Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Berks Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    How should I put this? I love Penn State Berks, this campus shows so much school spirit, so much love and so much excitement. Even though we are not the biggest campus and we are not the main campus WE ARE....Penn State regardless of what campus we are on we are still on in the same. Our campus shows so much love and consideration for all students. Our classes are very small its like the size of a high school class about 20-25 students, its easy for students to get to know their professor as well as the professor getting to know the students. Every professor here at Penn State Berks are willing to help every student even if you the student is not a student of the professor. Also here at Berks we have so many activities to part-take in. Just because we are a small campus does not mean that we are a boring campus. We have so much like track team,soccer,basketball,dance team, cheerleaders,groups trying to bring greek life to the campus, and so much more. This campus is great for all students and I recommend this campus to everybody, because everybody wants the love that Penn State Berks give!

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is key to being successful in any school, but especially at this campus, there are a ton of distractions. Get involved with what Berks has to give. Network with all your professors, this helps with recommendations, scholarships,grants, internships, and more. Make sure to complete all work before its due it makes it easier for you to do activity work with your group, your team,or just hanging out with your friends. Follow all rules because when you break you will get in trouble. Last but not least enjoy college, but make sure you make your parents proud because WE ARE....Penn State!!!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    I am receiving the education of a lifetime. Why wouldn't I pay for this...it's great.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being apart of Penn State Berks, there is so much to do and there is so much love here. This campus is so beautiful, and well-kept.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning everything I always dreamed of! And that is a GREAT education!

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is really good for students who want to go to a smaller campus and close to home. There are not that many distractions here as there will be at the main campus but you will still have fun. Instead of having about 50 or 60 people in you class, the classes are like a regular high school class with about 25 to 30 people in it. The teachers here are very determined to make their students succeed. If you like the one on one student teacher you will like this campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    WE ARE...Penn State! That is always are chant. Though we are not the main campus, we are still a Penn State Campus. It's a small fun campus that I think anyone would would enjoy. Though its small it makes up for it with all the different activities that they do. The campus is very beautiful and easy to get around. If you like a smaller campus I guarantee you will like this one!

  • 05/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for independent learners (like homeschoolers) and those who want small class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your advisors. They can help you with scheduling your classes in the most efficient ways (which courses count as credit for two different requirements, which ones are on the same days, etc) and with choosing which major might be best for you.

    Bang for the buck

    I am very satisfied with my experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am meeting a lot of great people who share interests and values with me. The classes are stimulating and are making me think about all sorts of things I wouldn't normally.

    Am learning a lot

    I learned a great deal this semester about cultures from around the world, some of which I didn't even know existed before. This is a subject I was very interested in before, and am even more interested in now.

  • 08/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want small classes, one on one time with the professor, a great college scenery, peace and quiet.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips are to not get distracted by others or parties. Get involve with the campus activities since they are free or cheap for students and go ask for help when you don't understand a subject.

    Bang for the buck

    Since I'm a out of state student, the cost is a bit more but overall I don't think it's that bad. I just wish that there was a way to lower the cost of tuition a bit or more work positions on and off campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    Berks is a really nice small campus for those who like to get one on one time with his or her professor. There are many ways to get help in classes in which you don't understand or need extra help in. Not to mention the students on campus are very friendly and are willing to help.

    Am learning a lot

    Lots of teachers and professors on campus are willing to help their students understand the material. However, every professor has his or her's own teaching strategy and it can be boring or exciting but mostly every teacher knows what he or she is teaching. The teachers that I've had helped me a lot through the courses.

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Berks is great for people who love the outdoors. Pennsylvania is mostly rural. Right in the backyard of Berks, you'll find deers, groundhogs, and rabbits. It's a school who for students who love quietness. However, you could always drive to Philadelphia, Baltimore, or New York to enjoy some city lights. They aren't close but not extremely far either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely, visit the campus. If you don't visit, you'll never know if you'll REALLY like it or not.

    Bang for the buck

    Penn State isn't really cheap but not really expensive either. Plus, the Penn State diploma is worth the money.

    Will enjoy being here

    I'll enjoy it. The rural area will help me concentrate in the work and not get distracted.

