Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Pensacola State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study alot and make sure you understand what the teacher is telling you.

    Bang for the buck

    They are not as expensive as UWF and you still have a variety of classes to choose from

    Am enjoying being here

    The people that go here are really nice and they always have an event for students going on somewhere. They they are near a viarity of places to eat for lunch since it's near Cordova Mall.

    Am learning a lot

    This is a great college to go to if you are from this area and want to stay home. It's not as expensive as most colleges and the teachers are really nice, and the class times work around your schedule. They have a big selection of degrees and classes and the teachers always try their best to make sure you understand what their teaching you. This is defiantly the college to go to.

  • 07/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I love school! I just wished I would have had more time to study. Scholarships really help. The worst that can happen is not getting awarded the money. Millions of dollars in scholarships are not awarded every year just because people didn't apply.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try very hard not to work and go to school at the same time. If you decide on transferring into a program, the school is not going to look at how many hours you worked but at how your grades are. It's very important to have good grades. A lot of scholarships are based on your GPA. It would be shame to not enter a scholarship because your GPA does not qualify. Study hard all during the week, and have some fun on the weekends. Don't forget your long term goals if you decide to go to a junior college.

    Bang for the buck

    Education is always worth your money. Just remember, it will pay off in the long run!

    Am enjoying being here

    Try to get a lot of scholarships when you go to college. I spent a lot of my time working, because I had to pay for school. I didn't really get a chance to do any extracurricular activities. I didn't really make any new friends or get to really check out the school. I'm pretty sure I would have loved being on campus if I didn't always have to work the night shift. I remember one time I got free ice cream just for having my student id card.

    Am learning a lot

    Go to ratemyprofessors.com. It's a great website to see what your teachers are like, before you even get to class. Having a teacher that fits your type of teaching will make your classes go a whole lot smoother.

  • 07/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Remember to register fast because PSC courses are not only cheap, but very popular since several UWF students take courses at PSC that are transferable and cheaper for their own degrees!!! So register early and make sure to pay courses by deadline or else you will be administratively removed for unpaid courses by the due date of funds.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please make sure to have all your financial aid forms filled out and ready. If you don't have an appointment with financial aid arrive during their empty hours, 8am-11am so you won't have to wait to long. Remember always to check you spyglass account to see if any financial aid information has been updated. (AND ALWAYS MAKE COPIES).

    Bang for the buck

    Way cheaper than UWF or even technical schools in the area. Make sure you get in-state rate though because the per credit hour price difference can cost you a $400 difference every term!!! A huge difference in price, but if you are eligible for Florida-state-tuition than this school is definitely the smartest and cheapest choice for a well-rounded college education!

    Am enjoying being here

    The warrington campus is where all of the health professions are held. The facilities are satisfactory and the internship opportunities are boundless. Teachers are amazing.

    Am learning a lot

    The educational experience is like any other and you get the best bang for your buck! Classes are smaller and most of the teachers are very approachable and will take time to review information.

  • 08/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pensacola State College has every type of student imaginable, but everyone sticks to people they are comfortable with. There are only a few Bachelor degree programs since they just changed to a four year school, but there are many good A.A.'s available. You will know if PSC is the right school for you if you are motivated, devoted and enjoy being in a smaller school.

    Tips for prospective students

    My first piece of advice for prospective students would be to definitely look into the prices first! It might not be as expensive as a four year University but it's still a lot of money. Secondly, go talk to one of the counselors to look at the courses and degrees available.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices for tuition are reasonable for the small size, but every college is expensive. The bookstores have good deals sometimes on the books, but not always. If you want to succeed though, it's worth the money I guess.

    Am enjoying being here

    I wasn't ready to move out and go to a big university right after high school, but PSC was a great transition surprisingly! The students are friendly, the staff and instructors are friendly as well. Pensacola State College has many classes to choose from too depending on which of the three campuses you go to.

    Am learning a lot

    I am going into my third semester at Pensacola State College (Pensacola Junior College), and I have to say I really am learning a lot from the classes I have taken so far. There are many interesting classes to choose from and the instructors that I have had are very friendly, not to mention they have awesome lectures!

