, athletes,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    I am neutral on this question

    What to do for fun

    There are many things like basketball, socializing, library and clubs

    Food and Dining

    The food is good

    Dorm Life

    This campus has no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging to everyone experienced or new

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is to stay on top of your work and do not procrastinate because it can hurt you.

    In three sentences

    Penn state is good. I like the teachers. The teachers are very helpful

  • 08/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    PSU is great for everybody! Step right up and join the experience!

    Tips for prospective students

    Relax, come prepared, and don't procrastinate!

    Bang for the buck

    Penn State is one of the nation's best schools, provides an excellent education, has the most enthusiastic student body and isn't terribly debt-consuming. What else could anyone want or need?

    Am enjoying being here

    PSU is such a remarkably accepting and warm school. The atmosphere, the student body and faculty... absolutely phenomenal. Everyone and everything gives the sense of being a second home and family.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors couldn't be any more overqualified! I feel as if I have learned more in a week than any other student in the country. Not only are the professors willing and wanting to teach, but they know their stuff. I'm constantly learning more than I anticipate in each of my classes because of the drive the professors pour into their subjects and students.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no greek life unfortunately.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are different clubs, you just have to look into it.

    What to do for fun

    there really isn't much to do.

    Food and Dining

    there is a cafeteria but i never been in there.

    Dorm Life

    there are no on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    like all universities, they are very strict when it comes to doing your own work. also, most professors make attendance a course requirement, they will give you a few unexcused absences, but after that it will effect your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    no matter how early you arrive to campus, parking is always going to be an issue, be prepared to walk. there are a lot of big hills, so if you end up having to park far away, it might be a long walk up a hill to get to class.

    In three sentences

    penn state abington is a very beautiful campus. there is no on campus housing, therefore everyone commutes which makes finding parking very difficult. there are a good amount of clubs, however there is no greek life, which may have something to do with the fact that there is no on-campus housing.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    abington campus is very safe - no issues whatsoever! it's also gorgeous here. it feels like home.

    Clubs and Activities

    ping pong club! engineering club.

    Great for these types of students

    all students would do well at penn state. free tutoring is available for all subjects at the learning center on campus.

    What to do for fun

    join clubs - get involved in activities. there's something for everyone on campus and it's a great way to make new friends.

    Food and Dining

    the food on campus could be better, but there are plenty of restaurants close by to the campus.

    Dorm Life

    i'm a commuter student - there are no dorms on this campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    college offers more independence and demands a lot more effort. don't enter college unless you're prepared to work hard. the teachers i've had have been very supportive, but one has to ask for the help and show initiative.

    In three sentences

    penn state is an outstanding university. abington campus, where i currently attend, is very supportive of all its students. i look forward to moving to main campus in the future but will miss this campus when i leave.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe as security are at duty and are very alert

    Greek Life

    no idea

    Clubs and Activities

    as many student clubs as possible enables belonging

    Great for these types of students

    great

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    normal traditions of college life

    Bang for the buck

    its one of the best campus to be on ,its peaceful and great for learning.

    What to do for fun

    going to the fitness center to exercise

    Food and Dining

    variety food served for the multicultural student body on campus.

    Dorm Life

    normal

    Academic Rigor

    very good standard

    Tips for prospective students

    log on to psu.edu and explore, its a wonderful.but academic success guaranteed.

    In three sentences

    quality academic excellence assured conducive atmosphere for learning safety and security at maximum

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The best campus safety by far. Always on call (though in my experience never needed, because it is that safe), continually patrolling, and always on duty owkring at their full potential.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various clubs and activities for all fields of study that are very active on campus and others in the network.

