Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Prescott College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 out of 30 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Prescott College is perfect for students looking for a more non-traditional approach to learning. If you want to take education outside of the classroom and into the field, Prescott College is probably a great fit for you. If you like small class sizes (my Psychology class has a ratio of 8:1), Prescott is amazing. If you want a community vibe instead of just being another number in the system, Prescott is the place. If you want a party school...keep looking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your SAT scores and GPA do matter, despite what anyone tells you. Prescott is not cheap, and you want all of the financial aid you can get. Scholarships are your friend, and your best bet is to apply early and go for as much as possible. Don't assume you can party all day and make straight As at Prescott College; I've had more homework in one week than I did a semester of high school. Also, if you apply using the Common App, the application fee is waved.

    Bang for the buck

    Prescott College is incredibly expensive, and sometimes I wonder where all my money is going. Textbooks can be upwards of $200 for a book you use twice in the semester, and often times the book store won't buy it back at the end of the semester. Though Prescott College offers a lot of unique opportunities to learn through experience, they don't tend to apply to psychology majors, and sometimes my education can feel a bit overpriced.

    Am enjoying being here

    Prescott is an amazing community, and the most difficult aspect would have to be the housing crunch. Finding a place to live with people you can stand is crucial, and will effect how you feel about your time here in either direction. Prescott College has given me amazing opportunities such as a month spent on a horse ranch studying equine assisted therapy and a visit to a Buddhist temple for world religions, experiences that make my education feel more practical and real-world applicable.

    Am learning a lot

    Through just my first semester, I learned more at Prescott College than I did my entire senior year of high school. Sometimes the homework load can feel intense, but I have already seen myself improve as both a writer and an analytical thinker. I have gained knowledge that is useful in daily life as well as the classroom, and often times take trips outside of the classroom to learn through experience. I can truly say there is only one class I feel I am not learning as much as I would like to in since I am academically gifted, a rare number compared to my previous years of schooling.

  • 10/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is the best place for students who are okay with a lot of self-direction and creative inspiration as well as who appreciate the foundational, structural teaching of each subject. It's an amazing place for those who have the desire to reach beyond the classroom and into the universal possibilities of one's own mind as well as the mind of this extraordinary planet.

    Tips for prospective students

    The students that come and stay at Prescott College are those who are so passionate about they're doing. This school is meant for students who have the will and drive and self-motivation to make a difference in the world and who have their own dreams of making it happen. Prescott College will fully support and encourage people to attend this school and the ones that graduate and end up succeeding are those who truly want to be here now.

    Bang for the buck

    My experience while getting an education is crucial. If I’m not enjoying school and the life that I’m creating while attending school, why should I even be there? I understand that taking courses that I’m not necessarily interested in or going to a college that might be more financially affordable has a great value, in that it progresses me towards my higher education, however the money that I spend should be going towards a life experience that is far more valuable than a life without the worthiness of life at Prescott College.

    Am enjoying being here

    Prescott College, in my mind has a mission of taking the students out into nature and giving each of them the opportunity to discover that it is that they are passionate about and how they can bring it back into society to help create harmony, balance and love. Not only that, but also this school supports the adventurous immersion of self into life in a very well rounded way. They give opportunities for the students to come together to create community through art, movement, health-conscious food, music, cultural expression, connection with the Earth, etc.

    Am learning a lot

    This school offers me the ability to apply all of the courses I take, directly to my life experience as Galadriel. I can so easily make the connections between my courses and how they all work together to formulate the degree of my dream: Holistic Health and Wellness. I can’t believe how applicable each class I’ve taken and intend to take is to not only my degree, but to my career and my future education experience.

  • 04/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self-directed Motivated Passionate Community oriented Active

    Tips for prospective students

    Prescott College is very self-directed, which can be intimidating to new students. Finding housing was the scariest part for me, but it has worked out just fine. Don't forget to stop by the Student Life Office if you could use a hand; they have loads of resources to help out. One thing to keep in mind for Prescott College, though I believe it applies to most anything, is that you will get out of it precisely how much you put into it.

    Bang for the buck

    Prescott College is fairly generous with financial aid, and there are so many opportunities for scholarship outside of the college, that I've been able to make the costs of attending reasonable. The experiences I have had with my small classes and direct field experience have been incredibly rich, and the skills I have gained transfer directly to my summer job as an outdoor educator.

