Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Pennsylvania State U.-Penn Stateā€¦ Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like being part of a big school system, but aren't sure if you're ready for the whole thing. Behrend gives you the experience of being a Penn State student, without the extra large classes of four to seven hundred students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with organizations and clubs! You'll make a lot of new friends and become a more well rounded student. Also, prepare for a VERY long winter; it starts to snow in October! Finally, don't overload on courses, you have 4 or even 5 years to complete your undergraduate degree.

  • 05/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated driven students who want the best education to go along with their degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a difficult school make sure you go in with the right mind set and ask for help when you need it.

    Bang for the buck

    Students are receiving a Penn State degree and although it is not cheap it is well worth the money. Money is not just being payed for a degree at the end in every class students are learning skills to help them in a career.

    Am enjoying being here

    Penn State is close to home for me but it is still a new experience and either are a lot of activities to help every student get involved and meet new people. Even being stuck on campus during a snow storm is a relaxing enjoyable time.

    Am learning a lot

    Although what you learn depends mostly on you the teachers also have a part in how a student learns. At Penn State the teachers take extra time out of their day to assist you along with most of the other staff. Everyone is willing to help and be sure that everyone is successful.

  • 03/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like the small class atmosphere. There are a select few classes with more than say 35 students in them. Great if you want a big university on a smaller scale.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in engineering or business this could be the school for you. The engineering and business programs here are top notch and this is one of the few places that has almost all of the engineering disciplines as well as their technology counterparts.

    Bang for the buck

    A little cheaper than going to University Park, with what I consider a better learning experience, what is called the Behrend Experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    The winters are long, lots of snow, but the atmosphere is great, and the peninsula is beautiful during the summer time.

    Am learning a lot

    There are many course offerings and very knowledgeable faculty members.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the police and safety services at behrend are fantastic place, they offer every opportunity to keep the campus safe.

    Greek Life

    i'm not involved in greek life, however they offer programs to join and bring together social activities for all students.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are numerous clubs and activities to join that are open to every student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    going to the wintergreen gorge is a popular place to go here, at behrend, it's also a great sight seeing adventure. just make sure to wear some hiking boots.

    Bang for the buck

    the education you get from penn state behrend is worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    there are events on campus on the weekend. some things to do are go to the movie theater on campus, see a comedian or musician on the weekend, a midnight bingo event, sometimes there are even dances.

    Food and Dining

    behrend's dining option contain decent food but it's a little high on the price range. bruno's is a little pricey, but it's a great area for students and faculty to come together. dobbin's on the other hand is pricey for students who don't have a meal plan but wish to have a nice sit down meal. it's unfortunate that if a student doesn't have a meal plan that it is quite costly to even eat there.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm are what every college student would expect to see in a dorm. the housing offices provide every opportunity to make a comfortable living with the students on campus. the resident assistants are well trained and offer an enjoyable and protective college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes that i have attended allowed me to challenge myself and pushed me to achieve and fully reap the benefits of my hard work. behrend's professors put their students to a high standard of learning which allows for a rigorous class setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    tour the campus of behrend; it's a beautiful place, and it helps to know where everything building is located. make sure to keep in close contact with your advisor, they are your guardian angels and want nothing but to make sure you succeed. always take advantage of the offers behrend provides, there are numerous events that can provide you with a brighter future.

    In three sentences

    penn state behrend from the moment i stepped onto it's campus the faculty and staff were welcoming and helped me achieve the education i'm pursuing today. behrend puts it's students first and strives to achieve a great atmosphere for everyone attending and working to make behrend the place it is today. the academic opportunities that are made everyday at behrend allow students to make bigger and better future endeavors for themselves.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is a huge thing at Behrend, there is emergency help buttons everywhere and call boxes on most doors and entryways. Campus Safety Officers are Amazing, they are always on patrol and are more worried about your safety not trying to get you into trouble

    Greek Life

    Greek life is average we have a few fraternities and sororities who are very involved in the school, and have great events and parties.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs, intramural sports, and fun activities to do at behrend.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are content hanging out with people and like the winter and the woods.. because unfortunately there isn't any fun places in walking distance you have to drive to most of them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At Behrend we have amazing amounts of woods and wildlife surrounding us. Walking right off campus you can go to an area that we call the gorge where you can swim, hike, run, and do a whole bunch of outdoor activities.

