Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Pierce College at Puyallup Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to go to college, but may not be ready for a four-year university immediately after high school. Also great for students who are looking for nursing, education and business programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only go to the bookstore to find out what books you need, then buy them online or from the student book exchange. If life happens be sure to talk with the professor since the majority of them are understanding and will help you out so long as you speak to them. Do not be afraid to visit during office hours. If you have procrastination habits, better to get it out of your system and repeat classes here than at a four-year university especially if paying for your own tuition out of pocket.

    Bang for the buck

    To be eligible for financial aid you need at least a 3.0 GPA and taking at least 10 credits for the quarter. They do have a Tuition Installment Plan which divides the bill into thirds to pay over the course of the quarter, but to do that a $15 fee is required. It is not cheap for those with lower income, but it is affordable and manageable. Every dollar I've spent here has been worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The resources available are priceless; from the library to the computer lab and even the workshops offered each quarter. The atmosphere is a bit laid back as are most of the professors.

    Am learning a lot

    Pierce College has been fortunate to have so many teachers who are experts in their fields and passionate about educating their students. If something taught during class does not make sense at first there is a tutoring center operated by students who can help with their own experiences. I have taken classes from eleven different professors and would not take another from only one of them.

  • 08/12/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone. :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take community colleges for granted! Use the resources they have to offer you and springboard your higher education career!

    Bang for the buck

    Despite the tuition rise, I really thought that it was worth it. I did have a few problems (due to clerical error) with my scholarship a couple of times, but other than that I really enjoyed working with the cashiering staff to make sure my money was getting where it needed to go.

    Did enjoy being here

    Such a beautiful and fresh campus; I love walking around and taking in all the sites. :) There are so many trees and a great courtyard that I loved having picnics in. The new Allied Arts & Health building is also great! (I just wish I'd had more time to enjoy it; it opened my last quarter at Pierce.)

    Did learn a lot

    I learned so much here, academically, but socially my learning was stagnant. I absolutely adore most of the professors at this college; Pierce is so lucky to have so many professors who are experts in their field.

  • 12/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants their first two years of college to be cheap, those who have a part/full time job, parents and really anyone else.

    Tips for prospective students

    The words community college sounds rather boring and hghschoolish, but Pierce isn't. You're on your own time, you're very independent and it's cheaper than going to a four university when you can just take your basics here.

    Bang for the buck

    The only problem I really have with the school is the money. I understand that they need the money as soon as they can to be able to continue to run the school. But the books are overpriced and even on the tuition installment plan, the expect you to shell out money or their is a fine for being just one day late. I wish they would understand that most students have to pay for the tuition all by themselves with no parental help.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love that it's not crowded in any of the hallways no matter what time it is. You're able to get where needed without waiting for people to move out of the middle of the halls. I haven't had one mean teacher for the two years I've been here and the buildings are well kept.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers and curriculum here are surprising for just a local community college. The studies are tough, but you really do learn a lot of valuable information that you'll bring up through out your other classes.

  • 01/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pierce college is great for any type of student. Anyone who values their time, money and wants to learn usable information that is necessary in today's society, this is the the college for them. There are many options available at pierce such as early morning through late night classes, online classes and daycare for young children. Pierce college is perfect for any student wanting to get an education that will last.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for a life changing experience and do not be timid in asking questions.

    Bang for the buck

    Like most community colleges, students save quite a bit of money attending them before going to Universities. However, at Pierce College, students do not only save money but they get more than what they paid for. Pierce is by far the best community college to attend for the community college price. Many of the teachers are doctors in their field of study, which usually only occurs in universities. There are also many options for students to choose from such as gym membership, music options like jazz band, wind ensemble and concert band, childcare and many technical training. Also, Pierce has a tremendous financial aid program that is easy to apply for. The financial aid office is eager to help students in anyway possible.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone here wants to learn. That is the best classroom environment a student could have. The teachers are friendly, are eager to teach and understand that the students have lives outside of the classroom. Students are respectful towards each other. I love being in such an accepting, diverse group of students. Every staff member, including a custodian, grounds keeper, security guard, registration secretary and instructors, is very helpful and kind. The buildings are very clean and kept organized, even the bathrooms!

