Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Pratt Institute-Main Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    An art lover.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to work hard. Work really stack up, but yeah, party hard too. Also, must be responsible and take everything seriously. Late work is really not tolerable and crap work is even worse.

    Bang for the buck

    A little too expensive, but the professors are experienced, and many have taught in other prestigious institutions like Parsons or RISD. Most are also practicing artists. The equipments are quite high tech. As for buildings, they are old and lacking elevators; however, they are aesthetically beautiful. Also, Pratt is the biggest sculpture garden in NYC, so that's worth it. Also, being a Pratt student allow certain advantages such as entering museums for free.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is really awestruck. The people are really nice. Convenient to get around, but the G train... well, that has nothing to do with the school... And the food? not bad but not great.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a freshman foundation student; most students are required to take the same foundation classes except if you're an architecture, photo or fashion major. Although that might sound boring and unnecessary, it really is. I've learnt more about art than I could imagine in one semester. Drawing class is really a stress for me because I'm not much of a technical drawer; however, I've improved immensely. Drawing skills are one of the most important skills necessary even if you are going into the digital world; most work start from actual hand-drawn work. Also, LCD or light, colour, and design class is fun. I've learnt how to see colours and how to make them effective. In addition, you also get to learn their technical names. 3D class teaches you how to visualise and create a three dimensional object that is interesting and could maybe even be sold, if you're interesting in industrial design. Most students love 4D because we are in a technology age and most students are very good with computers. Then there's English and art history--the required courses. I can't say they are my favourite, but I've learnt a lot, especially in art history, and really, that class is VERY important.

  • 02/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think that this is a great place for students who want to learn a lot of technical and basic skills [this is based on the comd department]. It's also good for those who may be more advanced because there are teachers that are very challenging. Most of the professors are still working and have many connections and if you're good enough, they are more than happy to help you out finding opportunities for work life during and after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. It's really a nice place to be. Also, look up all the teachers for the department you're thinking about majoring in and their work. This will be very helpful in determining if there are teachers that can help you grow in the areas that you need. Also look up the instructors in other departments and the classes that are offered. There are some interesting courses like the Circus class or the Harry Potter class.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on how good you are is depending on how much you're getting your money's worth. Although I feel like I am learning more and more everyday, I almost feel if you are talented enough you could try finding internships and making your way in the design world that way. Going to school will get you the technical skills to help prepare you if you don't have them. Yet I feel that if you are creative enough you might be able to do well on your own by just looking for opportunities in the companies and fields you want to go into. If taking that route, it probably wouldn't hurt to just take a class or two each semester if you aren't thinking about full-time.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are long nights and you're often working much after normal people would go to sleep. But that's how it is with an art school, and it's nice to know that almost everyone is doing the same. It keeps the competition healthy and your work good.

    Am learning a lot

    I transfered here at the beginning of my junior year from their upstate campus in Utica NY, PRATTMWP. I am a currently a junior in the Communications Design department, Major : Graphic Design. I find that the teachers at the main institute in Brooklyn are fantastic. A lot of them are very successful in the fields they are teaching. It's good to know because they have real world experience and can help you understand what it is actually like and what to expect after college.

  • 07/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are creative and want to be challenged. Students who love art and could not live without it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Pratt remember not to doubt yourself. Your work will come out a lot better if you are self-driven and do not constantly compare your work to that of the students around you. The ability to hold onto your individuality will help you stand out.

    Bang for the buck

    The level of education and quality of the teachers are fantastic but the administration is not always as organized as it ought to be.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is so much to learn from the excellent teachers and staff. The campus is beautiful and constantly has new artworks on view, both from students and professionals. The proximity to the city is ideal because you can experience the rush and drive of Manhattan, and still return to Brooklyn for a calmer more eclectic atmosphere. The Brooklyn Bridge is only a 45 minute walk from the main gate and the Brooklyn Museum and Botanical Garden are even closer. Pratt offers a really creative and active community that is truly inspiring. As crazy as the workload is the social interactions make attending Pratt worth it.

    Am learning a lot

    I just completed the freshman foundation year for the school of Art and Design (the required classes vary between schools); and though I have yet to take any major specific classes(Jewelry and Metal-smithing), my understanding of the art world and my abilities within it have been greatly enhanced. At Pratt, students are taught the importance of form, light, colour, space and material; and are encouraged to push boundaries and develop as many skill sets as possible. In the short time that I have attended I feel my work has already become more forward thinking and better executed.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to sleep less and drink more coffee. Work hard, don't fall behind, be tight with your money (city=expensive), make friends quick, respect your professors, don't skip class ( you can only miss 2 each semester )

    Bang for the buck

    An art school in the city is going to expensive, very very expensive. Get a scholarship if at all possible. The experience is great and well worth it if you can find the means to pay for it.

    Did enjoy being here

    Being in the city is great, but the campus is a real campus, the size of a city block. You get the best of both worlds. There is a sculpture Garden, well maintained lawns and beautiful old brick buildings that make up the campus. And all the resources and activities of the city are right at your fingertips.

    Did learn a lot

    The foundation program at Pratt offers the artist the chance to explore a multitude of different mediums and ways of thinking. Every first year student takes 4 studio classes 6 hours long once a week. You also take an Art History and English course both semesters. While the work was tedious, time consuming, and stressful, it was well worth the trouble. You are granted a certain level of creative freedom in these classes, some more than others, but don't expect all coceptual courses. Foundation year focuses on developing good technical skill and a basic knowledge base. My professors in the most part were, relatable, and quite informative, and very knowledgable. Most students hate the 3 hour long art history lectures, they are boring and long, but in retrospect I see the value. If you put the work into it, foundation year will push you and make you grow as an artist.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students with an interest in fine art.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't like the professors you are assigned, do not hesitate to switch professors. Don't pay for a year of hell. Also, hound the financial aid office and make sure you have filled out all your needed paperwork, make sure you're getting your loans. This was a major issue for me and for many of my friends. The administration can be really annoying sometimes, but do what you must to get what you need for your education.

    Bang for the buck

    Pratt is very expensive, but in my experience, it was worth the money. I personally gained a lot by going to the school in terms of self-discovery and gaining artistic knowledge. I say it's worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being at Pratt can be a great experience. The students are friendly, diverse, and interesting people. The campus is beautiful with really green grass, cherry blossoms in the spring, and awesome sculptures all over the campus. A lot of the professors are really cool, smart, and interesting people. It's hard not to enjoy.

    Am learning a lot

    I came to Pratt Institute knowing very little about art except that I liked making it. It was extremely intimidating at first, but only because I thought of it that way. I have learned so much about art, design, and most of all, my own potential as an artist. Just like most other things, if you go into this school with an open mind, an empty glass and the determination to learn, you will not leave empty-handed.

