Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Pittsburg State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    *It's known for Nursing, Technology, and some Music and Education Majors. You can get your Gen Eds here, but it might be a little more expensive than you'd pay elsewhere. *Students that like to be leaders would do well here, because it's big enough to have a group you'd like, but small enough that you could gain a leadership role in one of those groups.

    Tips for prospective students

    *Introduce yourself to your teachers - it keeps you on their good side. *This is a major party school, so you need to be willing to take the time and effort to keep up with your studies even if you choose to party. *It's not a huge town, so get involved on campus. There's enough to keep you busy, but it can be hard to find on your own.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but there are a lot of loans, grants and scholarships available if you look for them.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's plenty to do, from Greek Life, to Wood Shop Clubs, to English Societies. Plus, it's a college town, so the entire place seems to cater to you...

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are pretty easy on the gen ed level, and not very challenging. This could hurt you later on once you're in classes specific to your major.

  • 12/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The smaller campus is great for any type of student. There is something here for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to all kinds of new experiences. Step outside your comfort zone and explore all of your options. Be ready to make new friends and try new activities.

    Bang for the buck

    PSU is not very expensive when compared to numerous colleges, especially KU and K-State. Even with the lower costs, the experience is just as good. The academic programs are some of the best in their fields, especially in Kansas.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying PSU more than I could have imagined. I have made a ton of new friends. Campus is a lot of fun and there are many different student organizations to get involved in.

    Am learning a lot

    The general education classes are not particularly difficult, but they are filled with a lot of interesting information. My major is Biology/Pre-Physical Therapy emphasis. My core classes that go towards my major are pretty challenging and filled with new topics. As challenging as they may be, the instructors are very willing to help with any problems one is experiencing.

  • 04/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pittsburg is a great school for students who like the small town atmosphere, likes small class sizes, and seeing familiar faces around campus. From what I have noticed over the time I've been here is that most students are either accounting, education, construction management, automotive, or technology majors and they all seem to love their program.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking at colleges and taking tours, think about how you would feel making that walk every day. I went on two tours including Pitt State and I knew when I saw Pitt that it was more for me than the other. When you do decide on a school, no matter where it is, make sure that you fill out housing and other applications right when you get them and mail them back to ensure that you get what you want. Don't pick a school solely on where your friends are attending, the distance from home, where your boyfriend/girlfriend is attending, or what school has the best party scene. Focus on what you want to get out of school considering you will be paying for it, also focus on what your major is and what the best school would be for that degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Pitt State is more affordable than most colleges and it is worth it. Student loans are something that follows students forever. It helps knowing that the experience is worth what you are paying.

    Am enjoying being here

    Pittsburg is a smaller town, and campus isn't too big. I see people I know or recognize from classes and it is easy to make friendships. Living in the dorms gives you the best experience to meet people and make lasting friendships. Its a home away from home.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a Junior in the Department of Education. My major is Elementary Education. With this major you will never be fully prepared for things you will encounter in the field, but the professors here help you understand the main things you will encounter. They help by keeping you up to date with curriculum, whats being asked of teachers now, and by giving you numerous resources you will use in your pre-lab experiences and in your career. The great thing about this school is that the class size is small and your professors get to know you and are there anytime you have questions.

  • 06/20/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 9 people found this review useful. 4 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    music and gen ed

    Tips for prospective students

    get introduced to the staff there

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel very safe on this campus even at night. there are emergency poles posted that you can press a button and the police will come. there are always campus police driving through the lots to check things (watch out and make sure to park in the right zone or you'll get a ticket for sure) and they will come at a moment's notice if something is wrong.

    Greek Life

    i don't participate in greek life, but they are very present on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs to choose from with so many different interests!

    Great for these types of students

    pretty much everyone will fit in at pitt state!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year there is an apple day that the town holds as well as paint the town red to kick off the football season. these events are very involved with the community and it's evident all throughout the town!

    Bang for the buck

    the price for this school is great, especially since the teachers are amazing and i'm getting a good education.

    What to do for fun

    there's always lots of fun activities being hosted by student government and activities associations here on campus! free movies, karaoke and entertainment are just a few of them. there's also a university club where you can go and play pool or sit in the relaxation room.

    Food and Dining

    the dining hall food is pretty good, but it gets old after awhile. one of the coolest things is the custom tossed salads where you can choose anything you want; they are delicious! the only issue with the dining hall is seating at peak lunch times and that they also don't stay open very late, so if you want to eat dinner past 7, you're not going to be able to.

    Dorm Life

    i live in crimson commons and it is awesome! pretty similar to living in an apartment and i have a great ra. the only thing i'm not a fan of is the school's requirement for living in the dorms. i work and i'm not able to just move out of the dorms for a whole month over holiday break, so i have to find somewhere to stay. if you don't work or know a lot of people, this won't be a problem though.

    Academic Rigor

    my first semester classes were extremely easy for me, but they were still interesting and i learned a lot from them. my second semester is a little more difficult, but all of the classes are still very good!

    Tips for prospective students

    don't buy your books from the bookstore here! they charge outrageous prices, even for rentals. you'll get less then 30 or 40 percent of what you paid back for the books. a big waste of money. order them online through chegg or neebo, such a money saver! also, don't be afraid to go to the activities they host here, they're a lot of fun!

    In three sentences

    after my first semester, i can honestly say that i have had some of the best teachers of my life here. there is definitely a lot to get involved in no matter what your interests may be. the dorms are nice, but the requirement to live in them isn't.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    on campus we have towers located throughout the layout of our university. if anything were to happen, reach one quickly and push the big red button. cops are said to be there within a minute. also the campus police are located right beside the dorms, and patrol all throughout the night.

    Greek Life

    greek life is pretty involved in a lot of events, and each house is busy planning a million events all the time. with recruiting throughout the year, its hard to ignore the presence of the greek life here at pittsburg.

    Clubs and Activities

    i am currently apart of the gay straight alliance and gorilla radio. there are so many more here, that you could potentially overwhelm your schedule. we have flash mobsters, street kings (racers), and anime club. virtually you can find your niche without a problem.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    right smack dab in the middle of our oval walk ways we have a gorilla face, which for some reason is supposed to bring you bad luck if you walk on his face, so every day thousands of kids avoid the face and walk around it without even thinking, because its became a habit.

    Bang for the buck

    pittsburg wasn't just far away from my home, but it made me feel like it was where i belonged. money was an deciding factor in my colleges, and pitt state offered me the same education i could have gotten at a major university for less. it's a four year school, but you get that education for the price of a really nice community college. score!

    What to do for fun

    go bowling, smoke hookah, walk down the nature trails...or run. pittsburg has tons of activities to keep you busy, and that's not even including all the events on campus. see big comedians, dancers, singers, sing karaoke, or play pool or pong with friends. don't forget about the movie theatre or massage chairs, who doesn't love those.

    Food and Dining

    the student center is the place to go when your not on the meal plan after dorm life, but the regular cafeteria offers so much to pick from you will never go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are great, and the resident assistants are hand picked every year. which makes for great floor families and a safe environment.

    Academic Rigor

    it may not be rated as the best school in the us, but you get the same education here for less. so why not?

    Tips for prospective students

    getting involved in as many groups or organizations as you can will get you everywhere here at pitt.

    In three sentences

    the best education, enthusiastic teachers, and friendly student lie in wait here for anyone at pittsburg state university. no one can ask for a better time here, and a place to get your education. come get it!

  • 06/11/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 7 people found this review useful. 7 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineering

    Tips for prospective students

    Look like a lot of students taking their education seriously

    Bang for the buck

    The money is pretty good

    Will enjoy being here

    I think I will enjoy the open out doors

    Will learn a lot

    I think I will learn a great deal here.

