Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Pomona College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 out of 22 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pomona College is the perfect home for the hardworking, intellectual, easy-going, yet able to have a lot of fun type of student. Pomona is made up of an incredibly diverse group of people. You’ll find yourself friends with non-stereotypically jocky athletes, hipsters, acapella singers, improv actors, mathematics and philosophy double majors, slam poets, musicians, activists, and people from all over the country and world. The students here are ambitious and driven, but are extremely cooperative and thus, have created a very supportive environment where students are able to grow intellectually, emotionally, and socially.

    Tips for prospective students

    As cliché as it may sound, my best advice for prospective students is to be yourself on your application. Don’t try to make yourself sound like someone who would fit in at Pomona—the college will accept those who genuinely are a good fit for the school. The admissions officers want to make the best class possible, and they don’t do that by just looking at the numbers. While the grades and scores do matter, showing who you really are is just as important. For those who have already been accepted, my advice is to come and visit the school. Get a feel for the students, the professors, and the overall atmosphere. I firmly believe that every college campus has its own culture that can make someone feel very happy and comfortable and others not that enthusiastic for the next four years. And ultimately, don’t let anyone or anything else influence your final decision.

    Bang for the buck

    Pomona College has been given the title of #1 Best Value liberal arts college for the past two years in a row. I can personally attest to this as A) the education here is top rate and B) both myself and most of the other students I have spoken to have been incredibly pleased (and surprised) by Pomona’s generous financial aid packages. Compared to many other colleges of similar caliber, Pomona offers incredible financial aid, allowing students, like me, to attend such a prestigious college.

    Am enjoying being here

    To be completely honest, I am in love with Pomona. Everything about Pomona is amazing—the people (my classmates, professors), taking classes that I want to take, the constantly sunny weather (it rains about 3 times a semester and the smog that everyone is concerned about really isn’t noticed), the huge dorm rooms (freshmen are put in either singles or pretty gigantic doubles), the food (it never gets boring with seven dining halls to choose from), and “working hard and playing hard too.” There are always things to do on the campus, whether it is a performance (band, orchestra, sketch comedy, acapella concerts), guest speakers, movies that are played for free, dance parties, and general hanging out. The number of options increases when you consider the Claremont Consortium, because most events and parties at the other colleges are open to all 5 C’s. It’s also convenient that LA is so close (just a train ride away), so when you need to get out of Claremont to see a concert in Hollywood, it is completely possible to do so. While Pomona students are viewed as very studious (because it’s true!), sagehens know how to have fun. A major reason why I am enjoying being at Pomona so much is because of all the fun I am having every single day! (From sitting out in the hallways late at night discussing the most random topics to playing glow-in-the-dark capture the flag on the quad) I love Pomona so much that it has truly become a second home to me.

    Am learning a lot

    Pomona College provides for an excellent education. Each semester there are hundreds of classes that are offered in pretty much every subject matter imaginable. The fact that Pomona is part of the five college Claremont Consortium only means that there are hundreds of more options available. You can take classes at any of the other colleges! The professors at Pomona are another huge reason why the education at Pomona is superb. All of the professors I have had have been eager to help, very approachable outside of class, extremely knowledgeable of the material, and make going to that early morning class quite enjoyable. There are also numerous learning opportunities outside of class as well. For instance, this past semester I got a job as a lab assistant, where I have been able to learn many new things in a more hands-on way. Countless other students are also doing research (which is very easy to get started in) or doing an internship in the area. Education is the fundamental reason why students go to college, and Pomona has definitely made that its priority.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    claremont has been ranked as one of the safest cities in the u.s. so while there's no need for campus safety, they do a very good job, on-call 24/7.

    Greek Life

    if you're looking for greek life, pomona college is not your school.

    Clubs and Activities

    there's something for anyone and everyone. every club and activity imaginable, including quidditich and a ginger appreciation club (you get the picture).

    Great for these types of students

    open-minded. confident. thinking about your education in relation to the greater community and world. ambitious. well-rounded. collaborative. fearless.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    on your birthday, you will be dunked into one of the many fountains in the pomona college campus. this tradition is inevitable, and will happen to you, even if it has to be your half-birthday or quarter-birthday.