  • 06/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Aspiring artist, achitects, and writers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on task from the jump start. Do not underestimate art school. It will work you to the breaking point and beyond. But you will see the growth. Put your all in everything you do. And do your best to stay awake during art history lectures.

    Bang for the buck

    I will most definitely be in debt by the time I graduate. But with all that you learn and the lifetime access to career services, you are basically guaranteed a successful career. And the people you meet here are the world's best! Professors and students alike. The connections made here will last you a lifetime.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere of the student body is welcoming. Everyone is inspired and driven to be Great artist. Not good but Great! We all pull from one another and help us all to improve our own talents. It's like we are all one big artistic family...

    Am learning a lot

    Foundation year helps make a young artist more aware about certain aspect of the creation process in art. You are exposed to techniques and concepts you may not have considered or even known. I learned to draw more accurately, manipulate color to push or pull subjects in my works, use negative space more effectively... I could go on and on... It was an experience. I can't wait for the next year to begin.

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working dedicated, creative thinkers will fit in very well in Pratt. learn to look at problems from different perspectives and points of veiw because it will help to try things differently. Don't get stuck in a rut, you have to keep producing and keep it fresh.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your portfolio is in tip top shape, also make sure you are ready for nonstop work, and competition. this is a school that make you or break you. Be prepared for real critics and critiques, because Pratt is the real deal, the gateway into the world of art.

    Bang for the buck

    Pratt is really expensive for someone like me, my family is already drowning in debt from my mothers two college loans and the fact that my father is losing his job and i just can't leave my parents stranded. If my financial situation was different i would do it for sure. But for someone with the money it's worth it. The curriculum is phenomenal and worth the money.

    Will enjoy being here

    Should i end up attending Pratt i believe i will immensely enjoy being a student there, the campus is the largest sculpture garden in New York City, it's got these historically and aesthetically beautiful buildings, cherry blossoms (i think) and it really is the country in the city.

    Will learn a lot

    When i visited Pratt in Brooklyn i was late for the regular group tour, i was worried that this would reflect badly on me but ithe effect was quite the opposite. A student from the fine arts major took me and my mother on a personal and much more intuitive tour. I met several professors and even got to sit in on a few classes. Pratt has a great community/environment for learning. Especially the library.

  • 09/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers who are completely serious about their art and will take any job on campus that is necessary to continue their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go here, you'll have to work. You will be working a lot, the classes are pretty long compared to other colleges, and the work loads are heavy but it is completely worth it if you really want it.

    Bang for the buck

    It may be expensive, but there are so many opportunities for financial aid. All you have to do is look and work for them.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is really friendly and the campus is very safe and beautiful. I am so happy here.

    Academic Rigor

    I had put together my portfolio on my own because my high school did not help me at all. But Pratt has been so helpful in just this past month I can't believe it. The classes are so amazing I wasn't expecting to be learning so much in my freshman year.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pratt security is always on duty. you see them everywhere, and you must check into a dorm with your i.d. every time. students always feel very safe.

    Greek Life

    a small greek community exists. nothing like the more dedicated schools, but people very passionate about greek life will find their niche amongst the small groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have a literary magazine, a comic book and newspaper. we have tennis and track and basketball. we even have a hula hoop club.

    Great for these types of students

    hard-working, enthusiastic, eccentric, different, abstract-thinker, visual learner, open-minded

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a spray room to accommodate graffiti artists. we have beautiful dark rooms open to anyone. we have countless labs adorned with the best computer programs.

    Bang for the buck

    this is a subjective question because like every art school, how much you get out of it depends on how much you're willing to put in.

    What to do for fun

    you have the entire city of new york at your disposal. no one gets bored at pratt. there are tons of options, even just on myrtle, a neighboring street.

    Food and Dining

    tons of options are provided for every kind of diet. hot meals, a sandwich and salad bar, and a soup selection are always available. typical cafeteria quality, though, and many have wished that we had a buffet style service.

    Dorm Life

    everyone can find great friends at pratt, the people are generally nice. be weary of cannoneer court as a freshmen dorm, awful living conditions. always too cold or hot and very small rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    i've only completed one semester of foundation year, but you learn to develop a work ethic very quickly at this school. you have time for fun if you learn to manage your work load in small pieces. no procrastinating, you'll regret it.

    Tips for prospective students

    my best advice would be to make sure you are absolutely positive of your interests. pratt will test you with hard work and a thorough look into many disciples during foundation year. love what you do and do what you love.

    In three sentences

    pratt is an amazing experience for the hardworking and dedicated individual. it provides artists with inspiration as well as the tools needed to act on that inspiration. if you are passionate about a career in design pratt will get you there.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're artsy in any regard you will love it here. the campus is beautiful and the teachers are working professionals in the art and design field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to Know the area

    Bang for the buck

    pratt is very expensive but usually very generous with their financial aid.

    Will enjoy being here

    When i first visited Pratt i was awestruck completely, the campus was beautiful and gated (which is rare in the city) and i felt a sort of unity i couldn't get from visiting several other colleges. After meeting and talking to the professors i fell in love with Pratt's ideals and opportunities. Definitely expensive, but i wouldn't go to any other college for art or design.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are actually working professionals in the field

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    a designer, perfectionist,creative, competitive, artistic, hardworking, socialized, hardworking yet also loves partying.

    Tips for prospective students

    COming to this school, u have to learn u are not the best...yet. you will fail.... a lot, but u will learn, u will be with the most passionate people about ur field. Just always look onto the postive side. there is always to solve a problem any kind of problems

    Bang for the buck

    As an art school, we always have to pay for the materials, that part s always an bang for the buck. but its worth it, the day u finished ur model. u will know that feeling of worthiness

    Am enjoying being here

    each student is assigned with a studio with a bunch of other students. Over the months we become a family, we help each other, comments on others, learning together. Those overnighters are days that we dont forget, we share our feeling, yet also compete with each other. we love each other. you really make great friends there in that stressful, emotional, creative space.

    Am learning a lot

    Pratt architecture school started with a intense program for the freshman, in order to shape down the number of architecture students to the only tough, smart potential designers. Instead of just learning n listening to professors in classes and lectures, we keep designing, building and failing. we learn through the mistakes we make, everyday, there is a challenge that we need to solve. Moreover, school knows the competitiveness of the society, professors instead of continuously complementing us, they criticize, give comments and most importantly lead us to the key of solving such problem. We always fail, but from that we learn faster, and become tougher. And ready for the society when we come out.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is totally safe on campus, but the surrounding neighborhood is not the best in NYC. Use your common sense and you'll be fine, but I would not recommend venturing east of campus late at night, especially alone.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not in a club or attend many school activities, but I always see posters up for all sorts of things. They hold events in the dorms quite often. A lot of the events are cool ideas- clothes swaps, movie nights, etc. At the end of the previous school year, they held their own Holi festival on the main lawn. I did not participate, but saw tons of great photos from the event!