    Will learn a lot

    Penn State gives you the choice of mostly every major you can think of. Their professors are all highly qualified to teach them and will be there to help. There is really no excuse to not learn anything in this school.

  • 12/18/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like to study hard and not party at all. People who simply play video games all day instead of actually partying will like this campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Commute! It's not worth it to live there. Also, study hard for the tests.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not worth it to live on campus. All the parties are broken up by the cops. A lot of people have gotten an underage for drinking. Weekends are very boring, as most people go home because there is nothing to do on campus.

    Did enjoy being here

    The people here are pretty mean. Most of them won't give you a chance. I had a very difficult time making friends. Although, there are a few friendly people.

    Did learn a lot

    The professors here are pretty good. They care about you and they don't make the course too difficult. Although, they generally give very difficult tests. The thing is that homeworks and classwork make up for the tests. They make it very difficult to fail.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    as far as walking around campus it's super safe; and as long as you lock you dorm doors so are the dorms.

    Greek Life

    they're trying to get a greek life but at the moment there is none

    Clubs and Activities

    there's a pretty large number of clubs, plenty of miscellaneous ones as well as volunteer ones for the do gooders in the world

    Great for these types of students

    who like a personal relationship with professors. decently small class sizes and variety of 4 year degrees that can be completed at berks. want to meet a wide variety of people from different areas and cultural backgrounds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have this place called the labyrinth that few people know about. it's tucked into the back corner of campus where you can go and just think if it's been a rough day or enjoy and soak up some sun while you study.

    Bang for the buck

    to my knowledge everything is all reasonably fair priced i personally try to spend as little money as possible...i'm a broke college student. there are opportunities to get a job if need be.

    What to do for fun

    the planned campus activities calendar actually is really helpful, there's always something going on and they have trips to nyc to broadway, and dc once or twice a semester.

    Food and Dining

    it's not awful and can actually be quite delicious at times but at others, you can get sick of having only so many options available

    Dorm Life

    it's like any dorm, some people are loud, some are quiet. all you need to do is make some friends in the building or hallway and put some posters on the wall to make it feel a little like home. the woods tend to be a bit quieter while the village is a bit more like family and closer which depending what you make of it can be good or bad.

    Academic Rigor

    it mostly depends on your major and whether you plan to stay there for 4 years or for 2

    Tips for prospective students

    if you want raging parties, getting drunk all the time this is not for you. if you like close interactive relationships with professors and class mates you'll fit right in.

    In three sentences

    it is a quiet campus with opportunities to have a good time, get work done, and make connections with different people. it allows you to get to know your professors better than up at university park, your not just a number here. it can get really windy at times, make sure you have a good wind jacket.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus feels very safe. There was never any problems that I've heard of.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    CAB, THON

    What to do for fun

    Near the campus there's many shopping outlets to visit. On campus events are held everyday by various clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Tullys, the main cafeteria on campus, is quite overpriced for commuters. Not to mention the food there is not very good. Although, the cafe on campus is nice it is also pretty overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter therefore I can't say much about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are designed to challenge you but still have to you succeed. I've heard calculus is quite tough if taken here. If you pay attention and put effort into your classes you should do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time to classes. Don't miss class. Commute if you can because the price of room and board is high and the availability of rooms is low.

    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful campus. I like the class sizes, they're not too big or too small. The staff is also very kind and helpful.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only Penn state campus where the campus police carry guns

    What to do for fun

    Play league of legends and Go out on Thursdays.

    Food and Dining

    Good luck.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nicer then main campuses but it is a small campuses so everyone knows each other.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work. Study every time you get the chance. Do not forget your social life.

    In three sentences

    It is a small campuses. Talking to your professors is easy. The school is very manageable

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe. There are campus police always driving around campus, who are only a phone call away. We have blue lights you push in an emergency and the police are there within 1 minute. We also have safety patrolmen who walk you to your car, dorm, class at night if you don't feel comfortable. The campus is pretty safe and no need to feel unsafe, but there are safety protection incase you do feel unsafe, because we do have a diversity of students from various areas, states, and countries.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, we do not have Greek Life on our campus, but it is expected to be on our campus within the future.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to join, if there isn't you can create your own club or team.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs, sports, late night movies, as well as poets, concerts, and even free stuff give aways.