  • 04/21/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ready to get started on their way to their dream occupation

    Will enjoy being here

    i have confidence in being happy on this campus

    Will learn a lot

    i hope to learn what i need to, to pursue my occupation

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always events going on around the student center.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is not as hard as high school teachers said it were to be. Going to class and doing your homework will keep you on top of your grades.

    In three sentences

    Pensacola State College is cool school to attend. The enviornment is safe and fun. I enjoy the school.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to advisers and ask questions!

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other colleges I have researched, PSC is one the better colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes, very much so.

    Am learning a lot

    I absolutely love all my teachers I have had so far.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    definitely cheap and affordable if you are looking to attend college.

    What to do for fun

    lots of clubs and activities that happen at the campus.

    In three sentences

    it's a nice environment and a lot of the teachers are willing to help you. pretty easy to attend.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is good, they are very responsive to phone calls and screams

    Tips for prospective students

    place early, always have back up money becasue unknown things happen on campus where money will either be short, or unavaliable.

    In three sentences

    I would have to say that PSC is a 7.5 on a scale from one to ten. the reason for my anwer is their organization problems, and the fact that all students are not treated as equally.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great school to be it, very helpful stuff and wonderful teatchers

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Pensacola State offers many sports and activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pensacola State is #58 in the Top 100 Producers of Associate Degrees in the US. Pensacola State offers the same quality education available at a state university at only 60% of the cost. Pensacola State awards over $30 million in financial aid to students each year in the form of grants, scholarships, loans, and work study.

    In three sentences

    Provides a great quality of education. Smaller classes. Much support and guidance. Affordable.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It is located across the street of the largest mall in our town. Conveniently located to the beach, river and numerous activities.

    Food and Dining

    Numerous onsite and off campus locations for food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Pensacola State College is somewhat challenging and the key is to keep up with your studies and pay attention in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Registering for classes early is important. Being punctual to classes is highly expected as it this shows respect to the instructor.

    In three sentences

    Pensacola State College is a great starting point for someone like me who works full-time and needs a flexible schedule. It offers the curriculum I am pursuing which is a nursing degree. I thoroughly enjoy the beauty and the layout of this campus and find it easy to access each class.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun , i go to work or sometimes go bowling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get everything done on time.

    In three sentences

    I love Pensacola State College. The counselors are always available when you need them. They also take their time to help you.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is constant patrol throughout the campus. Cameras have been placed to prevent any type of trouble on campus. The parking lots are highly monitored creating a very safe environment for students and professors.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I stated previously, there are many clubs throughout the three campuses of PSC. The variety is extremely wide. This school also offers many student days to relieve school stress and even just for fun. PSC hosts many fundraisers such as Do Not Text and Drive.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who love the small campuses with down to earth, fun teachers. The environment at PSC is very relaxed and completely focused on information without acting like a military institution.

    Bang for the buck

    This campus is great especially for the price! This is the second campus I have attended, and this one is smaller yet the best out of the two. The classes and books are very reasonably priced.

    What to do for fun

    Pensacola State College has many different extracurricular activities to offer a variety of students. The dance and cheer teams are phenomenal and are great entertainment. If sports is what you are interested in, the sports teams at this school are wonderful! There are also plenty of clubs offered such as the Frisbee golf and ethic/philosophy club.

    Food and Dining

    There is just a small snack store in the Milton Campus I attend. However, the staff often have some sort of bake sale or barbecue offering many different options for the students.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college, however this would complete this college as a major state college.

    Academic Rigor

    The challenges in this campus academically is the lack of professor availability. Teachers at Pensacola State College often teach at many campuses so they are often hard to find personally. However, if you email them or call their offices they do not hesitate to answer any questions you have. The amount of resources at this campus is amazing and very helpful. Between the library on campus and the online helpful hints website links, students can get everything they need and all their questions answered quickly.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college has a lot to offer to every student. I highly recommend signing up for classes as soon as possible to avoid schedule problems, classes fill quickly. Also make sure the classes you need for your major are at your selected campus, the smaller campus often does not have certain specific speciality classes.

    In three sentences

    Pensacola State College is a very personal and inviting environment. The staff is extremely helpful and are willing to work with you. The education level at this institution is by far up to par.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the Beach.

