Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Pfeiffer University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    *Athletes *Members of Methodist Church/Community *Those students who are looking for a small and quite campus life

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to attend Pfeiffer, you must prepare yourself for a very quite lifestyle. Pfeiffer is a very small private Christian School. It barely has 1000 students but the staff members really connect with you and are more than willing to help any student out.

    Bang for the buck

    Being that Pfeiffer is a private school, tuition is higher; however, financial aid here is really great especially if you play sports or are affiliated with the Methodist church. I am neither an athlete or a member of the Methodist church but still received a great financial aid award. It really helps to keep your grades at a least a 3.0 or above and participate around the campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have to emphasize once again that the campus is small and not much is near it. It will really help to have a car on campus because campus life can get pretty dry but there are a few places in the surrounding areas that are cool for hang-outs with friends. However, most of these places range from 30minutes to one hour in driving distances.

    Am learning a lot

    Being that Pfeiffer is such a small school, students really connect well with their professors. The classroom sizes are typically small which adds to the one-on-one learning environment. I am a rising sophomore and have yet to have a class with more than 20 students. Most of my teachers here offer very flexible office hours to further help students with any questions they may have pertaining to the class materials. However, if further assistance is needed there is a great Learning Center provided by the university that provides students with tutors.

  • 07/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for Adults who are full-time workers and would like to return to school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prosective studenst need to be sincere about their future with training for the workplace, and have a desire to learn.

    Am enjoying being here

    The interaction with fellow classmates is great. Discussion Board is the best thing ever.

    Am learning a lot

    Pfeiffer University is a great school for the working Adult. It certainly works for me. However as with any distant learning student it has it disadvantages. Timely responses from all concerned is very important to the student because it is the only means of communication.

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Pfeiffer is a private school so tuition is a little more, but the financial aid here is awesome. If you play a sport here or are affiliated with the Methodist church you will probably receive a good scholarship to attend. You do not need to be part of either of these those. If you have done community service or just had a good GPA in high school they will find you some money to help you as well. Pfeiffer University will help you in any way to find you money so you can attend. They are very helpful.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes, this campus is small and kind of far from a lot of things, but Pfeiffer always finds activities for the students to do. I am a freshman this year and some activities are we have had a fiesta, dances, haunted trail, bonfire, roller skating party, and many sporting events to attend. This is just to name a few. We also have opportunities to go hiking, camping, and white water rafting. Yes, Pfeiffer may be like 20-30 min. from some things there is always things to do on campus. A car would be helpful, but not necessary. So many people have cars on campus you can just catch a ride with them.

    Am learning a lot

    Pfeiffer is such a small school, so students get to really connect well with their professors. The classroom sizes are typically small which gives students a one-on-one learning environment. Most of the professors here have very flexible office hours to help students with any questions they may have. You have to take many general education requirement classes as well to graduate so you learn a lot outside of your major. We have a learning center that is free to students. This gives students tutors and just help in subjects/classes if needed.

  • 07/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for athletes that love to help out their fellow students, students that love doing human services to help others

    Tips for prospective students

    A prospective looking to attend Pfeiffer should be willing to be a small area around wholesome student. Everyone interacts with one another according to hobbies and social climates. Its a really great school for meeting new people and expanding your education

    Bang for the buck

    As a student i must say for what you pay to attend this school one would expect a little bit more. There isn't much activity outside of the school to partake in if you are not an athlete.

    Am enjoying being here

    I must admit the campus is small and not much is located around the area. If a student plans on being a full time student it would behoove them to have a car to get around.

    Am learning a lot

    As a current students here being in a classroom that has about 20-25 students total, the one on one interaction with the teachers helps out a lot. Being here has taught my time management, and independence.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The village police are located on campus and are always available at a phone call away, or only a short walking distance.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities at Pfeiffer University. This may seem unappealing to some students, but this helps unite the campus residents as a whole and does not segregate Greek life students from other residents.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities affiliated with athletics, outdoors, religion, education, ethnic background, and general academic interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to attend a small school and get to know everybody on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    As a private university, Pfeiffer is traditionally more expensive. But the real life experiences and knowledge shared here through our hardworking faculty is worthwhile.

    Food and Dining

    Campus dining services offer several healthy options and are always prompt.

    Dorm Life

    Buildings are older and rooms can be small, but New Hall apartments are spacious and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers challenge students to be engaged in their learning and to take the initiative to be self motivated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Pfeiffer University with an open mind and be prepared to meet engaging faculty, friendly students, and supportive teachers that all want to help you succeed not matter what your goals are. Although the University is small, it is full of character and provides extra curricular and academic activities designed to suite a variety of student interests.