    Food and Dining

    Though the food hours on the weekends are the greatest when you are used to eating late at night during the week, the food won't kill you. Sometimes they have amazing food and other times you question what it is. This could be because we have a diverse student population and the food helps make all students familiar to the cuisine.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are set up so that you can make friends with your suite mates. You only share a bathroom with 4 other people, but it still provides a friendly and comfortable feel.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics give you a challenge in some courses, while in others they are a good GPA booster. They are perfect for when you have a heavy load of challenging courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should try to join a club and stay involved on campus. It will help you make friends and feel welcomed rather than secluded from everyone else.

    In three sentences

    I love Penn State Berks. It has the family feel where everyone knows each other, which make sit easy when asking help from your professors. It also makes it easy to make friends and get a good college education.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe! The have police people that will walk you from your class if you do not feel safe at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently in basketball and it is the best ever! The coach is very friendly and helps me through everything.

    What to do for fun

    Every night they have something fun and excited for you to do. They have comedians come in, decorate cakes, carnivals and a lot more.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the greatest but it gets you by. If you have the meal plan, you get a great discount and it is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    It is great! You might great people and the RAs are very helpful and friendly. You have a cleaning person and mine is the sweetest ever and always talks to me about my day.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying hard for the very beginning and do all the homework assigned to you.

    In three sentences

    This school is very friendly and helpful with my learning. It is very good in helping with my major. The teachers are all very approachable and helpful in my learning.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe all around. Again another Five stars.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list. I rate it with 5 stars.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do at Penn State. From volunteering to a night out with Penn State discounts. You get to meet so many others and enjoy yourself in a safe environment with your Penn State family.

    Food and Dining

    My experiences with the food though has been to a minimum, I would much rather feast on the meals there. They have been delicious, healthy and have many options. I rate the food with 5 stars.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic life is phenomenal. Many doors are open to Penn State. Academically I personally feel is top of the line. Cream of the crop. It is rich and valuable. Five star rating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan to be challenged. Get organized and clear your mind. A flood of options and experiences will be heading your way. Sacrifice is tend to be thought of work work and more work. Penn State helps you to enjoy the work.

    In three sentences

    Penn State is very challenging. Your eyes are opened to new heights and the experience is one you will never forget. I am proud to be a student in Penn State Berks.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All Penn State campuses have a PSU-text. If you sign up for this, you will receive a text message whenever there is danger around campus so you can be aware of it on time. Also, they have many police officers roaming around campus frequently. The students aren't violent since I myself have not seen or experienced a fight, and from what I know, danger doesn't even revolve around the campus. There is nothing to worry about.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities that are fun to join. They have some to promote diversity, help prepare events for the students, help develop the school, help male and females with their education, and even religious clubs. Find the one that best fits you.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student that loves to have fun, meet new people, and love developing plans and helping others. Penn State Berks is the right school. You can have lots of fun since the campus always prepare about 4 events in a week so the students can have fun. Many students get involved in these events and you can meet new people while participating in these events. Also, Penn State Berks is always looking for opportunities to help develop the school and ways to make it better. You can get involved in these kinds of situations simply by talking to a Faculty or paying a visit to Campus Life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In front of the Perkins Student Center, you'll see many students sitting in a bench just hanging out or reading a book. It is a real calm atmosphere around there and a relaxing spot to read a book, sit with a friend, or make a phone call. No one really disturbs you!

    Bang for the buck

    The students in Penn State Berks are very friendly! If you don't have any friends in the school it is really easy to make a friend at Tully's or the library. Don't be shy and make an attempt. You'll see how diverse these students are and how many connections you will find in each and every one.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things you can do for fun at Penn State Berks. You can rather join a club and experience becoming a member in it, or participate in CAB (Campus Activity Board) activities. Also, once in a while the campus offers free or cheap field trips for students to attend. I recommend them because I myself has been to one and I have had a delighting experience.

