Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Point Park University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Cinema and Digital Arts - The film making program has a great structure and great equipment. Point Park is one of the first Universities to use HD equipment for all 4 years. Plus you start making films your very first year. Many schools wait until the Junior year to start actually filming. Dance - Point Park is a renowned dance school. The program is rigorous yet rewarding for dancers. Sports, Arts, and Entertainment Management - Point Park is one of the few universities to offer this major. It's designed to teach you how to become a manager whether it be athletes, bands, or celebrities. Journalism - Great equipment, program, and television studio.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some core classes seem unnecessary. But, it is a liberal arts school. Perhaps the best thing to do is take the core classes at a cheap community college and transfer the credits over. That way you can focus on your major while at Point Park.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a bit pricey for being not that well known. However, in this instance you pay for your education, not the name on the degree. Some core classes might be a bit too easy, but the classes involving your degree are top notch.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being a smaller private school there aren't as many activities like there are at a huge school like Pitt. However there are still quite a few things to do around campus. Of course the best part is living right in Downtown Pittsburgh. There are hundreds of opportunities just a walk or bus ride away. There are also plenty of big colleges to visit nearby including Pitt and Duquesne. If you like urban living in a protected area you won't be disappointed.

    Am learning a lot

    As a student enrolled in the Cinema & Digital Arts major I feel as though I have learned a tremendous amount about film making. The four year program is set up in a very structured manner that encompasses full learning potential. Point Park is also expanding yearly. Soon most of downtown Pittsburgh will be Point Park University.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police on every corner and in order to obtain access in the building you must show a school id.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life. But Point Park is surrounded by Pitt and CMU and during your second year you can pledge at either school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The locations is great. Its in the heart of the downtown area , giving students a chance to site see. And the campus building are set up drictly next to each other so no one gets lost looking class.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something to do. Every week students receive updates by email on upcoming events. And events are also displayed everywhere. There are clubs, and school parties and luncheons.

    Food and Dining

    From my understanding, Point Parks food is not too good. But there are more then enough school cafes to eat at. And with the great location of the school there are many fast food and dining restaurant's that discount food for students.

    Dorm Life

    No aware of dorm life because i commute to college.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great. Their purpose is to help you from failing. All my teachers are understanding and full acknowledge that college life is not easy with balancing life.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be , stay focused on your personal goals.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Point park University on a scale from 1-10 , 1 being the worst , with 7. My reason being the lack of sororities and colleges sport teams like football. But the college attempts to make up for the places in which they lack, and their efforts are greatly appreciated.

  • 01/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is 2nd only to Juliard for dance, musical theatre and acting majors. It is a top notch university and has seen many students go onto big-time careers at different places of employment within their respective field. The school is also great for students wishing to major in cinema, digital media and the like. And it is almost a necessity that you like the city scene, as you are smack dab in the hustle and bustle of downtown Pittsburgh.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get accustomed to using elevators, as this is an urban campus which means the buildings are tall and skinny with many floors. Sometimes it takes 10 minutes to get to the first floor from my room on the 16th due to the high traffic and various stops it has to make along the way. Also, familiarize yourself with the general area around the school so that when you have free time you are able to do what and go where you want.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as value for your dollar, there are a ton of things that it buys you. Shuttles to Oakland where the Pittsburgh Playhouse is located, a site where any Point Park student can see shows for free. There is a nearby Starbucks which accepts student's flex dollars as well as two dining facilities that provide a wide variety of food for the student body. In addition to the academia advantages, students wishing for athletic pastimes can play pool or ping pong in the rec room. There is also a gym near the rec area that offers all the conveniences of a large, corporate-owned gym business.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love the atmosphere at Point Park because it is an environment where you can be yourself and people will accept you for that sole reason. You don't have to drink, you don't have to smoke and you don't have to be a troublemaker. Your talents could be as diverse as being able to dance to being able to write an anime script, and no one will alienate you. Your uniqueness is valued as much as the money you spend to attend the school. Everyone is friendly, welcoming and makes you feel at home each and every day.

    Am learning a lot

    As a school that prides itself in offering the most comprehensive and interesting classes, Point Park goes above and beyond what I could ever want to learn about a certain topic. I am currently enrolled in the History of the Mafia, a course designed by a former FBI narcotics agent who himself arrested and came in contact with hundreds of Mob members. You truly can learn about anything you wish, and also at the level with which you desire to attain.

  • 08/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The classes I'm taking are well worth what I pay.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the atmosphere of Point Park, because individuality is accepted wonderfully. There really are no wrongs answers in class either. I feel that you can turn any paper or project into your own, thus making one feel independent.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel that, already within my first semester, I gained a lot of knowledge of the basics of the broadcast industry. I've learned how to write scripts, how the FCC works, and so much more all while being a first semester freshman!

  • 12/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early because they offer amazing scholarships and the earlier you apply, the better your chances are for receiving them.

    Bang for the buck

    My experiences have been totally positive and I feel that I am really receiving my money's worth out of Point Park. The classes provide you with great information and you grow a lot socially as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have had nothing but good experiences while at Point Park, both inside and outside the classroom. The students here are very friendly and accepting. You never feel as if you are being left out of anything because there are so many opportunities to get involved.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are extremely well educated in their fields and are willing to answer any questions that you may have, even if it means that they have to do some outside research of their own to be able to give you an answer. They are always willing to make appointments with students to help you along the way in your courses if you are struggling or not understanding a specific topic in class.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The university does a terrific job when it comes to making the students feel safe in such a big city.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities available for the students.

    Great for these types of students

    Point Park University is perfect for a rising performing artist in the field of acting, musical theatre, and dance.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The location is in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh, so there isn't many unusual areas, but if you like to explore you'll definitely find some cool places to hangout.

    Bang for the buck

    Truly and honestly: You get out what you put in.

