Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Pierce College at Fort Steilacoom Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At all times of the day and night there is a security guard available to walk you to your car or to the bus stop after those late night classes. During the day, they're constantly patrolling the campus making sure everyone is being safe.

    Greek Life

    They an international honor society that goes by the name of Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    Walking down the halls, its hard not to see signs on the walls that aren't promoting new upcoming events. There are always sport events going on for athletes or sport lovers. For those more artistic souls, their choirs are awesome!

    Great for these types of students

    Pierce is great for any level of education. They offer more specialized education for those who know what they want to be. Also, they have a more generalized branch of education for those who just aren't sure what they want to be quite yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pierce has great tutoring centers on their location. They do a great job at offering them at multiple locations so that you're never too far away from tutoring. Also, they have an annual pie to the face event.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is about average for the cost. However, the perks attached to being a student at Pierce is insurmountable. Students not only have access to the remodeled Health Education Center, but the computer labs offer top of the line technology.

    What to do for fun

    The college does a great job offering events and intramural sports available. They have weekly social gathering that is always a perfect place to mingle with the student body.

    Food and Dining

    The Hub is a great place to not only get a great meal but also meet new friends. If you want Italian you can get Sabino's Pizza. Feeling something different? They also have a Noodle House as well,

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is not existent. Being a community college, many of the students are commuters. There is, however, many apartments near by that are filled with Pierce College students.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors all do a good job at making sure the classwork and homework are managed well. They demand the utmost attention to work and quality of work. However, the instructors are always willing to meet up and help you through those difficult problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely consider Pierce College as a main choice. As a community college, the staff is very friendly and are always willing to help you get to the next step in your educational career. The resources available to you are vast and wide so you'll never get stuck.

    In three sentences

    Pierce College Fort Steilacoom is a great school for anyone wanting to broaden their education. The school provides not only provides a vast variety of classes, but also the instructors truly care that you retain the information for your future career. Resources are never a shortage because the school does a great job giving back to the students.

  • 08/12/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pierce is definitely great for running start students and non-traditional college students. I feel like I met more of them than I met students like myself who were just out of high school and looking to save some money by transferring to a university after getting their Associate's Degree from a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out both campuses before picking which one to attend, but don't completely rule either of them out.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely not worth the money, sorry.

    Did enjoy being here

    The campus was dreary.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned many things from my time here and a lot of them were not academic in nature.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    1) If you don't know what you want to major in or are just wanting to try a few subjects out. 2) If you work part-time or full-time, or have responsibilities at home. 3) If you are an international student, or wish to study abroad.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Look into the TRiO program, especially if you are a first-generation college student. They help you find funds for tuition, and can help you find job opportunities later. Also, put the career center to good use. 2) Make friends with the financial aid department. I was able to get extensions for my payments when I knew it was gonna be late, all because I was cheerful and friendly. 3) Talk with an adviser regularly. They can help you find a path and make a plan for it, even if it's not in their department.

    Bang for the buck

    I got a solid basic education and had great experiences here, all for an affordable price. I bought used books from the college store or rented online, so my bill was no more than $4000 per year (3 quarters, that is). If you're wanting to cut costs, however, be warned that Distance Learning (aka online classes) have additional fees.

    Did enjoy being here

    There were plenty of extracurricular activities and all kinds of student events throughout each quarter. Plus, most students were friendly and ranged all ages (high school to retirement). I became friends with most of the teachers. Also, the administrative staff was super helpful with any problem or question.

    Did learn a lot

    I took a variety of classes, mostly for general higher education, and I was able to determine what I wanted to do with my life, which is psychology. I feel confident from what I learned in my classes there. My only complaint is that the work-load was only a bit more challenging then the AP classes I took in high school. I'm not sure if it was enough to prepare me for a university.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are always out in the parking lots when it gets dark if you take night classes. I always feel safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many sports and clubs are available.

    Great for these types of students

    Non traditional, many online and night classes. Traditional urban and rural culture. Everyone has a place there.

    Food and Dining

    Renovated cafeteria set up with build your own and pre-made options, local ingredients all at a reasonable price. Coffee cart with Starbucks open late for students with cold snacks. Vending machines in all buildings, also microwaves for students use.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions if your unsure, they have answers for all your questions and more.

    In three sentences

    Brand new buildings and library. Excellent teachers and staff, small class sizes average 25. Friendly and diverse community with many groups/ clubs; always something fun to do on campus: movie night plays games and event.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    5 Stars.I am very excited about starting a career in Substance Abuse Counseling. My ultimate goal is to work with Soldiers and Vets in this field, and I would also like to add Social Work Services as another branch of my education/career options. I attend classes on JBLM, so I am not familiar with information pertaining to the regular campuses.

    What to do for fun

    Ride Horses, Hike, Fish, spend time with the family, and learn about historical wars.