    In three sentences

    I believe Pensacola State is part of a good community and is surrounded by a well rounded society. It has all of the opportunities I am planning to move forward in.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Alpha Beta Gamma. Phi Beta Kappa Student Government

    Great for these types of students

    Technical,vocational, and nursing students love Pensacola State.

    What to do for fun

    Pensacola is a gulf coast community with plenty of sunshine so a day at the beach is a relaxing way to destress from class. Art and food festivals are common fare. Watch the Blue Angels practice sessions for free at the National Naval Aviation Museum.

    Food and Dining

    Drink machines are sporadic. Geedunks can be bought at the bookstore.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to college, then act like an adult; check your attitude at the door. Do the work that is assigned to you in a timely fashion and don't make excuses for lack of initiative. Help one another.

    In three sentences

    The online classes available make it easy for students who work full time. The instructors - professors and adjuncts alike - are approachable and dedicated to the student's success. A small town college with a big heart, Pensacola State College is a compassionate institution.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus not a whole alot but off campus the beach, mall, and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    There is limited on campus dining.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are average in difficulty level. The teachers are reasonable in their ablity to teach. The material is learnable and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready for multiple mistakes. Plan on waiting triple the time needed to finish basic procedures. The teachers are great.

    In three sentences

    The school is very disorganized. The campus is nice. The classes are easy to find.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is always out and about the college and never far away.

    Bang for the buck

    Good Choice for low income.

    What to do for fun

    The local mall is next to the campus, and also there is a movie theater located within a half of a mile away.

    Food and Dining

    PSC has a Subway on campus and a few cafes, but the college is in a great spot, just off campus are alot of fast food restaurants as well as a few good fine dining choices, also it is next to the local mall.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know much about the dorm life on campus. I have heard the dorms are only for athletic students.

    Academic Rigor

    Works very hard to have the essentials at hand so everyone has the ability to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great college for the student that wants to get an education on a tight budget.

    In three sentences

    Very nice campus, Has made grate improvements in the past year, allows everyone to get an education, and the professors are always there for you when needed.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach

    Tips for prospective students

    Find scholarships early, not late.

    In three sentences

    The college is nice. The campus is clean. The faculty are friendly.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Pensacola has many bars for those who choose to party. They also have quite a few bowling alleys, a beach relatively close, and waterparks within the area.

    Food and Dining

    They do not have much on campus besides the subway, however, the mall is rather close to their main location.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be consistent when trying to get an answer from them. If you are promised a callback and don't receive one be sure to call them back. Check back on things they are supposed to be doing for you to ensure they are being completed as promised.

    In three sentences

    The directors of the departments are fairly helpful but the other representatives aren't of much help, always seem to have an attitude, and honestly do not seem to care overall about the students. I do like the fact that they offer day, night, and online classes making it more flexible and convenient for my schedule.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police on campus ( pensacola police )

    Greek Life

    all kinds of fraternities and other clubs

    Clubs and Activities

    many activities

    Great for these types of students

    students that mind isnt completely made up on what they want to do in life. its also a great for for those who are focus and ready to jump start their life

    Bang for the buck

    yes

    What to do for fun

    go to movie

    Food and Dining

    they have a subway instead school

    Dorm Life

    off campus

    Academic Rigor

    learn more than expected

    Tips for prospective students

    fasfa aide first, registration and it will be a easy process to enroll here.

    In three sentences

    Great school, wants to help students suceed in their goals. Great teachers and beautiful campus. Makes your goals easy to accomplished,

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded, once you find an advisor who is really willing to show you the way, be appreciative. Don't give up you may not know what you want to do right away but eventually you'll find your way.

    In three sentences

    A growing college, that staff is will to assist students. Flexible in payment arrangements, very understanding. I met the best student advisor they her name is Nancy, she should be all my alternatives and possible career goals. The directions and instruction that were given to me was outstanding .

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    beach

    Academic Rigor

    The academic are good the teachers for the most part stick to the syllabus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check ratemyprofessor.com for the teachers must are true to the rating, don't expect the auditorium classroom setting, expect it to be like high school continued.