    Am learning a lot

    I have been a student here for almost four years now. The first two years, I attended as a running start student. Pierce was an excellent college for my high school peers and I to begin our college career. The teachers do not segregate between the high school students and regular college students. I was challenged just as much as any other student, if not more because of my youth; however, it was what I was seeking for attending Pierce. The teachers are well rounded in their studies, but very knowledgeable in their subject. Most of the past and present instructors I've had/have are very flexible and willing to assist students outside of the classroom. I loved the small classroom environment, challenges and knowledge Pierce college has offered me so much that after earning my AA degree I decided to stay here and earn my Associates in Pre-Nursing, which I will be done with this spring quarter.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to really connecting to the other students there. Also take advantage of everything there from the tutoring center to the health education center.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not all that expensive, and you get a lot.

    Did enjoy being here

    The people are friendly and people often try in their classes to succeed.

    Did learn a lot

    Most of my teachers were outstanding. They knew their course material well and most of them even loved their subject matter.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At Pierce College there is always a security working in the parking lots. The security covers all the parking of the campus and one feels safe going to class.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities are available at Pierce College. For example, there are clubs for non white students, music clubs, and sports. Also there are great opportunities to show your leadership skills and team work skills such as in the student programs.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who are great in leadership and who are willing to help others Pierce College has a student program club to help create new clubs and activities. Also for students to love music there are students who gather in the cafeteria to play some music.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are a variety of things to do. Pierce College is surrounded by trees and in the summer students gather to play frisbee in the green grass. A pool table is also available to share time with friends in the cafeteria. Last of all, there are many clubs and opportunities to have in impact of other students lives.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining at Pierce College is excellent because of the variety of foods available. Food is fresh and warm at all times. Coffee and refreshment are also excellent especially in time of finals when stress is at its highest. Best of all buying food does not take a lot of one's time and bending machines are available throughout campus to grab a quick snack.

    Dorm Life

    Pierce College does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Pierce College are rigorous; however with dedication it is possible to receive a desired grade. Instructors teach at a fast pace and cover in depth material, but in return one is more prepared for test and future classes. In most classes reading is strongly emphasized and is a big part of the class

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage students to obtain as much information about their desired career in order to know who to contact. Also taking the compass early and having sufficient time in advanced to register for classes is very beneficial. Last of all having an outline of the steps and classes one needs to take in order to reach one's goal is a good tool to have.

    In three sentences

    Pierce college is great college to attend because of the variety of classes available. The teachers at Pierce College are dedicated to help you learn as much information as possible and provided well structured classes. Also there are many valuable resources and staff willing to help.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Not quite ready for four year but still want a college degree at a reasonable price.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school for you.

    What to do for fun

    Making new friends opens new doors. College is an opportunity to grow personally and academically.

    Academic Rigor

    Just stay on top of your assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely make an appointment with your advisor to help plan your route with classes.

    In three sentences

    Small Community college located in the heart of Puyallup, Washington. Teachers are wonderful and classes sizes are typically smaller than Universities. Definitely a great alternative to people looking to save financially your first two years.

  • 12/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just remember that college is ALL of your responsibility. There are not teachers to nag you all the time to get your homework done. It is 100% all on you so make the time you spend in the classroom worth the money you spend.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is a wide variety of ages and races within the student body and many international students. There are also many extracuricular activities available as well.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a person of many interests and the selection of classes to choose from is so great. and satisfies my desire and interest to learn about different things. I just wish I had time to take all of the classes. I also feel that the instructors are very well educated about the subject they are teaching which contributes to my ability to learn the subject.

  • 09/02/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I am just starting classes at Pierce in the fall and it seems like a very nice campus. Hopefully the education will be great before transferring to a 4-year.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security always around

    Bang for the buck

    definatley

    What to do for fun

    lots of free activities!

    Food and Dining

    starbucks on campus!

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    great place to start of at

    In three sentences

    pierce is a large community college with lots of options. i think that pierce is actually harder than the 4 year i attended. i feel like i have learned a lot for the money i spent,

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are security guards that are constantly patrolling the parking lots and the buildings of pierce college. they are not there 24/7 though, so make sure your cars are locked and no valuables are kept where anyone can see them.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are more clubs at pierce college than one can count on their fingers. there are choir clubs, bible study groups, pokemon clubs, ping-pong clubs, and the list goes on and on. pierce students have a great time just hanging out and sharing the things they love with others.

    Great for these types of students

    pierce college is a very laid back college. the students are all very friendly and many of them are willing to just sit and have a conversation. people who don't want a high maintenance college life would do well at pierce.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year the student council holds a dodgeball competition on the basketball court. for students who want to toss a ball or two or just sit around and laugh at those playing, it's something worth checking out.

