Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Pennsylvania State U.-Penn State Harrisburg Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Artistic -Athletic -Unconventional sorts -Hippies -Hard-working -Honor Roll students - Rural - Urban

    Tips for prospective students

    - Try to be active in as many clubs, and activities as you can! Fun during your first year is a must! - Think about renting (off-campus). Dorms (on - campus). Off campus is way cheaper ,yearly! But meal plans are usually for the on campus students. - If you do drugs, don't come! This is a dry campus (no alcohol)!

    Bang for the buck

    Penn State education, what more can I say. (Well it , its reputation, prestige, and rigor are nothing to mess with !)

    Am enjoying being here

    I met so many people during first week of school. At Penn State Harrisburg we even had Welcome Week for us freshman, catered exclusively to us! All the activities were fun, free, and real icebreakers!!

    Am learning a lot

    My classes are varied. And I learn everyday. I love EVERYTHING about my college!! I felt like I was suppose to come here.

  • 10/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who wish to live off campus Inquisitive students who wish to pick the brains of the many academics on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    If not living on campus, buy a comfortable car, since the drive is fairly long each day. The school is located in Middletown, PA, which is roughly thirty minutes from the city of Harrisburg.

    Bang for the buck

    The school has an excellent value, and offers merit and need-based scholarships for students leaving High School and transferring from another college. Surprisingly enough, the merit based scholarships are not very difficult to attain. I believe that the grade needed is not much higher than a 3.25 to receive one. There are also plenty of added benefits, like a full gymnasium, weight room, plenty of intramural activities, as well as some kind of special event, like a bonfire, almost every week.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is merely a dwarf in terms of student population of its cousin up in State College, PA. Therefore, students will not be crowded out of extracurricular activities. This was one of the main points that brought me to this campus. I assume that at very few public schools, that in the first three weeks I would be able to establish myself as the lead political writer for the school newspaper and the anchor for my own radio show. The only thing that I dislike about the school is that many of the teachers seem elitist. This was never the case at my previous school before I transferred. It seems like many teachers judge their students are lazy, unintelligent, degenerates even before meeting them. This leads to a prevailing disrespect to the students. To overcome this, make it a point to introduce yourself to and create a friendship with every teacher.

    Am learning a lot

    The course curricula here are challenging and fast. Students are expected to work hard and read much of the material on their own. The teachers are usually extremely knowledgeable, with either doctorate degrees or years of in the field experience. One of the best attributes of this school is the high proportion of graduate students. The reason for this is that Penn State Harrisburg was originally a graduate school. With seasoned academics all over campus, help is always available when needed.

  • 11/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - Students who want to get warmed up to college life first before continuing on to a bigger university (ex.: the 2+2 program). - Students who hope to major in the Technological/Mathematical/Scientific fields.

    Tips for prospective students

    - If you plan on living on-campus but aren't comfortable sharing a room with another person, request a single room as soon as possible (the 3000, 4000, 5000, and 6000 bldgs. are all single room apartments) as they go pretty quickly! - DON'T expect it to be 'party hardy' like UPark. But don't assume that because it isn't a renowned party campus there's nothing going on. Ask around -- word travels. - Try to participate in class as much as possible -- my in-class participation made up 15% of my grade for one of my courses. Additionally, the more you get used to speaking in public settings, the better. Trust me. - Sign up for activities! Meeting new people will gradually help you get settled in.

    Bang for the buck

    I find the tuition at PSH pretty reasonable, but then again I also qualify as an in-state student. Room & board definitely adds a lot to tuition costs, too (though I can't complain, as my on-campus housing is quite nice, as far as on-campus housing goes). A monetary factor a fair amount of students are unhappy with, however, is that meal plans are a requirement for first-year students, which soaks up another $300-500. Lastly, textbooks also add on to tuition fees (the cost for my first-semester textbooks averaged at around $550) so take advantage of sites like Chegg, Half.com, etc. However, one must also keep in mind that Penn State is a nationally-acclaimed school, so the tuition is well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm pleasantly surprised just how much I've enjoyed my first semester here. While this isn't a big party campus like UPark is, there are enough events offered throughout the week to make it interesting (Zumba classes and trips to Broadway, anyone?) for students. And concerning the surrounding area, while Middletown is obviously not a metropolitan city like New York or Philly, it does have a certain 'small-town charm'. I often feel like I'm transported back into the 1950s walking by the Elks Theater (one of the first movie theaters in the nation), diners, countless antique shops, and the centrally-located Brownstone Cafe. And if Middletown is too boring for you, downtown Harrisburg is only about 20-30 minutes away (and you can always buy a $5 Megabus ticket to State College for the weekend). Plus, there's an Amtrak station right in downtown Middletown!

