Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Presbyterian College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    driven and enthusiastic

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved!

    Am enjoying being here

    the best atmosphere of any college i visited

    Am learning a lot

    great professors and classes

  • 05/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who want to work hard but love to have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check with other students about what professor to get for your classes.

    Bang for the buck

    It is challenging but you come out a better person.

    Am enjoying being here

    Love the people and the times that I have had there.

    Am learning a lot

    Very Challenging.

  • 09/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the person who loves to get involved. The possibilities are endless and you can be involved in many clubs, organizations, and extra-curricular activities while still keeping up with school work!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the beautiful campus--you will see what a great atmosphere this school has and meet some wonderful people!

    Bang for the buck

    There are many opportunities for financial aid, and many awards given to hard working and involved students.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is great, the students are kind and welcoming, and the staff is very helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    This school gives me opportunities to pursue whatever I want, and I am learning a ton about things I am interested in.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you are looking for challenging academics and a great friendly, family feel on campus come to PC - you will love it here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    listening to scottish bagpipes as we have a strong scottish heritage here

    Bang for the buck

    they give great scholarships to those who have a history of community service and high grades in school AND to those who have a STRONG interest in music!

    What to do for fun

    there are tons of clubs and organizations to be a part of on campus...but since we are in a small southern town there's not much to do off campus unless you drive to Greenville or Columbia (which aren't far).

    Food and Dining

    good food here!

    Dorm Life

    great fun...lots of friendly people. I've made the best friends here I have ever had!

    Academic Rigor

    highly challenging coursework...but that's one reason why I came here. It's true that our professors are AMAZING!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    You should visit PC, take a tour and talk to students while here. That is what really helped me to choose PC over other choices I had.

    In three sentences

    If you want a college that feels like a family, where professors know your name and really care about you, a college that has a GREAT study abroad program, PC is for you. I love it here and I'm from the big city of Atlanta. Yes, Clinton is a small town, but there is so much to do on campus you really don't notice. Plus, you can get to the big city easily if you want. This is truly what a college should be!!!

  • 07/31/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    beautiful campus!!

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun you should get involved in organizations. PC is a busy community that has a lot of things to offer.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dinning hall and a sub/grill/smoothie place too. The food is good but can get old quick. There are places to eat around campus too.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life could be a little better, but its easy to get cozy and have a room away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    PC has a challenging academic system, but its not impossible. The professors are all great and willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, you should get involved and make yourself well known to the PC community. PC is great and friendly. You will love it here.

    In three sentences

    PC is a great small, private liberal arts college. It has a beautiful campus with many sports and organizations to become involved in. The academics are challenging to students to help give them a strong education.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can leave your door unlocked and feel completely safe on our campus, and also campus police rides around all day to make sure that this safe feeling is maintained.

    Greek Life

    We do have greek life on our campus. However, we currently do not have any historically black sororities or fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and activities on campus, and they keep coming too.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great if you like a small community type feel or if you are used to this.

    Bang for the buck

    We have a nice gym on campus.

    What to do for fun

    On campus we have plenty of gatherings that many of the groups on campus set up, so there is almost always something to do on campus. We also have certain groups on campus who gather people to play a big game of ultimate frisbee or volleyball.

    Food and Dining

    The dining places on campus are great. We have two Springs and GDH(Greenville Dining Hall). Springs is more fast and on-the-go food and GDH is where you go to see down for a while to chat and eat. The taste of these foods are good and also safe to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are decent but not the best dorms you might come across, however they are livable and once you are in them you add your only little touches to them, it's just like home!

    Academic Rigor

    The work at PC challenges your mind, and forces you to critically think.

    Tips for prospective students

    ASK for help when needed because there are professors and other students willing to help you out, when in need. DO get involved because there is so much to get into, and you will definitely find your niche at PC.

    In three sentences

    This school is really homey and small, which gives it a great community feel to it. You can come to your professors at any time for them to help you. Also, there is a bunch to get into at the college, so there is no reason not to get involved and be a part of the community at PC.

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    PC is definitely the place for you if you care about honesty, community, and academics. Cheating is absolutely not tolerated. There is a strict Honor Code which you must sign at orientation; it's not hard to follow if you are honest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do extracurricular activities and take any opportunities for leadership so that you can get scholarships, and turn in you FAFSA on time!