  • 08/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is amazing for students who want to get into business but my favorite is the technology center, Engineers should come look at this school because we build so many things and have so much fun it makes you not ever wanna go home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students ere are very serious about their work and how they do things. instead of blowing their work off til the last min they start their work during or after class before they start anything else they know when its time to have fun and when it is time for work because this is their job and they don't play when it calls for work to be done.

    Bang for the buck

    When being here u get what you pay for and that is to have a good time and meet awsome and unique new people that you can grow a relationship with.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the atmosphere of being in Kansas with the happy people you see every day not like when i was new jersey and people are bitter and mean here people actually say hello and ask you questions about your life its very nice how people can be so polite even if they don't know you they take the time to get to know you and then at the end of the day you have meet a new friend.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning a lot of things being here i got to go fishing for the first time it was a great experience being here in a new state and new city meeting great people getting the best education that their is.

  • 09/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be leaders - there's a lot of things you can be a part of, but there's not so many people that you can't rise to the top.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay away from the frats! This is a college town, but the police are well aware of the amount of partying and they're really cutting down on it. Don't do something stupid and get an MIP.

    Bang for the buck

    Suuuuper cheap compared to other schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    Lots of clubs and opportunities to meet new people.

    Am learning a lot

    It's a pretty good school - the gen eds are really easy, but once you get into your major most of the teachers are excited about being there and want you to learn.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many activities going on, especially sports events are popular.

    Bang for the buck

    Great especially if you want to study in expensive fields like business.

    What to do for fun

    Not much. You will need a car to go to places for sure.

    Food and Dining

    Acceptable...

    Dorm Life

    Don't know.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent if you want to quickly graduate and study hard as there is not much to do outside of school. Good curriculum and good teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great university in a very boring little town. If you are in the campus and studying, you won't notice that Pittsburg is not very pleasant to live in. Also not much happening around it. Teachers are very approachable, campus is very clean, teaching methods are good, classrooms are nice, technology is up-to-date and many majors are available. For international students, many opportunities will be offered to mingle with locals.

    In three sentences

    Affordable and good university with good teachers. Very clean and organized campus. Lots of majors available and everything is managable.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    OK, but not the most secure. I don't see security around very often at all.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of on and off campus activities at this school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but sometimes lacks variety. There should be a larger option of meals for each month.

    Dorm Life

    Have had a mostly positive experience with all of my roommates and the staff, just wish it was more affordable.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends a lot on the class and the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check rate my professor, some of the teachers are difficult to work with.

    In three sentences

    Housing is pricey but it is a very good school and I feel like I am getting a quality education.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there has never been a time when i have not felt safe on campus. even at night it is brightly lit and there are always people around.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are endless clubs and activities to get involved in i hope to learn more about then in the future.

    Great for these types of students

    the campus is full of fun just all around good people. anyone can fit in :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    this is my first semester but i am greatly looking forward to the football games in the fall!

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is not too high, and more credit hours for your money than most universities.

    What to do for fun

    there is a lot of things to do for fun. just driving around town you'll see tones of people outside enjoying the weather. it's the best!

    Food and Dining

    i don't eat on campus very much but the dinning hall is a fun experience in itself. you run into lots of people from class and the food it great!

    Dorm Life

    i haven't lived in a dorm, but they seem nice and it is a great way to meet new friends!

    Academic Rigor

    the academics seem great here. the classes aren't extremely hard but the professors push you to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    hurry up and get here. i was nervous in the beginning but it is so easy to adapt to. i would recommend taking a transfers or freshmen class, that helped me get to know the campus better.

    In three sentences

    i absolutely love pittsburgh state university without a doubt. transferring here has been the best decision i have ever made. the classes are great and everyone is helpful and friendly. i would recommend this university to anyone!

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots and lots of club and activities, Pitt state has very involved students.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but i hear they are not that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Gen eds. are generally easy, full of good information and are fun.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great safety! We have a freshmen experience class to tell all the Freshmen all the safety rules and also the activities around. It's a very helpful class because they show you the campus and classrooms!

    Greek Life

    Very active! Especially for sororities and fraternities! It's sometimes the most favorite week and they perform Airband for anyone to come and see!

    Clubs and Activities

    Great Dance and Cheer squad! Also, there's lots of other clubs that fit other peoples interests!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sometimes when it starts getting nice outside, they usually start playing movies on the Jungletron in the football stadium!

    What to do for fun

    It's such a small town and where the dorms are located you can walk anywhere that's on the main road! I usually walk to Tropical Sno, cheap and delicious snow cones!

    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of selection of food around town. Just the regular McDonalds and Taco Bell fast food places, but the D Hall is delicious. It comes with the housing if you live in the dorms and you can eat anytime you want!

    Dorm Life

    It was such a great experience especially because we also do bonding time to get to know the girls on your floor!

    Academic Rigor

    Since it is such a small school, it is very easy for teachers to point out to whether you are attending or not. Also, for a small class room if you're in need of help the teachers are willing to help you out on certain things you need help on!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't forget your studies!

    In three sentences

    Pittsburg State University is a great college to be especially if you love a small town. I've met a lot of new people here and the people are so nice. The teachers are also very helpful!

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency buttons all over campus that you can push if you don't feel safe and campus police will be right there.

    What to do for fun

    The SAC is always sponsoring activities. There is also a bowling alley and a movie theater close to campus.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has pretty good food and if you don't like it there are plenty of other places on and off campus to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not as bad as they seem.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors will challenge you, but are also there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in anything and everything you can. Go to ball games, movie nights, etc. join clubs, intramural sports, go Greek, etc.

    In three sentences

    A fun and welcoming environment where you feel you belong. The professors are great and treat you like a person, not just another face in a crowd. The class sizes are great!

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security poles all around campus with a button on them to press when you're in danger. Also, there really aren't a lot of issues that infringe on anyone's safety around campus. Quite the safe place to be.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are SO many clubs and activities that happen at PSU that make the experience that much more exciting. If you're not interested in the already over 100 clubs just create your own with SAC approval.

    Great for these types of students

    Students coming from smaller high schools or just students who are comfortable with a smaller college experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    PSU and its town of Pittsburg are very involved with all the programs and the sports. There is a sense of great pride when you walk through campus. Yell Like Hell at homecoming is an exciting event!

    Bang for the buck

    At PSU you are getting an excellent education with professors who know their stuff, are willing to do anything they can for your success and just an over all excitement to be at this college. It's one of the most inexpensive universities in the region and is worth every cent.

    What to do for fun

    Definitely get involved on campus with the over 100 clubs and organizations and if you're really creative and have an idea for a new club just head on over to the basement of the student center and talk to SAC to create your own new club. As for around Pittsburg there are a few nature trails that are beautiful, a great rec center, movie theater in a small mall, some great restaurants around town, bowling alley and of course Walmart!

    Food and Dining

    Gibson Dining Hall has a wonderful staff, they are very happy to greet you and get you fed. The food tasted pretty good, way better than my high school food. Although, with it being cafeteria food it seemed to be full of salt and preservatives, hence the freshman 15. But regardless there is a great selection each meal. Two salad bars, soup, pizza, and cereal bars, there's a grill that usually has hamburgers and grilled cheese, there's an section with more fresh wraps, pastas and oriental foods, also a home style section with foods you'd have at home and last but not least the sweets, soft served ice cream and cookies are the best!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is dorm life. You either absolutely love it or cannot wait to get out of it. Just have a good time, put yourself out there to meet new people and have new experiences in your new life.

    Academic Rigor

    General education classes seemed pretty easy, especially if you do all that's required of you; go to class, finish all assignments on time, and anything else the professor assigns. The professors are there to help so if you're struggling don't be afraid, they will most likely be more than happy to sit down and assist you.

