Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Potomac State College of West Virginia University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    PSC is great for the types of students who have trouble concentrating, students who need more one on one teaching, students who did not do very well in high school and plan on attending West Virginia University, and students who like to start out small.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a current PSC student, my advice to future PSC students is to stay out of trouble and the year will go smoothly.

    Bang for the buck

    Potomac State College is not very expensive and the campus offers different programs to help the students in and outside of class. For example, Potomac State offers free tutoring, free Internet use, and professors will meet with students after class if the student needs more help. Also, there are sports teams and spirit teams for those sports teams. PSC is worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    Since Potomac State has a small campus, all the buildings are close together. Therefore, I can wake up fifteen minutes before class starts and still make it to class on time. Also, I have made a lot of new friends, and I enjoy the new experiences as a college student with them.

    Am learning a lot

    Potomac State has a small campus. There are about thirty students in a class which allows professors to be able to work more with each student.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always fights, never ending drugs and alcohol although it's a 'dry' campus. People brag about drinking and hanging on campus, drinking and driving, getting high in the apartments, and etc. There have been several threatened assaults as well as some dangerous situations for females. The RA's would rather not have to answer their doors and campus police either don't pick up the phone or would rather not concern themselves with much at all.

    Bang for the buck

    It's ok but if you could go somewhere else of commute, it's highly suggested.

    What to do for fun

    It probably be best to drive, but they try to organize some things for the students.

    Food and Dining

    They try to be creative on special days and they have a nice space and selection.

    Dorm Life

    You can meet some really amazing people, but some can be extremely inconsiderate and the RA's don't hardly do anything, if helpful at all. You really have to fight for your rights.

    Academic Rigor

    Just go to class! Do what you have to and you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you could go somewhere else, it would be best suggested. It's not too bad making friends, but there's a lot of ridiculous stuff that goes on and you're going to have to fight to be heard.

    In three sentences

    Diverse but far from challenging. Not the best place to due to people you may end up living around. Professors are pretty good, though.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are used to small personalized classes.

    Bang for the buck

    I am an in state student therefore this college is very affordable. This semester my high school scholarships have paid for everything and I even got over a thousand dollar refund of what I didn't use.

    What to do for fun

    The student affairs directors plan activities for certain nights of the week such as movie nights in the theater, game nights, and late night socials.

    Food and Dining

    I don't have a campus meal plan, but I have heard that there is and all you can eat option. I also haven't heard any complaints about the food so that is probably a good sign.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm so I don't know what it is really like, but I do know the school recently converted the old Potomac Valley Hospital to residence hall for seniors and honors students.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't been going here for long but the teachers seem to know what they're talking about and they generally care about their student's education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to new people.

    In three sentences

    PSC is a small community college that is good for students not ready for a major university. The campus and class sizes are small and people are generally friendly. All of their degree programs easily transfer to many universities when students are ready to make the switch.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are really looking to focus on their studies. It is also a good place for students who may not be completely prepared for a large university.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important thing when it comes to attending Potomac State College is; you have to be prepared for the small town, country type feel. There are students who prefer a bigger campus as well as students who prefer a smaller more calm atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    Out of state tuition really is not expensive whatsoever. All in all it is a great deal money-wise.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is very calm. It has a small town feel but at the same time you get the same experiences which you could find at any other university.

    Am learning a lot

    In the year and a half i have been attending Potomac State College, I have definitely learned a good amount. The professors there do an outstanding job and the class sizes are small therefore there is more one on one time available with the professors.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No hasing. Stay sober, graduate.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am representative with the Student Government for online students

    Bang for the buck

    Don't really know what that means but it's hard being a fulltime student with no job.

    What to do for fun

    I volunteer for the needy, crochet, and love to sing.

    Food and Dining

    I love baby back ribs.

    Dorm Life

    I go to school online with Potomac.

    Academic Rigor

    Love life, love learning new things. Great classes easy to understand homework assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hang in their and strive to be the best you can be. Study hard and meaningful and you will be a great success.

    In three sentences

    Potomac College is an awesome college with great instructors and administrative staff. They are very supportive and encouraging and have helped me every step of the way.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a campus police station right on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    if you aren't really social and don't worry about people knowing your business or don't need friends.

    Bang for the buck

    coming to potomac and being here for 3 years because i played volleyball my first two i learned a lot about myself. i really grew up and became a mature young adult and learned what it was like to actually have friends. my friends in high school occured within the sport year (volleyball, basketball) i learned what it was like to actually have girlfriends that actually cared for you and trusted you and i learned to trust them back.