    Bang for the buck

    as a community college, the costs are invariably cheaper than that of a high end university, yet you get a top notch education that employers can be proud of. with tuition prices rising, however, some student may feel incredibly strapped for cash. be wary of that.

    What to do for fun

    the pierce college puyallup student activities committee comes up with new things to do every single week. there are ultimate frisbee competitions, ping pong tables, basketball courts, and talent shows to keep students entertained. pierce college loves having students on campus as often as possible, so they make the facility full of fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    pierce college puyallup has an excellent dining service. there are a variety of foods you can choose from, and there is starbucks served as well. pierce college understands that the life of a college student is busy and rather hectic, so they provide low calorie, high energy meals to keep you up and moving throughout your day.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    it all really depends on your degree. if you think you are really good at music, then getting your music education degree will be fairly easy as long as you stay on top of your work and produce high quality. on the flip side, if you choose a degree of which you know nothing about, then you will have to work harder to get your degree, which is as it should be.

    Tips for prospective students

    pierce college holds you to high standards, since they do have a reputation to uphold. but don't let that scare you; many of the teachers are laid back and are willing to give necessary extensions on assignments, since they understand how busy our lives must be. they appreciate all of their students.

    In three sentences

    pierce college at puyallup is a clean, fun place to learn. the teachers are very personable and they don't just treat you like a number like they do in large universities. pierce college is a very accredited college that looks great on job applications.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria here

    Dorm Life

    This school doesnt have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the rigor depends on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your time wisely but don't pick classes just because someone tells you too.

    In three sentences

    Ths school is a really great. The classes are perfect. They are smaller classes so the learning is greater.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The financial aid office isn't very proactive.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It's not too difficult. Many students also have full-time jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Registration times are based on seniority. Classes that are prerequisite courses for entry into the programs fill up fast.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have multiple security officers that are constantly cruising the campus. There are very helpful and resourceful. They respond quick to campus needs. I lost my wallet once and they had contacted me within 12 hours.

    Greek Life

    I am unaware of any Greek Festivals or celebrations within the college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple Activities on campus. We have billboards don't he halls advertising events booth off campus and on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Easy going and fun students. Most students are in their early 20's but the older students are welcomed with ease. This is a great school for students wanting a Certificate or to transfer to a University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a room in the Library Building called CROC for the coolest room on campus; I've yet to enter this room.

    Bang for the buck

    This campus always has opening for work to help pay off your tuition. The Bookstore is expensive but often has deals and sales. A lot of the classes have ways you can get around buying a book.

    What to do for fun

    They are constantly interesting Seminars, musical concerts, plays, and social gatherings year round. The School itself is close to the South Hill Mall and other great shopping areas. There are 5 star restaurants and fast food restaurants all within a mile of the college. The campus also does weekend field trips to amazing places such as the beach and Mt. Rainer.

    Food and Dining

    Food is average and expensive. Espresso stand is very unfavorable.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I can only give a three as I have no comparison for this college. I do feel I can be pride to be a student at Pierce, and if they had no Academic Rigor that wouldn't be the case. The instructors expect high responsibility from you. You are not to be late, cell phones out of sight, majority of professors allow no make up quizzes. The classes are fast paced and every professor I have had so far has been more than an expert in their given field and teach it very thoroughly with up to date statistics and knowledge where applicable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember where you park; this campus has a lot of parking lots. Always make an appointment with your supervisor as soon as possible to get your RAC; remember, the early bird gets the worm! That statement goes true for everything on this campus, procrastination on your part doesn't constitute an emergency on their part.

    In three sentences

    Pierce College has competent Professors. The staff genuinely seems to care about my future. There is also a fun air among the student body.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have buttons installed around campus that can be pushed in an emergency. I never needed to use one, but it is good to know that they are there! They also email you about any incidents so you stay informed.

    Great for these types of students

    There were many types of students in my classes, anywhere from straight out of high school to returning after 20 years. People who work will also find pretty flexible schedules, either through night or online classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a lot cheaper to attend Pierce than a four-year. The material was up to par and almost all of my professors were amazing.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs on campus to join, and I often would stumble across an event put on by a club during my breaks that would have free food and entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty average. They have a cafeteria with burgers, sandwiches, pizza, and a Chinese place, but they aren't open for night students.