    Am enjoying being here

    I was recently writing out my degree plan, a document which helps guide students towards fulfilling graduation requirements, and I realized that there were still tons of classes that I wanted to take beyond the minimums. It's hard to pick between all the options, and I feel really lucky to be able to take so many field based classes.

    Am learning a lot

    Stemming directly from Prescott College's dedication to self-direction, the majority of my education classes have had a practicum component. While I was worried that teaching students while still a student myself would look like trial by fire (or burning alive), I was amazed by the support and wowed by the preparation that my classes have given me. Prescott College equips their students well to follow their dreams and be successful in their careers. Though at times daunting, the opportunities for real, hands on education are plentiful.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never been scared, ever.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm in an Environmental Advocacy club! It's very easy to add clubs also.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal, understanding, kind, peaceful, hippies, vegetarians, rock climbers, hikers, outdoorsy people, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There tends to be a lack of footwear, but embrace the hippiness of the college. They're beautiful people. Also- Orientation in general is an odd tradition, but a good one :)

    What to do for fun

    Talk to people, there will always be activities happening. House shows, hooping get-togethers, bonfires, snowball fights, rock climbing, hiking, swimming, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is delicious, my favorite time of the week is community lunch!

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorm because there was not enough housing, they just installed dorms though, and I have heard they're fantastic.

    Academic Rigor

    I did not come from a rigorous high school background, but the teachers at PC do expect you to make an effort. With the college being very self-directed it is up to you to take responsibilities for your academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to make it past orientation, I loved it, and if the outdoors aren't for you, don't think that's all Prescott College has to offer. They also offer wonderful on-campus classes.

    In three sentences

    An experiential learning experiences is provided by the college. All of the classes are intimate and consist of a strong teacher-student relationship. I have never met a community of people that are so caring before.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to be someone instead of a number, this is your school.

    What to do for fun

    There are stores all around the college and there are beautiful areas to relax in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself, college essays may seem daunting, but this school really seems to understand the person behind the paper.

    In three sentences

    Prescott College seems to be a place where people learn about life. This college offers students a unique opportunity to explore aspects of the world, and themselves, that they may never have thought of before. I look forward to attending this college this fall.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Climbing, bars, really there's always something going on and someone going somewhere on an adventure. Plus, if you're a drinker, mainstreet is called Whiskey Row.

    Food and Dining

    All organic and a lot of the produce and meat is local. We have a garden on top of the library which provides a fair amount of food as well for the Cafe.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in a house. Do it.

    Academic Rigor

    Beware, classes with easy titles, like Yoga & Philosophy will kick your butt!

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and branch out from your friends within the same major. Other majors have just as great people and you'll learn a lot.

    In three sentences

    PC not only has amazing faculty, the students are stupendous as well. The class selection is out of this world. Its easy to mold a major to your interests and passions.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pretty acceptable.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Start a club! The school will be all for it and students will flock. It may be small, but you could have a big impact.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor enthusiasts. Creative and passionate people. Independent thinkers. Activists.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People like to live outdoors.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a good price! Compared to most liberal arts schools. And if you take any outdoor ed classes you are provided with crazy opportunities few people in their life have the chance to take.

    What to do for fun

    Potlucks! A lot of them. House shows! Outdoor activities! School of rocks :), you'll find out when you get there.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is cute. It isn't the cheapest food, but you can always get something for a good deal. The food is yummy, and mostly convenient if you don't order something that needs to be cooked from scratch.

    Dorm Life

    People here are wonderfully friendly, welcoming, and a lot of fun! If you have the choice to live off campus, I'd take it because being a part of the greater community is worth it. The dorms offer a good way to interact with new students but you don't get as familiarized with the rest of the students. The dorms are super luxurious! Decked with a nice kitchen, living space, and study, I feel blessed to be a part of the first year of dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends how much work you want to put in and the level of difficult classes you want to take. It is up to you. It is not the same kind of work as a traditional school, you may focus more on your thoughts, feelings, and personal growth, than on assigned readings, but you still have deadlines, presentations, and papers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here with ideas in mind, but stay with an open mind. There are so many things offered that might not have been what you expected but can truly blow your mind if you allow it. Play an active role in your education and find and advisor you really like! Attend speaker series and events, these people are inspiring!