    In three sentences

    Pfeiffer University is a comprehensive private not for profit methodist liberal arts university in rural Misenheimer North Carolina. The University presents many opportunities for students to experience new learning opportunities and cultural lessons every day. Pfeiffer has dedicated faculty, a diverse and friendly student body, and an overwhelming sense of community and family.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good

    Great for these types of students

    athleates

    What to do for fun

    fishing in the schools lake

    Food and Dining

    A - plus,great food

    Dorm Life

    studing , is better because of less people to be destracted and every body looks out for each other.

    Academic Rigor

    learning to serve others first. im not the smartest, but im trying to be smarter

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you like to learn befor you waste time and money

    In three sentences

    I think Pfeiffer is a good school because its not like a lot of other university's ,Being small has its advantages. The teacher ratio per student in the class room is better. Plus we don't have the big city distractions like the larger schools have.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops are places everywhere. This is a private school and they take security very seriously

    Greek Life

    I am in Alpha Delta Pi. But I transferred here and they do not have greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not yet joined a club but I plan on joining the out door club where you rock climb, raft, play games... etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for student who enjoy less crowded settings and small towns. It is in the country!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am new to this school but and unusual fact is that there is an active railroad track on campus and some students are late to class because they have to wait for the train to pass so they are able to cross the track!

    Bang for the buck

    There is many opportunities to have one on one attention here. Teacher office hours and library helping centers ensure this.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations to join along with culture learning oppertunites. There is always something to do!

    Food and Dining

    I do not use a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    The work balance has been managable but is a good challenge and inporves my skill levels in the subject and organization/time management

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a small school with small classes, it is great for students who desire one on one attention.

    In three sentences

    The faculty and staff have been amazing so far. I have only attended here for a summer session. I am very impressed with the Nursing program staff and I am very excited to continue my journey here.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you dial campus police they will arrive at any location within a minute

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many types of clubs as well as weekend activities you may participate in that get you off campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Student athletes ready to be competitive in the field as well as in the class room

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone touches the sundial in front of Merner hall before taking a test, an unlucky seal resides in the student center, if yiu step on it you have 30 seconds to get accross campus to touch the lucky sundial or you will not graduate on time.

    Bang for the buck

    All in all Pfeiffer University is a qualified choice for academics after high school, some of the accomadations may be on the older side and a little small but you are paying to come work on academics.

    What to do for fun

    Most students compete in some sport so time is either spent competing or watching a different sport.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers 5 different lines to choose from as well as a separate room which offers breakfast fool all day.

    Dorm Life

    Compared to some colleges the dorms may seem small but most of your time will be spent outside of the dorm anyways

    Academic Rigor

    Compared to high school academics, Pfeiffer University is a giant step up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not step on the seal in the student center

    In three sentences

    Pfeiffer University is a small town liberal arts college. Some say that the camous is haunted by several ghostly beings. Most of the students attending are in fact student athletes.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is definitely not an issue on campus. There is a police on campus, and they are always monitoring the campus.

    Greek Life

    No true Greek life, there are some similar groups, but no major fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot, way too many to name on here. There is a huge bulletin board in the Stokes building that has a weekly schedule of what clubs are meeting and doing activities for each day.

    Great for these types of students

    Pfeiffer is good for everyone, and that's the truth. It is a small campus that makes everyone feel welcome, and if you're the city-type then there are near by places that during the week there are buses that take students there and back for no charge.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you rub the top of the sun dial on the campus you will graduate on time, but if you step on the Pfeiffer Seal on the other side of campus, you will not graduate on time unless yo run to the sun dial and touch it within 30 seconds.

    Bang for the buck

    Pfeiffer is private, so it is a little bit more expensive than going to a publice university, but it is well worth it for all of the events we get. For example, there was one night where we went indoor-rockclimbing and it was free for us to attend for the several hours that we were there.

    What to do for fun

    Every week there is a schedule posted all around campus that has all the activites listed thats going on each day. There's never a boring day, and there's things that anyone can enjoy(like our Humans VS Zombies tournament).

    Food and Dining

    Not as many options as larger campuses, but still many available options in the cafeteria and Sandella's.

    Dorm Life

    Like all colleges, some dorms are better than others, but all of them are have their own perks.

    Academic Rigor

    The campus and classes are small, but the material doesn't change. The small classes is beneficial though, more individual help is especially useful when the course if difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Servant Leadership is an important quality here. If you want to attend here, it's a good place to become involved in the community.