    Dorm Life

    Pierce doesn't have dorms..

    Academic Rigor

    Community college is not easier than a university in terms of academia, I think that is a somewhat common misconception. You will be challenged! But there is no point to college if you aren't.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be interested. Boredom and apathy are grade killers, trust me. Keep an eye out for a class that really holds your attention, because that may be the passion that you are looking for when you consider what to do for the rest of your life. Also keep an open mind and take a class that may sound out of the ordinary for you. That will create possibilities and broaden your knowledge.

    In three sentences

    All of my professors showed an interest in whether of not each student succeeded, which made me want to do the best that I could. I attended a large university in the past and can say that it was easy to get lost in the shuffle, but at Pierce the smaller class size definitely helped me to connect better with the material and my instructors.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great. Beautiful campus. Staff are really nice and helpful.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students planning on transferring to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    Real value for a community college.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of outdoor stuff to do on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is OK.

    Dorm Life

    Community college, I don't think there are any on or off campus dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll in classes early.

    In three sentences

    Pierce College is extremely helpful for the new student.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say that you should always lock your car, this may not always help though because I have seen cars with busted out windows so just like everywhere else you have to stay alert.

    Great for these types of students

    Pierce College is great for someone returning to school or someone who just got by in high school because all the classes are designed so if any students put in good effort they will reap a good reward in the form of a grade.

    What to do for fun

    Personally there isn't much that I hang around school for if it isn't studying but I have made some good friends while attending Pierce College.

    Food and Dining

    I don't personally eat or like the food hear and it cost me $2.25 to get a SoBe Water out of the vending machine.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Pierce College.

    Academic Rigor

    Pierce's classes are fairly easy to fit everyones needs. Therefore don't be nervous to take a more challenging class to keep yourself interested.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on going to Pierce make sure to attend classes and try renting/buying course books from somewhere other than the school bookstore.

    In three sentences

    Pierce College is a good place to start after High School. While attending Pierce College I was able to take a number of classes that differed in subject so that I was introduced to a large amount of things. Also, while attending this school I learned how that taking interest in a class is the best way to get a good grade.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Office of Student Life is always advertising opportunities to get involved, and many events they host. I was thoroughly impressed with how much fun events they have every week in the College Center building.

    Food and Dining

    The Commons at Pierce is fantastic! In my first week of school, the cooks brought around samples of yakisoba noodles to everyone in the commons area. The food is set at great prices, and it is very tasty!

    Academic Rigor

    Though many say Pierce is a very easy school, that will only be true if you stay on top of your work! It's very hard to catch up if you procrastinate all of the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are an incoming student, make sure to get to campus about fifteen minutes before your class starts; parking is absolutely crazy. Also, make sure to keep in contact with your advisor throughout the quarters, because they are very helpful in helping you with future plans!

    In three sentences

    Pierce College Puyallup is an amazing school! If you like a chill atmosphere, great classes, a multitude of Student Life activities, and a beautiful campus, you'll want to go to Pierce College! Pierce is a great opportunity to save money if you want to continue on to a four-year college!

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very helpful, efficient, and organized.

    Great for these types of students

    Running start and those that are still deciding on which career to choose.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Puyallup Police Communications center is located on campus. No relation to the college.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is overly priced for the level and quality of teachers there are.

    What to do for fun

    Student life always has workshops and activities to engage in both on and off campus. Example: Student education rally at the state capitol in Olympia, Seattle Seahawk football game, How to workshops, and many more.

    Food and Dining

    overly priced for college students.

    Dorm Life

    no onsite living.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a very laid back education setting. you succeed or fail on your own.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you know what your going to college for, don't allow others to influence or steer you in another direction other then your goal. Also be advised that you will get more help then you plan on with your counselors or not enough assistance depending on the route you choose. First time college students can be nervous about coming into the college life, but this isn't your typical college lifestyle setting, its no where near the University type of educational setting.

    In three sentences

    This college is unorganized in the sense of financial aid assistance, and faculty members being on the same page. This organization is very uncooperative and overbearing in the sense that college is supposed to be your time to find yourself and/or be an adult and make your own educational decisions and more then most counselors don't give you that right. This specific campus is also more of a high school running start setting since it is so close to high schools in different towns, rather then a mature educational setting which I know many adults including myself don't enjoy the younger outlook.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a safe and welcoming atmosphere. E-mails are sent to students if there are crimes in the area (which is rare).