    Bang for the buck

    For the money you spend you recieve a rich college experiance, and are a graduate of Penn State one of the most recognized names of any college. That's some bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    School sponsored events,

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, there are 2 main options on campus Dobbin's which is all you can eat and is the best for the money, and Bruno's which is more of an al a carte pay per item kind of thing. Both have pretty good food but honestly its no 5 star restaurant but you can live off it

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, the coordinators are helpful with solving problems, the RA's are very nice and are usually more worried about safety than getting people in trouble. I met most of my good friends in my dorm. Dorm life is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are take very seriously, the professors are very helpful and always have office hours. There is also very helpful free tutoring programs, and help sessions for every subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared, bring your winter gear the winters in erie can be brutal. Make sure you bring a variety of clothes because the weather is pretty bipolar and unpredictable. Apply here before any other branch campus of Penn State this one is the best

    In three sentences

    Penn State Behrend is great its big enough to offer a lot of things smaller campuses can't while still being small enough for a lot of individual attention. The staff is always very nice and helpful. It's always a fun time there, Can't wait to go back in the fall.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Dining is great. There is a buffet style dining hall. Also, there is an ala carte dining hall that sells sandwiches, salads, desserts, and also includes a made to order sub kiosk. There are several coffee shops around campus that serve Starbucks Coffee, bagels, pastries, and grap and go wraps.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. The dorms are set up nicely. You have many choices between what building you want to live in, and also have the choice of staying in a suite. The rooms are a good size and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very helpful. They are not the easiest, but college is meant to be challenging to help prepare you for after school when you are out looking for a job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There is a ton of things to do from clubs that pertain to your major, to fraternities/sororities, and club sports.

    In three sentences

    The class sizes are perfect, not too big and not too small! Both the students and professors are very kind and helpful. Also, the classes are great, they really prepare you for after college.

  • 07/25/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I know that this school is a little pricier than some but then again most times you get what you pay for.

    Will enjoy being here

    I've been to this campus just visiting and everyone was very friendly. Great atmosphere. Seems like a great place to go to school and all my friends really enjoy it.

    Will learn a lot

    I've had quite a few friends attend this school and as far as I could tell they were academically challenged. Although they had quiet places to be productive with their studies as well it's a win win.

  • 12/03/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I've heard a lot about this school, and pray that I will be counted amongst those that are accepted.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    clubs, sports, concerts

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to have time to study. Be punctual.

    In three sentences

    I like this college. It has really good undergraduate programs. Members that I met there are very nice and friendly people.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. Around campus they have certain lite poles in which have buttons you can press if you are ever in an emergency. I have went on many night walk and runs and have never ran into trouble or felt unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities here that you can get involved in. I recommend them because they look good on resumes and they are fun to participate in!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite part about campus is the gorge. It's a beautiful relaxing place on campus as a fun and relaxing way to escape the books.

    What to do for fun

    For fun i play on the Penn State Behrend Women's soccer team. Also there is a chance to do many clubs and intramural activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining was always good but it did get a little repetitive having to eat most of the same things everyday. Currently living off campus, i do miss the food.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Perry Hall. I recommend living in a dorm hall at least your freshman year. The dorm is where you get to meet the majority of your friends. It gives you a great experience!

    Academic Rigor

    This is a great school if you are interested in majors such as engineering or other sciences. Also this is a wonderful school for a business degree. Along with many other majors, once you graduate, you get to go home with a Penn State degree!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not do well in cold weather i would try and look for something new.

    In three sentences

    This is a beautiful campus. It has the right amount of students, not to big or to small, and had helpful professors. I Love Penn State Behrend.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ****

    Clubs and Activities

    ****

    What to do for fun

    Tremendous amount of groups, organizations and a lot of fun things to get involved with in your spare time.

