Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Altoona Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, ambitious, people. Anyone who will show great school pride!

    Tips for prospective students

    I know its a hard transition to make, but come your spring semester, it'll just feel like home. It's like high school only a little harder. Make friends with whoever you can, but don't get caught up in the party scene; your GPA will fall fast.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes of course you have to pay for your books; don't buy them from the book store though. Get them off of half.com you'll save atleast 300 dollars.

    Am enjoying being here

    I was intimidated my first semester, but trust me its not hard making new friends here! Everyone has great pride in the school, and loves meeting new people. Don't be afraid to introduce yourself to other students.

    Am learning a lot

    Its all about your professors!! So when you schedule your first classes, make sure you go to www.ratemyprofessors.com and look the professor up! Trust me, you'll thank me in the end.

  • 11/01/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    PSUA is great for everyone who loves the Nittany Lions! Everyone has a place here even if we are a smaller school.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's only 45 minutes from University Park- no big deal at all. You can always transfer there your junior year as well like I am. Altoona is really great and the faculty are funny, nice, and super helpful. Be prepared to work: just because it's a smaller campus doesn't mean it's easier! I would suggest getting involved in clubs because you will make a lot of new friends that way :)

    Bang for the buck

    SO many great trips, clubs, sports, the gym is free, computer lab is free with your Student Activity Fee. You really get your money's worth here! I didn't at my first school, so I know first hand if I am getting ripped or not. Not here at PSUA!

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE PSUA. It's small, beautiful, peaceful, and everyone is always really glad to help you.

    Am learning a lot

    PSUA has opened my eyes to so many new positions and opportunities!

  • 01/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Penn State Altoona is very diverse so any type of student would be happy here!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you were to attend this school, I would definitely live on campus your first year! I live in Spruce Hall, which is a suite, and I love it! It is a great way to meet friends that you can maintain throughout the rest of your college years. Also if you are going to attend, I would just walk around campus the day before your classes to find where everything is! It seems like a big campus at first, but it is actually very easy to get everywhere! Knowing where all your classes are before hand is very helpful!

    Bang for the buck

    I am definitely getting my moneys worth on this campus. No matter what college you attend, it is going to be expensive so you might as well make it worth it wherever you go! I know that it sucks whenever it comes time to pay your tuition bill, but this school is definitely worth it all.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love attending this campus. Every student I have met so far has been very nice and open for friendships. Also, I live on campus and enjoy it so much! My roommate and I have become the best of friends and do everything together! All of the R.A.'s are extremely helpful and are always willing to help you with any problems that you run into with your roommates.

    Am learning a lot

    I am only a freshman here, but so far all of my teachers have been amazing. They are open to hear the students opinions and are all very well educated professors. There are so many different classes offered that you can learn about anything you desire!! The teachers are also very helpful and will do anything they can to help you succeed. Ratemyprofessor.com is definitely a website that I would check out because a good professor makes your experience a ton better!

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I had season tickets to the PSU football games. You can take a bus from Altoona to main campus if needed. There are concerts, activities, sporting events scheduled many times at the PSU Altoona campus.

    Food and Dining

    I found that the food menu does not change much and I will not be getting a meal pass for my second year.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in a apartment my first year because PSU has limited dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found that it is best for me to take 2 hard classes and 2 easier ones. That way I can focus more on the hard ones and not get quite so stressed over the other 2.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to use your time wisley. Make time for studying and fun time. This is difficult at first but don't worry. By the 2nd semester you will figure it out.

    In three sentences

    I have just finished my freshman year at PSU Altoona. It was great! I made many new friends, learned to adjust to life on my own and enjoyed it very much.

  • 07/24/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Good school to start at Only 45 minutes for University park Calm and chill study enviroment Helpful teachers Variety of students

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for student who like a small college where the teachers get to know there students and the students have a lot of oppurtunities to work with the teachers and get help if needed

    Tips for prospective students

    tyr to find a lot of scholarships early and be careful the first week of school especially during your frehsman year, that whole semester flies by and by the end nearly everyone i knew had a bad GPA so try to stay focused

    Bang for the buck

    penn state is very costly if you are an out of state resident

    Am enjoying being here

    living on the dorms is highly reccomended for the first year at least, you get to know a lot of ppl and grow close to them, also theres a sheets close by you can always walk to or a hookah bar or mcdonalds, also penn state is a BIG party school so hopefully you like parties

    Am learning a lot

    the teacher you choose is extremely importnat for a lot of people!! it can be the difference between passing and failing a course. check out ratemyprofessor.com to review the teacher before you do your schedule and sign up for your classes as soon as you can because slots fill up quickly

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's an ideal campus for someone who wants to start off in a smaller, more personal environment as they get used to the college experience, whether or not they would like to progress to University Park or finish their degree in Altoona.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as involved as you can. If you are like me and have trouble making friends, there is no better way than to join clubs and take part in the activities. The dorms, Pennview, or Nittany Pointe are probably the wisest living choices. Don't feed the ducks unless you want 30 of them chasing you. Use ratemyprofessor.com while scheduling!!!

    Bang for the buck

    It's getting more expensive, but it's still definitely worth it for a Penn State degree.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really love the campus. The pond is beautiful at night, you always see older people and kids walking their dogs because the campus is basically treated like a park. Everybody loves the accessibility to University Park which is only a short drive away. The only thing that I don't like is that most of the students are pretty much the same.

    Am learning a lot

    I find that I am learning more in one semester here than I had learned in 4 years of high school. I really enjoy this school for being so personal, and the professors most likely know you by name and are generally very enjoyable to work with and willing to help.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly and have an open mind! Don't be stuck in your room all day, actually go out and meet new freshman your first day of being on campus. Stay focus on school first and than going out at night but first be a student!

    Bang for the buck

    I do think its a bang for your buck. I mean your still getting a Penn State education at a smaller campus, and than 2 years later your at Main.

    Am enjoying being here

    I think this place is truly fun! It depends on what you make our of it, at first you think this campus is in the middle of nowhere but when you actually meet people Altoona gets better and better. There is always something to do just make the best out of it and be optimistic.

    Academic Rigor

    It truly depends on what class and courses you take. Always look at rate yourprofessor.com to find the best teachers. Every teacher has a different teaching style so read the reviews on the website to find your ideal teacher.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It is not that hard to get in, and not many students in classes. There are lots of opportunity to learn.

    Am enjoying being here

    Not much things to do.

    Am learning a lot

    Few students for a teacer.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our campus is covered by altoona, logan township, and university police. we have 9 full time offers(one being the chief.) we also have the blue light system that is located all over campus. if you feel you are in danger you press the button and the police will be there in less than two minutes.