    Great for these types of students

    Local, small class sizes, working, focused

    Bang for the buck

    For getting the type of education from a great staff from such a small campus compared to main, this is worth it. It is a great transitional campus for those who do not want to go to a big school and stay local while getting a great college experience. It is also great for those who want to be fiscally responsible if you want to stay local and work while going to school. For those who want to go to main campus eventually, this is a good stepping stone to start your college career.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs to join on this campus. The athletic building has everything from a ping pong area, tv center, full court gym to a fitness center. You can also take to the fields to relax or play any outdoor sport you see fit. There are many areas to commune with fellow students such as the Woodland Building , that has a coffee shop and lounge area.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is a highly popular place at Lares. They are open from morning to night with a variety of food for every taste. With this great food comes great prices which is good for any college student.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this is a satellite/commuter campus. There are many apartments available for those that want a faux college experience of living on campus. If you can find those to live with then great, if not, staying at home isn't a bad option.

    Academic Rigor

    Everything given by the professors can be done at a timely fashion where they will be flexible with the students knowing that most of them work full or part-time. But you will still need to put the work in if you do want to get something out of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not buy you're books right away, for the professors may change the curriculum as well as not use the book in its entirety. If you do not intend to use the bookstore, be sure you have the textbook's author and title so you can buy from an outside source for a lot less money. This will be less expensive for you and will avoid buying a book valued around $100 that will collect dust.

    In three sentences

    For those who are looking for a great transition into main campus, starting or continuing their college careers, this is the campus to do so. The classes are just the right size to obtain the information provided by professors as well as having the option to have a good relationship between them. For being a satellite campus, the Abington campus replicates the environment of University Park but with a hometown feel where you are not a number, but a student.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since the school is small, students enjoy hanging out in the cafe or outside by the pond. When the weather is nice, students are always outside with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on track, and keep up with your studies. It is important to start strong and end strong. College is an amazing experience.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Abington is a small, friendly school. The campus is beautiful and a superb learning environment. I am glad to be attending this school.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, it is easy to skip class to sit by the pond and admire the geese.

    In three sentences

    This school is great and it is close to the city. The campus is beautiful and peaceful. Classes are small and personal.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For PennState safety is a top priority . An emergency phone system is very high. Security escort service is all the time at campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at PennState Abington campus, maybe in a future it will.

    Clubs and Activities

    Our campus has 44 clubs right now. You name it they have it!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for all different types of students. There are so many international students, who came from different countries and speak different languages. You get a chance o meet so many different people and get to know them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fall Fest!!!Halfway through the semester, student groups put on a week's worth of events. The week often falls around Halloween and has included a Murder Mystery Dinner, costume contests, and a psychic fair.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many activates on campus that there is no time to be board. Also computers with Internet available all the tie. Lots of organizations and clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is very delicious and cheap.

    Dorm Life

    Very nice dorm life, places where student lives looks very clean and very convenient locations.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't smoke in area where it says Not a smoking area!

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn map of the campus first before you go to your first class. Also if you have any question or concerns about anything, go to the offices on campus workers there are always willing to help and answer all your questions.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Abington University is very nice, I�¢�?�?m lucky to be part of it. Great teachers, who cares about their students and teach very professionally. Campus looks beautiful and clean, the most important thing and most beautiful they kept the original design of architecture of buildings on campus.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Call boxes at every turn and there are always 2-4 security guards walking around the campus, at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    LEAP Dance Club Art Club

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal arts majors

    What to do for fun

    Student activities every day during Common Break and many athletic programs to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, but expensive, typical of college though.

    Dorm Life

    NO dorms,off campus living, best way to have first hand experience with balancing your money.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fun and interesting, but certain classes are extremely time consuming and rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT be freaked out that the two class buildings are on opposite sides of the campus, even if you have fifteen minutes between classes.

    In three sentences

    This campus has endless student activities. great students/teachers/staff. Everyone is welcoming and you are never turned down when you need help with a class or, even, a simple question as to where a class is. The classes are insightful, helpful, fun, but also challenging.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are police station with a mile and best of all, there is 24 hours security watching over the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many club and you could even open one if there not a club you like.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many job open to the student and you can bring your own lunch to save couple more buck.

    What to do for fun

    There is alway club you can attend to do your favorite thing. There is monthly event you can attend for fun.

