Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Polytechnic Institute of New York U.… Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students with lots of ideas about business plans or research topics. This school is founded on its I2E philosophy: Invention, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship. There's a whole class devoted to breaking down this philosophy (which is very interesting). There's also a lot of opportunities for undergraduate research and grants for business propositions. If you look at the website (poly.edu), you'll find tons of information on undergraduate research projects and a pile o alumni accomplishments like the invention of bar codes and the recent accomplishment of taking ink off printer paper to reduce waste. It's an awesome place for people who want to be the next Thomas Edison, ready to get to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is a HUGE gender gap: approx. 80% guys. Some people love this, some hate it. If that seems a little too imbalanced, keep in mind that NYU overall is about 60% girls, so if you want to socialize with more girls (for whatever reason) just get involved with clubs on the Manhattan campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition's a little expensive, but there are really good scholarships, especially for honor's students. Plus, there's a program where you can get your BS and you masters in 4 years, saving tons of cash; if you're accepted into that program, they'll give you up to two classes during the summer for free (without registration fees and dorming, of course). Speaking of dorms, they're pretty reasonable. Ours are much bigger than those at NYU main, though they have much more variety. At first the dorm price sounds a little pricey, but seeing as we're in downtown Brooklyn, it's a very reasonable rent.

    Am enjoying being here

    At first it's a little awkward, because Poly is transforming into a school of NYU. But right now, we're kind of the awkward step child, so some resource we share, and some we don't. For instance, we can join clubs at main campus, but we can't be officers in those clubs. It's the same for Main campus students too, they can join our clubs, and we can enroll in classes there after the first year

    Am learning a lot

    I took AP Cal AB, and because I got a 5, I'm currently in Cal 2 here. Unfortunately, they still have to review a LOT of material, since everyone has different backgrounds. classes that higher up though, like Organization Behavior (my favorite class) is awesome. after reading the chapter, we have these intense discussions and come up with ways to disprove the textbook.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They take steps to protect the campus, more so on the dorm side. With that being said it's very easy to sneak into both. Basically if you have an ID that scans you can get into any facility, including the cafeterias.

    Greek Life

    I know several people pledging. Frats at poly are a joke. Being branded as socially awkward, and the enigma behind it makes it more difficult to get bids from the NYU sector. Most people drop it when they see their grades start to dip. It's not easy, and the commute doesn't get any easier once rush week is over.

    Clubs and Activities

    We are not allowed to participate in NYU's vibrant clubs, team sports, club sports (including ultimate Frisbee), or student government.

    Great for these types of students

    Foreign grad students who do not meet traditional college requirements. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone looking to enjoy a typical, or even engineering school, college experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is no campus to speak off. When you tour ask if you can spend some time on the 8th floor -which is where most of your labs will be- it's like the ghetto of the school so to speak. Other than that there are otherwise no green spaces or assembly rooms.

    Bang for the buck

    You get paid a lot when you get out. I noticed that they were stressing this in a lot of the pre-admission game. Everyone else did too. This kind of mentality has a perceptible feel

    What to do for fun

    NOTHING. Since there's no rating section I can justify a story here; there's a long running joke on my floor that poly is like having mono. No girls talk to you and you're always tired. If you want to have a lot of fun you need to make a LOT of friends at NYU if you would want to end up in manhattan more. Otherwise being cheap will set in and you will have such little motivation to try and justify the $4.50 round trip sub fare. Most of the commuters you meet come from Queens, which by the way is hard to get to.

    Food and Dining

    Lackman food services is a joke. I enjoy the people working there, guys running the grill start calling you honey sometime around welcome week, however the actual food is much to expensive to eat at. especially when it's itemized, and weighed. When meals are $0.45 an ounce you don't eat right,especially when the apartment style dorm boils down to $7.00 a day. This is something overlooked by commuters because they simply don't notice.

    Dorm Life

    Once again I wont bullshit you with personal anecdotal evidence as to why poly dorms suck. Resident life can do random room checks. They exercise this right, frequently. I'm not the person to ever have anything, however, it is rude to be woken up at 3 in the morning even worse to hear about your friends getting kicked out. Guest policies are equally useless, you have 2 a MONTH, and have to submit a form before 10:00. Signing in guests on a daily basis is an annoyance, but quintessentially living in New York. If you dissagree with everything I'm saying the one thing I can offer you is

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not going to give you any bull personal stories about how hard it is. It's hard. Not the nice kind of hard were you feel like you're learning a lot. It's the bad kind where you struggle to find the purpose in our work, or the wider life implications thereof. Keep that in mind as you peruse your required course catalogue, if you think you can tuff it out the things that bother before you will HATE once you're in them, especially given how little leeway you have in the progression and how few electives you could potentially take. Bio courses seem better.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should really do a lot of research before you go here. I would recommend doing things like joining the Facebook group, or talking to someone who has gone here before making you decision. If you're on the fence, just look at the numbers. 75% male school, >60% graduate population, really low retention rate? Really?