    Bang for the buck

    Pratt is really expensive- there is no doubt about that. I have not graduated yet, but from my understanding, people from Pratt really do get jobs. There are tons of student employment opportunities on campus, and Pratt is generous with their scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, people go out into the city. One of the most popular activities would be attending Brooklyn warehouse parties, where you will usually see many of your classmates. There are endless possibilities, since this is NYC! If you make friends with some upperclassmen, you will find out about apartment parties not far from campus and other local events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is perfectly fine. This is a college, so do not expect a five star meal. There is the cafeteria, a pizza shop, and a mini convenience store in Willoughby, where you can use your dining points. There are also coffee shops in some of the academic buildings, where you can also use your points. You pay for exactly what you buy, not meals, which I prefer, but if you eat a lot, it could get expensive. My favorite thing about the food and dining would be the smoothies in the pizza shop! If you do not want to eat on campus, there are tons of restaurants near by and quicker options, as well. However, I highly recommend AGAINST the White Castle on Myrtle- it is just not good in any way.

    Dorm Life

    There usually aren't dorm parties if that is what you are looking for. There are quiet hours during the week and weekend, which seemed a bit early to me. However, there are good options for different kinds of housing- suites, traditional college dorm, etc. I lived in Pantas and really enjoyed having a roommate and 2 suitemates. Pantas is also the most centrally located dorm on campus. Overall, the dorm life is not amazing, but I think it is good in comparison to most colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    You will work very, very hard. It is not impossible to get your work down if you plan your time correctly, but expect 6 hours of homework minimum for a 6 hour class. Keep in mind that even if you do put in 6 hours, there will always be at least one person who spent 12 or more hours. They CAN tell how much time and effort you put in! All-nighters are not uncommon, if you leave your work until the last minute.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! I did not think I would like living on a campus in NYC, especially in Clinton Hill, Brooklyn, but I really love it. It is different from what one may typically think of as the NYC school experience- it's not Manhattan, but I think it is actually better.

    In three sentences

    Pratt is a great school with a great reputation. You will work very hard here, harder than the other NYC art schools, but you will be rewarded. It is a small school, but the campus feels like an oasis to the urban atmosphere in it located in.

  • 06/03/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Keep you mind open and make as many friends as possible because networking is important in the design world.

  • 08/16/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college seems like a genuinely great art school. I recently came across some products in Barnes and Noble designed by actual students from Pratt, and it inspired me to learn more about the college.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pratt provides excellent security with guards keeping an eye on students and the campus 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Pratt has a sorority and a fraternity that have a tight community with safe standards.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs to join and a strong student government to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic, creative, explorers, curious, gay, transgender, straight.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pratt has a group of cats, named Pratt Cats, who roam the campus and interact with students.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything is high-quality, especially the education.

    What to do for fun

    Go explore New York City. There are plenty of free things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Pratt offers a quality meal program, but there are also plenty of cheap restaurants near the campus that offer great meals.

    Dorm Life

    I've roomed with friendly people on all occasions.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging courses with staff who push your skills to another level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself, be open to criticism, and get to meet anyone you can.

    In three sentences

    Pratt has knowledgeable staff with high standards. The professors expect highly of students. The school also has many programs that allow you to meet and interact with new people.

  • 09/09/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Architecture lovers!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research!!!! It'll pay off

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not too sure about that, since I'm not currently attending the school

    Will enjoy being here

    It will be pretty close to some family for me, and with Pratt having my major as one of their main focuses, its almost picture perfect

    Will learn a lot

    I've heard PLENTY of great reviews about this campus!

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Great for these types of students

    everyone does there own thing what i like is that we all help one another, we are like family and that is important being away from home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    campus is pretty much in center of everything, i like that you can walk to places.

    Bang for the buck

    it may be expensive but there are so many opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    going to the city, having fun with youre friends. going places with the school.

    Food and Dining

    very clean food ok im not one to eat alot

    Dorm Life

    its great i really love it. give it 10

    Academic Rigor

    great 10 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    you really need to go there in order to know about the school. everyone is different.

    In three sentences

    i love school everyone is nice teachers are great its just a great school to go to there are many things that you can learn.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Pratt alumni can receive free admission for some museums in New York City with the presentation of a current membership card.

    Tips for prospective students

    Yo have to show your abilities, interests and passions in everything you do. Arrange your work to tell a good story about yourself. For your portfolio, select projects that show a range of media and subject matter while still emphasizing your strongest work. Everything that shows who are you, it's important.

    In three sentences

    Green campus, most talented students and many opportunities.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe on campus, but when off campus you have to remember it is a big city.

    Greek Life

    Wen looking on line the various groups need to update information and ways to contact them.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not participated in any

    Great for these types of students

    Well round student body

    Bang for the buck

    This is not a cheap school. But you get what you paid for.

    What to do for fun

    It's New York City... What can't you do?

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live in NYC so I am not familiar with Dorm Life.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to put in a lot of time out side of the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice to new students is to be flexible and get involved with campus activities.

    In three sentences

    Pratt is a well rounded school. Instructors are among the best in their fields. The campus is one the nicest places in New York City to visit.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Within the gate its 99% safe, but step outside and prepare to be mugged if you're not careful.

    Greek Life

    It is pathetic and laughed at.

    Great for these types of students

    Arrogant privileged white kids who thought they were a big deal in high school.

    Bang for the buck

    They waste your money. Plain and simple.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is exactly that: cafeteria food. Specifically, it was worse than what I ate in my high school. The food has been found with mold on it, or bugs and hair in it. The workers are crazy, some are very, very sweet; but most of them are loud, rude, and don't care about their job.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are infested with mice or just loud ignorant people. Dorms are horrible everywhere, but the ones at Pratt were literally designed by a prison architect. The walls are baren the rooms poorly designed, and most of the time the temperature is the opposite of what you want.

    Academic Rigor

    Your foundation year is going to be difficult and tiring, and most of the work you're doing is going to feel like a waste of time and money. Unfortunately it's required, so you can look forward to hours of tedious arts and crafts, and (if you happen to be a film or photo major like myself) be judged for techniques you do not need to know and have never done before.

    Tips for prospective students

    Think long and hard about whether you are ready to enter into what is essentially a trade school. Pratt will teach you the technics of what you want to do, but you will most likely be angry and unfulfilled by the end of your freshman year. They don't seem to spend your tuition well, and there is very little focus on majors outside of Illustration and fashion. So... do you really want to go to an art school for $50,000 a year when it essentially teaches you nothing?

    In three sentences

    Pratt is unique in its style compared to other schools in New York City. There is a distinct bubble which most of its students operate within, and many view this as a representation of the entire city. Overall, despite being in the city, it is a very small school in a small area.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Could go out to city by the sub and walking. Great part is that the students don't need cars to move. There's alots of museums, markets, fleemarkets, broadway, etx where you can enjoy and experience life of arts and media in ny.