    Food and Dining

    5 Stars

    Dorm Life

    5 stars

    Academic Rigor

    Five Stars

    Tips for prospective students

    I refer potential students to Pierce College regularly.

    In three sentences

    I would not want to attend another college. The staff at Pierce is amazingingly helpful. The courses are taught well.

  • 03/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    financial aid is awesome i love stephanie. also Get into any and all extras there a blast

    Am enjoying being here

    starting 2 clubs Cuban salsa and zumba awesome.. also trio is amazing

    Am learning a lot

    i love it always something new

  • 10/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    independent students and hard working students

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely make sure you work hard i the school. you have to know what you are doing and how to get there or know your work because the teachers aren't much help.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The art programs on campus are wonderful, any art student should definitely consider Pierce.

    What to do for fun

    Student Programs always has a wide variety of campus events. There are also baseball, volleyball, and basketball teams. Pierce recently built a new gym, which is a steal at $15 per quarter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't miss class. You are here to learn, and if you don't attend your classes, you won't do much learning. Also, look into the TRIO program, they are a great asset.

    In three sentences

    Pierce is a great school with caring faculty and staff. The degree programs are easy to follow, and the advisors are always readily available to help with any questions. I look forward to coming to class everyday.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe campus, never had a problem, nor have I known anyone to have a problem at either Fort Steilacoom or Puyallup campuses.

    Clubs and Activities

    Music, sports, political...anything you can think of!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are pursuing a bachelors degree or higher that don't want to have to pay full cost of university to take their core classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Get a great education at a low price.

    What to do for fun

    There are several extra curricular activities that you can sign up for, such as the music program, sports, political etc.

    Food and Dining

    Several choices of food in the cafeteria at a great price!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms as it's a community college

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to get all of your basic, core classes out of the way before you attend a university.

    In three sentences

    Pierce College in both Fort Steilacoom and the Puyallup campuses have nice classrooms and decent teachers. The classes that are available are good and usually there are several options of times of day. I enjoyed attending here.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hiking around Fort Steilacoom park, sledding down the big hill in the winter months, lots of clubs and sports to join.

    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive and lots of fast food, but the deli wraps, fruit cups, and pasta salads are SUPER good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here, but an amazing campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT be afraid to ask for help. People can look mean, but don't let their looks fool you. I generally hate to ask people for help, but I find that it's going to be better for me in the long run to not be such a pansy.

    In three sentences

    The people here are just incredible; extremely helpful and kind. I was nervous and lost my first quarter, often having to ask people where to go but nobody ever hesitated to help me find my way. I love it here!!

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Veterans club

    What to do for fun

    play with family

    Food and Dining

    awesome

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early

    In three sentences

    I love Pierce College. Day care close. All instructors are great.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    So, far the classes have been challenging but fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions. Don't feel dumb or stupid if you have questions. This is the only way to be sure about something. Register for classes at least aweek to two weeks in advance. This allows for flexibility incase your selected class is cancelled. This also allows you to get your book before class starts which can be a big help.

    In three sentences

    I attend Pierce College on Joint Base Lewis Mchord. So my experience with the people at the Steilacoom Campus is rather limited. I would say overall their helpful and courteous.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is well known around campus. They are known in a positive way because they build positive relationships with those that they come in contact with. They inforce the rules and guidelines on campus and are very well respected. There are rarely any serious incidents on campus. The students are happy and Pierce College has a completely safe campus.

    Greek Life

    There is a Phi Theta Kappa honor's society chapter at Pierce where many students with the academic excellence saught after can have even more opportunities offered to them from a national level. The club is a national honor's society that offers scholarships and countless other resources and opportunites for college, degrees, and even more.

    Clubs and Activities

    Students are always creating clubs each quarter and once the club is approved by the school they are able to invite others to join as well. There are clubs focued on multiculturalism, religion, being more social, helping international students with language fluency, education (i.e math club, science, etc). The possibilities are limitless.

    Great for these types of students

    Thats the wonderful thing about Pierce; it is not just an institution for a certain type of student. It is an institution that accepts diversity and embraces multiculturalism. There is even a club that promotes multiculturalism and has monthly outings that all students are invited to attend in order to help students socialize with each other in a setting other than a classroom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many traditions followed by Pierce such as their quarterly pre-final CRAM JAM events where students are encouraged to stay extended hours on campus and study utilizing the entire campus and while being provided with snacks and extra supplies to study with. There are a lot of other traditions as well but you would have to visit to find out.

    Bang for the buck

    Pierce is a great place to study and learn. Mostly all of the students that I know there love it. There is a warm feeling of acceptance there and adjusting doesn't take long at all.

