Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Prairie State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for graduates or anybody that doesn't know what to do in their life or wants to continue or expand their education. This is really great for anyone who's very serious about their edcuation.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you apply here I guarantee you'll have your money's worth. You can graduate from Prairie State or either pass the classes for your requirement to transfer to another class. It's really easy and you can get far from this college.

    Bang for the buck

    The money here is ok. At first it was very confusing of how they have this Payment Plan. This Plan helps a lot though when it comes to hard times and economic crisis's. You can pay half the money from your bank account then pay the other half later. With this plan, it's like a blessing to me.

    Am enjoying being here

    The evironment here in Prairie STate is very comforting. The work here are easy and very understandable. It's like every min I be in Prairie State is like another min of enjoying my life more as a first year Student here.

    Am learning a lot

    Being here in Prairie State is amazing! At first I was very nervous for starting off school in my own Community, however doing the first semester was great! The people, counselor, and professor here really knows how to help students and help them prepared for their own future.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards throughout the buildings and they also drive around in the parking lots. Anybody can also ask to be escorted to their car if they feel unsafe and they can be contacted anytime.

    Greek Life

    There is a sorority offered to students if they demonstrate a good GPA and have good grades throughout a semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activites available range from sports teams to animae club. There is a wide variety and anyone can fit in somewhere.

    Great for these types of students

    Prairie State College is a great place for students who feel more comfortable in a close environment. It doesn't have a large campus, there are only three buildings that offer classes so it's very unified. Also, if students prefer a classroom with, at the most, 35 students in one class. The faculty is also available 24/7 whether it's office hours, email, or phone.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is reasonably priced because it is a community college. Like most colleges, they charge a student per credit hour so it depends if a student wants to participate full time or part time. There are also scholarships offered to students if they decide to attend there, which partially pays for tuition, fully pays for tuition, or helps in other ways.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and sports teams that are offered at the school. Also, there are usually concerts, activities made from clubs, and other options a student can be offered every week.

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafeteria within the school and the food is decent. It isn't the best but the quality isn't bad. However, some of the prices for some of the food is a little overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available since it is a community college. All students live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework is challenging in some classes and fair in others. Overall, it is what a student should expect when it comes to a community college. The assignments aren't as rigorous as a university, but it's more challenging than high school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I would give to prospective students is to join as many clubs as possible, especially the honors program and the sorority because it can provide scholarships for students.

    In three sentences

    Prairie State College is a very unified and it is a good place to begin college. The campus is small but not too small so college students are able to get a college experience. Also, it provides a student with the right amount of coursework for a beginning college student.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    go for it! They encourage programming and diversity.

    Great for these types of students

    Beginning students . Transfer credits. Returning students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Workforce for unemployed. Also veterans help for veterans (new)

    Bang for the buck

    Best per credit hour. Make sure you need all the classes you are getting as prereqs. Some classes have more credit hours than other programs needs. Save more $$ if you can.

    What to do for fun

    learn languages

    Food and Dining

    good coffee

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing. Business.

    Tips for prospective students

    Review all the programming before you attend. Also look into financial aid programs yourself. They are helpful here but often long wait.

    In three sentences

    Good place to start out of get some extra credit for other programs.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    join the clubs that you like in school. I believe you will stay more focus on your grades the more you are involve with the school.

    What to do for fun

    reading and studying

    Food and Dining

    a cafe in the school and restaurants near by.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    high standards

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus and study... study... study...

    In three sentences

    I love this school and the teachers

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who know or may not know what they want to get into, the teachers and staff are there to help with every step of the way. this college is great for any type of student!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on what you want and go for it!

    Bang for the buck

    Plenty of bang for the buck here! Everyone there is trying to save you money and there is always something new and exciting to get involved in.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a very comfortable environment and the faculty and staff are there to help.

    Am learning a lot

    It took me all the way until college to get a hold on a lot of understanding toward school work and i feel prairie state has helped me tremendously in doing so!