    Greek Life

    as for greek life, we have two sororities: ast and gamma phi betta. for fraternities there are three(as of now, adding a fourth) acacia, phi sig, sig phi.

    What to do for fun

    at penn state altoona, you really can never be bored. we have hundreds of clubs. clubs that are major-related or not. if you find that there is not a club for you, it is easy to start one. you only need six people. we are always bringing people in for performances such as jack hanna, big sean, lisa ling, dennis banks and more. when the pond freezes over in the winter you can bring your skates up to play hockey or ice skate. this is just a small amount of what goes on on campus.

    Food and Dining

    as i like to say when i give tours, it's not your mom's cooking, but it is better than your high school cafeteria. our dining area, port sky, gives you a variety of food. we offer the following on a daily basis: pizza, burgers (vegan and not) chicken sandwiches, fries, panini's, desert bar, salad bar and a sub bar. we also have a grill where the selection is different everyday as well as another bar where you have your main entrees, which also differs everyday. port sky will be getting renovated over the summer adding a breakfast bar and a starbucks. we also have coasters a sort of grab-n-go coffee shop. also, we have common grounds which is a convenience store.

    Dorm Life

    outside of the classrooms penn state altoona makes sure that we as students are still learning. we do not like to call the buildings dorms, but instead we call them residence halls. dorm is latin for sleep. at psua you do more than sleep in the residence halls. every month the ra's hold programs where you can meet more friends and have fun. we have study areas in all the buildings where you can get together with classmates if you do not feel like taking a trip to the library. living in a residence hall teaches you things you cannot learn in the classroom. you learn how to deal with conflict, and how to live with people that you might never talk to outside of college. along with life lessons, two of our residence halls are the usual college setup: two people in a room and the entire floor shares a bathroom. the other two halls are setup like this: suite style (two people to a room, with another room next to yours) these four people share a bathroom that gets cleaned once a week. in suite style halls, floors are co-ed.

    Academic Rigor

    penn state altoona professors make it their job to go above and beyond. everyday you are challenged in the classroom. professors push you to think deeper and become more well-rounded. many classes, such as introduction to the beatles, travel abroad to widen their view on what they are studying. the psua faculty is very diverse and are all willing to make sure you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking for a university that has small classroom sizes, but offers all the perks of a large university, penn state altoona is the place. if you want to be a part of the penn state family add the altoona campus to your list. we also give tours, i'm a lion ambassador! so come on down and see this wonderful campus!

    In three sentences

    penn state altoona offers a wide variety of classes and majors, as well as some of the best professors available. the campus is very scenic; it has it's own duck pond. there is always something available for students to participate in.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have a blue light system. on the majority of the buildings and other locations there is a place to call for help if you ever feel unsafe. the police are supposed to be there in under two minutes and will give you a ride home. we are also tripled covered by three different police stations, so the campus if very safe.

    Greek Life

    we have 2 sororities and 3 fraternities. the sororities are alpha sigma tau and gamma phi beta. the fraternities are acacia, phi sigma kappa, pi kappa alpha, and soon to be another.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have over 80 organizations on campus. there is truly something for everyone. there is an organization fair at the beginning of the year where all clubs and organizations have sign ups and introductions. between thon, student government, greek life, lion ambassadors, african student association, dance team, honor societies, and everything else, there is truly no reason not to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    typically the students here come from all over. we have a large number of kids from new jersey, philly, and pittsburgh. it makes for interesting rivalries during football/hockey season. small town students usually make a great transition, whereas students from big cities tend to find altoona small and boring.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the pond is a pretty big hit. our ducks stay all year long and make for an entertaining experience.

    Bang for the buck

    penn state altoona offers everything a college student needs. the professors are helpful and typically know your name. we have a health services center on campus, for all your medical needs. opportunities such a internships and study abroad are always an option. career services will help you build your resume and prepare you for any interview. basically just lots of free resources for you.

    What to do for fun

    on campus, there are always events going on. whether it be a date auction, glow dance, concert, comedian, or something else, students have plenty to do. outside of campus, the majority of activities are about a fifteen minute drive. these include your typical activities such as ice skating, bowling, movies, baseball games, and the mall.

    Food and Dining

    though port-sky the main eatery on campus does provide better food than your high school cafeteria, it is no fine dinning. however, there are a large number of students that eat there everyday, for every meal, and have no complaints. breakfast is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    due to the large number of students that are housed off campus, our dorm life programs are not top notch like other colleges. the dorms are in pretty nice condition and the bathrooms are cleaned every day (weekly in suite style rooms). students always have their doors open and typically are good friends with their neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    as a student, it is next to impossible to get by without doing your work and studying. in most classes, you truly have to work for the grade you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would definitely suggest applying early because on campus housing fills up fast! but there are many off-campus locations that are associated with the campus that are nice and less expensive.

    In three sentences

    this school is perfect for students who want to go to a big name school but aren't ready for the big campus. penn state altoona is a gorgeous campus all year long.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there isn't really much to do in this little town of altoona but maybe go to the movies , blowing or out to eat.

    Food and Dining

    the food here isn't all its cracked up to be. it takes some getting used to. if you plan on living on campus and off you should get a meal plan , if you don't food in the cafeteria will be full price instead of half off with your meal plan

    Dorm Life

    depending on which dorm you choose to live in you'll be fine. the only thing that will probably be difficult is rooming with someone you've never met. generally freshman are roomed in the first two dorms oak and maple if you want a big room i suggest maple

    Academic Rigor

    as a freshman you have to stay on the ball when it comes to your classes and homework. also try to keep in touch with your advisor they will help you out in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    students that plan to attend and that have already been accepted to psu-altoona , i recommend you buy winter cloths because its always cold on this campus.

    In three sentences

    this campus is small and cozy if you're not really ready for the transition into college from high school. there isn't any kind of violence here. also the towns people , school faculty are nice , open and very helpful to anyone new here.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    definitely join a club or activity. it helps you get to know a lot of people and it also looks really good on future job applications. lion ambassadors is a terrific club to join, you get to give prospective students tours of the campus among other things.

    What to do for fun

    the logan valley mall is just ten minutes or so on i-99 and there are always guest speakers on the campus, (usually in misciagna center) speaking on a wide variety of topics and subjects.

    Food and Dining

    there is one main cafeteria on the campus, known as port sky. you can get an array of food there, however i mostly pack a granola bar or something as most of my classes are over by early to mid-afternoon.