    Bang for the buck

    There are many scholarships available.

    Academic Rigor

    PC is the right choice for you if you care about actually learning as opposed to just passing with a degree. The workload can be heavy, but the professors are interesting, fun, and caring. If you ever have a problem with an assignment, you can go to your professors for help, and they will take the time to make sure you do well.

  • 08/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like sciences, learning, a friendly clean enviroment, community, and fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply and then come.

    Bang for the buck

    Very generous about scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    Awesome campus. Big grassy lawns, Big trees, Big pillars. All of the essentials are provided too. I like the food, some complain, but some always do. Good fitness center, and many other services. Oh, and fun weekends too with lots of pretty people.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors are experts in and love their subjects. Unstumpable it seems. Entertain and encourage out of the box questions, and do all that they can to take care of and prepare you.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    3 Sororities and 7 Fraternities- solid participation

    Great for these types of students

    studious, like small town living, makes friends easily

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mascot is Blue Hose, hear bagpipes a lot

    What to do for fun

    Greek life activities, sports events, travel to Greenville, on campus gym

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study a lot

    In three sentences

    The class sizes are a plus for those who don't want to get lost in the crowd. The staff/professors are always willing to help when you need some one on one time and explain things in a way that you can understand. The campus is also small and offers a community feeling much different from a large university.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    PC has 3 sororities and 6 fraternities on campus that contribute to bettering the community: Sigma Sigma Sigma, Zeta Tau Alpha, and Alpha Delta Pi, Sigma Nu, Pi Kappa Alpha. As a whole, greek life is the largest student-led organization on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's tradition that before seniors graduate they should climb to the roof of Neville Hall, which is the center of campus, and enjoy a beverage of choice while reminiscing on their wonderful 4 years at Presbyterian College.

    What to do for fun

    There's probably the same things to do for fun at PC as there are at every other school: athletic events, student-led events, and just hanging out with friends. But at PC we know how to have a good time. Homework turns into a study party in the library, sunbathing is a water balloon fight on the front lawn next to the dodge ball tournaments

    Food and Dining

    Greenville Dining Hall serves a wide variety of foods as well as the everyday staples. And they're very accommodating for those with allergies and such. Springs is a popular location for lunch most days of the week because it's conveniently located near the center of campus and there's access to on-the-go food.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is one of the best experiences of college, and PC has nice on-campus housing. Every building has it's own free washers and dryers for laundry and the RA's are all usually fun friendly people.

    Academic Rigor

    PC classes are hard! The transition from high school to college tends to be difficult for enough people and if they don't take the course work seriously, then it can end up being too much to bear.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out the FAFSA as soon as you can! The financial aid office is really great about getting back to you and helping in any way necessary. Also, take tours. That was one of my favorite parts of the decision process.

    In three sentences

    The best decision I've ever made; as long as you take advantage of everything PC has to offer, I promise you won't regret it. There's something about the environment that just encourages people to strive towards excellence. I wouldn't be who I am today without PC.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    PC is extraordinarily safe. I never feel scared walking around at night. One thing that holds us accountable is the honor code.

    Greek Life

    6 different fraternities and 3 sororities as well as other Greek honors societies. Lots of options, and lots of fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great options! Actually a common problem at PC is to become over-involved.

    Great for these types of students

    There's something for everyone really.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The attics and basements in certain buildings can come as a shock.

    Bang for the buck

    I find PC worth every penny. I just got back from studying abroad in Spain and I compared PC with the other students' universities. I concluded that I have it great at PC.

    What to do for fun

    If you aren't big on frat parties, you can hang out in your friends' dorm rooms or go to one of the nearby cities. Since PC is so small, you get creative with your fun options. From playing manhunt (a more extreme version of hide and seek) to outdoor swing dancing, PC students always find things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but lacks variation for vegan, vegetarians, and gluten free options.

    Dorm Life

    99% of students live on campus. The dorms need renovation, but it is super easy to hang out with your friends.

    Academic Rigor

    While the professors are always there for you and will help you succeed, they expect a lot from you and hold you to it. That's why PC degrees are so respected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on service in your application. While PC is rigorous, our motto is While we live, we serve. Service will stand out as a potential applicant.