    In three sentences

    The college is nice need work and is small but it suits for what it is a community college a transfer school. I have had some great teachers but have also had some horrible teachers. The school is safe and the campus police is present.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing, there is a gym and a baseball field and track

    Food and Dining

    No food court

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It's ok, depends on your area of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please research your professors.

    In three sentences

    It has very serious and needed areas of improvements. Many of the professors have lost sight of the reasons they originally obtained the position. All in all it was a very good experience, andhas been up to this point.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I'm a stay at home mom of two little boys that are 11 months apart. Pensacola State College offered me a little get away time, while offering college credits at the same time. Pensacola State College was just what I needed.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy playing with both my baby boys, they are 9 months and 20 months old.

    Food and Dining

    Pensacola State College has a subway on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am stay at home mom, so I wasn't living in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Pensacola State Colleged offered course material that challenged me to do my absolute best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pensacola State College has been an amazing experience for me thus far. I definitely recommend this college to anyone either fresh out of high school or returning after years of absence.

    In three sentences

    I decided to continue my education after a 7 year break and Pensacola State was the perfect college for me and my hectic schedule. I absolutely loved all my professors, the online courses were very user friendly, and I wasn't intimidated by any of the material in my courses.I took 2 classes on campus and 3 classes online and After finishing my first semester at Pensacola State College, I couldn't be happier with my decision to return to school.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Pensacola State College has many clubs and organizations for students to get involved. Pensacola State College has intramural sports to keep athletic students in condition. Pensacola State College has a fitness center so whenever you want to work out you can. Pensacola State College has many movies, and plays during the year.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway and it is okay. The dining area for socialization is okay. Not a selection of foods to eat in the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Pensacola State College does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is challenging, but rewarding. You need the instructors to challenge your abilities. The academic rigor will help you in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that you stay in contact with your academic advisor. Always keep a planner for important dates to remember. Be organized.

    In three sentences

    Pensacola State College is an excellent state college. Pensacola State College is a great college for students first time entering college. I am giving Pensacola State College an A rating.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I rarely eat on campus, but when I have it has been very good.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure that you have all of your information in hand when you go to register.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed my college experience at Pensacola State College.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police car in just about every parking lot, it's right by the airport and the mall though so if you plan on walking anywhere there's always a risk of getting run over in the street.

    Clubs and Activities

    The theatre department is AWESOME... other than that I haven't really payed attention to the other clubs and organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who don't want to feel like they're another statistic.

    Bang for the buck

    You get an awesome education for half the price of neighboring University of West Florida.

    What to do for fun

    LOTS! This is pensacola! There's the beach, shopping, clubbing, museums, movies. Plenty of fun things to do!

    Food and Dining

    They're by all the best restaurants. :D

    Dorm Life

    We have dorms?

    Academic Rigor

    They'll push you to succeed, but they won't drown you in really challenging courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers and get to know the other students who have the same major. It helps to know which teachers to take and who to ask for help when you need it.

    In three sentences

    Pensacola State College has a very friendly learning environment. The people here really care about your education. Some of the teachers aren't the best but there are so many teachers who are willing to help you succeed in obtaining your degree.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of any violence at PSC. The school police are always around and

    Great for these types of students

    Pensacola State College is very good for students that love the beach. It is very close to the beach and many students go all the time.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as tuition goes, PSC is a very low cost school. There are many different accredited programs to choose from with low tuition rates. Loans, grants, and scholarships are also available.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different things to do for fun at PSC. There are always things happening on campus such blow up water slides. The beach is only about 20 minutes away and there are also bars and clubs all throughout Pensacola.

    Food and Dining

    There are no dining halls at PSC but there are many fast food restaurants around campus. Since PSC is located in the heart of Pensacola, there are many different food options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at PSC, however there are many nice apartments within 10 minutes from the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though many tough subjects are taught at PSC, the professors are always willing to lend a helping hand. The small class sizes are good too because the professors are able to get to know the students better and give personal assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I have for prospective students is to study hard and play later. Even though there are many fun things to do like go to the beach, these next few years can determine the rest of ones life so school should be taken seriously.