    In three sentences

    This isn't NYU. Know before you jump. There are very few -if any sustainable- redeeming factors in this school.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study, Study, Study. Entering as a freshman be prepared to get what classes are left over especially in the spring. The whole system is seniors get first pick of classes, than the juniors, sophomores and finally the freshman. In the Digital Media major you wont start getting any interesting DM classes until spring of your sophomore year.

    Bang for the buck

    Most of the student body receives financial aid and leave entering the job force at a higher than average entry wage. But with hefty student loans too.

    Did enjoy being here

    I've made a lot of friends and they have a lot activities, like Poly's Got Talent. I really liked the school but the commute was too much for me.

    Did learn a lot

    The classes are great. The professors are there to help you depending on which one you get.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Poly's campus is very safe the in school security is very cautious with their procedure to let people in the building you must have your Poly ID to enter or a compatible state issued ID to enter any Poly building. Also, the school is positioned right next to a police department and a fire department.

    Greek Life

    Poly does have coed and all male Fraternities, but I suggest not to actually pledge until after your 1st semester. That way you can get a feel for how to manage work, school, and extracurricular. For historically black Greek life unfortunately there aren't any chapters on campus but you will be able to join the city wide chapter.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and Activities can definitely take a bit of time away from your schedule, but it is VERY worthwhile. In the fall the school hosts a club fair where students can see and possibly join different sports clubs, nationally recognized organizations, religion-based clubs and school related clubs that make sure that Poly students get a life.

    Great for these types of students

    Poly is great for all students, minority students, international students, LGTBQ the community at poly is very diverse and accepting. We are one of the most diverse schools in the US. Also, Poly is great for those who are persistent, eager to learn, and those who like to work and communicate with others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not too keen on unusual traditions at the university; however the most unusual named room in the school has got to be the Math department's sanctuary, The Fishbowl, the same place you pick up ALL your math exams. I haven't figured out why they actually call it the fishbowl but the name is awkward.

    Bang for the buck

    Best things to tell students is stick it out!!! You will be come one of the best engineers in the world after graduation and to prove this pay scale's data has concluded that NYU- Poly is ranked the 4th highest colleges that guarantees the highest salaries out of engineering schools in the US.

    What to do for fun

    Brooklyn is NYC's biggest and most diverse borough, so with that alone should let you know that they have endless activities to get into, from the arts to recreational activities. We are a couple of blocks away from both the Manhattan and Brooklyn bridges, the school is located in the heart of Downtown Brooklyn, so it is located by a lot of eateries, Brooklyn bridge park and access to six different train within walking distance. Also, for the shopaholics Fulton Mall two blocks from school is a strip stores.

    Food and Dining

    Poly is not a huge campus so we only have once cafeteria, but fortunately has been recently renovated with a modern touch, a TV and plenty of room. Lackman Dining is who provides our meals they have a very inviting staff and good food with a diverse selection that would satisfy many ethnic groups from Asian to Caribbean. They offer hot food, cold food, breakfast, a salad bar, slushies, frozen foods, dorm necessities, and a gourmet sandwich shop. All students who live on campus pay for dining using their NYU-Poly cards that has a certain amount of money on it just for food that they could use at any time. Sometimes the hours of the cafeteria are short but they have been working with the students to extend hours and they like us so much they give free midnight breakfast before finals.

    Dorm Life

    Othmer Residence Hall is a great place for new, New York residents.The RA's and directors of the dorm try to make sure the sophomore and freshman residents feel at home. They throw a lot of events offered just to the residents, icecream socials, movie night, carnival nights WITH FREE ICE CREAM TRUCK ICE CREAM!!! Also, the dorm has events where they take us out around the city to eat and go see plays. The front desk security are some of nicest people to have a conversation with and they like to make sure your safe. Also the amenities are the great!! Free cable, free internet, the trash is at the end of the hall, and every floor has a lounge. The best thing about Othmer is that is convenient, it is right across the street from the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Poly is tough, no if and's or but's, however, you want a challenge when it comes to school. I'm a upcoming sophomore so, the most difficult courses I've encountered have been MATLAB and math courses. Poly courses may be difficult, but more students do well then those who do poorly. Also, fortunately the faculty really cares about the well being of the students, so there is a FREE math workshop for all Math courses offered at Poly, a FREE tutoring center, PTC, that offers help in writing, Physics, Chemistry and Matlab. On top of that, if you are in GS and HEOP you get individual group tutoring and small group tutoring offered on top of all of the other FREE things and selected students accepted in TRIO you have access to more individual tutoring, and the Honors students get their own lounge. Above all, your teachers are always willing to help you during office hours, this way you can even be able to develop a relationship with your professors and clarify any confusing concepts.

