Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who want to explore and learn new things. This school has a lot of activities you can join so don't be afraid to join them. Students with high hopes go to Penn State becaus your hopes will be fulfilled with great education and knowledge. Remeber WE are PENN STATE!

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students. Do not be afraid to learn something new. Do not be late for class your first day of class. If you need help with work ask the teacher or someone will tutor you. Have fun but not to much fun.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth the money to come here. When you graduate with the degree of your choice its not going to say Penn state Fayette on the diploma its going to say University of Pennsylvania State.You would more likely get a job with this diploma from Penn state then duquesne or anything like that. I'm not saying that other schools aren't worth it but Penn state is highly worth ever penny in your pocket! you will get good educated.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love going to school the three days that i do. The students are friendly which is a big deal for me. I was very shy once i arrived because i was the freshman but i got used to it and i fit right in. I like how its a small campus so i don't get lost or anything. We are like a little family our own. We are PENN STATE!!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot here at Penn state Fayette-the Eberly campus. I love the teachers. the environment of the school is wonderful. It may be a small school but you understand the lesson that is being taught very clear and easy. I love it!

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is extremely safe, just as all the Penn State campuses are. They have buttons throughout the outside of the campus for you to push in case you were in an emergency.

    Greek Life

    There is none. If you want to be apart of Greek life you would have to go to Penn State Main Campus. However, with a campus of this size it is really not necessary to have a Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have more clubs and activities than any other campus that I visited. You can even play sports with other kids for fun, if you don't feel like being on a team.

    Great for these types of students

    If your a student that wants to find a group that fits you, Penn State Fayette is the campus for you. There is a group or club for any type of person and if they don't have it then make it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no classes for an hour each day, so everybody can have lunch, and just relax. Most students are part of THON, which is largest student-run philanthropy in the world. THON is a dance marathon which helps fight pediatric cancer.

    Bang for the buck

    After all was said and done, I wasn't paying nearly as much as I thought I would, and this is my education. One thing I will not cut corners on is education, because it's your future, are you willing to risk that?

    What to do for fun

    At penn state fayette, all sports events happening at the campus are free, so get your Penn State gear on and cheer your team. They also have a gym free to students for the kids to work out in-between classes. They have a Chill Room where you can watch TV, play a game of pool, or find a study group for your next test.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is great, they have amazing Italian food. Create your own pizza, is my favorite choice at the campus. However, I'm sure all the food there is great.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms, its mainly a commuter campus. However, they do have apartments which are right by reserved for students, I have not been in them, but from the pictures they seem to be nicer than any dorms I've seen.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics depend on your major, Penn State is known for their math and science, so obviously they will be hard. I haven't taken any classes here yet, but I have met several teachers and they seem to be extremely helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Chill out! The people in the office work together to help you out. Their job is to answer your every question and help you feel confident in school.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Fayette is the prettiest campus I went to go visit, with several trees and beautiful atmosphere. The campus is small, and gives students a chance to take a steeping stone towards going to main. The students look happy to be there, and there are several activities which help you meet new students.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Participation is limited to availability and moral of students. Come with a positive attitude and you'll have fun.

    Great for these types of students

    All Students, especially: Nursing Majors and Business Majors

    What to do for fun

    A student lounge is available for in-door activities such as pool and table-tennis. There are student activity events year-round, including concerts, trips to New York and D.C., and Spring Fling. Students may also choose to participate in over 30 clubs and organizations on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Freshly made pizza, salad bar with all the favorites, made-to-order grill, and a value meal for the thrifty spender. Delicious, too.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. As of 2012, there is only off-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    3.5 Pay attention in class, take notes for review, and study study study. These courses require a disciplined mindset to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a commuter campus, make sure to secure housing and transportation plans well ahead of school year. If living at University Commons, a third-party student-housing facility, shuttle service is available through the school.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Fayette has small classroom sizes that allow for efficient communication with talented staff and instructors. Writing workshops and peer-tutoring sessions are available in the library to help students achieve academic goals. The Community Center includes a workout facility, two gymnasiums, and the Bird's Nest Cafe, which offers a variety of made-to-order meals as well as a full salad bar.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great!