    What to do for fun

    Pierce is undergoing construction in order to help the students have improved access allover campus and a newer looking, more up to date looking school. There is a full gym for students to work out in with all of the necessary equipment, a gymnasium to play basketball etc in, pool tables in the cafeteria, a 3 story brand new modernized library with computers and countless resources. There is even a private lake on campus. To add to the list Pierce's Student Programs Office is always offering fun adventures to students such as free massages the week of finals, discounts on paintballing and so many discounts and fun activities from other establishments in the area.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has really good food. While dining there is even entertainment at times from different student program groups. So there is more to enjoy than just the dining as well.

    Dorm Life

    Pierce College is not a 2 year college that offers dorm services, but there are plenty of housing options and apartment complexes in walking distance of campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Pierce always encourages its students to excell. Student to staff ratios are kept at a manageable amount so that students can always come to their professor for help if needed and the professor is able to know each student's face so that they feel more comfortable and able to come for help if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I always encourage people to choose Pierce College. There is a plethora of degree fields that Pierce offers classes and programs for. The school is designed for the students to have resources that you can depend on and as long as you utilize what is offered, you will always have a variety of useful options.

    In three sentences

    Pierce College has a tremendous amount of diversity and embraces all students no matter what their race, financial status, religion, sexual orientation/preference, gender, or anything else. There are so many staff members that offer hands on help and advice. Pierce offers so many programs both on and off campus to its students so that success is made attainable to any and every student that seeks it. I loved my time at Pierce and have countless memories that i'll never forget.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very helpful at night and help keep you safe.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities all around campus, free bbq's for students, intermurals sports, Health center with weights and the gym.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has the best food, you will not want to go back to fast food.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the students are residents and have friends who room together in a apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    It is your choice to get to class and do your classwork, the classwork is not hard, its getting to class you need to get to everyday. Applying yourself in college is key, you will not go far in college if you dont.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to fill out Financial Aid papers with fasfa as soon as possible!

    In three sentences

    If you choose Pierce Community College at Fort Steilacoom, you will not be disatissfied, and you will love the atmosphere. Rating Pierce out of 1-10, personally I would rate the school between a 7 and 9. My experience at Pierce has been great, fun and friendly classmates, as well as awesome professors you will absolutely love!

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Adventure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start now!

    In three sentences

    Nice, Respected, Flexible

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have never heard anything but great reviews about campus safety!

    Greek Life

    Not a four year.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports are available to watch for any students interested as well as drama.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are driven to get a degree or certificate because it offers the same degrees as 4 years for one third the price!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i have not heard of any unusual traditions this school offers yet since I will be attending this fall.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little more expensive than a few other community colleges because students help pay for running start students. This is the schools only downfault I would have to say, but even so it is much cheaper than any other 4 year school!

    What to do for fun

    The best thing about this school is unlike Pierce in Puyallup it has a sports gym where the schools sports teams play! I personally love sports and cannot wait to go to the games!

    Food and Dining

    Has a really nice cafe available to students in which I've ate at and loved the food! The staff were extremley nice every visit.

    Dorm Life

    It is a 2 year university so doesn't have dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Nothing that you can't figure out if you are in class the majority of the time and pay attention in class. I would rate this college a 3.5 in terms of academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're dedicated to getting a degree than it is 100% possible to graduate from this college. Don't slack off and think class attendence doesn't just becasue it's a 2 year ccommunity college. Anyone driven enough can get a great degree or start to one at Pierce!

    In three sentences

    It is an affordable school that though is only a 2 year, offers the program I intend to pursue and allows me to live at home. The staff are extremely helpful and always willing to help! Unlike Pierce Puyallup has an indoor gym that I love being able to use!

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I live on post.

    Food and Dining

    I live on post.

    Dorm Life

    I live on post.

    Academic Rigor

    There online academic courses are all up to date and can teach you alot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Well if your active duty military i would strong suggest starting off at Pierce College. They work extremely well with soldiers get back into the school life and are very helpful with any concerns you may have.

    In three sentences

    Takes really good care of active duty soldiers pursing their degrees while in the military! Very timely with handling problems or issues you may have with the online courses and website navigation.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No issues. But lock your car doors.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Theater, leadership

    Great for these types of students

    First generation, military, running start, and someone not sure what they want to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Parking can be difficult but carpooling works well.

    Bang for the buck

    Good value. Classes are small enough you really get to know your professor.

    What to do for fun

    Theater! Walk the trails.

    Food and Dining

    Just a snack bar

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Keep on top of your homework and you wont have a problem

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early and stay on top of deadlines. Classes fill early due to returning students and military.

    In three sentences

    Pierce is a good school to start my educational path. The classes are varied and offer many career tracts.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A relatively safe place, security is very attentive.

    Greek Life

    Explore, meet people from all walks of life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of on campus clubs, mainly having to do with multicultural education.

    Great for these types of students

    Students seeking an associate's degree or plan on moving on to revive a bachelor's.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None really.

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely worth the cost as long as you utilize all the tools this college offers.

    What to do for fun

    Theater, walking trails, and a full gym including basketball court.