    Tips for prospective students

    WORK HARD, my #1 tip, go beyond aiming for excellence, because Poly forces you to work more than what you sometime would usually be comfortable with , so keep up with your teachers, go to class, do homework and do ALL THE MATH PRACTICE EXAMS. #2 Get sleep, the only way to be able to fully learn is to not steadily get distracted with all that Brooklyn has to offer, yes it is a big city,but school should be the 1st priority, plus POLY's math is like NO other university, TRUST ME, so you want to make sure you can stay awake in class. #3 Get into social activities: Poly has a lot of clubs, community projects, study groups, and a lot more to offer the students, so once you get the time management of a college schedule down packed get to know more people and get involved, so that you can get the most out of your experience. #4 DON'T COMPARE YOURSELF TO OTHERS!! You will drive yourself insane if you do this, many people who attend Poly are from the cream of the crop of their former schools, so don't ever doubt yourself thinking.. well all these kids are smarter, why am I here? No just don't do it! You were selected for a reason, so make your most of your time and make sure that you can do the best YOU can do! #5 Learn CONCEPTS DON'T RELY SOLELY ON MEMORY. #6 If you like receive as many scholarships, internships, etc. follow Donna O's Guaranteed 4.0 Guide. Last year Donna O actually came to Poly to speak many students on how to boost their GPA's and achieve a 4.0 for many semesters, and she promised all of us that she would give $100 CASH if it didn't work. Just take a look at : http://www.guaranteed4.com/

    In three sentences

    Poly, as most students here call it is a very prestigious, rigorous, and unique type of university. I would say that we are one of the best kept secrets, many people not have heard much about Poly, but the school has an illustrious history for encouraging entrepreneurship and invention while being innovative all at the same time. Now with the benefit of the NYU merger current students can be apart of a world renowned institution, and be glad to carry on the tradition of some of becoming some best leaders in the engineering, math, and science world.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is provided through Lackman catering company. Food is AMAZING! So many options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Fire drills late at night are so annoying -_____-

    Academic Rigor

    Math classes are the worst. Professors expect you to understand what they are saying in one class session. Homework is assigned but not due and the questions on the homework are most likely the questions on the test.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please come into this school with a working all day and barely getting to play mindset.

    In three sentences

    Don't expect this school to be a walk in the park. Don't sleep on the math classes. Professors are not going to hold your hand through class.

  • 09/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Social, and semi Antisocial students can all do well with either the prestige, and... you have to know some people in college, because Poly is a networking school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to spend money on math textbooks since the web homework is from the unique codes on your book. Courses are for the most part, fun to attend, unless you already know the material. You can also have access to NYU campus now, as every Poly student will have an NYU id instead. Take advantage of this! <3

    Bang for the buck

    Perhaps it's just me, but I really did wish they gave more financial aid, I can just imagine the amount of debt I'll have racked up when I graduate. I suspect the tuition will only increase as Poly is integrated with NYU, as NYU tuition is around 54k while Poly is currently around 36k, from what I remember. I may be off by a few thousand, but yeah. I can't deny that Poly is a college where you need hard work and social skills.

    Am enjoying being here

    Relatively small college compared to some, but the community is very helpful, and if you lose something, no one takes it, so you can pretty much expect to see that same item the very next day or so. That is, for the most, the faulty might take it and send an email about a lost item.

    Am learning a lot

    The Math courses are pretty in depth and more than just knowing how to solve the problems. It's more of how you get to the answer, how to recognize what methods to attain the right answer in the context of the question. The longer the problem is, the more information you're given. Well, free tutoring sessions ensure that you can learn whatever you have trouble with, no matter the subject. English courses are very attentive and insightful, no matter what they seem to be teaching, because the context of the books or passages matter less, but its more focused on analyzing what the authors wrote down and why, paying attention to tenses, which will ultimately help you understand and write better works. Just work hard and you'll do fine.

  • 11/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineering Students, Students who can handle a heavy workload and financial support from the parents.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, otherwise you'll fall. If you hold several jobs

    Bang for the buck

    NYU-Poly gives you a lot of financial aid: Scholarship for Women, Promise Scholarship, Poly-Grant, Direct Subsidized and Unsubsidized Loans, and even other scholarship opportunities from services around the school. However, the school tuition and the textbooks are still expensive. It is also difficult to get a job position even when you have work-study because the upperclassmen have higher priority and more experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    The student population, as a majority, is pleasant but expect to see conceited or ego-inflated nerds. The tutoring services are great if the tutors understand what they're explaining, but majority of the tutors are there to earn money. They are still students and will not want to do anything excessive or requires too much effort. The writing center is highly beneficial though.

    Am learning a lot

    The material provided at NYU-Poly is abundant, and given to you in masses, depending on what subject you are referring to and the professor you are learning under. Math, at least Calculus, will go fast and you are expected to have already mastered Trigonometry. However, certain major courses are beginner friendly. The courses require you to pick up the information on the spot or spend time outside to learn it. As a freshman, you will most likely have to take part in the Engineering courses unless you are a Digital Media major. Expect to write long lab reports, give presentations, and build specialized robot for that one course only!

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are into different cultures, technology, being well known by your professors

    What to do for fun

    There are so many options such as eating, or you can take the subway which is located directly outside where most of the classes are located in the Main Building.