    Food and Dining

    ****

    Dorm Life

    ****

    Academic Rigor

    ****

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit this campus. It will be worth your time

    In three sentences

    During my recent visit, I was impressed with the campus and staff. The campus is what I was hoping for and I am looking forward to finishing my nursing degree there.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are very vigilant. During my time at Behrend there haven't been any issues with security. A word to the wise--they are extremely vigilant about parking: be sure to park only in lots you are allowed to/when you're allowed to, or you WILL be ticketed!

    Great for these types of students

    Behrend is great for engineers (it's known for its engineering programs); outdoorsy types (campus is hilly and in the heart of the woods, so the colors are beautiful no matter the season)

    Bang for the buck

    You get a great education for a lower price than many state schools.

    What to do for fun

    Every weekend there is something to do at Penn State Behrend, whether it be club events or simply getting together at Bruno's to watch a sports event. There's also many events during the week, depending on the time of year.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent, but more suited to those living on campus with a meal plan. Commuters will probably find that they would rather spend the same amount of money on more food/higher quality food off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    While teachers are there to help and will do anything to make sure students succeed, they don't babysit students. You will be responsible for remembering deadlines and due dates. Coming to class is also extremely valued at Penn State Behrend--most people who miss too many classes do very poorly in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring cold weather gear--Erie is wintry from November to February guaranteed, and sometimes even from October to April/May, depending on the year. This includes boots, campus is hilly and you will have to walk in the snow. The Academic and Career Planning Center in the upstairs Reed building is extremely helpful, especially if you don't know what you're majoring in, or you decide to switch majors partway through your schooling. Everyone is so friendly and just wants to help.

    In three sentences

    All of the teachers are especially helpful and ensure success in their students. The campus is beautiful and easy to navigate. There are plenty of organizations and clubs for students who wish to participate--but to those who don't want to, you never feel forced to participate.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is relatively safe besides the theft issue. Many students have their belongings stolen form their dorms and cars. Behrend is located right outside of Erie, making it a bit dangerous because of the locals. Even though the college is located away from the slums, students will have to encounter them when they journey anywhere outside of the campus.

    Greek Life

    The Greeks at Behrend are at the bottom of the food chain. Independents do no respect the Greeks and the Greeks are almost looked down upon because of how easy it is for anyone to gain access to any of their groups. Fraternities and Sororities do have events that are exclusive to only Greeks but these only happen once or twice per semester and would probably be the only perk to going Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a multitude of clubs and activities but they are all student run. Most of the organizations are unorganized and meetings and events are planned last minute.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to keep to themselves and do not enjoy going out on weekends.

    Bang for the buck

    Since Behrend is supposed to be a stepping stone to get to University Park, I would not recommend going there. You are paying almost as much to go to Behrend as University Park but going to a branch does not raise your chances of being accepted to the main campus. I highly recommend going to a Community College instead of paying to go to Behrend because the class sizes are types are very similar.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun at Behrend. It rains or snows most of the time so outdoor activities are very rare. There is a gorge located near campus where some students choose to swim at. Even though most people go home on weekends there are a few shindigs hosted at a nearby apartment complex called Ugates. The students are mostly from small towns around Erie and tend to keep to themselves and the kids they know from highschool.

    Food and Dining

    There are only two places to eat on campus and you can't get off campus unless you have a car. Dobbins is a buffet style dining hall with very repetitive choices and low quality food. Bruno's is an independent store with overpriced goods for those who are sick of eating at Dobbins.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are old and very small. None of the freshman dorms have air conditioning. Campus is built on a hill so your dorms are at the top and classes are at the bottom. Not very many people get the roommate that they sign up for, same with the housing building they want.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not hard but the teachers are not clear as to what needs to be done. Most give out a syllabus at the beginning of the semester but few actually use the syllabus. Missing one day of class can cost you greatly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college while it is in session and stay a night or two to see what you are getting yourself into.

    In three sentences

    Very mediocre education, not all teachers have their doctorates. Campus does not offer good dining or activities outside of studying. Campus building are old and classrooms are out of date.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Penn State Behrend has a variety of food choices at Bruno's Cafe if you are in a hurry and just need something to go. Dobbins Dining also has a variety of food choice but it is more for dining with your friends when you want to take a break from studying.