    Food and Dining

    Pierce College features a wide variety of dining options including a deli, espresso bar, pizza, and daily specials. Prices can be a little steep.

    Dorm Life

    There are not too many locations for students to reside besides private housing and a few fraternity houses.

    Academic Rigor

    Based on the classes I have attended, a moderate amount of focus, work, and constant attendance will ensure at least a 3.0 for most students. Of course, each professor has different expectations so be sure to question classmates and interview instructors about the course you plan on attending before-hand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although Pierce is more casual than other colleges, expect to be challenged as every course will test your ability to relate class information to real world situations. It is in no way easier and may actually be overwhelming for unprepared students.

    In three sentences

    The faculty, infrastructure, and academic system at this campus is innovative, relaxed, and provides a great environment for students looking to attend a four year university, employees are especially friendly and will make every effort to ensure that you succeed. It seamlessly combines technological advancement with a nature oriented theme, which is consistent with Washington Stateâ??s atmosphere. It is definitely worth considering if you would to have an insightful and fun college experience before transferring to a larger campus, or just to study a subject you have always been interested in.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can walk around the lake behind the school or go to the park! You can also hangout with friends at the library or even travel to the town center.

    Food and Dining

    The dining bay is good. They have a pretty good selection from sandwiches to salads and more!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for Pierce Community College but there are many apartment complexes near that area.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load,depending on the teacher and class, is pretty easy going, especially if you keep up! If you strive to achieve the highest grade then you will achieve a better grade in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is that you should not slack off because getting one bad grade in a class can bring you from an A to a high C grade!

    In three sentences

    Pierce college is a wonderful school for achieving you Associates Degree in Arts or in getting transfer credits! I really like the many different types of classes and the teachers are great and understanding! I also like the diversity within the college and all of the international students!

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Military, distance learners

    Bang for the buck

    Fairly decent

    Food and Dining

    UNK, I'm a Distance Learner

    Dorm Life

    UNK, I'm a Distance Learner

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly easy, all coursework is given up front so it is truly at your own pace.

    In three sentences

    Awesome assistance to military personnel stationed throughout the world! Always helpful in how to accomplish tasks and goals online. Very knowledgable and friendly staff!

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always activities listed online and in the calendar as well as great sports and chances to meet other students.

    Food and Dining

    I'm unable to comment on this as I'm not aware of them having dorms. I live off campus with my husband and child.

    Tips for prospective students

    Double check everything and make sure you apply early to get the best information on scholarships. Also, if you plan to take classes online you must register immediately. Classes fill up ridiculously fast.

    In three sentences

    Pierce has great student services and faculty. The process, while different than my prior college is very easy. Although they have great service, some skills lack in the data input categories.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Safety is great, they are constantly patrolling campus to ensure optimal safety. Campus Safety offer help with a lock out, jump-start or even an escort to your vehicle.

    Great for these types of students

    With many learning and course styles to choose from, such as distant learning, evening classes, continuing education, ABE, GED, ESL, this school is great for any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is on the land of the old Western State Hospital for the Mentally Ill. There is even a graveyard that is home to over 3,000 patients that died while being treated for mental disorders. The foundation of the building is still there and has plaques with photos of the hospital from the late 1800's to early 1900's. It is one of the many benefits to being a student at Pierce College.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the most out of your money at Pierce College. The quality of your education demonstrates that money spent here is money well spent. The perks that come along with being a student at Pierce College make every dollar spent, well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    For fun around campus you can exercise and learn in the brand new state of the art Health Education Center known as The HEC, here you can join a team sport such as volleyball or basketball, join the cheer-squad, take a free Zumba class, walk around the lake, to name a few. There is also a theater at Pierce College with quarterly productions.

    Food and Dining

    There is a brand new cafeteria that features restaurant-chain brand food items and Asian noodle dishes. There are endless options for fruit or vegetables, cottage cheese, gourmet sandwiches. There is a large eating area and many students to collaborate with.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Pierce College.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very proactive with varieties of learning styles to ensure a well rounded education for each student. The labs are the best part because we get to use state of the art equipment and technology. It is manageable yet challenging work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources that are there provided for you to take advantage of. Meet with an adviser first thing to come up with an education plan, that way you will know where you are going and how you will get there. This is the single most important thing and it is absolutely the key to college success.

    In three sentences

    There are endless opportunities at Pierce College Fort Steilacoom. Guiding you through college are the hard-working faculty and staff who are dedicated to providing a positive experience for every student.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Military Own-pace Learners Everyone else

    What to do for fun

    Can't really say since once again, Im military not involved with any sort of extra activities at the school.

    Food and Dining

    don't really know since I take courses online.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately I have my own place I stay at.

    Academic Rigor

    hmm, I guess everyone has their own opinion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask about their transfer degree agreement. If your military this is a school you would want to apply to.