    Am learning a lot

    Penn State Harrisburg offers quite a diverse array of subjects -- especially in the Mathematical/Scientific fields ('Astronomical Universe,' 'Mammalian Anatomy,' and 'Intro to Programming Techniques' are a few examples). However, PSH is unfortunately lacking when it comes to the Fine Arts -- only a minimal amount of applied art classes are offered, and they're mostly Beginner's Courses (as PSH doesn't offer a BFA). Overall, though, I thoroughly enjoy my classes -- plus Penn State Harrisburg offers an efficient way to get rid of GenEds if you plan on heading up to UPark/a more specialized college after a year or two!

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Financial Aid is really helpful. If you feel like you are struggling, they will help. Tuition can be cheaper but thats just the cheap girl in me talking.

    What to do for fun

    They're so many clubs and organizations that you can get into! There will be no excuse on being bored! Look out for signs! There is always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    Food is always great! Hours could be better because they close so early on the weekends. Meal plan should be cheaper because it is not the traditional buffet style dining.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live on campus because on campus dorms were full! You will find that often if you go here. Make your decision quick so you can guarantee housing. The off campus housing is also convenient. It is about a 15 minute walk and are equal/better than living on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    So far Professors are awesome! Make sure you use all of your resources with picking good professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    When considering this school, be aware that if you like to travel, you may need a car. The dining hall closes early and if your hungry, food isn't so close.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Harrisburg has a little bit of everything. It is considered the second best Penn State campus. It is a small campus which makes us more like a family.

  • 11/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is definitely a good place for commuters and people who like to know everyone and who like a relatively small place to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in with an open mind and make the best out of your situation. And if you're a freshman DON'T slack off your first semester, no matter how easy you think it seems because it will end up hurting you in the future.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition isn't that bad, especially if you're an instate student. I'm an out of state student and it's about $20,000 year. For the education you get and the resources you're available to it's not too bad. Classes sizes are relatively small so you can go to your professor during his/her office hours for extra help if you need it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is located in Middletown, PA which doesn't have much to offer, but Harrisburg is like a 15-20 minute drive away and there are things to do around there. The only thing I don't like about this campus is that student/campus life is pretty much dead. There usually isn't much going on and it can get really boring sometimes. There are barely any big events and when there is, the turn out is usually not that great. Thankfully I live off campus so I can go visit my friends who live around me. If you can make the best of the situation it's not too bad.

    Am learning a lot

    The education you get at this campus is pretty good. Like at any school it depends on the professor and class you're taking. I am majoring in accounting, so I'm taking a lot of business classes. I have definitely learned a lot in those classes, especially in accounting. You also get some pretty cool elective choices here as well.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its a small campus (~5000 students with around 1000 living on campus) so there is not much to go wrong. The police are ALWAYS around (that's good and bad) but mainly its friends that watch out for each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 50 active clubs on campus. Get involved, meet people, make some new friends, and have fun.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, sports teams, or just get a group of friends together. For those of age there are a few places for night life not too far from campus.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus cafeteria is decent but overpriced if you don't have a meal plan. They also tend to have weird hours at critical points in the semester. Get to know the area around campus as a few places give discounts to students.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived on campus but from what I hear and see it can be pretty boring at times.

    Academic Rigor

    You know your professors and they know you. They're always willing to help and want to see you succeed. As a Penn State campus, you do have to work for your degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Look around for off campus housing. -Get familiar with the area as there is not much to do on campus, especially on the weekends. -Get involved with clubs on campus. THON, LAmbs, and Blue and White Society are great places to start.

