Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Plymouth State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Education Majors, Anything that you can think of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in as much as you can! That was the best decision I made, it was to get involved. I have so many more friends and I just enjoy college even more because the friends you make at college are most likely going to be in your life for a long time. Make upperclassmen friends so they can help you with homework and any other types of problems, they probably had the same problem you have. Make sure that you bring flip-flops, nobody at any college wants to shower without them. Have fun, its the best time of your life.

    Bang for the buck

    I actually don't know what this is but I have to put a star so I put one. Financial Aid is great here so coming here hopefully for you wont cost a lot. Spending money here is hard to stop because there is delivery and you want to call the Chinese place and get your egg rolls but you need to control yourself. The good thing is that there is a Wal-Mart, which is always cheap and a Dollar Store.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is the best experience that I could ask for. I have made so many new friends at Plymouth. The best thing is meeting upperclassmen, it is awesome because they are your best friends and ask you if you want to live in an apartment with them because they need another roommate. It is way better than living in a dorm. You get to take and shower without flip-flops on!

    Am learning a lot

    I didn't know how much I didn't know until I started taking classes in college.

  • 01/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who want to get a really good education and have some fun at the same time. Along with academics there are plenty of clubs and sports teams you can join. It's just a great school in general. You'll love it here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Turn in you assignments on time. Get some sleep. Don't procrastinate. Don't be afraid to make some friends. Don't know how? Take your books or your laptop and study in the common area of your residence hall. Everyone studies out there. You're bound to make a friend or two.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is definitely worth it, but it's not exactly cheap. If I didn't love it, I wouldn't be here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here! Every where you go there's a friendly face: my professors, library staff, dining hall staff, the residents in my dorm hall...everybody. The campus is small, so I can get to my classes on foot and fairly quickly.

    Am learning a lot

    I've only completed my first semester, but I've learned so much. I took a class called Environmental Geography. I knew that the world had it's problems, but this course really opened my eyes to the real problems of the world. I also took a course called Are cell phones destroying civilized society? This one was really interesting. You know how people are always on their cell phones nowadays. They carry it around like an appendage. Some people just can't live with out them. We discussed whether cell phones really were making people and society uncivilized. Should we get rid of cell phones? Are they ruining people lives? And are people really addicted to texting?

  • 12/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students of all wants and needs. Plymouth offers recreational sports, theatre, language programs, and hundreds of clubs such as the PSU democrats or the gamers club. There is something for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    enjoy the great surrounding mountains which provide great opportunities for skiing, snowboarding,and hiking.It is a clean campus and everyone in the town is very friendly. during the warm months there is a river for tubing and the lakes region is just ten minutes down the road.Plymouth has a good reputation throughout New England and a state of the art library.

    Bang for the buck

    you def get your money's worth. Great classes and all kinds of support centers ranging from computer support to the Writing Center

    Am enjoying being here

    i love Plymouth and i think it is totally worth the out of state price. i love the clean air and the friendly people in the area. my classes are challenging but interesting

    Am learning a lot

    more then i can can handle. classes are actually interesting.

  • 07/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Sure, you still have to get up on time, go to class, and do the homework, but after that it's your choice. There are enough clubs and activities to appeal to almost anyone: Medieval Society, Women's Rugby, Intramural Sports in General, Skiing, Japanese Culture and Animation Club, the newspaper, the radio... this campus is for anyone who'd like to get involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of what's offered! The writing center is free to use, and they can offer help on almost any paper at any stage, whether it's brainstorming a topic or checking a final draft for citation errors. The PASS tutoring center is also free, and tutoring comes from students who took (and did well in) the class, as well as general tutors. No shame in using any of it; in fact, several professors offer extra credit. And the professors themselves are easy to get in contact with.

    Bang for the buck

    The five-stars is an in-state thing. Out of state, it'd probably be a star less. It costs about $20,000 a year, when you take books and other things into account; as colleges go, it's not as cheap as a community college, but it could be far worse. But for this, you get over twenty clubs, meals, plenty of FLEX-cash for use in vending machines and laundry (no messing with quarters!), computers everywhere you look, professors who go out of their way to help, and a beautiful area.

    Am enjoying being here

    If I didn't love it, I'd be transferred somewhere else already. Almost all professor is devoted to the job, and really loves teaching; you can tell. As for the students, here's something no tour will tell you: the first week of school, almost every organization on campus will make you welcome. My first week, I sat with three clubs, two sororities, and the Women's Rugby Team, all people who saw a new student sitting alone and decided to make her welcome. There's tons to do, and the people are amazing; I couldn't ask for more.

    Am learning a lot

    I don't care what your major is, the general education classes are really well-rounded and try to appeal to individual students while giving a good education. I took a history class called Arthurian Legends and spent a semester learning about the kings Arthur could have been based on, the places the stories could have been in, and the real life history of what was going on at the time. Most of the classes-- current events, science, math-- are grounded in real world applications, or real life experiences, which make them easier to learn.

  • 06/07/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The ambitious and social types will find no shortage of opportunity at Plymouth. It has many open-ended paths to take and plenty of friendly faces. There are many students that coast by doing the bare minimum but it shows come graduation day when people are looking for work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay away from Omega, enjoy your moments on Russell Street, but remember that it boils down to the education at the end. Make friends with your professors and learn what they like, it's your job to please them.

    Bang for the buck

    Plymouth is great for in-state students and offers great value as a traditional 4-year institution. Financial aid is ready and willing to help you, but prices can be a bit steep if you're coming in from elsewhere.

    Did enjoy being here

    Plymouth is an absolute blast. If you take the opportunity to get to know your professors, classmates and northern NH environment you'll never have a shortage of good times and good company. The University staff is friendly and accommodating when treated with respect and you shouldn't have any problems.

    Did learn a lot

    Plymouth offers a wide variety of majors, and is an excellent launching point for graduate studies in many fields. In my experience courses in a particular focus were interesting and the professors were very engaged in the material, however core classes that were prerequisites and graduation requirements tended to be lackluster as is par for the course.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you can call upd for an escort, but the campus is well lit at night and openly visible (no alleys or questionable areas).

    Greek Life

    not very prominent.

    Clubs and Activities

    sailing club!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    get a picture with robert frost

    Bang for the buck

    pricey to attend, even as an in-state student.