    What to do for fun

    I see shows in the theatre district. I hop on the public bus to the Waterfront to see a movie. I rent a bicycle from the Student Center and ride around Pittsburgh, enjoying the beautiful city and surrounding areas.

    Food and Dining

    I personally enjoy the food at Point Park University! The cafeteria serves multiple items such as pizza, burgers, and homecooked dinners. There is a soup and salad bar for those wishing to eat healthier. The school also provides access to a cafe which provides much more variety for students!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are located in two buildings: Lawrence and Thayer. Lawrence is the main building of the school, therefore most of your classes will be only an elevator ride away! Those living in Thayer: It's only an elevator ride and a convenient cross-over bridge walk away!

    Academic Rigor

    If you challenge yourself, the rigor of Point Park University will be incredibly difficult. The accomplishment you feel once you've completed an assignment is indescribable!

    Tips for prospective students

    On-campus living makes the experience so much better. The weather will be cold and rainy 80% of the time, so be prepared! I recommend not bringing a car because parking in downtown Pittsburgh is rather obnoxious. Use public transportation or the university's shuttle system!

    In three sentences

    Point Park University is a wonderful school for the performing arts. The campus is in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh where there is always something happening, especially within the theatre district. The faculty truly care about each and every student.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think that it is a great place for those like me that went to a small private school because it is a big school but isn't huge. I believe there are a little over 4000 students there this year. I also think that it is a great school for performing arts people. Especially dancers being that it is the second top dance school in the country! Also for any homosexuals out there they are very accepting and I believe they won an award for the being this way.

    What to do for fun

    I take the Zumba class on occasion. I absolutely love Zumba and think that it's great they offer it to the students there for free. I also go to the gym that is there sometimes which is really welcoming and nice. They also have the rec room with computers, TV, ping pong tables, and pool tables.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is good some days and not so good on others. The Cafe has good food there all the time but that is cash, meal exchange (only done during certain hours), or flex. They have a wide variety of food. The Cafeteria is good on most days and is used with your meal plan and is all you can eat. The only down fall is that if you commute and do not get a meal plan then it is kind of expensive to eat there.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is AMAZING! Hands down the best idea I have ever had. The days that I am there I absolutely love it. They have quiet hours during the week for those that have early classes and need to get their sleep but they are also reasonable for the night owls! I feel really safe there especially at night. They have campus police do rounds on each floor during the night which makes everyone feel a lot safer!

    Academic Rigor

    I believe the academics there are amazing in some aspects but they aren't so good in others. Some of the teachers definitely need to re-amp their teaching. There are some that fool around in class and don't really teach and others that go into teaching overdrive the week before finals and cram 4 chapters into a 2 hour class.

    Tips for prospective students

    ~For upcoming students I would definitely watch for the professors you have. Some professors are amazing and some are not so great. ~Make sure you have a reasonable schedule. Don't cram a ton of classes in your first semester. ~Make sure your classes are at a decent time so you know you can get to them. ~Most importantly TALK TO YOUR PROFESSORS!!! The school sends you a book list but not all teachers use the book. ~Try to meet as many people there during your first semester.

    In three sentences

    I believe Point Park is an excellent University. The school has an amazing Dance and Performing Arts program there. The school as a whole is just great and I am so glad that I decided to go there.

  • 11/03/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dance, Musical theator, and Acting

    Tips for prospective students

    I love this college but if you are coming here for academics it may be cheaper to look into other schools or private ones, there is not much in way of scholarships and affordability for us brains. If you are a dance student welcome to the world of hard work, they will work your butt off here!

    Bang for the buck

    This is a pricey school and for as much as I loved it I could not afford the tuition hikes, my scholarships being pulled because they would no longer fund them and thus had to make the difficult decision to leave a school I loved and turned down a top ten university for. (We live and we learn.)

    Am enjoying being here

    I love my roommmates we get along great. I love the city it is new and exciting, but the course work leaves little time for anything, and suffice it to say if your not good with stairs, this isn't the place to be because its a urban campus and your classes are likely to be on floors like 10 or higher, and catching an elevator takes a lot of time, most students take the stairs.

    Academic Rigor

    I was a Psychology major and I love PPU's Psych program. The professors were amazing, understanding, and willing to help you on many different levels. They are also very good at what they do, they set me up to be far more knowledgeable and to succeed at another university where the academic quality is not as high as PPU's.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club for almost everything imaginable

    Bang for the buck

    this school is expensive but i think its worth it

    What to do for fun

    were in the city you can do pretty much any and everything that you want!!!

    Food and Dining

    cafe food and cafeteria food arent bad but it gets very old very fast. but being downtown with so many places to eat is a plus.

    Dorm Life

    depends on your floor! in the freshmen dorms i hated my floor. people would scream up and down the hallways at every hour of the night, but its nice to get to know people. the dorms are actually pretty nice all of them. they have been the nicest ive seen in many universities. but living on campus is really nice

    Academic Rigor

    alot of classes are kind of a jock, mainly core classes, but alot can be very difficult and take alot of effort to pass. its all about the students in my opinion.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you do not like singing and music this is not the school for you! copa (musical theater, singing, acting ect) is a big majority of the school and they do sing and dance in the hallways and elevators, some can be snobby but alot are really nice. if you like the big city and being close to pretty much everything then this is a good school for you. its a nice small campus and decent size classes so there isnt much to worry about.

    In three sentences

    i love this school. its a nice urban campus thats probably bigger than alot of people would think. this school also has a wide range of diverse people.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Point Park has their own police force right on campus that is constantly patrolling. There is security in every buildings entrance to provide extra security.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an excellent selection of clubs and sports that would appeal to all students no matter what their interest!