    In three sentences

    This campus has its ups and down. Its small enough to encourage a great learning environment yet large enough to give a taste of college life. Its a great place to start, and who knows, you may wind up staying.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    cops are always patrolling and there are several emergency phones scattered across campus.

    Greek Life

    there are a few sororities and fraternities but they are not very widely known. it seems only people who are in it or know those who are, know about the fraternities and sororities present.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are sooo many to join. there are over 100 clubs present and you can even create your own. they have a lot of fun events within their club groups and even field trips to other states.(usually md, ny, and d.c)

    Great for these types of students

    those who are used to the sub-rural type of locations, have a car, dont mind studying, enjoying being apart of clubs, and are football fans.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the first week of freshman year (fall semester) there are a bunch of fun events that freshman can participate in.

    Bang for the buck

    the professors and school advisors encourages you to use all the resources possible that are available to you. its just your job to know what is out there and take advantage of it.

    What to do for fun

    school clubs and organizations. there are parties on campus too. and fun events are held at school but none are that interesting. most people are bored out of their mind.

    Food and Dining

    i dont really eat at the cafeteria a.k.a stacks but everyone including professors hate the food. they think its unhealthy, some students still go out an buy groceries despite their meal plan. they do it because they are just that bored/unsatisfied with the cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    i dont have a dorm, off campus apartments are cheaper.

    Academic Rigor

    its challenging, depending on the course and professor but its not unmanageable or too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you have a car. be prepared for bad weather (rain, snow) get involved and join clubs.

    In three sentences

    it is better to get around if you have a car. there is not much fun things to do outside of school. everyone is pretty nice (including the professors)

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is a very safe campus. being a female, non-traditional, honors student i spend many late nights in the library, and i have not felt uncomfortable walking to my car alone.

    Greek Life

    a few sororities and fraternities on campus. personally i am a member of kappa delta pi, a very active educational honors society.

    Great for these types of students

    great for non-traditional students.

    Bang for the buck

    it is a penn state university so it is still expensive for a state school.

    What to do for fun

    the clubs on campus provide plenty of free trips to nyc and other places. also, there are plenty of clubs and sports on campus to participate in. there are not many off campus activities within the town of middletown; however you are close to the airport and soon a train station, just hop on one and go someplace more fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't expect the same big university experience that is available at the main campus. enjoy pshbg for what it is, a smaller penn state campus that is able to provide more individualized attention to its students. also, be sure to take advantage of the free trips that the different clubs offer, inculding nyc, philly, and virginia.

    In three sentences

    first, penn state harrisburg provides a safe community for their students. second, they provide non-traditional students with a realistic opportunity at achieving a penn state university degree. lastly, their faculty takes a genuine interest in students seeking their help.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police on campus that are available at all times and can help with any issues regarding safety. There are also campus call boxes where a student can call for help in case of an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and Activities, just about any you can think of. If there isn't a club that you would like to see you can meet with people from the school to try and create the club of your liking.

    What to do for fun

    There are many co-curricular activities for students to go to. Some of them include multicultural events, educational workshops, internship and job fairs, and many more. Other events include activities going on in the town and music events and plays through the school.

    Food and Dining

    Stacks Market and the bakery on campus have really great food. They have a lot of really healthy foods as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should go to all meetings for undergraduate or even graduate students. They should also take time to study and keep organized. Always meet with an academic adviser at least once per semester.

    In three sentences

    Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Harrisburg is an excellent school. It has provided me so far with a great education. They have also helped me become even closer to my goal of becoming a registered nurse.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I could almost say too safe. The police stay on top of things here.

    Greek Life

    Small but growing. Three greeks were established last year!

    Clubs and Activities

    I can't name all of them there must be at least 45 clubs on this campus alone. Some are more active than others.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for a multitude of students. This university was built for diversity. So everyone is welcome!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'll let you find that out for yourself

    Bang for the buck

    If you check, you will get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Trips and events occur every week. They range from ice cream parties to Six Flags! If you look around, you will find tons to do.