    In three sentences

    Prescott College is for self-directed students. If you are passionate about social justice, the environment, or a broad education in liberal arts and other studies, this school is for you. It provides an abundance of opportunities for students to study as they please and even create their own major.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a night patrol man.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are two main clubs: Peer Education Resource Center (P.E.R.C) and Student Council.

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in Social Justice, Environmental Studies, Outdoor Education, and Liberal Arts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Wednesday, there is a community lunch for all the students. Its free, and students come to share announcements and to hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are self directed and know what you want out of your education then yes this is the school to be at; although it is a little pricey. If you still are undecided, then you should probably try a cheap community college first.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of stuff outside! There is always some one or a group going hiking, climbing, bouldering, etc. There is also musical talent shows to go to as well.

    Food and Dining

    The Crossroads Cafe is great! They have all organic foods, including gluten free and vegetarian. The chef also respectful about other dietary wishes as well.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    All the courses are self directed and pretty tough if you (the student) make it that way. Other wise, the classes are easy going and fun. It all depends on how the student wishes to take the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to take. If you don't, then your going to end up taking lots of random classes.

    In three sentences

    This college is fantastic. The teachers connect with the students not only on an educational level but also on a personal level as well. The courses here are well-planned, well-taught, and well-thought out for students' degree plans.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, you'll see the campus police going by often even if the campus is small.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and things to do on the weekends. There are equine clubs, hiking groups, yoga, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Nature-oriented Activists

    Bang for the buck

    Not work it for the lecture classes. And their degrees are so made up you will probably never make a career out of it unless it's in adventure education. And you can't take any helpful classes until you're in upper division, in other words a junior or senior.

    What to do for fun

    For fun.... not much. They have some plays, art shows, or skits, but otherwise hit the town. There are lots of great restaurants, shopping, and cafes with live music.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is great. The food is always fresh. A lot of food is gluten free, vegetarian, or vegan. It can be a bit pricey though.

    Dorm Life

    I personally live off campus but the cottages are nice if you can get into them. If you live on campus you will not need a car.

    Academic Rigor

    They will load you down with lots and lots of reading which most students can't finish and get nothing out of. Papers aren't too long, but they are peer checked often, which can be a brutal process.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to climb mountains, travel to foreign places for activism work, or learn out-of-the-norm philosophies this is the place for you. But if you want an education in biology, chemistry, or anything close to normal don't bother with this college. The teachers really only spend their energy on their field classes, lecture classes are a joke to them.

    In three sentences

    It's great for students looking for field classes. If you want something outside of the field don't bother going here. You will pay a lot for classes that you won't get much out of.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is very small and there are always patrolmen around. i have never heard of anything ever happening on campus nor anyone who thought something might.

    Clubs and Activities

    if you think of something, anything, you want to do and you can relate it to the school's mission, then you can start a club or group or independent study.

    Great for these types of students

    self-directed, passionate, open-minded, tolerant, environmentally friendly, active both politically and physically, and an appreciation for the spiritual.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the college itself is pretty unusual and the students are pretty unusual. its a great place for people who don't fit in to fit in.

    Bang for the buck

    can you put a price on the feeling of being in the right place at the right time? turns out you can and it is pretty damn high, but you are on a scholarship website so that is a good start. volunteer education awards get matched at prescott college.

    What to do for fun

    there are a variety of opportunities between community theater and local performing artists and hiking and mountain biking in the areas. you just have to look for what interests you and if you can't find it, start it. whiskey row during the day is fairly touristy. whiskey row at night never disappoints.

    Food and Dining

    there is no arguing with the quality of the food, mostly organic and a lot of it is locally grown or raised, with vegan and gluten-free options. a little pricey for my taste but i guess that depends on what you are accustomed to.

    Dorm Life

    the cottages are nice places to live and an easy place to meet new people. you could definitely find cheaper housing though, and i believe they require you to take certain classes if you live on campus. some new large capacity dorms are now under-construction.

    Academic Rigor

    this is the hardest i have ever had to push myself academically. in my experience a lot of the work load is in the form of reflection. so the ability to synthesize is important. however, this is dependent on your field of study so do your research.

    Tips for prospective students

    volunteer work, especially long-term, makes any resume shiny, and prescott college will match dollar-for-dollar volunteer education awards, like those provided by americorps.

