Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ramapo College of New Jersey Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want access to New York City, but prefer not to live amidst the chaos Shopaholics (Garden State Plaza, Paramus Park Mall, and the Palisades are all within relatively close distance) Students looking for a small college population Nursing or business majors

    Tips for prospective students

    You don't need to take the CLM placement exam unless your major requires you to take Calculus. It'll save you $40 (up to $50 with a make-up exam). Buy your textbooks online, it's cheaper. If you're looking for a meal plan, choose the Sensible 6. You get 6 meals a week, plus $450 in Flex, which you can spend in the Atrium (or pay cafeteria) and C-Store (mini campus grocery store). Believe me, it's more than enough.

    Bang for the buck

    Unfortunately, there are occasions where Ramapo will rip you off. For example, if you're planning to take a foreign language class, you'll have to pay a $50 lab fee. Class isn't actually held in the lab; the fee is used to cover the possibility of you needing to use the lab if you have any questions. Ramapo also likes to charge an absurd amount of money for mandatory placement exams, and even more money if you do poorly on said exam and want to take it over. Fortunately, the positives outweigh the negatives. Because Ramapo is a state school, tuition isn't as ridiculous as that of private colleges. For that money, you get clean and well-furnished dorm rooms (except maybe Linden and Pine), good food, a beautiful campus, and a solid education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at Ramapo. It gives me the opportunity to dorm, while still being able to go home on the weekends. If you're into nature, the Ramapo Reservation is the place for you. If you're not (like me), you can still enjoy yourself by taking a bus or train into the city (as in NYC), or to one of the many malls nearby. The people on campus are generally very pleasant, especially the employees working in the dining halls. It's really not difficult at all to make friends.

    Am learning a lot

    Being a communications major, I frequently receive comments from my friends that school is a joke for me. I can see where they're coming from, seeing as I never have to take Calculus or Organic Chemistry. However, it's not as though I am not learning anything. Just this semester, I have learned how to use Adobe Photoshop, Dreamweaver, and InDesign - three programs crucial that I know for my future career. Also, the school's mandatory general education courses assure that I get a well-rounded education.

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I received Ramapo's top scholarship after all the hard work I did in high school. This is great for my family since we have trouble making ends meet sometimes.

    Will enjoy being here

    Ramapo is close enough to my home where I can come home when I need to, but far enough away where I can live on campus.

    Will learn a lot

    The professors that I have met so far seem very nice and helpful!

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - Laid back but hard-working students - Students who like to have fun but can do work all at the same time - Students who don't want to be in a big school, but want to be in a school where everyone knows everyone

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Don't be afraid to ask questions about different things or help. There is always someone there to help you. 2. Take advantage of the on campus events and the free stuff. 3. GET ENOUGH SLEEP!!!! 4. Enjoy your college experience to the fullest.

    Bang for the buck

    YOU DO GET YOUR MONEY'S WORTH WHEN ATTENDING RAMAPO! There are always things on campus happening so students can attend. There is almost an event everyday of the week. Even with the academics, you get your money's worth because you learn so much. You also see where your money goes with dorming. You have wonderful student lounges, different events happening in the dorm halls, and even free laundry. In my opinion, we get the bang for the buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at Ramapo. You meet people from all over. Ramapo is like one big family. If you need help, they are not hesitant to give it to you. Also there are a million and one things to do. Everything from Zumba to going to NY to making sushi. There is always something to do so you really can't get bored. Ramapo is a great place to meet new friends and have a lot of fun.

    Am learning a lot

    Being a nursing major, I knew it was not going to be easy. I started my first semester by taking 5 classes which is not recommended but I knew I had to. At RCNJ, you learn ALOT. You may think oh this class is going to be easy, but once you get into it, you find that you are learning a lot more than you think. But overall, RCNJ is a great college where you will learn a lot and still have fun.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ramapo is great if: you want a liberal arts education, a rural, small campus, small class sizes, helpful professors, beautiful dorms, a rather inexpensive state school, live in the North to Central Jersey area, an easy transition school, and a business student (the Anisfield Business school has an unique accreditation and the buildings are gorgeous).

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Have your car as soon as possible so you do not have to bear the weekends if you don't want to and to also benefit from the nearby area. 2. Make the most of your time here! It's easy to get involved and the experience is incredibly rewarding. 3. Ensure that you utilize all the available resources. For example, go to your adviser to make sure you are on track for graduation. Use the friendly students at the Writing Center for help on your papers. Use the free computer labs and laundry services. Ramapo has many tidbits to offer if you look closely! 4. Get to know your professors. You are not a number and most professors are willing to help if you can reach out. It will make your time at college valuable and you will learn much outside of the classroom.

    Bang for the buck

    Ramapo is the epitome of bang for the buck. It is roughly $20,000 to go here with tuition and dorming included. I think Kean University has the official title of being the most inexpensive school in the state, but nevertheless Ramapo is a great option. You get a beautiful, easy-to-navigate campus with small class sizes and a liberal arts education. Some of the buildings are a bit confusing, the G-wing particularly, but it is currently under construction. I highly recommend Ramapo if you have financial concerns.