    Food and Dining

    The food at berks is pretty much average. Some students love it, others don't!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is safe. However, some students do like to involve alcoholic beverages during the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    Take advantage of the free printing and usage of computers in the library. They will help you save time from your own computer and money for printing. Visit your professors during their office hours because they will tell you what do you need to in order to improve your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get the highest possible GPA in your freshman year.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Berks is a very productive college. It promotes diversity and help their students become successful with their education. Each year, the campus develops more opportunities for students to achieve their academic goals.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Food here at Penn state Berks is great. you have the option of choosing a meal plan amount that allows you to purchase whatever you want from any of the stores/cafes on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm life is extremely awesome; because you are treated like adults the halls are all co-ed and you also have the opportunity to room with someone you know prior to arriving to the school.

    Academic Rigor

    At this university the academics are extremely important and there are various ways to receive help. Multiple tutors, peer and professional, as well as group tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please be prepared to learn. As a freshman you have to be level headed and know exactly what you want out of college. I say that because you will only get out of college, what you put in.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Berks Is a very awesome school, with tons of non-academic activities. This is a great thing because it takes your focus off of missing home, well nothing will keep you from missing Home, but it will keep you interested in the schools area.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hit the gym, activities on campus and other activities in area available.

    Food and Dining

    Looked delicious cant wait to try the food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know yet but will find out soon enough. Seems okay though saw the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Penn state is a very tough yet fair University for the most part some professor may be harder then others so it varies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save money and work in college so that way your not in debt later.

    In three sentences

    Visited campus seems a lot larger then lehigh valley campus where I was at previously. Although was upset about the tuition cost here a bit high and does not help if you enter your final two years they charge even more. Although still Penn state proud regardless can not wait to get my degree can graduate from here! Wanted to go to main but no job opportunities out there.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. It is remote and small. They have a police service as well as student volunteers who are on call and patrol the campus. I feel very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life because this is a branch campus. They have greek life at Penn State's Main campus if you choose to pledge.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs for every type of person. They have clubs for singers, dancers, steppers, actors, mechanics, cancer supporters, community service lovers, and much more.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all types of students. Mainly for student like me, coming from a big high school. It is so different its good. Learning and interacting in a smaller crowd can be better than getting lost in a crowd.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As a tradition on campus, the first weekend only freshman come so they can learn the campus and meet other freshman. They prepare a weekend of fun and interaction by allowing everyone to play games and field activities.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there is something to do on campus every night. They make sure you get the opportunity to interact with everyone and have a good time. They have had comedians, circus performers, dances, plays, and tons of other options.

    Food and Dining

    Our campus cafeteria is called Tully's. In Tully's the food is cooked and prepared well with lots of flavors. They have a bundle of options even vegetarian. The also have diverse foods from all over the world.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good. Even though kitchen would make it better it is tolerable. It is fun and social in dorms but they also have quiet hours for studying.

    Academic Rigor

    This school's rigor is very good. Pretty much the best. They have a large variety of classes for a lot of different major. The classes can be very hard at times but they have a lot of support and help on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming student should be prepared for a different environment. They should expect more freedom along with more work. They should be prepared to become more independent.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Berks is a well rounded school. Its academic environment provides kids with small, focused, and more direct classes. It is a safe yet social experience I have learned to enjoy.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Police everywhere.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports and club sports. Rugby is a big one. Lot of different clubs Thon being the biggest one.

    Great for these types of students

    Student who want to know their professors well and like small classes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Orientation weekend is crazy

    Bang for the buck

    I don't believe its worth its cost.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and go to nightly events. There is also a lot of shopping complexes around.

    Food and Dining

    There is not much to offer.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are big and clean! You share a bathroom with just three other people and it gets cleaned once a week.

    Academic Rigor

    The math here is very hard compared to other Penn State campuses

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a party school, this is not it.

    In three sentences

    Berks is a small school where everyone knows everyone. It has an activity almost every night. Everyone here is so friendly!

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Younger, just graduated from high school kids

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check your financial aid before you get there. Make sure penn state is what you want

    In three sentences

    Penn state is great I just do not feel that their financial aid people are good at all. They don't benefit the students who go there.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe with cops patrolling the campus 24 hours a day.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do in the Reading area. There are numerous outlets, movies, and fun zones. Then on top of that the school is just 30-45 minutes from King of Prussia and the Philadelphia Premium Outlets.