    What to do for fun

    the activities they have planned during the week. sports, games, movies, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep your business to yourself and dont trust everyone. keep an organized agenda of when your tests, assignments, etc are due.

    In three sentences

    potomac state college is a good starting college for a year, if you hae to stay here longer it's boring. potomac state college creates drama and sense it's so small everyone knows everyones business and names. it helps to come here in a sport because your year(s) go by fast.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe with the campus police here. they go over and beyond to keep us safe.

    Greek Life

    there is none, but i wish.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of sports here, and intramural sports here

    Great for these types of students

    Potomac state is great for students who don't like big schools. This school is very small; everyone knows everybody. If you want a personal relationship with your teachers.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there's a few activities you can do and that they set up for us. if you were wanting to do something off campus, you would have to go to Cumberland to do something. There is nothing to do around the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. Its not the best food but it gets your day started. i really dont use the cafe because i dont like the food.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's take their job way to serious. They make being in the dorms a little uneasy. I understand we need structure but also we are in college.

    Academic Rigor

    I choose this school because it specializes in my major which is criminal justice. So my teachers are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you buy all of your books for every class. Always talk to your teachers about your grade; if you could do anything to raise it, it shows you care about your grade. Being a student should be your number one priority.

    In three sentences

    Potomac State is a very diverse school with teachers and students being here. The Teachers are very flexible with the grades, classes and making you understand what is going on. The academic success center are always willing to help you and they are good at their job.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    state police on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    ski club ,study ,

    Great for these types of students

    all students who want to learn and go places

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    zombie week ,great fun

    Bang for the buck

    small town ,lots to do, easy to make friends,near malls ,fast food,

    What to do for fun

    tour the town,ski trips,go to morgantown

    Food and Dining

    love the cooks,will fix you anything you want,

    Dorm Life

    nice rooms, just hope room mate is

    Academic Rigor

    just stay on track

    Tips for prospective students

    appy early ,

    In three sentences

    I love attending,Potomac State.The College has lots of small town charm.The teachers are great and we do alot of one on one, they are so willling to work with you, Love it

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is relatively safe.

    Greek Life

    We have no frats or sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of fun activities

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to go to WVU but isn't ready for Morgantown.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Reynolds Hall is like a big family.

    What to do for fun

    Go to soccer games, walk around keyser, have movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, but not the best.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good depending on the hall you live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, the school is pretty good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have your financial aid situated. Be open to meeting new people. Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    PSC is a school where you learn valuable lessons. The courses require hardwork. Students are pretty nice.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    throughout the week there are a variety of things going on. on Wednesday's and Thursday's there's late night in the commons where there are crafts, free snacks, and activities. On Mondays there are documentaries in the loft and Fridays and Saturdays there are movies in the loft.

    Food and Dining

    Some days the food is good and others it's not the best. Rapids is always good.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm! for the most part all the halls are clean and the rooms are decently sized.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging and I enjoy them because you can't just walk through them and not really learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for housing early as possible. When you do stay away from Davis Hall. the best hall is Reynolds it's small and homie. Catamount is down the hill and off campus i only suggest to live there if you have a car. The classes here are good and the teachers here are very friendly.

    In three sentences

    This is a small college. This is a great college to come to if you are not ready for a large university. I would recommend this college to others.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    All kinds of clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a zombie apocalypse nerf war in the spring

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap college

    What to do for fun

    Personally I play ping pong

    Food and Dining

    Good Quality

    Dorm Life

    Normal

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are fair

    Tips for prospective students

    Find scholarships

    In three sentences

    Nice small campus. Great teachers and great students. Nice facilities

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police that patrol the campus around the clock. They are extremely friendly. Their headquarters sits in the middle of the entire campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs including one that focuses on individuals that love to play video games and card games.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is great from athletic, geek, hardworking, and social students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Once a year students don their Nerf merchandise and have a zombies versus humans battle on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The best scholarship to apply for this campus is the Promise Scholarship. If you meet the ACT requirements your college tuition is paid for one year. So long as you meet the grade and credit requirements that scholarship continues to pay your tuition year after year.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers a ton of fun activities that are not limited to a specific major. Earlier this semester there was a fashion show with a runway, models, and music.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that the dorm and commuter students use. There are also plenty of other dining options off-campus. I personally brought my own lunches.