    Dorm Life

    this doesn't apply to me as i live at home. however, my friends who live in the dorms really enjoy it and they say that spruce is a very nice dorm. also, the dorms are located close to the campus so you never have very far to walk.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are at the same level as any college course, but because the classes are much smaller (typically 20-40 for most classes), you are able to ask your professor questions and really get to know them on a personal level. there is also free tutoring available in the lrc (learning resource center) for any subject/course such as biology or math 140.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you enjoy a small campus setting, then you will love penn state altoona. however, if you're looking to go to university park at some point, do penn state's 2 + 2 program and try a branch campus for two years and then transfer to university park for your remaining two years.

    In three sentences

    penn state altoona is a smaller campus, seated less than an hour away from university park. the classes are much smaller and you are able to really get to know your professors. this is a great option for those of you who are looking to go to university park at some point but want to raise your gpa first.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel very safe. security is always around, but everyone is just so friendly. i have rehearsals that always run late but i never feel anxious or scared walking or taking the bus home after 9 pm. also, this campus is very trusting. anytime i'm ever in the library, i never feel nervous leaving my stuff at the table while i go grab a book or get food. everything feels very safe here.

    Greek Life

    i personally am not a 'greek life' sort of person, but there are a ton of sororities and fraternities to pledge to at psua. i think the also connect to houses up at university park as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many things to do on the altoona campus. there are numerous intramural teams, ambassador programs, youth groups, and productions in the theater department. everyone has found atleast one club or activity to become involved in since coming to psua.

    Great for these types of students

    penn state altoona is great for students who work hard academically but are also involved in their school and have a social life outside of work. altoona is great to start at because it helps you balance school and fun right away.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the altoona campus has a lot of ducks...there is a pond in the middle of the campus and a herd of around 30 ducks stay there all year around. they're very entertaining to watch; they even follow some people to class! also, being so close to university park, psu altoona is very involved in thon, athletic events, and productions up at the main campus. being only forty five minutes away, it doesn't feel like attending a different school. penn state pride rings through every campus!

    Bang for the buck

    at penn state altoona, i'm confident that i am getting a great education for my two years here. i feel much more comfortable transferring to state for my junior year. attending penn state altoona has helped me prepare for my advancement in my education. it was definitely the right choice to come here for 2 years before hitting university park.

    What to do for fun

    to be quite honest there isn't a lot to do in altoona. there's malls, movie theaters, and stores but you need a car or a really good bus route to get out to there and back. but the school itself has a variety of clubs and sports to join and get involved in!

    Food and Dining

    the food on campus is actually pretty good. there's always an eclectic plethora of cuisine to choose from which is always a nice change. also, all the pizza places around altoona are fantastic!

    Dorm Life

    i personally live in an apartment but i love it. i feel more responsible and it's very nice to have my own room!

    Academic Rigor

    the classes at penn state altoona are challenging but as long as you stay focused and do your work everyday, you should be fine. the professors are great and are there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    form your schedule around times that you know is realistic for yourself. also, work hard and study often. never be afraid to ask a teacher for extra help. they're so supportive and want to see you prosper.

    In three sentences

    penn state altoona is perfect for students to start off at who aren't ready for university park yet. it's small, fun, and the programs are great. penn state is one huge family and altoona is a huge part of that family.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they provide safety blue light stations that you can push a button for help. campus security is always patrolling campus. and there are plenty of housing and buildings to run to for safety!

    Greek Life

    main campus is where its at. altoona's greek life isn't that popular.

    Clubs and Activities

    lion ambasadors ivyside dance ensemble ivyside choir plays frisbee team swing dancing club

    Great for these types of students

    who like to be social, or those who are shy there are plenty of clubs and activities that i am sure you would find one suitable!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    lion ambassadors a re a great way to stay involved and be on the up and up! point parties always get busted, not worth it!

    Bang for the buck

    altoona penn state campus is a good step to go to after high school, its gives you the taste of college life but not as overwhelming as main campus. its the first step in being an adult.

    What to do for fun

    altoona has 2 bowling allys, and movie theaters. and main campus is less than 40 minutes away so your close to the action!!!

    Food and Dining

    port sky has pretty decent food choices but without a meal plan or lion cash its a rip off. your better of going to the local store and stocking up. but those who live on campus have only port sky to choose from. thats why off campus house has kitchens and you can cook yourself!

    Dorm Life

    living in the dorm has some perks, such as meeting new people, but it lacks anywhere to cook, so you have to get a meal plan which you probably won't use all of. if you have a car you have to park far from the dorm and at night that might not be that safe.

    Academic Rigor

    you are not in high school anymore so the work load is harder. most professors are very understanding as long as your willing to give a little on your end. class structures are very effective, and professors go beyond to help their students!

    Tips for prospective students

    when looking for housing don't go for dorm life, its horrible having a little room, and the food plan is a rip off. living at point has hidden expenses. off campuse house is safe, more privacy, and cheaper.

    In three sentences

    we are pennstate, these three words are what made me want to join the nittany lion family. the school offers many choices for a major, and is culturally diverse. the campus is clean and safe!

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    plenty of police presence

    Bang for the buck

    great education from a world leading university

    What to do for fun

    there is plenty of intermural sports and club to join

    Food and Dining

    i will be eating there in the fall , hope its good

    Dorm Life

    i will be attending and living in the dorms in the fall

    Tips for prospective students

    small class sizes ,small campus and alot of activities

    In three sentences

    its a beautiful campus with lots of shade trees to study under. its class size is smaller than average so each student can learn more.and penn state altoona offers my major, secondary education.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you love the small school environment, this is definitely a school you want to check out!

    Bang for the buck

    The cost per semester is a little high, but through scholarships and financial aid, it is easy to find ways to pay for it.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a small campus environment, with the big school name. Professors get to know you by name, and try to build relationships with their students. Plus, there is always something going on around campus to meet new people.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here really know what they are talking about, and are never afraid to help the students when we need it.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any students, Penn State makes everyone feel welcomed with all different kinds of activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    study but have fun! There is definitely experiences to be had here, it is a learning process when your by yourself. But Penn State gives you the back up you need in college.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Education, Nursing, Communications

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick classes that will interest you and entertain you, and you should preferably have a little bit of knowledge in the math/science classes before you take them, so you don't fall behind.

    Bang for the buck

    The price wasn't too bad for me because I'm from Pennsylvania. However, it can be pretty costly for out of state students.

    Am enjoying being here

    The whole campus is beautiful. There's a lot of diversity, but it's also extremely easy to maneuver around.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like I am learning a good bit of information since I've been here. The courses are very fast paced and you learn information at a faster rate. However, if you can't pick up information fast, it's easier to fall behind.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    MOTIVATED, OUTGOING, SOCIAL.

    Tips for prospective students

    DON'T BE AFRAID TO ASK QUESTIONS!!!

