Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Philander Smith College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/31/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is a small college, but we are doing big things. The best part is that in each class you will feel connected. There is no way you can ever not be involved on campus! There is no way you could not have any friends! It's like having a whole other family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply even if you could never see yourself here. That's what I did and now I am having the time of my life meeting celebrities like Gabrielle Union and Columbus Short. And public icons like Michael Steele and Tim Wise. This place has a lot to offer. Its not what you know, but who you know Well now you can do both by learning alot and meeting alot of new people.

    Bang for the buck

    When it comes to affordability this is it. I swear you get more for half the price of a big old university. There is more individualized attention and many programs to make sure you stay on track. It could even compare to Harvard in my eyes and that used to be my dream school.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's the only school that took the time to learn my name in the first 2 days! What school does that?! This one! You will meet people from all over as far as Alaska all the way to the Bahamas and everywhere in between.

    Am learning a lot

    Not only are you driven to learn in the classroom, but outside as well. We are advocates for social justice and we know that we all will graduate to help change the world.

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is best for those who likes the small type of colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the staff and any and all professors. Never forget that you can ask questions in class and out of class professors and instructors are available and have reasonable office hours.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is so worth it. With the atmosphere from the campus itself and the learning experience you would receive Philander is worth every penny that you may or may not spend.

    Am enjoying being here

    Even though I am away from home Philander has become my second home. The staff are family and so are the many friends. Philander has a welcoming atmosphere that draws people in and makes them feel good about being there. It also helps that it is a small school that makes big things happen like the Bless the Mic.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are able to help with setting of the class. It is easier to talk to the teachers and discussions are good.

  • 04/01/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Little Rock isn't exactly California, but the campus is small and seems really family oriented. I believe i'll enjoy it.

    Will learn a lot

    When I visited the school, it seemed like the teachers had alot to offer and that the next four years are going to be great.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small colleges would like this school.

    Bang for the buck

    The good thing is that the tuition is pretty much the same in and out of state.

    Will enjoy being here

    The area is so pretty whatever you need is pretty much down the street from you, which is pretty cool. I mean who doesn't want to be within walking distance from where they need their necessities.

    Will learn a lot

    I am hoping that if I do attend that I will be able to learn all that I can and I'll be able make plenty of new friends in the process.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have the greek life, there are usually parties on the weekend,etc.

    Food and Dining

    You basically get a home cooked meal everyday at Philander.

    Dorm Life

    You share rooms with someone else but you have your own closet, own sink space, and you have a bathroom in your room.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers like to work with students and you can get extra help on a one on one bases.

    Tips for prospective students

    That the school isn't easy but you can get the help that you need.

    In three sentences

    Philander Smith is a very family oriented school. Its a private HBCU. You get to experience one on one teaching.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    excellent

    Great for these types of students

    from all over the world and students with leranong disabilities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    all blck college with other races

    What to do for fun

    travel, cook, and play sports

    Tips for prospective students

    open door policy

    In three sentences

    Dedicated to brighten everyone's future

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated students who are willing to try new things and are open to various opportunities. PSC is great for those who want to have some sort of relationship with the school's president as well as their professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to work your hardest because you will be encouraged to do so. Get connected. in other words get to know every professor, each staff member, every administrator, and even the president. If you are used to being surrounded by a big learning environment, be prepared for a small campus. Know your stuff. Know who you are inside and out so that you surround yourself with the same type of people.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want to get your money's worth then PSC is the place to be. The small campus and upbeat environment is very assuring. You'll get your full education as needed for your career as well as an insight as to who you really are. PSC offers various opportunities and if you're looking for a school that is hugely recognized for its academics as well as its actions, then this is where you want to be.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being here is comforting. I say this because I surround myself with positive influences on my life which makes the journey here easy, especially during freshman year. I enjoy the fact that our school is always involved in some kind of fun activity or even a lecture. Everyone knows each other, maybe not personally but at least by name. I like the fact that we are open to opportunities and attractions as well.