    In three sentences

    one thing i can't say enough is self-directed when it comes to the course work. passionate faculty and amazing opportunities for fieldwork and placed-based education. it is very easy to create at prescott college: independent studies, courses, clubs or groups, anything you can think of.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty self-governing. No campus security per se. Not the type of environment that tolerates drunken carousing or bad behavior.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, Liberal Arts, political, agriculture, musicians, theater, dance, environmental education, environmental law, chemistry, climate, geology, literature, etc. Oddly, no microbiology or electronics, though some programs do cover these topics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Orientation is a three week long desert trek. Many classes are in foreign countries; make sure your passport is up to date. You will soon learn to sleep on the ground just about anywhere. When I last attended, nudity at outdoor swimming holes was common, but may be no longer.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent

    What to do for fun

    Once again; depends on the program. I might consider rock-climbing or kayaking to relax, but the Outdoor Education students have to do it for a grade. Bike paths and great hiking outside of town. Some bars in town, but not much of a nightlife. Two other colleges in town provide for a lot of student mixing.

    Food and Dining

    One organic cafeteria on campus, with locally grown food and a CSA. A bit pricey, but you know you are getting the best. Otherwise, food is gotten off campus. There is no student lunchroom.

    Dorm Life

    have no experience with that at this school

    Academic Rigor

    Different programs through this school may have easier or more difficult classes. Not the most laid back school in the universe, but not the most rigorous either. They expect the students there to behave like adults. First month of the block and quarter is an outdoor survival type orientation for freshmen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get an apartment or dorm nearby: the bike routes around town are not the best. Some car-pooling available, but for the most part getting around any distance can be difficult. Parking at the school is not great for car owners.

    In three sentences

    Great Liberal Arts College: outdoor classrooms, frequent field trips, small class size, knowledgeable & approachable instructors, all with a small-town vibe.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's not really organized, but they don't seem to have a problem with safety.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There's always some kind of activity or club to join. And if something is missing, it's really easy to create it. There are outdoors clubs, random sports games, career-centered clubs, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Passionate, activist, outdoorsy, independent, self-motivated, active, driven, creative, liberal, outgoing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    What about Prescott IS traditional? I'll just say you need to be open to unconventionality in order to enjoy yourself here.

    Bang for the buck

    Though I have no personal experience with cost as of yet, I get the idea that few people manage to get the tuition to a reasonable price. There are plenty of ways to make the housing and food affordable, but the tuition, books, etc. is painful.

    What to do for fun

    The possibilities are endless. In my week stay, I managed to fit in rock climbing twice, bouldering, lots of hiking, and kayaking. There are plenty of get-togethers at night, including house shows. Donna's is always a good time and Whiskey Row is a blast. Plus, you're only a few hours away from the Grand Canyon, Sedona, Phoenix, and Flagstaff.

    Food and Dining

    The crossroads cafe is the only dining on campus. The food is great! Otherwise, there are plenty of restaurants in town.

    Dorm Life

    Non-existent. However, there is still a strong sense of community. Because the school is so small, everyone knows everyone and there is a community lunch every Wednesday, which is used to make announcements.

    Academic Rigor

    The homework load, while somewhat unconventional, is hefty. You won't find yourself studying for exams, but rather putting together presentations and writing essays. Professors generally don't accept mediocre work. Either you give them your best, or nothing at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a plan. From what I understand, it's so easy to get off track and end up a super-super-senior with graduation still far out of sight. It's not the kind of school where you just go to class for 4 years and come out with a degree.

    In three sentences

    It's mostly made up of very passionate, driven people. Everyone knows everyone because the campus is small. The quality of education is good and there is always something to do.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and friendly. I feel very safe here.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    This school offers quite a few clubs ranging from Spanish language practice, to suicide support and awareness to bike jousting. There is always room to start a new club with plenty of interest from the student body and lots of support from the school. Prescott College does not have any sports teams.

