Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Beaver Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to come here make sure you come prepared. Don't come in unorganized and out of wack or you are setting yourself up for failure. Pick a college that is right for you not your parents. They don't have to go there you do so be happy or you won't have a good time. This is coming from someone who listened to his parents his first year.

    Bang for the buck

    Although such a small school it is somewhat pricy but it all depends on what you are looking for. In state you'd be great especially commuting from home but the room and board is pretty high here. But you ahve to remember your paying for a Penn State Degree!

    Am enjoying being here

    For being such a small campus there is alot to do. WIth all the athletic events to go watch, many clubs, and just a great variety of different kinds of students. Anyone can feel right at home because theres something for everyone to do and being located where it is you can go find alot of stuff to do off campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are great! They care about individual students and are willing to work with you outside of class to make sure your time here is a success. With small classroom numbers they have alot of time to work more 1 on 1 with you!

  • 01/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Penn state Beaver is great for students who want the big name school and education but are not decided on a major. There are so many exploratory classes to take from the arts and history to science and literature. Career counselors are always there to help you sort it out and find where you belong. For those who are not yet ready to leave home Penn State Beaver is the perfect place to start. It's close enough and far enough from home whether you decide to stay or commute. For those who fear meeting new people and making new friendships a lot of students from local high schools find there way here so you most likely will know someone. The students, professors, advisers, and staff are friendly and want your experience at Penn State Beaver to be the absolute best!

    Tips for prospective students

    It's all about the experience and the experience you have depends on one person...YOU. Get involved with clubs, study groups, sports, anything to start meeting new people and take advantage of the classes Penn State Beaver has to offer. You might just find a new interest.

    Bang for the buck

    At Penn State Beaver it is possible to get a quality education for less. By choosing Penn State Beaver and commuting to school for my first two years I am saving about $20,000.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Penn State Beaver! There are always activities to participate in including movie nights, concerts, etc. There are so many organizations to become a part of such as THON, Alpha Phi Omega, flag football, game club, and many more. It is impossible to ever be bored when you're on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Although Penn State Beaver is a branch campus you still receive the same quality Penn State University education. There are a great variety of courses offered on campus and with fewer students on campus you have smaller class sizes. Even classes not pertaining to your major can be fun and may lead to a change of major. The professors here take time to help struggling students and truly care about their student's success.

  • 12/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Penn State Beaver, don't slack off. Many people think that since it's a branch campus, it's not as difficult, but that's not true. It's a great school, and you should come prepared for it.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it's a branch campus, you still get the Penn State stamp of approval, but for a lot less. It's great!

    Am enjoying being here

    All your friends are here! Whether you meet people from a rival high school, or halfway across the world, you'll enjoy your experience at Penn State Beaver. The classes are tough, but it pays off big time!

    Am learning a lot

    Your professors care about YOU. Since it's a branch campus, you still get the Penn State experience, but with smaller class sizes, and more individual help.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a more intimate setting and really getting to know your teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Nice area - lower cost and close to Pittsburgh if you require city events!

    In three sentences

    I am from this area and really like the campus. It's small and friendly, which is what I required in a college setting. It's a fun place and I an planning on completing my undergraduate degree on this campus.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Whatever you want.

    Food and Dining

    I don't no.

    Dorm Life

    I give it 5 stars. Even though I have no idea.

    Academic Rigor

    I give it 4 stars. Even though I haven't had my first class there yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    I will have to let you know.

    In three sentences

    I haven't actually started classes there yet, so I will have to let you know. I am majoring in Computers and Information Technology. I currently have a degree in German, but decided to go for that 2nd degree.

  • 10/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe, security is present but not a problem

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities if you are interested.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are not sure they can handle the large campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    New gym is awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    Great place to start your education! Fun, lots to do if you want and professors are very interested in seeing you succeed.

    What to do for fun

    There are trips planned for lost every month. There are many clubs you can join to meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has a good variety of food with lots of healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    You are definitely challenged. Professors are ver helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great small school to start your eduction with. Not to big, not to small. Good place to meet and make friends.

    In three sentences

    Great small school. Has plenty of opportunities for all students. Professors are very helpful and care about how your doing.

  • 11/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a mall right across the street and there are a few nice restaurants within a few mile radius.

    Food and Dining

    The Bistro has good food, it just gets boring after awhile.

    Dorm Life

    There are roommate problems, but that is part of the dorm life. The bathrooms could be cleaned up a little better.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but I know it will pay off in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to study ahead of time, not just the day before your exam.

    In three sentences

    They have a great psychology program. There professors are very helpful. I have fallen in love with the campus.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and events going on at campus. Many times there are trips that leave from campus go to a destination and then return to campus for a really inexpensive costs to students.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Bistro café on campus where you can get hot and cold foods, drinks, etc. You can also sit on couches and watch TV in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms. There is only one dorm building- I'm sure it is quiet like the rest of campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I would not say that the classes are hard but it is a lot of work. Some material in certain classes is more difficult than others but as long as you read, work hard, and ask for help when you need it everything is fine. Must follow deadlines and turn things in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself! There is nothing to be nervous about- teachers, advisors, and office workers are all very kind and helpful. There are a few computer labs which are the best places to study- much quieter than the library.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Beaver is a very small campus. Small classroom sizes allow me to get to know other students and teachers. All of my teacher at the campus have been kind and helpful.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is always fresh and they make it just to your liking.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small, but always well kept.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers take the time to listen and get to know you on an individual bases.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take college lightly. When you get to college always remember you're here for an education not for fun.

    In three sentences

    It is a small quaint university that gives a student homey feeling with a top degree.