    What to do for fun

    ski/snowboard, hike, intramural sports, hockey games, etc. you'll always find parties on the weekends, but if you are just looking for a place to do some dancing, off campus houses are the best place.

    Food and Dining

    slightly questionable at times, and repetitive. we could definitely use for options, open for longer periods of time (past 10 pm)

    Dorm Life

    so long as you are in mary lyon or langdon woods, your experience will be nicer due to the joyful, open atmosphere. the other halls are just places to live, they don't have much to add to the college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on what your major is, you could have a very comfortable college career, or a vigorous one. sciences tend to mean more work, labs, writing, and less sleep. the best students use resources, like on campus tutors, to help them succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    always try to get into mary lyon hall. go to your first party and drink water (it will show you how much alcohol you will likely consume due to boredom/lulls at parties). don't be afraid to be a nerd, smart people make good choices, often have better bank balances, and remember the fun they do have.

    In three sentences

    plymouth state is a wonderful fit for me. it has a nicely sized campus and about 5,000 students. its location is prime, close to multiple ski mountains, hiking trails, and lakes.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The local police also patrol the campus, it's very small, so they're very visible and accessible. Like anyplace, you have to be smart, but Plymouth is a pretty small place with plenty of people around most of the time.

    Greek Life

    There is Greek Life, I have not gotten involved at this point but it's there. Do plan on becoming a member of the Communications Honor Society, Lambda Pi Eta.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons! take advantage, you can even take plenty of 1 credit courses that are just plain old fun, like pilates yoga, badminton, gold, scuba diving lessons, but there are a ton of traditional clubs as well. There is always something to do.

    Great for these types of students

    If you appreciate small classes and you want to take advantage of a college community that offers a lot of support, both in and out of the classroom, than Plymouth is a great place to be. There are plenty of parties if that's what you want, but if you want your education to count for something and are willing to put in the time, no matter where you go, Plymouth offers a tremendous amount of support with regards to classes, jobs, career building, internships, travel as exchange students, etc. I am a pretty dedicated student and after two years here see the value in really getting to know my professors and everyone else that's here to help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Of course the quad is always active, new this year was the introduction of Humans v. Zombies which has really gained popularity and is a blast!

    Bang for the buck

    It's amazing how much Plymouth State offers it's students if you care to take the time to explore. Their website has a page called this week at Plymouth State and the list of events just goes on and on if you take the time to check it out. There is always some event, whether sporting or cultural, the area is beautiful, I find the community very supportive of the school and the school very supportive of the community, a very good relationship all around. Many of the staff have been here for years, many alumni work here, including the staff I traveled to Ireland with during my very first semester at Plymouth! But you really have to be the right type of person to do that, self reliance is a must, but worth the time to do it.

    What to do for fun

    There are a crazy amount of clubs! Brand new ice rink, tons of theatre/cultural events at Silver Arts Center all the time, the entire Plymouth area utilizes this facility so there is always something there. Of course skiing in winter, plenty of places to spend time outdoors, hiking, really a beautiful area and Lake Winnepesaukee is 25 minutes away in Meredith. Nice old theatre in town that was just reopened a few years ago so always something happening there too. PSU also has alot of lectures going on all the time too if you want to expand your mind beyond the classroom and share someone else's experiences.

    Food and Dining

    The meals have been pretty good so far, lots of selection and if you miss a meal you do have plenty of options to be able to grab something at several of the other cafes on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a little dated but I've been fortunate enough to find a great group of friends so it doesn't matter. I will say everytime I've returned after a break something new has been done so that's a good thing. Langdon Hall is brand new and I'm hoping to get into an on campus apartment my junior year.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found most of my courses as academically challenging as I make the effort for them to be. You'll always have some classes you enjoy more than others no matter where you are. I love the small class sizes and feel I get as much attention as I need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet as many people on your own outside of the school tour, poke around alot and don't be afraid to say hello and ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Very supportive community of professors and all staff. Any help I've needed and asked for in my two years here so far I've gotten with a smile!

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have the blue lights that call 911 when you push the but plus the main campus is very well lit and Plymouth police are always around.

    Greek Life

    Minimal

    Clubs and Activities

    They have loads of clubs that are offered form voulenteering Club to a pride club also clubs based on major so you meet people with similar interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Plymouth is great for people who don't mind the outdoors and likes the snow.

    Bang for the buck

    The Amount you pay for what Plymouth has to offer is great. Compared to some schools I would even say it is a deal to go to Plymouth.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends. Skiing, snow boarding, other outdoor sports. Join a club.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall as a large variety from pizza to vegetarian selections. But there is also the different place around campus that you can do meal exchange at times the dinning hall is closed.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun but you have to remember you are there for school. You will meet really nice people and have lots of fun. The dorms set up different activities through out the year like tie dye or trick of treat, sports games parties.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that the work that is assigned is useful and will be in the future on the job. You have to keep up with it or you will fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be considerate to roommate you will be living with them for the whole year sorry to find some common ground. Don't procrastinate all you get from that is more stress and bad grades. Do the homework it really doses matter and get involved.

    In three sentences

    Plymouth is a great school. Truly not what I expect from a state school being a transfer from a private university. I fell as thought I have learnt more at Plymouth then my other school, and I have grown more independent living on campus

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University police are always patrolling campus and we have an operational blue light system.

    Greek Life

    We have various sororities and fraternities on campus for all different styles.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have over 100 clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    a good commuter school, also good for outdoorsy students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are two things you will remember about this school. 1) the plymouth plague, every year there is at least two people in every class that are constantly sick no matter what. 2) the pumpkins. On the top of rounds hall every year somehow, a pumpkin ends up hanging on the top spear, no teacher puts it there and no one knows how it gets there but it does. every year.

    Bang for the buck

    For the surprisingly low tuition price this school has it has really good programs.

    What to do for fun

    I haven't found a whole lot of things to do for fun around here yet. without traveling to a nearby town, but that could be because i am used to a town where everything is nearby.

    Food and Dining

    We have really good food here at breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It's got it's everyday food and then a main station that changes everyday

    Dorm Life

    Some dorm buildings are better than others, but it all matters what you do. if you make the most of it, it'll be a fun year.

    Academic Rigor

    My class work was pretty much the same as my high school work was and i was in a normal high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Make friends. Don't be afraid. Enjoy the next four years.