    Food and Dining

    It's not the best food in the world, but it could be a lot worst. There are plenty of varieties from the deli, pizza, grill & fryer, and hotline. Then there are specialty meals prepared in front of you some days, along with sushi Monday.

    Dorm Life

    This campus has one of the nicest dorms, which for most people is very important. It's fun living in the dorms not only because you get to know the people you live around, but the activities they have to bring you together.

    Academic Rigor

    Each of the professors make each class enjoyable for the most part. Each class gives you numerous assignments but that's what college is all about. That's just learning good time management skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    To get involved with a couple activities on campus, this way you can begin to surround yourself with a few friends. Even getting a job on campus can help you familiarize yourself with different faces.

    In three sentences

    A good school to go to when your not ready for a large campus with thousands of other students. The professors get to know you on a personal level and there are tons of clubs and sport activities to get involved in. You being to get to know everyone one on campus and it truly becomes a family.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. Where ever you walk there's always a police car somewhere close by. If you don't feel safe for some reason you can even get a police escort back to your room or car. I've never felt unsafe walking back from a night class alone.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any Greek life that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs here and it seems as thought the people in clubs are the ones who are most happy being at Berks. They know a lot of people and are always involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small campuses and a place where professors know you and how you work, this is perfect for you.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, there isn't much to do but like most people say, its what you make of it. I have fun just wandering around town and finding new places to see. We stop at the many shopping centers around the campus and take a walk in the park across the road in the spring.

    Food and Dining

    Tully's is the main place to eat and they have basic food like chicken fingers, fries, burgers, pizza and whatever they have available at the steam tables that change daily. It's okay to have but it gets tiring eating the same thing over and over again day after day. Sometimes you get stomach aches from it and it's basically not what you're used to at home.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are very nice. I live in the woods, it's not as social as the village is but it's nicer living quarters.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is challenging depending on what classes you're in but if you're there to succeed you will just take it as a challenge and do the best you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you would like a small campus and a place where the professors know each and every one of you, this would be a perfect campus to go to.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theres a lot to do close by in the area if you drive. Parties happen locally...but I've outgrown that. Going out to the bar for an occasional night out is always nice here. I've had to sacrifice my fun to do better in school!

    Food and Dining

    If you don't have a meal plan, they rob you stupid. Not worth it at all, I'd rather not eat than pay $1.49 cents for ONE yogurt. You'd think they robbed us of enough money, some of us can't even pay tuition.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the science classes to be the most challenging here. If you try really hard and don't mess around, it is possible to get an A. Just takes a lot of dedication!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take it seriously, and get to know about the professors before you take a class. Some will bend over backwards to help you as some will not. Take full advantage of tutoring and teachers office hours and build good relationships with your professors!

    In three sentences

    I like that it is a small campus, I've had some very helpful professors. This school has made me a better and more hard working student. I am thankful for the professors that gave me a wake up call!

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is not in a bad location, at all, and the campus has its own police department, not just security.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    If there is not already a club for it, you just need 8 other people with the same interest, and you can start it.

    Great for these types of students

    All students, it is best for those who struggle in school a little because the professors are willing to help, as long as you go to them seeking it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    THON is a big deal on all campuses, but since most people live relatively close, a lot of students go home for the weekends.

    Bang for the buck

    It is not much cheaper than the main campus, but it is not much different academically either. And the dorms are much better.

    What to do for fun

    You are close to Reading, so there is plenty near by. Several strip malls for shopping, a mall, and VF Outlets are very close by. Plus, you are not far from Philly if you want to make a trip.

    Food and Dining

    Again, its campus food, but it is better than most colleges. They have their good nights and their bad nights, but overall, for a college cafe, it is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    A dorm is a dorm, it is not perfect, but these are very close to it. Bathrooms have no more than 4 people to each, and are cleaned by staff each week. The rooms are very spacious and noise level is kept down during the important hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not feel like this is not the same Penn State. It is just as good as University Park, if not better because you get more attention from the professor and it is much easier to learn.