    Food and Dining

    They have nice cafe that selling food, but the hour is too short.

    Dorm Life

    Good life with nice room and environment. clean and fresh air. Quiet surrounding for a piece of silent.

    Academic Rigor

    You really would learn a lot in this college. The professor talk to you and if you don understand, there is club to attend to learn more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get connect with other within the university. Listen and attend to every event.

    In three sentences

    This college is great. Never feel more welcome than this collage. Best choices I had made.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs also there is a computer lap in almost every building. On certain days the gym is opened for students to play badminton, basketball, tennis, dance, ping pong, etc.

    Food and Dining

    In the Lares building where students have lunch had a cafeteria that sells a variety of school: salads, pizza, cheese steaks, hoagie, soup, coffee, snacks, etc. There is also a small cafe in another building where students can buy drinks similar to those sell at starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorm right on campus; however, the school does provide apartments (dorms) around the area of Abington. There is a shuttle bus that pick/drop students who dorm at campus and back at the apartment on a schedule.

    Academic Rigor

    Intended students should have great time management and organization skills because sometimes everything is piled on one week. Academically, as long as you come to class, pay attention, take notes, do homework, study daily, everything should be fine. If students need help, professors are willing to meet you at their office and there is also a learning center, where you get more help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never neglect to do homework because it is very helpful to pass exams doing them. Also, do pay attention in class because most classes are lectures and professors do not write everything out on the board like high school teachers. Remember to attend all of your classes because college is expensive. Be active around campus because it releases stress and it is a great way to have fun.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Abington is a small campus. If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing environment to attend college, this is the right place for you. The staffs and professors are very friendly and helpful.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They clear off the campus (for snow) by the time my class starts at 9.

    Clubs and Activities

    APPT. (A place to talk)

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a thrift type event come to our campus every-year.

    What to do for fun

    Hang in the Lares building during common break, they have meetings, magic shows, etc everyday.

    Food and Dining

    Good and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on you, if you choose easy or hard classes. Some teachers are harder than others but its all about what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, it's easy to do and makes the whole college experience worthwhile, it's a good way to show school spirit and to meet a lot of people.

    In three sentences

    They make an effort to get all the students involved, making different activities available everyday during common break. The staff generally cares about you, very understanding and they try very hard to help you in any way they can.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that can focus without help

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is off a side road called woodland road; its a long walk. There are always events on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing (just kidding) join a club, or a sport

    Food and Dining

    Like anyother campus.. SO/SO

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others

    Tips for prospective students

    Live close to campus especially if your relying on public transportation. There are 4 computer labs on campus but, there is rarely anywhere on campus that is quiet enough to study: good times to study on campus is in the library between 9am-11am or 5pm-9pm. The cafe is over priced but, their are resturants around campus that are more resonabily priced. My favorite professors are neuman and seesholtz: they have difficult classes but, you will learn. The easy professors are Haunter, Shoeman, Mohammad ali(psych 200),and Georges

    In three sentences

    This campus makes you fill like a second class citizen. Some faculty and staff members are helpful but, most aren't. One positive aspect of this campus is that there are few great professor on this campus but, they are the ones that make all the stresses of school worth while.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since the campus can get really dark at night, some students might not want to walk alone to their cars. However, for the comfort of the students there are yellow boxes located all around campus that allow students to call for security. Security will even walk students to their cars at night!

    Clubs and Activities

    Although I am not a participant in the school clubs, I have noticed that there are many of which students can participate in. One that I have considered was a Latino club. However, I do not like to fall behind in classes, so I prefer to engage in short daily activities when I feel I should give myself a break. Short activities mean I do not have to commit, which is important because not committing can give a person a bad reputation in my opinion. So, I prefer work now, play later.

    What to do for fun

    On the daily basis, students can attend some free event that takes place during common break, which is the lunch hour where no student has classes. One time I attended a comedy show during common break and another time when the weather was pleasing I watched students watched a guy do what was called freaky magic tricks.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the Abington campus has a small selection, but because microwaves are available, students are not always obligated to eat school food.