    In three sentences

    Plymouth state is a good size community with a friendly environment. However in the town there isn't really any public transportation so having a car is really a must seeing as how most stores are a bit far away, at least to walk.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I usually watch movies or hangout.

    Food and Dining

    The union grille is pretty good but that is about it the dining hall food is not so appetizing.

    Dorm Life

    I live and grafton hall and absolutely hate it. the girls are not that clean and there is not good paper and the bathrooms are gross pretty much all the time, the janitors try their hardest to keep it clean but there is no use for it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not that hard. They are pretty moderate if you do all the work and study sometimes you will be fine. The teachers are really nice and helpful though, so you will not be disappointed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not plan on going here is you do not like to drink or smoke it's pretty much everywhere. But for those of you who do this is the right school for you, you will not be disappointed.

    In three sentences

    I personally do not like the school, because their is not anything to do besides going to parties. I am not much of a party goer and I am too focused on my education for that.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music/theatre/dance students, meteorology students, education/teacher certification students, students who are looking to learn about and manage time management skills, students who are content in a small town setting, students who are looking for good one-on-one personal attention and mostly small class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a job and don't order out all the time. Study and work hard (you ARE their to get an education), make friends with people in your major and be open to meeting people through others. Don't get bummed about the freshman 15-- everyone gets it. Just love what you're doing and constantly have an interest in new things, you could find that your talent has far more potential than you ever realized.

    Bang for the buck

    As much as I love Plymouth, it unfortunately receives a bad reputation. Also, the financial aid and bursars office has constantly given incorrect information, making me not ask for enough money from my student loan and making me pay large sums out of pocket to avoid costly fees (because of THEIR mistake). I absolutely hate dealing with the financial matters as they are incredibly unorganized (constantly distributing funds incorrectly has been among the worst of their flaws with my experience with them).

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes. Being a double option trying to graduate early, there is a pretty good workload, but if you're a single option on a 4-5 year program, it's not so bad. PSU is a nice atmosphere, fairly rural but has stores along a strip right next to campus, as well as a Wal-Mart just down the road. Usually it is quiet, but sometimes there are loud students from parties (but that happens on most/all college campuses).

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are knowledgeable, courteous, but will kick you into shape. The teachers I have had are all diverse in their methods of teaching and willing to bring you up to their level rather than talk down to the students. The music, theatre and dance department is spectacular and they put on amazing productions and performances, giving all students equal opportunity to do what they love as well as expand their horizon of talent and interest.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are plenty of activities here to get involved in, so no matter your interest you'll find something. There are sports teams for athletic people, and there's a good theater program for those who love to act. The art department is good as well, and the teachers are amazing. This school is great for people who get involved and enjoy a small campus town environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to school with an open mind. If you hate it and it doesn't get better over time, still do good in your classes you can transfer. If you hate it at first and feel like it won't get better, it probably will. Everyone told me it would get better, and it did. So, just do you best in classes and keep an open mind.

    Bang for the buck

    A lot of people have had issues with trying to come up with the money to come here, it is expensive but not as expensive as other Universities in New Hampshire. Overall, I think the education you will be receiving is worth it but I don't agree with the meal plan. That's something I don't think is worth your money. But still, the education you will be receiving is worth it in the end.

    Am enjoying being here

    At first, I didn't like being here. I didn't think anyone here was friendly. One thing I definitely did not like was Thirsty Thursdays but as the semester rolls on I've become accustomed to everything on campus, I enjoy being here a lot more.

    Am learning a lot

    All of the classes are extremely interesting. I like the teachers, each one brings a different thing to the classroom. When I first started the semester, I was undeclared, so I've been taking General Education classes. Most people say they dread them, but the ones I'm currently taking not only are teaching me a lot but also very interesting.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone who wants to learn. A great school for the non-traditional student who is trying to juggle school, work, and family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard but have fun. Do not skip classes, if you do it is very hard to catch up.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is not too pricey for the education that you receive but the textbooks could be cheaper

    Am enjoying being here

    The other students, faculty, and staff always welcome you with kind words and a smile.

    Am learning a lot

    When I first started here I did not even know how to use a computer. The professors here always aim to make sure that you understand everything that they are teaching you. I can now not only use a computer more efficiently but I can also do many different programs such a excel and access.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Study hard, do all my school works, helps others who need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    friendly and helpful.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like the school, the environment, the classrooms, and the people around me (students, professors, and others).

    Am learning a lot

    I learned a lot from the classes that I did this fall semester 2011 and I hope it continue for the four years that I will be here.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Go with a school that feels right to you, don't apply or lean towards a certain school just because it's where your friends are going. College is a great time to branch out and everyone meets new people and develops new friendships, whats right for your friends may not be right for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    When time comes to fill out your dorming sheet, think of location! The campus is fairly small but depending on whats more important to you you have Belknap and Pemi right next to the library, or Smith and Grafton right near the dining hall! Personally I opted for Blair right smack in the middle and really enjoyed my first semester there.

    Bang for the buck

    Being an out of state student and since Plymouth is a state school my tuition is higher than for in state students. However, it was very easy for me to set up a payment plan that fit mine and my parents budget and they were very accommodating. After receiving my university grant I only had to take out a small loan and it is a good feeling not having the pressure of large loans piling up, especially when I have plans for Graduate school.

    Am enjoying being here

    Plymouth is a great environment to be in, the area it's self is gorgeous and there is nothing like seeing the mountains from your dorm window. The teachers and staff are all so friendly and helpful, being an incoming Freshman was very overwhelming but everyone is very nice and it is a very easy environment to adapt to, without a doubt there is a place for everyone to fit in. There is a huge number of clubs and organizations that are very easy to get involved in, along with a number of inter-mural sports that are so much fun and don't involve the commitment of playing a full time sport. There is also a ton of Greek life at Plymouth if that is something you are interested in and they are constantly reaching out to students, and rushes are a lot of fun even if you decide not to join.