    Tips for prospective students

    As students anywhere should do, go to class, that's the only way it will be possible for you to pass even if your class doesn't count attendance, the information on exams might all be from lecture or a portion of it, extra credit does occur sometimes if you attend, you're spending so much money to be there why not just make it worth your pretty penny, and also just go because you might just be interested in the content and use it later.

    In three sentences

    Pittsburg State University is a great college for students looking for a smaller university (about 7,000 students). The professors here really do care about your success in academia as well as your future. PSU feels like home, everyone is there to enjoy the experience and create their own success.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun unless you join clubs, go to sporting events, or go to a party on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food will always start out great but as the year goes on and you eat it every day for breakfast, lunch, and dinner then it eventually takes a toll on you.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay. It's not horrible but not something you'll enjoy to much. Just the easy access to your friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be making a ton of new friends and becoming a GORILLA!

    In three sentences

    Pittsburg State is exciting. We are one humongous family. Everyone is friendly.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Anytime I happen to walk on campus I always spot a officer on campus. There is also just about every corner on campus a emergency call button where if pressed a officer will show up in less than 1 minute. I have never had to use it but its comforting to know its there.

    Greek Life

    I'm not a part of greek life but from what I've seen its awesome. The greek life here is very involved with the university and the surrounding community. They also provide a great way for students to meet to people and have new experiences.

    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting small class sizes. Students wanting a close nit environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for the education and college experience you receive. It's a great environment that balances your academic career with your social life.

    What to do for fun

    Join greek life, or play intramural sports, even join a club. Last year 2011 the football team was the Division 2 National Champions, so tailgating is always fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Small class size is great, allows for extra attention from teachers.

    In three sentences

    Great school with great academics and social life. Students expect to work hard but also are granted to be in a great social environment where there is always something to do. Never a boring day here!

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has its own police station and staff 24/7. There are also people you can talk to if there are personal issues your dealing with.

    Greek Life

    I am not affiliated with a Greek organization.

    Clubs and Activities

    Black Student Association is a great club because it teaches diversity among all races and nationalities. The great thing is you do not have to be black/African American to join. There is also clubs such as Spanish, engineering and technology, and so much more I cannot list them all.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the type of student that likes to work hard first then relax later. Pitt State believes in grades first, but around finals time there are little relaxation tips and projects to do to help ease the mood before or after finals.

    Bang for the buck

    The number one thing I love about Pitt State is the flat tuition rate. If you select up to 12 or more credit hours the cost of tuition is still the same no matter if you take 15 hours or 23 hours. Also your fees include access to computer labs, fitness center, and health care.

    What to do for fun

    Football games are a big social gathering. Pitt State is number one in the national division for Division 2 schools. There also the different clubs such as the Spanish club and Black Student Association. We get together and go out to eat or have small gatherings.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. When I took my visit I was in Heaven with all the pizza, burgers, ice cream, and so much more.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are livable and its a great way to meet people.

    Academic Rigor

    Pitt State is a safe school with its own police station. Safety is the least of my worries.

    Tips for prospective students

    For a future student considering Pittsburg State I would say get involved within as many programs as possible. Connecting with people is key during any college experience. The more people you know the more successful you can become.

    In three sentences

    Pittsburg State provides a safe and friendly atmosphere. This school also has one of the top rated schools for education majors. Last but not least Pittsburg State University has a great support system for tutoring.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus security! There are blue lights throughout campus that will signal the police that there is someone in distress and they will appear almost immediately. There are always officers patrolling the streets and there to help you. They are truly out to protect the student body at large. I was never worried about my safety while attending PSU.

    Bang for the buck

    Pittsburg State is significantly cheaper than other Division One schools like KU and K-State but I would say just as fun. I really like the fact that PSU is such a small school because it turns it more into a college community instead of a college town. You will start to gain so many new friends and recognize so many people that before you know it, you can't make it to class without running into a comrade! Great school with awesome opportunities in all aspects.

    What to do for fun

    Isn't that the million dollar question? The possibilities for fun at PSU are really limitless if you keep an open mind. With all the freshmen living in the dorms together there are always odd ball games going on in the common areas and especially outside in front of the dorms. Especially in the Bowen and Tanner halls there are always kids out in grassy knoll in front of the dorms playing all kinds of sports. For the less athletically inclined there are always groups of kids sitting on the benches during beautiful days, sometimes grilling or just joking around. There are plenty of sports being played at the rec and inter murals are great fun and competition packed. Greek life has plenty of opportunities for the outgoing student and they always have fun events planned like parties, greek week games, and run outs between sororities and fraternities. There are always fliers being passed out in the center oval for campus sponsored events that I highly recommend. They are great ways to meet new friends and the opposite sex!

    Food and Dining

    I attended the Gibson Dining Hall for the last two years for three meals a day. The food is not bad if you switch up what you get each day. Don't go straight for the pizza every day or you will head straight for the freshmen 15 and a horrible stomach ache. I would suggest getting food from the healthy stations for most main meals and in this case, the dining hall is a very good deal/ bang for your buck. The food is a little rich at times and they never go light on the butter (yumm). Deserts are usually sub par but as far as main courses go and variety, I give it two thumbs up!

    Dorm Life

    I loved the fact that all freshmen at PSU are required to live in the dorms their whole first year. It throws all new, nervous college freshmen into the exact same situation. No matter your background, race, or gender; all freshmen have the same opportunities with parties, dorm life, and chances at life long friendships. Everyone is new to the college life so it is easier for students to co mingle and know that they are not alone in being alone from their family (no pun intended). From my experience there is a friend in the dorms for any possible personality type.

    Academic Rigor

    The general education requirements are really not that difficult of classes. If you follow the course work and go to class DAILY. The teachers all have very good knowledge on their subject matters and usually have a drive for what they are teaching (except for teaching assistants). I have noticed that the school has a lot of G.A's which are teachers that have not graduated yet but still teach courses. There are a lot of these in the English department and it is a annoying having to sit back while they learn the ropes in teaching while you are paying good money for your education. Overall it is a great environment for learning if you come ready to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come to Pittsburg ready to get involved! You will find yourself in a much more comfortable environment if you are willing to get involved in activities. Whether it be participating in dorm room events, joining your favorite club, or hitting up the gym for some pick up basketball. Everyone that goes here is friendly and ready to start a new, fresh college life. Of course make sure to be yourself and you will be loved here!

    In three sentences

    Pittsburg State University has so much to offer every student in life experiences. It is a great stepping stone in becoming an adult. Great professors, zestful student body, and beautiful campus make this school a diamond in the ruff.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is always available and on top of things. Their building is right in the middle of campus and is easily accessible.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved in Greek life nor do I know anyone involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities are offered on campus including a day where you can walk around and look at all of the options available to you. I personally am not involved in any clubs but I have an on campus job working in the financial aid office.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for someone not looking to go to a huge college but also not wanting to go to a community college. The class sizes are no more than 100 people but the campus and student body feels very big.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Yell like Hell is held every year sometime in sept./oct. which involves a bunch of student organizations getting together and having a dance contest in front of the entire student body.

    Bang for the buck

    Its only $5000 a year for tuition and fees which is much cheaper than any of the other schools I looked at.

    What to do for fun

    If you are 21, 505 is loads of fun with karaoke night on Thursdays and for 18+ The Jungle is always a blast. Other than nightlife, the athletic events are fantastic and there are always lots of free events going on on campus like free movies and pizza parties.

    Food and Dining

    As I said before, the food is great everywhere on campus! Gibson dining hall is the best with a very wide aray of choices both healthy and not. The Gorilla Crossing has wonderful food as well but has mainly food you can grab quick between classes. I definitely recommend getting the full meal plan that lets you eat in both places.