    Dorm Life

    While Penn State Abington is considered a commuter campus, some students that have moved from far distances have been able to find apartments near by. Students are able to take free transportation to and from the campus that the school provides. However, my experience is different. I chose the Abington campus to save money on tuition, so the dorm life has not been an experience for me. Besides, I prefer to be home with my family.

    Academic Rigor

    At Penn State Abington, spirit is important, but academics is top priority. Not only are instructors willing to help during their hours of free time, but the Learning Center is also available. At the Learning Center students get one on one help from tutors that specialize in the particular subject students need help in. Another way academic rigor is stressed is by the way students make plans to have study groups before quizzes and exams. This allows students to see different points of view, but rather from a peers understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students who want to learn how to grow Penn State is a good option. Also, Penn State can help students make connections, so they can learn about other careers or build on their own interests.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Abington is a campus with spirit. It has high academic standards. Lastly. the school name benefits its students for the future because it is widely known.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the best

    Greek Life

    a frat and sorority just one of each

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All different clubs and societies. THON !

    Bang for the buck

    really get everything you want and more !

    What to do for fun

    Make some friends in classes ! Go out into the city

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good variety

    Dorm Life

    Theres apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigorous. Has a lot of good potential in future students to have competitive work load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of all your studying ! Make sure that you dont procrastinate with all your hard subjects. Make sure you have a lot of study time for yourself.

    In three sentences

    I truly believe the education i have and am receiving here is the most amazing ever. People and faculty are a pleasure to be around. The time you spend here will fly by, and you will want to come back !

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    THON, LEAP, SGA are great and always active!

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone! There are so many different people here, academically and culturally.

    Bang for the buck

    Penn State Abington does a fantastic job to keep the tuition at an affordable rate.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and service opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    Affordable prices.

    Dorm Life

    Commuter college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Frequently checking your e-mail is one of the best ways to stay on track.

    In three sentences

    Faculty to student ratio is perfect for students who want to get to know their professors. Career counseling at Abington is truly a gift. You will learn to necessary tools to obtain a job from here!

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is HIGHLY safe. We're a No Place For Hate campus and the people here are friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs here are fun and there are so many. If you don't see a club for your interest, you can also ask the school to create one.

    Bang for the buck

    The school has many activities, sports, clubs, and other things to do to get you more involved. It's a tight-knit community.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! However, if you're not thrilled with the idea of school food, there are also a few cheap food joints around campus.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately there are no dorms here. But there are apartments nearby!

    Academic Rigor

    Many courses are offered here and there's a wide variety. There are also courses that challenge you and help you learn more for your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely check out this campus and add it to your list of possible college choices.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Abington has so much to offer. It truly is an amazing campus. It feels like a second home!

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This is a school for people who want to learn. It is not a party school. The area is close to Philadelphia and there is plenty to do down in the city.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe is ok.

    Dorm Life

    Commuter campus.

    Academic Rigor

    SOme classes can be very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use ratemyprofessors.com for all teachers.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Abington is a great school. There is a diverse groupd of students and a small class size. It gives you quality education at a reasonable tuition price.

  • 04/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security does a great job in patrolling the parking lots and ensuring the safety of the students on campus.

    What to do for fun

    I personally can always be found around the athletics building either at the fitness gym, the tennis courts or playing basketball. I also spend a lot of my time in the library. There are several computer labs on campus in each of the four main buildings and there is usually always something happening during common break.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide spread of choices and the opportunity to customize what you want to eat!

    Dorm Life

    Their are no dorms on this campus as it is a commute campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't as challenging as they could be, but this all depends on how a student studies and manages their time.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great campus to start and finish at, unfortunately not all majors are able to be finished on the Abington campus.

    In three sentences

    The campus is friendly, diverse and everyone is willing to help. There is always something going on to lighten the stress of studies and the professors really care about how students do in their classes.