    In three sentences

    Great distance learning classes especially for military students. Own pace classes easy for people who have a busy schedule. So far getting me the classes that I need for my degree while deployed.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe campus. For those who have children and are full time students in pierce, there is a child center. That is why campus safety is very high.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like a friendly and peaceful atmosphere. This campus is not stressful to be in. Musicians would love this place because very often during the breaks there are people who play the guitar and sing.

    What to do for fun

    Pierce campus has a very big gym with a basketball court. Also, there is a ping-pong table near cafeteria. If you like to do something more peaceful, you can go to piano rooms which are located in the Olympic building.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has very delicious french fries. There are a lot of American and Mexican food in the cafeteria. Asian food such at different kind of noodles was also brought into school's menu. Although, there is variation in food, many students prefer bringing their own lunch because the food that is provided in cafeteria is quite expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm around Pierce College at Fort Steilacoom. However, there are many apartments and home stays around the campus. Many international students rent apartments nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers at Pierce college are very strict on plagiarism so try avoid it at any cost. The knowledge of teachers is valuable and the classes are informative. The best way to learn something is to listen to the teachers' lectures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pierce college is relatively a small campus so there is a better access to teachers and stuff. You can always find help from the librarians if you are doing a research. There is a Writing Studio where you can check your grammar with professionals without making an appointment.

    In three sentences

    Pierce college is a good place for studying. It has the large library and very helpful stuff. Pierce college has a good friendly and calm environment that may help you to be focused more on the studies.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I take exclusively night classes. Campus safety is always out in the front of the parking lot. I have always felt very safe on this campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Self- Motivated Social

    Bang for the buck

    A good option to ease into college before a four year. Affordable and good two year.

    Food and Dining

    I like the coffee cart in the upper Olympic building.

    Academic Rigor

    It was a good mix for a full time student and a full time worker. I did a combo of online and on campus classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check your required credits even if your counselor says you are good. Be responsible for your own education.

    In three sentences

    Comfortable campus that has many different students on campus. Teachers are mostly part time but they truely seem to care about education. Counselors need to streamline their advising.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every quarter Student Programs has recreational season sport games in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is good but very expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    My rating depends on the classes you take and the work load that comes with the classes. Success in college is very individualized and cannot be judged based upon one persons opinion.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise a perspective student to plan ahead and think about what they might be interested in doing after they graduate. Select a degree that will benefit their needs the most. I would also advise them not to take the easy way out, that they should work hard for their grades and not just wing it or skate by without pouting any effort into school.

    In three sentences

    In three sentences I would say that Pierce College at Ft. Steilacoom is one of the friendliest community colleges around. The teachers and faculty are amazing and are very interested in the students success. Classes are smaller than a larger university so you are more likely to get the help you need to succeed in a class.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always patrolling the parking lots all day. I feel safe here at Pierce College.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is their international honor society.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of activities available for any type of student. There are sports activities going on all the time, and even fun activities for the artist in you!

    Great for these types of students

    Running Start is a great program for high school students who want to get a head-start on their college career. There are many Running Start students that attend Pierce College and enjoy their classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many resources to help you through anything that you need help with. There are tutoring centers to help you with any subject that you need. The library is huge! There are plenty of computers, places to study, and all of the books and magazines you could possibly choose from!

    Bang for the buck

    You really do get your money's worth here. Every class is worth taking and you really do learn a lot out of all the classes you take.

    What to do for fun

    Pierce College always has many campus activities going on all the time. There is a gym that only students can use for just $15 a month and it is clean and updated. There is a brand new science dome for students to use and enjoy, and even a mini art gallery for students to check out other artists' work.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Pierce College is great! It has recently been updated and looks brand new! There are many options to choose from when deciding on what to eat, hot or cold. There are plenty of lunch tables to sit at and there is even an mini esspresso in the cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Pierce College at Fort Steilacoom. This is a community college. However, there are college students that live in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone I have met and/or have had classes with at Pierce College are here because they really want to be here. The courses available are not easy, but you learn a lot once you are done with that course. Many students here want to help each other to learn and push each other towards success. Pierce College has all the resources needed to succeed, all you need to do is use them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pierce College goes by quarters and not semesters. Keep yourself up to date with all of your classes all the time. Missing just one class can throw you off greatly. Be very organized and don't be afraid to ask questions. All of the professors here really want to be here and want to answer your questions!

    In three sentences

    Overall, I love Pierce College! I enjoy coming everyday. It's a great learning environment with lots of great people!

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe I have late classes

    Greek Life

    I don't know what you mean by this

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not in any clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Good students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the location

    Bang for the buck

    They prices keep going up per credit

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of student interaction

    Food and Dining

    Good food

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    The professors grade pretty hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to always do your homework

    In three sentences

    I really like the environment, everyone is very helpful it's a wonderful school. I have meet some really great people there. I love my new school

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Swimming, gym, computer, phone games.