    Food and Dining

    The school cafeteria has a variety of foods to eat, some better than others. Overall the food isnt bad.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm population is small but the faculty is very thorough in keeping the area clean and livable. There are events every week, comedie shows, game night and much more.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I said, this school is no joke. It will challenge you in many areas. You will also enjoy yourself in others!

    Tips for prospective students

    For new students, make sure you enjoy yourself. This school is just as hard as University Park but don't be intimidated. If you get your work done, there is plenty to do here.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Harrisburg is an excellent and growing university. The curriculum is high and the classes are challenging. Since I was a freshman, this school has increased in every element and continues to do so.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is great! Campus police are there daily and also ride aroung campus at night to make sure students are secure. The campus police even regulate who comes into the parties to ensure students are not in danger.

    Greek Life

    Kappas is the first fraternity to be at that campus. In the Fall of 2011, the Sigmas created a chapter there and has already stirred up some good campus events. Then, in the Spring of 2012 the Zetas started a chapter and has really brought some delight to the campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The CUB at the Harrisburg campus is similar to the HUB at University park and holds a lot of events there for exercise, athletic games and parties.

    Bang for the buck

    It's perfect for those who plan to spend their first two years at this campus then attend University Park for their last two years because it helps a student transition into college smoothly with it being in a good environment, not too many distractions versus a bigger campus, smaller classes, smaller campus, professors knew who I was, a smaller population to develop relationships easier with everyone and helps a student define their self.

    What to do for fun

    It's easy to have fun if you get involved with organizations, greek life, intramural sports, attend sessions for different causes, particpate in activities on campus and be open to meeting new people that are different from yourself.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has good food eighty percent of the time, the hours fit many students needs, chefs try different culture foods every week and the faculty takes advice on what to improve.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is definitely an exciting experience and has its pros and cons. The pros: meeting new people from different cultures, roommates can become lifetime friends, usually always something to do in the apartment, easy to get to classes, the RA's are available 24/7, 4-bedroom apartments everyone has their own room, every dorm has washers/dryers, community center has convenient hours for vacuums etc. and maintenance are helpful. The cons: the walls can be thicker for those who like to go to sleep earlier.

    Academic Rigor

    Majority of the professors always make themselves available for students through office hours, email and over the phone. Also, librarians are very helpful when searching the Penn State databases and looking for books. For all my core courses, the curriculum has remained with me and has actually been useful.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of one to ten, this campus earns a nine because all areas of the campus are constantly progressing in ways to improve the college experience for students. The professors, librarians, class rooms, greek life, organizations, community center events, the CUB, campus housing, campus cafe, athletics and community are continuously advancing to complete the whole college experience. The community is great for students who need the scenery of a college and not a fast city.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Though this campus is very big, it is well protected especially at basketball games, fashion shows and other events.

    Greek Life

    I believe that there are two sororities and about four fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over thirty clubs and activities including the infamous THON organization, student union and student programming board.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to network and are from big cities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any unusual locations at this campus that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    I honestly believe that you get more for your money at a bigger campus like Penn State Harrisburg due to the fact that they have more to offer their student population.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can attend the intramural games, swim, attend their social gatherings, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot more food options both on and off campus, though the cafe food is a bit more pricey.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are much nicer than the Penn State Schuylkill campus, however, I am going to live off campus at a site called Campus Heights

    Academic Rigor

    Penn State Harrisburg has friendly teachers dedicated to providing a great learning experience to their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not slack off because your parents are there, this will affect you later on.

    In three sentences

    I was originally accepted to Penn State Schuylkill and hated my freshman year at this campus. Overall, I did great but the area wasn't for me and this campus lacked the courses I needed to complete before entering my major. Penn State Harrisburg is awesome- they have a much bigger campus, hold a lot more events and have every course I need to take before the end of my sophomore year.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police patrolling the campus occasionally but nothing really happens.

    Clubs and Activities

    Its pretty fun and at almost every event there is FREE FOOD! yes free. Everyone is pretty welcoming and open to new people.