    In three sentences

    Presbyterian College (PC) is a home, a family, and a future. Don't let the small town deceive you, PC is your typical college experience but with so much more. I absolutely love PC.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    PC has a very safe campus. The dorms all have key sensors to enter which are only issued to PC students, and the academic buildings are locked as well after class hours. Campus safety has a building on campus that can be called 24/7, and they can provide anything necessary for safety. Also, texts and email alerts are used for severe weather or other necessities.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very big at PC. With six fraternities and three sororities, it is not the largest selection of greek life, but it provides a very stable one. All Greek life gets along very well and has been recently working on its Greek unity. The fraternities and sororities also do events throughout the year to support their philanthropies.

    Clubs and Activities

    PC provides a variety of clubs and activities varying from sports to academic clubs to religious clubs to everyday hobbies. PC also offers the opportunity to create your own club if you can find a faculty member to sponsor you as well as enough people to want to be a part of the club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to have a close relationship with their teachers and need more time with professors as far as getting attention for certain topics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    PC students love to spend time on the green in front of the dining hall when the weather is nice. It is common for students to do everything from study to lay out to play ultimate frisbee.

    Bang for the buck

    Despite the few things I mentioned before, PC's overall educational value is more rewarding than anything else. They have a high acceptance rate into graduate and medical schools, and they provide a great gateway to the next step of your life.

    What to do for fun

    Many of the local restaurants do things during the week for students, such as karaoke nights and trivia nights. Also, the fraternity houses are a popular spot on the weekends. Club and intramural sports are popular on campus as well. Greenville and Columbia, both within an hour of PC, provide the bigger city feel that some students look for.

    Food and Dining

    We have two dining options on campus, and they provide a variety of choices. However, the hours are not as free as some colleges, and they close earlier than many would hope.

    Dorm Life

    Although the older students' dorms are nicer, the freshmen dorms could use some updating. Also, if you are unprepared to live in a dorm for most of your college career, PC is not the place for you. We live on campus all four years, with the exeption of seniors who live in Scottish Arms. Dorms are required for the first three years.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard when attending PC. It is not as difficult to be accepted to PC, but it is hard to stay at PC. Realize that the academic rigor of the school is fairly difficult in order to make sure you are prepared for what is to come beyond college.

    In three sentences

    Presbyterian College gives the home and family feel that I was looking for in a school. It also provides small class sizes, personal relationships with teachers, and a friendly and safe environment for its students. PC is known for creating an environment that its students love to be a part of.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Youth activities, visiting other campuses seem pretty popular, the fraternity row also seems like a popular hang out spot, sporting events, festivals, etc.

    Food and Dining

    I do not know yet, but I can image its pretty awesome considering there is are seventeen different meal plans to choose from!

    Dorm Life

    I also do not know how the dorm life is just yet. I can assume it will be as noisy as any other dorm, but I can assure that they are safe and very well kept and a nice living space.

    Academic Rigor

    I wish I could give that information but I have not started yet. I do know that PC can make accommodation for the way you learn and how ahead or behind the curve you may be.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not sure about going to PC, I recommend it because Presbyterian is a tight knit community wear who you are as a person matters rather than just a number.

    In three sentences

    Presbyterian so far is a great school if like smaller schools and more one-on-one attention. The Advisers truly help you with anything you need and are always there to offer advice. I am really excited about attending because professors have already contacted me about there classes and sharing there excitement about seeing me.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are prompt, alert, and always willing to help anyone in distress. Each person who attends PC must sign the Honor Code, pledging that they will not lie, steal, plagiarize, cheat, or watch as another students do. The Honor Code and Campus Police allow students to feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    Six fraternities: Pi Kappa Phi, Pi Kappa Alpha, Kappa Alpha, Alpha Sigma Phi, Theta Chi, and Sigma Nu Three Sororities: Alpha Delta Pi, Sigma Sigma Sigma, and Zeta Tau Alpha.

    Bang for the buck

    PC definitely has a lot of amenities that go along with their tuition. Free laundry, stellar staff, a wide variety of food, countless resources, a newly updated Mac computer lab, free printing, and a 98% acceptance rate to Graduate School after graduation from PC.