    In three sentences

    Pensacola State College is a very good school for students that don't want to go to a big university. The small class sizes are awesome because students get more one on one time with the professors. Along with having a good academic program, the college is also very clean and up to date.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No problems, campus security is present at all times there are students are on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Support Services and Student Government Association are big and help do alot for their fellow students.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to get a head start before going to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for the money.

    What to do for fun

    Down town P-cola, what can i say other than the beach is whats happening.

    Food and Dining

    there is a subway on campus and restaurants close by.

    Academic Rigor

    Subjects are tough but with studying good grades are only a little effort away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the labs that are provided as well as seeing your professors in their offices. If you want the help it is yours for the asking.

    In three sentences

    This is a great way to get an affordable education. the teachers want to see you succeed and give you every chance to improve yourself and your life. This along with the friendly people here, make this a great choice for any student.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The beach. You may say that's it?! but trust me that's all you need!

    Food and Dining

    There are fast food and resturants every 2 miles in this town. If you want really great food though I suggest downtown, we have vegan places, beer bars, tapas, greek, and brazillian!

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms that I'm aware of, so don't come here if you're determined to spend your college career in a building swarming with noisy obnoxious students. We prefer living in apartments around here!

    Academic Rigor

    PSC classes are more about learning the material and understanding it than cramming your head full of facts and taking tests. The material ranges from easy to difficult depending on classes and the student but you will have the opportunity to really understand what you're learning instead of just making a grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide which degree you want early or go for a general AA at first so you don't feel like you wasted a semester or more if you have to switch programs. FYI: a Florida AA will transfer in full to a Florida University, an AAS will not!

    In three sentences

    PSC just feels more personal than other schools. The teachers are really there for you when you need help.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to earn their AA before transferring to a University.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a good school for the price.

    Food and Dining

    Only a subway and a coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to fill out the scholarship application in financial aide.

    In three sentences

    it is a good school. I have really enjoyed my time here.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Well food you have to bring your own but dining here isnt so bad

    Academic Rigor

    5 star School love everyone here

    In three sentences

    Love it. Im glad I waited to go to school. This one is right down the road from me Century, Fl.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    What to do for fun

    Attend athletic games and join a club.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are almost constant activities being held by SGA or PTK. One of the big ones is the Lumberjack Festival in the spring. Also, the beach is right there nearby, or you could go to one of the malls.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not sure about Pensacola Campus, but Milton Campus doesn't offer much in the way of food unless there is a special event going on.

    Academic Rigor

    It takes more time than anything else. If you apply yourself, you will do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into the offices to talk to admissions and financial aid, and have all your information ready ahead of time. Also, if you have questions, ask the staff or a student, everyone is very helpful.

    In three sentences

    The small setting makes it easy to make friends. The staff is always friendly and helpful. There are many financial aid opportunities.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Above and beyond exceptional. Any hazard that shows itself is taken care of within minutes of it showing up, and campus police are never more than a radio call away. I don't think I've ever felt unsafe while at the campus.

    Greek Life

    Not too terribly knowledgeable on the 'Greek Life' of the campus, but I do believe there are a couple sororities and fraternities that take and frequently accept students from the campus

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm forced to rate this as four instead of five stars simply because the clubs and activities have a horrendously ill fated role as being scheduled at some point during somebody's classes. That seems like a horrible thing, except for the fact that the professor's who run them usually bend over backwards in an attempt to make sure anyone and everyone who wants to participate in them can and do have an opportunity in some way to do so.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that prefer a more casual, friendly environment, while still being challenging.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a slew of small get together style bbq's, concerts, and readings, among other seasonal fare that the school is constantly preparing for and hosting.

    Bang for the buck

    Five stars. PSC is still at that point where they care more about putting out quality, efficient education than squeezing every last penny they can from their students. By far, some of the cheapest tuition costs I've seen while still feeling like you've gotten a worthwhile education

    What to do for fun

    PSC has a good variety of intramural sports, boys and girls sports, and more clubs and societies than I think it's possible to be a part of all at once. The caliber, as far as an official rating is concerned may not be at a university level, but I have yet to participate in anything I didn't have a fun time in, or feel like my time was well spent.