    Am learning a lot

    Considering the high school that I attended, I am glad to say that I have learned a lot during my first year of college here at PSC. There were things taught in high school that I have just come to learn while in college. The professors here are understanding and very helpful. If assistance from an instructor is not enough, tutoring is available to help you achieve high scores in your courses. Academically, I have learned so much in a matter of two semesters that I never understood in elementary or high school. This is a really great place for a steady, yet challenging learning environment.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is the worst ever. Everyone has a problem with them and they are lazy.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is the only thing exciting on campus, but at a point in time we all get tired of seeing them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many organizations on campus. Most of them all do the same thing or they don't do as much at all.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very expensive, because it is a private college. I feel I am not getting my monies worth and I am throwing it away.

    What to do for fun

    Things to do for fun on campus is hang with your friends. The only time something fun happens is if someone is hosting something, which is rare.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is up and down. Some days its wonderful some days its horrible. You don't get to choose a certain meal plan so you basically waste money if you don't eat.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are nice. There is a bathroom in each room and the size is decent. They are constantly building new dorms which look very nice. The washers are not free and they tend to take your money.

    Academic Rigor

    Philander Smith has an outstanding STEM program and the Education department is good as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Philander is like high school all over again. There are very, very few activities to do on campus. Philander is only good for their STEM program.

    In three sentences

    On a scale from 1 to 5 Philander is a 2. It can be better on many different levels. It is a small, private campus with nothing to do.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a security checkpoint as soon as you enter the campus and vivid security presence throughout the university.

    Greek Life

    Again, I am a member of Delta Sigma Theta and we part take in numerous activities around the campus. We are the best of the best and when it comes to handling business we ALWAYS get the job done. Greek life is excellent. We host an abundance of educational seminars, promote healthy lifestyles, and promote academic excellence in whatever we do.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. I love my sorority. Other sororities and fraternities on campus include Alpha Kappa Alpha, Zeta Phi Beta, Sigma Gamma Rho, Omega Psi Phi, Alpha Phi Alpha, Phi Beta Sigma, Kappa Alpha Psi, and Iota Phi Theta. Other activities include Pre Alumni Council, Bless the Mic, and International Student Organization.

    Great for these types of students

    This is an HBCU so African-Americans would typically further their education here.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that if one were to attend they would thoroughly enjoy the surroundings of the school. You pay for top notch education and Philander would be the perfect place to continue once out of high school

    What to do for fun

    The school always have activities planned for fun. Movie nights, ice cream socials and just a fun day are all part of the extracurricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is also currently undergoing renovation and should be completed by the start of the 2012-2013 year

    Dorm Life

    Philander is currently undergoing renovations of the dorms and other facilities in the school.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that Philander Smith College offers excellent educational materials. The Professors are there to help and motivate you become a productive citizen and to also educate you thoroughly in your field of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become friends with your teachers STUDY, STUDY, STUDY! Enjoy your years- They will fly by Become familiar with your peers and surroundings

    In three sentences

    Philander Smith College is a private HBCU in the capital city of Little Rock, Arkansas. This school has an intimate setting with small classes and teachers who care about the students' success. If one plans to attend Philander, they will get a grade a top of the line education.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school is in the process of building a brand new student center. It is said to up and running by the end of 2013. Plus there are other things to do around Little Rock, it's a very historic city

    Food and Dining

    The isn't always great but the food provider is taking our opinions into consideration about serving better food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great because it's co-ed. It doesn't feel as if you are living in a dorm but an apartment building.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some of the best teachers in Arkansas here and they will challenge you to do and to be your best.

    In three sentences

    I really like this school and the atmosphere here. This is a place where you can actually talk with administrators not the voice mail. This is a friendly campus and we are like a family here!!!

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Secruity don't really be on there job much.

    Greek Life

    Seems pretty family oriented. All organizations work together, they don't fight, and the people are great to hang around with.

    Clubs and Activities

    Science Club, Religion Club, etc.

    What to do for fun

    Basketball, Golfing, Bowling, Pep Rallys, Movie Nights, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Really don't eat here that much, but from I have it was pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    The suites are pretty quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are hard and others aren't.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study. Have a studious mind. Don't let others persued you. Be on time for class Study at LEAST 3 times a week.