    Great for these types of students

    Point Park is excellent for dance students, musical theatre, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Point Park may seem expensive when first applying, but really they do provide a lot of help to students making it much more affordable than many other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do in downtown. There are many restaurants as well as different activities such as dancing, biking, or even just exploring downtown. It is all what you make of it. Oakland is just a short shuttle ride (the Point Park provides free) away with even more activities.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places a student can get food at Point Park, the cafeteria and the cafe. I would not recommend the cafeteria. The food wasn't anything great and sometimes was just bad. On the other hand the food at the cafe is really great and I would definitely recommend it!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! Point Park really makes an effort for new students to meet new people. There are living and learning communities that adhere the students interests and allow students to meet people with the same interests as themselves. There are also many activities that Point Park plans for new students that are great for meeting new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Point Park are not extremely difficult if you put a good effort into them. Many of the teachers are very relaxed and will be willing to work with you if you are having problems in their class. Overall I believe that Point Park is very good overall academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your not to fond of the arts Point Park may not be the school for you. Point Park does offer other majors besides the arts but I do not feel as if they are as strong or as noticed. Point Park is an excellent school and you should definitely look into it!

    In three sentences

    It's much different than a typical campus because it is right in downtown Pittsburgh, so it is a much different experience than campus life at a typical campus college. The class sizes are small and it makes it much easier to communicate with your teacher. Point Park is very much an arts school and concentrates very strongly on majors such as dance, musical theatre, or media communications

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are campus cops all around and are a phone call away.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are campus cops all around and are a phone call away. They typically patrol the campus 24/7. To and from classes, in buildings, pretty much everywhere. It really helps make the campus a safer place being int he city.

    Great for these types of students

    They are countless clubs. They are very enthusiastic about getting people to join.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The main focus, or reputation rather, is on the performing arts schools. They have a lot of other majors in business and education, but they are definitely known for dance.

    Bang for the buck

    It is incredibly expensive, but I know being a Cinema major they put a lot of money into equipment.

    What to do for fun

    Station square is right across the river and not even a 10 minute walk. Also market square is right down the street. There are a ton of restaurants everywhere. We also get into several museums for free. Since the Pirates aren't really that good, tickets to the baseball game are very cheap.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is sponsored by Aramark sooooooo. . . .yeah. The cafe serves made to order food until 11:30 which is one of my favorite things about this school ; ) I get meals late at night all the time. I

    Dorm Life

    It's really hot during the summer. That is, if you live in Lawrence. There are two dorm buildings: Lawrence and Thayer. Thayer has air conditioning while Lawrence doesn't. With a few fans it's not unbearable.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are all passionate being that they have all worked in the field in which they teach. It makes the learning experience much better because they give very good constructive criticism. Not to mention they really know what they are talking about. A good way to put it is that they teach from experience, not from a book.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus isn't exactly prime real estate, but if Point Park has the major you are looking for it is totally worth it. You will learn a lot more than you think. Also, all of the people you go to class with are just as passionate for the subject as you (hopefully) are.

    In three sentences

    Point Park has a very small campus in downtown Pittsburgh, but the school tries to make it as much like a college campus as they can constantly making improvements. The price really puts people away, but thats the cost for a school that needs equipment for performing arts majors. The students that go here all share a passion in something that you won't just find in high school.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    Point Park is full of some of the most unique people. Coming from a small town, it's so much fun being able to meet all kinds of different personalities. Being in downtown Pittsburgh, you never run out of things to do.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes directly relate to my major, career choice, and interests. Already in my first semester, I don't feel that I have any blow-off classes.

  • 12/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't mind walking, biking, or bussing to get around and can live without their car.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't use all of your flex dollars in Starbucks! It's tempting to grab a macchiato every day before class to wake up, but you'll run out in the first month.

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely a pricey college. The school does offer a ton of little scholarships like one for high school achievement, departmental, community service and they help add up towards tuition cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    Living in downtown Pittsburgh is great. The city is literally your campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Point Park's majors range from performing arts, to visual arts, to academic majors. I'm personally in the latter. Since the school is so small, you get so much personal attention from teachers, and so much potential to grow. Nearly all the professors in the Arts and Sciences department have their Ph.D so you know that they're passionate about what they're teaching in class.

  • 05/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Obviously their biggest programs are performing arts and communications. But I don't think there's any particular majors that this school is a bad choice for. They really have something for everyone, both in majors and extracurricular activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    They give great financial aid--if you keep your grades up. So don't slack off. Depending on the classes you take, it actually can be really hard to maintain a B average. But if you do, you may not have to pay much out of pocket at all.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not that the education isn't worth it or that the school isn't a good enough choice for my major. But the problem is, they're doing a lot of expanding, which is great for them and the future, but I hate that tuition keeps going up every year to pay for things that for the most part probably won't be done by the time I graduate.

    Am enjoying being here

    As for literal location--I love being in the city. But since I commute now, it's really a pain to either have to take a bus and walk halfway across downtown or find a place to park and pay ridiculous parking fees. It was better living on campus. As for the intangible things--I've had some really great professors and some who really knew how to cut you down without really helping you improve. But I'm sure that's true of any school. Also, a lot of different types of people go here, so depending what kind of person you are it can be really easy to make friends or really hard to identify with anyone. Unfortunately I happen to fall into the second group.

    Am learning a lot

    They require you to take a lot of classes that aren't necessarily related to your major...which is kind of a bummer when you're tired of literature classes and just want to learn what you came for. But it really helps broaden your knowledge, which is never a bad thing.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a great school for the creative, artsy types.

    Tips for prospective students

    GO FOR THE SCHOLARSHIPS!!! They are essential if you want to get through school with a little less financial burden. Secondly, make as many friends as you can. There are some really great people who attend, so make sure to find them.

    Bang for the buck

    For a relatively unknown and small school, Point Park is expensive. However, they have some really great scholarship opportunities that make the cost a bit easier to bear.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a commuter student, so riding the bus back and forth to school four days a week gets tiring. I like Point Park a lot, but all the travelling makes school a little harder to enjoy.