    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants around and it is around the corner from Fulton Street Shopping Center

    Dorm Life

    I can't comment on dorm life because I am an off campus student

    Academic Rigor

    Everything is what you make it and if you put in the effort you will see great results and vice versa no effort and that will also demonstrate.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are into technology - POLY is definitely for you. They offer classes on construction and technology, HR and technology, etc. They also always forward you scholarship information and any updates on events. This was you are in the loop of all that is going on around campus and things you may qualify for and be interested in completing.

    In three sentences

    NYU Poly is intimate because all the teachers know you by name and are helpful if you ask for assistance. NYU Poly is also a very technology-based school which is great for the current generation to remain up to date. NYU Poly has a diverse student body which can vary from US nationwide to India, France, China, etc.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    never seen or heard any issues with campus security. you have scan your id card everytime you enter a building. it's get annoying sometimes when you have alot of things in your hands.

    Greek Life

    several fraternities and sororities. i am in lamda chi alpha and is a great opportunity to meet great people and be involved in many different activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are plenty enough clubs ranging from academic clubs such as engineering clubs that work on projects such as steel bridge design, or build your own airplane. also social clubs such as religious clubs and anime club.

    Great for these types of students

    hard working, intelligent, eager to learn, goal-oriented

    Bang for the buck

    it is expensive like most colleges, but the education you receive will pay off in the future. has a great career management center and has multiple career fairs to help you land a job.

    What to do for fun

    you are in a nice area of brooklyn heights with many restaurants around. the school has an indoor gym and basketball court that you can use and also at palladium and koles on the nyu campus that you will have access to. there is the promenade with a great view of lower manhattan, brooklyn bridge, and statue of liberty. just minutes from manhattan you can divulge yourself in all the wonders of the big apple.

    Food and Dining

    food is absolutely terrible but thankfully many good eats are around within walking distance. five guys is only about 30 feet away. lunch specials are excellent at any place on montague st.

    Dorm Life

    not much dorm life here. minimal social advantages although you are only minutes from manhattan. if you are an upperclassmen you are fortunate enough to be able to dorm at an off campus housing building that is only a 10 minute walk that is a lot nicer, but a bit more expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    tough and challenging classes. if you are a math wiz than it should be a little easier for you, but for all your courses you basically have to teach yourself to really understand it. although it is hard you will learn a lot and find many things interesting, that is of course if you like to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't expect to have a crazy time at this college. if you're goal oriented and hard working than this perfect for you. you will use and improve upon that aspect in order to achieve good grades. start picking what flavor coffee you like.

    In three sentences

    three sentences, i can do it in three words. hard, challenging, and rewarding.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards everywhere - in the buildings and outside. Near the fire station, police station, and 911 call station

    Greek Life

    There is only one frat. Not too big on greek life here, although you are allowed to join the ones at the main campus

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone going into engineering.

    Bang for the buck

    Poly is very expensive, but are pretty good with financial aid. Its a bit cheaper than washington square NYU.

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of things to do for fun. Going into the city is always a good option, there's basically unlimited possibilities. But if you want to do something closer, there's alot of places to go to in brooklyn heights which is just a few blocks away

    Food and Dining

    Lackman cafeteria is not the best, most people just eat there because it is included with housing and it is convenient because it is right in the building.

    Dorm Life

    Its pretty fun here. You meet alot of people. Its a small school so most of the people in your year live in the same building as you which is nice. Also it is a good way to meet people to set up study groups and there are lounges on most of the floors.

    Academic Rigor

    There aren't many classes here that just let you breeze by, except maybe the english classes, but even those depending on the teacher may have alot of writing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't underestimate the difficulty of classes here at Poly, but if you are willing to put in the work and time, then you will be rewarded with good grades.

    In three sentences

    It is in a good location, you can find pretty much anything here. The academics are good but difficult. The people are a bit socially awkward, but its just about finding a good group of friends.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is in the same vicinity of two other schools, neither of which with good reputations. Little to no guard presence outside and becomes extremely dangerous at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Limited assortment of clubs and activities. Most of which are major related and seem more like extra credit classwork than fun clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who do not care for the standard college drama and gossip. It is for those who want only to get the best education and then move along on their path towards a career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The door to the roof is always unlocked and leads to a comfortable, secluded roof where one can think and relax alone.

    Bang for the buck

    If you come here, know that you are only getting an education. There will be no dorm parties, no late night hang outs, nothing. That insanely high price tag is only for the schoolwork.

    What to do for fun

    You will hardly ever have the time for fun with the constant studying and homework. However, if you manage to find some free time, there is one piano, one small pool table, one basketball court and one fitness gym. If you can get through the crowds, you can have a good time.

    Food and Dining

    You do not get what you pay for. Severely limited options, none of which are spectacular. Every once in a while, there might be a good meal, but the price will negate the taste.

    Dorm Life

    There is not too much to do on campus. There is a basketball court, a small pool table, a ping pong table, and one piano. Do not worry, you will not have time for any of these as you will always be doing homework or studying.