    What to do for fun

    PC campus has many things to do for fun. There are clubs related to different majors, sororities, fraternities, intramural sports, zumba lessons, home sports games, and more. Students get into any home games for free.

    Food and Dining

    The food at PC is very good. The campus grows most of its ingredients and provides junk food, healthy food, vegetarian food, and dessert foods. The only downside to the dining options (GDH or Springs) is they have specific hours for meals, but Springs allows you $50 in bonus bucks to buy food outside of meal times.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are better than others. They are all spacious compared to many large universities and there are suite style and hall bathroom options. Each of the dorm buildings have laundry rooms with washers and dryers that are free.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect students to give their 110% effort on every assignment. In return, professors are very willing to help any student who comes to their office for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get lots of scholarships!

    In three sentences

    Presbyterian is considered a small school, but with the rather small numbers brings a strong sense of safety and community. Professors challenge their students in the classroom and are also very willing to give aid to any student who is struggling in their classes. The honor system placed over PC allows students to leave their belongings unlocked in the library without fear of them being stolen and allows students to trust in their surroundings.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Presbyterian College is a very safe campus. Our campus police are constantly patrolling and are only a phone call away. Campus police are friendly and helpful.

    Greek Life

    Greek life makes up about 60% of the college at Presbyterian College. There are three sororities and six fraternities. The fraternities are much more accepting than the sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Presbyterian College has many clubs, from language clubs, to sports clubs, to religious affiliation clubs. All of these clubs are accepting of every level of involvement. The clubs provide a way to meet people at the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Presbyterian College is great for many types of students. It is good for the athletic student as we just became fully Division I. It is good for the artist, the scientist, the mathematician, and the oddball.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition on campus is Hoseville. The mascot of Presbyterian College is the Blue Hose, the blue socks on a Scotsman. At football games, Hoseville opens up for all students to enjoy the game in a better seat.

    Bang for the buck

    Presbyterian College provides a unique college experience that I would not give up. The school is pricey but worth the money. Presbyterian College has a rich history and is a great experience.

    What to do for fun

    Presbyterian College offers many activities for fun for it's students. Most weekends there is an event hosted as well as several evening actvities, intermural sports, classes, groups, and social activities. There is hardly a dull moment in Clinton.

    Food and Dining

    One thing Presbyterian College does not do well is food. While our finer dining hall always has tasty selections, it is the same food each day. The main dining hall varies more frequently however the quality of the food is more questionable.

    Dorm Life

    Presbyterian College is a historic college and the dorms are aged. The dorms are sized larger than most college dorm rooms are and any problems you might incur will be happily fixed by Maintenance. The dorms at Presbyterian College really feel like home.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Presbyterian College are challenging however you learn a lot. Professors are able to find multiple ways to explain themselves and want you to succeed. Most classes are difficult however not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Presbyterian College cares deeply about service and community. I advise all prospective students to be sure they are helping their community out.

    In three sentences

    Presbyterian College is a small private school where the faculty and staff know you by name and truly care about your performance. The campus is beautiful and constantly maintained. The faculty and staff at Presbyterian College want you to succeed.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is available if a student is interested. Participation is about 50/50 so you don't feel pressured to join if it is not right for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all types of activities going on. If you don't see a club that you would be interested in joining they encourage you to start one.

    Bang for the buck

    When you attend Presbyterian you are a person not just a number, and professors treat you with kindness and respect. As a student, I never feel like my professors would rather be anywhere else but in the classroom.

    Food and Dining

    Always available and a good variety.

    Dorm Life

    Campus dorm rooms for the most part are old but that is what lends character to the campus. I love staying in a dorm that I know had other students in it 100 years ago.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard classes but there is always someone willing to help. Professors are readily available for assistance when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    A visit to the campus is a must. The southern hospitality is apparent in all aspects of the campus.

    In three sentences

    Presbyterian college is an excellent choice for furthering your education. It has a very personal feel with a home type atmosphere. You receive one-on-one instruction in many classes, so not doing well is completely up to the student.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never felt unsafe really.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is great, but non-Greeks or athletes can come to Greek socials.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want a small college with smaller classes, PC is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are the 'Blue Hose' - fighting Scotsmen wearing blue socks.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but great school. Well respected school.