    Am enjoying being here

    Ramapo definitely has it's positives and negatives. Negatives include how boring this school is on the weekends. Most students go home, we do not have a football team, and there is little student engagement. It is hard being far away from home because most students live in the area and do not have to bear how dreadful it is. Therefore, if you're not involved on campus and a close-knit group of friends, you're going to have a rough time here. Another negative is that I personally think we have many adjuncts. There is nothing wrong with adjunct professors as I have had some great ones, but adjuncts normally do not have the same pride and care in their work as full-time professors. It is frustrating when you know more about the school and how it runs than your teacher. That being said, let's end Ramapo on some positives. The campus is absolutely gorgeous and extremely easy to get around. When the weather is bad, you have the option of walking through the academic buildings through the second floor because they are all connected. The dorms are the best in the state; you will not find dorms that upperclassmen have at other colleges that Ramapo students have early on. I also thought Ramapo was extremely easy to transition to from high school. I never felt anxious about fitting in. Also, the area is great and extremely secure, which I cannot say about other colleges in New Jersey. You have the option of having your car freshman year if you can get a waiver. Overall, my experience at Ramapo was good, but I made it that way. Any student who comes here needs to put that effort in; it's fairly new and still in the works.

    Am learning a lot

    I love how Ramapo faculty cares so much about their students and genuinely care about their learning. I gained great relationships with professors that are absolutely priceless. However, being a psychology major has its disadvantages in this area. I feel like I learn the same principles repeatedly in various courses. For example, I literally learned the same concepts in Child psychology, Educational psychology, and Cognitive psychology; these classes were so boring for me. This may not be unique to Ramapo and may be partly due to the nature of psychology itself, but it would be nice if Ramapo gave more a variety of courses. There are certain unique courses only offered in certain terms and with specific teachers. It would be great to see more psychology courses offered in general with the majority of students psychology majors but there is little to choose from.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ramapo is an extremely safe campus. We have Public Safety Officers patrolling 24/7, and in case of an emergency there are designated areas that light up when the buttons are pushed. Both men and women can walk alone at night and have no need to be worried when traveling back to their car in the main parking lot, or to their specific residence hall. Additionally, Ramapo has an emergency notification system called Alert-Me-Now which sends email, voicemail, and text message alerts in the event of on-campus emergencies ranging from a bear sighting to school cancellation due to inclement weather. All in all, this is a very safe school.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a variety of clubs and organizations on campus ranging from the Student Government Association to the Dance Club. Many students choose to get involved immediately and can participate as active members and eventually be elected into leadership positions in the future. Plus, we have a website called OrgSync that helps students track their co-curricular involvement, while also keeping a record of their roles on campus which they can later use when establishing a professional resume. Ramapo also has new clubs that are created every year because some students may want to establish a club that is right for them (e.g. Cycling Club, Pokemon Club, Board Game Club). In order to make a new club, you just need to come up with a minimum of 10 signatures, a mission statement, and a constitution explaining the details of your club.

    Great for these types of students

    This institution is great for students who are focused, diligent, and want to get involved right from the start. The most important thing to learn when coming to Ramapo College is the aspect of time management. Although many students may want to get involved in lots of clubs and organizations, it is very important for incoming students to focus on three key parts: 1) Academics 2) Club/Organization 3) Something fun (e.g. intramural sports, fitness classes, hanging out in the J Lees lounge to play pool, ping-pong, or get free popcorn). Students looking to get the most out of their education should come to Ramapo.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition, Room and Board, and other related fees make Ramapo a very affordable institution in comparison to other colleges and universities. Even though it's a public campus, it has a very private feel. Most of the amenities are state of the art including the gym located in the Bradley Center as well as the residence halls that make you feel as if you're living in luxury. I feel as though the amount of money I have invested into Ramapo will truly pay off when I graduate in May of 2013. More importantly, many former students love this place so much that they end up working as full time faculty and administrators within the college.

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty to do at Ramapo. You can go for a hike, jog, or walk in the Ramapo Reservation which is just a 5 minute walk from campus. You can take the bus into the city and spend the day with friends and buy discounted tickets to go see a Broadway show or sporting event. You can participate in intramural sports like Volleyball, Tennis, Flag Football, Softball, and make new friends along the way. You can grab a bite to eat off campus at one of the many Diners or Restaurants in Mahwah, Oakland, and Ramsey.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. As someone who is on a gluten-free diet, I am never at a loss when it comes to eating in one of the dining halls (Birch Tree Inn or Trustees Pavilion), and I feel as though there is a wide variety of foods to choose from. More importantly, as long as incoming and current students mix up their selection of food and avoid eating pizza, hamburgers, and french fries every single week, it's very easy to adhere to certain dietary restrictions or eat something healthy on a regular basis. Ramapo also does a great job of labeling food for individuals with food allergies so that they can avoid eating something that would create an allergic reaction. (i.e. whether or not something has wheat, milk, soy, gluten, tree nuts, shelfish etc).

    Dorm Life

    Many of the residence halls in which I have lived in are absolutely gorgeous. As an Orientation Leader, I like to tell incoming students that we are spoiled with our on-campus housing. Many of these residence halls (e.g. Laurel, Overlook, Village, etc) are better than what most college graduates choose to live in when they buy/rent their first apartment. The residence halls are close in proximity to one another so if there is ever a need to visit friends in residence halls across campus it is no more than a 5-10 minute walk.