    Dorm Life

    I feel that the dorm life at Penn State Behrend is great. If the weather is not good outside one can always go down to the main lobby of their residence hall and play games or watch some tv with friends.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is the safest campus I have ever been to. Never have I felt I was in danger or could be in danger. There is a Police station about 5 miles down the road if anything were to ever happen.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is known on campus but doesn't make the campus. They are located off campus and I believe there are only 3 fraternities and 3 sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and activities on campus. There is a whole floor in Reed dedicated to clubs and organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are willing to work, but have fun and know how to balance their work and play.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    University Gate Apartments is here you will find most of the students on the weekends and Bruno's Cafe is a popular meeting spot. There is always something going on in Bruno's. Also, many students will go to the gym so you will always know someone in there.

    Bang for the buck

    I am an out of state student so my tuition is much higher than a Pennsylvania resident so if I say it is worth your money then it must be a great place to attend. Having a Penn State degree is something to be proud of despite the football scandal which has nothing to do with my education.

    What to do for fun

    Since Behrend is a small campus not in the middle of Erie, you have to find things to do. Now because Behrend is full of engineering students there are always pranks going on, and building fun toys like sling shots and tables out of things you would find in your dorm room.

    Food and Dining

    Dobbins is probably the worst part of the campus. The food seems repetitive and it's only, OK.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely loved living in Perry Hall my first year. It was probably one of the best years of my life. The bathrooms are clean, the dorm rooms are clean and much nicer than a lot of public schools. I made friends here in the dorms that I will keep for the rest of my life.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say they challenge the students more than University Park does just from talking to students that attend school down there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take visits to the college and see if there are overnight opportunities.

    In three sentences

    I love Penn State Behrend. It is a very close knit group of students and teachers, and a great environment for learning. I would chose Penn State Behrend again if I was to go back through the College search process.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police and Safety is located on campus and they are available for any call or danger that may arise.

    Greek Life

    I didn't get too much involved in the Greek Life but for those who do it's pretty prominent and they do a lot of work for incoming freshman and students already attending.

    Clubs and Activities

    The PSB campus offers a wide variety of clubs and activities for students to get involved in and potentially gain some leadership qualities.

    Great for these types of students

    Behrend is really comfortable for all types of students. With 100's of club oppurtunities and sports, there is no way for someone to not find their niche on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Gorge is a wonderful place to visit. It cuts through the middle of campus and is a lovely path to walk whichever direction you decide to take.

    Bang for the buck

    The Penn State name alone stands strong. But the education acquired at Behrend cannot compare to any other Penn State campus or university. Because of the attentiveness of professors, the small class sizes and campus wide amentities availiable to students, Behrend should be a number 1 choice if it already isn't.

    What to do for fun

    The social life of campus provides its own fun. Midnight Bingo, Homecoming dances, clubs and other social events provide good outlets for the weekends. As far as the actual town of Erie is concerned, there are a few bars for those of age and the local Metropolitan club does college night every Wednesday for those who are underage but still want to go out.

    Food and Dining

    We recently just had a convenient store built on campus which serves every snack idea one can imagine. The cool thing about it is, you can use your meal plan points instead of having to use cash, credit or a debit card.

    Dorm Life

    Everything is what you make it. Living with a roommate can be difficult at first but make sure you speak up and talk to your roommate about what works for you and what doesn't. Also, the Residence Life staff is always there to help you if you need them.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are amazing! They are available to help you through whatever hill you may need to get over. There are also tutors available for your disposal and they will work with you until you get it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Move in early, it's better to get a feel for campus before moving in and starting classes just to know where you are going and make new friends. Stay focused and make good use of professor office hours, they are there to help so take advantage of all that they have to offer. Save your meal plan points. They always seems to run out faster than usual :) Lastly, have a good time. College is about getting a degree and having good grades but be sure to find time for yourself, it alleviates a lot of stress.

    In three sentences

    In my last 4 years at PSB I honestly couldn't have enjoyed my experience anymore than I already have. Regardless of the recent fuss about Penn State in the news, Behrend is and always will be my top choice. Small class sizes, decent living amenities (food, housing etc) and location; this one of 26 Penn State campuses was a perfect fit for me.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am apart of Greek Life and love it. I am a member of Sigma Tau Gamma and enjoy planning concerts, fundraisers and community service events!