    Am learning a lot

    As a current sophomore Multimedia student, I feel as though I am learning a tremendous amount about my major and the world around me. My teachers and some of my peers really add to the learning environment.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to Oakland.

    Food and Dining

    RDF closes kinda early, the Point Cafe is great and open late!

    Dorm Life

    Freshman year, dorms are small, but once your past that sophomore and junior year housing is very pleasant and appealing.

    Academic Rigor

    Intense classes, very qualified and intriguing teachers

    Tips for prospective students

    Youll enjoy the vibrant urban campus, with Oakland home of PITT, CMU, and Carlow just minutes away.

    In three sentences

    Great faculty, prime location downtown Pittsburgh. Decent curriculum, terrible food.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    What to do for fun

    Go out to dinner, go to the club (but only on Thursday nights if you are under 21), There is not much to do if you are under 21. In order to get anywhere you have to take a bus or walk and the buses only run so late and they can get expensive. I just hangout in my room and play videogames or go on walks around the city with friends.

    Food and Dining

    It is good somedays and other days there is not much selection.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone kind of keeps to themselves, there is some activity but there are no common areas for people to meet and socialize.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a school where you will meet your future husband, this is most likely not the school for you, there is a definite lack of straight guys at this school. Just pay attention and go to class and you will do fine here!

    In three sentences

    Point Park is an urban University with no Greek life and not many social activities going on. It is a good school but if you want the traditional football games, sorority life and frat life, then this is not the school for you. If you want to meet great people who are not necessarily the let's go out and get drunk all the time kind of people, then this is the school for you.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's so much theatre to see around Pittsburgh, it's really exciting! There are cool parks. There are bars if you're 21+. There's a party almost every weekend, so there's that. There are museums and libraries and an atrium and a super neat green house! Also there is a movie theatre/shopping super close to Oakland (which is where everyone moves when they move off campus).

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food wasn't always bad, but it was just hard because they weren't a lot of healthy options. Also it's buffet style, so just watch out for your portions. Otherwise the freshman fifteen will come at you faster than you know it!

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms isn't the worst thing that's ever happened to me. It just sucks living in downtown PIttsburgh because everything closes at 5pm. I would suggest suffering in the dorms the first year because that's where you make most of your friends. Then definitely move off campus sophomore year.

    Academic Rigor

    People make fun of the academics at Point Park, but I've had some classes that have actually been challenging. I've also had a couple of academic classes that I thoroughly enjoyed because my teachers were wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Enjoy freshman year. You won't realize how easy it was until sophomore year. 2) The faculty isn't always right, but they usually are. 3) Don't take 20th Century World History as an online course through CCAC.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school for any actor who's looking to get serious about the craft of theatre. It's not really for people who are just looking to get famous. Here, you learn to become a true artist and hone your craft.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We now have our own Campus Police since last year. We have also been safe without them beforehand.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honors Club, knitting club, sports club, basically any club as long as the student can get something together and its approved and keeps it running. Just look it up on Point Park University's website

    Great for these types of students

    theater majors, dance majors, photo majors, sports kids that dont mind not being in a devision, and anyone that whats a good variety of students in their college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A gathering place is the new Park in the center of the University on the corner of Wood st and Boulevard of the Allies. And most students like to get food at local 24hr pizza places. But most areas do close down in the downtown area around 7pm due to the downtown mostly being space or offices and jobs.

    Bang for the buck

    When coming out here it is good to have a PNC Bank account because that is the main one you will find throughout Pittsburgh and throughout Pennsylvania. Rain Boots have been great for all seasons because the snow usually gets really slushy and getting them a size or two bigger helps so you can double up on socks when its cold out. Also it can get quite windy here as well especially in the winter.

    What to do for fun

    Walk or take a bus to the strip on the weekend or to the South Side for shopping, or hanging with friends in their apartments or rooms. Go to Okland by shuttle and visit the other colleges and get frozen yogurt and go to shows that are at the Point Park Pay House in Okland as well. Have cook outs and other get togethers. Plenty of ice skating in the winter at the PPG Plaza short walking distance from the school. Go to the Point which is a huge park now at the point of downtown. Spend time at Market Square.

    Food and Dining

    All freshman and transfers must be on the meal plan the first year and personally I have gotten off of it only to save money and eat more foods that the cafeteria wouldn't always be able to offer.

    Dorm Life

    I enjoy the dorms very well I will be entering in my junior year and I am still living on campus. Pretty much all appliances and furniture in every building is only a few years old. We have downtown at the tips of your fingers with just a shuttle ride away from two other universities in Pittsburgh all which are very safe places with there own security and police officers. Every class and dorm rooms are all reasonable walking distances from one another as well.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many levels of difficulties in all academic classes. Most have Honors available and if the class you want to take does not offer Honors you can Honorize your class and all you have to do it fill out the forms, talk to your teacher and figure out how and what you will do to achieve an honor leveled class.

    In three sentences

    This was my top choice College to attend. Not only is the dance program demanding and has what it takes to prepare a dancer to go on to a professional career, the photography program is flourishing to greater heights each year with amazing teachers.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Point Park is incredibly safe, despite its downtown location. The school has its own police force that are on duty at all hours, and only students are alowed in any of the residence halls unless signed in by a student.

    Clubs and Activities

    My freshman year, I belonged to the National Broadcasting Society, the cheerleading squad, and a club called Ear Candy, in which students are able to interview up-and-coming bands for segments on the school's TV channel. There are so many other clubs as well, including several that pertain to each major at Point Park.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many students like to take a bus to South Side for dance or exercise classes, or the shuttle to Oakland to see a theatrical performance at the Pittsburgh Play House, owned by Point Park.