    Food and Dining

    Depends on the menu.

    Dorm Life

    I love my room.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are really good and the class sessions are really good. The one problem that I had was my English 101 instructor and class. She didn't provide much support the food subject was not as good as regular english class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work, study hard.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are really good and the hours of operation fit my needs. The online web scheduling is really convenient and the class hours and the days help determine the right schedule.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Very good staff, very helpful, and great teachers.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of student activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but a little expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and the classes will not be hard.

    In three sentences

    The teachers teach good. The students/community are nice. The campus looks nice.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to attend on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive eating on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    For a community college this school has high expectations, however you will be greatly rewarded when you receive your diploma.

    Tips for prospective students

    Participate in classroom instruction that way you are engaged in the learning process.

    In three sentences

    Great instructors help students achieve their goals and make learning fun. The school is always growing with new buildings and technology that give this school a cutting edge learning environment. I am glad that I chose this school for furthering my education.

  • 06/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety does an amazing job of keeping tabs on everyone, maintaining a friendly presence that ensure all members of Pierce College are safe. If working or attending classes late, they will often stop you to see how you are and encourage you to let them walk you to your car later that night. They take incident reports, solve safety issues, patrol the parking lot and have one or more call buttons on campus in case of emergency.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities on campus. Phi Theta Kappa, a national honor society, offers quarterly entrance to students who meet academic criteria.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs on campus vary often, as students are allowed to create them quarterly. Currently, I know clubs exist for many interests, and recently initiated ones include a mixed martial arts club, a Christian group for international students and an LGBT-friendly group.

    Great for these types of students

    As far as career paths go, students who are pre-nursing or hope to go into veterinary work tend to gravitate toward this campus. There is also a well-liked criminal justice program. Also, anyone looking to work in education will find many mentors and inspiring figures in administration. In general, people at Pierce are laid-back and accepting, diverse in life experience and do not retain any sort of high-school-like attitudes.

    What to do for fun

    Events and activities range from free arts and crafts decoration to masquerade balls and everything in between. Student life, outside vendors and assorted departments offer freebies, discounts, entertainment and speaking engagements. One week will offer a spaghetti dinner, the next will have a video game tournament and a third will include a banned book reading.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers everything from delicious and popular flatbread pizza to Asian cuisine to the stand-by fries, burgers and chicken. A special of the day, deli sandwiches, fruits and salad and more are also available. The student bookstore and vending machines offer packaged snack food and all types of soda, juice or energy drinks, some of which is offered in the cafeteria as well. Two coffee carts offer a variety of cold and hot caffeine drinks. The dining area is expansive and eating is allowed in almost every non-lab classroom.

    Dorm Life

    On-campus housing is not available, though many students, particularly those in the international program, live close by the campus in apartment buildings and walk to school daily. Despite the lack of dorm life, there are still fun and enriching events, demonstrations and more on campus daily.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses vary in difficulty, and not always in accordance with their technical level (100, 200, etc.). Some classes require constant work, including online work, quizzes, projects, papers and presentations. Perhaps more difficult, others grade only on a midterm and a final, meaning each missed question drops one's overall grade by percentage points at a time. Overall, the academics are more difficult than those of many other community colleges, on par with some universities and less strenuous and in-depth than those of most four-year schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should check out a variety of subjects and courses, because classes outside one's major can sometimes be the most fun. Take advantage of resources like the tutoring center, the library, your academic adviser, online classes and student deals and events offered through the student life office. Choose a schedule that fits your personal needs best, even if that means holding off on a class until later. To save money, look for on-campus jobs, seek financial aid and buy textbooks used online or through the book-swapping system.

    In three sentences

    The faculty at Pierce College visibly put their hearts into helping students learn and achieve. The variety of helpful programs and on-campus events is astonishing and encouraging. Students there are excited to get a chance at success, whether they're 16 year old Running Start kids or grandparents returning to school.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Whether they are on the road or walking around, security are plentiful. They are friendly (which makes students more comfortable to approach them) and they are legitimate. I have confidence in their abilities because I have witnessed them in action. I feel safe at Pierce College.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on campus. There is an honor society called Phi Theta Kappa however. :-D

    Clubs and Activities

    Drama, student government, leadership, honor societies, and academic groups are great involvement opportunities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who is looking for a cheaper education with great substance, fabulous socialization, a lot of diversity, and many options would love Pierce College!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only unusual things I experienced were within the drama department. It is our tradition to have a black, firefly meeting once we strike our set. The disco lights were on as we sat quietly to reflect on our marvelous show and experience with Return to Forbidden Planet. It was unusually pleasant.

    Bang for the buck

    The drama department is wonderful and was a major part of my pleasant experience at Pierce College. All other classes were informative and were fun to be involved in as well. My two years there were very valuable and I cherish them!