    In three sentences

    Philander Smith is a good Methodist based school. Majority of the teachers are nice, but some department heads can be mean. Other than that Philander is a good student/family oriented school.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things you can do for fun on our campus for instance if you are interested in sports there are many intramural programs.

    Food and Dining

    I dont stay on campus but i heard it was awesome

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great although its too expensive

    Academic Rigor

    If you do your work you will have no problem passing.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip for a prospective student coming to Philander just stay focused

    In three sentences

    I would have to give Philander Smith College a 7 for education. The small quiet methodist campus is very nice. My school continues to expand every year.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's constantly security on our campus, they always know who's coming in and out of our college. but as well as cameras inside the dorms, so if anything was to happen they would know when, who, and where.

    Greek Life

    Greek life from what I have seen so far seems to be pretty fun. But as a freshman your not eligible to pledge until your a sophomore.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many organizations that you could join, or you can create your own.

    Great for these types of students

    If your a reader like me, its great to go to the library and discover something that you didn't know. Or if your more of a social person, I would advise you to go to the social room that's in the lobby of our residence center because there is a lot of people you will be able to talk to.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's mandatory that every freshman go to chapel every Thursday at 11am. It's pretty good because I would rather go to a church anyway but to have it on campus is a plus.

    Bang for the buck

    I would recommend anyone to go to Philander Smith College because of the one on one conversation that you are able to experience with your teachers. And you are always meeting new people so it would be pretty hard to be antisocial.

    What to do for fun

    They have many activities on campus that you may want to do. And you could always be busy as long as you want. Currently its the beginning of the week and I haven't been in my dorm for more than 8 hours to sleep! We have a game room, and a social room in our lobby!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, and they feed us 3 times a day, which is all I need. And it is impossible for any freshman to gain the first 15 because we are given healthy food like pineapples and grapes and such during meals.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good, we are allowed a bathroom per room. My roommate is nice as well. But there is also enough space if anyone in the room wants privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the teachers are there to help you. I'm a freshman now and they are already willing to help me with anything that I may need to make myself feel at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips is to remember your values, remain focus, but also have fun.

    In three sentences

    It's a great historically black college in Little Rock, AR. It's a good college for a person like me, who wants to be able to walk to all of my classes. Everything you could possibly need is not to far from the college.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not alot to do for fun. It really depends on the people you hang with and how much fun you all can have together without any particular activity. Transportation is also a great factor to finding things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food served at the cafeteria is not always the best. But it can be good at times. The dessert is great. But if you choose not to eat, there are convenient restaurants close to campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are great.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are only as hard as you make them. If you wait until the last minute to complete assignments and let all of your homework from different classes build up, then you will struggle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a small, intimate surrounding. The classes are small which will give students a chance to get more individual time with the teachers.

    In three sentences

    Philander Smith College is a warm and welcoming environment. The staff members and students attending are so helpful and friendly. Its hard getting lost on the small campus.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the men on campus are very nice, i can wake up at 5 in the morning for dance practice and i see them walking around making sure everything is OK. They make sure that they protect the students, the school and everything as a whole. I feel very safe when i sleep at night because i know i'm being safely protected.

    Greek Life

    The Greeks are very heart warming individuals, they are all nice and i enjoy watching them at parties; strolling and calling out there signs. They represent there organization well and they have respect for each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    cheer leading, Volleyball, SGA, Basketball, Soccer, Dancer, Drum Line, and there are many more that will interest anyone on sight. You can get involved into programs that are on campus or help start new ones, the choice is yours.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone will learn to love Philander because its family oriented, and you can trust anyone here on campus. Shy students will open up, fast girls will become ladies and the little boys will develop into young men.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Block, it's a location outside where students hang out before or after class. Many do homework, chat with friends or even just to get some fresh air on a beautiful day.

    What to do for fun

    i love going into the lobby and playing variety of games with other students. There is always activities planned on campus ranging from different cultures to educational to spiritual. I love being here!

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. We have many choices off campus though and we are under construction so our cafe is where we dine in. They work hard to provide us with fresh products and i'm appreciated!