    Food and Dining

    Foods are pretty pricy in the cafeteira. First year student has to pay for required amount of the meal plan for a year. Food is not bad and its fresh. Not much of options or varity of foods but the qualities are good.

    Dorm Life

    There's three dorms for the freshman in campus. Upper class lives right across the campus and its a tall apartment. Dorm is pretty small because of its location which is newyork. Compare to the other school in other states, the dorm is very small and has not enough space for personal space. But all the students get along well in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Harsh assignments and very opened critiques. Everything depends on your professor because everyone has different point of view.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the classes everyday. Time management is the most important thing to survive in the school. Don't push every assignment until the very end right before the due date. Every project takes time longer than you think you need to spend.

    In three sentences

    Amazing campus with lots of securities, trees, antique buildings, and a library. All the professors are active and wish to teach more. Pratt leads great history from 125 years ago until now to continue its promising education.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything and everything!!! The G train is a block away which means you have access to the city and anywhere else you want to go. You are also close to the Brooklyn Bridge!

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't bad, expensive though, but in the city what isnt expensive?

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are cheap in comparison to other schools. When you are an upperclassmen you live in the apartment dorm, which is neat because you have your own bathroom and kitchen. It is a very city life, and yet the campus is like this little lost world in the middle of the city. It is so peaceful.

    Academic Rigor

    If you dont do your best do not expect to be given an easy grade. Getting an A at Pratt is extremely difficult, possible but you must devote hours of your time to your school work

    In three sentences

    Pratt is a great school for those who want a full understanding when it comes to arts and design. They prepare you to look at things from all angles, which is different from most art schools because they do not make you take a foundation year. Foundation year is actually extremely beneficial because you truly understand what you are doing. The professors are the best, and truly care about their students.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards all around campus and it is incredibly safe - especially for Brooklyn!

    Greek Life

    Greek life does exist, but it's really more of a club. There is no Greek housing or anything like that. Pretty much anyone can get in and it is mostly for leadership experience, community service, and things like that.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of things to get involved in if you find time! However, most students will tell you to only pick one extracurricular at most because school work will definitely take up most of your time.

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic, disciplined students. If you want a relaxed school, this may not be the place for you. It is highly competitive and has quite a large work load, but for those who truly love their art, it is totally worth it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pratt is known for its Pratt Cats that live on campus. They are all ex-show cats who have retired and now live at Pratt. They have their own entrances into buildings and you will often find them roaming through your classes/dorm buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    This is an incredibly pricy school, but if you are confident that this is what you want to do with your life, then this is the place for you. Pratt won't just make you a good artist/designer, it will make you and EMPLOYABLE artist/designer, which is honestly the most important thing.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do in Brooklyn and NY in general. Hang out with other students on the lawn, walk around the weekends and go to the open-air markets, or find some shows to go to. You really can't go wrong.

    Food and Dining

    There are great options around campus for food, and the food in the cafe is alright considering it's a cafeteria. It's pretty expensive, but it's New York!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are just like any other college, which is great for NY. Pratt is the only art school on the east coast with dorms on campus so that is a HUGE plus.

    Academic Rigor

    This is honestly one of the most rigorous schools in the country. Art school is much more grueling than a traditional university just because of the amount of work, critique, and intensity of its curriculum. Pratt is probably at the top of the list of rigorous art schools because they want to guarantee that the students who make it through their program are the very best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill your portfolio with a range of interests, not just from your particular area of study. Pratt doesn't expect you to be a world class artist out of high school! Just show them that you're creative, innovative, and ready to learn.

    In three sentences

    Pratt is an oasis in the city for artistic people looking to develop and expand their skills. Prestigious and rigorous, this school is not for everybody, but it is a guaranteed that if you can get through four years here, you will be able to find your place in the industry.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's living in NYC...you literally have an entire city with things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food sucks but all of the dining hall employees are super nice.

    Academic Rigor

    My English class is really easy but my actual art classes are rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus more on your portfolio than your grades - your portfolio is what counts! And apply for outside scholarships, because you can't appeal the scholarship you're given from the school. You can appeal your financial aid, though.

    In three sentences

    I love it here. The photography program is perfect for me, and I feel completely comfortable here.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus has a fence around it and security guards at every entrance. It feels pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    I don't really know much about our Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Our sports teams aren't that great but it's a team nonetheless. Clubs are fun and are a great way to meet people.

    Great for these types of students

    Hipsters. Quirky people. Extraverted people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The pratt cats wander around campus and do what they please.

    Bang for the buck

    A lot of times I feel as though tuition is just ridiculously expensive, because, well, it is. But again, it's just how hard you're willing to work.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of people go to parties and drink. Manhattan is only a train ride away... NYC, there are millions of things to do, you just have to find them. Eat, party, drink, shop, etc.

    Food and Dining

    I feel as though everything is super overpriced and the quality isn't that good.

    Dorm Life

    There are ups and downs living so many students, but there are social gatherings and it's where most people find their college friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Really depends on your major, but it seems like all majors have to work pretty hard to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and don't give up. That's really general and cliche advice but it's true. If you work hard you'll get a lot out of Pratt. Manage your time wisely.

    In three sentences

    Pratt Institute gives you the tools you need to become the artist you never imagined you'd be. That being said, it's a school where it's up to you whether or not if it's worth it. Pratt gives you the necessities and puts you on the right course.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go into the city and explore!

    Tips for prospective students

    Save up money. The biggest problem with Pratt is the expenses of transportation, food, and art supplies on top of a large tuition.

    In three sentences

    Pratt is a great art and design school. The professors are all working professionals and passionate about art and design. And being in the city only enhances the opportunities you have.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are guards working the booths 24/7 and the campus security van is always prowling the neighborhood. I don't think there has been any instances of danger in the past.

    Greek Life

    There are a few fraternities and sororities, but not as dominant as other colleges.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is the fair share of activities, but you definitely become too engrossed in work to really have time for activities, especially if you're an architecture major.

    Great for these types of students

    Art students. Architecture students. Fashion Students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During orientation week, everyone gets together and hangs out on the main lawn, which never happens again once the semester starts. There are movie showings on the lawn where everyone sits on the grass and a movie is projected onto a huge screen.

    Bang for the buck

    Pratt is quite expensive, and they make you pay for supplies with your own money. For the amount we pay for dorms, it's not as nice as it can be. But it is worth the job opportunities once we graduate.

    What to do for fun

    Again, being in New York, Pratt is a short train ride from the city, where you can basically do everything. There are restaurants and movies and parks and stores.

    Food and Dining

    Pratt is in New York, so there are many restaurants right outside campus with amazing food to eat in. Being New York, it might get pricey. Cafeteria food is decent and changes every day.