    Academic Rigor

    Ramapo College's Anisfield School of Business has received AACSB Accreditation making it one of the top 5% of business schools in the world. Courses are challenging, but it makes more of an impact when you have a professor that has had real-world business experience and can share their knowledge with the rest of the classroom. Additionally, having multiple courses pertaining to topics such as Economics, Accounting, Management, Finance, International Business, and Information Systems has made my academic experience very unique within the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important piece of advice that I can provide is to get involved with a club or organization on campus in your first year. It's a great way to make friends and develop a strong connection to the campus. As an Orientation Leader/Student Aide in the Center for Academic Advisement and First Year Experience (CAAFYE) Office for the last three years, I feel as though I have been able to develop a connection with faculty, staff, and incoming students, while also learning the business side of how an office operates. More importantly, campus involvement can lead to great networking opportunities as well as life long friendships.

    In three sentences

    Ramapo faculty, students, and staff provide a friendly atmosphere that's specifically geared towards teaching instead of research. At Ramapo, you're not just a number because your instructors really take the time to know who you are both in and out of a classroom setting. I feel as though I made a great choice in attending Ramapo for my undergraduate studies.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ramapo is the best opportunity for those that don't mind going out of their way. It is well-rounded for any student interested in the social or natural sciences, humanities, visual or performing arts and business.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to go to an open house, or at least have a tour of the school. The small campus is not a perk for everyone, but it's easy to get around by foot.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a first-year EOF full scholarship recipient. With financial aid, I am close to paying nothing for my education, which is awesome. Ramapo is the best deal around, especially those who want to be close to New York, but still pay the price of a New Jersey public institution; Suffren, the town down the road, is in New York state.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are tons of opportunities around campus to be involved.

    Am learning a lot

    A liberal arts atmosphere is great for any student. I came in as a biology major in the most competitive school of the college, but decided during my first semester science wasn't my thing.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If possible, go to an immediate decision day. It's available really early in the year. You go to the school and they give you an information session and let you talk to the professor of the major of your choice. Mine was to TAS and I got my decision that day.

    In three sentences

    It seems like a very good school. I'd probably rate it an eight.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is not much to do other than party. i often go home on the weekends, as the vast majority of sttudents here do as well.

    Food and Dining

    there are only two dining halls on campus and the options they have are very limited. for a vegetarian or just plain picky eater, it is virtually impossible to get proper protein and nutrients just eating at the school.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms at ramapo were one of the best i saw at any school. the ra's are super nice and always there to help you with whatever you may need.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are fairly difficult but fair. i firmly believe i am gaining a lot of priceless information for my money.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you live nearby as you most likely will be returning home quite a bit.

    In three sentences

    acdemics at the college are above par. however, social activities, other than frat parties are not only not as great, but non-existent. dining options at ramapo are very limited and not enjoyable.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is not really the best. In general, the campus is in a safe area with the exception of a few creatures (i.e. bears, raccoons, etc.). If there is a dangerous animal siting, the students are notified, but I've noticed that these notifications are not very timely. They're usually extremely delayed which doesn't make me feel too safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is definitely something I would recommend. Ramapo is not known for the plethora of activities it offers, but Greek Life replaces that by having activities of their own. Definitely worthwhile to check out.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a bunch of clubs to get involved in, you just need to find what's right for you. The school offers biannual club fairs where students can get information about all the clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Ramapo is great for anyone who doesn't want a big school. It's very home-y and quiet. Campus life is pretty calm, not much excitement.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's one tree on a path on campus called The Random Tree. It is literally a tree with a bunch of random stuff attached to it. There's even a shopping cart on it!

    Bang for the buck

    For the education the students are receiving, the price is more than acceptable. The high standard or education is much greater than the price of tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There's a bunch of clubs, but the main activity is to get involved in Greek Life. Getting involved in such an organization will provide many opportunities and activities to socialize with different people.

    Food and Dining

    Typical to most colleges, Ramapo's food is nowhere near a home cooked meal. It does the job of not making the students starve, but I've had much better at other colleges/universities.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Ramapo are absolutely gorgeous. Residence Life (the people who are in charge of the dorms and where you live) on the other hand, are extremely unhelpful. I'd suggest you pick roommates before coming to school and not going into random.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what program you're in depends on the academic rigor. However, as a nursing major, the program I'm in is intense. It's not too intense though, because the professors genuinely care about the students' education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should be ready to try really hard (at everything). Because so many students go home on the weekends, and even sometimes during the week, students get frustrated with this fact. I'd advise prospective students to just find others who stay on campus! That's what I did and it works out perfectly.

    In three sentences

    Ramapo is a beautiful college with a great education. However, its location hinders its full potential. Many students go home on the weekends and there are nothing within walking distance of campus which makes the social aspect of the school really terrible.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is nothing fun to do here! it is super boring.

    Food and Dining

    food sucks here!!

    Dorm Life

    nice dorms, but too many rules. you feel like your still in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is a travel school, no one really stays on campus.

    In three sentences

    very small school. one on one time with professors. all about gpa.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Perfect for commuters!

    Bang for the buck

    Its a good education for the price.

    What to do for fun

    This school is close to the city.

    Food and Dining

    The food is of average quality.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is surprisingly more difficult then I anticipated. Make sure you do well from the start, do not put it off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and the dorms before choosing to live there.

    In three sentences

    Ramapo College is a perfect college for students looking for a small but personal learning experience. The campus is attractive and there are a variety of majors to choose from.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not too great...kinda boring...if you are looking for devine 9 Greek life..not happening at Ramapo.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The CPA's are very comfortable to live in because you have a full kitchen which is always the best thing to have. Laurel Halls are nice but you get your own room but can no cook..but there is a kitchen downstairs in the lobby area. In the CPA's you have to share a room.