    In three sentences

    A great way to start out in the Penn State system. Great professors and small class sizes get you a Penn State degree without the struggle for the professor's attention. I recommend this campus to anyone looking into Penn State

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much. There's a game room, but nothing around the campus to offer fun on the weekends when everyone is gone

    Food and Dining

    There's only one place on campus, and the food is only sub par.

    Dorm Life

    Secluded in the woods, the dorms are actually fairly nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Penn State has one of the more difficult math programs, and Penn State Berks is no exception. They don't baby just because it isn't University Park.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because it is a smaller campus, take it seriously. It isn't any easier.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Berks offers a rapidly growing engineering program. The class sizes are small and very personalized. The campus has a feeling of being a family.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a small campus so not much happens, but there's usually a police car by the dorms and they have escort services if you don't feel safe.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a good variety.

    Bang for the buck

    Penn State is a really expensive school that doesn't have much money to give out so be sure you really want to go here.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of small events on campus you could go to.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't many food options at the one cafeteria we have, so try to stock up on your own food.

    Dorm Life

    For the price it costs they could be better, but I still live in them. A lot of the people that live in the dorms are loud and the RAs do nothing about it.

    Academic Rigor

    I've only completed my freshman year so far so my classes were easy for the most part, but I know they will get more challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research, be open to making friends, and don't start procrastinating your freshman year. It's a bad habit that will affect you since your GPAs are averaged together each semester.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Berks is a nice, small campus. It tends to be pretty boring, but there are some cool events on campus sometimes. It is expensive though.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Penn state has plenty of movie nights and performances on campus that are very fun to go to

    Food and Dining

    The food source is Tullys. Tullys ranges from salads, burgers, pasta, sandwiches etc. it is delicious and almost everyone eats from there. Especially with a meal plan you get a 65% discount off your food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are so nice. The are fairly very new and up to date.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is not easy but it's more about having time management. The academic portion of the university is solely what makes it wonderful to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind when entering this university.

    In three sentences

    Penn state Berks is very diverse ranging from people of all different backgrounds and financial positions. The campus itself is gorgeous with new dorms that are expensive but are very attractive. Penn state Berks is a small campus with numerous opportunities installed.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities to do around the campus. There's something to do when you are there, whether it be browsing on the internet or just having fun with your new friends.

    Food and Dining

    Depending on what Meal Plan you are on, I would say that eating at Tully's everyday for breakfast, lunch, and dinner is worth it. Tully's food is very good and I would recommend that to everyone that is starting at Penn State Berks this year or in the Future.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at the Village and the Woods are very nice and the rooms are spacious, so it'll look like home a little bit. Once you get to know Penn State Berk's surroundings, it will be very easy for you to get around from your classes to going back to the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Paying off the tuition bill is hard, but what matters is what your major is there and what classes you have to take to achieve that major.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're planning to go to Penn State Berks, try to stay on- campus so that you wouldn't have to commute back and forth everyday for the rest of the Fall/ Spring Semester.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Berks has everyhting in walking distance, so it's earier to get to your classes. The people are really nice at the campus. The people there are really helpful with any questions that you might need to know.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good Food From Tullys All You Can Eat Type Thing :)

    Dorm Life

    Very nice rooms with enough space to move around in.

    In three sentences

    A very advanced college campus with a diverse crowd. Friendly people and staff members are very helpful. A great college to attend and I'm very excited I was accepted there.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I personally like the campus security, they make you feel safe, especially in the late evening. They are always usually available to escort you to your vehicle if your commuting, your dorm or simply to another building. They are very friendly as well but firm once you get to know them. They can be helpful other than just campus stuff, like unlocking your locked vehicle that keys were left in as an example.

    Greek Life

    There are few Greek life clubs. University Park has more of that than the berks campus, but there some. If the Greek life is important to you then by all means please create one, the more activities, events, and clubs available the better life is for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs available but if for some reason none of those clubs spark your interest a club can always be created but of course there is paperwork filling and sponsors and such to do so, but it can be achieved if you believe it. Although there will be times where a club highly suits you but the time it is held is a conflict, don't worry or don't opt out of it simply speak to the coordinator and or club member to fill you in, as long as your actively involved in it.