    Dorm Life

    Crimson Commons is the nicest dorms to stay in but they are also the most expensive. Each person has their own room and you share a common area with 3 other people. These are the dorms that I stayed in and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Academic Rigor

    The business department is very tough on their students and the classes are very difficult but it also has a great reputation for graduating students finding jobs. If you want a good academic base for your future I definitely recommend getting a business degree of some kind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get all of your financial aid taken care of early, take 15-18 hours your first year of college and make sure you get a full meal plan for both Gibson Dining Hall and the Gorilla Crossing, the food is wonderful!

    In three sentences

    Great school with a beautiful campus and wonderful people. Love the experiences I have had here so far and am proud to say I will be getting a degree from here. Football season is also a plus since we won the National Championship last year!

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Lots of fraternities and sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    Wonderful for second chance students who haven't gone to college, or those who didn't get through their first time around.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our mascot is a Gorilla.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very cheap and capped for full-time students so that any classes over 12 credits cost the same tuition. The professors are highly qualified and I have found them to be concerned with the students' progress.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has lots of activities during the semester. Different arts departments put on shows, and there is a play performed for the community. In town there is a mall and a movie theater, plus a historic theater that puts on outdoor showings once a month.

    Food and Dining

    The quality is really good, but it can get a bit pricey. If possible plan to shop and eat at home.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't stayed in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the Gen Eds are pretty easy. I'm just a sophomore, so we'll see how the upper-level classes go.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. Everybody is very friendly and helpful. Plan ahead to buy textbooks online.

    In three sentences

    Small, charming campus. Engaged faculty and helpful staff. Enjoyable classes.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus. Everyone is pretty friendly and the campus police are great.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 clubs at PSU that are easy to join and lots of fun

    Bang for the buck

    PSU is much more affordable than most other Public or Private 4 year colleges. There are also a lot of opportunities for scholarships on their website. They also have a flat tuition amount that you can enroll in 10 or more credits and it will still be the same cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities going on all the time at PSU. If you are bored just walk around campus there's a good chance there is something going. Some common activities they have are Treat night at the movies, outdoor concerts, or sometimes they play movies at the football field on the Jumbo-tron.

    Food and Dining

    As far as cafeteria food goes, Gibson Dining Hall is pretty good. There are some days when you aren't quite sure what the main dish really is but there is always pizza, or the grill, or chef salads when everything else looks a little sketchy

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty normal. You could have awesome roommates or crazy ones it's relatively easy to change if you want. Finding a parking spot close to your hall can sometimes be a challenge sometimes though.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many different classes for whatever your academic level may be. Pittsburg State has great academic advisers that will help you find the classes you need. If you are ever struggling in a class, Professors are more than willing to help you out. There are also lots of chances for free tutoring if you need a little extra help

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. Definitely take a campus tour, it will give you a lot more information about the school so you can decide whether you really want to come here or not. Go ahead and apply for scholarships to every school you think you might want to go to (even though it's time consuming) because the cost of going to that school is another big deciding factor. I choose Pitt State because it has a beautiful campus and is Very Affordable!

    In three sentences

    Pittsburg State University is a medium sized campus while still providing you with many opportunities for individual instruction or help. I transferred to Pitt State from another school and I am so glad I did. Pitt State is an amazing school and it shows in the tremendous amount of school spirit from both faculty and students.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Be safe around campus. Everyone knows what is safe and what is not. If it's late at night, don't travel alone, no matter how safe you think the campus is. A campus can be very safe but can also have some conflicts too. If people are being rowdy and hollering at you, ignore them and continue to hurriedly get home.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's nothing better than being involved in a great activity, especially if you have some friends involved too. Sometimes, joining a club decreases a person's stress level because you're getting involved with entertainment.

    What to do for fun

    Meet new people every chance you get. If there's an on-campus concert or activity going on, participate, go with some friends you may already have met. That will give you a chance to interact with several different people and also let you get to know the ones you have already met.

    Food and Dining

    Your meal plan is usually fixed in with your tuition. Take advantage of that. Don't go out spending hundreds of dollars a month going to fancy restaurants or even fast food restaurants. The dining hall food is not the greatest, but it's an easy way to meet new people and get food quickly without spending a lot of money.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus isn't always cheaper than getting your own apartment, but at most colleges it is required as a Freshman. Take advantage of living in the dorms, be sociable. You will meet so many people in the dorms. A lot of people are just as frightened as you about college, so you will already have so many things in common with some of the incoming students.

    Academic Rigor

    You don't have to know exactly what you want to do the day you enroll into college. There are several Career Exploration classes that will help you with researching different majors and areas that you are interested in. Also, your assigned advisor will cooperate with you, allowing you to ask all the questions you may have about a certain major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early for colleges, so your name will be at the top to be read about. Make sure you go visit the school, so you get a feeling of what the college life and surrounding is actually like at the school. Once you step on campus, you should be able to tell if you will like it there or not. Also, apply for scholarships early. The earlier you apply, the higher chance you have of receiving that scholarship.

    In three sentences

    Pittsburg State is a great school all around. With a great environment, campus and people, I am surrounded with people who want to help me succeed. Picking Pittsburg State is definitely the best choice I've ever made.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    High

    Greek Life

    Very active..

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an array of activities and clubs to join if you want.

    Great for these types of students

    Undecided. Good place to explore what is out there for relatively cheap.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step ont he gorilla face in the oval.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very cheap, but what you get is not bad.

    What to do for fun

    Party.

    Food and Dining

    Dining options are good if you have dining dollars and go to Gorilla crossing. Dining hall options are quite limited and get very repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is nice and friendly. Evyone is loving and incredibly sweet.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what program you are in. Pre-med and engineering programs are quite rigorous, however some of the more artistic programs are slightly less formed and rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate and get to know your teachers. They will motivate you to do your best.at field you go into.

    In three sentences

    Pittsburg State University is a friendly quaint town. There are plenty of opportunities to get involved and have a great time. You can learn quite a bit if you are motivated, but it is quite simple to get distracted.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At any point in the day or night, when I am outside in the campus, I never feel creeped out. If I did though, there are red towers spread everywhere that I could press a button at to get immediate help.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone is welcome here. Whether you were known for the outcast or some other type of stereotype, everyone is included and has friends that care for them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Gorilla Village is hidden right by the football stadium parking lot. Although, many people walk right past it without noticing it, beyond the bushes and trees is a beautiful park, including a lake with fountains, picnic tables, and a cute church. In the middle of the campus, where all the sidewalks lead is the Oval. The Oval daily hosts activity groups giving out flyers, food, freebies, etc. Something special about the Oval is that everyone avoids stepping on the gorilla split-face on the concrete in the middle. You'll see the traffic easily avoiding it, which is really cool how we all have that respect for our school.

    Bang for the buck

    Most colleges charge you for each individual class, but as long as you are enrolled full-time (12 hours), you can take 15, 18, 23 hours and not be charged for the extra classes! (Disclaimer: I don't recommend taking 23 hours in one semester!) The tuition is also very low if you apply for in-state tuition.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is flooded with activities such as attending sports, competing in trivia nights, singing for karaoke nights, going to Movie Treat Nights, performing at open-mic nights, eating free foods in the Oval, and going to the oh-so-famous frat parties.

    Food and Dining

    Our Dining Hall provides quick health facts (calories, calories from fat, etc.) above each food item, so if you feel like being health conscious, you aren't left out to dry. They provide pizza and salads daily, but the special foods are always interesting to eat, especially when they provide foods from other countries. And let's be honest, the desserts are SWEET!

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms has been such a great experience for me. I have met a variety of people and somehow we all get along great. We cook and watch movies in the lobby, play ping pong in the basement, and have floor parties where we all sit in the middle of the hall and talk and laugh. Our RAs provide plenty of activities to do to keep us entertained, as well!