    Great for these types of students

    Non traditional students, outdoor enthusiasts, adventure education majors. People who love to camp out and don't like to sit in a classroom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus of Prescott College is made up of old homes and buildings across the span of a couple city blocks. Because of this, the campus doesn't stand out too mcuh. It blends nicely into the community and it also makes every class experience something unique. The library, cafe, and commons area are built on the site of an old hospital that burned down. The walls of the Crossroads center are made of compacted earth excavated from the site, so bits and pieces of charcoal and strange things are visible. Miscellaneous antique things are built into the tile patterns in the bathrooms, the brick work in the cafe, and in unexpected locations throughout the main courtyard. The courtyard area between the two buildings that make up the Crossroads Center is designed with native plants to mimic the canyon ecosystems that are common in Arizona and the cafe features a rooftop cactus garden!

    Bang for the buck

    Prescott College is expensive. But the experiences I have had at this school are priceless. I will gladly pay a higher price for smaller class size and a personalized experience. Around town, food can be a little pricey in places, but overall I think the cost of living is very reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    The Prescott area has tons of hiking, rock climbing, and other outdoor activities. Almost every side of town is bordered by national forest land and all of it is easily accessible. The city of Prescott frequently hosts free events featuring music, movies, arts and crafts, and food. Establishments in every area of town offer lots of live music, poker tournaments, trivia nights, book and poetry readings, and so many more events of every type. There is really a lot to do in Prescott no matter what your budget is.

    Food and Dining

    The school's cafe uses as much locally grown ingredients as possible, including veggies from the school's gardens! Always options for vegetarians, vegans, and gluten free diets. I think the prices are a little bit high, but I can be found in the cafe searching for cookies and snacks almost every day of the week. My biggest qualm is that there is no coffee shop on campus!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Prescott College were just recently finished. I have heard from students on campus that the rooms themselves are very nice, but apparently there were some issues with dorm management due to this being a new venture for the school. I have not lived in the dorms and do not plan to, so I can't fully comment, but overall the impression I get from other students is positive.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors here really expect students to step up to the plate. The work is very hands on and there is usually a lot of writing required. There is a lot of room to take your studies in any direction and really customize your learning experience. Because of the small class sizes it is just not an option to not do your work or to slack off on the work expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for anything and get ready to spend some time in a van. Be prepared for class always because the classes are so small that you can't fly by unnoticed. Really be proactive about making your education your own. Reach out to the the instructors and the community to learn what you want to and to achieve your personal goals.

    In three sentences

    This school is fun, flexible and engaging. It is a very small school, so you really get to know other students and the instructors and staff. Getting paperwork figured out can be difficult sometimes.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Vegetarian for energy

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus Motivate don't Quit

    In three sentences

    This is a convenient and well respected College. Prescott College has an online program in Somatic Psychology. This will be an excellent fit for me.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    What to do for fun

    I do not participate in anything here at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please review the diversity, or lack thereof at this school. Please also look at the town and how it is ran itself.

    In three sentences

    Prescott College has a very strong adventure program, but not very strong suited for a dance program. Also the living situations here are very outdoors-like. Prescott requires a very particular type of person to attend.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school looks like it has a great Marine Biology program. Very beautiful campus. Perfect spot next to the beach.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Crossroads Cafe on campus provides delicious and nutritious meals at reasonable prices. Student meal plans are available for the cafe

    Dorm Life

    The school dorms are spacious and well furnished but since they were just finished being built last year the school still lacks the ability to manage them in a way that creates a comfortable and inviting atmosphere for students.

    Academic Rigor

    Every student is required to prove their proficiency in critical writing through rigorous assignments and research projects. Before any student graduates they must complete a senior project demonstrating their competence in their chosen area of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to kick back and wait for everything to be handed to you on a platter than Prescott College may not be the right place for you. This school requires students to be self directed and pursue the chosen area/s of study with passion and commitment. What you put in is what you get out of the classes here.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a school that has small class sizes, enthusiastic professors and fleet of savvy fifteen-seater vans than Prescott College is the school for you! Unlike most colleges Prescott College provides students with extensive hands on and field experience. With many areas of study including Adventure Education, Environmental Studies, Education, Cultural and Regional Studies, Arts and Letters and more, Prescott College provides many unique classes for students to choose from.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    So i'm new to cappex. but can anyone tell me what its like at Prescott pertaining to Botany? E-mail :jmunguia1196@gmail.com

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small, well lit, and patrolled by a security company that cares for the students and the campus.

    Greek Life

    No sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Build you own bicycle at the college for free and gain access to Prescott's many outdoor biking trails.

