Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State York Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    young (dual enrollment), not ready to leave home, don't have a lot of money to your name

    Tips for prospective students

    living at home and commuting can be a pain, but you're saving money and you know you have a place to live!

    Bang for the buck

    Best priced penn state branch there is! :)

  • 10/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Focused Student, actually knowing the reason why you are attending college and where you are going in life. Undecided Students: there is lots of information available that can help you determine where you want to be in the future. Willing to learn: Opened minded, capable of learning new things Decided Students: Knowing where you are going, advantages, and what will be gained in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students must complete a formal online application for admissions. Get Organized: It is very Important Take your initiative, your high school counselor is great source of helpful information but, you will have to do research too. Contact the college admissions office and be ready to be part of our awesome learning environment or visit our website for more information on college experience. website: yk.psu.edu. Applied for Financial Aid. Keep track of your school information and search for scholarships that can help pay for college costs and books. Keep a folder with all the information you have looked for and all the letters and awards received. Keep in touch with the college faculty ALWAYS.

    Bang for the buck

    Penn state offers high quality education and also an excellent investment for your future. Is less expensive than other campuses, and has lots of different job opportunities for students, payroll, and internships. The Penn State York website (yk.psu.edu) is an excellent place to research your educational costs.

    Am enjoying being here

    Undergraduate students like me , are frequently encourage by faculty to be active in learning, to ask questions, meet their professors at least once a week, and attend tutoring for different courses. Faculty's encouragements has help me improve my course grade, GPA, and also meet my professors and new people.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors are always willing to help understand the material he or she is giving in class. Many study groups are available for students to gain more knowledge on the material and be ready for tests. People around campus are very well going and friendly which makes it easier to be more interest in learning and figuring your future path.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go shopping, hang out it the main cafe, walk around campus, take a road trip and of course GO TO GAMES!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit Main Campus if you will end up transfering there after your first two years. Definitely consider 2+2 program if you have a campus within driving distance because it will save you money and you will end up at Main Campus anyways. Your degree will be the same and you will take the same classes as if you were at Main campus, just less people. Enjoy your time and do not be affraid to contact your PROFESSORS! Take advantage or research opportunities, internships, and office hours.

    In three sentences

    Providing endless opportunities in and out of the classroom. Outstanding reputation in all fields making job placement higher than most universities. Wonderful staff and peers making the entire experience be a community experience.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is always on call throughout the whole day. Security ensures the safety of all students at all hours of the day.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide array of clubs at this campus. As noted earlier students can start their own club or join one of the many clubs already in existence at the campus. Club activities run throughout all the semester and students have the opportunity to engage in these activities

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do at this campus whether it is sitting in a performance at their prestigious Pullo Center or joining club activities, or to engaging in volunteer opportunities there is always something. The is a luxury of the gym being open at all times to students. Students can also make their voice be heard on any activity provided by the school. Students are more than open to start their own club, fellowship, team etc....

    Food and Dining

    Though you can expect to receive an array of freshly prepared food, the only downfall is the prices. This has turned some students away. If one decides not to buy food on campus, there is an array of restaurants, food and dining places within walking distance of the school. Since this is a commuting campus there is the luxury of driving to go eat and come back

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuting campus so there is no on house living. Though students have the opportunity to live in exquisite apartments nearby the school

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor truly deserves a 5 star at this campus. There is no lack in opportunities for students to expand their horizon and choose any major they please. The professors as well as advisors are always willing to help the student achieve and succeed in every way. Classes are intense depending on what course you choose yet there is the luxury of having the professors willing to sit down with you and explain/teach you on any matter that was unclear

    Tips for prospective students

    When you decide to come to this prestigious institution, expect to come to a campus where the students voice is heard and greatly emphasized. Students have numerous opportunities to start and join various clubs, extracurricular activities, and programs as they please. there is no lack in educational opportunities either depending on what major you choose expect to have the necessary courses met in your field of study. Truly the professors seek to ensure every student has the opportunity to succeed in every way possible.

    In three sentences

    The school is vibrant with opportunities for students to feel accommodated in the environment. The small size allows for excellent teacher-student relationship as well as numerous opportunities to seek and receive help which would not otherwise be found in a large campus.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i always see the campus saftey, they are serious about keeping students safe.

    Greek Life

    none here, but lots at main campus

    Clubs and Activities

    everyone finds their nitche

    Great for these types of students

    slow learners, anyone who is not quite ready to leave home or transition

    Bang for the buck

    cheap!

    What to do for fun

    clubs, organizations, bus trips, games. tons of stuff to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    good food, expensive

    Dorm Life

    there are not any dorms, i live at home currently

    Academic Rigor

    College is college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here to save money and to make friends before going to a big state school, like penn state main campus.

    In three sentences

    Great school with lots to do. Professors care about the student and know almost everyone by name. Small and easy to commute to

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many and you can start your own if you want to

    Great for these types of students

    Any! There are many international students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    WE ARE...

    Bang for the buck

    Because it's a satellite campus, it isn't overly expensive, and the teachers are great

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join, and if the one you're interested in isn't available, you can start one with a few friends

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but sometimes takes a while to make

    Dorm Life

    It is a commuter campus. There are lofts that some students stay at but they aren't owned by the the school

    Academic Rigor

    I try hard, but none of my classes are so hard that I need to overexert myself

    Tips for prospective students

    Take it seriously, and don't be afraid to ask questions

    In three sentences

    The student-teacher ratio is really great. All of my teachers are willing to help me with any problems I may have. There is a lot to do on campus and I feel safe there

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always staff walking around and campus security roaming too.

    Greek Life

    I don't believe there is any.

    Clubs and Activities

    Penn State York offers many clubs, and if you can't find a club that matches to what your interested you can start your own. When of the best clubs to join is THON.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters Serious Students Students who may be working while in school Regular Students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a beautiful trail at the campus that you can walk.

    Bang for the buck

    For the money you pay Penn State matches up to the tuition.

    What to do for fun

    At Penn State York a great way to have fun is join clubs, and they also offer a variety of activities to go to. Attending the plays is fun too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good at Penn State York and most importantly is affordable.

    Dorm Life

    Penn State York currently does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Is Fair

    Tips for prospective students

    For students who are just starting at Penn State York I recommend making sure you have all the materials the professor asks you to get, and also taking the time to show up to your class. Being in class is very important if you want to get good grades. Also, join as many clubs and sports that you can, it's a great way to meet new people!

    In three sentences

    Penn State York is a wonderful school, anyone looking for a good opportunity to get a degree should apply. The staff and students are very helpful when it comes to needing help, and offer support during your college experience.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You could always gather a group of your friends and play pool or table tennis with one another. You could also play sports on campus, as there are quite a few sports facilities available to students that attend the college.

    Food and Dining

    I don't have a meal plan affiliated with the college, but on occasion I would eat on campus for lunch. The food is actually pretty good and the prices are quite fair as well. Other then lunch, I mainly buy groceries and cook for myself when I'm at the Lofts.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in a dorm, however I have lived in a loft that only allows potential college students to live there. Honestly, I'm glad that I lived in a loft my first year of college as opposed to a dorm. The roommates that you share the loft with are amazing in you have a complete feel of what it means to live by yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    My academics are quite average, as my GPA is currently a 2.11

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are nervous about the college life, start at a small campus and transfer to bigger campus when the time is right.

    In three sentences

    In my honest opinion, I actually enjoy attending Penn State York. It was good place to start my freshman year of college, as everything about the campus became second nature to me in less than two weeks. I also enjoy the students that attend that college as well, they were quite welcoming and quickly became close friends with me.