    Bang for the buck

    pomona college is the cheapest among the top liberal arts colleges, and is ranked #1 college in the u.s. regarding funding for each individual student. there are retreats happening almost every weekend for different majors, mentor groups, board of trustees, etc. in amazing parts of southern california. this school has money!

    What to do for fun

    you can drive into la, go to the museum of contemporary art, see a dance or opera performance in orange county, or drive up to mt. baldy to ski. you're only 35 miles east of la, so you're in just as much a cosmopolitan and beach-like environment as you are in a bourgeoisie, upper-middle class suburbia.

    Food and Dining

    the food is amazing! transferring here allows me to compare dining halls, and i can tell you that you'll be getting fine dining here at pomona.

    Dorm Life

    you live in a kingdom. if you're going to be working hard, you deserve the best accommodations. there's excess housing and housing is guaranteed all four years. the freshman and senior dorms are the nicest, so you begin and end your pomona experience with style.

    Academic Rigor

    southern california life is juxtaposed with hard work and a lot of over-achievers. be ready for a sunny ivy league experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    above all else, show yourself for who you really are, as a free-thinking individual who is passionate about something in the world. pomona college prides itself for having a student body that is brave at heart and independent at mind in regards to higher education. don't only show yourself as versatile, show how your versatility can benefit those around you.

    In three sentences

    pomona college stays true to its liberal arts mission statement of empowering me, the student, with my own education and how i want to design and experience it. the school employs professors who are passionate, above all else, about teaching and ensures that your quality of life, both scholastically and socially, will be smooth-sailing. it rates as a perfect 10 for those who enjoy living in a small, intellectually stimulating community that can handle having complete freedom over their educational experience.

  • 08/31/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 out of 16 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Academically strong, dedicated

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love Pomona, apply early. Your chances of getting in go up about thirteen percent.

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely expensive

    Will enjoy being here

    I've heard there's a good balance between fun and work here, but I'm not convinced. It seems like these students wouldn't have any time to do anything but study. The surrounding area is adorable and there's an on-campus movie theatre, so there's stuff to do and you have the four surrounding colleges to socialize with as well.

    Will learn a lot

    This is an extremely rigorous school. The academics are probably just as strong as any big ivy league school. They will give you 4,000 dollars to conduct a summer research project and will pay you for any unpaid internships you do.

  • 04/09/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    As far as the Claremonts go, this is what I hear. Harvey Mudd is for people really into math and science and technology. Claremont Mckenna is good for stuff like accounting, finance, govt, etc. Scripps is all-girls... not sure about what they specialize in Pitzer is more artsy, environmental, peace-loving and Pomona is good for the general liberal arts education, figuring out what you want to do

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit it! Its so pretty. has such a good feel.

    Bang for the buck

    Its really expensive, like most private colleges, but smaller schools have bigger endowments so its more likely that youll get better scholarships and stuff.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is really beautiful, and it seems like there are a lot of things to do. I don't know what the social scene is like. I was a little unhappy about the size, but with the five Claremont schools there, you can take classes and eat and make friends at any of them.

    Will learn a lot

    Its rated #6 on the top liberal arts schools. Its a really good school, definetely the most impressive part of it. It seems pretty rigorous, and the smallness of it makes it easy to get to know your professors really well.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pomona is great for students who are quirky, motivated to succeed, and like the sun :) Note: this is a liberal arts college - if you want to major in Engineering, Business or a technical vocation, this is not the best school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If possible, visit. If not, do your research. Show why Pomona specifically appeals to you. Also, show your passions! Pomona students are unique and driven, so tell Admissions what makes you tick.

    Bang for the buck

    Well, I already said above what makes Pomona so amazing. To me, that is worth almost any amount of money. I am paying full price so I cannot speak for the financial aid opportunities but I believe that Pomona is very good about accomodating everyone's financial situation.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. The weather is beautiful, the classes are interesting, the dorms are pretty nice, the food is good, and most importantly, the people are some of the nicest, smartest, most passionate and hard-working people you will ever meet.