    Food and Dining

    While I won't say that anything within walking distance is more than a tasty treat to have, I have to give PSC a four star rating. There is a mall across from the campus, which has your typical food court, but within just a few minutes of the school by car, there is a pretty amazing selection of restaurants in all price ranges to choose from. I'd put a five star rating, but the school itself doesn't really have much in the way of its own dining facility, though I wouldn't expect them to.

    Dorm Life

    Gotta put this one at an average. It's a community college, so dorm space is very limited. PSC doesn't quite handle as much out of state traffic as the local university, but they do have housing available to those that need it most.

    Academic Rigor

    While you won't feel like you haven't learned anything, sometimes, the examples and practical app problems given while learning a subject seem quite a bit more basic than they should be. Overall though, I have yet to take a class where I didn't feel like it was challenging and worthwhile most of the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start your financial aid process early, up to a year in advance, but at least six months before you expect to take your first term.

    In three sentences

    Friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff are always happy to assist a student. The student body on average is more than civilized and just as friendly. You will finish just about all of your classes feeling you've learned something.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is wooded and beautiful, but with a police station right on-site, you never have to worry about student safety.

    Greek Life

    Pensacola State College has a long Greek tradition stretching back to the 1960s, almost to the founding of the college in 1947.

    Clubs and Activities

    Pensacola State College is full of opportunities to expand your field of learning by participating in major specific organizations and social clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Pensacola State College offers wonderful opportunities for students in transition, either from high school to university or returning students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pensacola State College features Pensacola's only Planetarium. It's a wonderful resource for students and a great learning tool for the community.

    Bang for the buck

    Pensacola State College is remarkably affordable and the course quality is excellent. It is a great primer for a four-year program.

    What to do for fun

    Pensacola State College is nestled in the heart of northeast Pensacola. It's within walking distance of great dining, shopping, and apartments. Downtown Pensacola is 5 minutes away and the beaches are only a 15 minute drive.

    Food and Dining

    The Pensacola State College Commons is a great place to grab a snack and study.

    Dorm Life

    There are few dorms on campus, but they are top-notch.

    Academic Rigor

    Pensacola State College is a great transitional tool for a student moving from High School to a University or for a returning student.

    Tips for prospective students

    To those considering attending Pensacola State College, I would suggest making every available use of your resources on campus. Pensacola State College offers a wonderful opportunity to complete general studies requirements in an environment that is low stress and affordable.

    In three sentences

    Pensacola State College offers a multitude of degree plans and transferable classes. The professors/instructors show a genuine desire to teach. Pensacola State College offers a leg-up and affordable options to those who do not yet know what they want to study and those returning to school after a period of absence.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm too busy to attend any school functions other than class.

    Food and Dining

    Subway!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this site.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't understand the question

    Tips for prospective students

    The process of registrations was extremely difficult. I felt like the staff does not have the same information. You might be sent to several different place before you even register!

    In three sentences

    Online classes here are amazing and easy to navigate. The night classes hours work for my busy schedule too. The teachers for the most part are helpful and friendly.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Very affordable and great schedule flexibility. Academically competitive in all areas.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good. no tolerance for any bad stuff

    Clubs and Activities

    tons to chose from

    Great for these types of students

    transfer to another collage for a major

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    have a u of f campus located at the milton campus

    Bang for the buck

    200 dollars cheaper than u of f 's cost per class

    What to do for fun

    close to beaches

    Food and Dining

    subway, cafateria

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    tuff but fair

    Tips for prospective students

    financial aid

    In three sentences

    good price on tuition. many choices of classes, locations, and activities. beautiful campases

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus Police & Security are excellent at their job.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are different types of clubs to join. Activities: bowling, weight lifting, swimming are tennis.Are just go to the computer room. Your also across the street from a shopping mall.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for out going people that love new experiences.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Badass coffee shop across the street.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is fare.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do,You won't get board

    Food and Dining

    A Subway sandwich shop on campus and across the street your taste buds will go wild.there so many different places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know I live off campus but I heard it's great.

    Academic Rigor

    Apply yourself you will do just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    At financial aid talk to Mrs. Edith Fox she the best one for help.

    In three sentences

    The other students are friendly. The college is up to date and the teacher are will prepared. There is support for any school class difficulty.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Transferable A.A. Degree to any other four year school in Florida!