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always different seminars and activities taking place on campus for those that are interested. Bonus: there is usually free food.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for an inexpensive way to pay for their first couple years of college.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad. There is some variety to the choices and it is fairly inexpensive. I like that they include a nutrition key with allergy and health information on their menus.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what classes and professors you decide to take. Overall, I have been satisfied with the pace and challenge level of most of my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research professors before you register for classes. Don't be afraid to put yourself on a wait list. Take advantage of professor office hours. Make sure to look at the equivalency guides and major prerequisites if you are planning on transferring.

    In three sentences

    I am a Running Start student and attending Pierce was one of the best decisions I ever made.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, very secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sandwich Eating Club, Snowboarding/Skiing Club.

    Great for these types of students

    All types. Any race, age, ethnicity, gender.

    What to do for fun

    Student Programs events, athletics, air hockey, ultimate frisbee, ping pong, root beer pong, singing songs in the hallways.

    Food and Dining

    Very affordable for college students and even more delicious than some restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class, work is easy or tough. Teachers always stick around to help you understand it though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, keep up on the work, and don't be afraid to participate and make friends. Student Programs puts on some really great events. Participate in them.

    In three sentences

    Pierce College Puyallup campus provides great learning experience. The instructors go above and beyond to make sure that each student gets it. Student Programs provides hundreds of fun and interesting opportunities every quarter.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great other than the few car problems. If you have a jeep with a spare tire on the back of it, make sure it is locked in place otherwise it will get stolen!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of activities here. Everyday you'll have something to do! Students practically hang out at the college all day because there is always something to do. The clubs are limited, but they are expanding year after year.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Life their throws an enormous amount of events. There is practically an event there once every day. They have family events, student development events, entertainment events, diversity events and recreational events!

    Food and Dining

    Their food service is horribly expensive, but if you are willing to pay the price the food is not too bad!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is non-existent (no dorms).

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are equal to a university level. Some of them are not; they are equal to a high school level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class! Get to know all of your professors; they will help you in the long run. Use the college resources; you'll have a much easier time.

    In three sentences

    This school has great professor-student relationships. It also has a wonderful college atmosphere (beautiful nature scenery). It also has an amazing tutoring center filled with wonderfully helpful tutors for all subjects.

  • 04/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students!! Pierce also has a good pre-nursing program. The Steilacoom campus even has Vet-Tech.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty good! They have a wide variety. Some things are a little pricey but they have different Asian stir-fry. The cafeteria food is almost always made when you order it (even though some of it is frozen) so it's always warm and never soggy. They also have really good sandwiches. They use Starbucks coffee as well.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the professor. The upper level courses are challenging. My statistics class was a tough class. A lot of times professors will be strict on deadlines and attendance. Even some online courses can be tedious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll way before the deadline. Community College will accept you no matter what, but enroll super early, and you will get an earlier pick of classes as a new student for the quarter. Also, be aware. It may seem like an easy route, but a lot of the classes are at the same level as a 4 year college. Online classes are also tricky. They actually can end up having a lot of coursework. Many of my online courses had more homework and assignments than my classroom courses.

    In three sentences

    The campus is fairly spacious for a community college. Faculty seems to genuinely care about student success in the classroom and future. Good support and guidance for transfer students.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Smart way to spend your money before moving on to your bachelors.

    What to do for fun

    The student office sets up alot of activities throughout the quarters, anything from movie nights to hiking at mount rainier.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of choices including healthy ones.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms, this is a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your research! Make sure you look at degree information and make sure you have the time, money and determination to reach your goals.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers, wonderful teaching methods, and easy to learn. Large amount of available classes among many disciplines.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel threatened when I am at Pierce. Their security is amazing, and they will jump at any moment to help you.

    What to do for fun

    Pierce's library is one of my favorite places to go when I am waiting for another class to start. It is peaceful, and I am able to work on homework.

    Food and Dining

    Pierce's cafeteria is surprisingly delicious. I personally favor their Caesar salad.

    Dorm Life

    I do not believe Pierce has dorms. However, if it does, it would not surprise me that they are well-kempt and cheerful.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, I have yet to come across a major problem concerning the difficulty of a course. Pierce's professors are generally good about teaching students at a comprehensible yet college-based level.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for future students is to attend this college with an eager and open mind. Take each course with an attitude aimed for academic success, and you might surprise yourself.