  • 06/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the foods is a little expensive for its all really good.

    Dorm Life

    Sorry i don't live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    the teacher at the school teaches really well. There are a lot of teacher takes time to help understand the class your taking, if you don't understand.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What is there not to do for fun? Students at Abington are always occupied whether they are at the gym working out, playing basketball, running up and down the hills of the campus, or even sitting by the pond doing their homework in nature. Every year Abington has an activity fair, where students recruit other students to get involved in anything that interest them. There are so many different clubs, it would be impossible not to find one that pertains to your interests. The beauty of it, is that students are always so contempt with each other and what they are doing.

    Food and Dining

    A great way to get to meet people is common break. Everyone has the same lunch break at either 12:00 or 12:15 pm; all the students sit together, or can even join their professors! What�s the best part? You can take your lunch out by the pond, and sit in the sun. The pond is beautiful, relaxing, and very popular due to its scenery and the mood it provides. The food is delicious, and they have just about anything you could think of- pizza, salads, fries, fruit, wraps, you name it. Breakfast in the morning is convenient, if you are on a tight budget because they prices are a bargain!

    Dorm Life

    Although there are not dorms on campus, Abington offers off-campus apartments for students who come from all over the world, or even for students who just want to get out of the house! Fortunately for students living in the off-campus apartments, there are shuttle busses that pick them up, bring them to the main entrance of Abington, and drop them back off at home! The buses are very convenient for students living in the apartments without transportation.

    Academic Rigor

    Students, who are struggling, whether it is with homework, sports, or any college-based material, will always have someone who is there to help. Here at Abington, we have a learning center for academics, a career center for people struggling with jobs, advisors who help your every step when choosing classes, and so many more people who are there to help you. Abington�s staff is excellent in what they do, and it is their job to make your experience as a college student wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Abington has an absolutely beautiful campus! It almost feels as if you're in the middle of nowhere, and everything is one place. I find that extremely beneficial for students who fear getting lost on their first day at college- that will not happen here at Abington! Also, incoming students may have wanted to attend Main Campus, but did not get accepted; luckily for them, two years here is a guaranteed acceptance to Main Campus! It is truly a great opportunity given to students, and any Penn State Campus has a lot to offer.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Abington is perfectly well rounded and an excellent choice for anyone attending college. Between all the different clubs, majors and events, there are so many diverse people in one place. However, that is the beauty of it; everyone is overwhelmed with school spirit, and it just makes everything about Abington THAT more fun!

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Focus in the class because professor sometimes give out jokes. Go to watch football game. Join in the clubs, play sport, such as badminton. It is open every Tuesday and Thursday at the common break (lunch time).

    Food and Dining

    The food in there is delicious. Especially breakfast, the chef Steve is a funny guy, he can always make you smile, laugh in the morning, so you start your long day with happiness.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm, but there is some apartments have the relationship with the Penn State Abington. I'm not living there, but I went there and experienced before. It has security, and every door, even your bedroom have the electronic key. It is big, it feels comfortable, but you can hear the sound from up stair if they are so loud.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall is good, amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Finish things as soon as possible, especially register for the class, everyone wants to get into a class with a interesting professor. Respect to others, and they will show you respect, too. Make more friends, so you will know which class is easy and which one is hard to get an A.

    In three sentences

    This college is not big and not small, you can spend ten minutes from the North side walk to the south side. Teachers are nice in here, class is almost same as high school. People are nice, no violence, smile everywhere!

  • 11/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Not a lot of clubs, but those existing are fine

    Great for these types of students

    Who are strongly focused on studying, doing research and other study-related activities

    What to do for fun

    Attend events funded by university

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is small, but serves really good food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no official dorms on campus, however there are several apartment complexes which offer student housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The majority of professors are very strong

    In three sentences

    Amazing campus, which is conveniently located to Philadelphia. Scenic setting Free parking

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Abington county police frequently checks on the campus to ensure all roads are safe. No crimes or violence ever occurs in campus.