    Great for these types of students

    Those that like the small town vibe where everyone knows everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    They have occasional trips to places like D.C. and NY. For example this past semester they had free trips to NY to see Lion King on Broadway and one to Six Flags in MD, all you have to do is sign up.

    What to do for fun

    About 20 minutes away there is downtown Harrisburg, that has malls and convenient stores. It will feel familiar to those who are from the city.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty nice, its clean and the servers are friendly. They have everything from chicken fingers to pizza, to fajitas and sushi, and they even sell frozen food. The food there is good but some people get bored with the same pattern after a while. They sometimes prefer to buy there own food because the price is high especially for those students that do not have a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    I cant really say because I am an off campus student but I do know people in dorms and have visited them. The freshman dorms have four people no regular size refrigerator only mini ones in each room. There is two washers and dryers and one bathroom (i might be wrong about that though). Some people do not get along with each other just because of personalities and pet peeves and such.

    Academic Rigor

    It sometimes depends on what classes and teachers you sign yourself for. Most teachers will not give you busy work almost every assignment will count to your grade. But if you have a problem with assignments teachers do not mind explaining it further.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like everything in life you do have to put in the work to get the rewards later. Teachers are pretty understandable, so if you have late work most of them will still allow you to email it later. To make friends (especially if your off campus) is to join a club or two and go to events.

    In three sentences

    Its a good school with nice people. Teachers are easy to contact. The area is somewhat secluded so a car is helpful.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    just be prepared to study hard

    In three sentences

    it is a very good school. teachers sucked freshmen year. math teachers are impossible

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club or organization on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Pay attention to your professors and you will pass the class. If they give you a recommendation, it is because that recommendation will help you get an A in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and GO PENN STATE!

    In three sentences

    It is a cozy size campus. It provides wonderful resources for its students. One of the best campuses I have visited.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a couple on campus police as well as emergency button stations outside every building

    Greek Life

    Not much Greek life. I believe only one or two sororities/frats.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's too many school clubs to name.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I've been at this school for 3 years now and so far the Capital Union Building has always had construction going on. I don't know what they're fixing but it sure is taking a long time.

    Bang for the buck

    Penn State holds it's legacy as a great school, well worth the price of tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Very big car scene in central PA, there's always a car meet somewhere. There's two big malls and 3 movie theaters, and more bars than you can visit in one lifetime.

    Food and Dining

    Stack's has great food but very pricey.

    Dorm Life

    I've never seen the dorms nor do I know anyone that lives in them. Most of the student body are commuting students.

    Academic Rigor

    Penn State University is rated as one of the top schools in the country.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you learn how to use Elion and Angel before you begin classes. Most classes will use Angel on a daily basis and is essential for getting work done.

    In three sentences

    Same degree as a State College graduate for 1/3 the price. Hands on professors teaching a wide array of classes. Not very much night life or Greek life.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police everywhere! This can be somewhat bad for speeders like myself who get pulled over almost all the time! It is also good though because you feel like there is help at every corner.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different and unusual clubs out there for all types of people even a manga/anime club you just have to go out there and look and if you can't find one that fits your fancy, CREATE ONE!

    Bang for the buck

    This is college even though the academics is very important try to have fun! Try to be active, join clubs, interact with other students and make long-life friends!

    What to do for fun

    I try to attend any school events I can because were not in much of a party town as main campus.

    Food and Dining

    It's so easy to gain weight with the food varieties available you have to have self control! The chicken tenders and fries are weakening! I must add it is extremely expensive if you do not have a meal-plan.

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus but the dorm life isn't so bad it's a lot easier to make friends when your in a community dedicated just to college students.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be very difficult. Penn State is not an easy university but you will leave having learned what you're studying!

    Tips for prospective students

    The best thing to do is remember you are paying way too much money to flunk out of school its very easy to get distracted please organize yourself so that you make plenty of time to study and do homework and keep your grades up!!