    Greek Life

    The dorms are really fun and the people are nice and welcoming! Like I said, it's what you make of it. I'm not a partier in any way shape and form. I want to get my education, get my degree, and get out and work! But I here that the dorms are really fun because the same degree students room with each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are really advertised here!

    Great for these types of students

    All-there is great diversity! It's what you make of it!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a culture center. It is a whole room dedicated to cultural diversity! It is actually really neat!

    Bang for the buck

    It is cheap compared to other colleges! But FYI, buy your books on amazon not the bookstore!

    What to do for fun

    Surprisingly, study in the library! I hate studying but it is so quite there and I can actually focus. Not to mention the chairs there are the most comfy on campus!

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, cheap, and great proportions! Not to mention the staff is cleanly and nice!

    Dorm Life

    They try to place Nursing students with Nursing students and etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take summer classes right out of high school to get your general education classes out of the way!

    In three sentences

    Penn State Fayette feels like a second home to me! The professors are extremely passionate about what they teach! I feel like I am getting an true education and not just memorizing things to get my degree.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and in a rural location, so it feels safe. And there are multiple security officers always on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a multitude of clubs on campus to get involved. The only problem is they all like to have meetings at the same time.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a well known college education but looking for a small campus feel. Its easy to know everybody on campus, and the furthest two classes are only a two minute walk from each other.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat the price for a Penn State Education. If you are from around the area and can live at home while you commute to the campus, your savings will be amazing compared to those living and attending college at Penn State University Park.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there is a student lounge with ping pong tables and a pool table. In the community center there are two racquetball courts, a fitness center, a gymnasium and auxiliary gym. The Office of Student Life also plans events throughout the semester including guest speakers, comedians, intramural sports, and other social events such as dances and open mic nights.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines in every building, except the library. There is a cafeteria style dining option in the community center, which offers a salad bar, made to order a la carte items such as french fries and chicken patties, a fire pizza oven, and prepared meals and dessert options. The food quality is good overall, especially for the price, but it can get a little repetitive after eating there every day for lunch. And it's not open for dinner, it closes at 2:00 pm on Fridays, and is not open on the weekends. There are multiple fast food and restaurant options about a 15 minute drive from the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't live in a dorm, and there aren't any dorms offered on campus, either. There is, however, an off-campus apartment complex available to students that is less than a 2 minute drive from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic demand here various based upon your degree. Those looking to major in nursing (which can be completed on campus) or for a science based degree (Physics, engineering, chemistry) that will be finishing the degree at University Park can expect heavy course loads with 16-18 credit semesters while here. Other majors, such as business (which can be completed on campus) won't have as difficult semesters.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can, come out and check out the campus. Tours are given daily by members of the Lion Ambassadors. It's also great in that it can be used in the 2+2 program, where you spend your first two years here at Fayette, and then transfer to University Park for your last two years to finish your degree.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school for those wishing to obtain a degree from a well-known university on a small campus. The education you receive here is all that you'd expect at Penn State Main campus, with the benefit of a small class size. It's also very easy to get to know every one on campus.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always see security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Best club there is Thon, which is the largest student ran club in the world.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    From what I heard it is not bad.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many great classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Just work hard.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are amazing there. It is a small campus so you have smaller classes. You really get to know your teachers.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none that I know of

    What to do for fun

    play basketball, besides that there's really nothing around beides the mall

    Dorm Life

    no dorms, there are off campus apartments tho that are very nice but a bit pricey

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know the people in admission early because they will help you out down the road, they have a lot of connections

    In three sentences

    It is a good college for a commuter, but not for someone looking for the college experience. Also the professors here are very helpful.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    guns, sexual assults, knifes, rape, tornado, & hurricanes

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    circle - k, biology, camps, adult learners, honors, business

    Great for these types of students

    play volleyball

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    new jersey, washington d.c., canada

    Bang for the buck

    gets a jobs

    What to do for fun

    hang out, dance marathon for childhood diseases, waterparks, state fair

    Food and Dining

    campus restaurants

    Dorm Life

    on-campus/apartment

    Academic Rigor

    drama/dance/biology/computers

    Tips for prospective students

    enter exam, orientation, SAT, or the ACT, on a propective college

    In three sentences

    the students filled an application request online the students went to the amusement park. the friends went to the store.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    A small and friendly campus. It gives you a chance to meet new and fun people. Local and able to get to classes easily.