    What to do for fun

    I often hang out with friends I meet in my classes. If not that, then I am involved with the on-campus activities and meetings. I consider anything where I am involved with the public and being informed to be fun.

    Food and Dining

    I love the free food given from time to time. We get information as well as a full tummy. The cafeteria food is expensive at times but it is yummy none the less. I love the variety of choices given.

    Dorm Life

    There I no dorm life here. My high school friend and I lived together outside of Pierce. We carpooled to school each day.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging at Pierce College Steilacoom! They are challenging, informative, an very useful in every day life. It is easy to keep up once you get a good rhythm going.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend they keep good track of deadlines for registering and to keep an eye out for student government opportunities. Those things are often hard to spot without an active eye watching for them.

    In three sentences

    This college is lively and interactive. Pierce College is diverse and politically involved with it's public. I would rate this school 4/5!

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are way too many clubs to even remember all of them. You can find something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to make sure they are fully equipt for a university before paying university prices.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lake Wahop is definitely unique. It is right outside campus and is beautiful, but has toxic algae, so no swimming.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is really low and Pierce has a good reputation in the community, which opens doors for its students. There is a wide array of classes you can take. The tuition is comparable to the other local community colleges, but Pierce has a gym (which is $15 for a quarters worth of use) and a lot more programs than the others. The vast majority of classes do transfer and the difficulty towards the end of your degree prepares you for a transfer, while the stair stepping of difficulty helps maintain your GPA while getting prepared for a transfer.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or intramural. There are tons of clubs at Pierce and it is easy to start one. If you are free in the afternoon, join choir. Anything to get to know people. There is a lake right behind campus that is really pretty to take walks around, but do not think you can swim in it. The gym on campus is nice as well. It is a commuter school, so you do not have quite as much to do as a university, but more than most community colleges.

    Food and Dining

    Pierce Fort Steilacoom has a few little restaurants in the cafeteria including a Thai place. I got a quesadilla on campus one time and the tortilla was even different with some peppers and seasoning in it. There are two different coffee stands on campus. They have two house specialties (one that's a turtle mocha and one that is a mint drink), but they are good for everything I have had there so far. With that said, you can expect to spend a bit to eat or drink on campus. The campus coffee places are comparable to Starbucks prices and the food averages at $8 per thing. The real key is to use the daily specials where you can save some while still getting the convenience of eating on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Pierce. It is fairly easy to find people wanting to share apartments, though if you need to cut down the cost of living.

    Academic Rigor

    At Pierce, you are not jumping into a shark's tank. The classes build difficulty. Each step of prerequisites gets a little harder. By your last quarter you might be in some extremely difficult classes (like engineering physics), but all your other classes prepared you for the difficulty. Most students do not go to the first day of class and feel like they have been thrown out to sink or float, and if you find yourself in a class where you feel that way, Pierce provides free tutors to help you make it through. By the end of your degree, you are prepared for whatever your job or next college throws at you.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Get involved (or you will never feel as connected as you will want) 2. Utilize the tutoring centers (they are free and help make classes a ton easier) 3. Make sure you find an adviser who you like (they will set a lot of the tone to your experience) 4. Put in what you want out (college is not high school and requires more work, but the more work you put into it, the more you will see come out of it) 5. ENJOY IT (you will probably only be at Pierce for a few years, so make the most of it, looking back I wish I had enjoyed it more)

    In three sentences

    It's a bigger school where you can easily feel like there is no community unless you choose to get involved, then it begins to feel smaller. Classes are not easy, but manageable, and you really learn the material for most. Overall, this was a fantastic stop in my journey to my degree and I would say the Steilacoom campus is definitely the one to attend.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very kind people, always on the watch!

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm seeing signs for fun, new things all over!

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy and independent.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The amount of greenery in the area is amazing!

    Bang for the buck

    Was a brilliant idea to begin at a community college! Much lower tuition than the colleges my friends are at, but equally as challenging and educational!

    What to do for fun

    Explore the surrounding nature!!

    Food and Dining

    Have yet to try, but at least they have salad!!

    Dorm Life

    Not a college with boarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to connect with your professors, get to know them, ask for their advice, and always be respectful.

    In three sentences

    Extremely diverse, full of people of all ages, backgrounds, and ethnicities. As difficult as you make it, but the more effort you put in the better you do overall. In one of the most beautiful areas in America!

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Parking lots are well lit and there are always people willing to walk you to your car.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are a huge part of this colleges appeal and are a very vocal part of the student life.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone who hasn't been in a rigorous high school in a while and needs a refresh course of how college life is.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are trails all around the Pierce Fort Steilacoom branch that my boyfriend and I have ran plenty of times even while neither of us were attending.

    Bang for the buck

    Pierce is a pretty well viewed community college and is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events that Pierce hosts that are a blast. I enjoy the options of all of the activities.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten at Pierce so I cannot rate but I've heard the coffee is amazing!