    Bang for the buck

    IT'S A RIP OFF TO LIVE AT NITTANY POINT, AND DORM LIFE IS OKAY,I PERFER OFF CAMPUS HOUSING, BUT IT GOES QUICK!

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE ALL THE GREAT PEOPLE I HAVE MET, AND LOVE THE STUDYING ENVIORNMENTS.

    Am learning a lot

    THE PROFESSORS ARE WELL ROUNDED AND I GOOD AT ANSWERING QUESTIONS.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun you can join any of the clubs here, such as thon, inter-mural sports, etc. you can also play basketball, tennis, run on the track, or hang out in slep (the student center).

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining here is great. port sky is the cafeteria and they have a big selection every day from salads to pizzas and more.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is very nice and furnished. another nice thing about altoona is as a freshman you have the option of getting an apartment right away, rather than waiting until your sophomore year. many other colleges do not have that option.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics here are very competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    one big tip would be to dress warm because it does get very cold out in central pennsylvania. another tip would be to always come prepared to all your classes and always buy the books.

    In three sentences

    penn state altoona is a great college; many students here do what is called the 2 + 2 plan where you start off doing 2 years here, and then finish up your college career at penn state university park for your junior and senior years. altoona is a beautiful campus with wonderful teachers and students.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am not involved in greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't attend or participate in any clubs or activities

    Great for these types of students

    High school grads or adult learners!

    What to do for fun

    I really enjoy the reflecting pond it is relaxing to sit or walk around it.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Penn State Altoona is a great campus!

    In three sentences

    Penn State is a wonderful school not only for high school graduates but for adult learners. I am really pleased I chose Penn State University when I decided to return to school.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On the weekends, many students head up to the main Penn State Campus wich is about 40 miniutes away. Those who stay in Altoona will go to events on campus such as fashion shows.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Penn State Altoona is not the best. Port Sky, the only cafeteria on campus, serves the same food every week and closes at 10:30 PM. There are no fast food restaurants on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms life on campus is OK. The RAs are pretty cool and students have the privilege of choosing their roommates. It gets lonely at times because many of the students go home on the weekends but students have a lot of fun for the most part.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors provide as much help that is needed for students. If you contact them they usually have no problem seeing you outside of class. Most professors are very reasonable and their classes are not difficult to pass as long as you attend class and complete the assignments.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Altoona is a small college that has diverse groups of students, there is a place for every one. Its a great place to start you college career, most students transfer to the main Penn State campus after two years.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus keeps their eyes open for trouble. When something is stolen there are fliers posted everywhere regarding the item. When a troublesome activity occurs students and parents are able to receive texts regarding the activity. Police forces keep the campus safe.

    Greek Life

    There are 4 different fraternities and sororities. I'm in neither so I can't say to much about this beside the members are very proud of where they come from. They do not discriminate, and they seem to be just like family.

    Clubs and Activities

    Whether you are interested in rockets or ballet, the clubs are all here. Clubs range from biology to basketball. When i first came to this campus i joined a club which i liked the general idea of but did not like the specific club, I then switched to another club and found that I loved it. I now major in that area as well as I'm continuing to be a proud member of that club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are passionate about furthering their education, helping their community, and getting the most out of their college experience. When you are able to have fun and learn at the same time life as a college student becomes a lot less stressful. it allows you to meet new friends and change the world on a smaller scale.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many traditions are community service projects to help those in need for example THON. There are also fraternities and sororities which both have their own traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    This university is not cheap. Without grants, loans, or scholarships; for a full time in-state student, who doesn't live on campus; it's $7000 per semester. However there is a vast array of things to do as mentioned before.

    What to do for fun

    Student activities always has something to do for fun. With the new renovations of the slep student center there is always something to do for fun, even on rainy days. There are concerts, plays,dances, shows, and tournaments of all kinds.

    Food and Dining

    With Port sky and local restaurants, food can range from Chinese to italian, all of which is exceptionally delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors excel in research, creativity, and knowledge of subject matter. When they do not know an answer they will ask another professor and another until they find that answer. As you are expected to learn, they are expected to as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep a well rounded mind. Ask questions when you don't understand. Get a tutor for difficulty subjects. Most of all make the most out of your college experience.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Altoona is a well rounded university. The diversity in organizations and programs allow students to truly explore volunteerism and to be part of the overall student life. The vast array of professors, allows students to explore all fields and perhaps find what they're looking for as a career.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take Penn State Altoona seriously, even if you have graduated Altoona High and you are just going to PSU because it's in your hometown. Don't take it as a joke, and realize early that if you graduate from here, you get a Pennsylvania State University degree which will take you very far in life.

    In three sentences

    This school is located in a beautiful part of Central Pennsylvania, close enough to the main campus so that students can participate in football games and other social activity while reaping the benefits of a smaller, quieter town. Classes are smaller resulting in more personal student-teacher relationships.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always campus police around.

    Greek Life

    two sororities and four fraternities

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide range, and also have the opportunity to start your own!

    Bang for the buck

    Go to as many events sponsored by CAB...you pay for the in your student activity fee every semester!

    What to do for fun

    Lots of nightly activities sponsored by several different clubs/groups on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Coasters, Port Sky and The common grounds are all great places to enjoy a meal or grab a snack on the go.

    Dorm Life

    Fun and safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Go to class! It is very important due to the capacity of the classes, do all work on time and study extra hard for quizes and tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, the benefits are endless!

    In three sentences

    Penn State Altoona is a very comfortable setting, allowing yourself to explore you options of whether or not you want to transfer to Univeristy Park. The Campus is very friendly, along with many opportunites to make new friends and memories that will last a life time through Student Involvement. I highly recemend Penn State Altoona for those who are unsure If University Park is for them.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you are 21, there are quite a few bars around Altoona with a good night life.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few good spots close to the campus including Mama Randazzo's, Sheetz, Pizza Hut, and Texas Hot Dogs.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, so I am not sure.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes here can be kind of difficult. If possible, take easy Gen-Eds.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get educated on your major. Be on top of things. Ask questions and attend class!

    In three sentences

    It's a small campus, which is nice. The professors want you to succeed, and will help you in every way they can. I love it here.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, cops everywhere

    Greek Life

    umm there is descent greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    rocket clubs and all different kinds

    Great for these types of students

    students willing to branch out and live life

    Bang for the buck

    beautiful females here

    What to do for fun

    there are parties, and activities to do all around

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, and you will be successful at what ever you put your mind too. You receive, as much as you put in.

