Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Piedmont Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that are ready to jump into the work force. Students that are already working, but want to continue their education. There are many night classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't think that you will get a quality education at a 2-year school, think again. Piedmont Tech is a good launching point to continue into an undergraduate program.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very inexpensive college. There are a lot of financial aid programs and pell grants also.

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers and students are great, especially in the Engineering programs. They want you to succeed.

    Am learning a lot

    I am in the Engineering Graphics program at Piedmont Tech. You will learn a lot. The engineering programs has great relationships with local businesses that are looking to hire engineers, so Piedmont Tech makes sure you will leave with the skills you need to get a job.

  • 06/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional, those wishing to save money, returning students, adult students, transfer students

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and make the best of you time here since it goes by quickly. Get to know your teachers and don’t be afraid to stop by their offices because they are very friendly and can be great recommendations. Asking for help is okay and the people at Tech are kind of like a family so they will do what they can to help you. What you put in is what you typically get back.

    Bang for the buck

    Piedmont Technical College is very affordable and offers many options in the way of financial assistance for students. I personally have saved close to $50,000 dollars by completing my first two years here and have earned a pay check as a tutor and work-study student. The college offers its own private scholarships that can apply for at different times during the year. The school also offers free counseling services and a program called Student Support Services. Students who join the program can rent out books, laptops, and calculators if they do not have them and have need. Tech has showed me time and time again the dedication it puts forth to students how committed it is to having them succeed.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at Piedmont Technical College and know that I made the best decision for me in coming here for two years before transferring to a four year institution. Even though Tech does not offer on campus housing there are still many opportunities for students to get involved and form relationships. There are many clubs such as Phi Theta Kappa, Psi Beta, Tau Alpha Pi, International Club, Christian Student Union, as well as many other clubs devoted to students from specific majors. There are many annual events such as a field day at the end of the spring semester. One of my favorite things that Piedmont Tech offers is the opportunity for students to participate in the work study program. This programs allows students to work at jobs on campus while gaining skills and earning a paycheck. Staff from various departments are all very helpful and friendly as well. The atmosphere at Tech is great and with renovations almost continually underway it is improving fast.

    Am learning a lot

    Piedmont Technical College not only offers a wide variety of two year degree programs but also may continuing education courses. Many classes are not only offered in a traditional classroom setting but also online as well as in televised versions. The majority of teachers that I have experienced at Tech are very dedicated and will go out of their way to assist students in being successful. If you have trouble in a course Piedmont has a wonderful tutoring center that offers help in any course free for an hour a week to all students. Additional hours are just $5 each too! I am not only learning a lot in regards to academics but also in the areas of life and interpersonal skills. Tech has many extra workshops, and programs to help students learn study skills, resume editing, how to interview, the process of transferring to a four year institution, etiquette training, and so much more.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    piedmont technical college's campus safety is outstanding. security patrols the parking lots and buildings constantly and problems are dealt with immediately. i have never not felt safe on ptc's campus.

    Greek Life

    piedmont technical college's greek life consists of the honors programs that cover most majors at ptc. the honor programs are all active in the community and on campus, and are the perfect opportunity to be a good citizen while also padding your resume.

    Clubs and Activities

    there's a club for nearly every interest on ptc's campus, whether it's the funeral service club or phi theta kappa. lots of the clubs hold activities on campus, varying from shoe drives for the needy to field trips. ptc also holds annual field days and holds retreats whenever the budget allows.

    Great for these types of students

    piedmont technical college is great for all types of students; they have a much more diverse student body than many four-year universities. high school students, college-aged students, adults, even the elderly all attend ptc. there are parents, people from every ethnic and economic background, all united with the goal to advance our educations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    thanks to the ambassador group i was a part of, it's now a tradition to try and outrank all the other local schools in the christmas parade float competition.

    Bang for the buck

    though like every other school, piedmont technical college has raised its tuition fees, it is still a better deal than going to a four-year college if you're doing lower level courses. i stayed completely out of debt my first two years of college when i attended ptc, and saved ten thousand dollars in student loans by getting my associates degree from ptc before transferring to a four-year school. with the support and amazing instructors, it's definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    piedmont technical college offers sports like tag football, honors clubs, student ambassadors, and interest-specific clubs. almost every major has a corresponding group. the library is a student hot spot for meeting up as well as other places on campus. it's not hard to make friends with classmates and hang out around town after classes.

    Food and Dining

    piedmont technical college's food choices are the usual snack machine fair, in addition to catered lunches from local restaurants on certain days of the week. but many of the clubs and organizations will hold hotdog, burger, or soup lunches to raise money for their groups. it's cheap, it's usually good, and it helps support the groups on campus.

    Dorm Life

    piedmont technical college does not yet have dorms. perhaps in the next few years they'll get that capability.

    Academic Rigor

    most instructors will teach their class the same way they would in a four-year university. if you're looking for an easy a, you won't find it at piedmont technical college unless you've worked for it. but all the instructors i've had have been fair, understanding, and more than willing to work with me when i've had issues understanding material. the english essays i was assigned were lauded when i used them in my transfer process to four-year universities; ptc definitely offers better academics than many other sc technical colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on top of the admissions process, file your paperwork in a timely manner, and keep track of your progress online. meet with prospective instructors, check out ratemyprofessors.com, and tour the campus. it's small, but the amount of activities going on will surprise you.