    Bang for the buck

    I've really enjoyed my experience so far at Point Park. Last year I was nervous to start college, but now I cannot wait to return for my sophomore year! There is always something entertaining to do at PPU, and the other students are genuinely kind people.

    What to do for fun

    Station Square is just a short walk away from the school, and there you can find great restuarants, the historical incline, and sometimes even a band playing near the Dancing Fountains. Many students also attend College Night every thursday at Whim and Barroom, two clubs in Station Square. Additionally, shuttles run between PPU and Oakland at all times.

    Food and Dining

    I was surprised my freshman year when I realized the food at Point Park was actually great! Not only did the food taste better than the food in my high school cafeteria, but there was a much larger variety as well.

    Dorm Life

    Every floor will most likely have a few residents that make a bit too much noise, but for the most part, floormates get along very well. The freshman dorms can get pretty hot, but living there happily is far from unbearable.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are extremely helpful and inspiring. Many of them let students know about scholarships and internships. In addition, the courses are interesting and teach the students exactly what they need to know to succeed in their future profession.

    Tips for prospective students

    -There are so many different clubs, so get involved in a few! -Don't be afraid to introduce yourself to your floormates. -The elevators are always packed, so leave for class 10-15 minutes early. -Don't spend all your flex dollars in the first month!

    In three sentences

    Point Park University is an ideal university for students who thrive in creativity and expression. The school has amazing programs for artistic outlets such as journalism, dance, photogrophy, and theater. Additionally, the urban location of the campus allows for constant entertainment and sight seeing.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Police and security do an excellent job from keeping random street walkers from getting in the buildings which is what a lot of students are afraid when first there, but their system is simple and effective in keeping their students safe.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life at PPU is very limited but the school does have a couple frats and sororities, however no houses on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The University offers NCAA sports and intramurals, but the best club I found to be is the ones related to your major. That's how students network and learn a lot about their fields.

    Great for these types of students

    Perfect school for artistic students as well as any student who is very right brained and finds themselves being very creative.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not many strange traditions to my knowledge. However I have heard the current library in Lawrence Hall was once haunted.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is quite pricey, but Point Park University has a knack for having outstanding job placement for its students, and it feels good to have confidence in the degree you are working towards.

    What to do for fun

    Point Park University is a great experience mostly because of how most of the students personalities click seeing that they all fell in love with the school. The school is located across the Liberty Bridge which takes you to the South Side and Station Square which has an amazing night life. As well as that across the Clemente Bridge is PNC Park, Heinz Field, and The Carnegie Science Center. There are countless possibilities for fun with the schools fantastic location.

    Food and Dining

    The food is nothing amazing, however being in downtown Pittsburgh you are with in walking distance to amazing restaurants and historical Pittsburgh cuisine such as the famous Primanti Brothers.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are average for a small college, but the location is truly the best and it is in an urban setting which makes it impossible to fall in love with.

    Academic Rigor

    Point Park is a perfect fit for me personally because it is more hands on than every college I looked at. The classes are not easy, but if you love what you want to do for a living its perfect, because they give you the experience and some way their curriculum fits in their system.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should not hesitate to ask question. One of the great things about Point Park is that the professors are brilliant professionals working in the field and the school is small enough for you to get to know what the field is like from an actual person working in your field. All of my professors all have been wonderful in giving great advice and answers to all my questions.

    In three sentences

    Point Park University is a small liral arts college located in the heart of Pittsburgh downtown area. The school strives for excellence and professionalism, as well as fun. The small student to professor ratio proves why Point Park is becoming one of Pittsburgh's top post secondary choice as well as for any student striving for success.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do downtown that are all within a few miles of each-other. I have spent the day at PNC Park while watching the Pirates, gone to the Strip District and bargain hunted along the street shops, even using your student discount and going to a theatre performance at one the the 3 major theaters in the city.

    Food and Dining

    I almost never eat on campus, but there are so many great little spots to eat right around the campus. You are almost directly across the street from Market St. where local vendors and little shops set up every Thursday for a little Farmers Market Day.

    Dorm Life

    I commute, rather then staying on campus. Stories that I have heard from friends are very positive, and the college does a great job of matching individuals with room mates.

    Academic Rigor

    I know first hand the broadcasting and media classes offered are wonderful experience. While you do learn a lot, I almost never brought my work home with me. You stay plenty busy throughout the semester, but is never overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students need to take advantage of all the scholarships and grants that the college has to offer. Also, always be sure to keep track of your financial aid and earnings on your own, and do not always depend on their records because sometimes mistakes are made. And be sure to bring a fan if you are living in the dorms, not all of them have air-conditioning.

    In three sentences

    Point Park University is a fantastic place for students to develop their careers in media majors as well as performing arts. It is located directly in the heart of Pittsburgh, which makes very easy access to all of the local television stations and theaters. While the college is a bit pricey, it offers great experiences and chances that other campuses can't offer.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe. Security has a desk in every building and it's not hard to spot an officer walking around. Don't let the fact that it's in a city scare you off.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Way too many to list. Each school division has their own clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Passionate, those who know what they want to do.

    Bang for the buck

    While tuition make look bad, there are plenty of scholarship opportunities to apply for within the school. I saved over half just with mine. Considering the experience I got here, it was well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Check out the Playhouse for a show - student can get one show free I believe. Check out the Strip, Southside, or walk down to Station Square.

    Food and Dining

    The school's two main eating areas can be a little pricey. But have no fear, there are plenty of restaurants very close to campus (like Nathan's across the street).

    Dorm Life

    While I commute, I have many friends who live on campus. I will hear the occasionally bad story, but overall it's a pleasant atmosphere. The themed floors for the freshman are awesome, and the apartments for seniors are pretty neat too.

    Academic Rigor

    While most people know this school for dancing, we do have other programs. The School of Communications is constantly moving with the changing media environment, and offers plenty of opportunities to branch out into the real world. Professors in all areas are knowledgeable and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with something, it will make your experience there that much better.