    In three sentences

    Very good school academically. In addition, the school has very nice people and respectful professors. The school is located in a nice neighborhood that reflects the overall greatness of the school.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel extremely safe on campus, the campus police have never needed to be called but they are always there for you and if you would ever feel uneasy they are there to walk you to your dorm or car. Parents can really feel great about having their children go to school here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are literally so many and you can always start one if you get a few people together with the same interests. Really great school for extra curricular things to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults, and local students. Anyone really with a great sense of school Pride!! PSUA is full of people who loves our Nittany Lions and we are all proud to be PENN STATE!

    What to do for fun

    The are where school is located there is not a whole lot to do but if you get involved with clubs and activities there will be plenty of fun stuff for you to do.

    Food and Dining

    They cafe food and meal plans are a little on the expensive side but the food is really good and they have just remolded the cafe so everything is brand new.

    Dorm Life

    The smaller older style dorms are not air conditioned so if your spoiled like I am they may not be good for you and suite style dorms are nice but they don't have to many of them so you really got to jump on it if you want them. There are not a whole lot of dorms so if that's really important better to look into the main campus they have more housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Its nice because all the campuses teach you the same way and same things so classes transfer really easy and your learning same stuff all over so just because its a smaller school doesn't mean you wont be learning as much or its an easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to be more focused and less distracted go to Penn State Altoona. Its a smaller campus and there is quite a bit to do. With the main campus only 30 to 45 minutes away its really great to be able to go to the football games and they have a really great 2+2 plan so you can get your feet wet in the smaller university and then move on to the main or largest campus or just finish here.

    In three sentences

    Its a great learning institution with the charm of a small school but the support and academics of a large number one ranked university. All the staff and students are very helpful. You really feel safe at our campus nestled in a small town.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police available all the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs. There is a school newspaper, fraternities and sororities, and even religious groups.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that Penn State is giving me the best possible education I can get. It's well worth my money.

    What to do for fun

    There are tennis courts, a gym, a pool, and more. There are fun events all the time -- at least once a week. Sometimes comedians come in to perform, and other times there are movie nights. Students can also go on trips to places like amusement parks for fairly reasonable prices.

    Food and Dining

    I have only been to the dining hall once, and it was kind of expensive. You can put cash on a meal plan though, so it's not too bad. Also, they offer a decent variety of food and beverages.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, so I'm not exactly qualified to rate them. However, I have heard from those who do live in the dorms that they are decent and a lot of people who live on the same floor are like family.

    Academic Rigor

    It may be tough managing time due to the workload, but it is well worth the time and effort in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources available, such as tutors and advisers.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Altoona is a great school! The instructors and staff all genuinely care and try to help students do their best. The resources available to students, such as free tutors, are so convenient. Also, there are always activities going on, so it is never boring.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study.

    Food and Dining

    What bothers me is the food in the cafeteria. There is little variety and it's not very good quality.

    Dorm Life

    I don't mind living in the standard residence halls.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are just as tough here as they are at University Park. If you're struggling in a class, there are tutors available.

    Tips for prospective students

    If Altoona is far from home and you plan on staying here for the weekends, bring board games, movies, and basically anything and everything you can to entertain yourself on the weekends if you don't plan to go to parties or have a car.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Altoona is a great place to further your education. There are many organizations for students to get involved in and on-campus activities during the week. On the weekends, however, there is very little going on and no one on campus.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are everywhere, the campus is well lit, and there are call buttons through out the campus. Students feel very safe.

    Greek Life

    There is some Greek life, but it is very time consuming and recommended that Freshman do not participate.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for anyone and everything and if a student wants a club that is not offered he can apply to start a new one. Also most of the clubs are connected to University Park so students can make connections before they transfer.

    Great for these types of students

    The small campus makes it a great place for commuters, people who like one-on-one with their professors, and shyer students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a giant duck pond on campus and a fund is set up to pay for the vet bill for ducks that get hit by the maintenance staff vehicles.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is more expensive that community college or some other state colleges, however, it is cheaper than Penn State University Park and still has a great education process and rigor.

    What to do for fun

    There are emails sent out almost daily about movies, plays, games, bingo, and clubs that a student can participate in. There is a bus stop on campus so students can go off campus to Altoona and go bowling, or shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining area on campus is student staffed and friendly. The food is what one could expect from a college campus, above cafeteria grade but not much better. The dining hall, Sky Port, is a nice place to meet friends and hang out.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and if there is any problem with a roommate the resident assistant will help students find a new roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    The class do challenge the students and prepare them to go on to either the main campus or graduate school, but they are passable if you devote time to studying and attending class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the instructors office hours and attend class and you will do well in class. The campus is small but there is still so much to do, almost every night there are activities to be involved with and opportunities to create friends for life.

    In three sentences

    Penn State is a small community with all of the resources and staff needed to help anyone succeed it they are willing to try. The staff is extremely helpful and will take as much time as a student needs to aid them in the learning process. It feels like home.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are multiple blue light locations where there is an emergency button that can be pressed and the campus police will be on the scene very quickly. The campus police are very good at what they do and they are very friendly and approachable. I had multiple questions during the summer before my freshman year and they were more than happy to assist me.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are different religious and ethnic organizations, various charity organizations, and different organizations that cater to many different hobbies and interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Penn State Altoona is great for any and all types of students. There are so many different things to do on campus all the time, so there is always something for each and every student to do and have fun doing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a gorgeous pond on campus and it has a fountain in it. There are quite a few ducks that live on campus and reside at the pond. They are friendly and mind their own business, and do not seem to be afraid of the many students that are always milling about. The athletic complex on campus is very nice as well, and if free for student use as long as the student has their student identification card. There is a very large swimming pool, an exercise loft with various cardio and strength training equipment. There are racquetball rooms and weightlifting rooms too. There is also a non-denominational chapel on campus that is free for use for all students at all times.

    What to do for fun

    There are events on campus weekly. Whether it be a free movie showing, a free comedian or other entertainment group, a bingo night, or a night with free pizza, campus life is definitely never dull.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is delicious. During this past summer of 2012 the cafeteria on campus was completely remodeled. It looks very modern, but most importantly the food is really good. There is a salad station, a pasta station, an all day breakfast food station, a sandwhich station, a grill station, a coffee/tea/milkshake station, a pizza station, and a chef's choice table.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls are pretty nice, and they are very secure. Nobody can gain entrance to the residence halls without swiping their student identification cards. The resident assistants are very friendly and are willing to help you with anything that they are able to.

    Academic Rigor

    This definitely isn't high school where you could just study for half an hour before taking a test and pass it, or where you could skip all of the practive homework assignments and still get a decent grade in the course. Studying is imperitive as is doing the assigned work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work as hard as you can in high school because Penn State is a very good school and you will be proud to get accepted into this amazing university. Participate in as many extracurriculars as you can handle without compromising your grades as well because that will make your application stand out.