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you study hard and keep up with homework, college shouldn't be hard. If you are having troubles with classes, many other people are taking the class and are willing to help you out! The classes that go towards your major push you to work more. Working hard now will pay off later when you are looking for a career, though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pittstate is much more affordable than other schools, especially with in-state tuition. Get involved with activities you care about not only to have fun, but meet people with similar interests/career goals. Doing homework and studying IS beneficial! Go beyond what the teacher asks for all the time, so they become great references in the future.

    In three sentences

    Pittstate has many activities for any type of student to get involved. You easily get to know friends who could soon become contacts for you in the future in your career. Pittsburg State University prepares us for the real life ahead.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They try there hardest to let everyone what they should do while they are out with there friends. They want us to be safe but have fun at the same time.

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my family I have a 3 years old and a 1 year old.

    Food and Dining

    So far everthing i have eat here on campus I have loved it. I think they try there hardest to make your food worth your time.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I really can't tell you anything about them.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe they try there best to teach you everything they can when your in school there.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think the best tip I have is to make sure that you really want to go to school. This is the right school for you because you don't want to have to pay back sundet loans if you really never wanted to go to school in the first place.

    In three sentences

    I would rate my school with a A+ the reason why I say that is because I honstly believe they try to give you the best that you need. Also I think that the school tries to make your stay at the school worth your time they try to pull you into the school and make you time there worth it.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. I walk and run a lot and I just play it smart.

    Greek Life

    Love it, love it, love it. I am not the typical sorority girl. I love my country life and getting dirty. This is way out of my comfort zone. But, the girls and guys I have meet are awesome. They are part of my new found family. They care and give so much. We do alot of community service and gives us to give back to the community that gives so much to the students here on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    It is the best cost effective college around. I love that if I take 12+ hours I pay the same as someone with 12 hours. So load up and pay a small amount. Your parents will love it. There are many scholarships available.

    What to do for fun

    I love to just hang out and watch movies. There are several restaurants that have 1/2 place appetizers. There is bowling, paint balling, you name it they have it. The campus has several activities throughout the year to keep students busy and have fun and meet others.

    Food and Dining

    There is every kind of food available for your taste buds. You won't go hungry on campus or off campus.

    Dorm Life

    It is the best.

    Academic Rigor

    They want you to learn and work hard. But, the staff are always there to help if you ask for help. They really care.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take every opportunity given to visit Pittsburg State University with your family. Attend the PITT CARE day events. Just take a trip and schedule a one-on-one campus visit. Talk with friends that might attend PITT. It is the most cost-effective college available. There are not many places you can go and make the same for 18 hours as you would 12 hours. There are many opportunities to join activities/clubs and give back to the community.

    In three sentences

    It has the most friendly faculty and community. There is always something happening on campus. There are many ways to meet other students and just hang out.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food does get old after the first month, and they stop cooking hot breakfast at 9:30 am.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is dependent on which dorm you get.

    Academic Rigor

    It is an assumed party school but it is not the case.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class.

    In three sentences

    A friendly school with a small campus. The teachers are great and class size is just right. It's good to be a PSU gorilla!

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the U club

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask around to make sure you enroll in the best tteachers class. A good instructor can make all the difference!

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus and great facilities. Nice students. And many nice teachers as well.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is up to par. The officers are always patrolling the campus, whether on motorcycles, in pick-up trucks or Dodge Chargers. The students are laid back so it is rare for a fight or brawl to occur.

    Greek Life

    Geek life can be strenuous but it rewarding. Nobody shows animosity towards the geeks because they are a big part of the Pitt State community.

    Clubs and Activities

    Students have the option to join the diversity club, drama club or business club. There are a vast number of intramural sprorts to participate in like flag football, basketball, dodge ball and even water polo. The recreational center hosts alot of basketball tournaments and the school has fraternities and sororities for students to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Pittsburg State University is great for all types of students to be honest. The school is very diverse at this point and has alot to offer anybody who wants to attend.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Behind the football stadiom there is a pond that has benches for people to sit. It is a beautiful area to come to and relax and hangout with friends.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition for PSU is very affordable and competitive. Its out of state tution is more affordable than a number of in state tuitions of other colleges and universities.

    What to do for fun

    The recreational center is a fun place to go to. It has 3 basketball courts, ping pong table, two floors for fitness activities and it has a lounge. The school has alot of movie nights which are fun to go to with friends. The football games are the best to go to because the crowd is electric and the tailgating is phenomenal.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall serves good food and it is buffet style so students can consume as much as they want. There are on campus food places such as Pizza Hut and Baja. The off campus restaurants are walking distance or short drive and they include: Dominoes, McDonalds, Taco Bell, Sonics, Hardees and Subway.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is nice. The rooms are spacious and comfortable to live in. The dorms are close to the academic buildigs so going to class is not a hassle and going to the student center and library is not troublesome.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses can be rigorous but with a strong work ethic and concentrated effort to sit down with professors to see where your strengths and weaknesses are, academic success can be achieved.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Pittsburg State, establish a good relationship with your professors and utilize all the resources the school has to offer such as how to study workshops and time management workshops.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is very welcoming. The students and staff are always hospitable. The environment is very productive and gives you a sense of academic richness.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. I have not had any problems there.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are hundreds of clubs available. if there is not a club for you, you can create your own.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many different activities go on in the oval, which is the center of campus. There is something new everyday.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a great education for an affordable cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are the usual things like bowling, movies, skating, bars, etc. there is also a small mall in Pittsburg and a much larger one 30 minutes away in Joplin.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall food gets a little better every year.

    Dorm Life

    You meet so many great people and the Residence Assistants make sure you get acquainted with your floor mates.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not too hard. You learn a lot in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a great education and college experience without paying too much, this is the perfect school to choose.

    In three sentences

    The students, staff and community are very friendly. The classes are not too big, so you develop a one on one relationship with the teachers. This school is very affordable.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    clubs, sports, and parties

    Food and Dining

    A lots of food including salad, cereal, and different foods everyday

    Dorm Life

    Two or three beds in a room. Friendly people and fun times

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are lectors so, pay attaintion

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't give up to easily and don't think that it will be to hard or to easy

    In three sentences

    Pitt State is small and friendly college. Has lots of opportunities. Lots to do like clubs

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of social activities. Greek life is huge here

    Dorm Life

    Communal bathrooms and slightly crowded

    Academic Rigor

    You get enough to do to keep you busy but no so much that you are overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know why you are coming here. Be prepared. Completely different lifestyle compared to high school

    In three sentences

    Small town University. It has a great family feel. Plenty to do in your spare time.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Best way to get involved on campus and in the community.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come into college with an open mind.

    In three sentences

    The people you meet become your family. It is a small town, small school feel. The teachers care about how you're doing.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dozens of blue lights located around campus to reach police instantaneously if you get in a situation.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm very please with what I've paid for.

    What to do for fun

    The rec center is an awesome idea if you enjoy fitness. You can spend time in the oval doing various activities. Or if you are in to the night life you can hang out at The Jungle across from campus.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent with so many options!

    Dorm Life

    I am unable to say from experience as I have never lived in the dorms but I have heard nothing but good about them.

    Academic Rigor

    Pittstate offers a challenging and enjoyable course schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with the faculty, you will find it is a huge benefit to you. Enjoy the beautiful campus and atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Pittsburg State is a friendly environment for all who attend and visit. The faculty and administration are very welcoming. It is a home away from home.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are alarm buttons everywhere but they're rarely ever needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    Yep! It's pretty easy to start your own too!

    Great for these types of students

    People who like a small school with friendly professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The oval is the centerpiece of the school and really makes the campus look beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest in Kansas.

    What to do for fun

    PARTY! There are also quite a few clubs and organizations to meet people and make friends.

    Food and Dining

    Nom nom noms galore! The food is great. The weekend is the only time that it has any decline in quality.