    Bang for the buck

    too expensive for a public school honestly.

    What to do for fun

    You have to join extra clubs, sports, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing at first but gets old quickly

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice but it can get very boring

    Academic Rigor

    excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    This campus is not too diverse...so if you are looking for that..you are not gonna get that at Ramapo.

    In three sentences

    Ramapo is an amazing school to get a college education because their course load is very challenging and the professors truely push you to work harder in each class. The campus is beautiful but extremely boring though so make sure you join lots of extra activities so you will not have to go home each weekend.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is the absolute worst. They are so strict it is as if we live in North Korea.

    Greek Life

    If you aren't in greek life there is absolutely noting to do unless your in sports or have a job.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Post an item on the Random tree which is a tree located in the rape trail with everything you could ever imagine nailed to it. It has shopping carts, to old student IDs.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing besides go off campus. Campus security is the worst and all they want is money from you.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options between the dining halls and this section which is much like a food court. It is easy to eat healthy as well as unhealthy. The calorie content for everything is always posted.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice aside from Pine Hall and Linden Hall, however i've lived in Linden and it's very easy to make comfortable. Shoot for the CPAs or Laurel, that is the place to be as an underclassman.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes for business students are very difficult and the homework, group projects, and assignments take up a very large amount of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rate my professor is a great tool to use considering most students write very helpful feedback on professors. In addition stay clear of Public Safety, they are worst than normal cops.

    In three sentences

    The business school is one of the best on the east coast. Most of the Professors within the core classes for your major are very knowledgeable and care to help. All in all, the college is very well rounded despite the campus security.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is great here at Ramapo, sometimes it may be on a cycle, but the food is great and taste delicious, almost gourmet.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are pretty good. If you're a freshman coming in, pray that you are placed in Mackin Hall, the other freshman dorm Pine Hall has small rooms and you share a bathroom with five other residents. There are no community bathrooms either which is a plus. Each room has its own private bathroom and shower.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on what kind of professor you get. Some of the professor are very laid back and like to see the creative mind of students do work, while some other professors are strict and its either their way or the highway.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready to work right away. Getting off to a good start with your professor and your class is key, because once you fall behind, catching up may be very difficult.

    In three sentences

    Ramapo College is a great Liberal Arts school. The classes are pretty small compared to most schools and the professors care about your learning and also know you by name, not a number. Also, Ramapo probably has the best food out of all the NJ colleges.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety has their own extension and can be reached any time. There are blue boxes located at all points around the campus. Students must check into dorms with either a valid Ramapo ID card or guest pass with the name of a Ramapo student they are staying with on it from 10 pm- 5 am.

    Greek Life

    Many opportunities for Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs on campus and if one does not exist that you would be interested in it is very simple to start one up.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Arching ceremony. Freshmen walk into the arch on way and graduating seniors walk back through the other way signifying the starting and ending point of your time at Ramapo.

    What to do for fun

    Many malls around. Lots of on campus activities. Ramapo reservation right down the road.

    Tips for prospective students

    The offices can be unhelpful at times but keep pushing to get what you need. Make friends with the people on your floor, they will be the people you see the most of.

    In three sentences

    Ramapo has fantastic professors who genuinely care about your education. There are great opportunities for undergraduates to participate in research. Many activities and ways to get involved.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining and food on campus has been both filling and delicious. Through a large variety of choices, including the ability to create own dishes, the food has been some of the better at colleges that I've seen.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, I am a commuter student and always have been (while working as well), so I am not able to tell you about the dorm life on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Though Ramapo College has a very heavy and in-depth course load, it is not one that is impossible nor unnecessary. If you can schedule your workload and keep on track, you will be able to accomplish everything they ask of you and more. The professors are always willing to help you understand what you may not grasp on your first try.

    Tips for prospective students

    As with any decision, make sure the school fits you and vice versa. This is the third college that I have attended and the one that I have enjoyed the most due to this reason. Though you may not always know what you wish to do for the rest of your life, even attending a school undeclared but with a school that makes you happy and fits your personality could be the biggest difference between a great college experience and one that is not.

    In three sentences

    Ramapo College is a university with an amazing campus and faculty. The professors are some of the most caring and helpful that I have had to deal with throughout college. The administration that the college has has been some of the most patient and accommodating individuals that I have met.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Almost too safe. We're all pretty sure public safety has super sonic hearing for beer cans opening.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is big. I think almost 40% of our students are involved. It can be a lot of fun and there is a big mix so all types of people can get involved with it.

    Clubs and Activities

    It's up to you to get involved. Greek life is huge at Ramapo.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like very small classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The smoking rock?

    Bang for the buck

    New Jersey has the worst prices for in-state tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Not much on campus especially on the weekends because EVERYONE goes home and they do not plan many events. The city is only a half hour drive away though.

    Food and Dining

    Not very good at all, but no college food really is. The thing is we do not have restaurants like bigger schools have. It's just the dining hall which is not good and it is open at very odd hours.

    Dorm Life

    We definitely have the best dorms in New Jersey. Our worst dorms are other schools average dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Feels a lot like high school, do not go here if you are not looking for that.