    Food and Dining

    Not many places to eat on campus, but many places located on adjacent streets surrounding campus.

    Dorm Life

    Did not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes and teacher's are hard, but extremely doable!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study Hard!

    In three sentences

    Great Student-Teacher Atmosphere. Great programs of study at an affordable tuition rate. Lots of scholarship organizations!

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many places to eat across the street from the Pensacola campus. Subway, the Blind Monkey, and Bad A word Coffee. Off campus right near the school there is Wendy's, Fresh Market, McDonald, The Mall, Steak and Shake, Red Robins, Marconi Grill and many others.

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience with this however I have heard that the basketball team is the only students available for dorms

    Academic Rigor

    People believe the college is easy, however, I believe that instructors teach in a way students can grasp information. I have a relative who moved on and went to USF and he explained that Pensacola State was much harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can gain financial aid do so and do it in a timely fashion. The college is like any other college it takes a little time to process financial aid, so students are encouraged to do so ahead of time so no errors may be found. And if any errors are found students can correct them before classes begin.

    In three sentences

    Very personal environment, classes are not overly crowded. Teacher focus on the success of the students, and instructors also push the students to achieve there best potential. Very friendly atmosphere, students are allowed to call instructors for help and even ask for assistance after class.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always security where ever you go.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not in any clubs at this time, I am to old.

    Bang for the buck

    I am 40 years old, and have finally grown up and figured out what I want to do in life. Plus I have to graduate college before my daughter does.

    What to do for fun

    When not at school, at the beach or watching football or watching daughter cheer.

    Food and Dining

    Subway by the book store

    Dorm Life

    I live at home so this does not apply

    Academic Rigor

    Always find a lab or place to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask, no matter what, because you never know until you do.

    In three sentences

    I would rate this colege as a 10 so far (1bad-10good). I have had excellent teachers that went abouve and beyond to help when needed. Always being contacted reguarding school updates and information.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The cheap price of PSC makes it prime for people that need a start with their AA before going off to a university.

    What to do for fun

    Because it is located in Pensacola, you can go to the beach for fun, or go to Seville Square.

    Food and Dining

    The college is right next to a mall, giving ample choices to dine.

    Dorm Life

    The college does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I think academic rigor depends on what classes you take, and what you are used to. A lot of the teachers aren't too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you go to PSC, just make sure you know your major. It's not too hard to go here, and it's pretty fun if you get the right teachers.

    In three sentences

    PSC is a place where many different people can go, no matter you age, race, financial standing, sexual orientation, or personality. It is mostly accepting to everyone who applies. I've met many different kinds of people here, and I like it.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are multiple officers that patrol the grounds. You will always see them walking around on their guard.

    Greek Life

    It does not have any Greek life that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    The SGA is active in its duties, and there is a great volleyball team for our school.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for someone who wants to do something in life. They have an excellent nursing program as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a human bowling event at the beginning of the school year.

    What to do for fun

    They occasionally set up field days, where they might bring in a rock climbing wall, or show a free movie.

    Food and Dining

    I am in a branch off of the main campus; so, there is not a cafeteria, but there are multiple snack machines located throughout the school.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms on the campus that I am attending.

    Academic Rigor

    All the work is based on what the teachers cover in the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    All I can say is to come in and try your best. It's not too hard to understand, because the teachers explain everything in a thorough manner.

    In three sentences

    I feel that Pensacola State College is a school where someone can find the help that they need. All of the teachers are willing to work with you if there are issues, the advisors are readily available at all times. I think that this is a place that can help me move on to something great in my life.

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is amazing. I always see at least 2 campus cop cars driving around when I come out of my night classes. They actually do ticket cars in wrong spots (or without decals). Also, my favorite part, security will walk you to your car if you had to park far away or if it's dark (or if you just want to be safe!).

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for students that want a small student population.

    Bang for the buck

    You really do get the same education from this school as you do from larger universities, but you feel more comfortable with the material and actually retain the information because you utilize it in every class. Tuition is extremely affordable and perfect if you have siblings in college or struggling financially.