    In three sentences

    I give an overall A for Pierce College Puyallup. The advisers and professors are all very helpful, and they show genuine concern for student success.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Nothing fancy.

    Dorm Life

    Friendly staff and students. Nice looking campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Variety of classes and degrees available.

    In three sentences

    Easy start for high school graduates looking to get started with their secondary education. Cheap (compared to 4-years), and many classes available for a variety of different types of degrees and callings.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security and parking security staff on duty. Especially at night.

    Bang for the buck

    I've looked at other community colleges and this is definitely one of the cheapest! Even the Nursing Assistant program is cheaper too. They also offer a Tuition installment plan and many scholarships every year from the Pierce College Foundation.

    Food and Dining

    They offer a variety of foods. From American to Asian style noodle dishes.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors can be quite challenging for others, while some are very easy -going. Each professor has their own teaching method.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead and make sure the course you're taking is what you need. Study hard for the Compass Test, it's a good refresher to review some pre-calculus. Attend the events they offer as much as possible because they are fun and a great way to make new friends. I would recommend looking up reviews on the professor you sign up for before taking the class, you can to ratemyprofessor.com to find out.

    In three sentences

    I did the Running Start Program here during high school and I loved it! I really got the grown-up experience! They always have fun events going on in the commons and professors here are always helpful.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they patrol the parking lot all the time. There are several safety officers on duty at all times. They are friendly, and helpful too.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to choose from. If I had to pick one I would choose the one I started called Photo Phun aka photo club! They also have ping pong club, and a club for rugby. Importantly they have aclub for the gay and advocates of that community as well. The club activity is very diverse and these are just a few examples of alternatives to typical clubs such as debate, and math both of which exist as well. I highly suggest you find a club to become involved with. It may seem silly, but it will enhance your experience greatly. Remember sometimes its not what you know, but who you know!

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students! Also good if you just want certificates. Pierce College also offers a wide variety of continuing education classes as well. Again I urge you to take the extra 5-25 credits and get that AA!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a beautiful park called Bradly Park and there are trails connecting the campus to the lake. Its a great way to relax for 45 minutes and take a break from the monotonous grind of being a student.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price you will not find much better than Pierce in Puyallup here. IT has great bus service connecting you to the Pierce county and (king) Seattle area. Within half a mile there is a Walmart, and a different food store. The campus is beautifully colored greens, reds, and golds. There is a terrific view of Mt. Rainier from the campus. THe library is open late, transfers books from the other campus in Lakewood in one day every time except Holidays and sundays. THe computer lab is well staffed and can help you with almost anything. There is a gym, a performing arts center. The student life is great there are a bunch of clubs and student activities happen almost everyday. They pas out free food coffee, and several others items on the first few days of class, and randomly throughout the quarter. Those days are always blessings! They have free pens, everyday, free calendars, planners, look around and you find folders too. For me these little things made being a student much easier. Love being a Raider!

    What to do for fun

    I play the guitfiddle (thats redneck for guitar), I love taking photos of nature, I love hiking hike, and MOst of all I love helping and encouraging others.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok it is over priced but they do offer college reward points. I drink a lot of coffee which is a really good blend here at the Puyallup Campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at my college.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor really depends on your motivation. If you think C's get degrees than you won't work hard, but you won't learn as much. That also will affect your experience. If you strive for excellence you will find some teachers make it hard work to get a 4.0, while other teachers make easy. I like the Hard teachers as I learn more. This college has everything you need to become ready for a four year university. So get ready its no walk in the park. That is if you wish to graduate which I believe only 30% (which is a high number for graduation college google it!) actually achieve what I have. Im pretty proud to be a Raider!

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved in student life early and make essential college connections! If you are going for certificate only I urge you to to the certificate with associates degree so you can go back to school in 20 years (if thats what it takes) and achieve your BA. You will be very happy when you get your AA and certificate. Your prospective job is more likely to hire you and pay you better as well. Not to mention if you certificate program fall through or you decide you don't like it any more you have your AA (half of your BA) to fall back on. Something else to do RIGHT away is stay connected with not only your advisor, but career advisors too! Find the dean of the program of your interest and see If they can help you find a mentor to help further your educational experience. Third, Don't be tempted to think all you have to do is show up to class and pass the test without reading the text books. Don't do the opposite either, don't never go to class and read the book thinking thats all you need. The teachers there know these techniques and do NOT like them much. Going to class AND reading the text book is the way to wow your instructors and actually learn, as oppose to memorizing, something. If you do these things you will get grate grades and you will probably be able to get letters of recommendation from your instructors. The letters will help build your portfolio If you get great grades you will improve your overall education and opportunities for a job later. Remember all jobs are competitive in this economy so every edge on your opponent you can have is good! Most important, Don't be like me and think these things don't matter because you might just do what you set out to do and finish there. Then when you did not do these things you will learn that you should have.