    In three sentences

    It is described as a medium size school and it is with the size of my class. The student to teacher ratio is very low though, so the classes have a feel of being like high school. You will be graded on attendance and participation.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety on campus is always available by phone to even help students in a pinch off campus. My car broke down up the road and the officers waited with me while it was being repaired.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is active, but not overwhelming. The frats have parties off campus and have parties. It is easy to either attend and get involved, and if you don't it isn't a big deal.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many things to be involved in if you look, many clubs meet during the same common hour though from 1-2pm.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for science and nature lovers, or people looking for a change from the city.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has the beautiful Ramapo Reservation up the road available for hiking, which is unusual to be able to be so connected to nature in this day and age.

    Bang for the buck

    The school's small type makes teachers give you everything you need. The career offices do everything they can to help students with internships and jobs.

    What to do for fun

    There are events if you look hard, there should be more events planned on campus, but on weekends during the day its best to venture off campus for entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The dining gets old real quick. They tend to serve bland or unhealthy food that weighs you down. They should opt for more flavor in their home-cooked section.

    Dorm Life

    Sometimes it can be a bit boring on the weekend. The school has a reputation of being a suitcase school, and there is stuff to do on the weekends if you look.

    Academic Rigor

    Take harder classes and the teachers are amazing, they'll work with you and challenge you further if need be. Extra help is also always available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch and talk to students about the teachers you take. 90% are great, but there are a few nutty ones out there. Also keep in tune to events on campus, it helps from being bored. There is stuff out there.

    In three sentences

    It has good teachers, good dorms, but bad food. In addition, some of the school policies are outdated and lengthy. Things like getting transcripts become a month long project.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are so nice and friendly. One even drove me back to my dorm on a rainy day.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like their environment to be slower paced and quieter. It's great for people who do well in smaller classes. My biggest class only had 30 people in it.

    Bang for the buck

    I think you get your moneys worth at Ramapo. Keep in mind, unlike other schools you don't have to pay for printing or laundry!

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my friends and go on the mall trips on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall may not be the best but Ramapo has a Campus Store and Pay Caf where you can get better quality food.

    Dorm Life

    I wish there was more to do.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your major. I'm a nursing major so it is difficult but my friends are not and they find it to be relatively easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work. Go to the library in between classes to stay on top of your work. Always contact your professor with questions.

    In three sentences

    Ramapo is a quiet place that caters to your academic needs.

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    So many things to do for fun. There is some sort of event happening everyday of the week just keep you eyes and ears peeled for them.

    Food and Dining

    You get real food for your moneys worth nothing like the high school glop!

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms for seniors and juniors in the Village

    Academic Rigor

    Great rigor on does need to make sure not to fall behind in any work but it isn't too difficult and there are many sources for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT procrastinate especially with papers that seem a long way off, get them done as soon as possible

    In three sentences

    A fun, warm campus where everyone is super friendly and helpful. Surrounded by mountains and beautiful landscapes this school is one of kind. Faculty and staff are more than willing to help students when they need help the most.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is VERY safe. To get onto the main campus, outsiders must first go to the guard house and be allowed in by a security guard. Students can use their IDs to enter the campus. Public safety is always patrolling the area and they will walk someone to their car or dorm if students ask them too. It is a very safe school, though. Nothing bad ever happens there.

    Greek Life

    Most students are involved in Greek Life. There is an organization for everyone. Greek Life is very present on campus and they hold many events for the students to attend. Hazing is forbidden and the school is very strict about this rule.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of clubs on campus. There are cultural clubs, language clubs, sports clubs, music/theater/art clubs, and so forth. There is something for everyone at Ramapo. There is even a comic book club and game board club. The activities are a lot of fun and the school is very supportive of the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing students who love the wildlife and enjoy a cozy, small town feel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tree on campus where students nail unusual items onto it. For instance, there are cards, posters, dolls, skateboards, plastic toys, a small bike, cooking appliances, and other strange things. Every year the collection grows up the tree. It is a beautiful piece of obscurity.

    Bang for the buck

    Ramapo is a public school so it is affordable. Financial aid is hard to come by, but there are work study programs for those who need extra help. The education is fantastic, the facilities are wonderful, and the opportunities are endless. It is a great school.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events on campus. Every spring, a popular band or musician will come and perform. There are always plays, sporting events, and lectures to attend outside of class hours. The campus holds events in New York City where students can see a Broadway show, go to the opera, or attend a sporting event all with transportation. Also, in warmer weather, movies are held on the great lawn.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. There are many options for all students. There are three different dinning areas with both buffet and cooking areas. Often times, the school will have a cultural week where they focus on the food from a different country. Students tend to enjoy this, but if they want the basics, any of the other two dining areas will serve food normally.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Ramapo are very nice. They are new and well maintained, but Ramapo is a suitcase school, so most students go home on the weekend. Also, a good portion of the student body are commuters, so many of the rooms are left empty. Overall though, those living in the dorms have positive experiences. The only thing is, visitors -commuters and outside students- are not allowed in the dorms after a certain hour, which causes distress amongst many.

    Academic Rigor

    Education is very important at Ramapo. Professors will challenge students academically, but they are fair. The professors really care about your learning and they are always willing to work with students if they need help with any assignment. Students will have to work hard to succeed. As are not handed out. They must be earned.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to get involved in as many clubs and activities as possible. Ramapo is a small school but it can be hard to meet new people if students only stay in their dorms. It is important to get out and join clubs so you can interact with your peers and professors.

