Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Quincy University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Good for average students. Rigorously academic students will excel easily but may not feel challenged. Strong Greek life. Good NCAA division II athletics. Opportunities for students who enjoy service. A lot of theater/arts/music. Good nursing program.

    Tips for prospective students

    The education you receive at QU will be what you make of it. You will be able to get by without doing any work, but it will be a waste of your time and money. Students who work hard will easily rise to the top. The small school presents a lot of opportunities for those who want to be leaders and take charge. You absolutely need to get involved on campus and there are plenty of ways to do that. You don't need a car but parking is free and there is plenty to do in Quincy, so having a car is a plus.

    Bang for the buck

    Facilites are OK, dorms are OK. Small schools in general tend to fall short on updates, renovations, student perks, etc. Meal plans are expensive and lacking. QU is average for a school of its size and cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    Overall, QU has a positive atmosphere and a generally friendly environment. I like the small class sizes and personal attention from professors. There is enough to do on campus to keep me busy.

    Am learning a lot

    I went to a very competitive high school which was way more challenging than QU. My general education classes in college were easier than a lot of my high school classes. Even the upper-level classes and honors classes I have taken at QU have had an average work load and have been pretty easy.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all types, for the very-shy kids to the super-outgoing kids, everyone gets along quite well.

    Bang for the buck

    most people don't have to pay full tuition to go here, you have to apply and see what kind of grants/scholarships you can get!

    What to do for fun

    parties on the weekends, spb events, such as magicians, comedians, etc. intramural, sporting-events, etc.

    Food and Dining

    i hardly ever eat here, but when i do i absolutely love the hawk's hangout where you can pretty much find anything you could ever want to eat; the chicken wraps are the best.

    Dorm Life

    i never lived in a dorm but i always hung-out there as a freshman/sophomore with my friends who lived there. it's an awesome experience, just be careful if drinking! haha. when you're a junior it gets even better because you can life off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    if you go to class and do your work, you will pass, if you do your best you will be glad you did. depending on your major there are different requirements, as long as you know what's expected you will have an easy-class experience. you will even have most of your teachers for multiple classes, that's awesome!

    Tips for prospective students

    apply! and come for a visit! you don't know what you're missing, don't settle for community college when you have a great 4-year right here at qu!

    In three sentences

    i never lived on campus but that never stopped me from making so many friends here. i love the staff and the students, i feel like i've made so many friendships here that you don't get at big colleges. when i need help with financial-aid or anything they are always willing to help me, couldn't ask for more.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any one who is catholic and loves learning more about their religion! Its also a great campus and everyone makes you feel welcomed. They are always smiling!

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    i'm in a sorority and i absolutely love it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    don't walk through the kiosk in the middle of campus otherwise you wont graduate in four years.

    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of get-togethers on the weekends and lots to do in the city.

    Food and Dining

    it's cafeteria food, so it isn't always the best. but there are a lot of options.

    Dorm Life

    many of the dorms are recently renovated or are in the works of being renovated.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are not too hard, and if you are struggling there are many places for you to get help.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking for a school where you can get to know many people and feel at home quickly, quincy is for you.

    In three sentences

    it is a small campus with an at home feel. students can get help from many different sources and the teachers are great. i really like here.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus security isn't TOP notch, but they get the job done and I'd put them at upper half of the scale. They do their jobs quite well. Since we are a small campus top notch isn't needed. We do have some very kind and caring security officers. They do respond to everything that needs to be responded to.

    Greek Life

    1 Fraternity and 2 Sororities here a QU. They both have their perks. I'm not part of the frat and the sororities do their own thing. They're all nice people.

    Clubs and Activities

    I started my own club called the Original Gamesters. OG's for short. We are a video game club. There wasn't one so I started one up. We are recognized by the university as a real club and get the benefits of it too! There are tons of other clubs to join. If you can think of it, we have it. If not, make it like I did!

    Great for these types of students

    All students are welcome. There is every type of person here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's some big metal things in the middle of campus. They're called Windows of the Future. You look through them and see your future. They're pretty good for taking pictures on.

    What to do for fun

    There's tons of things to do for sun. The Student Programming Board always has events going on. They have raffles at every even and free food sometimes. The big one is Hawk Wild. They have the blow up bouncy houses and stuff like that! Family weekend is also good. The campus community gets together and throws a carnival for the family of students. There's house parties a lot and those are good if you havent been exposed to parties like this. But after a while, it does get dull.