    Dorm Life

    It is good that it is close to the city; unlike other campuses, Pratt is a closed dorm campus, but is also near many restaurants and social places of gathering. Campus is small so dorms are close to class and it is easy to get from one place to another.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Pratt is not challenging. It is challenging conceptually, and in figuring model building. It is also hard in that everyone gets the same assignment, but you must come up with your own idea for it. A lot of times, work becomes very tedious because there are a lot of instances where you constantly repeat a line over and over again, or your professor asks you to remake the same model over and over again.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember, since this is an art school, be prepared to spend a lot of money on art supplies, especially during the first year. Architecture students spend roughly $3,000 or more for the first year only just on supplies--excluding printing. Printing 36 sheets cost around $6.50 a sheet, and during pin-ups, we are required to print at least ten sheets.

    In three sentences

    Amazing campus full of art sculpture in the middle of a bustling city. There are a lot of free opportunities to use laser cutters, woodshop, printers, and more. Professors are well established in their fields.

  • 09/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Driven, creative, talented, friendly, hipsters, music-lovers

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Pratt is ridiculously expensive, but it is a brand-name art school that offers a wonderful education and will help you reach your career goals. It also offers wonderful financial aid and many scholarships if you put enough work into your portfolio. Many students who did not come from wealthy families manage to go through Pratt without a ridiculous amount of loans. It just takes putting in the time with your financial aid counselors and fully exploring each option you have.

    What to do for fun

    Well first off, you're in NYC so there are an infinite number of fun things to do. It simply boils down to deciding what best fits your personal preferences. There are always amazing cheap shows going on, gallery walks in chelsea, rooftop parties around Brooklyn, warehouse parties in Williamsburg, clubs in Manhattan. There is never a lack of fun, one simply has to go out and look for it.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not awful, nor is it impressive. The meal plan can be used at the main cafeteria, the pie shop, one of the on campus Starbucks (never really tastes like the real deal Starbucks though, I must warn you), and the C-store. The cafeteria offers a wonderful salad bar and many vegetarian options. Each day offers a different lunch and dinner option like Chinese food, salmon and rice, or burritos. The pie shop has pizza and crepes available at later hours than the cafeteria (until 11). It also offers the pseudo-starbucks drinks I previously referenced. The C-store is a very useful small convenience store located in one of the upperclassmen dorms. Along with a large assortment of snacks one can buy notebooks and even disposable cameras.

    Dorm Life

    There are three freshman dorms: Cannoneer, Pantas, and Stabile. Most people refer to Cannoneer as The Can, probably because of the generally negative view people have of this hall. There are rumors of mice and it is definitely the least aesthetically pleasing dorm. However, it has the greatest since of community, which is definitely something to be highly regarded. Pantas is generally considered to be the best dorm. It is apartment-style and right in the center of campus. Rooms are suite-style with two rooms, 4 students, to a bathroom. Stabile is the newest dorm and a close second to Pantas. It is less central to the academic buildings but has a very modern feel to it.

    Academic Rigor

    The foundation year at Pratt is rigorous. I came from a very challenging nationally ranked high school, so a strong workload was not new to me. However, I have seen many students unpleasantly surprised by the amount of time and effort demanded of them. Each 6 hour studio class requires 6 hours of homework and this is no exaggeration. There are times when you may spend hours on an assignment only to have the professor tell you to redo it the following week. It is a tough academic environment but the amount that you learn is vast. By the 5th week of class I noticed clear improvement in the work that I was creating and my visual thinking abilities. Also, although the first year schedule is packed and difficult, it does not mean that it is unrealistic. As long as you practice time-management skills, complete everything on time and pay attention in class, you will be completely fine and should pass with a B.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not compare yourself to others. Each person has their own strengths and weaknesses and in a studio setting with frequent critiques it is easy to forget about bettering yourself by focusing too much on your shortcomings. Put importance on your grades and the assignments given to you, but allow yourself to personalize your schedule. If one assignment really speaks to you then spend the 10 hours you feel it needs. Remember that each assignment is potential for building your portfolio.

    In three sentences

    Let us take a moment to appreciate the drive and passion of these hipsters clad in all black. Every individual comes here already bearing artistic talent, envisioning already a clear future for themselves in the arts. Pratt takes these talents and guides them in the right direction towards a successful career.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Considering that the campus is in Brooklyn, the surrounding area is always something to be aware of. This being said the campus does an excellent job of keeping students safe as the entire campus is fenced in and there are security guards always on duty.

    What to do for fun

    Everything, it's Brooklyn. There's never a boring minute at Pratt quite honestly. During orientation they do a phenomenal job of adapting you to the brooklyn lifestyle and creating fun events to get you up and out there. The campus itself has a lot of sport options as well as events on campus occasionally. Aside from this, new york city is crawling with museums, music ventures, parks, events, restaurants, shops, the list is endless. You won't just be having fun, you'll be experiencing a whole new world.

    Food and Dining

    While the cafeteria is exciting at first, you'll eventually grow a little bored of it, especially dealing with the restricting aspect of a meal plan. This being said, they do offer a lot of different options and the area in general has some awesome dining options as well. If you're not super into the cafeteria thing, there is also a convenience store where you can spend your meal plan on food to cook in your dorm. The environment around campus, especially in the pie shop and cafeteria isn't one to miss though as you'll be sure to meet a lot of fellow students around and eventually end up seeing at least a friend or two every time you go to grab a slice or cup of coffee.

    Dorm Life

    Be careful about applying to dorms, if you apply too late you'll end up in one you didn't want to be in. Though honestly none of them are bad. The dorms are pretty generic city dorms, none of them are very spacey and you're bound to share a bathroom with at least another room, but while this may seem like an invasion of personal space, everyone adjusts rather quickly and you will eventually be glad for the relationships you make.

    Academic Rigor

    Very intensive but worth it. Every class is expected to be completed to the best of your ability and as you do so, your abilities rise along with the effort. Very educational courses with little unnecessary information. While the work is a bit daunting at times, the majority of it is very hands on and as creative individuals attending art school, every project is something you'll grow to love.

    Tips for prospective students

    While pratt is going to push you to do your very best work, the atmosphere in which you'll be living is sure to inspire you as well. Visiting the school, as all schools, is a must but I guarantee you'll fall in love. The experience of Pratt is absolutely one of a kind but prepares you for an adult life and career, which is necessary and I've found that other schools lack. Brooklyn will become your home as Pratt makes it easy to adapt to city living and pumps your passion for the arts beyond what you've ever experienced before.