    In three sentences

    The campus is gorgeous and inviting and all it is made out to be. The faculty and staff are so friendly, as is the student body. Most importantly, the academics are of very high quality as are the extracurricular activities that the campus offers.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very low compared to many other schools.

    What to do for fun

    Not much there are parties here and there. Hang out with friends. There are many organizations that you can join.

    Food and Dining

    Port Sky (main on campus cafe) has breakfast until 4pm! Also many different options.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Find housing early. On campus housing goes very fast !

    In three sentences

    Great environment, small town, small classes, awesome professors.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I know that at the Altoona Campus there are phone booths every so often. These booths are there in case some one needs immediate assistance. Such as a young lady walking back to her dorm and feels like she is being followed. She can pick up the phone and the person on the other end will talk to her until the university police get to her. They are dispatched immediately. At the University Park Campus I always see a police officer around. I feel very safe at both campuses.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't really have time to attend any clubs or activities. I work full time and I am a full time student.

    Great for these types of students

    The students that attend this school have a great sense of pride. They worked hard to get into this school. Being that I am somewhat older than most, I enjoy talking to them. They are ready to help a fellow student with whatever they may need.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since I am an Adult Learner I don't get involved with on campus traditions. I do wear white during their white out football games. The support that the young men and women gave the football team during a very rough time was remarkable. Being on campus I heard several young men and women verbalize the heartache they felt for the victims of last years trials. At the same time they showed their maturity with not agreeing with the few students that lost control during the riots. This school is about the students. They have great academic achievements. The parents should be proud of these young men and women. I know I am.

    Bang for the buck

    When I first started college I gave birth to my 1st son in the middle of a semester. I had him on a Thursday and went back into school the following Tuesday to take a liver exam. I graduated with my Associates Degree in Nursing. I always stress to my children that education is never wasted. I decided about a year ago to go back for my BSN then on to my MSN. When I made this decision my oldest son was starting at PSU at University Park. I remember when I took him to college, he looked at me and laughed and said Here we are again mom in college together. My middle child will be starting college this fall in 2013. My youngest child age 16 is starting to make plans for when she graduates. She has 5 colleges she is interested in and would like to see one or two this summer. I raised my children with respect for education and to absorb all it has to offer because it will never be wasted. I currently work full time as a charge nurse for a hospital in my area. I have been attending PSU in Altoona and have maintained a 3.63 GPA. With over 18 years of experience in nursing I plan on getting my MSN and teach nursing.

    What to do for fun

    I am a mother of 3 teen age children. My two sons will be in college this year. If I am not running with one of them or all, I enjoy reading in a quite room or horseback riding. Most of the time I am with my children. I was blessed with 3 great kids.

    Food and Dining

    I will eat at the University Park College when I pick up my son from time to time. The students that work there are very friendly. The food has always been very good.

    Dorm Life

    I commute since I have a family. I do have a son that is in his second year of college at the PSU University Park. He rooms with 5 other students from all different cultures. This has really be a great experience for him.

    Academic Rigor

    The student can arrange their schedule with a their appointed adviser. I take the condensed coarse to get done quicker. This can be very stressful and trying. The instructors are available for questions outside of the classroom if you need them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Browse through the available classes to see what fits your needs. Are you a student that benefits from online instruction or do you need to sit in a classroom. Penn State provides their students with both.

    In three sentences

    This school is very goal oriented. It provides you with the most up to date educational experience in technology to prepare you for your future. It also has available different classroom experiences to fit the individual needs.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is never a time where you feel unsafe. If you do for any reason, campus police come within minutes to assist you.

    Greek Life

    There are three fraternities and two sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    You'll find something that you fit into.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something to do here to fit everyone's interests!

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the best, but they are working on changing it. Always different options.

    Dorm Life

    Depending what dorm you live in. Cedar is the best dorm to live in, with air and heat and a good amount of space.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here vary. There are classes that are challenging, but always something interesting. Definitely a good variety.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would come check out the campus and get a better feel for everything. You always want to be for sure about where you want to go to college!

    In three sentences

    PSU Altoona is a place to not only have fun, but to also get an extraordinary education. It is a place filled with opportunities and experiences that will help you later on in life. It is a place that is your home away from home.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are blue police boxes where you press a button and a police officer will be there in 30 seconds. There's security around campus and you can be escorted to your dorm or another area on campus if you feel unsafe alone. Current students giving the tours say they've felt very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    I have no knowledge of the Greek life here and I'm not really interested in it. That's for all schools, not just PSUA.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many things offered I don't know what to pick. Everyone can find an activity or club to join that they'll love.

    Great for these types of students

    Any ambitious student excited to try new things will thrive at this school. They offer almost anything and if they don't they'll work to help get you what you want or need.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a map of trees on campus that shows which trees are what type and where you can locate them. There's also a fabled black squirrel that appears every now and then on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This is my dream school and I think the teachers really do care about the education the students are getting. The school is more expensive, but the education and job placement more than make up for that.

    What to do for fun

    I found out about Zumba classes that are offered almost daily and I will be attending many of these! There's plenty of activities, shops, and attractions in Altoona and buses to drive you to all of them as well if the campus doesn't have what you want.

    Food and Dining

    I have no real experience on the food and dining on campus. The cafeteria seems to offer a lot of options, but there are other restaurants in Altoona right outside campus if the school doesn't have what you want.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms seem like the stereotypical college dorm. They're very clean and a good size for two people. The only down side is housing isn't guaranteed.

    Academic Rigor

    It seems like most students care about their academics and teachers want them to succeed, although I only have a few campus visits to back that up with.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend looking at your idea of a prospective major and meeting the teachers or talking to a student currently in that major. If there are any clubs, sports, or activities you absolutely must have in your life, there's plenty of information on what's available on their website.

    In three sentences

    Penn State University- Altoona campus feels very inviting and enlightened. The faculty and students appear to be serious about the education, but excited about the clubs and activities around campus. There really is something for everyone here.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police are always on call; all day and all night.

    Greek Life

    There are a few sororities and fraternities at Penn State Altoona, but a numerous amount are located at University Park.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and organizations on campus. If they don't offer one you are interested in, you can easily start your own; all you need are four other friends to join you.

    Great for these types of students

    Penn State Altoona is perfect for students who enjoy being a part of a large university, but prefer to be in a small class setting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Slep Student Center isn't used as much as it should be, but it has also been renovated and it's a cozy place to study for exams.

    Bang for the buck

    Penn State is an expensive university, but a Penn State degree is recognized nationally to be a top-tier program.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs and organizations to get involved in, and there are several restaurants to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Port Sky has recently been renovated so the food options are excellent.