    Dorm Life

    It can get a bit wild at times but it's not too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try not to get distracted.

    In three sentences

    It's a fantastic school. The dining hall, classes, and people are amazing. The squirrels are definitely the best part though.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus PD works very well with the Pittsburg PD in making sure that the campus is safe for everyone. Lots of people do not think that it's safe, but to be honest, I haven't heard of anything happening on campus in quite a while, so it is rather safe.

    Greek Life

    We have a very large greek life on campus, with five officially-recognized fraternities and three officially-recognized sororities. There are also other social greek organizations on-campus that you can be a part of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a huge amount of clubs and activities on campus. If there's not one that fits your needs or wants, then you can find a friend and a faculty advisor, and you can make your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Social type, anyone who enjoys being in a close-knit environment, technology students, athletes, music students, leaders. If anyone feels ready for college, then this is a great place for them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apple Day is a yearly tradition, which started whenever the president of the university was fined one barrel of apples by the governor of Kansas back when the college was still new. Now it's used to give out awards to outstanding faculty. McCray Hall (music building) is also supposedly haunted, and the stories are quite interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent class sizes, and extremely good quality education, even if you don't factor in the cost. Part of your student fees cover athletic event tickets that are free to you, virtually zero-cost healthcare, funds to put on events for the students, and the upkeep of the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of parties and social gatherings. There's a movie theater, bowling alley, bars if you are of age, and not really more than that. Joplin, MO is half an hour away, however, and Kansas City and Springfield, MO are about 2 hours away, which can make for a fun road trip.

    Food and Dining

    With the dorm meal plan, I would recommend using that, although you may find it hard to eat healthy on-campus at all. If health food is your thing, try Sweet Greens in downtown Pittsburg. There is a wide variety in the dining hall and student center, but you can be bored with it somewhat quickly.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are not the greatest, but function just as well as you need them to. Everyone in the hall becomes friends very quickly, and it's a very close-knit environment. The staff is very lenient with letting you get out and explore Pittsburg and enjoy your college experience, as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your department, you're going to have a harder time, just due to the subject material. The instructors expect only reasonable things from students, and all of the faculty are genuinely caring to the progress of the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    It may be a smaller, cheaper college, but make sure that you take everything seriously and go to class. Speaking as someone who had a problem with skipping previously, it's better to go to class then it is to not. Any grade is better than a zero.

    In three sentences

    An extremely good school for the small amount of money you pay comparatively. Many of the professors here are leaders in their particular fields. A bustling student life, smaller student population, and smaller class size make things more personal, not treating you as a statistic.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe and secure . I never had any worries about my safety.

    Greek Life

    Not diverse at all

    Clubs and Activities

    The one club i participated in was very unorganized and dysfunctional.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who do well in small settings and need that more personal time with their teachers,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Yell like hell is a tradition during homecoming its like a big prep assembly on the football field and the Greeks compete with a dance and a cheer its so fun.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely got a bang for my buck it was very affordable and a perfect fit for me.

    What to do for fun

    Walk the campus, get in organizations, Greek life, parties and

    Food and Dining

    The food was good at first but its nothing like home cooked meals from mom.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was the best and i loved my RA she made my experience even better.

    Academic Rigor

    You are challenge in every way this is definitely not high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help with any of your classes go see the tutors they will really help you to succeed along with your teachers if you communicate with them. Get involved you will make so many connections along with friends for life.

    In three sentences

    I rate Pitt State at a 10. I say a ten because it is very diverse and you never feel alone. Also when ever you need help there is always somewhere to turn.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been incidents but for the most part there's nothing to worry about. There are police buttons in a lot of places and if you ever need anything campus police are a call away. Even if you just need them to walk you to your car or home they are always willing to help you out.

    Greek Life

    There are plenty of Sororities and fraternities to join. Even if you don't find one to join you can always work on bring a new one to the university. They very open and accepting to all prospective members and if you pledge or decide to pledge they always have events going on for their member or prospective member.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of clubs and activities, some are also classes and some arenâ??t. It is really easy to join organizations and if they don't find something that they like they can always start an organization, it's really easy to get everything started and there is always plenty of people with the same interest. If they are a registered organization they are eligible for funding from student government (most are) you just have to fill out a short form consisting of 6 to 7 simple questions.

    Great for these types of students

    The university is great for many different types of students. We have some of the best programs in the state and some even the nation. Some of our best programs include our Business programs, Psychology, Wood Technology, Automotive, Technology, Social work, and Criminal Justice. With an affordable price, great programs, and plenty of job opportunities we get a lot of international students we spends semester or even years studying in PSU.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Football games are a big deal during the fall semester! The community is very involved and tailgating and football games are usually a lot of fun! Homecoming for that reason is very popular, our homecoming involves schools, and local business from town and of course our students. The whole week is usually a lot of fun and you get plenty of free food and stuff! In the spring we have apple day (PSU's birthday) during apple week there are plenty of opportunities for awards, scholarships, and small cash prizes. The university offers many different events to celebrate different PSU holidays or national holidays.

    Bang for the buck

    Pittsburg State University offers many different opportunities that make college a little bit more affordable. If you live in Kansas, you already get in-state tuition, but if you live in certain counties in Missouri, Arkansas, or Oklahoma, you qualify for a tuition program called Gorilla advantage. The gorilla advantage gives certain counties in the tri-state area the ability to pay in-state tuition instead of paying out of state tuition. Another thing that PSU does to help is they have a semester program where if you go different event you sign in and you get point; the person with the highest amount of points gets a scholarship. They give 4 scholarships per year. Of course there is also department scholarship, each department has different scholarship they give, so if you're in a certain department you qualify for their scholarships. Another thing that the university has is the pay plan. If you can't pay tuition or housing all at once you can pay it in four different plans. The plan allows you to break down the payment into four different payments that make is easier to deal with. A different aspect that makes paying for school more affordable is the flat rate the university offers for class. If you take at least 12 (full-time student) you get a flat rate instead of paying per credit hour. This makes tuition cheaper and it makes it easier to take more class for a smaller amount of money. Overall PSU makes college more affordable and easier to pay, and it's worth it. The professors are very knowledgeable about their areas of expertise and if the student has questions they are always willing to help in whichever way they can. The university has many different events so there's always something going on. The university offers many different service such as library, health center, recreation center, pool, track etc. free to all students .

    What to do for fun

    There are many different things to do for fun on campus. There are of course Sporting events. Sporting events are a lot of fun and give you plenty of opportunities to get free stuff, free food, and interact with other students and people in the community. one of the biggest organizations (Student Activities Council) always has events going on for all students and community members. The usually bring people ranging from comedians, hypnotizes, concerts, debates, contest, poets. The different departments also have many different events and contest, Usually there are many awareness events, and events to celebrate their culture. If you can find something to do on campus you can always go into town, there are stores, places with Karaoke, concerts, and many different things. You will always have something going on whether it's on campus or off campus. If you go off campus the community is very supportive of the university that they usually give discounts to PSU students on the different things.

    Food and Dining

    The food is like any other place, there are times when itâ??s bad and then thereâ??s time when itâ??s delicious. The best thing about the dining hall is that they have many options, if you donâ??t like something you can get a salad, a grilled cheese, a regular sandwich or even cereal. There is a cereal bar, a deli bar, and a salad bar pretty much from open to close. If you donâ??t feel like eating at the dining hall they have a food court type deal in the student center with a sub place, pizza hut, Baja bar and other places. If you really donâ??t want to eat in the places on campus there are plenty of restaurants and fast food places near campus.