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in small class sizes, hands on learning and outdoor pursuits. Prescott college leads students through a myriad of different courses pertaining in one way or another to either the liberal arts, social justice, and most importantly the environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Prescott College starts off every new student on their very own personal orientation. Spend your first month with the college exploring the wilderness, going on a yoga retreat, or stay in the community, learn about your new surroundings and improve upon them. The whole orientation program at Prescott College is a unique experience and creates a positive sense of self-development so soon as you arrive.

    Bang for the buck

    Though Prescott College is a bit on the pricey side for a private college, the financial aid representatives for the college really work hard to help the students with their needs. The college is worth every dollar you have to spend and the experiences that form your college education while attending Prescott College are priceless.

    What to do for fun

    Prescott Arizona is surrounded by many wilderness areas to travel and explore. Activities for the outdoor enthusiast are infinite and your in town possibilities are just as vast. Rock Climbing, kayaking, mountain biking and much more are offered through the college and the town is a perfect fit.

    Food and Dining

    Prescott college has its own cafe offering organic dining options that help give the students a connection with where their food came from and how important it is to have that understanding.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but I have heard they really bring about a close community of dedicated students.

    Academic Rigor

    Experiential education meets small classes sizes and soon you are introduced to a world of infinite academic possibilities. Everyone has a one on one relationship with their instructors and develop a community with their peers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of visiting the campus and taking a tour of all of our departments. Prescott college recently completed building new student dorms so campus living is now available.

    In three sentences

    Prescott college offers an opportunity for students to explore the experiential side of learning. Through the courses offered in the Adventure Education program I am becoming an educator with my students' specific needs in mind.

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Most students spend a lot of time outside in Prescott. The student body is outdoorsy and the weather is rarely disappointing. There is plenty of hiking, biking, and climbing to satisfy anyone's needs, as well as good people always hanging out in the outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    Most students make their own food because they either live off campus or in the townhouses, but there is a cafe on campus as well. The cafe has delicious food, not typical for college fair. Much of it is from local sources and is staffed by mostly students. There are some restaurants in town but lack in huge variety of ethnicities. Good food that will fill you up is not hard to find in Prescott.

    Dorm Life

    The 2012-2013 season what the first year that Prescott had student housing on campus for its students. The dorms are townhouses that have two singles and three doubles per house for a total of eight students living in each house. The roommate matching process was slightly flawed the first year but will most likely get better. The houses are lead platinum certified with solar panels on the roofs and efficient appliances. Each house has two fridges and stoves as well as a microwave. Students mostly cook their own food but have the option of getting food at the cafe on campus. Many students joke that these are probably the nicest places they will ever live, they are stunningly beautiful. Their purpose was to provide a sense of security for incoming classes and they did exactly that. They are fantastic place to hang out and brought the freshman class very close to each other.

    Academic Rigor

    There is not a focus on grades at Prescott, but there still is the expectation that all students put their full effort into their classes. Students at Prescott college are consistently pushed to do their best and adapt their classes to make them more relevant to their interests. Students develop close relationships with their instructors and advisors in an effort to provide the most personalized and meaningful education each student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college. Prescott have a very different campus environment than other schools. You may love it or hate it, but visiting will help you figure it out.

    In three sentences

    Prescott College is an alternative and innovative expeditionary education establishment that focuses on helping students discover what they love and how they can continue to do what they love successfully for a career. Prescott Colleges focuses in the humanities and outdoors with flexibility to adapt to most students looking at liberal arts colleges.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self-directed, goal oriented, environmentally conscious, academically focused, and open-minded.

    What to do for fun

    Prescott College is the place to find adventure! There are several clubs, mostly student run, including a women's adventure club, ultimate frisbee, HUB (helping people of the community build and repair their own bicycles), Juggling, dance workshops, capoeira, etc. You will find students everywhere looking to get together to adventure the national forest, get creative in artistic endeavors, learn and experience film, go on plant walks, and the like. The institution is in full support of self-directed organizations that are conducive to having a quality experience outside of the academia.

    Food and Dining

    The Crossroads Cafe is an excellent place to eat. The employees are all very kind and hardworking. The food is delicious and healthy. The staff strives to offer fast and still quality service. The cafe is conducive for studying, having meetings, and enjoying a lovely meal during their chaotic school year. There is a day called, Community Lunch. Every Wednesday, anyone from the Prescott Community can come to the campus and get a free bowl of delicious soup and a piece of homemade, freshly baked bread! This cafe is truly unique. It's something no one should miss out on!