    In three sentences

    PPU is a lively, active campus set smack dab in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh. The academic programs are top notch and the faculty is amazing. It's hard to be bored at this school.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Forensic club, yoga, Black student union, dance club

    Great for these types of students

    Creative and students that think outside the box

    Bang for the buck

    Point park is located in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh where there are a lot of theaters and other great places

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of fun activities provided by the student body every week

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends in your classes it will make the school year a lot easier and a enjoyable experience

    In three sentences

    I love point park university, the campus is great. The professor are very helpful and determined to see their students do well. I would recommend for anyone enrolling in school to apply.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security officers patrolling the campus, and they take the time to talk to anyone in need.

    Greek Life

    We currently do not have a Greek system.

    Clubs and Activities

    Point Park offers a wide array of activities for students to choose from. The list goes from optional attendance to plays that are being shown downtown, to getting cheaper tickets to go to a baseball game.

    Great for these types of students

    Actors, singers, those interested in advertising, psychology students, as well as writers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unfortunately, I have only been going to Point Park for a year, and have not been involved in any traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    Point Park really is a great school that focuses on making the students feel welcome and comfortable with where they are going to be spending their next years. The student advisers work with you in order to make sure you are getting all of the necessary help that you require.

    What to do for fun

    Point Park recently added a new park and cafe' for students to enjoy. Point Park is also only minutes away from South Side and Oakland which have a bunch of shopping opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    Point Park recently added a new cafe' that students can dine at, as well as having a Starbucks, the Point Cafe', and the RDF (our dining hall).

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time deciding what you want to be, and worry less about the graduation date. As long as you have found something that you will love doing for the rest of your life, the time it takes to get there should be spent bettering yourself.

    In three sentences

    Point Park can be a wonderful place to attend school. They provide a unique downtown setting that is close to many of the surrounding areas. Point Park tries hard to include all of it's students, making for a better school community.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Point Park is within a city; Pittsburgh. There is so much to do in Pittsburgh. There are museums, parks, an endless amount of bridges, and other places. Students can get involved on campus by joining a sports team or club as well as the other things Point Park offers.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Point Park has its pros and cons. Of course the pros are that there is a ton of pizza, fries, and all that great junk food. However, sometimes it gets to be too much when it is repetitive. Besides the dining hall is the cafe where you can use flex dollars and meal exchanges if you get tired of the food in the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Point Park University is awesome. For freshmen, there are 13 living communities (ex: For the Record, Socially Connected, Writer's Colony, etc, etc). Campus Life helps you feel welcomed with events that make you feel at home. There are CFs (Community Facilitators) on every freshmen floor and they help you along the way. It is a positive environment when you dorm. Dorming also allows you to meet new people, learn to live on your own, and take responsibility.

    Academic Rigor

    At Point Park, the work load is challenging. Professors care about your academics and will do anything to help you advance. They are very supportive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make connections. This is important because in order to advance in life you need to connect with people. At Point Park you have plenty of opportunities to meet with your professors, other students, an advisor, and other important people to help build relationships. It will help you in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Point Park University is a small private school with an environment that helps connect students with the real world rather than just learning about it. The university provides students with access to many opportunities and offers a wide variety of majors. It is a great place to call your campus.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I initially thought that being downtown, this school might be unsafe along the lines of Temple in Philly. However, I always feel safe day and night with the great security staff. Downtown Pittsburgh shuts down after say 7 pm on weeknights and sometimes I feel like i'm all alone honestly lol.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Point Park.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are growing. slowly but surely

    Great for these types of students

    Introverts, eclectic, artsy, quiet or spontaneous, dancers, business people, hipsters

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Library (University Center) is fun to explore.

    Bang for the buck

    Pros: Friendly, helpful, professional professors. Small class sizes. A lot of scholarships are awarded. Cons: Food & eating establishments, Parking (there is no student lot), no usable swimming pool. I would say that if I were to come to this school in ten years, then hopefully I would be able to utilize the new academic village that they have in store for their campus and downtown. As of right now, I feel somewhat slighted for the money that I am paying.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Oakland. Take Point Park shuttles to The Waterfront on Friday nights. Peruse the library's extensive movie collection. Discover downtown, but with a group of friends!

    Food and Dining

    Sadly, there are only two truly dining places on campus where you can get a full meal. The large cafeteria has its good days sometimes. Typically, I would not go there because the food and the workers look bad. The second one, the Cafe, is small. But it has some good stuff. Yet again, the staff can seem rude and the prices are very expensive. There is a Starbucks on campus where you can use your flex dollars. Other than those 3 places, you cannot use your meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms are what you would expect. However, the sophomore and junior dorms are suites, which include two 2-person bedrooms, a small kitchenette, and a living room. (Beds are lofted in these, so make sure you are capable of climbing up into them, and not falling). The senior apartments are very nice, spacious, and new. However, they are a bit pricy. *Many of the COPA students live in Oakland and use the Point Park shuttle to get back to and from campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I came to Point Park from a very competitive high school. While I find that all of my classes here are of little to moderate difficulty, it typically depends on your major. Every single one of my professors have been genuine, super nice, approachable, and real. I am at ease with the small class sizes and feel like my professors could potentially be my personal life advisors if I needed them to be. Point Park hires educated professors from Carnegie Mellon, Pitt, and other great national universities. It seems that even though they had gone through a rigorous academic career (obtaining doctorates), they make sure that they do not push that on the students. I feel like they are always pushing real world internships, connections, and independency rather than bombarding us with busy work. I commend them for that!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit this college and downtown Pittsburgh. Make sure you feel comfortable living on a campus that has no grass or quiet outdoor spaces.

    In three sentences

    Small, Unique, Dynamic

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, officers walking around at all times.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    Dancers.