    Dorm Life

    Residence hall life is what you make it. Most Resident assistants are amazing and are always willing to help you and be there for you. Usually if you ever have a problem, you can go to your RA or your area coordinator and they will do whatever they can to help you resolve the issue. If it comes down to changing rooms, the process is usually really easy and quick. Pretty much, you need to talk to your area coordinator and they will take care of it. The RAs are always planning new events and activities for their residents, you donâ??t have to be their resident to participate if a certain event; if it catches your attention, they encourage you to attend. The RAs do a wonderful job at creating a tight knit community, and most people in your building literally become your family away from home. They become people you can count on to be there for you and be there in your life in years to come.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of classes really depends on your interest in said class, and your studying habits. If you donâ??t have any sort of interest itâ??s going to be harder to concentrate on the class. Like for example a lot of class that are in your major of interest they tend to be more interesting and easier for you. Although there is some challenging classes if you have studying habits they arenâ??t going to kill you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I have for prospective students is to take care of things earlier on. For example, applying for housing and financial aid. If you don't apply for housing earlier on you probably won't get your first choice or it will fill up and you'll have to find somewhere else to live. As for financial aid, if you don't apply earlier on the whole process will be easier and get done on time.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and the campus is not terribly big so it allows you to create a family away from home. The size of the university allows the students to easily get involved or get help if they need it.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of campus police in electric cars riding around. They are very friendly and love to chat. We have emergency buttons all across campus and those friendly officers will be there quick! So you freshman out there, don't stick around too long after you drunk push those blue light up buttons to see what happens!! I warned you!

    Greek Life

    We have 6 fraternities and 3 soroities. They are all pretty cool, and have their own clique. You will learn fast when you get to Pitt. I am not Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am the president of the soccer club here at Pitt and the University is great to us. Provides us allocation money to go to tournaments and host events. ANY club is welcome on campus. It is truly a great experience to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Every body. This college gives every one THE college experience

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only college with a Gorilla as their Mascot... It is Awesome!! Football is huge down here, and our stadium is one of the best in the nation (in Division 2)

    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheapest schools in the nation.. You don't believe me? Look it up, dead serious. www.pittstate.edu there ya go!

    What to do for fun

    Football at Pitt is huge. Go to the games, but more importantly go to the tailgates. Parties are huge but the cops are starting to suck down here. Find friends with house and party there. Or go to the frats, just not Sig Ep... I won't go on.

    Food and Dining

    All you can eat baby! It really is great food, and if you don't like what they have to offer.. They offer a 3-time chance per semester to have steaks/chicken/fish grilled just the way you like it. Who else can say that!

    Dorm Life

    Live in the dorms, go out with your roommate, and enjoy the freshman lifestyle. The rules are pretty lax, as they should be. All of the dorms are being re-modeled so none of them are terrible!

    Academic Rigor

    Pittsburg State is not a hard school to get a degree from. It is considered a teachers college, not a research institute. That being said, we have some of the best professors in the nation in our small town, and if you put the effort in they will guide you to success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here! Live in the dorms and experience what the dorms have to offer. You will meet a lot of awesome people, and have some of the best memories ever! (if you actually remember all of your nights!)

    In three sentences

    One of the best life choices I have made so far. Pitt State has pride, tradition, and legacy within the acres of it's beautiful campus. Once a Go-rilla, Always a Go-Rilla!

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are numerous call buttons placed throughout campus. If you are in danger, just push the button and police will be there.

    Greek Life

    There are 3 sororities and 5 fraternities at Pitt State, all into the community, especially Pi Kappa Alpha.

    Clubs and Activities

    An uncountable number of clubs and activities are available at Pitt State.

    Great for these types of students

    All students! Pitt has a number of traditional and non-traditional students, foreign exchange students, and more. There isn't a type of student that won't fit in here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I wouldn't say unusual, but there is a coffee shop and mexican bar in the basement of the student center where they hold concerts and poetry jams.

    Bang for the buck

    Pittsburg State is the definition of bang for your buck! They offer flat rate tuition, one price, no matter how many credits you enroll in. Also Pittsburg State offers in state tuition for certain counties in surrounding states.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of stuff to do in Pittsburg. There is a good selection of restaurants, such as; Chilis, Applebee's, Taco Bell, McDonald's, Subway, Chatters, Mall Deli, Del Rio, and more. There is a bowling alley, a movie theatre, a small mall, multiple golf courses, and mini golf. Like I said before, if you get bored, Joplin is only 35 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall at Pittsburg has great food, and a good drink selection. They have pizza everyday as well as salad bar. They feature a large selection of wraps, cookies, desserts, and sodas, as well as kool-aid, milk, juice, and coffee. They even host holiday themed dinners i.e. Thanksgiving, Halloween.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Pitt is exceptional. My freshman year, other than cross country, I can't think of a time that I felt more like a part of something. Your whole hall will be like a small family. There are always dorm activities going on in the basement.

    Academic Rigor

    Pittsburg State offers just the right amount of rigor. You can make it here, but you can't just expect to skate by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be ready to have a good time. Pittsburg State offers a fantastic education no matter what your field may be, and the class sizes are never too big. It may not be a huge town, but there is always something to do. And if you get bored, Joplin isn't too far away.

    In three sentences

    Amazing atmosphere for all students. There are so many groups, activities, and sports to participate in. Awesome college town feel, from sports, to activities, to school spirit scattered throughout the town.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    43 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Huge selection of clubs available, and it's super easy to start your own. Only need 3 people as base members.

    Bang for the buck

    Flat tuition rate for full-time students, regardless of how many credit hours taken above the necessary 12.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great. Delish!

    Dorm Life

    Won't be living on-campus, so auto 5-stars.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    There's a ton of advantage programs for students living close Pittsburg, even students in KC, MO can receive in state tuition depending on which county they live in! Check it out!

    Food and Dining

    Your typical dining hall food. But the chicken noodle soup is fantastic. There's also places to eat in the Student Center and the Technology center, plus the coffee shop in the Library!

    Dorm Life

    All but one of the dorms have been recently renovated and are really nice! The RA's are amazing and there's always something going on in each residence hall.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect nothing less than your best. Work hard, study, and you can get that A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships within your major by Feb 1st!

    In three sentences

    Pitt State is a great place to call home with professors and teachers who love what they teach. The community is great and there's hundreds of ways to get involved on campus. Don't wait, apply today!

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of clubs and organizations, if you can't find one you like, make one.

    Food and Dining

    On campus or off, there's plenty to eat. And cheap for the most part.

    Dorm Life

    Not staying in dorms as of right now. Friends say they are great.

    Academic Rigor

    Great faculty. Te teachers really know what they are teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for this college, wether you think you may or may not go there, they'll take great care of you during the summer before you decide which college to attend and may change your mind.

    In three sentences

    A great college. They go above and beyond all expectations. The faculty is great when getting involved or needing help.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have alarms all around for emergencies press an alarm police show up in less than 2 minutes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fantastic very diverse

    What to do for fun

    Must get in with clubs and organizations otherwise the only things to do in this town are go see a movie, go to walmart, or go bowling.

    Food and Dining

    They serve mostly the same stuff generally but it tastes pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    entertaining and rowdy if you're a guy. Ladies floors are usually quite and relaxing.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough classes offered but passable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and stay for a day to decide if you really like it. Check out the clubs and see if any of them interest you they have over 100 so there is bound to be something here for you.

    In three sentences

    Great atmosphere lots of opportunities to get involved and plenty of time to get in touch with teachers. Lots of opportunities to meet new students as well. Great library access and hours with affordable tuition.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Th relaxation room is perfect for those stressful nights. There are dozens of organizations on campus, too. Finally, the first week of school has what is called Get Down in Pitt Town, where businesses offer free or discounted items to students who show their ID.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't great. Bring your own, for sure.

    Dorm Life

    Residence Hall Assembly sponsors a pizza or ice cream party for the floor with the most on-campus participation at the end of each semester.