    Bang for the buck

    Penn State Erie is a quality school for the price of tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are 100 + clubs and organizations whether it is an NCAA Sport, a fraternity or sorority or an outdoors club or Entertainment club. There is bound to be something that interests you and if not you can make your own club!

    Food and Dining

    The are two main dining areas. Bruno's and Dobbins. Bruno's is more expensive is each food item is purchased separately. Dobbins however is a all you can eat buffet and is much cheaper.

    Dorm Life

    There are approximately 6 freshman halls located on campus. Each hall gives a different vibe and design compared to the other halls. Dorm Hall activities occur every week by the Resident Assistant (RA) and it is very easy to meet new people. Living on campus is a must if you are not a local and want to meet new friends!

    Academic Rigor

    Attending Penn State Behrend allows you to graduate with a Penn State University diploma and companies love Penn State Grads! Penn State Erie is known for its Plastics Engineering program where only 3 other schools in the country offer this major!

    Tips for prospective students

    Penn State Behrend is known for its great engineering and business programs. If you like a challenge and a good career, then go to a Open House in the Fall or Spring to see if Penn State Erie, The Behrend College is right for you!

    In three sentences

    Penn State Behrend is a medium sized campus that has a variety of majors for many different people. There are hundreds of organizations and clubs to join to keep students active outside of the classroom!

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never walk alone at night always walk with someone you know. Leaving parties be in a group with at least four people you never know what could happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in the math club, women's engineering organization, black engineer organization, trigon and so much getting myself involved in it all.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in organizations, programs, everything they have alll of theses things for you. Get togethers,

    Food and Dining

    There's food everywhere on campus, the dining room meals are amazing also. There is always something new for you to try everyday nothing is the same.

    Dorm Life

    Just respect the person you share your room with and you will be great. You find out so much about someone when you have to spend so much time with them.

    Academic Rigor

    My college prides themselves on academic efficiency so does yours do all your work. Keep up with projects and don't fall behind it may be hard to pick up the later. Try to work alone as much as possible the professor wants to know what you know not what they know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay as focused as possible it's real easy to skip class knowing you technically don't have to go. Keep organized every note you take, paper work you make get, all comes in handy at some point. Also ask for help when needed that's what tutors are here for don't be afraid to speak up.

    In three sentences

    College has been a challenge trying to stay focused with so much around me to do. Classes are much bigger than my high school classes so paying attention is a little harder. Also living on campus keeps me close to professors and tutors so i can receive extra help.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Where is a cheap place to eat on campus

    Dorm Life

    Are students required to live on campus?

    Academic Rigor

    how hard are the courses in engineering?

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who do not mind cold and wet weather, as well as lots of hills.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much around campus if you do not have a car, however, there is a city bus that will take you to the local Walmart and even the mall on the weekends. The SGA also hosts multiple events throughout the year, and a lot of them seem to be really fun and interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class! Read your books! Study!

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and everything is closeby. The professors do get to know you on a personal basis. The education I have received thus far is challenging and engaging.

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I am getting a great education, that many employers from all over will recognize and respect.

    What to do for fun

    I always get emails about student activities going on.

    Food and Dining

    I have only visited Bruno's cafe. It was satisfactory.

    Dorm Life

    commuter

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but rewarding. Lot's of help available if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make use of your advisor and practice approaching your teacher about anything you want to talk about. Visit the career and academic office at some point your freshman year. Getting an internship should be a priority at some point.

    In three sentences

    I am an adult student, and I find the scheduling flexible. I really enjoy the school, and feel there are many opportunities for internships.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love to play rugby, basketball, and volleyball. I also love going to the gym, wrestling, and playing video games in the school's game room.