    Food and Dining

    The food offered here at QU is decent at best. The company that does all the food is called Chartwells. They do have a big variety of food just about everyday. It's different so you have choices. It does get repetitive if you've been eating that food as long as I have. They offer the healthy side and not-so-healthy side. Soups, salads, sandwiches and main course food items are always available. The place is only open at certain times of the day but it's good. The hall thats open a majority of the day is the Hangout. It offers burgers, chicken strips, Philly steaks at a lot of other selections you cant get regularly at the cafeteria. Also, chips, soda, beef jerky, and other commodities. It's like a small 7-11.

    Dorm Life

    If you're an incoming freshman, they either stick you in one of two places. The freshman dorms are glorious compared to what they were when I was living there. They renovated the freshman dorms so have completely new everything. New beds, new rooms, air conditioning, nice bathrooms and all that. Of course it is a building to hold about 100 students, so the walls are thin. The upperclassman dorms are so much win. The new dorm was just built over the past summer. It boasts a kitchen, living room, 2-3 person, private bathrooms, laundry rooms on every floor and a nice elevator. The resident assistants also throw hall events which are very fun! Prizes and socializing at it's best.

    Academic Rigor

    As an academic institution, Quincy University is one of the best in my opinion. It's not because I've been here for 4 years, it's because I've been in all different types of class. My minor/majors have absolutely nothing to do with each other and the professors understand that. They don't just throw information at you and expect you to understand it the first time. Every program here at QU is unique. The professors, the students, and the information you learn is always different. Class sizes help out a lot with understanding things. It's not a big lecture hall filled with 200 students, it's a small class room filled with 15 students at max. It's lovely.

    Tips for prospective students

    With home being hundreds of miles away and being a super senior for the 2012-2013 school year I have a lot of tips! First, you don't want to bring a lot of unnecessary things from home. Clothes, a TV and some photos are really all you need. The computer labs are open late or if you don't own a computer of some kind you can use these. The food is decent. Dorms are or are getting remodeled for future students, makes it a little bit easier on the living away from home thing. Class sizes are small so you get a lot of interactive time with your peers as well as the professors. Lot's of variety for majors/minors.

    In three sentences

    Quincy University is like a big family home. Everyone knows everyone for something or other. Everyone is very friendly, loving and accepting.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit and talk to normal student,not the rap people.

    In three sentences

    there is no school spirit. the food is disgusting. mostly everyone is an athlete.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is off the hook. They are there for pretty much anything if you have something going on or you just want someone to walk with you on the way to class they are pretty much there for anything.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a an arch type thing (cannot remember the name to save my life) on campus that if you walk through it is believed that you will not graduate on the time that you are suppose to.

    Bang for the buck

    You will definitely get your moneys worth at QU whether it be threw the education or the physical side you will never say well i wish they had this, because if you can get enough people involved you might just create it. :)

    What to do for fun

    There is Plenty to do whether it be in the music program or the athletics program. Maybe you aren't one for really competitive sports but you like to play they have intramural sports which are super fun to do as well.

    Food and Dining

    they have good food and meal plans they also have the Hawks Hangout which another great place to get food besides the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing Garner currently has no central air but is getting it, and Padua hall is considered the haunted dorm but if you don't mind a school with a lot of history it is definitely the place to be.

    Academic Rigor

    They know how to challenge you in a fun and interesting way that keeps your attention the whole time. The staff is also wiling to help if you don't understand which I think is a big plus.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am going to be an incoming freshman this fall but I would really recommended getting a campus tour and not being afraid to ask questions. the staff will remember you and your name so don't forget that and everyone is super nice make arrangements to meet people before than so you can see them and get to make friendships before school starts.

    In three sentences

    Quincy University is a campus near the Mississippi river and is gorgeous. The staff are all very friendly and willing to help many people when ever they need to or are needed. Like the staff the students are all very outgoing and willing to meet new people, after being accepted for the fall semester I am proud to say i'm a Quincy Hawk.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I even know the campus security by their first names.

    Clubs and Activities

    SPB- Student Programming Board, Hats off to them!

    Great for these types of students

    Those of you who like Mexican food like I do, Q'DOBA will be your favorite place here in Quincy.

    What to do for fun

    I encourage all to go out and witness a QU basketball game (both male and female). They are extremely fun!