    What to do for fun

    I joined a fraternity - can't have more fun than that.

    Food and Dining

    Food sucks. GDH (the Grand Dining Hall) is only good on special occasions. Bojangles is close by

    Dorm Life

    My dorm is decent sized. Have 2 suite mates and a bathroom between the 2 dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to get scholarships and financial aid.

    In three sentences

    PC is a great college if you're looking for a smaller school with smaller classes. Professors are really interested in helping you. Glad I chose PC!

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Super awesome! There is a sorority or fraternity for everyone's personality.

    What to do for fun

    For fun on the weekends you can go to the fraternity houses. During the week we usually go to Tony's Pizza and Subs and El Jal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on top of your work and look ahead on your syllabus to see what you can do early. Also make sure to read everything assigned to you.

    In three sentences

    Presbyterian College has very good academics as well as student life. There are many clubs and organizations for students to become members of. The staff is also extremely family friendly!

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The cops have 0 clue of what their jobs are. Things are continuously stolen from dorm rooms.

    Greek Life

    Great because that is all that matters on this campus

    Great for these types of students

    Those interested in Fraternities and Sororities. Those who are not different and like to follow the crowd.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. Ghost Town. Required to drive 30-45 minutes to do anything fun.

    Food and Dining

    Horrible food!

    Dorm Life

    Mold in the dorms. No off campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigorous but teachers help you when you ask. Great professors might be the only plus for this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not attend this school unless you enjoy doing the same thing everyday and seeing the same exact people.

    In three sentences

    Presbyterian College is one of the most boring schools in the state. Do not play athletics here because they will treat you like crap. A school run by fraternities and sororities many of which are racist.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police is always a phone call away, they arrive within minutes if there is ever any trouble or incidents on campus.

    Greek Life

    Three sororities and five fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    We offer a WIDE and I mean WIDE range of clubs, anything from Spectrum (the LGBTQ club) to duck hunting....yes you read that right. Duck hunting.

    Great for these types of students

    Harding working, honest, and students that prefer a small tight-knit community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We wear our PC Blue on Fridays, a.k.a. PC BLUE PRIDE or otherwise known as hastagPCBluePride (#PCBluePride)

    Bang for the buck

    The price here is high, but worth it if you want personal one-on-one attention from your professors. It is not worth it in the dorm life.

    What to do for fun

    We have sports games pretty much every weekend, art shows, theater, and music concerts on campus. Off campus we have bowling, movie theaters, restaurants, putt-putt, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Terrible as well, but plenty of off campus options and the grab and go dining hall (Springs) does offer a variety of options.

    Dorm Life

    Terrible. The buildings need to be remodeled, but slightly spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    We have the highest number of Professor of the Year winners at our university over any other university in the state, which means something. They are all truly passionate about what they teach and expect you to try, we have probably one of the strictest honor codes I've ever seen so either learn and work fair or go somewhere else.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware that Clinton is truly a small town, to the point that the closest wal-mart is in the next city over. If you can get over the small town, then you will realize the beauty PC has to offer.

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful college for students wanting something small and personal. PC thrives on each student feeling like they are apart of a community and I certainly do here.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If something happens on or near campus, there is a strange person near or on campus, or there is a possibility of severe weather, there will be alert texts and emails sent out to each student. Also, the Campus Police is very quick when responding to anything, from a skunk to a textbook emergency.

    Greek Life

    Most people are involved in Greek Life at PC, but if you are not, people do not judge you. Everyone realizes that fraternities and sororities aren't for everyone. PC accepts everyone- it is a liberal arts college.

    Great for these types of students

    PC is great for anyone who wants to do business or accounting, especially anything international. PC has a great international program- both sending people abroad, and bringing people in. PC also has a good biology and a good education program.

    Bang for the buck

    The best thing about PC is, even though PC is a very expensive private school, they hand out scholarships like they aren't anything at all. I pay less to come to school here than I would to go to a public school. Honestly, the grades I get now would be much better than those I would make at a public school because of the relationships I have on campus and the lack of places taking my time away from my studies.