    Great for these types of students

    If one has some sort of disability that should not stop them because there is a disability service office that can be of great help. You should not be worried about your disability whether you will get it twice as fast a s the next person, there is help, so no worries. As far as religions one has the choice of being involved with the fellow christian club and being in tune with the world spiritually.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are special places on campus that are reserved for commuter students. There are plenty of commuter students on campus and not all of them have the opportunity to join a club or attend sessions but during the time they are on campus there are places where they can meet other commuter students and carpool or study with each other or simply socialize. That doesn't necessarily mean that theses rooms/places are off limits to non-commuter students others can go as well.

    Bang for the buck

    I understand that some are far more sticky situations than the norm financially speaking, but there is help out there. Make sure you talk to your financial adviser, get to know him or her, they can be of great help to you in sticky situations as well as your academic adviser. No matter how shy you are please seek help if needed, if not needed attending a tutoring writing, math, reading, etc. class will help clear your thoughts on a particular matter of a subject.

    What to do for fun

    Joining and being part of a club or activity will help to reduce some stress because your mind is in another place. Attending the gym on a daily or doing an exercise program can be fun for some but not for all. Going for a little weekend road trip with a group of friends can be just as fun for some; but whatever one considers fun I highly suggest indulging in activities other than educational activities for a little stress reliever.

    Food and Dining

    I will start off by saying yes that if it is your first year there will be a likely chance that weight gain is possible because for one you don't exactly know how the food provided is cooked and or you don't know when to eat because of the overwhelming feeling of stress that takes over your body due to classwork. However, if you just take the time to plan out your day and daily food intake you should be fine followed by some aerobic or anaerobic exercises. There are times where you could be eating just because your neighbor is eating or everyone around you is eating; everyone has a different time of eating, whereas others eat more or less than others, it is perfectly normal/

    Dorm Life

    It can be difficult if you are used to having your own room because not everyone has their own room, but we all have to learn to get along with our roommates. Therefore, setting ground rules is important and initial bonding is also suggested so that both or multiple parties are clear on living situations with each other. There are times where it is quite noisy and no matter what you do or say there will be ignorant inconsiderate people, but it is part of college life, learn to deal with it in a respectful manner or find somewhere quiet to study and get your work done.

    Academic Rigor

    Study often and learn the concepts of the class. If you don't push yourself past your limits,, you'll never know how much your capable of achieving and or doing. Some class if not all can be very intense and putting as much effort as possible will reduce the stress that cramming will get you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you time manage! It is critically important to use your time wisely and have set goals to conquer. There will be time to have fun, but finish what you started first or else you will regret it in the future; you don't want to procrastinate therefore I highly recommend obtaining an agenda/planner.

    In three sentences

    The best school ever, with so much help from anybody, who knew that all you had to do was ask and so many doors open to you. It is quite friendly and open-minded. There are plenty of activities to stay active and continue to be social or be social with others.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am pretty sure they are there, and if you need someone to walk with you at night there is a program for that.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life...

    Clubs and Activities

    They meet a really random times and for a commuter is it sometimes hard to be involved! It also depends on the club though. Sports usually practice 6 days a week too so I need to drive up on weekends which is a real pain. It would be great if I lived on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a Penn State campus so you should know the chants and stuff. We Are...Penn State.

    Bang for the buck

    To tell the truth I don't think most colleges are worth the money. This one included. To much money for so-so classes that don't even relate to my major, with little to no extra funding from scholarships. Plus there are a lot of extra fees to pay for things you might not even participate in.

    What to do for fun

    Since I commute I don't stick around a lot but there are many small activities to participate in. Just don't expect a lot of big ticket things because it isn't University Park.

    Food and Dining

    The food is super expensive, especially for a commuter and it isn't really all that good either. Can't even finish the meals I get.