    Academic Rigor

    Really pushes it's students to the brink of insanity. The work is truly difficult but if you seriously study, 24/7, you will do fine. Not a place to go if you are looking for an easy and fun college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your years of freedom and a social life as much as possible, because you will surely miss them both. If you plan on going for graduate school, do not come here for undergrad unless you have the money, because for the amount of debt you would take on, it isn't worth it.

    In three sentences

    Provides a fantastic education with well trained professors who encourage students' curiosity and yearning for knowledge. Pushes students to the edge with extreme amounts of work that require 24/7 studies and reviews. Extremely expensive and goal oriented.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have school activities and mini festivals.

    Food and Dining

    Has much to improve such as bringing more delicious variety and changing their food stocks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good atmosphere for studying like in Dibner Library. Try to talk to professors and get close with them if you're interested in the subject.

    In three sentences

    Has great academic courses for engineering. Could have better outside social life such as more food varieties or comfortable places to rest. Has a bit better school activities, but not much of athletics hype.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    little bit

    Clubs and Activities

    scanty

    Great for these types of students

    losers and slow learners

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none- no one speaks English

    Bang for the buck

    really a major ripoff

    What to do for fun

    nothing but leave campus

    Food and Dining

    over priced stale

    Academic Rigor

    none- workshop environ

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go to this skimpy academic environ

    In three sentences

    lousy, lousier, lousiest

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Just walk and bask in the wonder and history which can be found on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is just like NYC Manhattan food.

    Dorm Life

    They provide fully equipped dorm rooms so that students are without nothing.

    Academic Rigor

    It's only as hard as you make it, if you are a slacker than the work will seem tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    PAY YOUR DEPOSIT FAST!!! Because the school is on high demand.

    In three sentences

    The best school due to the friendly and helpful administration, the very close campus and the fact that they accommodate a very broad range of majors and minors.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus so I don't have an opinion.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm so I don't have an opinion.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not yet attended this school, but from what I have heard the course work is quite rigorous. The work is helpful for future success.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can hit the gym or just hang out in the lounge with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has pretty good food, but the surrounding area has better food for cheaper.

    Academic Rigor

    All the teachers are great and will help you as much as they can to learn the material. Study hard for tests and you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many credits as you can freshmen year to take fewer harder classes during your junior and senior years. Most classes are hard but are all doable if you put in time.

    In three sentences

    Poly is a great school to get your engineering degree in. The school is located in a great area which has many places to relax. The library is huge and has tons of needed material to help your studies.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubbing, eating (BUBBLE TEA), and doing homework?

    Food and Dining

    Food everywhere!!!!

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is extremely friendly, and kind of awkward.

    Academic Rigor

    There are three sections to each hard science class: lecture, recitation, and lab.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch your GPA. Become friends with the professors. Become friends with smart people.

    In three sentences

    Very diverse. Very challenging. Very fun.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Once you enter NYU poly, you are in safe hands

    Clubs and Activities

    A thing that doesn't end at NYU poly is the activities from sports to seminars to fun events like movie nights etc. Also there are enough clubs to fulfill the needs of people with diverse interests. And even after all this, you feel its less for you, one has access to all the events that goes on in NYU at washington square

    Great for these types of students

    students who doesnt want to be turned into geeks, yet want to learn practical aspects of knowedge previously acquired in bachelors, NYU poly is the best place to be in.

    Food and Dining

    great on campus cafteria and the square is surrounded by the best brooklyn pizza to pasta

    Dorm Life

    Haven't attened the dorm life, but what I came to know from one of my friends, that its really crazy there, on a day to day basis. But during the exams, no noice at any time policy is enforced.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is really rigorous and if you don't work on it as it goes, you will find yourself in a big trouble

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to attend their open houses and information sessions, as they get you a feel of the campus. Also, All graduate classes are in the evening and nothing can beat that.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Poly students can go over to Manhattan easily and can use NYU students facilities or they can just roam around New York City. On campus there are many clubs to join and there is a pool table and also a ping pong table. There are also small parks near the campus and so students can go there to play.

    Food and Dining

    There is a good cafeteria and it has good meal plans and the students seem content with it. Even i sometimes get food from there and it is really delicious. But apart from that there are also small restaurants ans fast food places near the campus which give students a more different variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't actually dorm but i have been to the dorm rooms. It is ten seconds away from the main building. No joke. It is like a twenty story building and every time i go there it is usually empty but that's because i go there in the morning around 11. But at night i think everyone gets together and they play video games. The students usually get together more during holidays.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic life is difficult. The labs have to be done attentively. But along with the labs being hard they are also quite fun. A lot of syllabus is covered quickly which makes it the students duty to go over it at home just to grasp on to the concepts. Some classes are really tough especially if your not good in one subject but the teachers make the class easier and more fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many research opportunities which you can sign up for over the summer. Also many classes help you really understand what is the task that you are actually completing. They help you get ready for the real world by making you do presentations in front of the class so as to get rid of your shyness and let you be able to face criticism. Overall it is a good experience

    In three sentences

    It is vibrant with city life even though its not in manhattan. The faculty is great and really help students. There are many tutoring options for further assistance. The students are really nice and you will have a good time.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    food is absolutely horrible. same food all the time, they renewed the cafeteria but food is the same. since there is no competition they do not care to serve better food.