    In three sentences

    Pratt is a very intense and structured school with a well molded foundation. The school is very well established and specific in their schooling, and in this the school itself and all its staff presses their students to reach a certain level. The campus is gorgeous and though students are expected to keep a very focused state of mind, they allow for a realistic and healthy college experience overall.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For starters, the entire campus is surrounded by a big, black, wrought iron gate. Most entrances need a student or teacher ID to get in, but there are three places that anyone can get in during the day because the campus has an art garden that people like to visit and parents like to bring their children. This is a safety threat, though, because every dorm and building, including the just off campus Higgins- the building where most architecture classes and studios are- Hall, have a security desk where one has to either show or swipe their ID to prove residency. Even then, if a student is going from one dorm to another they have to have security open the door for them because their ID only opens their dorm door.

    Greek Life

    Though I'm not actually a part of the Greek life, friends who are a part of it love it. The bigs are incredibly nice to the littles; my friends big even gave her little a boquet of flowers a couple weeks after they met. The fraternities throw parties to help support finding the cure to things like cancer and autism. Once they even threw a gender party. The frats and sororities are a close knit bunch that love to help out their community and people in need.

    Clubs and Activities

    As mentioned above their are plenty of clubs and activities to join. For those looking to debate we have civil rights, woman's rights, and gay rights clubs. Those looking for a little less arguing and something more creative, most majors also offer a club to meet people who have the same interests as you. Looking for a little more zaniness? Pratt often has a juggling club. The more athletic could also join the basketball or volley ball team. The student union is often putting on activities to give students a break ranging from things like trips to the more famous places in NYC or if you need to unwind during exams they have a day set just for petting soft, adorable, little puppies

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who prefers to use their right side of their brain over the left. That means painters, drawers, designers, writers, jewelers, film makers, illustrators, animators, architects, and art history buffs. Unfortunately, musicians and actors would have a bit of trouble in this school as they do not offer these majors... yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    While Halloween tends to be a time for people to dress up and scantily clad or humorous outfits, Pratt takes it to a whole new level. Every year Pratt holds a costume contest that student, especially Interior Design and Fashion majors, take to heart. Costumes are full body and can include intricate make-up designs, attached parts to the person, and even props that move or light up. The campus also has it's own little club of cats, known as the Pratt Cats that live in the East hall and are taken care of by one of the mechanics. People often do projects that include these cats and not a soul on campus treats the cats with malice or resentment.

    Bang for the buck

    As expensive a school as Pratt is (tuition on average is 27,000 per semester), the money is definitely worth it. Things that are broken are fixed within the week, communal bathrooms and the cafeteria room are cleaned daily. The school is constantly upgrading it's buildings and equipment to the best for it's students and the campus is always catered to. The teachers are friendly and help to build you up as an artist, architect, or author and the classes will always teach you something new and important.

    What to do for fun

    Pratt offers several clubs and activities to give yourself a break from classes, assignments, and exams. One could join Greek life, civil rights activists, gay rights activists or the feminist, illustration, comic book, animation, or juggling club. There's a gym open for students that has yoga and Zumba classes among others. Sports teams include volley ball and basketball mainly. The student union is also always boasting a new activity to come to like movie nights, block parties, puppy petting, dinner nights, rock climbing, and art sales or shows. The library even stays open incredibly late the week of final exams so those late night study students can get the sources they need and also relax with a cup of coffee or tea.

    Food and Dining

    While the grocery store on campus can get a bit expensive (it's New York, what do you expect) and some of the food in the cafeteria comes a little under or over cooked, there is a wide selection for breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, snacking, and drinking, one could go days before they've tried everything. They even have choices for vegans and vegetarians and if you aren't in the mood for campus food there are plenty of restaurants right off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Every dorm has it's flaws, but the Residential Advisers are friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious enough for two people- or four if you live in Willoughby or ELJ- and the wardrobes offer enough room to keep all of your clothing (and if they don't you have four drawers as well.) The dorms live conveniently close enough to classes and food that you'll never be late or too hungry- unless you choose not to go.

    Academic Rigor

    The assignments challenge you to give your best at whatever you do and are focused on the major you have selected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your assignments a few days before they are due, that way you can look over your work and fix things you may have missed the first time. Time management is everything, you will get quiet a few projects at once and if you don't work out a smart schedule you'll find yourself falling behind.

    In three sentences

    An inviting environment with a curriculum that will push all your boundaries at abilities. Pratt encourages a student to try new things and not be afraid to take a risk. One with a creative mind and the drive to make it in the bustling city should definitely apply here.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    paint. enjoy the city. walk around. sight-see. think. become inspired!

    Food and Dining

    eight thumbs up!

    Dorm Life

    Satisfying

    Academic Rigor

    challenging and amazing simultaneously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Gather art portfolio.

    In three sentences

    Amazing. Well-rounded. Well worth your time.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is very SAFE! you see and security guard at every main entrance. To go into the architecture school, you have to enter with a student id and a security guard it always at the door.

    Greek Life

    There are a couple of sororities and fraternities, but it isnt a big thing at my school

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs are with with major you are. Architecture school has like 3 clubs...AIAS, Latin Pratt, and a club for architecture asian students

    Great for these types of students

    You will find many personalities artsy, focused, students that like to spend it well. There is great diversity in the school just as you will find in the city itself. Many languages are spoken, and there are many backgrounds, with that, great discussions emerge.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gold cannon and blow whistles. Have you heard of the Pratt Cats? Look it up.

    What to do for fun

    What can't you do, when you are in NYC. You'll fall in love with thecity and school at the same time.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of hole in the wall places around the area, spend it there and not on the expensive food from Pratt.

    Dorm Life

    It becomes a community, and your friends will come from people that live in your dorm. Willoughby Hall is awesome because Pratt literally bought a public housing building and made them dorms. You have a health clinic, mini grocery all in the same building.

    Academic Rigor

    Architecture is the most rigorous! Intense classes, no sleep, and you run only on coffee for days during finals. If you have passion, you will make it through.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an art school, if you get in, you are talented. Don't doubt your skills and creativity, just work hard and get you degree. It is only a couple of years of this and I know Pratt and NYC will not let you down. You have many opportunities coming from this school. Just remember, you are only as good as what you put into it. With hard work and challenging yourself, you will learn so much.

    In three sentences

    This school is artsy, small, and intense. Architecture School works you hard, but you get a lot out of it. The school is located in Brooklyn, far enough to concentrate on school, close enough to the best city in the world.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You won't have time to do anything for fun

    Food and Dining

    The food is super expensive and pretty awful

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty good. Some mice and cockroaches but you are in Brooklyn.

    Academic Rigor

    You will never sleep.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend time on creating a good portfolio. The better it is the more money they will give you

    In three sentences

    It has great programs. It has horrible administration. The teachers are wonderful and will teach you a lot, but the school will not help you with anything

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always someone there to help!

    Greek Life

    Little greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Film Society!

    Great for these types of students

    Hipsters/Artists

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have 7 Pratt Cats!

    Bang for the buck

    A little overpriced.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends and go out to eat around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is so-so.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are friendly!