    Dorm Life

    I have not been in a dorm at Pierce so I cannot rate this.

    Academic Rigor

    Average with other community colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a map! Study the map! The campus sprawls out in every direction and can be sum what difficult to navigate the first few times you visit.

    In three sentences

    Fort Steilacoom branch of Pierce Community College is a basic community college type atmosphere. Everyone is laid back with the collected goal of completing higher education. What sets this branch apart is the buildings and landscaping of Fort Steilacoom far outdo the Puyallup location where I have also been a student in the past.

  • 07/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Lakewood campus is patrolled by security and has emergency phones available around the school. The on-post education centers are monitored by staff and the military police.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for military students. Flexible schedules, flexible learning environments, transcript evaluations, convenient text book store, and on-post administration available.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An administrative office is available to students inside the Stone Education center. In this office you can take care of counseling, admissions, finance and many other functions.

    Bang for the buck

    Pierce College is willing to evaluate your military transcripts for college credits. This makes it even easier for military students to achieve their goals. Credits are awarded based on degree and applicability. This can be done after completing 10 credit hours. The college also has a used/new book store on post. This book store located in the Stone education center has all the books for military courses.

    Food and Dining

    In the Stone Education center the Battle Bean Cafe is available. Coffee snacks and light meals can be purchased. The coffee has the typical North Western flair that you would find at any small coffee shop. The cafe is open during most school hours.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is unavailable at Pierce College. There are affordable places to live nearby campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are on par with a state school. The school has plenty of options for tutoring available for the tougher coursework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of online courses! The online courses are very user friendly. The teachers make themselves very available to the students. The students in the courses also have a place to interact with each other and their teacher. Look into all the options for taking classes for Pierce. Pierce has three education centers on post available for in person classes as well as two campuses.

    In three sentences

    Pierce College is very Military friendly. If you are a Military student, spouse, or child you will want to keep this School in mind. My education experience has been very personal thanks to the educators and staff located at the Stone Education center.

  • 07/26/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety seen driving through the parking lot often, can be escorted by them as well. Occasional emails giving tips or regarding banned persons.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life that I know of. There was a Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society organization there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs, school newspapers, and some organized activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Pierce college is a great choice for new college students, foreign exchange, and returning ones. It is common to see Running Start students as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    First day Fall welcome is nice, you can choose to take free muffins and schedules. Sometimes you will see a blood drive truck or classes of middle/high school students touring.

    Bang for the buck

    Good quality overall.

    What to do for fun

    Visit the science building where you can watch science shows on the ceiling, look at the numerous fliers, or go for a walk at the nearby Lake Waughop.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has about four main ordering areas, the bookstore is well stocked, vending machines available at all buildings, and a small cafe stand is on a floor.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are provided as it is a two year college.

    Academic Rigor

    Know your syllabus and remember important information on grading. Each professor has their own grading system.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work with your counselor and advisers closely to avoid taking duplicate classes.

    In three sentences

    Attending Pierce College was a memorable experience and has improved my knowledge significantly. It has adequate class choices and a few really impactful teachers. I recommend this college.

  • 09/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for fun. Most students don't come to Pierce for a fun college experience.

    Food and Dining

    There's some good stuff, but some are overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms as far as I know.

    Academic Rigor

    Almost like a high school, but the teachers are there to guide you, not to teach you every little part of the topic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't skip class.

    In three sentences

    The college is practical. Most, if not all, of the students know what they want and are going for it. Attending was a good decision.

  • 09/04/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always guards running around, mostly at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a more personal experience with Professors. Students who want to learn for love of learning. Students who want to complete their degree or certificate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pierce College is right on the edge of a 380 acre park. This park includes a small lake, child play areas, paved and dirt trails for biking, hiking, running, etc, and many many fields for soccer, baseball, football or just flying a kite. The park has many scenic viewpoints of the Puget Sound, Mount Rainier and the city. Know what geocaching is? if you do this park is a hot spot, if you don't you should check into it. There are also historic markers, barns, and structures from back when it was the site for a mental institution and civil war outpost, including an old orchard that still bears fruit.

    Food and Dining

    Good selection and variety with loads of vending machines around but it can get a little pricey. The dining hall is always lots of fun though.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live on campus, there is an international house but other than that there is no on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I didn't find it to be all that difficult, but I enjoy school. The more you put in, the more you get in return. There are challenges to be had by all but it is a small school so it's not elitist. You will get kicked out though, if you don't keep your grades up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors, they usually like getting to know their students and are willing to help you in any way. Use the library, computer labs and other resources! Take advantage of all the free food, free movies and club activities that go on. You'll build your network of friends and really just enjoy yourself.

    In three sentences

    Pierce College was amazing, I can't say enough about it! If you want it, you'll have fun while getting a good education. There's always something to do and plenty of resources to do what you want.