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student can benefit by attending Prairie State College, it is accredited so credits transfer quite easily whether you attend a Top 10 or other school.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT PUT OFF COLLEGE - get at least your Bachelor's right out of high school - I am 44 and in school not, NOT EASY !

    Bang for the buck

    Nowhere have a I found so many course offerings for such a great price.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy the convenient location of Prairie State and flexibility to take courses on-line or in the classroom.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a LOT in my time there.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    prairie state is where you'll get the most bang for your buck, seriously.

    What to do for fun

    hang out in the atrium or the weight room or the library.

    Food and Dining

    eh ok

    Dorm Life

    there isn't any dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    be on top of your game! also, if you think that your gonna fail a class, then drop that class before the drop deadline! it can really hurt your gpa.

    In three sentences

    prairie state is a great community college for anyone looking to further their education career. one of the things that i like about prairie state is the professors there, the professors that i had were all very knowledgable on their topics and caring and pretty much down to earth. another thing that i like about prairie state is the advisers, especially mrs. goli and mrs. heins, they're awesome advisers.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Trio is one of the best club at Prairie State College. It help students file out their FASFA, assignments, presonal problems etc.

    Food and Dining

    I will rate the cafeteria food a 3 out of 5.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study study!

    In three sentences

    Prairie State is a place where students can taste the experience of college. At Prairie State students can get a good quality education and itâ??s affordable. Most high school graduates are eager to go to a big university instead of going to a nearby community college. â??Start near, go farâ??.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    A great education and degree for a small cost with financial aid and scholarship options available.

    What to do for fun

    With clubs, sports and a plethora of activities available every month in the Atrium there's always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Great food with a nice cafeteria located next to the Atrium.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging courses with a wide range of available subjects and degrees.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know where your classes are and try not to procrastinate on your assignments.

    In three sentences

    An excellent school that is perfect for a range of students. It's great for all kinds of students; it doesn't matter if you're returning to school after a break, need to save money before transferring to a university, or if you're nervous about transitioning into a college experience. Overall the facilities are great, the teachers are nice and knowledgeable, and the curriculum is rigorous.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Paint, dance, play instruments including the alto sax and cello.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome

    Academic Rigor

    Occupational Therapy

    Tips for prospective students

    Dedication Enthusiast Drive Challenge

    In three sentences

    Incredible atmosphere. Clean. Highly proud to be attended there to further my education, coming from Florida.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security can be seen walking around at the main campus. Sometimes, they're patrolling in their cars. There are emergency boxes throughout the parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    Art/Anime Club Speech Team Math Club Student Government Phi Beta Kappa (Academic, not the Sorority) Psi Beta Kappa (Psychology academic Honors) There's probably a whole lot of other clubs that I'm missing, but these are just a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Driven, focused students who are decided on their career choice. If you would like to transfer, then be sure to enroll for their IAI program, which is structured so that all your credits are transferable.

    Bang for the buck

    You save big bucks by going here first. A lot of classmates I run into came back from big schools like U of I and NIU because they couldn't afford it. No duh. So before you follow your friends to the same college just to be together, be smart and save yourself any unnecessary loan debt.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the Atrium, go on the computers in the lab, walk outside.

    Food and Dining

    The Pioneer Cafe is a bit pricey, however, there is a McDonalds, Mexican restaurant, and Nino's Pizza on Halsted near the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers give helpful syllabuses and schedules of when everything is due. Thoughtful lectures and discussions take place. Expected to have projects, assignments, and homework completed on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because PSC is a community college doesn't mean you should slack off. THIS IS NOT HIGH SCHOOL. The difference is that you're paying for it, so if you want to leave early, ditch classes, sleep/text in class, then forget about it. Take it seriously as these are the first two years that will make an impression if you were to transfer or get certified. Take Honors courses.

    In three sentences

    The biggest bang for your buck. A nice bridge between high school and college. Great professors who make the experience worthwhile.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is flourishing at this campus, if you need help, its easy to find.