    What to do for fun

    Events are held in the student life building nearly everyday. With more than 20 clubs, getting involved is a convenience. There is a lounge area to play video games and loiter around, there is also an Athletic Building where many people enjoy playing pickup basketball.

    Food and Dining

    Abington contracts with a private catering service. All foods are fresh, the staff is friendly and of course the meals are delicious. Though it may be a little pricey to eat on a daily basis. The cafeteria is also clean as well, but crowded.

    Dorm Life

    This campus is technically a commuter campus. However, for those who come from out of state, are given the opportunity to do off-house and stay at College Station while paying at an affordable price. College Station is built as a tall apartment. Kept clean and with large rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    As a first year student, the general education requirement is straightforward and organized. All subjects to learn are basic and the professors are all helpful and qualified. All classroom settings is small, making it easier for students to keep in touch with professors and bring up any issues to be resolved with.

    Tips for prospective students

    When attending to this campus, do not be afraid to open and talk to others. This campus shows a wide range of diversity with student population. This basically means that there are many different people from different neighborhoods or even states, that all come with their own culture that sparks interest for everybody. Everybody is always eager to learn from one another and befriend with whoever.

    In three sentences

    The commonwealth campus of Pennsylvania State University, known as Penn State Abington, is a small but a much lively and beautiful campus. With friendly professors and a strong administrative board, Abington shows strong academic excellence and innovation. This university earns a rating of 8/10.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    TONS of clubs and activities.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs on campus that you can join. They set up different activities that everyone can do during common break. You can play sports, go to the computer labs. There are a lot of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food is average, normal stuff like sandwiches, salads, wraps, pizza, fries, burgers, chicken sandwiches. Then they have snacks like cookies pretzels, candy, etc. You get what you pay for basically.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging if they are intended to be. If you work hard, follow what the teachers ask of you and get help when needed, you will pass no problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use ratemyprofessor.com for knowledge on any of the professors. Penn State has a 2+2 plan, so you can do two years a one of the commuter campuses and then head up to main campus automatically which is convenient if that is where you want to go.

    In three sentences

    It is a really beautiful campus. There are a lot of activities and clubs to get involved, as well as fun activities to do during the common break (which is lunch time basically). The teachers are overall nice, obviously every school has its bad professors, but I really love it here.

  • 03/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never have I seen or heard of any incident worth reporting in my campus. Sounds strange but never have I seen anyone will alcohol or drugs. Just in case though, there r emergency phones all over campus which is always nice to have.

    Greek Life

    Sorry, no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    So much Variety. Every week there is some event going on. Being a part of it amazing.

    Great for these types of students

    People who don't want large campuses. Ours is pretty small but beautiful. Also commuters are everywhere so don't worry if you don't want to live in a dorm, no one lives in one here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a THON program! This includes raising money for pediatric cancer. We raised 13,343,517.33 in the past year.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not as expensive as other great colleges but at the same time it is. This is factoring in the books and other things required for college. I would make the same decision to go to penn state in a minute, although I don't particularly like having a lot of loans to pay off.

    What to do for fun

    JOIN CLUBS! I cannot stress this enough. This will help you make plenty of friends and you will have a blast! Plus it's a nice little break from schoolwork if that stresses you out.

    Food and Dining

    There is a pretty good variety of food. It's pretty much impossible to look everywhere in the cafeteria and not find something that catches your eye. The only concern is that some items cost too much and aren't worth it.

    Dorm Life

    At the abington campus, we don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers will help you, even if you think they are too busy or don't want to help. Just make sure you ask for help not the day before a huge assignment is due. Also Penn state is really strict about academic integrity. Plagiarizing is not tolerated.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is harder than high school so be ready for that! Try to get involved in activities! It's a great way to meet new people and friends for life.

    In three sentences

    Honestly I love my school. I feel so blessed to have the opportunity to go to this school and further my education. Having such a friendly environment doesn't hurt ether.