    Am learning a lot

    The small class sizes at Plymouth really allow for a totally different learning environment than you would find at larger Universities. For me I have found that this learning environment suits me very well, smaller classes means more one on one time with your professors to really be able to ask questions and get the most out of what they are teaching, opposed to a lecture hall of 300 kids where the teacher can't even see you raising your hand.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 50

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is has a good environment for learning.Great advisers in all fields of academic studies.Great supporting extra curricular activities.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If your old enough there are plenty of bars, but there are frequent concerts and other things going on to keep people entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall food isn't that bad, but it starts to wear on you by the end of a semester. But luckily there are a good amount of places to eat outside of there.

    Dorm Life

    I love having a room away from home even if I have to share it, and there are always goofy goings on in the dorm halls.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes definitely keep me working.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to be active in meeting new people, and don't let opportunities or people pass you by.

    In three sentences

    The school is great, but not perfect (not that anything ever is). Plenty of friendly people and a beautiful campus, along with various degrees and things to do around the school.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    university police is responsive, if a bit slow some days, and keeps campus on a level where i only feel uncomfortable walking around at night when i watch scary movies. there is rarely any violence, and any time there is any worries, students can sign up for emergency alert texts that let them know when to stay inside or where to avoid.

    Greek Life

    if you're looking for a school with greek life, we have delta zeta... but i would suggest going elsewhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    pretty comprehensive - for every major and interest type. some of the clubs need a little reviving, but they're at least there for working. our school newspaper is pretty big, along with our radio station, gaming club, poetry and open-mic night.

    Great for these types of students

    outdoorsy or outdoor-active (lots of hiking, kayaking, skiing, snowboarding, tubing, etc). also great for students that are looking for an open and safe community for qlbta.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year, without fail and with some surprise, pumpkins can be found around halloween on the spire towers on top of our rounds hall. blair hall has secret tunnels and is supposedly haunted!

    Bang for the buck

    tuition has gone up recently, but for an in-state or meteorology out-of-state, the school is still a good deal for everything that they offer.

    What to do for fun

    if of age, lucky's or panther pub are great places to have a beer, hang out, listen to music or watch the game - with weekend dancing for those who enjoy it. for those who aren't, or want to skip it, there is always gaming every thursday and saturday night, art classes offered downtown for everyone, humans v. zombies, snowboarding and skiing, hiking all around plymouth, the pemigewasset river for any of your water-needs, and plenty of places to volunteer.

    Food and Dining

    the dining hall is fairly large, with a lot of comprehensive food. there are gluten-free, lactose-free, and vegan/vegetarian options offered every day at every meal. there is also always a stir-fry, hot meal, pasta, burgers and pizza stations always set up. if you aren't in the mood for the dining hall, there are four other places on campus to get a coffee and bagel, or other small things between meals. there is also plenty of off-campus (but practically on) restaurants that both deliver and have good food. there's also a new burrito place going in downtown!

    Dorm Life

    the dorms, while a little old, are clearly going through and getting their updates, one step at a time. work orders are fixed in a timely manner, and the community advisors (which replace traditional ras), are friendly and social, and keep programming focused on what the residents want to do.

    Academic Rigor

    there is a lot of lax in some of the general education courses, but within one's major, there is plenty of healthy competition and chances to achieve. there is usually a lot of internships, campus jobs, and different scholarships available for those best in their major. there is also an active association and professors for most of the majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're thinking about coming to plymouth - there are a few things to consider. plymouth state has a very large, open, and active qslta community - aiming towards a welcoming and non-judgmental university. plymouth has a very active lifestyle - between socialization, a great outdoor program for everyone to use, and competitive academics, psu is set for students that are looking for a place to challenge themselves physically, academically, and socially.

    In three sentences

    psu is a university for those looking for a great community, in and out of their school, with lots of shops and small restaurants. there is an active and relaxed environment, with lots of on-campus activities available, as well as within reach of some of the country's best skiing communities. plymouth is a great place to get your undergraduate degree if you're looking for good resources, experienced teachers, and an open environment for learning.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i commute to school so i generally miss the fun activities that happen on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the dinning hall is a great buffet style, and there are places to get bagels all over the place.

    Dorm Life

    i commute to school.

    Academic Rigor

    because i do not live on campus, many of the rules do not effect me therefore they work well for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to adjust your classes in a way that will work for you.

    In three sentences

    the best part about plymouth is the class room environment. i like the smaller class sizes and most of the teachers are easy to reach when there are questions. the food in the dinning hall is also great.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Of course

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to venture out, but still get an education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    PHOP- good pizza for a dollar a slice.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of places to eat, or hangout.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in ready to have a good time, but also remember you are here to learn.

    In three sentences

    Plymouth State University is a great university. I enjoy my time here, and have excelled in my education. The professors are great and I can go to them at anytime.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 50

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    PSU is a small school which I find nice because the largest class I've ever had is around 30 people. The campus itself is beautiful during certain times of the year and the staff is really friendly. The dorms can be chaotic but are accommodating.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Halloween a pumpkin appears on the clock spire. No one knows how it gets there or how it disappears.

    What to do for fun

    The students here are really friendly, so making friends certainly won't be an issue. There are all kinds of clubs to join, recreational and college-level sports to play, and there are shops on the main road within 7 minutes of walking.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Hall and other cafes, grilles and shops are all managed by the Sodexo company. They always have a variety of food to choose from and the employees are really friendly.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Blair Hall and I love it! It's right in the center of campus, and a five-minute walk from any of the classroom buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on which types of classes you take. Generally, there isn't very much daily homework, but papers are plentiful. your freshman composition class really helps you hone your paper-writing skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work really hard, even if your freshman classes seem easy. Choose a couple classes you think you'll enjoy, but don't forget about the required ones too!

    In three sentences

    Plymouth State University has a small campus, but a great atmosphere. It's the perfect school if you enjoy learning, socializing, and being outdoors. The campus is compact and the surrounding town makes the campus feel more like home than school.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plymouth is a very outdoor orienated area. Hiking, skiing, snowboarding, and swimming are popular.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty decent. There are tons of options.

    Dorm Life

    Living with other students is fun and helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't easy, but they aren't impossible. As long as you do the work and study, you get a good outcome. I've learned alot and it's only my first year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep ontop of your work. Apply for scholarships. Study alot.

    In three sentences

    Plymouth State is full of friendly people. I love it here. The teachers and classes are awesome too!

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is extremely active on campus. Although not many Greek organizations are affiliated by the school, don't let that fool you. There are a lot of organizations on campus that the school doesn't recognize, but are still very large, well known, and active on campus. A lot of fun people are Greek and it is worth everyone's time to check out Greek Life.