    Greek Life

    Totally non existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    They do occasionally have activities at the school that are pretty easy to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    If your intention is to save money before transferring to a larger school, than I would highly recommend going here first.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition pricing is relatively cheap, and the professors are very passionate about what they do.

    What to do for fun

    They're is little to do if you're not involved in a sports team at this school, but that is to be expected from most community colleges.

    Food and Dining

    Having more options to choose from would definitely be a plus.

    Dorm Life

    They do not offer housing at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    I'd say its fairly average, sink or swim is kind of the motto, if your not self motivated your going to have a rough time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do as much research as your own when it comes to finding out what classes you actually need when its time to transfer to a university.

    In three sentences

    This is a nice place to go to if you are unsure of your major. They over plenty of general education courses that can transfer pretty much anywhere.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food here is amazing! They even make events and the students eat for free with the show of a valid school I.D.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, we don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There is some much help here and who would turn down free tutoring?

    In three sentences

    Prairie state college is a great school if you plan to save money. It's cheaper to attend here than to go to a four year university, right after high school. If you aren't sure about which major to go with, start off at Prairie State to take basics classes that you will eventually need to take.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang in the lobby.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just have to stay focused.

    In three sentences

    Engaging, Relaxing, Affordable.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is relatively safe, since I've been attending I have not noticed anything unusual, or felt unsafe.

    What to do for fun

    The College always has some type of event going on. So it is best to check out the website, or view the postings around the college

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining area is very clean and organized. There is also a variety of selections to choose from pending what you have a taste for.

    Dorm Life

    This college would be considered a commuter college, therefore dorms are not available to students at Prairie State.

    Academic Rigor

    Keeping up your grades is very important. It is important to stay on top of attending your classes, and setting aside study time. It is totally different from high school. You have to maintain good time management skills because it is very easy to get behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your research when you begin looking for a college to attend. For example make a list and check out what each school has to offer you such as the programs, housing, and scholarships.

    In three sentences

    I would like to say that Prairie State College is a well organized institution. I am currently attending there as a guest student in order to take microbiology 211. If I was able to get into the dental hygiene program there I would definitely do so with no hesitation.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Securities are socially friendly, however, they enjoy given tickets to students who parks in the staff/faculty lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can join as many club as you want. Especially, if you have nothing to do in between classes or after.

    Food and Dining

    I usually make my own lunch from home. However, I ordered food from Praire State once. In my opinion, I think it's overprice but worth eating.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in Prairie State College.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure you attend to all your classes at the right time. Most professors seem to be flexible, however, don't take them for granted.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students is to be aware of the activities and events (such as festival, clubs, contests, etc.) I highly suggest you stay involve or volunteer in a way of showing support to the school and others.

    In three sentences

    Prairie State is simply a well organized community college with helpful professor, especially for students who haven not decided their major(s) yet. Prairie State College will strive for any students into their goals/future. I know this because I am one of the attending students.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The big event at our school is our boys basketball games

    Food and Dining

    There is such a variety of food places around and in the school.

    Dorm Life

    Its a community college so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It has difficult courses, but teachers are willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to an advisor before registering so you can have the courses you need for your major.

    In three sentences

    Prairie State is the ideal community college. Tuition is low yet you receive grade A education from professors who really care about your success. Great diversity, a variety of sports and numerous clubs to join, P State is the perfect community college.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are very lazy and only ride around the parking lots.

    Great for these types of students

    Returning students or extra training.

    Bang for the buck

    Not really. I think the school is to expensive esp. being I can't even understanding one of my teachers.

    What to do for fun

    I usually attend sporting events. P. State always have different organizations in the lobby.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is ok. Food is sometimes undercooked.

    Dorm Life

    Everybody lives off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Very easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before attending get to know the building.