    Dorm Life

    I was a commuter. At the beginning of the semester the dorms were experiencing a lot of water problems. Later, during the fall semester one of the dorms caught on fire.

    Academic Rigor

    If you got by on extra credit in high school it will not work here. Students are expected and should study every day. The homework load is reasonable. But the work load increases depending on the amount of courses you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best to attend every class. Missing more than 3 classes can hurt your overall final grade and experience.

    In three sentences

    The courses available to college freshman were an easy transition from high school. The homework load is reasonable. The Potomac State College staff are extremely helpful as well.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    absolutely nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    partying is not the number one choice you want to make here.

    In three sentences

    This school is good if your looking for a small at home campus. It is not much for having a lot of activities to do. The education is average.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Throughout Most part the campus is pretty safe. Especially where i come from its pretty quiet. But the wild life freaks me out a little but i still love the beautiful mountains of WEST VIRGINIA.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of different clubs and activities that go on around campus. If your a sports person that's something you don't have to worry about. The sport teams are the only people excused from classes on a game day. However, There are so many different clubs from Japanese club, writing club, art club, theater club,church club and the list goes on and on.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who need a little more help in college before going to a big university like WVU in Morgantown. If you feel you need a little more hands on Potomac is definitely the place to get that. Professors there are very supportive to help you meet your goal.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the main reason why i picked Potomac State College is because it's not very expensive. It was definitely affordable since i was getting myself through college. As well as the school being helpful with scholarships and grants.

    What to do for fun

    On campus The school as a lot of events that go on. There is a place called the game room where a lot of people hang out. and if you have a cool RA they make events as well too.

    Food and Dining

    During my semester at Pot State i had an meal. They have meal plans that allow you to eat week days and weekends. The food there is pretty good most of the time. However, it doesn't stop you from ordering Domino's every friday.

    Dorm Life

    Being on campus is a lot different then if off campus. If your looking for some action aka Partying you might as well go off campus partying. With RA's riding you its pretty hard to have some fun. But you surround yourself around the right people you'll be surprise what you may get into.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Potomac are right on point. Professors are always an email or a talk away. If you ever feel like you need tutoring, tutoring is free for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    For incoming students The key thing about being successful at Potomac State is being focus. As well making sure the people around you are on the same page as you are. The campus is very small but lets be realistic its still college so there are still parties.

    In three sentences

    Potomac State or as we called it Pot State is a school welcomed to all kinds of students. Not only in the united states but around the world. If your looking for a school That is hands on without hindering you Pot State is the place for you.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police have a building that is located right above the dorms. They patrol regularly and will crack down on you.

    Clubs and Activities

    PSC does offer sports, but no football, however you do get a discount when you attend a WVU game. They do not offer as many clubs as a larger school would, but check them out anyways to see if they have anything you might be interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are on a budget, want to drive to school, want a small campus that's easy to navigate, or want small class sizes.

    Bang for the buck

    For what you are paying at PSC the tuition is very affordable. The dorms are cheap as well. However, if you stay in University Place it is more expensive than the other dorms. Books are expensive through the bookstore, so try to find them online or off past students.

    What to do for fun

    Potomac State College has extracurricular activities and sports teams. A lot of students hang out at the local eateries in the afternoons. If you want to find out more you'll have to come visit us!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is located within University Place, the newest dorm on campus. The food is prepared daily and tastes as you would expect it too. Of course, if you're not into cafeteria food there are several locations within one mile of campus that you can either walk or drive to.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are located close to the class buildings and the library. There are several residences available to students. All of the dorms have working air conditioning. The cafeteria is located within University Place, the newest dorm on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Potomac State College is primarily used as a 2 year institution. However, they do offer some 4 year programs. They have an active honors program and every class you take at PSC is transferable to West Virginia University.

    Tips for prospective students

    PSC is affordable and the location is great if you have a car or not. The people there are friendly and everything you need is in one confined circle.

    In three sentences

    Potomac State College of West Virginia University is a great school for students seeking a smaller campus size. PSC has one of the most affordable tuition's in the entire nation. With only 4,000 students the class sizes are also significantly smaller, meaning more one on one time with teachers.

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never been in trouble with the campus police but I've heard from many people they are on top of their game and very strict often handing under-ages out like its nothing.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    People will always say there is nothing to do here which isn't true. There is plenty to do you just have to find it. They email you each week with events that are going on. If you join clubs you will be plenty busy!