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes, some of the girls who stayed in my freshman dorm with me would make meals for one another. We now have a frozen yogurt spot on campus. So excited about that.

    Dorm Life

    Great way to establish friendships with other students. If you are the type of person who likes to be alone, don't worry! The people here will give you your space as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring winter clothing... Lots of it!

    In three sentences

    Reliable, homey, and safe.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes are highly respected and valued.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you want a very slow paced school before saying yes to go here. If you want a mediocre education, Quincy is the place!

    Bang for the buck

    Quincy does give out a lot of scholarship money, but the lack of education is definitely not worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    People are unwilling to speak unless you speak first. Even then, they are hesitant to talk. The facilities are old and hard to get to. For music students, it takes a car to get to the music buildings at North Campus. The building close super early as well.

    Am learning a lot

    The coursework is super easy. If you took AP classes in high school, these courses will be a lot easier.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the best times i have had here are usually simply hanging out and goofing off with really good friends.

    Food and Dining

    question: hows the food? answer: it depends.

    Dorm Life

    it is what you make of it. if you stay in your room then you'll miss out on a lot.

    Academic Rigor

    it varies from one program to another. not all majors are the same, but on the whole a good well rounded education.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are a thinking about coming to school make sure you visit (and that applies for everywhere else too). talk to your admissions rep as often as possible and think about doing an overnight visit.

    In three sentences

    one of the friendliest, well rounded, communal, places i have ever been. i couldn't imagine going anywhere else and having as fulfilling of of an experience. i love it.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you are looking for fun, you can always go to one of the many sports games being hosted per season such as basketball, football, soccer, and etc. You can also enjoy an evening of delightful music with the QU concert band, concert choir, and chamber choir.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells is the dining service here at QU. They offer a variety of different meal and and desserts that water the mouth and please the stomach. The the meals in the cafeteria are buffet style so you can eat to your heart's content. If you are not in the mood for the big buffet you can also try the Hang's Hangout for something more on the go.

    Dorm Life

    Whether you are Padua or Helien Hall there is also something to keep you occupied on campus. These venues include live band karaoke in the Hawk's Nest or parties and functions hosted by Potraits of a Lady, Brothers of Unity, and many more.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes challenge you to a certain degree allowing you to add your own input and challenge different ideas. You tend to learn more on a one on one basis with your professor in a small classroom setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before coming to Quincy University, learn about all the resources and benefits available to you and use them. This may be in the form of potential scholarships, faculty and staff help, campus clubs and organizations, or your personal interest.

    In three sentences

    Quincy is an academic friendly University. It doesn't take long to feel welcomed and at home at QU or the surrounding community.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is great. There hasn't been an instance where I haven't felt unsafe or uneasy. The greet you everywhere they see you and are very friendly. Along with the workers, there are fire alarms and water sprinklers, which also maximizes safety.

    Greek Life

    Alpha Omincron Pi Phi Sigma Sigma Delta Tau Delta

    Clubs and Activities

    MSA SPB VOP GUIDance IMPACT Mentoring Civil Rights Trip Mission TRIPS POL Homecoming Events Intramural Sports BOU FYLE Brother, Son, Sister, Moon Keg Races

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition at Quincy is the blessing of the Athletes. Its pretty amazing, in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs. Join a sorority or a fraternity. Play sports. Go to parties. Go to places outside of the University, such as the movies, Scottie's Fun Spot ectc.

    Food and Dining

    The food gets repetitive and boring. But I'm not from America, so their is definitely a difference between the food I'm accustomed to eating and the major food Americans eat on a daily basis, such as french fries, pizza, burgers etc.

    Dorm Life

    It all depends where one stays and who is their roommate and floor mates. My roommate is great (funny, neat and we have a lot in common). The only complain I've had so far are the heaters.

    Academic Rigor

    Many teachers make it their business that students learn. The work can be challenging and in abundance. Thus far, I have a 3.92 GPA, which means I make sure I get my work done on time and correctly. Teachers are strict with due dates.

    Tips for prospective students

    If not from the United States or not accustomed to the cold weather, be prepared, it gets freezing.

    In three sentences

    Quincy University is small. Quincy's classroom sizes are small and allows learning. Teachers and staff are great!