    Am learning a lot

    There are a wide variety of classes here which are intense but you don't have to do a lot of busy work. Since Pomona is part of a consortium with 4 other schools, you never run out of options for classes. The professors are absolutely amazing - engaging, quirky, brilliant, and dedicated, and interact a lot with the students. I am learning so much about topics that I am actually interested in!

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe campus. Campus safety is only a call away. RAs can let you into rooms as well. Sponsors are nice people too. Everyone is willing to help you out when in need.

    Greek Life

    Not really any. We have 2 Frats (one of which is a sorority at other schools) that throw parties and one frarority (frat/sorority).

    Clubs and Activities

    SOO MANY OVER THE 5Cs

    Great for these types of students

    Any type...especially kids who like to do stuff.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fountaining= throw you in the fountain on your birthday 47= we love this number

    Bang for the buck

    Awesome financial aid, meets 100% of demonstrated financial need with grants instead of loans.

    What to do for fun

    ANYTHING YOU CAN POSSIBLY IMAGINE. Like Dancing? Hiking? Playing Video Games? Playing Frisbee? Speaking in another language? Doing community service? Drinking? Partying? Talking about politics? Swimming? Playing the ukulele or guitar? Singing? Playing any other game? You can actually do whatever you want and if the group doesn't exist already, make it yourself and you will find people (if not at Pomona, at the 5Cs) who will do it with you!

    Food and Dining

    Frank and Frary are good, but even if you get sick of them, you can go eat at any of the other schools or in the village. Lots of places take Claremont cash and all seven of the dining halls are linked so the meals transfer to the other schools.

    Dorm Life

    YAY! Sponsor groups, Orientation Adventures and any activities you are involved in will yield instant friends. There are parties every weekend and you don't need to drink to have fun. People respect you if you don't like drinking or just want to take a night off.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't easy, but schedules can be modified to be easier or harder. You will definitely have time to hang out with friends, sleep, eat, exercise, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Besides good grades and test scores and stuff, make sure you connect with the admissions office on another level. They want to know that you are passionate about something or have interests.

    In three sentences

    Pomona is an all around great college where you have exceptional academics, thriving social life and a great community. Everyone is really friendly and wants to help out. There is something for everyone and they try really hard to make you at home.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is not nearly as prevalent here as it is at many larger institutions. There are no sororities and only three fraternities (which host weekly or semesterly parties and other social events) at the Claremont Colleges.

    What to do for fun

    You will never be in want of things to do in the consortium. (Note: Most student groups and events are 5C [five-college].) A short list of options: off-campus trips, clubs, intramural sports teams, music lessons, parties, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The dining halls do their best to offer a homey ambience and a fresh, healthy, varied selection. You can also dine at any of the other colleges in the consortium, which offers significant flexibility and the opportunity to develop new dining traditions with your friends.

    Dorm Life

    There is something for everyone here--whether you like to party, stay in and watch movies with your friends, play music with your fellow musicians, or anything else you can think of. Sponsor group (hall) culture is especially great, and will form basic social units for most freshmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course, this varies with discipline, course, and professor, but in my experience, the academics are challenging overall.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Be prepared to work hard. 2) It's essential to communicate with your professors. 3) Resist the temptation to compare yourself to others. What you'll find here is that there is not a lot of inter-student competition, but that students tend to impose very high expectations on themselves. Learn to value what you have to contribute to the school and to society at large--that will keep you grounded and sane!

    In three sentences

    The academics are certainly rigorous, but will make you grow in ways you won't realize until you step off campus and out of the Claremont bubble. You will meet the most brilliant, talented, ambitious, fun-loving, charismatic people of your life here. It is a great institution in most respects!

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who love to learn and are laid back.

    Bang for the buck

    Pomona spoils you. You definitely get your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the village. Play sports at the rec center. Go to L.A. Go to a party.