    In three sentences

    Pfeiffer University is a great campus to live on because has a very home-like feel and doesn't make students feel out of place. It also great because there are a lot of activities going on for students during the week, there is something for everyone to enjoy. Also, the small campus makes everything much easier to find and easier to make friends.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    My friends and I went to the game room all the time. We would play pool, ping pong, corn hole, and when there was a bunch of people get out my cards and just have fun and relax.

    Food and Dining

    All there is to say is that the cafe is definitely not your mom's cooking, but there is a bunch of variety and sometimes they do have good choices.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms range in size and cleanliness, but life on campus is great. If you are someone who's not afraid to make friends then campus life is the life for you, but if you spend all your time in the dorms then you aren't going to experience much of anything.

    Academic Rigor

    Pfeiffer has a very strict policy on cheating and if you are caught cheating, then you will automatically fail the course and have to appear in front of the honor court.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stress out over finals or major tests, and when it comes to finals study with friends or take frequent breaks. Friends make

    In three sentences

    Pfeiffer is a a prestigious college and i love the atmosphere. the campus is gorgeous and when the weather is right, a walk to the lake is the best way to spend your free time. On the south side of campus there is a volleyball net/ court where many people get together to play and just have fun, especially near finals.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pfeiffer is a very safe environment. the city police department is literally on campus. and we are also located in the middle of nowhere so it has a safe quiet feel.

    Greek Life

    We really don't have any type of greek life... but we did have a toga party... (that was a joke)

    Clubs and Activities

    there are SO MANY clubs! they range from Art to Accounting! and it's not hard to start up a club either! They are all very welcoming and always encourage new members.

    Great for these types of students

    Pfeiffer is great for students who want to make friends and for people who want to really get involved in the community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our pastor does this really funny Christmas story every year about he wise men. he dresses up in overalls. it's very amusing!

    Bang for the buck

    I think that attending pfeiffer is worth every penny. there aren't a lot of schools were you can get one on one time with staff and get to consider them family.

    What to do for fun

    Pfeiffer is a small school, so we get to put on a lot of minor events for the students! we have student run concerts, chapel, sex bingo, game nights, casino night, and loads more! it's a very active campus.

    Food and Dining

    Sandella's is like our cafe, it's very yummy and the people who work there are super nice! And the food in the cafeteria offers a wide variety of food every day for both lunch and dinner!

    Dorm Life

    I LOVE living on campus! sometimes it gets a little loud and the rooms are old, but they aren't too bad! I actually cried when i had to leave for the summer! It's really easy to make friends on your hall. I was very close with my dorm family.

    Academic Rigor

    all the teachers care about your personal llearning! they'll listen when you need them, and they will work around your schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you first come to pfeiffer be sure that you don't pack a ton of stuf. it's really hard to get it all home. Don't stress out too much. You can get a free tutor if you need one! try to be friendly and talk to people, and you'll make friends easily.

    In three sentences

    pfeiffer is a welcoming family. At pfeiffer learning isn't hard. At pfeiffer you will always find friends.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Pfeiffer is really costly but it is a good school and the professors really connect with the students.

    What to do for fun

    Athletic events, CAB (Campus Activities Board), Hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    It depends on the day most of the time.

    Dorm Life

    There are lots of different dorm halls that you get to choose from and most of the time you are put in the dorm you choose.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your counselor and make sure that you tour the school before you commit 100%

    In three sentences

    Pfeiffer is a really small university but it has a family feel to it. There are not a lot of things to do right around campus but there is always something going on on-campus. There are always athletic events or activities to attend.

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none that i know of

    Clubs and Activities

    available

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes

    Bang for the buck

    If you play sports, make sure the coach is not getting ready to leave for another school after you sign with Pfeiffer!!!

    What to do for fun

    Go to Charlotte!

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to seek out opportunities for social events. In rural area.

    In three sentences

    I like the small class sizes. The campus is small. I feel safe on campus.

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but its a private school so its makes sense

    Food and Dining

    Its a typical cafeteria. You have a few options, but its usually hit or miss with the main course.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are small for the most part, but clean. It can be a little loud sometime, however everyone for the most part is respectful and follows quiet hours.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more difficult than others, as some majors are more difficult than others. Science majors seem to be the hardest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus in class. It may seem easy, but when that exam comes around, it can completely change your grade. There are only a few exams each semester, and they are worth a majority of your grade. It is important to pay attention in class, study, and do your homework in order to pass.

    In three sentences

    Pfeiffer is home. Everyone knows each other, and is friendly. It is a super safe place to be.