    Food and Dining

    Dining does not have much variety and can often be repetitive or stale. The difference in dining prices are too far apart, and the choices of food between the two are so closely similar that it makes little sense to pay more at the latter. There aren't any 24 hour dining areas within or near the campus, and there is a lack of alternative dining for students that lack meal plan or money.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are mostly shared between two students, and are comfortable depending on the roommate. Problems such as switching rooms or dorms are quickly and easily taken care of. The differences between the dorms however can be unfair especially since dorm selection is done at random.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is full of teachers and advisers that encourage students regardless of what their GPA are. The classes move at a well enough pace, though more major options are needed. The school bookstore quickly supplies students with the books required for their courses. Teachers are easy to meet with and the school offers tutors. Help is available in many places, making it easier to learn. The school's population also assists in keeping the campus at a study-friendly level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and take advantage of the facilities offered. There are tutors in the library, and teachers always encourage students to meet with them during office hours if there are any troubles with the classes.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Behrend may not be as big as University park, or offer as much activities, but in terms of academics, Behrend offers a much more decent setting to learn. The facilities and some of the classrooms aside from the library are open overnight so that students may always have a comfortable setting to study. The teachers are also easy to meet with and work with since the classroom sizes are moderate or at least much smaller than the ones presented on the main campus.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    take walks in the Wintergreen Gorge, and make trips to the city. also, take advantage of presque isle

    Food and Dining

    the food on campus is good, but tends to get a little monotonous. make sure to branch out into the city and see what you can find!

    Dorm Life

    it really is what you make it.

    Academic Rigor

    the work is only challenging if you do not attempt to do it. it is challenging but in the sense that it brings you to your best potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to be yourself. In order to be sure you are doing something that you will enjoy for the rest of your life, make sure to attend lectures and meet with faculty and guess speakers in order to network with people in your field.

    In three sentences

    It is a highly motivating campus. The teacher-student relationship potential is wonderful if you are interested in creating a bond with a knowledgeable mentor. Also, the student body is very accepting of the numerous cultures represented on campus.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Almost every weekend there is some type of entertainment on campus. And there are several clubs on campus to join you do not go to the weekend entertainment. And there are buses to take student to the mall and different stores every day at different times to each individual's schedule.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty much the same everyday. It is great at first, but after a while it can get kind of tiring to eat the same thing every single day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm I live in is co-ed, and this experience has been great. I have been able to meet new people from all over the country and other countries as well it has been amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Take classes that seem interesting, because if you are bored you will not pay attention and may fail. The classes are can be hard you do not attend class or do not study

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared from a change of pace from your high school life or current college life. The classes are not hard, but they can be challenging if not taken seriously.

    In three sentences

    Penn State has been a great way to introduce me the college life. The classes, campus, and students are a great fit for someone not looking for a large campus.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Run!

    Food and Dining

    haven't started yet

    Dorm Life

    haven't started yet

    Academic Rigor

    haven't started classes yet

    In three sentences

    Penn State Behrend is a really nice campus with great facilities. They have tons of major opportunities and can accompany anyones interest. The Faculty are also very helpful.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Jerry Sandusky.

    Greek Life

    I honestly can't say.

    Clubs and Activities

    Penn State Erie has a mathematics club (which you should probably be interested in since you considered this school).

    Great for these types of students

    Yeah, I would say that this school is quite good for these types of students ( if you can tolerate an outrageous room and board charge).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't have any unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that the academics are great for the money.... everything else (not so much).

    What to do for fun

    I don't really know... Drink yourself into a coma maybe?

    Food and Dining

    The meal plans are pretty expensive, but you can upgrade at any time during the school year.

    Dorm Life

    Nearly $3,000 for a little jail cell seems too costly to me.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly rigorous, again, you will need to know mathematics and physics to make it out of there with your GPA intact.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be good at math and science.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Erie has a strong focus on STEM fields and you probably won't make it our of there without knowledge of mechanics and electricity. I think it would be worth while to attend this branch campus instead of the main university park campus because Erie is slightly cheaper and it provides many of the engineering and science classes that you will need anyway. Penn State Behrend also has the most choice in terms of degree selection.

  • 03/21/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I had the food during the visit and I can say I enjoyed it very much.

    Dorm Life

    There is a bunch of different dorms to pick from, and many different buildings as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of my friends say that the academics is tough but fair.

    In three sentences

    When I first went to visit, I immediately fell in love with this campus. It is not too big, nor too small. It is the perfect size for me.