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms but I have visited. They are very comfortable and are in a safe neighborhood right by campus. The rooms are spacious and feel like home. There are spacious kitchen and living room environments. They are well insulated and are sustainable for the environment. The dorms have solar heating and water catchment systems. There is a creek right next to the dorms, offering a peaceful place to find refuge from the chaos of their studies as well.

    Academic Rigor

    This school does not have a traditional curriculum. Attitude above other things plays an influential role in the quality of experience at Prescott College. This school mandates presence, attention and mindfulness. It requires the student to actually care about what they are doing; what they are learning, what they are being evaluated on; what they are writing and expressing, etc. There is extensive hands on experience reading and writing, and in turn supporting the development of our skills as human beings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to self-direct. Put yourself out there. Get involved in the community and the events. Use your voice. Everyone wants to hear it. This school is a place that thrives on improvement and change. Be open to the possibilities that can take place in Prescott, including the miracles that happen everyday if you are looking.

    In three sentences

    Prescott College truly supports students' growth and success in the field of their dreams. This institution encourages students to independently and creatively prosper in their career of choice. This school facilitates the self-empowerment necessary to make a difference in the world, and for each individual to be the best that they can be.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I applied to the school, and upon acceptance, was offered a $7,000 dollar per year scholarship, but I have applied to other schools that I have yet to hear from.

  • 05/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We just received campus security not too long ago - all of the security guards are nice and helpful

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of fun clubs - so many activities If there is a club missing that you want, and there is other interests, create it!

    Great for these types of students

    Self-directed, mature, passionate, curious

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Prescott College is very unique! Offering a 3 week long orientation in which you can go backpacking, remain on campus and participate in wonderful service opportunities, or explore with intermittent environmental expeditions! As well as the experiential outlook on education which allows you to have hands-on experiences regardless of what area of study you are involved with.

    Bang for the buck

    I am who I am today because of Prescott College. I have grown so much as a person, excelled academically, been offered numerous opportunities because of my connection to the school, and created such a wonderful support system among the faculty, staff and students.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many opportunities near by to participate in, as well as activities on campus. Many students spend their free time rock climbing locally, going hiking at local mountains and trail, mountain biking, playing ultimate frisbee and slacklining at the local park, participating in plays at Yavapai College, going to see live music or dance on Whiskey Row, or attending yoga classes at one of the many studios in town. Many students also live off-campus and will all hang out at each others houses off-campus. On-campus there are constantly events and workshops being held that are either put on by the college or by students and include: dance workshops, yoga classes, author talks, conferences, musical jam sessions, or the opportunity to rent gear from the gear warehouse to take on adventures.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is delicious and offers many options for different dietary restrictions. They also offer wonderful catering services to events on campus if requested (with appropriate fees), however I personally find it too expensive to eat there often and I do not get a food card at the beginning of the semester. However, if you do get a meal card you are able to receive discounts on some meals!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are new to Prescott College and are still working out their quirks, I believe the culture has grown in the dorms and there are adjustments being made in order to ensure the legacy of Prescott College lives on. Since the dorms are all new they are lovely living situations and provide a sustainable, and safe living environment for new students.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you will have a varying course load. Do not let the fact that it is experiential education lead you to believe that the academic side of it will not be rigorous, but rather than writing papers and studying books at a desk you may be doing this homework in a tent under Redwoods in California, in a yurt in snowy Idaho, or you may be studying cultural issues on the border of Mexico.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking at Prescott College, know that everyone needs to find their niche. By exploring the school and the different areas of interest I believe any student can find a place for themselves that will provide personal growth, while allowing the student to be supported by others with similar interests.

    In three sentences

    Prescott College has provided me experiences I cannot imagine finding at any other college. It is a very unique campus with a commitment to providing passion and personalization to coursework. The faculty, staff and the students at this school are the soul of the college and provide a comfortable, accepting learning community.

  • 07/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Haven't attended yet.

    Dorm Life

    Haven't attended yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Haven't attended yet.

    In three sentences

    The whole admissions team was extremely amazing. My admissions, financial aid, and billing counselor were all extremely helpful. I can't wait to attend prescott college in the fall.