    In three sentences

    Pierce Is a great place to get you AA degree, and they will help you, IF you help yourself. There are a variety of degrees and GREAT instructors/advisors who really care about education you, again, IF YOU HELP YOUR SELF, and they have helped me become ready for University. I would give Pierce COllege In Puyallup a 3.7 GPA if I had to because the two bad instructors I had are no longer with the college!

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Trust me, there is MUCH to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is delicious! Low cost and yummy, you should try to deli or go to one of the many vending machines located in and around the school.

    Dorm Life

    I do not believe there are dorms

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you are prepared and pay attention, the classes should be relatively easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not know where to go, always ask. The friendly faculty will be obliged to help you. Remember to pay your fees on time or you will be dropped from your classes.

    In three sentences

    Personally, I believe Pierce College in Puyallup is one of the nicest community colleges I have been to and I am very happy that I had been excepted into it. It is a very nice and clean campus and everything is easy to firrier out how to go to and where you need to go. All the faculty is friendly and helpful so it made my applying to the college much easier. I am going to love my time here.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I personally have never eaten at this school.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have dorms. Its a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has a very helpful tutoring center that is very easy with your schedule. Great professors and staff. Student body is also very helpful.

    In three sentences

    Pierce College is a wonderful college surrounded by beautiful nature. Pierce has friendly helpful professors and students. As a Pierce College student, I love the school and would recommend going here to anymore for core classes.

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    decent.

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities!

    Great for these types of students

    Cold, wet, rainy weather.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is beautiful and right next to a park. When I have gaps between classes I like to walk to the park and walk around campus.

    What to do for fun

    Pierce college has many clubs to join and holds events every week. Last week there was a movie night and the week before that was a super suit up.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is the beginning to a million open doors so have fun and study hard!

    In three sentences

    Awesome school! Awesome programs! Awesome teachers!

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In the Commons there are a variety of games setup as well as many people to socialize with.being a student athlete I spend most of my free time in the campus' gym. Where I met lots of aspiring athletes.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus food that I have had was prepared fresh and delicious that day. Even know I have heard from other students that certain things are only good on certain days when as they say the real chefs are in.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus so there is essentially no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Every student I have seen them is very dedicated to their studies. In class is there is no fooling around or wasting time by the instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    As an aspiring student to pierce College to better prepare yourself you should have your plan iron out with one of their very helpful administrators. Another thing to make sure you have done is all your correct financial aid done ahead of time. This will ensure that your college process is a lot smoother and easy going.

    In three sentences

    Pierce college is a great school to start out at, the staff members are very helpful and can help you on your way to the career you are pursuing. In the classes I have taken all my instructors have helped me to really understand the material and prepare me for the next step to my degree. Along with having great staff the school also provides great service's such as there full gym which helps the college athletes stay in shape during their off seasons.

  • 04/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I constantly see campus security parked outside and looking out for people on the parking lots.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone and anyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Great view of the campus from the class building window (:

    Bang for the buck

    Most classes and their information is relevant to what your degree of study would be.

    What to do for fun

    I haven't gotten involved in many clubs or activities on campus but I know that there are numerous opportunities to get involved, meet people, participate and thrive.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't tried the campus food as I do not spend all day on campus but there are places on campus available to purchase food.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus living facilities as you have to find a place to live off-campus with either family, relatives or through your own living arrangements.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging yet manageable so that you are able to try your best and succeed. You have many opportunities to strive and grow through education and the college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your time in college as a student because only through dedication and eagerness to succeed will you reap great rewards. There are many resources available on campus to help you succeed to use them to your full advantage.

    In three sentences

    Pierce College at Puyallup is a great college to attend either as a returning student or new student because it provides many great opportunities to succeed. Many of the instructors show genuine care for their students and want to see them succeed. This is a great starting point if you want to get a degree in Business or Nursing or if you are planning to further transfer to a four-year college.