    What to do for fun

    I walk around the city. There are many events going on with the school being right downtown.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome, plus if you don't want to eat at the school their are many food places in the city.

    Dorm Life

    I commute to class.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic side of Point Park is great. The class size is small so you get a lot of one on one help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love the city and love the fast paced surroundings you are in the right place.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school for students that are really serious about their education. It is a very friendly school. Everyone respects everyone.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a visable police presents

    What to do for fun

    shoot pool.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has okay food and there are restaurants surrounding the campus,

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I wouldn't know how anything about the dorm life other than availability of the apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Both the core courses and the courses for my major have been a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most of the professors will work with you if you have a problem getting the work done on time.

    In three sentences

    Point Park University is school if you are trying to further your education while working a full time job. The classrooms are filled with a diverse student body. The sizes of the class enrollment is small which gives a better learning environment.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    CAB, AdFed, PRSSA

    Great for these types of students

    Urban, Artistic, determined

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is named after Point State Park.

    What to do for fun

    Explore what the city has to offer!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be able to handle the city.

    In three sentences

    Point Park University is a school that is in the heart of Downtown Pittsburgh that submerges it's students in the real world. I rate my school a 7 out of 10.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very comforting.

    Clubs and Activities

    Knitting Crafts and Crochet Club

    Great for these types of students

    Theater majors will thrive here

    What to do for fun

    Just go out and explore!

    Food and Dining

    The foods okay. You wont have the best fresh food options

    Dorm Life

    A little small but still enough space for yourself

    Tips for prospective students

    You will love it here. It's so easy to make friends.

    In three sentences

    Point Park has a very loving and welcoming community. I know that thanks to the wonderful teachers and friends I have met here that I have been bettered for the future. I have grown in strength and confidence because of this school.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very secure and the security staff are very friendly and approachable.

    What to do for fun

    The city has all of these different places to go and explore, and also there are a bunch of events that the school holds throughout the campus and the city.

    Food and Dining

    The food can get kind of old when on certain days they have the same thing, but the food is typically pretty good and yummy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is kind of average, but the rooms once you become a sophomore, junior, or senior are awesome! The freshmen dorms are not that terrible.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not that difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to join clubs and participate in activities, and don't be afraid to explore the city with new friends!

    In three sentences

    Point Park University is a great school for students who prefer smaller, high school sized classrooms. The staff is able to build a good one-on-one personal relationship with the students. The campus is absolutely beautiful.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is a city campus. It is in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh so there is always tons of stuff to do! You can walk down the main street and in just five minutes your at one of the best theatre's in American watching award winning play or musicals. Or you can sit in Market Square on those lovely days with friends and watch the city around you. Pittsburgh is a great city to walk around in there are many bridges that you can walk across to take you anywhere! You can take the Smithfield bridge right over to Station Square and enjoy a wonderful dinner night out with friends or go up to the lookout and see the beautiful downtown Pittsburgh skyline lit up at night. There are endless opportunities for fun in Pittsburgh from Mount Washington's spectacular views of the city, to Point State Park where the three rivers meet! The best thing about it is all these places are just 5 minute walks from campus and the dorm buidlings!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Point Park University make sure you come prepared to work in the university, but also outside with many professionals in the city, and in your field of study.

    In three sentences

    Point Park is a small private university, that has tons of professional opportunity for its students. They were with local professionals in the Pittsburgh area, and are highly favoured for students work ability. Being a small university you get a lot of one on one time with professors.

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I live off campus

    Food and Dining

    I live off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Point Park are challenging except the instructors are mostly progressive and tend to push their liberal agendas on their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend to students to register early as many of the key classes are offered at limited times both during the school year and during the semester.

    In three sentences

    Point Park has a very friendly atmosphere. The faculty is helpful and seem genuinely interested in my advancement. Point Park is the only school in the Pittsburgh area that offers my field of Human Resources.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dance students will thrive as the program is the third strongest in the US.

    Bang for the buck

    Take the incline up to Mt. Washington to the overlook. Breath taking view.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown is a central hub for culture, outdoor activities, sports and more. A student has many options to choose.

    Food and Dining

    The department running the dining experience with working with the student body to provide nutritious options as well as options to accommodate different tastes. Its a work in progress.

    Academic Rigor

    A self motivated student will thrive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pittsburgh is a bike friendly area. While the outer neighborhoods have steep hills, downtown is fairly flat.

    In three sentences

    Small university in an urban setting. Small classes with tight knit student body. Very diverse place of opportunity.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I have heard that they are very nice.

    In three sentences

    An environment that encourages learning. An environment that challenges you to do your best. An environment that lets you know you matter equally.

  • 09/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The Conservatory has HUGE scholarships available, ask for them, beg for them and you will be rewarded. If you are not getting scholarships it may not be, in my opinion, worth the hefty price tag.

    What to do for fun

    There are occasional sports events and campus activities but in general people leave this campus and go into more exciting areas of the city, Oakland or Shadyside, and onto the campuses of other schools in the city. Downtown and the majority of its establishments shut down around five o'clock. The true cultural center is where all the other colleges are in this city.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is pretty good and the Point Cafe offers some good options, and there is market square nearby that has a lot of restaurants but they don't take meal plan points and the selection is still limited compared to other campuses I've visited.

    Dorm Life

    Obviously it varies from hall to hall but there is a general apathy for community activities and things to do. People are generally nice and being in Lawrence Hall means meeting new people in the small quarters of the elevators everyday. In general, it dosen't feel like many of the students hang around campus all that much, this is a place for school and sleep and people do their living elsewhere.

    Academic Rigor

    Although I have yet to take an honors class, I a experiencing a moderate level of academic rigor in the regular classes, I hear of classes that are so easy your brain turns to mush as well as classes that make you work your tail off. I think the Honors classes are harder but as far as I can see they just have a heavier workload.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, you may think you like the cold Pittsburgh weather, the days with little sun, the urban buildings that house the tiny campus or the downtown environment but you won't know until you get out here.