    Dorm Life

    i love my dorm room, college is what you make it. i could be living in a box and i will have the prettiest box you've ever seen. Never go to a college based off their dorms, you should only sleep in there anyway!

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are incredible, this being my first year i love them already. They have an open door policy, you can contact them for help via email or text sometimes even give them a call. The ASC is a great place to go and do work and get help with classes, they also provide tutors!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class! Study hard and have faith, work hard to reach your goals and do not give up. Expect the unexpected just because its an HBCU doesn't mean they'll give you many chances.

    In three sentences

    Philander has opened my eyes to many different things, non beneficial and of course beneficial. Being here has been great and i plan to graduate and come back to Bless The Mic.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is excellent here. Whenever a problem arises the security are here to handle the situation in an orderly fashion. Issues are a thing of the past with this security group.

    Greek Life

    I have never been interested in the Greek organizations on campus. Prospective students who are will have many too choose from and will enjoy the party atmosphere. Strolling at parties and school functions is huge at Philander Smith College.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities offered on campus are good for those who plan on getting involved. The directors of different activities on campus are easily found and will help get prospective students involved.

    Great for these types of students

    If a certain prospective student plans to get involved in Greek life then this school is great for these type of students. Philander is also great for the student who plans on remaining focused because opportunities are endless.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The traditions here at Philander are standard nothing really out of the ordinary. Chapel may seem different to some because Philander Smith College is a private institution.

    Bang for the buck

    Only the education you will receive will be the Bang for the buck. Philander does not offer much fun activities other then card playing and television watching.

    What to do for fun

    Fun sometimes can be a foreign word for Philander Smith College students. The best way to have fun is coming to this educational facility with a automobile to travel this wonderful city of Little Rock. Clubs and restaurants are good to attend for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Philander Smith College is horrible at best. Most students eat out alot. Bring a hefty wallet you will need it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is sub par at best. Seeing the same old faces gets boring and people start too look common after a while. The main priority to remember is you are here to study not play in the dorms all times of night.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Philander gradually rises as the semester goes on. Keeping contact with teachers and handing in work on time are very important. Staying on top of work and making school the number one priority will help immensely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students must watch out for individuals who attend school with no intentions to graduate. Some people do not come to college and take it seriously, but for those who do play hard but study harder. Classes are easy when attending regularly.

    In three sentences

    Philander Smith College is an excellent establishment for students to learn and earn a college degree. I would give Philander Smith College an A for the teachers efforts and hardworking staff. Asking me for a recommendation would be no problem.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Religious/Black

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Christian/ Methodist

    What to do for fun

    A new student center is under construction.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prompt Be respectful

    In three sentences

    Philander Smith is an HBCU. It has a great staff and students. They have a good system with quality education.

  • 08/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24hours security on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with the school.

    Food and Dining

    We eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner in the cafeteria everyday. The food is good and well prepared.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and comfortable. We also have 24hours security.

    Academic Rigor

    excellent professors

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay Focus and complete all assignments. Don't do anything you don't want anyone to know about.

    In three sentences

    Philander Smith College is a wonderful small institution. Its also good that everyone knows you name. Philander Smith is also affordable.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is good. Students will be able to learn new things and get one on one time with the professors if they need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students is to go to class, do not fall into peer pressure, and enjoy their college life.

    In three sentences

    Philander Smith College is a very family oriented college. Almost everyone gets along with one another. the classes are small and that is a good thing because students will be able to get more help.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security here is very good , we an id required gate that only allows students with their id access to the campus. and trespassers are prosecuted

    Greek Life

    i am not part of any of the sorrors or fraternity but i heard they are great

    Great for these types of students

    Philander is great for all types of students and especially those that are willing to educate themselves and take their lives to the next level.

    Tips for prospective students

    be focused on what you came for , talk to your mentors and ad-visors because they are always willing to help and i promise you shall make it .

    In three sentences

    Philander smith is a 4 star black college it has integrity and honor from all its students and past students. it devotes itself at providing a better education for kid that are willing to learn