    Bang for the buck

    I'm paying $21,000 a year and I think that is way too high. I feel as though I'm at a community college in a different state and just living on campus of that community college. I'm considering transferring back home for spring semester to save money. As much as i love it here it's not worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few resturants in town you can walk to and every wednesday there is a wal mart shuttle (the wal mart is about 3 miles away so unless you have a car you will probably be taking the shuttle) besides eat there isn't much to do around Keyser which is alright because you will probably tend to focus on your studies more then however almost everyone goes to WVU (a 1 1/2 drive) on the weekends. So you can get good grades but still party like a WVU student on the weekend. I HIGHLY SUGGEST YOU BRING A CAR.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't terrible but also I'm not often over excited for lunch/dinner breakfast is almost always the same which is ok: waffle, omelette station, cereal station, hash browns, oatmeal, grits for lunch and dinner they have a different hot lunch every day with few repeats, they always have a pizza station, cereal station, salad bar, sandwich station, and desserts

    Dorm Life

    There are a few different residence halls University Place is their newest and most popular dorm hall it has a laundry facility, cafeteria, fast food, small movie theater, study areas and rooms on each floor, TV in the second floor loft, and a study room with computers and printer on the first floor. the dorms here aren't very big you have one bathroom which you share with your roommate and suitemates

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not too hard especially if you're coming from AP courses then the work here will feel elementary. However if you are an average to below average student the classes will be perfect for you because they take it easy and start with the basics and help you along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Potomac State College is an open admission college, the classes are small so you will get to know your teacher and they will be able to give you more attention then you would get at a large school, there aren't many distractions so there is no reason for your grades to go down and not up (especially since the work isn't too difficult and your tuition pays for tutoring)

    In three sentences

    Potomac State College offers you very few distractions and has small intimate class room settings. There isn't much to do in the colleges town Keyser but you're only a 90 minute drive From West Virginia University which is where most students go on the weekends anyways.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school is a great way for many to transfer from high school into a University. It offers many of the same things that a University does. This is also very close ot WVU, so students can go and see events over the weekend.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty locked down, but you get a lot of freedom, too

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many clubs to mention

    Great for these types of students

    Ag students, and athletic focused students fit in well here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We skinned some deer in the laundry room, but that got kicked quick.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty affordable for the education

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends is very popular. There is a mall about 30 minutes away with a movie theatre and bowling alley.

    Food and Dining

    Nice variety.

    Dorm Life

    Kids can be kids. Try to surround yourself with mature people. Some dorms offer private rooms, and being a RA gets you free room and board.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be hard if you pick the challenging ones. Ps. PICK THE CHALLENGING ONES

    Tips for prospective students

    Really think about what your goals are. This is a good school to make mistakes and correct them before going to a big, expensive university.

    In three sentences

    The school is small, but the teachers truly care and reach out to you. The campus is unique with its equine facility.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten on campus since before I even started here, but from what I remember, the food was good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I hear that they're very loud. Most of the people I talk to that live in dorms have to go somewhere else to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early. The classes fill up fast. It is a small school, so if you're looking for a huge college, this isn't it.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school to start out at. All the professors are usually nice. It's not too big of a campus, so you get a chance to get used to going to college, without getting lost.

  • 05/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Laid back, chill type of people.

    What to do for fun

    They have Late Night in The Commons for us every Wednesday and Thursday that starts at 9-11. They have various activities for us to do every week there.The most exciting time on campus is during basketball season. The games are always live and fun, that is something you could look forward to.

    Food and Dining

    Some days the food is good, some days it isn't. This campus does not offer food chains such as, Chick-fil-A, Anne's Pretzels, McDonalds, etc. that other college campuses may have. There are 2 food places, Rapids and The Commons. Rapids is a to-go option and The Commons is a buffet style sit in option.

    Dorm Life

    I rate dorm life 5 stars because I live in one of the better dorms on campus. University Place. This dorm has private doubles, and suites. I love this dorm because of the privacy in bathrooms, with the suites you share your bathroom with 3 others, With the private double you only share it with one other person.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be challenging but other classes can be easy. It depends on the teacher, some teachers teach the material in a way for you to understand it but others do not. To deal with the others who you don't understand, it is best to study and/or go find help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on coming here, I suggest you bring some type of entertainment for your dorm room. The campus does not really have a lot of activities going on every day, and it can get boring on campus after classes. Bring your game system or a TV, Laptop, anything to cure your boredom.

    In three sentences

    It is very small. It is very individualized. It can be very boring for some.