    In three sentences

    Ramapo is a small school with a devoted faculty and friendly students. Class sizes are small; students are not just a number. The academics are rigorous but the professors are fair and they really care about your learning.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is incredible. Public safety works around a 24 hour surveillance. The keep an eye out for trouble always.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are form a different culture or country would fit in perfectly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The spiritual center is located in the middle of campus. Anyone is welcomed to meditate and attend masses of all religions.

    What to do for fun

    Hundreds of clubs are offered. You will find a club that interests you. Greek Life is a great way to make friends and connections. Several events are offered by the clubs and the Greek life. Charity events are offered and fun events as well. Concerts, stand up comedy, shows, movies, broad way plays, and other special events are offered for a discount or free of charge. Shuttle runs are made daily to malls and shopping markets free of charge. NYC bus is available daily for six dollars one way. Guest speakers and special appearances are made from different organizations and schools through out the year. Anyone is welcomed.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great at Ramapo College. Students may choose from a buffet of food (includes everything from a salad bar to sandwich bar and to hot food) or a cafe style restaurant. Starbucks Coffee is available on Campus. A quick store offers housing necessities and quick prepared meals. Vending machines are offered all around campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Ramapo College has the nicest dorms I have seen in New Jersey. There are a lot of events held for the living community. Examples include movie nights, game nights, crafts nights, food nights, debate nights, and information nights. The variety of living spreads from a traditional dorm to apartments. Usually, first year students have room mates, and as you gain credits and housing points you may choose to have a room mate or not. Housing points go off of the amount of community housing events you go to. If you choose to be a Resident Assistant, housing is free. Resident Assistant keeps an eye on the residence halls and gets involved with the community housing events. Laundry rooms are provided free of charge, all you need is laundry detergent. An on-campus store sells all types of necessities. Classes are with-in five minutes walking distance. Parking is available for a charge to students that are not freshman. Freshman are not allowed cars on campus unless you have a specific reason other wise (job, doctor appointments, etc.). Many discounts to Broadway plays, rec centers, and museums are available for students. A local shuttle, that is available daily, is provided free of charge. The shuttle does runs to local malls, shopping, marts, and train station. A Coach bus to New York City is available to students for six dollars one way. Club and Greek life hosts many charity and other events. A fall and spring concert is available free of charge. Some appearance at these concerts include a rapper Chiddy Bang and B.O.B. Basketball, Baseball, Soccer, Field Hockey, Volleyball, Swimming, Tennis, Track, and Cross Country events are available for students to attend free of charge.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very prestigious. I have learned a great deal of information. It involves a lot of critical thinking, so prospectives students should come in with an open mind. A great variety of majors are offered. The Business School and Nursing School are some of the most prestigious programs offered in the state. Some rare majors include Bio-informatics and Clinical Lab Science. Classes vary from very hard to very easy classes. A number is given to each class. If it is a hundreds class and difficulty level rises as the hundreds number increases. Books can be very expensive or cheap depending on a coarse. The harder the class the more work you will be assigned. Classes are provided from many perspectives of life. From History of Jazz to Geometry, classes vary through out. The Library and computer labs are offered daily. In the lab and the library students may use photo copiers and printers sometimes free and other times for a small fee.

    Tips for prospective students

    Three tips I would offer is to be very social, get involved in clubs/Greek life, and look up your professors ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    I love Ramapo College because of its diversity and friendly people. There are many well educated professors. Ramapo College also has small populated class rooms..

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always around and ready to help or put a stop to something. There are strict no drinking rules if you live in a dry building. I have never felt unsafe even walking at 3 am.

    Greek Life

    There are many sororities and fraternities. There is something for everyone. I have no interest in them but they do look fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and sororities but there could be more stuff. But you can always start your own thing. join community projects to get involve in to help others and go on your resume.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who likes small classes. Theres a huge mountain so set up a group outing and start walking the trail. Or if you have a good view look at the mountain outside your window and enjoy the fall colors or the new growths. There are lots of community projects, so lots ;of opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    First day at Ramapo you have to walk into the Archway signifying starting your career at Ramapo College and when you graduate you have to walk out of the archway while families line down the walkway and cheer.

    Bang for the buck

    I got a lot out of my education so far after one semester. I am learning about the world around me and things I was never aware of and the impacts I can have in the world.

    What to do for fun

    Tuesday Night live is great, its when comedian and other entertainers come and entertain students. On Wednesdays a lot of people don't have classes. There are lots of clubs to join, and there are trips to New York City and Broadway shows in the Roadrunner Central. There are video games and other types of games provided. There are organized volley ball games and soccer games provided.

    Food and Dining

    Birch is the best place to eat. The Pavillion is also open but doesnt allow take outs. At Birch you can get food till 1 am. There's a student store but it doesnt carry fresh fruits and it is kind of expensive compare to super market price.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming is great, if you have at least one person you like in the room. If you are lucky you get one roommate. I had(ve) two and if two of you don't really get along with the other, your only option is both of you to move out. Otherwise it is really being away from home but it requires a lot of adjustment.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a LOT of writing, and depending on the teacher the grading is often harsh. The College assigns a certain amount of papers and a research paper for each class that involves some kind of writing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Freshman year you are bombarded with help to prepare you, patience is the key. Some teachers are pretty lenient the first semester and they try to make you aware of everything on campus. Try to have fun and get involve, its a new start especially the first few weeks where no one really have a group yet.