    Food and Dining

    The food was better than I expected it to be. They served some pretty good Indian curry when I was there.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed overnight as a prospie. The dorms are pretty big. I liked all the dorms I saw which include, Wig, Harwood, Lyon, Oldenborg, and Sontag.

    Academic Rigor

    I am going to be a freshmen in the fall. What I have been told by most students is that the classes are rigorous but they are rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think working on your essay and giving the best representation of you is what you should focus on. Yes it is a competitive school and you should have generally good grades, but so does everyone else so what makes you stand out? Focus on your essay and be yourself.

    In three sentences

    The weather is beautiful and there are mountains in the background. There are hammocks on campus. It is paradise.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very important at Pomona. An officer is usually only a block away at all times since they patrol the campus often. They also will provide you with rides to your destination at night if you feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There are 3 fraternities on campus. One is a frarority. They aren't nationally recognized organizations, but they are great groups for some.

    Clubs and Activities

    I play varsity sports for Pomona-Pitzer. I act in the theater department. I volunteer at local high schools to serve as a mentor. I am able to participate in many organizations as both a leader and group member.

    Great for these types of students

    Free thinking, hard-working, liberal-minded

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People are thrown into fountains for their birthdays. Skyspace is an amazing art exhibit that features a cool pool and open roof that changes colors on the hour, every hour. Pomona College has its own art museum.

    Bang for the buck

    Pomona has a large number of resources available to students. The large endowment of the school allows it to put a lot of money towards its students.

    What to do for fun

    The location allows you to experience the great city of Los Angeles and everything that comes with it. Students often go to the beach, concerts, plays, sports games, etc. The party scene is also interesting at the Claremont Colleges. Most parties are approved/funded by the schools and are even allowed to provide alcohol to those over 21.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the Claremont College Consortium is amazing. There are 7 dining halls to choose from, and the eatery is quality. If you don't like the menu at your school on a particular day, just take a 5 minute walk to another campus's dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are some of the best I have seen on a college campus. The new senior dorms are ranked one of the top residential halls in the country. As a freshman, the sponsor group program gives students a small-family feel to help them get situated at this new environment.

    Academic Rigor

    Pomona is tough, but there are resources available to help students succeed in their courses. The Writing Center is available to anyone, and they can help guide you when writing/revising papers. There is also a new Qualitative Skills Center that tutors in science and math related courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pomona College looks for people they see to be leaders and openly active in their communities. Your grades and test scores do matter a great deal, but admissions really does try to get a holistic view of your person.

    In three sentences

    Pomona is an institution that takes pride in a very personal environment for the students and faculty. The classes are engaging and challenge you to work above and beyond the norm. The Claremont Consortium is a great resource because students can take classes at any of the 4 other neighboring undergraduate schools.

  • 02/13/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Reserved, intellectual

    Bang for the buck

    scholarships, scholarships, scholarships

    Food and Dining

    Decent. I've eaten there a few times and nothing is absolutely incredible but what I've had has been pretty good. I've never heard any complaints.

    Dorm Life

    From visiting the campus multiple times and keeping in touch with friends, I hear that dorm life is typically dead for the most part if you are looking for the typical college party. But this is the perfect place to get together with friends and have intellectual conversations on a range of topics, if that's that you are looking for.

    Academic Rigor

    As I stated above, there is a very high level of academic rigor. Those used to getting at least 4-6 hours of homework most nights should transition easily (IB) and AP students should have no troubles with extra efforts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are up for the challenges of a rigorous academic course load. I have heard from several friends who currently attend Pomona that transitioning from an IB high school course makes things a lot easier; however, not so much for AP. Make sure to have a global perspective and be prepared to think way outside of the box, even if it takes several hours longer to do so -- it will be expected from you.

    In three sentences

    Absolutely gorgeous campus in suburbia, very green and vibrant. School for extremely rigorous knowledge seekers, especially those on the competitive side. Great academic opportunities for those who can handle the pressure and professors are well known for their ability to educate well.

  • 06/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus, and have not yet found reason to complain of a lack of campus safety.