    Dorm Life

    Can't really answer to well because I commute but when I went to see a friend's dorm, it was not what I expected at all. Even though they say they are super nice they just look like regular style dorms. A lot of people are not around on weekends either so it can be very quiet and lonely.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of my classes are way to easy and I dislike that I have to sit through them because we need Gen Ed courses. Other classes have to much work for just an elective and it just can't be justified at all. There are some classes that are just right too and can actually be fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research and don't be intimated by the big name of Penn State. You do not need a laptop but I like having my own so I do not have to share. Also if you have the option to commute...do it! Save money and you won't be bored on weekends. BUT!!! For being a commuter school, I do not think it is very commuter friendly...so be warned.

    In three sentences

    A really nice school that isn't to far from town but has a quiet feel. You get a regular Penn State degree when you graduate. It is a really small school so you can actually get to know your teachers.

  • 11/28/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't really a college town here, but campus is right in Wyomissing, which has tons to do. Also, it is really close to Reading, which has a laser tag place, a great arcade/restaurant (the Works), and the Sovereign Center, which always has an event going on there.

    Food and Dining

    I know nothing about on-campus dining, but the food off-campus is really great! Campus is right by a big shopping area, and there are tons of options.

    Dorm Life

    From what I've heard, the dorms aren't too bad but they aren't very eventful and most students go home for the weekend.

    Academic Rigor

    From the classes I've taken, they aren't really all that difficult, and most of my AP classes are more difficult than the classes I have taken here; however, I have a few friends that go here and say that upper-level classes take a lot of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is really helpful for high school dual enrollment; I wanted to take a few courses that my high school doesn't offer in AP or honors level, and this school was really perfect for that. So even if you aren't interested in attending this school after you graduate, using the courses offered here during high school really helps you look good to other colleges! Also, you get 50% off the normal price for classes you register for as high school dual enrollment (but no financial aid). This college is definitely good for students who want to stay close to home or commute. Also, admissions to this place is pretty easy- just get a 1000 (CR&M) and have a good GPA and you are pretty much guaranteed acceptance.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe even though it's located near a city. There's also a police force on campus which will escort you to any location if you do not feel safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at berks but there is at main.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities on campus for anyone to enjoy. If we don't have a particular club it is very easy to make your own club and only requires so many people.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Penn State Berks is great for anyone looking to attend college. It's a very diverse campus and everyone will be able to find their niche.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Penn State Berks is great concerning tuition prices as long as you don't live on campus. It's quality professors giving you a quality education in a great environment and it's really not that expensive.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of the people in the dorms like to have nurf gun fights. There's also always some activity for every day planned by the student life on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The foods okay but expensive to commuters. Most people say it's not a home cooked meal but it'll get you through till break.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms personally but I have many friends who do. I find that the dorms are very well kept and are very nice to live in. Most students are friendly and willing to help anyone in need of help or in distress.

    Academic Rigor

    I find that it's a great school for academics because there's a little party scene and we have amazing professors and smaller class sizes. It's a great school if you're serious about your education because while it is challenging it isn't impossible to keep up with classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I can give for anyone who wants to attend Penn State Berks is to attend orientation weekend because a lot of helpful information about navigating college is found there. Also, college is your education and you must take charge of how you want to live your life. Penn State Berks opens many doors for you - but you must look for them.

    In three sentences

    It's a wonderful campus with great diversity in the student body as well as the educators. Teachers here are fun but also care about your education and most classes are small. The smaller class size allows for teachers to have time to help all students who are seeking help.

  • 02/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Here at Penn state berks their is on campus police. They are not security guards they are real police stationed on the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of clubs and activities based on interest. They got Ski & Board club, Paintball club, THON, C.A.B, etc...

    Great for these types of students

    Great for student who likes small classes and to be heard everyday.

    What to do for fun

    Here at Penn State Berks, there is a lot of things to do. Everyday there is a different event.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dinnig is OK.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is OK, only if you have a roommate that you get along with.

    Academic Rigor

    Penn State allows people to succeed in their own ways. Professors helps student with what they don't understand. And students learns a lot of information based on their major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Penn State is a college for people who likes small classes. This campus is easy to adapt to. Future students would love it here. For the dorm life, my advice to you guys is to set rules with your roommate the day you meet your roommate so that you won't get annoyed with your roommate.

    In three sentences

    Penn state berks is great. Here is a small campus which every student has a chance to succeed. There is a lot of nice people here.