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Unless you are Shannon Peters than the campus is plenty safe for you. Please, please, please don't assume traffic will stop for you because this is Quincy and they will not. I've almost been hit 3 times and I've only been here for 1 school year.

    Greek Life

    AO Pie for girls and Delts for boys

    Clubs and Activities

    NO organizations for GBLT

    Great for these types of students

    -Raging Alcoholic Fratboys -California Potheads -Voyeur who prefer audio -Kids with daddy's credit card

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Qyo is the frozen yogurt shop on campus

    Bang for the buck

    Internet is spotty. Teachers try too hard. Beds squeak like they are made of mice. Mattresses feel like they came from Alcatraz. Fire alarms are very sensitive (hair straightener on high has set one off here). Drinking tap water is not a good idea and tastes even worse. Buying books from the bookstore is a mistake you only make once but pay for for the rest of your bachelor's degree (go to amazon or ebay). Work is hard to come by. Bugs are a part of everyday life. Oh and the football team absolutely sucks.

    What to do for fun

    Ask most people here and its drink and smoke pot. Ask the straight-edge people like me (we are rare on campus) and its lock your doors and never let the drunk people in because they will trash your room. Netflix will be your best friend. When the coast is clear try Scottie's Fun Spot.

    Food and Dining

    Same food in cycles in the caf and expensive as can be in the UC

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Helein (girl's side- room 104) and it is close to hell on earth. As hard as the housekeeping try, the girls here manage to completely trash the place. There have been cases of drunk girls throwing up or even pooping in the showers which are communal so everyone on that floor has to use the same showers. The bathroom floors always have TP on them right after Juanita cleans them. She can't keep up with their BS. The girls use the shower sinks to do dishes and leave the food to clog the drains. Helein only has 3 washers and 3 dryers on girl's side and same on guy's side. Guy's apparently prefer girl's side though because they are always on our side doing laundry which means less machines for the girl's to use so we get very aggressive about the washers and dryers. There is no, zip, nada sound-proofing. You can hear the people next to you having sex at one in the morning just as loud as if they were laying in bed with you. You have been forewarned.

    Academic Rigor

    If you don't have a lot of free time outside of class then the Interpreting program is not for you. You are required to attend deaf events and write papers on them for credit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a community college first to save a lot of money. Don't come here if you are married and want to live on campus with your spouse because its not an option what-so-ever. Although its a Catholic institution, drinking and drugs are rampant on this university. Not a good choice if you are straight-edge.

    In three sentences

    Hypocritical. Not spouse friendly. Expensive.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everything is safe, there is nothing to worry about, yet security is there 24/7 if needed

    Greek Life

    There is only 1 frat and 2 sororities so greek life is not that big here

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural sports

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to succeed in their future and want to get good grades. Also the students who are social

    Bang for the buck

    The food prices and dorm prices are high for what you get. Education is good

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun. I enjoy playing ping pong or just hanging out with my friends, but there are always things going on on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are only 2 places you can eat on campus. I would suggest getting the smallest meal plan and buying and cooking your own food if you have the time because the food isn't the greatest, but you can get by eating it. Also, the times the cafe is open is hard to get to if your an athlete.

    Dorm Life

    The doms here vary. Everything is older, yet there are some dorms that are newer. The worst part about it is the community style living. The bathrooms and showers are never very clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are good. Im primarily in science classes, however the professors make it easy for you to learn and get a good grade. There are study sessions to help you do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at dorm living and what you want to major in. Also look at jobs before coming here if you already have one back at home. You have to live on campus here until you have a senior status.

    In three sentences

    Quincy University is a great small college if your looking to get a decent education and meet a lot of new people. The class sizes are around 20-30 students, which makes learning easier. The people you meet here become your best friends

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Week days get pretty boring in this small community, but weekends are always fun. There is literally ALWAYS a sponsored event happening on campus and plenty of student life to keep you entertained. There are magicians, bands, parties, speakers, anything you can think of!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're wanting to attend Quincy University keep in mind that it's an extremely small school. You definitely need to take a visit here before you make any decisions to see if it is the perfect place for you. QU has great academics and great staff to help you with whatever you need, so don't be afraid to take advantage of all the perks. QU is pricey but don't let that scare you! We offer plenty of scholarships and financial aid is always willing to help you out.

    In three sentences

    QU is a great school in a small community! It has the best atmosphere and they really take care of their students. Even though it's such a small school, you get the full college experience.