    In three sentences

    I guess the opportunities to enjoy yourself presents itself only if you look for it. They could do a little better job at including the students to get involved in the expensive school activities we pay so much money for.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad, it isn't a fast food atmosphere. Healthy options are available.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is very fun, and can be hectic at times. All in all, they are very nice dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are very understanding and personable. As long as you take the time to get to know your professors you will not have any trouble in the classes you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very important to make friends at this campus, engage in campus activities and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Harrisburg is a great place to attend. Although it is a fairly small and simple campus, there is many opportunities to have fun.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I liked the food on campus. I thought some things were a little more expensive then they needed to be but not outrageously high. The dining room wasn't huge but at typical eating times it was packed. Once the weather became nice they had tables outside for us to eat at, which was nice.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus so I don't know what the dorms are like.

    Academic Rigor

    Learn to set time aside for studying. It was something I didn't have to do in high school much and can be an adjustment if you don't have good study habits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to talk to the people aside of you in each class. It makes it easier to get notes from someone if you happen to oversleep an 8 am class.

    In three sentences

    It is a smaller campus compared to other Penn State locations. The cafeteria food is actually quite good and they offer healthy choices. The classes can be difficult so study hard.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is always on the campus and always there when you need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is plenty of clubs and activities that will keep you occupied.

    What to do for fun

    Join any extra curricular activities like sports or a club.

    Food and Dining

    The food is healthy and you have plenty of choices of food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is nice. They set you up with good room mates and if you have a suite then you can have your own room with your own space

    Academic Rigor

    The professor really care about the student passing. They will spend time with the students to help them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always find times to meet with tutors and your professor.

    In three sentences

    Penn State Harrisburg has teachers who really want you to learn. The classes are small and you can meet with your professor. This school is set up for you to succeed.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My first year was shaky, really because the world is getting worst. Therefore we have to be more careful presently than we did in the future. You should have that in mind, but be assured the campus is safe.

    Greek Life

    You do not have to be about that life to enjoy your college experience, nor to befriend someone of that life.

    Clubs and Activities

    It becomes hard to show up to club meetings because of time management and lunch time classes. Otherwise activities are the best moments to bring people together.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is great for students who like quietness to focus, and events to socialize.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a smoker's section that is in the center where every person who resides on campus will have to walk through every day. Not everyone smokes, so it has been an issue that several students have been trying to petition for a relocation for smokers.

    Bang for the buck

    Good library services; Decent events; and Fair food services.

    What to do for fun

    Being part of the family, means getting involved. The Penn State Family is wide open when it comes to the arena of activities and social gatherings. Particularly at the Harrisburg campus there is a lot of time for social activities that will keep you searching for topics to speak on and on about.

    Food and Dining

    It might have failed a challenge at this point, because the food is not at its best quality.

    Dorm Life

    The room is superb, it awaits the 5th star. YOU.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic is simply a synonym of challenge. Think about it and get ready.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student do not be afraid to be challenged, neither left alone to accomplish the work. The moments you suffer the most, will give you a push for when you come back up for the win.

    In three sentences

    It is a place of comfort for all. A place set up for success, no matter the amount of failing attempts. This is Penn State Harrisburg where an education finds you.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I usually just go to the gym

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at school

    Dorm Life

    I'm commuting

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't had any big assignments yet

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not worry much about your first day. Get all your tuition situation taken care of. Study hard, Believe in yourself!

    In three sentences

    College is a new chapter in life. It's great for your future goals. Some people dream for this opportunity!

  • 11/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food will have you filling sick

    Dorm Life

    It's okay, and a different experience. You should get along with your roommate

    In three sentences

    Penn state is an well organized and diverse university. The penn state community can help you prepare for your future. Going to penn state can help you with growth academically as well as socially

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great if you don't want to go to a big school. The size of the classrooms still allow you to get a good amount of help and attention from the professor.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has a lot of activities on site. One day they had bouncy houses and obstacles to run around in. They also throw an all nighter and participate in a bunch of clubs. If the clubs don't suit you then you can get involved in an on campus job.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would visit the campus first just to make sure it's what you are expecting. And also to keep an open mind about all the campuses, don't just settle for one. You'll know what's right when you feel it!