    Academic Rigor

    My professors started in on the first day, and expected us to know about the subject. We are expected to read the book, check Canvas, and participate in class daily.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Don't walk on Broadway alone. 2. Apply for University scholarships early. 3. Make contact with your academic advisor within the first week of school. 4. Go to an early Pitt CARES. You'll get the classes you want, with the best instructors. 5. Don't drink and walk alone, or through town, if you're under 21. The cops WILL find you. 6. Prospective nursing students should know that the nursing program will not accept anyone with a drug or alcohol record-- even something as minor as an MIP. 7. Order your books, then read them, during the summer. 8. Bring plenty of red and gold. Pitt Pride is everywhere! 9. Look for outside scholarships. 10. Keep your grades up! 11. Finally, join an organization! (Or two, three... .Join ten!)

    In three sentences

    Pittsburg, Kansas is the ideal college town. It has discounts galore for students, and many churches sponsor activities for those attending the school. PSU is also very safe, with a large police force which will be expanding in October.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus police station.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Untraditional Traditional Low income

    Bang for the buck

    No cap on the number of classes you can take and the tuition is flat rate.

    What to do for fun

    Attend football games. This is a very sporty school lots of stuff that is sports related to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I bring my lunch but there are many restaurants in addition to a dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You will learn here. The professors are willing to help but learning the subjects are the point and you are responsible for taking in what they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of professor office hours for extra help. Also use the free tutors the departments provide. Don't give up for many teachers add points for attendance, effort, and give extra credit.

    In three sentences

    Pittsburg State University serious university that has professors that care about students. This school is in a small community that is great for families. It is a pleasure to attend PSU.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ambitious students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you walk on the oval the gorilla you can see ghosts at night.

    Bang for the buck

    Lots of scholarships and opportunities. Cheap but quality education!

    What to do for fun

    Party, Join clubs and activities and go to cultural events.

    Food and Dining

    D-Hall...no. just no.

    Dorm Life

    Nation Hall is crazy loud and fun! The rest...I don't know.

    Academic Rigor

    Not bad for a state school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study. Don't be lazy or procrastinate. Never forget to enjoy college parties and activities.

    In three sentences

    Crazy people with a heart a size of an elephant. Lots of attention to each individual student. Must study.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good

    What to do for fun

    I have a family so when I get home I spend time with my family. I am a non trational student.

    Food and Dining

    Very goood

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, what I hear they good

    Academic Rigor

    Your in College now , it will be tough but if you work hard you will do good

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard attend school when you have classes. Seek help when needed.

    In three sentences

    Pittsburg State University, is a very good school to attend. I have enjoyed going to school at PSU. The teachers are very knowlegdable in what they teach , they care about their students. They help whenever they can, very easy to talk to. I love this school.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    51 of 56

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great school with great professors. Small class sizes that keep it personal. They really want to see you succeed.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pittsburgh State University is a secured campus. There are phones along the sidewalks around campus to contact the campus police. These officers are not security guards, but are actual police offers who work for Pittsburgh, Kansas. The campus police are located in the shrik building which is located by Tanner, Trout, and Bowen dorms.

    Greek Life

    Pittsburgh State University offers three sororities and seven fraternities.

    What to do for fun

    There are many thing to do for fun on campus. There are many different clubs and activities provided on campus. The workout center offers plenty of options of workout equipment, indoor track, and also has three different basketball courts. Also the recreational center offers zumba, yoga, and boot camp if you are interested.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is a wonderful place. The cooks and employees are very nice and wonderful. The food is always fresh, and not to mention we have soft cookies that always taste great. The dining hall always has pizza and other great tasting foods. There is many different options of beverages such as flavored water, hot chocolate, soda, tea and juice. The dining hall is opened all day so you are able to go and eat whenever your heart desires. Also, in the student services building there is pizza hut a café and other food areas but have different hours than the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Most of the dorms have been renovated which makes the dorm life a better atmosphere. The beds are comfortable and the furniture that is in the room is nice. When choosing your dorm you really don't know what the difference is. Bowen, Tanner, and Trout are the dorms that have just been recently renovated. These dorms are known to be the quiet dorms. Also, they are closer to the football field and a father from the dining hall. Which doesn't sound bad, but when it is winter time it feels too cold to walk across campus to go and eat. Dellinger and Nation hall are the dorms that are closer to everything they are more of the louder dorms. Most of the basketball and football players live in these dorms. Dellinger is the nicer dorms they also have been recently renovated. Nation has not been renovated but will in the summer of 2014. The pros of living in nation is there are a lot of people, you are closer to classes and the dinning hall. The cons are they are louder dorms especially on the weekends. But overall the dorm life is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Pittsburgh State University was recently ranked in 2014 as number 77 for the best colleges in the regional universities (Midwest). Everyone on campus is motivated to succeed. The advisors are there to help you if you are not comfortable in a class. Also, there is tutoring available to each student free of charge. Also, if you need an essay looked over, or don't know how to start a paper you can visit the writing center and they are there to help you on your paper.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pittsburgh State University is a great campus. The best advice is join clubs and meet people to help your experience of being a college student. There is a great workout center that has many different equipment, and it also offers zumba, boot camp workout, and yoga. In the weede building there is a pol available for the students. Everything around campus is in walking distance. Its a wonderful atmosphere and is very diverse.

    In three sentences

    Pittsburgh State University is a great and secured campus. Is well known for their caring and professional facility who will help you get through your journey. Offers small classes and academic opportunities tailored to fit your needs.

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    53 of 56

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I like the fact that university is close to home and affordable. Athletics is a big thing to me and Pittsburg State fits that bill

  • 05/03/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    54 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At Pittsburg State you can discover a wide array of extracurricular activities designed to round out your education. There are countless ways to get involved, meet new people, and enjoy life on a beautiful college campus.

    Food and Dining

    Your dining experience is more than great food. It is community experience centered on culinary expertise, fresh ingredients, healthy options and a shared sense of environmental and social responsibility.

    Dorm Life

    University Housing provides safe, attractive, and comfortable residential facilities and a well balanced, attractive, food service program, both competitively priced. The residence halls provide an environment which enhances students intellectual and social development. Each building is staffed with student oriented professionals and paraprofessionals. Summer programs include housing for students, camps and conferences requiring campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The student-faculty ratio at Pittsburg State University is 19:1, and the school has 51.4 percent of its classes with fewer than 20 students. The most popular majors at Pittsburg State University include: Elementary Education and Teaching; Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse; Business/Commerce, General; Construction Management; and Psychology, General. The average freshman retention rate, an indicator of student satisfaction, is 72.3 percent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with the activities that's going around campus while getting to meet new people and also making sure your grades are your number one priority.

    In three sentences

    A great community that is very involved with the events that's happening on campus and likes to attend every home athletic game. Also Pittsburg State is known for there graduation rate.

  • 05/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Russian club, Korean club, Chinese club, International gatherings, Taste & Sounds of Nations, Food & Culture Fair. Sports Tournaments

    What to do for fun

    We play soccer or basketball. We go to Gorilla lake.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students feel comfortable at PSU, where International Office staff is always there to help.

    In three sentences

    The professors are highly-qualified. The diversity of the college is vast what allows to learn more from students. Campus life is filled with various entertaining activities.

  • 10/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of different parties here!

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall isn't that great. However, there is another place to eat called Gorilla Crossing which provides noodles, pizza, subway... etc.

    Dorm Life

    There are freshman and upperclassman dorms. Freshman dorms such as Nation and Dellinger are loud and more childish but fun at the same time. Upperclassman dorms such as Willard are more responsible and mature.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not hard to study here as long as you go to class and study for the tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the events the school holds. They have lots of them! Try new things, clubs, meeting new people so that you can know what you like and dislike!

    In three sentences

    This school is located in a remote area, so it helps students focus on studying, and it provides good career office, too!