    Dorm Life

    did not stay at dorm. i am not sure how the doom life is. i know it is next to campus. and looks clean from outside.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not sure what to say about that. I do not believe it has a quality education here. but it is the only technical school in nyc.

    Tips for prospective students

    re consider again before signing up.

    In three sentences

    i dont like nyu-poly because there is no campus. it makes me feels like I go to work when I go there. Also for my field research lab isvery old and our dated.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of things to do. But my favorite is to walk across the Brooklyn bridge

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a good hangout place but get your food from outside.

    Dorm Life

    I am not a form resident.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough course load but once you get the hang of it, it's not so bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study syllabus beforehand and always be prepared for anything.

    In three sentences

    A small, tight knit community that makes you feel at home.

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The 911 call center for all of NYC is right next door. There is no vehicle traffic allowed on one side of campus, and there are constantly police officers and emergency professionals everywhere.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are good at studying and have a goal in mind that involves engineering.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The actual campus is really small because it is an urban campus, but opportunities are endless.

    What to do for fun

    More important question: what isn't there here for fun? The entirety of New York City is available for exploration and recreation. No matter what interests anyone has, there's something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    If you don't like the cafeteria food, there are TONS of places right around the corners to get food. It's Brooklyn, so there's a huge variety as well.

    Dorm Life

    The apartment-style dorms are awesome! They have lots of space and are a lot of fun. All types of people live here, so it's easy to find people with similar interests.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors seem to think your only important class of the semester is their own. Obviously, that is wrong most of the time, and you end up with a ton of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a lot of work. Be ready to be disappointed in your grades at some point or another, but also be ready to somehow magically pull it all together in the end and make it work.

    In three sentences

    It's more work than the average engineering school, but apparently worth it in the end. If you can cut it, the location in New York City is great! Certain professors are really helpful, too.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards know you, you can't walk into the buildings without your ID. I feel pretty safe.

    Great for these types of students

    If science, math, exploding things in labs is your thing you belong in Poly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The greenhouse. It isn't full of plants- but it's designed to let your ideas grow (and is a great place to study).

    Bang for the buck

    I love it and I'm so happy I'm here.

    What to do for fun

    Listen to people in Dibner play the piano, go to free food events, and we have all of NYC.

    Food and Dining

    Avoid Lackman for everything but coffee and prepackaged candy bars.

    Dorm Life

    There are probably better (and cheaper) places to live.

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not expect it to be easy, your fellow students are just as talented as you are.

    In three sentences

    You are encouraged to explore the field you are interested. The only place I know where walking around with something considered nerdy anywhere else is perfectly normal. I love it.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Ask anyone if they like Lackmann, the restaurant service for NYU-Poly, and they will more-than-likely say Only because of my meal plan. I've had friends complain across the board and one even suffered from food poisoning there, but I must say that they have quite a nice set of staff.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorm is the Othmer dorm, and living there was a pleasant experience. It's not picture perfect, but any issues I've had with it were issues I somewhat expect from any living institution from time to time. For some reason, however, we were plagued with more fire alarms than usual this semester.

    Academic Rigor

    You certainly cannot slack off at NYU-Poly. Its courses demand focus and attention to details, especially if you happen to be there on an academic scholarship.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are at the front of every building 24/7. You must swipe your i.d. to get into any building, and guests must be signed in and show i.d. Security is very tight at Poly, I always feel safe.

    Greek Life

    There are a few fraternities on campus, and NYU has many.

    Clubs and Activities

    For being a small school there are a decent amount of clubs and activities to join. However, we are also allowed to join any club at NYU which has a ton of clubs and activities for any kind of student.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineering students, students that are into gaming. Students that enjoy being in the city.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fun things to do, most of which involve something off campus. Res life does host a lot of fun events, ie ice skating, broadway shows, etc. It's New York City thought! There are a million things to do, especially in Brooklyn. The new Barclays center where you can watch the nets play and tons of concerts is within walking distance from campus. Also NYU main campus which is a 10-15 minute train ride away has a lot to do.

    Food and Dining

    Poly's food is known for not being the greatest. We just opened up a sandwich shop that's pretty decent and you can use your meal plan on. For part of the semester we also had sushi chefs which were also pretty good, but other than that the food is subpar. Keep in mind though, that if you're willing to spend a little bit of your own money there are some amazing places to eat near campus.

    Dorm Life

    All first year and second year students are guaranteed housing at the on campus residence hall. There are two types of rooms, each are two, two person bedrooms, where you share a bathroom with those four people. The difference is that the more expensive option has a small kitchen as well as a common room for the four to share.

    Academic Rigor

    School work can definitely be tough at times. But if you are interested in engineering, then you should probably expect this wherever you end up going. There are a good amount of resources to help you academically as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you aren't a big fan of math and science, then this probably isn't the place for you. Also, if you're not from the city (like myself) there is a big adjustment that has to be made to city life. We're also in the process of merging with NYU, so it would be wise to pay attention to those developments as a lot of changes are taking place.