    Academic Rigor

    The Architecture program is very intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to do your work!

    In three sentences

    Good environment of students and staff. Professors push you and help you reach your goals. The campus is always beautiful.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pratt is a very secure campus. There are friendly security guards everywhere, as well as a guard at all of the entrances onto campus, the dorms, and classroom buildings. There are also a good number of campus guards walking around campus at all times. There are few if any security issues at Pratt!

    Greek Life

    There are 2 fraternities, one sorority, and one coed fraternity at Pratt. they are very involved in campus activities and incredibly easy to join!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for any type of person here at Pratt. whether you like spiritual clubs, clubs that focus on art and creativity, volunteer based clubs, or you just like to participate in one of the very many activities that the Student Union puts together every week, there is always a way to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Pratt is great for students with a career in an art field in mind. Pratt is not textbook based. Some classes are, but most are hands on, with the intent you expand your mind and your problem solving abilities.

    Bang for the buck

    Pratt is one of the best art schools in America. It has a tradition of excellence that all professors, administrators and students try to uphold. The career services department is also an excellent resource that students and alumni can use to find careers, jobs and internships all over New York City and the country!

    What to do for fun

    Pratt is one of the only schools in NYC with actual campus grounds. Sitting on the campus lawns, playing with many of the university kittens, hitting the gym, and working on projects are some of the main things that I do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is rather good. There are so many options and they cater to all types of eaters. Vegan, vegetarian, carnivore, and omnivore, they have an option for everyone!

    Dorm Life

    There is a great sense of community within the dorms as well as on campus in general. It is so easy to make friends because everyone has the same common interest--making art.

    Academic Rigor

    Students are very self motivated to be the best they can be. Pratt is a different kind of education because most degrees fields are project oriented. Most teachers judge your technical skill, personal growth throughout the semester, effort, creativity, and the ability to take risks rather than the correct answer is C.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seriously look into scholarships. This school is one of the most expensive in the country, but it is worth every penny. There are so many out there, and Pratt does not offer very many in-house scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Pratt Institute is an extraordinary place for the best creative minds in the country. Everyone has the ability to find their niche here. Most importantly when school is over they are prepared to enter the world as the next generation of great artists, thinkers, and innovators.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe just to get into the dorms you need to go through two checkpoints with your pratt issued card. Guests can only come in with a student and with their state id or passport. There is security all over campus end in every building.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is small on this campus with only 2 sororities and 2 fraternities. However it is a very tight knit community without the usual stereotypes. Everyone is very friendly and very involved in all aspects of campus life from R.A.s to people working on campus and always have an ear to listen.

    What to do for fun

    My favorite thing to do frankly is to hope on the subway right into Manhattan. It's a bit of a ride but worth it to be in nyc. There is always a million and 1 things going on . No need to fret if you're by yourself, you can cozy up at Strands book store or kick it at one of the many coffee shops in the city, no shame in that. sign up online for things going on in nyc that's the best way to keep in the know.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not horrendous but it is extremely expensive. You pay for every item instead of just swiping per time you go into cafeteria like most colleges. As a freshman you must get a meal plan, your options are 1600 or 1800 dollars per semester. If you don't finish your money you can use some of those points at the convenience store on campus or at one of their Starbucks cafes. The food is about standard for a college campus.

    Dorm Life

    I can't complain too much about the dorms because they are nicer than most college dorms I know of but there a lot of variables. The freshman have three options for dorming and upper classman have two. Freshman dorms are air-conditioned but upper classman ones are not. Double rooms are your best option for the most part or a single if you want to splurge. I don't really suggest triple rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is extremely challenging. Get ready to spend almost every night getting no sleep. Although this might be a bit disheartening don't fret too much, I mean you did go to college to learn right?

    Tips for prospective students

    Depending on your major Pratt as any other college has its' strengths and weaknesses. While most of the fashion and architecture majors seem to be the most challenging majors at the school, the photo and film majors seem to not feel nearly as challenged. I highly recommend Pratt if you, and only if you, have an extremely strong work ethic. Definitely try and get involved in on-campus activities, because these are seldom found in art schools. Unfortunately the only close subway system is the G train which barely seems to come, always run for it if you can catch it because sometimes it takes up to 30 minutes to wait for the next one. If you need to take the subway often buy a monthly pass it winds up being a lot cheaper.

    In three sentences

    Pratt is a very welcoming community that has a large focus on collaboration. Although the campus is beautiful and rich, it is somewhat of a hindrance living in Brooklyn instead of Manhattan. The teachers are here are extremely influential to your future careers.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The pie shop. after the cafeteria closes (at 7pm) everyone goes to the pie shop to eat since its open until 12, its a fun place to go to and take a break when working late in studio.

    Bang for the buck

    Pratt is definitely a very very expensive school. But I think its worth it, you really get exposed to industry experts (in whatever field you are majoring in), they help you allot to get internship and job opportunities, teachers care about your education which is why it is very personalized (classes aren't bigger than 15 students), you have great studios to work in after classes and not to mention it is located NYC.

    What to do for fun

    Pratt is located in NYC which means there is an infinite number of things you can do, like art galleries, museums, concerts, clubs etc. In the area you can find nice pubs, bars and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    Pratt´s cafeteria offers a wide range of foods. it has a great salad bar. The meal plan is great.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't enjoy dorm life. I was Placed at Cannoneer court where you have to share the bathroom with everyone on your floor and I didn't find this very enjoyable to say the least.

    Academic Rigor

    studying any major in arts and design at this school requires allot of work. its not about reading and memorizing but you have to be willing to spend many hours in design Studios and pull many all-nighters.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to school with an open mind and willing to study hard. As you may know art students are shy and are usually loners so it might be hard to make friends if you don't try to open up to others yourself. studying arts and design is a load of work so make sure you don't leave things for the very last minute.

    In three sentences

    Pratt institute is one of the best art schools in America. Teachers are experts on their fields and care about your education. It is definitely a great place to widen your knowledge in art and design and open your mind to new experiences.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cats! there are a lot of cats on campus and they all have water and food dishes out for them.

    What to do for fun

    ITS NYC there are so many opportunities to go explore, have fun, get inspired. It is a little daunting at first since you are new and you don't know anything, but start somewhere and you'll end up in amazing places. Bars, cafes, music events, parties, parks, chinatown, ktown, etc...

    Food and Dining

    Cant say much about this one, haven't been to the cafeteria yet.

    Dorm Life

    Really, the dorms aren't that great especially for their price. I am out of state and I got into Willoughby Hall. I came smack in the middle of summer, and I found out there isn't a/c. DIED i did. Then the next day i went to target and got me a tower fan. MUCH better. Of course it is NY so everything will be a little older, although the school is reonvating a lot of dorms and building townhouses by the school as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect the top quality when handing out assignments. There isn't any slacking off, and it creates a great environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are from out of city, like i am, it will take a bit of getting used to. The dorm I am in doesn't have A/C and in the summer time can be difficult. Either get a fan or don't stay in the dorm so much. Other than that, the faculty, classroom, and student body are great for whatever you want, this is the school to help you get there.