    What to do for fun

    At PC, unfortunately, you have to make your own fun, unless you like to go out and dance around a bunch of sweaty drunk people (or you are one of those sweaty drunk people). My friends and I have movie nights, Greenville/ Spartanville road trip nights, or we just chill out and talk.

    Food and Dining

    PC has its good and bad days. On its good days, you can go to the big cafeteria, GDH, and have an all you can eat buffet of heavenly goodness. On PC's bad days, you can go to the smaller, more crowded dining area, Spring's Campus Center, and eat a sub sandwich or something from The Grill area.

    Dorm Life

    My freshman and sophomore years, I hated the dorms in which I lived. Starting this past summer, the dorms have become remodeled (of course, they do this after the buildings started getting everyone sick because of the build up of mold). PC is very helpful if you are experiencing issues with people on your hall or a roommate/ suitemate.

    Academic Rigor

    Presbyterian College gets a reputation for being a very rigorous school. I agree with that only because of the expectations that the professors hold you to. The school is so small that the professors get to know you so well that they know what you are capable of.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to be able to party every day and go to the clubs, then PC is not the place for you. Yes, PC is known as a party school, but that is because most of the population stays on campus on the weekends- you can't go to Bi-Lo and party. Presbyterian College is a school where you have to get involved to feel the entire sense of community that everyone talks about, but getting involved at PC is not a hard thing to do, at all.

    In three sentences

    Presbyterian College is a school full of great opportunities and amazing academics. Here, you have to work your butt off to get the grades you deserve, but the feelings you get when you receive an A in your hardest class are priceless. I couldn't imagine myself anywhere else.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sadly, there is not much to do in the town of Clinton on a Friday night, so often PC students make their own fun--whether that be watching a movie in the dorms or playing a late-night game of sardines. Some student organizations hold events for PC students to attend either throughout the week or on the weekend, and often these events are fun and enjoyable and generate good turn-outs.

    Food and Dining

    The dining service staff is overall friendly, though you definitely do not want to get on any of their bad sides. The dining hall serves mostly well-balanced meals, however, often the side items are mashed potatoes or some form of cooked cabbage with the meat. There is also a grill and full-time pasta bar, as well as vegetarian and some vegan options available. The dining hall is the only on-campus food option during the weekends, where the second dining service facility, Springs, is only open late Sunday nights throughout the school week. Springs also has a grill, a sub/sandwich line, and smoothies and coffee and ice cream to serve during meal hours. You can either use your meals to pay for your food (under a certain price limit) or you can use your bonus points, which rolls over across semesters but not school years.

    Dorm Life

    PC has and will be undergoing more renovations in the upcoming years. The boys' freshman dorm needs renovation, and will be soon. Freshman girls' dorms have been newly redone, and so are clean, with new paint and desks and beds that can be bunked. Upperclassmen dorms will be worked on in the future, as well a new senior housing facility to be completed by the 2016-2017 school year. Senior housing is new and apartment-style. Some of the dorms are far from the academic buildings, but with a bike, getting to class on time shouldn't be too difficult.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the type of class you take (and who teaches it) will affect how difficult the class is for you. Some courses are more lecture-based, such as some history and science courses, while others are more discussion-based, such as most English courses. Still, oftentimes professors desire input from their students, and great conversations can be had in a typically lecture-based class. For science or math students, the Pharmacy program is great at PC, and many of the professors teach well, though some are said to be easier than others. Labs, also, vary in difficulty, depending on who teaches it. For humanities students, be prepared for papers and deep discussions. It is tough, but definitely worthwhile, if you want to leave college knowing not just more about the world but also your place in it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Administrators at PC value the individual. Your advisors will care about you and remember your name (which is good, because this networking will help you in possibly attaining a future job). If you value your education, and want a challenging yet worthwhile experience out of college, Presbyterian College is a great place for just that. Try not to slack off, though, as sleep is sometimes a nonexistent thing here. However, good time management can help you keep a regular sleep schedule.

    In three sentences

    When people say they loved PC because they felt like they were part of a community that cared, they speak the truth. Here at school, almost everyone treats each other with respect, whether to teachers, to friends, to the dining hall staff, or to that one girl/guy you always pass in the hallway. In short, people care--about each other, about their academics, and about their experience here at PC.