    In three sentences

    Great school for an engineering student or student studying a related field. Not your traditional campus feel, but being right in downtown Brooklyn is a neat experience all in its own. Student wise, it's a pretty small school, so you get to know your fellow students very well while still being in the big city.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards everywhere.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of places to go out and eat with friends. There is a piano, a tennis court, a basketball court, ping pong tables and a pool table to have fun, but there is not anything better than hanging out with friends in the study lounge (if you dorm)

    Food and Dining

    It is located in downtown Brooklyn so every time you are hungry just go one or two blocks away from the dorms and buy food (most of them fast food though). The Poly restaurant is good for the first two or three months, after that you get bored of the food.

    Dorm Life

    If you decide to dorm, the student lounge will be the place were you may hang out. Once in a while (every month actually) the residence gives out free tickets to attend a show (comedy, broadway, etc) for free. There is always things going on in the dorm building (free food, stuff like that). I believe that if it weren't for that building your college experience significantly gets boring. The ease of asking academic questions, having fun and playing soccer or Frisbee in the hallway really makes a significant contribution to keep that will of studying. We help each other a lot (the floor-mates)

    Academic Rigor

    Do your homework and you'll be fine. Home-works are usually more difficult than tests. Read in advance the most you can, don't procrastinate, the more you read the better you'll do in college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read in advance the most you can. There is no need to buy all the books, get to know which ones you really will need talking to someone who passed that subject. Learn to say NO when someone ask you out to drink. play Frisbee, etc (NOT ALWAYS BUT MANAGE YOUR TIME WISELY, in my opinion just at the beginning of the semester)

    In three sentences

    Dorms on campus are awesome. Job opportunities are everywhere. However, not all teachers are good. Some have an accent that was difficult to get used to at the beginning. On the other hand, I also had professor that are now in my list of 'best teachers ever'. The place is nice, but there should be more computers and pianos around the school.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    basketball, frisbee, soccer, and hanging around

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    They give good scholarship and aid so it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    You are in New York! What more is there to say.

    Food and Dining

    I enjoyed the food they had for breakfast but there did not seem like a lot off variety for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I liked the apartment suites better. You do get a smaller meal plan but you have a kitchen, which opens up many other food opportunities.

    Academic Rigor

    I sat in two classes. I didn't find the work that challenging and they were moving at a good pace.

    In three sentences

    I think it is a good place for networking opportunities because of the location. The campus is very small, which allows one to build a close relationship with other students and teachers. Finally you are a NYU student also so you have access to two campus.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe that a 911 call center or police command station is right in the promenade.

    Greek Life

    Lmao.

    Clubs and Activities

    NSBE! National Society of Black Engineers, that's my fam.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who truly want to do STEM field careers. The atmosphere also used to be for those who kept to their books but its changing... Great for independent students. We have a lot of commuters too.

    Bang for the buck

    I doubt any school has bang for their buck. I hate that the U.S. has put college students in debt before they graduate.

    What to do for fun

    BROOKLYN!!!!! then of course the rest of NYC. I mean you can get into anything in NY. The Dean of Student Affairs always scores tickets for various things, check your email daily!!

    Food and Dining

    Hopefully now we can get some dinner at main campus?

    Dorm Life

    Junior year you can live in a renovated hotel with Pace & St. Francis students... Way better but they have a community kitchen. -_- I'll be getting an off-campus apartment, cheaper & way better. I hate Othmer Hall.

    Academic Rigor

    As a math major, I lovve my schedule. I take all the math classes, half of the physics classes and I have a lot of free classes. So my academic rigor should be pretty easy. But the Mech E's, Civil's, CS, etc.. students don't have a pretty easy load. Either way studying is a must! (Mechanical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, basically all the other majors

    Tips for prospective students

    Put in work! Also, know that there is a huge gender gap, 80% male and 20% female. However, I know that they are looking to increase the number of women.

    In three sentences

    My first year was pretty adjusting. The school is currently re-merging with NYU becoming the NYU-Polytechnic School of Engineering, so that's a plus. I look forward to the new affiliation and opportunities, hopefully the atmosphere becomes more lively. Overall, I'll be making my sophomore year alot better by joining clubs & orgs at main campus (NYU Washington Square). But I won't forget that Poly has a great legacy and so, I'll have a good paying job after I graduate!

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    NON EXISTENT!

    Great for these types of students

    NERD!!!

    What to do for fun

    NEW YORK IS FULL OF FUN PLACES AND THE PUBLIC TRANSPORT CAN TAKE YOU ANYWHERE. ITS THE BEST CITY IN THE WORLD FOR A REASON

    Tips for prospective students

    MAKE SURE YOUR FINANCES ARE SORTED OUT, EVEN IF YOU HAVE SCHOLARSHIP, DONT COUNT ON ITS CONTINUANCE. MAKE CONNECTIONS, IT HELPS

    In three sentences

    IF YOU ARE WILLING TO GIVE IT EVERY THING AND LIVE IN THE BUBBLE OF POLY, GET YOUR GPA RIGHT, WORK HARD, ITS A BREEZE. IF YOU LOOKING TO HAVE FUN, GO ELSEWHERE

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every building has guarded entrances and required key card swipes. The MetroTech area of Brooklyn has been completely revamped and has a very safe feel, even late at night.