    In three sentences

    A fabulous campus with an enormously informative staff. Really everybody here knows what they are doing and they know the students here are going to be trained and educated with the best. It's a great atmosphere for students who are really looking to take it to the next step!

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety runs 24 hrs a day. With controlled access points and constant street monitoring done by car patrols.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're the type of student that loves hands on learning as well as a good intellectual and academic foundation this is the school for you.

    Food and Dining

    My best part about Pratt is the food. Although the area is a bit expensive, the food is top notch. Surrounded by Luigi's (best pizza in NY in my opinion) and many other restaurants in cafe, not to mention with accessible transportation to Manhattan for even more food and dining experiences.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorm spaces, and student community. Alcohol and drug free.

    Academic Rigor

    Incredibly rewarding and hands on experience. The class (talking from an architecture student standpoint) are arranged to stimulate your knowledge and improve your time management skill.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is awesome but at times a bit overwhelming, there is just so much to do. For dorm students, I would recommend visiting the campus before and during the semester to get a better grasp of how the student community and how the school runs. For commuters, roam around the campus and ask questions, and don't feel discouraged for the commute, think of it as a blessing in disguise.

    In three sentences

    Pratt is an amazing school. Full of an enthusiastic student body along with incredibly talented teachers and a challenging but very rewarding program. Indeed the best interdisciplinary art school around.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say the campus is pretty safe. You need to swipe your ID to get into the dorms, as well as several other buildings on campus. Security patrols on bikes and in cars all throughout the day. I walk across campus at night with relative ease.

    Greek Life

    I personally am not part of any Greek Life on campus, but there are two sororities, and two fraternities. There is no official dorm for the sororities, but I've met several girls who participate and they're all pretty nice. It could be a fun thing to get involved in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Pratt has plenty of clubs, ranging from academic based clubs to a broad range of leisure ones. They're definitely something to look into.

    Great for these types of students

    Pratt is great if you're serious about going into art. You'll be surrounded by people who are just as motivated, and it is a great atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    I can't say yet whether Pratt is worth the money. While you are paying for the facilities you're also paying for the environment, a place where other striving artists are working and where you can get advice and opinions on your work. The school itself is expensive, but they do provide some financial aid, and offer jobs on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many restaurants all around the campus, and I've seen students out and about pretty late at night. There are many trips to musicals and festivals that you can often get discounted tickets for. On nice sunny days it is great to just sit out on the lawn with a good book or some friends and relax. Pratt is a block away from the subway, which you can take to pretty much anywhere in New York. The Saturday Flea Market and Farmer's Market are fun to go to, and there is almost always something going on. While I personally don't usually go out, many students head out during the weekends to go to parties or out into Manhattan. If that's your cup of tea, then there are definitely options open for you.

    Food and Dining

    Pratt's dining halls are much better than some schools. There are two main cafeteria's on the main campus, as well as one in the Architecture building, a cafe in the studios, and a small convenience store in the Upperclassmen dorms. Rather than paying for a buffet style meal, Pratt's system is a pay per item type of deal. If I wanted to buy an apple, a drink, and some chips, I would have to pay for each instead of a base fee for everything. The food isn't too bad, and they provide a ton of variety, like salad, noodles, and sandwiches. One of the cafeterias even makes crepes which are pretty fantastic. The only complaint I would have about the food is the prices. It really isn't too bad if you're paying with your meal plan, but if you're not careful things really start to add up.

    Dorm Life

    There are three Freshman dorms on campus, as well as an Upperclassman dorm, Townhouses, and a few other buildings. Currently I live in Stabile, one of the newer buildings on campus. The other two Freshmen dorms are Pantas and Cannoneer Court. Each building has it's own ups and downs, but I prefer Stabile the most. Stabile has a beautiful outside appearance, and isn't too shabby on the inside either. The walls are cinder block, but the hallways are spacious and have large windows. Each room has two beds, desks, and dressers, as well as a fridge, microwave, and closet. Bathrooms are shared between every two rooms, unlike Cannoneer which has a communal bath. Each floor has a small kitchen, a few workrooms, and a lounge. Cooking utensils are not provided. As for community, there are several themed floors, built around certain ideas. There is a healthy living floor, a quiet floor, a global learning floor, and several others. These can be fun and your RA's can plan certain activities for your floor. While people are pretty open to these, so far the floor has been pretty quiet, since people tend to stay in their rooms to work.

    Academic Rigor

    The work received at Pratt may be considered a lot to some, but it depends on your workload and experience in High School. I had several art classes in High School, so having a week to complete an assignment isn't much of an issue. Several friends I know have no issues either, having previously taken several AP classes at once. As long as you know how to manage your time, or are willing to learn, I think you'll be fine. They say six hours of class equals six hours of homework, but really, you get what you put into it. For Foundation year especially, if you do your best and work hard, you will reap the benefits. If you're skilled at slacking you'll get by, but you'll miss out on a lot of things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard on your portfolio, and apply early if you can. I waited for months to hear back from one college because I waited so late. Having all of the responses early would have saved me a lot of stress down the line. If you do end up coming to Pratt, work hard and get involved. You're paying for the location, the community, and the facilities so try and get your money's worth.

    In three sentences

    Pratt Institute is a beautiful school in Brooklyn, an easy walk or subways ride away from many great things. The students are hard working, with a sense of respect for each other about their work. While I'm just a Freshman, I can easily say I've fallen in love with it, and can't wait to spend the next four years here.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is horrible but the food around campus and New York it great.

    Dorm Life

    Except the new dorm room, I have to say, the dorms at Pratt are not the best. They are either, cold or hot, and they are not in the best shape.

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor is everything that the professors talk about, your work must be beautiful and have the rigor at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pratt is a tough school, the professors push hard and the work load is crazy, but you learn from the days and nights that you stay up.

    In three sentences

    Pratt Institute is a great school to learn specifically about your major but also learn in general about other majors. The professors push us to think abstract and help us to create the beautiful. I would rate Pratt highly for the connection it makes from our art and literature.

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    The Dorms look beautiful, and there are so many to pick from!

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know much about it yet, as I haven't been to classes yet, but they are highly ranked for a reason.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school!

    In three sentences

    Pratt is an incredible art school, with a beautiful campus. The Pratt Cats are a highlight of any tour. High ranking in fashion design, as well as other majors, Pratt provides a city education, on a beautiful enclosed campus.

  • 07/09/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    enjoy making tons of friends from all of the country including people that live in the same area as me

    In three sentences

    pratt is a great school for people who like to get out and meet tons of college students from all over the country