    In three sentences

    Ramapo College of New Jersey is really great for those students who are looking for hands on learning, they are really into getting you prepare for each step of the way. The Professors are active in the fields and most have a doctorate and they are really helpful. The Campus is not really diverse, but the people I have met are really nice.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, few issues. The campus safety officers are usually more of a nuisance than a help.

    Bang for the buck

    As a state college it is much more affordable than private options.

    What to do for fun

    Take a train or a bus to go to NYC or Hoboken to go out. Local bars are not that exciting. There is a reservation down the road within walking distance which is great for running and hiking.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent, but could be much better.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived on campus but often stayed with friends who do. Some buildings are more outdated while others are brand new and beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are a breeze while others are extremely challenging. It depends on the subject and the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if you decide to eventually commute, I'd suggest living on campus for a semester or your first year to make good friends.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful, suburban campus, however there are few places to go out nearby. Quality education with excellent faculty.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Watch tv lol, I'm an inside person.

    Food and Dining

    The campus food is good and there are numerous delivery places off campus.

    Dorm Life

    If you get out there you will have fun, but at the same time, it's still a school and there are rules.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your major but we all have gen requirements that can be difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make class your top priority and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Ramapo is a school where the entire faculty wants you to succeed. They have a great curriculum and a great staff. Life outside the classroom is what you make it.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing really bad ever happens. People say they are scared of the bears, but i've never seen one on campus. The campus has a blue box system which means public safety will get to you within 5 minutes anywhere on campus. There are lights all over campus and people out an about at all hours. it is safe almost all of the time.

    Greek Life

    There are 2 types of greek life. Social and Professional. Social greek life is like any other college campus, maybe not as many people are in greek life, but there are still good times, and events run by them. Professional greek life are for those who are academically or interest inclined. There is a service fraternity on campus if you like to do community service.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many people say there is not a lot to do, but if you are not looking for it you wont find it. There are more than 100 clubs and activities to do. Many involving free things, food, t-shirts, raffles. If you can't find a club you like you can create one, and if there is an activity you want to do approach a club about sponsoring it.

    Great for these types of students

    To each his own, if you want to do something, there's something out there for you. Religion, political, or culture specific events trips, and clubs/activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Roadrunner central is where there is discount tickets for anything you can imagine and campus run off campus trips to places. J'Lees is the commuter hangout, but since it has free popcorn and videogames it is a popular hangout. there are volleyball courts and basketball courts plus the gym complex with the rock climbing wall are all great and fun places to go and hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    The convenient store on campus is pretty expensive, but better than most colleges and its off of a highway so easy access to restaurants and malls. Free food all over the place take advantage, also free t-shirts.

    What to do for fun

    I am in a national co-ed service fraternity. I am also involved in several other clubs on campus like the Student ambassadors, the united Asian Student Association, Inter Varsity Christian Fellowship.

    Food and Dining

    Its college food at a public liberal arts college. Its better than many colleges out there, but it depends on who you ask. The food is not to terrible, but after four years I'm sure anyone would get sick of it. Lots of variety if you are not pick. Read the menus and pick where to eat. There are 3 cafeterias on campus. All students have their favorite.

    Dorm Life

    The oldest dorm on campus is actually still nicer than most college dorms. No communal bathrooms, the most you will share with is 4 or 5 other girls. Two apartment type dorms the Village(upperclassmen) and the College Park Apartments(sophomore & juniors). Linden and Pine are the 2 oldest and the least nice of the dorms. the CPAs are currently being renovated, Makin and Bischoff are newly renovated. All four years is grauntteed unless a transfer which then dorming is still guaranteed. Most dorms have kitchens, half or full kitchens in each dormroom in the Village, CPAs.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not an ivy league college however all the teacher expect the utmost effort to be put forth and the more you put in the more you get out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus as soon as you have your work load settled. Seek out on campus events there is lots of free food and free t-shirts. Everyone is really friendly so don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    This college has a great environment that is completed with the beautiful campus, high level of classes, and the interest the faculty has on student learning and development. Ramapo continues to grow through renovations of the campus, curriculum and goal review, and has a large number of campus organizations of all sorts. Students who want a small class environment, familiarity and easy communication with student and faculty, and an abundance of other activities should apply.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 37

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have visited this college already and I loved it. It's in a quiet area, has small class sizes, nice dorms, friendly staff ans students, and seems to have a good business program. I will definitely be applying here

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As a female, normally I would be afraid to walk outside alone at night, but here public safety is great. I'd still recommend a buddy thought, we do live among animals.

    Greek Life

    There are a few different Fraternities and Sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Being that I am going into my second year, I haven't been able to experience all of the clubs here but the ones that I have are great. There are so many different clubs. Don't get discouraged if a club you are interested in isn't on campus; start it !

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for types of students. We're all different in our own ways.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition that I found to be unusual when I transferred is one with the track team; we wear black the day before a track meet (Blackout) to mourn the competition that we will defeat the next day.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities, plays and parties from time to time. Supporting all of our sports teams is my favorite thing to do. All the games/matches are so exciting.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, just a little repetitive. Once you learn how to mix it up you'll be good. Oh and STAY CLEAR OF LATE NIGHT! You are guaranteed to be in the fresh15 going there.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you live and who you know, living on campus can be an amazing experience, you just have to make the best out of it.

