Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Quincy College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Commuters; students who love the city; students who want to get a degree from a 2-year school.

    Bang for the buck

    This school charges by the credit, and with the flexibility of class times, you really get your bang for your buck.

    Will enjoy being here

    I am a city girl, so this college is perfect for me being in the heart of Quincy center.

    Will learn a lot

    I've heard and read the courses here are great.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For those who did not do so well in high school and those who do not want to pay the costs of private colleges/universities for general classes.

    Bang for the buck

    It has gotten expensive and they charge you for just about everything including printing but times are tough.

    What to do for fun

    It is a community college in the city so there are different activities to due to the fact that the city is linked to the public transportation system.

    Food and Dining

    They had a cafeteria when I attended but it was not open during the evenings.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    I can't really compare the academic rigor to other schools because I have not attended other schools. I feel as though it surpasses the standards of a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to transfer pay attention to what classes you take because not all colleges will give you transfer credits for the courses you take.

    In three sentences

    Quincy College is conevient for those living in Boston. Going to Quincy College means that you will come across students from all over the world. It is affordable.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a problem at school.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable, much cheaper than nearby schools.

    What to do for fun

    Quincy is only a short train ride from Boston, where something is always going on!

    Food and Dining

    The main campus offers a small cafe with great food.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply

    Academic Rigor

    Students are happy to be at school which makes learning fun. Excellent atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Quincy college is a great local school. It offers small class sizes and more one on one time with instructors. It is quite affordable compared to near by schools.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Quincy college tries to hold as many activities at the school as possible. Every Wednesday there is a yoga class, we also have had a free smoothie bar in the student lounge in order to celebrate spring break. On valentines day there was a build your own stuff animal event in the main lobby. There are plenty of activities set up at the school for students.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe at my school gives students many options for meals and the prices are very fair. The cafe is open from eight in the morning till about six but it closes to change from breakfast to lunch. If the student doesn't want the cafe food then there are plenty of vending machines throughout the school.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at my school.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging but doable if you apply yourself. The material can be difficult but there is a tutoring center and many options for help. The amount of work at times can be a lot but it wont be completely difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    The number one mistake is to apply for financial aid late! As soon as possible sign up for financial aid. The advisers are there to help you, speak with your adviser regularly. The free tutoring center is very helpful and take full advantage of the situation.

    In three sentences

    Quincy College works well with setting their students up for success. There classes availability is accommodating to the students and they understand that some students have other issues to deal outside of school. Quincy college works with students to help them get the education they want.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Quincy college has i fine dining area and has good variety.

    Academic Rigor

    I am pleased.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep on top of all work and try your hardest.

    In three sentences

    Quincy college is a well organized campus that will be moving closer to my residence to the presidential plaza. The school has the right classes required for my goal.The staff is very helpful.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    someone who wants to save a buck!

    What to do for fun

    Not much - it's Quincy! Um, watch the crackheads over by Quincy Center T?

    Tips for prospective students

    The other students can be aggravating - some people here think they are still in high school. But you can find some cool people too.

    In three sentences

    Quincy College is a community college, so it's affordable. But the professors are hit or miss- some have been great (especially the math profs!) Others, not so much.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Yes its a community college so your getting twice the education for cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or organization, the school has plenty to choose fron.

    Food and Dining

    Since we have moved over to Presidents Place we now have Dunkin Donuts on the 1st floor but lost the cafeteria we once had.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms this school is all about commuting.

    Academic Rigor

    The sciences and math classes are the toughest courses that I've taken at the school. Just spend more time studying and you will get a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure to talk to an advisor to gain some perspective on what courses to take and how to help you organize your time at the college.

    In three sentences

    Great school if your looking for a school that can set you on the right path to building a career for yourself. Hands on science labs, interactive class lectures and intimate classroom settings for one on one learning. Located conveniently next to a train station which makes for great commuting.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, there is always at least on security guard on duty

    Greek Life

    Im not sure about the fraternities. i think there is a science one

    Clubs and Activities

    I have only seen a few clubs: deans list club, gay straight alliance, a flag football weekend event, science club and maybe a few others that escape me at the moment.

    Great for these types of students

    Veterans, students looking to transfer, students who are new to college and feel intimidated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many businesses inside the building.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are fairly priced...books on the other hand, are never fun.

    What to do for fun

    Spend time with my wife Bonnie and Son Reilly.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dunkn donuts and a convenience store inside the building.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Im taking four classes and a lab, so the work load seems intense, however, I could have waited and taken the lab later. The amount of work depends on you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy parking passes early, if you commute via personal transportation.

    In three sentences

    This school is in a very convenient location. My fellow students are very friendly. In my experience, the professors are all very nice.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are no campus police

    Clubs and Activities

    there not many clubs but the tutoring session, but that service is even bad

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the location of the campus is dead in the center of Quincy. the train station is right across the street, many local stores within walking distance but it also shares the building with other business like weight watchers

    Bang for the buck

    classes are reasonable price, wish they had more teachers who like to teach not just in it for the money

    What to do for fun

    hang out in the little lounge they have for us

    Food and Dining

    the store below has some good sandwiches and the chinese restuarant is ok

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm, all commute

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are overall good. it depends on what teachers you get. like i said they can help you if they want

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you leave the little kid attitude at home. be prepared to get a handful of work. make sure you have some knowledge how to use a computer; a good amount of the homework is online

    In three sentences

    most of the teachers here help you out and they are overall good teachers. as far as the financial aid office goes, they have no idea what they are talking about. they are clueless about deadline dates and the advising isn't as good as they advertise it here. why do i need someone to clear me for the next semester if they cant help me with what classes i need?

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Attending part time, looking to earn a degree or certificate, or increasing your GPA.

    What to do for fun

    Play an intramural sport.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Continue your education by taking one class. 2. Earn a degree at your own pace. 3. Good price tuition. 4. Online classes available. 5. Offers 350 courses.

    In three sentences

    I have heard great advice about quincy college, at which people decided to go back and further their education. I would like to apply so I can earn a degree for my future. I am interested to attend.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is in a very nice town and is decent in taking precautions.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school offers some clubs but it does not offer any sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Young parents, international students, individuals who work

    Bang for the buck

    Taking classes here will help save money and offers flexible schedules.

    What to do for fun

    Quincy College is near a street full of restaurants to dine in. It is also near the train station which makes it an easy transport to Boston.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a cafeteria dedicated to Quincy college but there are many cafes and restaurants that are just across the street.

    Dorm Life

    Quincy College doesn't offer dorming.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes help you understand the basics of each subject and sometimes go in depth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students shouldn't wait until the last minute to register for classes or waive the health insurance.

    In three sentences

    It is diverse with international students. The teachers are very friendly and easy to talk to for help. The classes are very flexible.