    In three sentences

    Great starter for college. The environment is very calm. Mostly filled with students from the local high schools.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security keeps everyone safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is no shortage of clubs and activities going on at Prairie State.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap, but extremely effective. There is no better place to get the most for your money.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs for everyone at Prairie State. There is also a gymnasium and an open atrium to hang out with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    The Pioneer Cafe has great food, but can be a bit pricy.

    Dorm Life

    To my knowledge, there are no dorms at Prairie State .

    Academic Rigor

    It presents a challenge while not overwhelming the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind, especially if your major is undeclared. Take many different classes along with your prerequisites; you never know what you may discover about yourself.

    In three sentences

    As far as community colleges go, Prairie State is a mighty fine one. It is a great place to start your education without straining your finances. Most teachers are excellent at their profession and help students whenever they can.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I do not know much about the clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who learn on a much smaller scale, and a smaller academic scale.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good especially if you are on the go often.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you take, the more challenging the academic courses will be.

    Tips for prospective students

    If one chooses to attend Prarie State for whatever their respectable wishes and reasons are, then make the best of it. Utalize the staff, utilize the small enviorment, make the best of the situation as possible. a suggestion would be to take night classes, especially if the student has a job or a child.

    In three sentences

    Prarie State College is a good school for many students to start out at. Students who did not participate in the Advanced Placements programs in high school, whether the program was offered to them or not. it is always a much cheaper way to get ones pre-recs out of the way, so that if they do choose to attend a bigger university, those classes are taken cared of.

  • 08/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus at prairie state is very safe. I never heard anything about fighting, gang related activities or any crimes at all. There is security everywhere so if any one feel like they are in danger they can get help.

    Greek Life

    If you are looking the Greek life you see in movies at Prairie State, then you should consider a four year university.There are two fraternities at Prairie State College (Both males and females can join). They're both honor societies. I advise anybody with a high GPA to join them. It looks great on college applications and it helps out with scholarship opportunities as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    Just find out what you are interested in and join. Its simple there are numerous of club and activities to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    I believe there are lot of thing that are great for all students, just go out and explore and interact with different students and collagues.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As far as im concerned there are no unsual traditions at Prairie State College. They have a welcome week, with food, treats, and games for students to play. Also they have a stress relief week around midterms and finals where there is to offer free massages and treats to the students.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a community college, so you are definitely getting your bang for your buck. depending on whats your district, the credit our are very cheap compared to four year universities. You can get your associate's degree and transfer. Taking Gen Eds here or any two year school will help in the long run.

    What to do for fun

    Best opinion for fun is to join a club/organization or join a athletics team. Most students just show up to class and go back home. I see a lot of students like to hang out at the atrium and play cards or just hang out in general.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is OK in my opinion. Most of the food items are too overpriced. I feel as a college student there should be cheaper menu options. Most students head over to McDonald's across the street to go eat.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Prairie State Unfortunately because there are no dorms. Because this a two year college and all students commute.

    Academic Rigor

    The Staff/Faculty are very helpful, If you are unsure about anything don't hesitate to ask. Follow your syllabus and you will make it through college with no problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have several tips for students: 1) Register early as you can to avoid complications and long lines 2) Get involved in a club/organization or athletic team (make the best out of your experience) 3) Take advantage of the Student Success Center(SSC) You can meet up with tutors, do homework, and work on assignments in the computer lab (Its All Free) 4) ASK QUESTIONS...if you are lost or confused about anything ask someone, the faculty is very helpful at prairie state. 5) last but not least WORK HARD AND HAVE FUN!!!!!!

    In three sentences

    Prairie State College is a great school for a student who want a quality education for an affordable tuition price. The school contains small class sizes, and caring professors, which is a better learning process. The school has various ways to get students involved in the college and makes the experience more interesting.

  • 07/26/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    any one looking to get the general classes out of the way for cheap before moving to a 4 year university.

    Bang for the buck

    if you sign up for financial aid mostly if not all your credit hours are paid for.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    IT's alright for general classes and business