Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Quinebaug Valley Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is in a small town where everyone knows each other. Very low crime rate.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs including art club, gsa (gay straight alliance), pool/billiards club, cheer club, drama club, Spanish club and many more. The students involved in each club are passionate and very involved with the community.

    Bang for the buck

    QVCC will give you an overall great experience. The teachers are friendly and compassionate, often going above and beyond for students. The cost of tuition and fees can usually be completely covered by federal pell grants and financial aid. Most classes will transfer to any university if you are looking to move beyond an associates degree.

    What to do for fun

    The art studios are open all day if you want to relax in a quiet area and work with your hands. There are often open mic nights in the main area of the building, and an open gallery featuring local artists.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not costly and it will fill you up. The portions are decent for what you pay. (The grilled chicken sandwiches are fantastic!).

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this community college but the area of Killingly is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Although some classes are introductory for new college students, or older people continuing their educations, most classes will push you beyond what is easy, and you will gain many new skills along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the advising offices frequently to make sure you are on track to graduate. Sometimes there are changes in requirements for certain majors, such as art majors or medical assisting. Another thing you want to do is visit the learning center for help in any class of your choice. Tutors are there at your disposal.

    In three sentences

    QVCC is small and the teacher to student ratio helps you get a lot of one on one help, which is very important. The faculty will help students by being flexible around their work schedules. They will also be flexible when it comes to deadlines. The teachers at QVCC try to help students be the best they can be on their own time.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    this college is a great start instead of heading straight into a 4 year institution! the classes are small and the teachers really care. it is a wonderful transition from high school!

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus doesn't seem to have any issues with safety concerns.

    Clubs and Activities

    Psychology Club, Cheerleading Club, Political Science Club, Dance Club, Christian Worship Club, and Book Club.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for a student seeking a degree in Liberal Arts and Sciences, and it is really great for someone who trying to learn a new language. The word is tedious but it you give it your best you will love the results .

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions, but we are slowly making more and more clubs, like the cheerleading club that is starting up very soon.

    Bang for the buck

    I am pleased with all that I have learned going to QV. I am hoping to get a scholarship because I have never gotten one and my bank account is negative. My two jobs both stopped giving me hours and I am in a tough spot, but I am doing my best no matter what. I have one semester left before I transfer to the University of Connecticut.

    What to do for fun

    At Quinebaug Valley there is a pool club, a dance club, Christian Worship club, and a ping pong table. There are also some clubs for classes like Psychology, Spanish, and Political Science.

    Food and Dining

    There is some food in the cafeteria. They will make you a hamburger or fries or lunch and a different special every day. They also have bagels, yogurt, salads, muffins and things like that.

    Dorm Life

    My college does not have a campus but the four year university I am going to afterwards will. I am hoping I can get into Uconn.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is very intense in some classes. Political Science is kind of tough, but African Politics is much tougher. Overall it is very workable. If you took a foreign language you have to be able to dedicate a lot of work outside of school to be able to be successful, but it pays off when you can turn on Spanish soap opera's and understand everything that's going on. It is also nice to know that your not learning it the easy way, but learning correct grammar, punctuation, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise future students to take a Political Science class because I feel that it covers so many issues we overlook. You will learn, not just about the fight over oil in the middle east and why, and how it will play out in the future but also about our visits to other countries and even the food in your local grocery store. Food is politics in America, just like water is politics in the middle east.

    In three sentences

    Overall QVCC is a wonderful college. It has, in just three months, turned me into a fluent Spanish speaker, and I am grateful for that. I have learned so much about history and Political Science and I am clear on so many global issues now. I am forever grateful to QVCC

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is very safe, and I feel secure when I am there. The staff is very nice. If their are any students who are interested in QVCC I will leave the link. Thank you, and good luck. http://www.qvcc.commnet.edu/

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of Clubs and Activities. There is Spanish Club, GSA, etc. Those are the ones that I can think of off the top of my head.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who aren't sure with what they want to follow in a degree. You don't need to spend $20,000 a year to figure out what you want to do. A Community College is a great place to do it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do have a WWI trench on the side of the school. That is the only interesting location I can come up with.

    Bang for the buck

    A full time student at QVCC pays around $1800 a semester. It's cheap and affordable.

    What to do for fun

    They have trips, fundraisers, and clubs in the school to get people involved. For example, I'm in the International Relations Club, and we're planning out a trip to the U.N.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, but I recommend bringing your own food. The food there isn't the healthiest.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life in the school.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work can be difficult if you don't stay on it. I personally don't think all the work is hard. It also depends on what class you're taking too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be too cocky because it's a Community College. When you're taking classes don't initially think it is going to be easy. There are course work in the school that is challenging. My friend, for example, says the engineering degree is very challenging.

    In three sentences

    QVCC is a good school for students who aren't sure what degree they want to get. The tuition doesn't hurt your bank account. I like the school, but at times it can be a little boring.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much

    Food and Dining

    Okay food

    Dorm Life

    No on-campus living

    Academic Rigor

    Do homework

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to class on time

    In three sentences

    Very good community college

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There isn't any greek life, but I believe there was a trip to greek in the Study abroad club.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs such as the Study Abroad club where student go to places out of the country to see what it like in another country.

    Great for these types of students

    Tutoring in the learning center is great for student who need extra help and want to get ahead in their classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    QVCC has a Ross program for students who need one on one help with school and there is always a celebration at the end of each semester to celebrate the semester.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very affordable and there is finacial aid to help student pay for their schooling.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events for the students who attend here. These events bring all the students together to have a fun time.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't any diner in this school.

    Dorm Life

    There no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There are great teachers who take the time to help students learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Having the motivation gives the student the drive to keep succeeding in life.

    In three sentences

    This School has very friendly people who care for you to succeed. There are wonderful teachers. I love it so far.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel that the school is safe because there are people who are kind and nice but looking out for each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have heard they have great clubs but unfortunately I am not able to participate in any becuase I work with my mom at those times.

    Great for these types of students

    I think this college is great for all type of students you are willing to but an effort to there education and there work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing to be said.

    What to do for fun

    I may not be able to participate in clubs but when I am at home I listen to music and Dance my heart out.

    Food and Dining

    I think the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms in this college.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the academic courses are great. medium small classes and I love it with less students or more students. I love that I am able to meet new people in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Make sure you have a Planner with you. This will help you up to dates for tests and essays to be due and of course homework. 2.Making sure to talk to your professor when you have questions or need help. The professors are there to help you succeed in life and as an educator.

    In three sentences

    I think this college is great because it was easier to get in to college. courses are great on days and times. The professors are great to talk to for help or on anything else.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is no campus security and the doors are always unlocked

    Clubs and Activities

    There are none

    Great for these types of students

    Self motivators

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One week a year they have vendors and music at the school, free photo booth and bouncy house.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for, a few professors are really involved but the others are tuned out.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing to do for fun at this campus or in town

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay but over priced

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm rooms or housing available

    Tips for prospective students

    Fend for yourself Don't buy from the bookstore Take Walsh or Lombardi

    In three sentences

    Unmotivated staff Unwilling to try new things Financial aid office is the best