    In three sentences

    Point Park has some incredibly rigors programs but the school as a whole feels very disjointed. It is a predominately commuter school with an urban campus and very little sense of community. Point Park will give you a great education if you are in a good program but this is not a typical Campus Life experience.

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are constantly activities going on around the school so its never boring, and if you are under 21 you can always go to Whim every Thursday night and do a little dancing there

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, but its basically the same thing everyday, which is great if you like regularity in your life, they try to switch it up sometimes by having themed days like Wing Wednesday which is one of my favourites

    Dorm Life

    I love my roommates so yeah!! i guess your dorm life really depends on your relationship with your roommates so if u establish a good one then ul have an amazing dorm life!

    Academic Rigor

    I love the teachers here, you can tell that they are passionate about what they do and i guess it depends on what classes you take, but Dr Gainer, the English professor is amazing!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are an international student who like me was counting on getting a job to help with the ridiculous college expense, i suggest u look towards more international student friendly schools

    In three sentences

    Its a great school with great teachers but i feel like it does not offer as much as it should to international students, job opportunities are limited and you have to compete for those with the work-study students.. so, u probably wont get 1

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Being in downtown Pittsburgh, there is a lot to do for fun. Point Park is located right near the cultural district so there are always options to go see shows. Also within walking distance is the home locations for the Pirates, Steelers, and the Penguins!

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining here is far from ideal. They do not offer many convent hours for eating or healthy options. There is also not many options for different types of food, it is usually all the same most days.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Lawrence Hall. My room is somewhat small and seemed like it was dirty when I first moved in. It also does not have air conditioning so the first month of school, my room was almost unbearably hot.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a dance major, so I do not take many academic courses but that academic rigor to me totally depends on what teacher you end up with.

    Tips for prospective students

    -apply and audition (if needed) as soon as possible -get ready to work hard - have fun!

    In three sentences

    Point Park is a very diverse school because it has a variety of people and offers many majors. Point Park also has many faculty members that still are working in the area that they are teaching in so they can give us up to date real world advice. Lastly, Point Park offers many opportunities to their students and the teachers truly care about everyone so I would rate it 10 out of 10!

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attending class downtown certainly opens up the door for many different activities over the school year. For instance, in winter there is ice skating available in the PPG place around the Christmas tree put up for the holiday season. However, in the summer months you can go down to the Point where the Three Rivers come together and enough a wonderful park near the water. In your free time between classes there is a Student Activities building that has a gym, a pool, dance classes, pool tables, foosball tables, ping-pong, ect. which available to all students any time they want!

    Food and Dining

    Point Park University has two on campus dining experiences. One is the cafe that offers a variety of different foods (hot and cold), fountain drinks, bottled drinks, ect until midnight every night. The other option is the dining room which has a buffet style assortment of food that students can go and eat for a rather low price. However, if you are not fond of on campus food, there are many other eateries in the Downtown area all within walking distance. Whether it is a Subway on the corner or Pittsburghs Primanti Brother's in Market Square there are many options!

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm room is perfect for a student who wants their own space. It may be a bit small at first, but as long as you do not clutter it with unnecessary items it will be all the space you need. Also, as you continue through the program you gain new opportunities to live in better apartment style dorms. Also, you are able to fill out a survey to properly place you with a roommate that is very compatible with your personality which makes it a better living experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Each course will challenge you and let you experience many aspects of your field that you perhaps have not experienced prior to attending this school. However, you should not feel discouraged or defeated because each class and each assignment is one step forward hopefully helping get you to where you want to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Perhaps this goes for many college students, but be sure to stay on top of all your assignments otherwise they will pile up more and more. If you are planning on commuting try to plan out your travel route for your classes because it is a very different experience when attending school downtown. If you have any questions about your classes, activities, grades, ect. always be sure to ask because everyone there is willing to help in any way they can!

    In three sentences

    A program that will teach you everything you want to know, and will expose you to many other interests along the way. It has an extensive and incredible learning experience filled with knowledgeable professors. A small pleasant college experience in the heart of a big city.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The tuition here is high! I've heard that the financial aid for non-copa students is a lot more, but for those in the performing arts its quite high.

    What to do for fun

    There are many theatres in the area to catch a show, cinemas, and you can't beat ice skating in PPG plaza in the winter!

    Food and Dining

    The meal plans are very expensive. But most food tastes all right, but not fantastic.

    Dorm Life

    Very clean dorms with lots of options from freshman to senior year.

    Academic Rigor

    My COPA classes are hard, but academics seem to be a little lacking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be kind, be genuine, and only go here if you are getting an arts degree.

    In three sentences

    Point Park is a very smoothly ran school. Its main focuses seem to be in the arts and would say that the Conservatory of Performing Arts is the main reason of attendance. I see the university from a strictly COPA view.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Real police officers securing the students

    Greek Life

    Im sure its excellent being that thats what the university always strives for.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs!!

    Great for these types of students

    All!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best building (west penn) has really good parking and an excellent relaxation setting.

    Bang for the buck

    Point park is an excellent university and has a reputable track record. The fact that it surrounds an array of fortune 500 companies gives the students a competitive edge concerning employment and employment connections.

    What to do for fun

    There is always an activity on campus and lots of sporting events!!

    Food and Dining

    The food is a little pricey but what university food isn't? They have buses to take people shopping at local grocery stores.

    Dorm Life

    The urban campus is exciting and the dorms are right in the city. Transportation is convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is excellent and the teachers give a good delivery.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check you financial aid always and find out who your advisors. Also keep track of major specific credits.

    In three sentences

    Its a great school with excellent teachers. The atmosphere on campus is electric and has a great location. The prices for tuition are fair and doesn't vary with out of state students.