    Bang for the buck

    On the cheaper side for colleges and it'sa great place socially and academically.

    What to do for fun

    Local outdoorsy things. Skiing and snowboarding is huge, hiking, rivers, lakes.

    Food and Dining

    Bad food at weird hours.

    Dorm Life

    Different dorm buildings have really different atmospheres. Some are way more friendly and fun and some are pretty cut off. There's always places you can find to hang out and have fun, or be quiet by yourself and get work done.

    Academic Rigor

    You really have to actually show up and do your work. That being said, it is't too hard to pass and do well in your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The work isn't hard if you do it. Give a little bit of effort and it will pay off.

    In three sentences

    Really fun place

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    good food joints. 6 burner bistro for life!

    Dorm Life

    my freshmen year sucked but u can get out of the dorms your second year... its awesome and the off campus living is sweet.

    Academic Rigor

    good teachers and awesome classes

    Tips for prospective students

    get a job at one of the mountains do well your first two years it totally makes a difference.

    In three sentences

    awesome school with a small campus that is easy to get around. striving to go more green and conservation aspects. Skiing and snowboarding is awesome up here, so if you like to do that and attend college come to PSU.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Plymouth State University has a Police force that is right in the center of the university. They are really relaxed and understanding about almost everything. In other words, every student feels safe at Plymouth on any given night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Among campus, there are many different clubs which you can look into and join if you want.

    Great for these types of students

    Plymouth State is a university for Outdoor enthusiasts that love to hike, ski, fish or anything else of that nature. You will fall in love with this school if you love nature.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is not on campus however, five minutes in a car will bring you to Livormore falls where a bunch of college students go on hot days to cool off. There are rocks to jump off into the river and two sandy beaches you can relax on. This is a real fun spot to get away from all your school work.

    Bang for the buck

    If possible, get a local bank account so you can use their ATM and not get charged. Only put enough money in your pocket that you know you will need, or else you may end up using it.As far as tuition you get your moneys worth.

    What to do for fun

    You should try and take part in activities put on in the hub which is the center lodge. Also, if you do have a love for the outdoors, make yourself known at the Outdoor Center. This is where you can find people who share interests for the outdoors like you.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is very good. Try and switch your meals up a lot because you will get sick of the same old thing and besides, the cafe offers a variety of different meals.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are well put together. They suite you with a dorm along with other people that have interests the same as yours. They are very clean and a good way to start out your college career because you can meet a handful of different people very easy.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you take and what major your in, is what will answer this question. Some majors i hear are very easy, however, Criminal Justice (which I'm in) and business are said to be the hardest.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love the outdoors, Plymouth State is the university for you. Have a busy schedule to keep you going so you meet new people and don't stay in your room all day. Do you work in the library because the necessities it offers are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    I really like Plymouth State College. The study abroad office is very helpful.Plymouth state wants their students to succeed.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a pretty good variety of things to do here ranging from hiking, skiing, and tubing to stand-up comedians and theater performances.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great. The dining facility ensures that you have as many options as possible for you to choose from. There are also several local restaurants that are awesome!

    Dorm Life

    I am a non-traditional student and live in the local area so I didn't live at school. The students that I know who have lived on campus have found their rooms comfortable and livable. I also know of some incidences where roommates haven't been compatible and the school has done a great job of trying to resolve those situations.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that every major, no matter how different, has its challenges. I am a chemistry major with an option in biochemistry. My experiences in the classroom have been challenging but fulfilling. The professors have high expectations that are more than achievable when you put in the effort. The feeling of succeeding and overcoming challenges is worth it. You will learn that you are capable of so much more than you thought you were.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to attend Plymouth State University it is important for you to know the following: 1. The professors want you to succeed; they will challenge you because they believe that you are capable. 2. Take your education seriously; your future depends on the effort that you are willing to put into it. 3. Enjoy Plymouth and its surrounding towns. This is a beautiful area that offers so much. 4. Have fun while you are here! Get to know people at school and in the community. 5. Believe in yourself and your abilities. It is okay to ask for help and even when times seem tough and that your classes are hard, just remember that you'll be OK. All of this will pay off when you are a professional working in the field that you studied in college.

    In three sentences

    Plymouth State University is a wonderful school that provides its students with everything they will need to succeed inside and outside of school. The small class sizes and available resources promote the development of relationships with fellow students as well as the faculty. In my experience, the professors are friendly, knowledgeable, passionate and respectful; serving as mentors who are guiding me as I transition from student to professional.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is easy to get around. There are shuttle buses that will take you all around campus. There are Plymouth State police that drive around to ensure everyones safety. There are also several emergency call buttons located all over campus incase anyone is ever in trouble

    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't that big at the school but we do have it. It is a great way to get involved and meet new people.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple clubs and activities anyone can join. The best part is that they are free. There are different workout classes throughout the week at multiple times so that there is no reason you shouldn't give it a try. There are multicultural clubs and other clubs to get you involved.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're a book lover, we have a library full of a variety of books. There are three different floors so this gives you the option to work with others, study quietly, and do your work. If you like to workout there are several classes you can take for free such as yoga, zumba, pilates, and more! This gives you a great opportunity to get a workout in while also meeting new people with the same interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition we have at the school is to float down the river. It is not only fun but it's a great way to cool off when it is hot. Every year someone climbs to the top of one of our buildings and places a pumpkin on the very top.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a state school that is fairly affordable. There is no reason why the price should ever stop someone from coming to this school.

    What to do for fun

    In the winter there are several opportunities to go to local mountains to snowboard and ski. There is a river right near the campus that students love to float down when it is warm. If you want to just hang out with friends there is plenty of space outside to bring a blanket and sit on the grass.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has a great variety of foods to choose from. It is difficult to not be able to find something you'll enjoy. If you get sick of the food there, you will find several cafes around campus. Also right in town there are a variety of great little restaurants, so you will never had a hard time finding something to enjoy!