    In three sentences

    It's a great school if you don't want to go bigger than what you had in high school, but if not then University Park is where you want to be! The university has so many opportunities for you to get involved in. It definitely opens up all your options for you.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They notify you IMMEDIATELY when there is a crime on campus, which there almost never is. We also have our own police station and they are actual state officers.

    Greek Life

    There's plenty of sororities and frats on campus, however there's no greek housing!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are way too many clubs/events to list!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Starbucks!

    Bang for the buck

    This college is a lot more affordable than most universities and you get, in my opinion, a better experience and education.

    What to do for fun

    There's a ton to do for fun here. You can join THON and help run the events the club hosts. Not to mention there's a ton of other clubs you can join. There's also baseball, basketball, volleyball games to attend and many on campus events such as the annual Carnival For A Cure or Big Man on Campus!

    Food and Dining

    Stacks (the campus cafeteria) is amazing, I live for their breakfast sandwiches. Also, Biscotti's serves Starbucks drinks, even specialty ones and you can pay with your meal plan! How awesome is that?

    Dorm Life

    I love living on campus and I love the housing. Not many colleges have the option of having your own room and I LOVE that being an option at Penn State Harrisburg.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging but as long as you remain focused, you can get through it! College is not supposed to be easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips are: -Don't come here and think it will be like High School, this mindset will KILL your GPA -GO TO CLASS -DO YOUR WORK

    In three sentences

    Penn State Harrisburg is honestly the best university. The professors are great and hands on. Your education will be a cut above the rest!

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are present giving the safe and secure feeling, but not overbearing giving an imprisoned feeling.

    Greek Life

    It exists. I am not part of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all types of clubs and activities available for a student to join and experience.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all types of students are welcome and accepted by the student body. I do not think anyone feels out of place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Great Library.

    Bang for the buck

    Reasonable Cost of Education at a well known University. Easy access to the campus.

    What to do for fun

    I have attended a few parties on campus, but spend most of my free time nearby eating out in Harrisburg and Hershey and attending concerts in Philadelphia, and Baltimore.

    Food and Dining

    I have lunch 3 times per week on campus. Meals are reasonable and there is a better than average variety.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home and commute. I have been to the dorms and they seem updated and easily accessible to both the university and off campus stores and local attractions.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses can be tough, and the work load can be extremely difficult. Allow yourself plenty of time to complete the assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded and be willing to try something new and out of your comfort zone. However, do not be naïve. Know where you are going, who is going to be there and what type of function you are attending.

    In three sentences

    Diverse community. Practical experience. Near Baltimore and Philadelphia allowing fundamental opportunities to recognize and test the many different cultural lifestyles.

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Better for commuters since over 90% of the campus are commuters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's not unusual, but I love the WE ARE chant. It shows the pride we have for Penn State and I love shouting it.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, there isn't much. Its a fairly small campus. If you're not part of a club or organization, you're going to have a terrible time. On the weekends there's nothing to do. The town doesn't have anything and there are no places for students to just hang out. We have one pool table, and games but nothing much.

    Food and Dining

    Too expensive, barely healthy and not that much food to choose from. Only one place to get food, hours are a little ridiculous and that food isn't that good half the time either. They have the same options every day, only one station changes throughout the day and if you don't want whats at that station, you're screwed because its the same stupid food every day to eat.

    Dorm Life

    On campus we have dorms and apartments, so the dorms suck at the fact you only get a small fridge and microwave and no kitchen. But you get big closets, you own bathroom, shower, sinks, and large suite rooms. Also apartments are big and fairly nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you're taking of course. If you're taking a speech class, there is not a lot of studying involved. But once you start taking classes for your major, the classes here get harder, but you learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a lot of good friends, and join a lot of clubs. You make great friendships that way and get more involved in the school. Most people just go to school here and go home, we need more people involved and more school spirit. Also if you don't have a car on campus, make friends that have cars!

    In three sentences

    Academic wise, classes are challenging but you learn a lot. School life there are a lot of clubs and activities, but there is not much to do on the campus itself; the town it is located in is not that great. If you don't have a car, it can get very boring on campus and especially on the weekends since only 500 people live on campus.