    Greek Life

    There is no real Greek life on campus. There is strictly no Greek living, and there is only one real Greek club, which doesn't have much of a presence on campus. If you're looking for Greek life, definitely do not come here. However, there is still a large amount of social life on campus available to all, through organizations that regularly put on parties and dances open to the 5Cs or just Pomona.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and organizations that bring students together to appreciate different cultures, activities, sports, etc. I haven't yet been able to think of a club I wished existed that doesn't, and if I did, it would not be difficult to create one and receive funding from the school to support it.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a rigorous education surrounded by laid-back LA culture.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sponsor Groups: freshmen are put into sponsor groups, called spogros, of 10-20 freshmen with 2-3 sophomore sponsors. Spogros live together with their sponsors in a hall of the freshman dorms. Fountaining: there's a tradition of people being thrown into one of Pomona's many fountains on their birthday by their friends Orientation Adventure: after move-in day, freshmen are sent on OA trips to wilderness locations where they can make their first friends and have their first college bonding experiences in the great outdoors. Walker Beach: there's a large lawn on campus with a sandpit which is called the Walker Beach. Students often hang out there to sunbathe, play beach sports, do some homework under palm trees, or just relax and have a picnic.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny (except the meal plan, as a vegan). The educational environment is everything I wanted and expected it to be.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the available activities are on-campus, there's not a whole lot to do in the Claremont Village. However, there is never any lack of things to do on campus, perhaps for that very reason. There are parties, dances, sporting events, and random get-togethers planned by clubs and groups of friends that can use school funding and school spaces. There's also the city of LA about 45 minutes away in low traffic. Freshmen aren't allowed to have cars (unless you have a permit), so most freshman get a Zipcar account to use the cars on campus or take public transportation... or just don't go to LA.

    Food and Dining

    As a vegan, my experience of the dining halls has been quite different from everyone else's. However, my non-vegan friends seem to have very good opinions of our dining halls, and the selection does look good. However, if you are vegan or have other such limiting dietary restrictions (gluten-free, vegetarian), I would suggest that you get as small a meal plan as possible, or as I'm doing for next year, petition for no meal plan at all. The choices available are not healthy, varied, or available enough to sustain a reasonable diet, especially not given its price tag.

    Dorm Life

    I've only experienced the freshman dorms so far, so I can't speak to what the other three years will be like, but the freshman dorms are reasonably nice. Some don't have air conditioning, which can be quite horrible in the first and last couple months. Blaisdell, where I lived, has smallish to cramped rooms for freshmen, but I've seen worse at other colleges, so I don't think it's anything to make a big decision on.

    Academic Rigor

    As you'll find at any high-ranking school, the pre-med students are extremely absorbed in their academics and have time for little else. The rest of the student body, however, does commit a large amount of time to their academics outside of class, because the classes are difficult enough to merit that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit. My decision was made for me on my visit, because of the impression the people made on me. More than any statistic or ranking, the people are what make the place. If you're looking for a school where the professors are all interested in the success of their students and the students are all looking to be the best they can and support their friends, you will find that atmosphere when you visit. If you can't afford it, apply to their MSAP (Minority Student Action Program) for a paid trip.

    In three sentences

    Positive, encouraging atmosphere from fellow students and teachers. Sunshine and flip-flops in an LA suburb with a small downtown. Rigorous, fast-paced, thought-provoking education.

  • 06/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Read, get to know people. Anything you already do or you can think of.

    Food and Dining

    Options from other campuses. Can go to other Claremont Colleges on the same meal plan. Snack is pretty good and actually popular. Lots of opportunities for free food all the time.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms unfortunately do not have air conditioning. However, all dorms have a heating system (for winter).

    Academic Rigor

    Hard but totally worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit to get a better feel for the school. Reach out to current students in YOUR field of interest (if you have one). Visit the website for links to useful information and blogs.

    In three sentences

    Pomona College is a great school with an emphasis on liberal arts education. One thing I really like about this place is the strong bond that exists between professors and students. There is also good collaboration among peers.

  • 07/03/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    sweet

    Academic Rigor

    hard

    Tips for prospective students

    none

    In three sentences

    It's awesome!