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are better than others but if you make the best of wherever you live than it really isn't bad at all. It takes time getting used to living with new and unfamiliar people but it also and opportunity to meet new people. The best thing to do is be friendly with everyone and you will find yourself enjoying the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what class you are taking because some are more difficult than others. Managing time and seeking extra help will make the academic part of the school a lot easier for anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should come to Plymouth State University with an open mind. Don't be afraid to branch out and try new opportunities because this can help you to have a great four years at the school. You should come in with confidence and stay on top of your school work. Time management is key to being stress-free.

    In three sentences

    Plymouth State is a very laid back school filled with multiple career opportunities. It is a fairly small school making it easy to really get to know your professors. It has a beautiful campus with tons of activities that all are welcome to become apart of.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There is security on campus all the time. They are not overwhelmingly strict but if there is a situation they are there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are an hundreds of clubs and activities. If they do not have the right club for you, you can create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Plymouth State University is great for non-preppy, down to earth students. Everyone is very friendly and outgoing here.

    Bang for the buck

    Plymouth State University is a pretty low priced school for the amount of oppurtunities that they offer.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun. For example: yoga, intermural sports, endless amount of clubs, movies, going out to eat with friends, etc.!

    Food and Dining

    The food at Plymouth State University is amazing! They have anything you could ask for. If they don't have your choice of cuisine you can request it and they will put it on their menu. I also love the chocolate milk dispenser!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Everybody is very friendly and there is no drama. The rooms are very nice. The only problems is the bathrooms but I guess they're gross in any school.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Plymouth State University are challenging. They have very high expectations but it is very possible to pass the classes with good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I could give is to attend the first student orientation, pay your rooming deposit early, and be more involved in the school before you attend.

    In three sentences

    The people at Plymouth State University are very friendly and welcoming to incoming students. The campus is beautiful and well maintained. There is a lot to do on the campus so that you will never get bored.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are very high on campus safety and are there to protect the students every day.

    Greek Life

    Not nationally recognized but it will be very soon due to an accident that happened a few years back.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many, too many to type.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoors people, people who are there to learn, fun people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Annual pumpkin on top of Rounds Hall, hockey games, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Great deal for what you pay.

    What to do for fun

    Attend sporting events, go hiking, skiing, fishing, etc. Many outdoor activities can always be done along with meeting great people and having a fun night life.

    Food and Dining

    I personally love the dining hall because of its huge variety and selection. You can literally find basically anything you want there, including a vegetarian station.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you live it is either amazing and comfortable, or average and somewhat nice. For the most part the dorms are average unless you go to Langdon Woods or Mary Lyon which are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Plymouth's goal is to help the student succeed not matter what. The teachers will work with you to improve whatever you need to work on because of the school size and their great communication.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a helpful and friendly community, come to Plymouth. The area is also great for many outdoor activities such as skiing, hiking, kayaking, bouldering, fishing, and many more outdoor activities. It is not hard to make friends here either.

    In three sentences

    Plymouth State University is a very homey, down to earth school with a great learning atmosphere. The teachers are there to help you succeed and will be there for you. The school is a perfect size, not to big or small with 4,500 undergraduate students.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    don't do it. not the type of school that's good with greek life...it can be sketchy.

    Great for these types of students

    relaxed, down-to earth people. Want a career after college. Enjoy nature.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    pumpkin on the clock tower on halloween. skiing or snowboarding in between class. long boarding.

    What to do for fun

    Skiing or snowboarding. Clubs and activities from student life. hiking or rock climbing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not party until the weekend, but still finish your hw. Careful of the freshman 15...or 50...just, be aware. Think about interning in advance.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers. Awesome students that are chill. Learning and preparing for my career.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs right on campus, free live music performances, other concerts and occasional dances in either the dorm halls or dining hall. There are activity weeks where there will just be series of open to the campus games and general fun.

    Food and Dining

    The dining services provide a variety of options daily, there are chances to use meals on the go if you don't have time to stop into the dining hall or meal exchange if you can't make it to the dining hall for dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are nicer than others, and are closer the center of campus, and some are quieter than others. There are student apartments and suites for sophomores, juniors, and seniors.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be difficult at times, but that all also depends on how hard you try and how much effort you put in. If you actually go to class and pay attention you should do fairly well. And if you are struggling the professors are always open to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know ahead of time that the school is in a small town, there aren't movie theaters and huge shopping centers in walking distance. Also you are required to take a variety of classes, so be prepared for that.

    In three sentences

    PSU is a medium sized school, great for people who love the outdoors and a small town feel. There is a huge variety in classes and clubs for students to be involved in. And overall it is a wonderful school.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police are always on the prowl. You see them everywhere, especially at night when you're walking. Other than that there is Safety-Walk, which if you call, two designated people will come pick you up from a party and walk you back to your dorm, which is really neat and extremely considerate.

    Greek Life

    Greek life to me is a little lame for my liking but that is because it is not for everyone. If you like it, go for it!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition Plymouth has is the pumpkin that is placed on the top of Rounds Hall every Halloween. The pumpkin from 2011 is still up there. It's a mystery how the pumpkin gets up there every year.

    What to do for fun

    Go hang out on the green of Mary Lyon or join a club!

    Food and Dining

    Well if you came here expecting five stars, you're wrong. There is always something to eat for everyone in the dining hall. The food is good but it doesn't compare to the food back home.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm! (Pemi). It is a smaller dorm but my room is perfectly sized for me and my roommate. The majority of my floor is extremely close, and we usually all hang out in one room together.

    Academic Rigor

    I am being challenged exactly how I imagined. All of my classes work at a pace I can handle and if I feel like I'm falling behind my professors are just an email or phone call away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for the rapid weather changes, it goes from 40 degrees to 75 degrees extremely fast. Don't be afraid to talk to people as a first year, everyone is or was in the same boat you are. Do get involved, campus is so much more fun when you hang out with more than just your roommate or people on your floor!

    In three sentences

    Plymouth has a beautiful, almost breath taking campus. The campus itself is small but easy to navigate. The small classes and personal professors making getting through school extremely easy.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are on top of things and always willing to help or escort you if you do not feel safe.

    Greek Life

    Delta Zeta, other sororities

    Great for these types of students

    Every student from adult learners to freshman. There is something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are so many ceremonies and traditions. They build loads of school spirit.

    Bang for the buck

    PSU is not an expensive school to go to when you consider the professional training and work they do for you. I would recommend PSU to anyone.