    Dorm Life

    The living options include a wide range, but suite style living is the best option. These are offered in Spruce and Cedar Hall.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes offered cover a wide range, but it's mostly about who your professor is that determines the difficulty. However, classes taken at PSU Altoona are much easier than those taken at University Park.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you go through the housing process as a freshman, Try to get into Spruce Hall. Cedar Hall is strictly for sophomores and upperclassmen so Spruce Hall is your best bet if you want suite style living.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus. Great academics with small class sizes. Housing options are excellent.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always around and there are never any crimes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Get Involved! If you get involved with clubs on campus you experience at Penn State will be the greatest and it will all help you in the long run.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is for every type of person. It is a well rounded campus and very diverse. Everyone will get along and you will make friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus people will play ice hockey on the pond when it freezes.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel going to altoona is a huge honor. You are paying less than campus and will end up with a Penn state degree which is a school that known world wide.

    What to do for fun

    Around campus i like to go to the gym and play basketball. Since it is in the mountains we get a lot of snow, so it is nice to go sledding on the nittany point hill. Then when the weather warms up I would go play football or soccer on the turf field.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has just been renivated. It is a beauitful complex and has alot of meal options. The only problem I have with the dining hall is that they do not change there menu very often but the food itself it very good.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the dorms now, there is nothing wrong with them. The rooms are a little small but it it still perfectly fine. I strongly encourage freshman to live on campus so they keep to there school work and be on top of things.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a stressful school week most of the time. But it is not overloaded, it all depends on what major you have and how many credits you would like to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is cheaper then main campus, and is only a 40 minute drive. It has a low student to teacher ratio, which was a plus for me because you get to know your teachers better

    In three sentences

    It is the best side campus for the Penn State community. It makes you feel at home and everyone knows who you are. It is also the near University Park for all the Penn State football games.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are plenty of security guards, and there are safety call boxes littered throughout the campus. All students are automatically notified if a crime has taken place on or near campus, and as far as I've ever seen, there haven't been any actual violent crimes, just petty thefts.

    Great for these types of students

    People who don't really like large crowds, or prefer quieter scenes, or just learn in environments with fewer students and less going on.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though it's just a smaller branch campus of Penn State, you're still getting a Penn State degree, and paying just a little less for it.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs based around video games, there are bowling, poker, and game nights. The busses take you to the local mall and movie theaters, and there are a TON of great restaurants in the area.

    Food and Dining

    I've eaten several times at the local cafeteria, and I just wasn't too impressed.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus throughout my entire time there, so I really have no idea.

    Academic Rigor

    Penn State Altoona definitely has its difficult classes, but there are also some that are just an outright joke

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work as hard as you can, college requires a lot of time spent doing work on your own, unlike high school.

    In three sentences

    It's a great place, if you like tiny schools. The professors are usually great, and willing and able to help you with problems. It's not so great if you're looking for a big college experience, however.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is not very big. If I am not mistaking I believe there are two sororities and 2 fraternities.

    What to do for fun

    Being from the city it was hard to try to find things to do but there are some things that are off campus. The school also does off campus activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on your school work. If you are having trouble or need help with anything say something. If there is something wrong with a class talk to your adviser.

    In three sentences

    As a student I do believe that is it a good school. The staff and faculty are also very helpful. There are some challenges when being so far from home but I have made the best out of it.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A lot of campus thefts in the dorms have occurred this year but the school is really great with getting the word out. There are also those safety poles around the campus so if you feel threatened so push the sucker and it'll light up, security will come a running.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for basically everything, if not you can always start one.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a place for every type of student: nerdy, jock, party animal, artist, shut-in, school oriented. I would just say city kids beware the first year can be a shocking one. Definitely check out the campus and town first.

    Bang for the buck

    Included in your tuition is the use of the computer lab where you get about 150 pages of free printing a semester or a school year. There are also clubs and the use of the gym. Take note do not buy books before you attend the class unless you are absolutely sure you need it; I made that mistake my first year (Also do not buy from the book store if you can avoid it so overpriced).

    What to do for fun

    Most people party. Altoona is for sure a party school at night and a book school when the sun is up.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great I love Port, a lot of food items. Close to campus there are some recognizable food places and since Altoona is an entrepreneurial town there are family owned restaurants as well (all a great eat). Downside a lot of other restaurants are about a 25 minute drive so if you don't have a car it sucks.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but I've been in them and they are pretty nice but I here cedar is the best because the air conditioning is the best. If you don't want to live in a dorm there are plenty of off campus housing nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    The material can be challenged but a benefit would be the class sizes. The teachers will more than likely know you by name and they are willingly to help you. There are tutors for the major courses and teachers love to do review sessions before exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering going here definitely check out the campus first. While I thought the campus was beautiful especially in the summer as I said the town is pretty small and if you are from a city where there is much to do then you could get bored or annoyed about the long drives from civilized atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    A great school in a small quiet town. The teachers are really invested in your academic life as well as every one in the town, people always smile when they see a PSU student anywhere. The students here also love to socialize!

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Penn State Altoona Police Services always keep the campus safe. They are all very nice and polite. If something bad happens on campus, within ten minutes you will receive an email about the situation and what to avoid.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and Activities are amazing and really get you involved with the campus. Clubs in Engineering include rocket building and launching, mini baja competitions, and project designs. Each one requires the use of electrical and mechanical equipment and knowledge and are very gratifying when they are completed.

    Great for these types of students

    Penn State Altoona is great for any student. Whether you are interested in Engineering, Nursing, Communication, Theater Arts, Psychology, Sociology, and more, the campus offers courses for all of these interests. Even students who are undecided can have a great time at this campus and advisers will work with you find a major that works for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When there are tours going on for the campus, Students will scream, WE ARE...! and it is almost a requirement for the tour guides to scream back, PENN STATE!.

    Bang for the buck

    This campus being a smaller campus of Penn State University is cheaper than University Park. The knowledge you will get here will definitely help for a career or for when you may go to University Park for your last two years. Penn State Altoona offers a couple majors all four years here without going to UP. Electro-Mechanical Engineering Technology is an amazing program and only offered at this campus.

    What to do for fun

    When on campus, having a snack at Port Sky Cafe is fun with friends. It gives you time to communicate and socialize with students within your major or different from your major. Participating in clubs gets your involved in your college and/or major and can be very pleasing.

    Food and Dining

    Port Sky Cafe is a pretty nice cafeteria for dining. The atmosphere is quite pleasant. Food can be expensive but as long as you use your LionCash on your Penn State Lion+ ID card it can be cheap with the discount you receive.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms but I do work at ResTECH as the Student Manager and I work to help residential students. The atmosphere is nice. Dorm room are a little small but give you enough room to have some privacy. Internet speeds in the dorms are insanely fast. An average of 60MB/s Down and Up!