    What to do for fun

    Pensacola State College sends out weekly emails with fun things going on around campus such as free movie night, blood drives and events in the auditorium. It's also right next to the mall, girls. ;)

    Academic Rigor

    This is a great paced school for me because I really have to study outside of class. The course companion materials given by the teachers and school really help when taking a class. Enjoy that very much.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a small school with one-on-one experience with your teachers, this school is for you. There is always something going on around campus and you get to know everyone in your classes. Just study and apply yourself and you're sure to pass. :)

    In three sentences

    Pensacola State College is a small and fun school. There's always lots of things going on around campus and you get that one-on-one attention from your teachers.

  • 11/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for community students. The dorm is for the student athletes.

    What to do for fun

    PSC has major college sports and has won major titles. The mall, movies, game areas, beaches and Panama City are at the touch of your hand.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is no cafteria on campus, but there are major eateries and Cordova within a few minutes walk.

    In three sentences

    Pensacola State is an up and coming institution. The buildings are beautiful and and the staff members are highly qualified/experienced in their respective areas. The location is truly a key. It is nestled next to a major airport and only minutes away from the finest beaches in the world.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not a HUGE campus, but you do see cops driving around.

    Greek Life

    I don't think they're any here.

    Clubs and Activities

    PSC has a lot of clubs ! It comes with tuition so you might as well join a few! Meet new people and get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    HS grads just starting out, not knowing what they really what to major in. You don't spend so much money if you tend to jump around a lot. Even if you don't, and KNOW what you want to major in, good place to start with either money, or slowly moving away from home!

    Bang for the buck

    SO glad I went here for my first two years. ALOT less expensive than if I was at a university. For the same classes too!

    What to do for fun

    You're in college. There is no fun! There's not much in the area. Downtown is pretty cool. Clubs kinda suck. If you're 21, they're OK. You can eat late I guess?

    Food and Dining

    The Cordova mall is right across the street from PSC. PSC also has a pretty good coffee shop in the library. Lots of places to eat in the surrounding area :)

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here. But getting an apartment my first year was the best idea. It did open my eyes to a lot of things my parents always talked about.

    Academic Rigor

    Do your work!!!!!!!! Don't get lazy and bring back those high school ways. You will fall behind, and might have to even take the class over. That includes paying for it AGAIN. It's easier to do than you think.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do everything early or on time! You NEVER want to be stuck behind. Financially or academically. Stay on top and read those expensive books. Might as well, right?

    In three sentences

    This is my first year, and it's hard without any help. Fees are due early so you can be ready. My classes have all been fast paced, as they should be.

  • 04/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have an on campus security that will gladly escort you to your vehicle if you feel scared.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa. That's all, bummer, I know.

    Clubs and Activities

    There isn't a very wide selection. All I have heard of are Phi Theta Kappa and Student Government Association

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for local students because there are no dorms.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our campus is so small there isn't anything out of the ordinary here on campus, besides our annual lumberjack festival. We saw logs and do all kinds of lumberjack-ish things once a year.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is so affordable! I love it!

    What to do for fun

    Pensacola State is just minutes from the beaches! We love to go fishing and boating. When you're surrounded by water that's all you really think about.

    Food and Dining

    The snacks in the vending machine are grade A!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here, it's just a small town school.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, this school pushes you to the max, and you can only look back and be thankful that they pushed you so hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    A helpful tip for prospective students is to learn time management! I can not stress how important it is to manage your time, know when due dates are, and just to do your best. You might miss out on a fun time with your friends, but a career in the future is so much more important.

    In three sentences

    The faculty and staff at Pensacola State College are so friendly and helpful! It is hard to find a college where the instructors actually remember your name, I am lucky to go to a school where I am known on a first name basis. Instructors here go far beyond to help you understand what they are teaching.

  • 08/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    theres always police people around to help

    Clubs and Activities

    wish we had more clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Stay home people/ small town people

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely very affordable. A semester of school should be under $1600 but varies on amount of classes.

    What to do for fun

    Pensacola is kinda small so theres not a lot to do

    Food and Dining

    Its right next to the mall so theres lots of options

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms but i dont live in them

    Academic Rigor

    Not hard if you take the right professors

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your nose clean and dont do bad things

    In three sentences

    The education is great and theres always free tutoring. Its very friendly. Very relaxed school.