    In three sentences

    piedmont technical college offers the perfect preparation for a four-year university in seven different local locations. despite a student body explosion in the last ten years, ptc still offers fabulous service and world class instructors. i've been to three four-year universities and ptc outranks them all.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a security office that has officers constantly patrolling the campus at all hours of the day.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are different clubs like the Student Support Services. There are also activities like Spring Activities Day.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for all types of students. Those coming straight out of college will feel more relaxed here because of the pace and those coming back to school after being out for a while will also feel more at ease.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no dorms or campus housing here because it is a tech school. Also there are a few buldings located off the main campus, but those buildings are no more than five minutes away from the main campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Piedmont Tech is very affordable. The average tuition is barely over $2,500. Scholarships will usually completely cover that.

    What to do for fun

    There is a student center that students from all over the campus are welcome in. It provides a place to study, relax, and talk with friends.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria here but it isn't open very long for food service because it isn't run through the school.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but not too difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to register as early as possible for good classes. Always email your teachers if you have any questions about things like homework assignments or test deadlines.

    In three sentences

    Piedmont Tech is a fantastic school, especially for people going straight into college from high school. Piedmont Tech is challenging, but not too difficult. It really helps prepare students, as it prepared me, for further opportunities in life.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety patrol makes sure our campus has no negativity. I feel very safe here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Respiratory Care Club

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want a degree but dont want to pay the 4 year college price.

    Bang for the buck

    Piedmont tech is a small school and the teachers here love to teach and care so much!

    What to do for fun

    Movies, walking, sports. shopping

    Food and Dining

    The little cafe has great food!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarshipd and study as much as possible!

    In three sentences

    Piedomont Tech has a wonderful health scoence program. I am learning so much! I would reccomend PTC to anybody!

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise student to search for scholarships. I would also advise students to apply for admissions early.

    In three sentences

    Piedmont Technical College is affordable. They also provide flexible class schedules. They have faculty and staff that truly care about their students.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has never made me feel unsafe

    Great for these types of students

    If your serious about your education and really need a way to prove yourself in the college world this is the place to be.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is low cost and offers alot of help.

    What to do for fun

    Greenwood had lots of places to eat. China Garden is a fun and good place to eat. Theres also a mall nearby. The school bookstore is fun to look through and the campus itself is nice to walk around and talk to other students.

    Food and Dining

    Theres a lunch room with some coffe, soda, and snack machines. Great place to hangout and cetch up on some work.

    Dorm Life

    Although I dont live in a dorm, if it's as good as the rest of Peidmont them I'm sure it's 5 stars

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be hard, but the teachers are so helpful and willing to do one on ones with students. They care.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out everything early!

    In three sentences

    Piedmont is a wonderful school with instructors that teach like they love it. I've learned so much so far and can say that i love getting up and going to school in the mornings. Overall i haven't had any serious problems with the school staff, most are helpful.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    One service area in the cafe. Its simple. But nothing fancy

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life. You basically can stay in your own rented apartment outside of school or with your parents

    In three sentences

    You recieve great education. It is much cheaper than alot of schools. They have great teachers willing to assist you with anything.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't been attending here very long so I haven't been involved in any clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Classes aren't too long. With the amount of students in each class you receive a lot of one on one time with the teachers.

    What to do for fun

    With this being a technical college, you don't stay on campus, therefore you can do whatever. Also, you get to remain living at home if you choose.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at a technical college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try signing up at a close college for driving purposes. Also studying is a very important part of college life.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very beneficiary and nice. The campus is a great place and also beautiful. Driving back and forth isn't too bad, but would be better if it were closer.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security all the way around campus. As far as I know, there is not a lot of crime happening on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs, activities, and organizations to join! I am a Phi Theta Kappa member - secretary, Alpha Chi Epsilon, and Psi Beta - secretary.

    Bang for the buck

    I couldn't ask for a better price! Small school, small price, big education! With financial aid and life scholarship, I do not have to pay anything out of pocket!

    What to do for fun

    Piedmont Technical College is not very far from town at all! The mall resides nearby along with tons of other things you can find to do in town. There is a student center where you can go to sit and relax amongst friends. Also, there is wi-fi so the whole campus is laptop friendly.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great little cafeteria on the main campus in which I attend! I give the five stars! Great food you can always enjoy and service to go with it!

    Dorm Life

    Sadly, the one thing about Piedmont Tech is that there are no dorms. It is a small community college.

    Academic Rigor

    With classes being so small, questions do not go unanswered. A lot of the classes are like discussions so that everyone gets to join in and get the full impact. The teachers are always very clear and if you do your part, there is no reason for a bad grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and make sure to always put your best foot forward. If you try and prove you are trying, you are bound to get help!

    In three sentences

    Piedmont Tech is very small, the teachers are always willing to help. The classes are small enough so that you and your peers can get equal attention. Also, Piedmont Tech can work with any schedule.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police and park passes needed to help keep strangers and unauthorized people off campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You can rent some of your school books or get them through ebooks. It can save you a lot of money!

    What to do for fun

    Hangout in the student center to meet new people and study.

    Food and Dining

    Have not yet their cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There aren't really any difficulties that I've found at PTC. Te only problem is that it is hard to find a parking spot.

    Tips for prospective students

    The class sizes are smaller, so it is easier to ask questions and to become friends with your teacher(s). Also, since it is a technical college, classes costs less.

    In three sentences

    Piedmont Technical College is a friendly environment that welcomes new students. The employees that work there are very friendly and helpful. Since it is a technical college, there are smaller classrooms which makes it easier on the teachers and students.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I don't believe that my particular campus has food and dining facilities.

    Dorm Life

    The campus I will be attending does not contain dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not officially started at PTC yet, so I can't give a review on the academic rigor just yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help, just call your local campus. I guarantee you they can resolve your issues in no time.

    In three sentences

    Piedmont Technical College is a great place to begin at, and then transfer if you so desire. The office staff is friendly and help make your enrollment process as easy as possible. It's an amazing campus, filled with friendly students and faculty.