    What to do for fun

    If you are over 21, the town is small and in close proximity to the campus. This makes it easy to visit a local bar and safely walk home. As far as campus, there are plays, clubs, intramurals, ice skating and many other activities.

    Food and Dining

    Best bagels in the world.

    Dorm Life

    Very handy, but would recommend living at Langdon Woods

    Academic Rigor

    There are high expectations, but you will learn lots. Learning isn't just book work, it is professional development.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus your first year. Get involved, you will get so much more out of the experience!

    In three sentences

    Plymouth State University is more than just a college campus, PSU is a community that builds professionals. There is no place that brings together the caliber of faculty and experts to mold future professionals. There are high standards, but even higher successes!

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Great local town, sporting events. Check out Varsity baseball this spring!

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food and environment. 210 meal plan is the best

    Dorm Life

    Great and clean dorm rooms. smaller campus means no car needed

    Academic Rigor

    challenging classes and excellent professors

    Tips for prospective students

    Budget your time effectively. Take the most of 'down time' to excel in class and bond with fellow students

    In three sentences

    This is a great fit for someone looking for a smaller school in a picturesque setting.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have only gotten the chance to eat here once and it was during an information session... compared to other colleges I have been to, I was impressed. Lots of variety!

    Dorm Life

    I got to see some of the dorms and based on the college I was previously going to- I was really impressed. Especially Mary Lyon Hall. Gorgeous!

    Academic Rigor

    I can only judge based on what I have heard... I have yet to take courses here but I feel that there are a lot of interesting classes which really helps in making a class easier. I think, like anything, it's about what you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just take a look at everything offered here.... for a smaller sized school, located in the beautiful mountains of new Hampshire.... this place has options options options! I would suggest going there just to see it and take in the atmosphere- I am sure you'll fall in love like I have!

    In three sentences

    I am hoping to attend in the Fall because I have fallen in love with the beautiful campus, vast opportunities to take advantage of, and PERFECT major and minor combination that I am hoping to take. I have friends who attend and absolutely LOVE it here.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UPD is great with keeping everyone safe. The CA's and the saafe walk on Saturday night really make everyone feel safe all the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's so much you can do to get involved, from intramural sports and club sports to PACE, Student Senate, and The Clock, there's so much to do and so little time to do it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Legend of the Pumpkins on top of Rounds Hall, every Halloween mysteriously two pumpkins appear on the spears of the clock tower, no one knows how but it happens!

    Bang for the buck

    Plymouth gives great financial aid, thats one of the reasons I came here!

    What to do for fun

    Anything really! There's tons of clubs and if your a skier or boarder our campus is surrounded by so many awesome places to ride.

    Food and Dining

    I'm a very picky eater, but I get along just fine here, pasta is something I get a lot and its so good.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in a dorm, especially mine. Dorming is an experience everyone should have.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on your major and course load but I'd say being a student here isn't just a cake walk. Working hard pays off in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work, don't let yourself fall behind! Ask questions and get tutors! And GET INVOLVED!

    In three sentences

    Plymouth is a great place to learn. The programs are exceptional and the faculty and staff is amazing. Plymouth is the perfect place for anyone.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really good at the school. I never hear of anyone get hurt and put in a dangerous situation. This school is very nice and well protected.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The annual town of plymouth parade takes place every year and the school and whole town work togther and create a big function. It's pretty cool and there's fireworks at the football feild later on in the night.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a bit pricey, but aren't all colleges? It's not bad for about $32000 a year, and it seems like you get your money worth.

    What to do for fun

    The things that I do here for fun is go fishing, hiking, and skiing/snowboarding. Plymouth state is really and outdoor type of campus, with many outdoor activities to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is pretty good. At first your probally not going to like it since your used to home cooked meals. But after awhile you get use to it and it's not that bad. Sodexo is the company that cooks and supplys the food and they really try to keep you satisfied by switching up the options of meals.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life isn't that bad if you have a roomate that you like. I reconmend staying in a double room here. Singles you get too lonely and triple here just have to many people and not enough room for you to move around and feel comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Plymouth state gives a good amount of homework. Nothing to ridiculous but enough to keep you busy. Most colleges give you alot so if you really want to go to college I wouldn't be complaining much about school work. It's what your here for anyways.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would come to plymouth state if you serious about going to college and want to get an education where the teachers actually know you. You'll meet many new friends and you shouldn't come here if you don't like the snow or cold weather.

    In three sentences

    Plymouth state university is a nice, small college in plymouth new hampshire. Its nice to know that the classes sizes are small and teachers don't know you by a number but by your name. Plymouth state is great if you want a good education and if you like to hit the slopes on the mountain every once in awhile.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Looks safe enough to me.

    Greek Life

    No idea.

    Clubs and Activities

    From what I've seen there are numerous ones to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, athletic, not sure what to major in because PSU has just about any discipline.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing of note.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a resident of New Hampshire helps with tuition costs.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of activities to participate in. Theatre shows, free movies, discussion groups, intramurals, athletic events. Just about anything you'd want in a university.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is decent. There are plenty of options whether at the dining hall, or any of the cafe's on campus. Plus the main street of Plymouth is a short walk with a few decent restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    As a psych major, I've found most of the classes to be challenging and demanding. I've learned a lot while at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hard work pays off. Do the assignments, study and participate in class and you'll get a grade that reflects your work.

    In three sentences

    Faculty and staff are helpful and organized. The campus is the perfect size for a smaller school. The library is awesome.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is small but since it's in a small town it's very safe

    Great for these types of students

    Tree huggers

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do on campus and off campus too

    Food and Dining

    the food is great and there is a lot of choices

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are wicked nice and so much fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and keep your grades up. Don't fall into a bad senior slide or psu might pull the acceptance

    In three sentences

    It is a fantastic environment to be in. The people are so nice and so are the professors.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The schools dinning hall is quite good, but if you eat there often, you easily get tired of the food, since the has the same menu that goes around. However they have some days throughout the year when they food from different countries and part of the world, which is good and mixes up a little bit. According to me the breakfast is the best meal, lot of options and always fruits and berries to eat.

    Dorm Life

    It's really good, most dorms are co-ed floors but two dorms are only girls and boys floors, which is good and you can choose whatever suits you best and you feel comfortable with. They are also located at different spots around campus, which allows you to choose where on campus you want to live.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe it's a perfect combination.