    Greek Life

    Very lacking at Poly (2 academic fraternities and i don't think any sororities), but available at NYU

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and organizations that are directly part of Poly, however the real gold strike is the immense number of clubs, fraternities and sororities, organizations, teams, etc that are available through NYU.

    Great for these types of students

    GREAT for: -computer science people, engineering/technology people, budding tech entrepreneurs BAD for: -aspiring researchers, people who don't have a strong affinity for math/science

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am a little sad to say Poly does not have a rich folklore of campus legends and secret locations since it unfortunately doesn't have a very large campus and pretty much the only buildings that you will be seeing the inside of are the Othmer dorm (if you are living on campus), the academic building (the Jacobs building and Rogers, these two are actually one and almost every class is in this building), and the Dibner building where the library is as well as the auditorium and adviser offices are located.

    Bang for the buck

    Poly is really what you make out of it. It isn't the most glamorous school, it isn't rated as high as an Ivy, it isn't a huge party school, but its located in NYC and it is connected to the plethora of other NYU school clubs and people. The academics are challenging, and if you get to know the professors there are a lot of cool research and internship opportunities. I have loved my time at Poly so far, but I am considering transferring for the simple reason that I am interested in more theoretical physics work and Poly, being an engineering school, does not offer all the opportunities that a dedicated school of arts and sciences does.

    What to do for fun

    How many times have I said it, you're in New York City!!! You will never be bored, there are an infinite number of things to do and places to see from free events to expensive event tickets. I absolutely love the city environment, it is soooo much fun. Say what you will about any other part of the school, there is always something fun to do (not to mention all the events and clubs hosted by NYU's main campus). Definitely take advantage of the Greenwich Village area and all it has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    Dining at Poly is a nightmare and don't let anyone tell you otherwise. The Jasper Kane dining hall food is ludicrously expensive, so that I only went there on average once a day (the rest of the time buying food from Target) and still used up my meal plan money by the end of the semester. On top of that, the food quality is never the best, with the exception of the occasional specials that are quite good (but also expensive). There is a small shop on the other end of the dining hall that offers a few types of sandwiches and drinks and some boxed/canned food; however this little shop is also very expensive and is hardly ever open when you need it to be. On the bright side, you are in NYC and if you have money, there are a million delicious restaurants you can try that are very close by.

    Dorm Life

    The first thing you have to realize coming to Poly is that you are in NYC, so you just need to accept right off the bat that the space is going to be cramped and you will have very little personal space. As soon as you accept that, you realize that the rooms are actually pretty nice and the dorm are very conveniently located. The reason I rate dorm life with only 3 stars is due to the lack of real camaraderie between the residents. Granted, some floors are much better than others (mine is actually one of the most active), but there are a lot or residents who aren't really interested in doing anything other than sitting in their rooms. Definitely don't expect Othmer to be a party dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    If you don't have a very strong background in science and math, it will definitely be a challenge when you come. However since I came in with a thorough high school background of AP science and maths as well as personal research, the transition into an engineering school has not been difficult. The classes are not flimsy easy classes, but they aren't the GPA-breaking legends of Ivy Leagues either.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Decide if you are more interested in technology or pure science. Poly is a fantastic incubator and collaboration center for technological and engineering endeavors; however, it is a poor substitute for a college of arts and sciences if you have a more theoretical or research interest in science. 2) Poly is a small school in a big city. New York City is one of the most incredible places I have ever experienced. Restaurants, clubs, parks, historical landmarks, beautiful Central Park, magnificent skyscrapers--the city environment is incredible. Poly is a pretty small school for those who enjoy the tighter community; however the expanded community of all the NYU schools is right at your disposal for those who wish to experience it, thus giving you pretty much the best of both worlds (small and large schools). 3) Calculate expenses. Poly is an expensive school so make sure you figure out your expenses before you reject your backup school. The financial aid and admissions officers are definitely on your side though, and they are pretty generous with their financial and merit aid. When I was accepted, I talked to them until I was able to get an extra $2000 grant from them to cover the rest of my tuition.

    In three sentences

    A great computer science environment and a growing mecca for entrepreneurial endeavors, NYU-Poly is fantastic for people interested in majoring in computer science or engineering, electrical engineering, or business and technology management. Poly and its connections with NYU's main school and the Stern school of business offers competitions, workshops, clubs, and classes to help students embrace an entrepreneurial mindset to start their own business, small or large, or gain experience at many incredible internships such as code-breaking at the NSA or engineering at Raytheon. However, if you are a student who is intrigued by scientific research and hope to pursue a more theoretical career in physics, chemistry, biology, or other less technology-oriented field, then Poly can be found quite lacking compared to a dedicated school of arts and sciences.