    Academic Rigor

    It can be quite difficult especially in any mathematics courses. The professors are very thorough in their lectures, notes, and MS Power Points. Note everything they say down and you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and don't slack. Understand that you are spending quite a bit of money to attend classes, so show up. Keep yourself organized. Consider using Google Drive as a way of sharing documents to other students that you may be working within a group.

    In three sentences

    It is absolutely beautiful. Professors know you on a first name basis. Advisers for your major do an amazing job keeping you in line with classes to complete your degree as early as possible.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very very safe! RA's and police are always on watch!

    Greek Life

    We don't have too many, I believe 2 fraternities, and 1 sorority. But it's enough for a small campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many many clubs.. if you're interested, you can even start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Altoona is great for everyone! I'm from the city, and I grew to love Altoona! You will find your place!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are lots of ducks near our reflecting pond... and they WILL get in your way when you're rushing to class!

    Bang for the buck

    Before I attended Altoona, I didn't know what to expect. Since Altoona wasn't my first choice, I didn't go in expecting anything at all. But I'm very glad I chose this campus, because I met lots of wonderful people.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, jam, do sport events, basically.. you can do everything! Just get involved!

    Food and Dining

    Penn State food isn't bad, and there isn't too many choices. It gets old, but it's not bad! Our ice-cream is very good! :)

    Dorm Life

    I love dorming at Penn State Altoona! Get to know your community! You will meet lots of wonderful people!

    Academic Rigor

    Always stay on top of your school work. College is exciting, but their workload can also be very hefty. Try not to procrastinate too much... start early, it will always help! Time management is very important!

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore! Join clubs and attend school events! There is plenty of things to do, you just need to get involved!

    In three sentences

    Penn State Altoona is a very beautiful campus, although it is not very large, everything you need is there. If I need to describe Penn State Altoona in one word, it would have to be homey. It makes me feel at ease and comfortable, people here are family to me.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    THON Finals Week Sports Clubs and Activites Movie Nights Condom Bingo Dance Classes Concerts and Recitals Speakers

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining has gotten better since I came here Fall of 2011, and they have more choices so I have to say that I am pleased, but I live off campus and would much rather cook something for myself.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms, but from what I have heard and seen for myself they are decent dorms. As long as you get along with your roommate, and are able to get out as well, they dorms are good for students coming on to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here are wonderful, they all have the drive to teach and successfully get their message through. Students all depend on which class you are in. Being in a nursing major, all of my fellow nursing students spend a lot of time in the library and studying all over the place.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you live on campus it is easier to get involved, and so if you live off campus I advise you to make an effort to get and stay involved. Anywhere you go they have clubs and activities for, or if you haven't found what you were looking for, create your own. Try to do certain things at least once, just because you aren't up at Main Campus doesn't mean to not go to a football game, THON, or experience a more campus friendly event here. There are concerts, finals week there are always things to do, and there are games to watch. Support your teams, and make Penn State Altoona your school.

    In three sentences

    Quaint, calm, and clean campus. There are things for everyone to do, and great places for everyone to study. Has wonderful teachers that are there to help you in and out of the classroom.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Portsky cafe seems great.

    Dorm Life

    They only have 900 spots in on-campus housing and it is not guaranteed to freshman. I had to go off campus, which was a pain, seeing as there are about 4000 students attending the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Unsure, I'm attending in the fall.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to call the school with any questions.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. It has a secluded, outdoorsy feel to it, but the town is down the road.

  • 09/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Port sky caf�© has many different options to choose from but within the sections, the menu doesn't really change.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is so friendly here at Penn State Altoona. We speak whenever we see each other and the dorms are like our community. We respect one another.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to work for the grade you want. Some classes, you might not have to work as hard but there is work to be done. It is impossible to make good grades without studying. You also have to do the homework on your own, you don't have to turn it in so it's up to you rather you do it or not. Doing it helps because that's about the only practice you'll get.

    Tips for prospective students

    For me, coming from Cali was one of the hardest things I had to do but you realize what you chose Penn State for and stay focused. It might be hard at first but make lots of friends, use your time wisely and by the spring semester you'll be fine.

    In three sentences

    It's great for people who want to know their professors. The campus is small and beautiful and you can walk to classes unlike the bigger campus, University Park. Altoona also offers a lot of majors.

  • 11/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Police do a great job of ensuring the campus is safe.

    Greek Life

    There aren't many Greek organizations on campus. So far there isn't much involvement on campus from any of them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many clubs to mention! The clubs definitely offer a lot to do.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with a club, go on outings with the office of student life, attend a concert on campus or see a comedian from comedy central or vh1

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't all that great and sometimes the service is slow. Then again, they are fellow students.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live on campus but have stayed several nights with friends who do live on campus and the dorms are pretty cool. The Office of Residence Life does a great job here trying to meet the needs of the students and make living on campus fun.

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends on the classes you choose to take and what professors you choose to learn from. Get to know your professor! Each level of academics offers its unique challenges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professor. Meet with your Adviser throughout the semester Get involved with a club Go on trips Study!

    In three sentences

    The Pennsylvania State University - Penn State Altoona is a beautiful lush campus tucked away in the serine Alleghany Mountains. It is overflowing with student life events and ways to get involved in the community. The college incorporates all aspects from having fun, to academics, to finding a career.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on campus is very good. There are plenty of options available for every student.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor obviously depends on your major along with the amount of work and activities you look to become involved in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Penn State Altoona is a smaller campus where teacher student interaction is very common. Class sizes range around 20 students with the biggest classes possibly nearing 100. My experiences thus far have been nothing but positive and I continue to expect the same.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Altoona is a small branch campus to the Pennsylvania State University. With around 4,000 students the opportunities to stand out and be heard are tremendous! It is a great transition campus for any student looking to make a smooth transition into college with the opportunity to move on to a bigger university later on.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Really small. 2 Fraternities and Sororities.

    What to do for fun

    It is really small so it does not have nothing really to do, other than if you play any sport. Also it snows a lot.

    Food and Dining

    It is a small restaurant and the food is repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    Very strict.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a school where you can learn good because classrooms are small.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small school this si for you. It is really cold.

    In three sentences

    Is a small campus. Allows you to meet everybody. Does not provide a good transportation system.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Port Sky Cafe doesn't have a wide variety of food. Some days it's hard to want to eat anything that they have.

    Academic Rigor

    Not all teachers are great, but most are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take college seriously!

    In three sentences

    While quite small, this school as great academics. There isn't much to do, but the education you'll receive will be worth it.