    In three sentences

    Amazing area to be in Everything is close by Even if it's not big, there is always things to do

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sports, student activities

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared for calm environment, outdoor activities and friendly people

    In three sentences

    party, privacy, small environment

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are blue Emergency Stations which are easily accesible and you can call the campus police and they will send two people to walk with you in the event you find yourself alone at night.

    Greek Life

    Although you hear about many underground greek organizations, there are only three recognized sororities on campus. Tau Omega, Kappa Delta Phi NAS, and Delta Zeta. Though Greek Life is small, they make a huge impact on the campus. I am proud to be Greek!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 clubs on campus and if you don't find one you like, you can make your own!

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for nursing, psychology, elementary school teaching and social sciences. Students get to work with promenant people of their prospective fields. This is also a great school if you are interested in environmental studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every fall, pumpkins get put on top of the clock tower.

    Bang for the buck

    The internet is hard to get on sometimes because everyone is all trying to use it at the same time. The buildings are nice, but some are a little out-dated.

    What to do for fun

    I am very involved in clubs so I am always doing something with the yearbook, spring fling, or my sorority. There are a lot of mountains for skiing and hiking within a short drive and there are always people on the green playing different sports.

    Food and Dining

    The food itself isn't all too bad and here are several places you can eat on campus. The dining hall can get a little old after a while because of the lack of variety.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on which dorm you stay in noise can be a problem when it comes to studying. Other than that I have never had any negative experiences. I am really sad to see Samuel Read Hall Hall go, it was my favorite building!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are average, but the professors I have had expect a lot and push you towards your potential. The professors are great mentors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend orientation and get involved! It's the best way to make the most out of your experience at Plymouth State.

    In three sentences

    Plymouth State is a fun, safe and inviting environment. I have learned a lot from here and the teachers encourage you and treat you like a person, not just a number.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is too much to do for fun in Plymouth. Between clubs, sporting events, and a vast social life waiting for you, the opportunities are endless.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo does it's best, but once you've eaten it for two years straight you're definitely glad to start cooking for yourself again.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms themselves are fairly gross, especially as an underclassman. The student apartments and Langdon Woods are both very nice options though, and Mary Lyons is also a very nice dorm building.

    Academic Rigor

    As I said before, although people don't look at Plymouth necessarily for it's academics, the school is definitely trending towards a strong academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. There are ample amounts of clubs or intramural sports to join, and they are all fun and help build strong relationships. Don't be afraid to put yourself out there, you really do get back what you put in.

    In three sentences

    I love Plymouth State, from the day I started I've always felt like a valued member of the community. I think that most people don't look at Plymouth as much of an academic powerhouse, but they would be very surprised if they attended classes here. I feel honored to have learned from some of the best professors in New England, and can only hope that my knowledge continues to grow at such a tremendous rate once I continue my education into grad school.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They frequently have shows going on at the Silver Center for the Arts, always a good way to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food and the staff at the dining commons are both to the tee exemplary, it was truly an amazing experience eating dinner last night.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are well maintained and the CAs are all friendly and helpful. The only thing I've found is that sometimes it can get sweltering hot in them unless you have a fan.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to bring comfortable shoes.

    In three sentences

    A great small town school. Everything is relatively close by. Sense of community is amazing.

  • 09/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely come visit campus before starting school. You will fall in love with it as soon as you arrive.

    In three sentences

    It is a refreshing change of pace from most other colleges and universities. The view and atmosphere up here are amazing, the faculty and staff are open and caring, and everyone knows each other here. Its very easy to get into the Plymouth state of mind.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police force on campus and is a real safe campus ingeneral.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activites to choose form, or start a new one.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to get involved and who love the outdoors.

    What to do for fun

    Anything in the outdoors you can think up their is to do here. Their is also many student intermural sports and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of different choices for food on campus, from the dining hall, to many coffee shops,and cafes. Their are also many choices for food in town.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in dorms at plymouth but their are many dorms and student apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Their are lots of great classes to challange yourself with what ever your interests are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan early for funds for colleg, get involved,and work hard.

    In three sentences

    Plymouth has a lot to choose from. Has many major choices, good sports teams and lots to do.Camput is also close to lots of outdoor things to do, hiking, mountain biking and sking.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have a safe walk program so if you are out late at night you can call the number and have someone walk you home.

    Bang for the buck

    being an elementary education major, they have an amazing teaching program so the money is worth it

    What to do for fun

    I like to go to the group exercises they do every night at the gym, they have yoga and zumba and a few other exercise classes. they have something for everyone, and its a great place to meet people

    Academic Rigor

    it also depends on the class, the gen eds can be easy but, also can be more work then major courses

    Tips for prospective students

    do the school sponsored actives, go out and eat at the dinning hall, tell people your major it gives them insight to who you are.

    In three sentences

    Plymouth state is small and tight nit. It offers great work opportunities of you have a declared major. it also has professor that care about your success

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small classroom setting

    What to do for fun

    Hiking! There so many outdoor activities to do

    Food and Dining

    Its not the best, but it could be worse!

    Dorm Life

    Everyone becomes close with one another if you live in the dorm. People have their doors open, music playing all the time.

    In three sentences

    There is always something going on People are so friendly The school and teachers really care about how the students are constricting knowledge

  • 04/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Incredibly frustrating. In my experience, the lack of consistency and efficiency and utter disorganization added on several extra semesters for me at PSU and ultimately resulted in my completion of a number of classes I didn't need, while missing out on classes I did need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your information organized and be sure to take responsibility for knowing which credits/classes you need and do not need. Meet with your advisor as much as possible and be sure to double check every answer your receive, as no answer ever seems to align outside of a specific department and deadlines/requirements are constantly changing. PSU has too many students to keep track of them accordingly and provide them with accurate and up to date information. Do not expect any flexibility or understanding from the faculty members when a mistake is made - because you won't receive any support from them and will personally have to make up for any mistakes made on your behalf by the faculty.

    In three sentences

    In terms of administration, I would not recommend this school to ANYONE. PSU has an incredibly disorganized administration system and is truly lacking in it's ability to communicate effectively amongst both faculty members as well as to students. The resources available to students (undergraduate studies, admissions, registrar's office) are continuously unresponsive with misaligned answers regarding graduation expectations/curriculum/credits.