    Academic Rigor

    Five stars, theres nothing more to say.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work first then play. Do not get caught up in the night life because you will fall behind in you're classes. Remember you are here to learn and get you're degree not to party; you can do that for free.

    In three sentences

    In three sentences, Ramapo College is the best decision I've ever mad thus far in life. It is competitive with academics but Ramapo isn't all work and no play, there is also a lot to do at Ramapo College often. Lets just say that at Ramapo, we're all in our books, but we know how to have fun!

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always things going on, whether it be during the week or on the weekends. You'll always find something interesting to do. There's many clubs so there has to be lots of events.

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright but nothing beats home cooking. Th fries are good though!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is alright. Since a lot of people live nearby, they tend to commute or go home on the weekends but there's usually something to do on the weekends so it isn't so bad.

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging but this is what college is about, challenging yourself and gaining greater knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a challenge. It's takes a lot of effort to do well but in the end you will feel good about being one of those top students.

    In three sentences

    Honestly, it's a great school if you like a small and warm feeling. There's a lot of different kinds of people so it's easy to fit in somewhere and there a quite a few passionate teachers here who enjoy their jobs so they teach well. Plus, there are a lot of opportunities to do well at this school.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chorus, sports

    Food and Dining

    Pretty nice. Love the salad bar here. Others are great too!

    Dorm Life

    I heard that it's really great even though I commute

    Academic Rigor

    Great! So far, I love ever class and teachers!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be ready for competition to get classes. It can be hectic.

    In three sentences

    I have to start with the beauty of the green in Ramapo College. I love nature so this place is perfect for nature lover! Faculty here are very nice too!

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety, no matter how annoying they seem to be, are around. Not much happens. Sometimes a bear comes onto campus, but they don't really attack. Everyone gets a notice about it so that we can all watch out. Nothing hugely unsafe happens, really.

    Greek Life

    I'm not a part of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a good variety. Just find what you want, and if you don't, it seems relatively easy to make a club of your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Looking for a small campus? Looking for small class sizes where the teacher will know you? Looking for classes that you mostly will have your attendance looked at? Looking for a campus... with lots of nature? That's Ramapo. ... Looking to be a Roadrunner? Don't care about watching your school play football (We don't have a football team)? Also Ramapo.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't noticed anything unusual...

    Bang for the buck

    It's not really expensive, and it's a pretty good place to be, all in all. Just not to my personal tastes.

    What to do for fun

    There's a shuttle that'll take you different places, including even Palisades Mall. There's lots of activities going on here. I haven't gotten to witness it, but this spring, a great concert is coming up. Last year, they had The Maine, We the Kings, and Mayday Parade. Octoberfest looked like a lot of fun, too.

    Food and Dining

    I don't really eat much here, but their food is pretty cheap and pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm here.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not too difficult so far. You can handle it. After the first semester, I believe that they'll let you take an overload of credits if you apply for it and you're a good student. You'll probably start with about 16 credits as a full-time student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and look around at the place. Actually ask our tour guides questions, and when you're done with getting the sugar-coated answers, get answers from other students who don't have selling the school as their job. It's a beautiful place, but make sure that there's more going for it for you personally. If you like the small, tucked away campus setting, this is probably the place for you. It's not big, and it's easy to navigate, so explore! Find out if this is what you want before you dive in.

    In three sentences

    It's beautiful here, but it's just not for me. The school has great things going for it, but I find it boring. Good professors, good programs, etc., but ultimately, I don't feel like this is where I belong, so I'm transferring.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The advising and counseling offices, along with career services and the student life offices epitomize bang for your buck! I made my decision to enroll at Ramapo College solely based on your orientation program which truly allowed students to educate themselves and engage with various member of their college community.

    What to do for fun

    Ramapo College's Center for Student Life contains over 100 clubs and organizations, provide events and other programming around social, cultural, academic, community service, fraternal, political, and recreational interests. Organizations are student-run and welcome new members and ideas.

    Food and Dining

    I was a fan of dining services, due to their variety and buffet style, but it is subjective at best. There is no definitive answer. I've interacted with students who share similar feeling as well as those who believe they don't provide enough variety.

    Dorm Life

    As a former resident assistant and resident at Ramapo College, residence life is an important part of any student's undergraduate experience. Ramapo College does an excellent job at educating and engaging students on policies, procedures, and opportunities for civic and social development.

    Academic Rigor

    The Course Enrichment Component (CEC) consists of a minimum of five hours of unmonitored experience outside the classroom that enhances the student learning that takes place within the classroom. These experiences, which expand student learning, could include visits to museums, guest lectures, library programs, colloquia, assigned TVshows, movies, participation in class projects, service learning, convocations, trips to professional meetings, and among others. It blends classroom theory with real world application and practice.

    In three sentences

    Ramapo College is an exceptional institution for individuals who are willing to become proactive and engage in the wonderful opportunities open to all. If your looking for a quality education, superb residence life, opportunities for career development and a variety of social activities, Ramapo College is the place for you! Ramapo College blends the classroom theory with real world practice and application!

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Ramapo College of New Jersey has all students create a Ramapo e-mail address where constant reminders are sent to students about what events are taking place on campus. Also, the bulletin boards in each residence halls are always being updated to let residents know what events are coming up and where. Octoberfest is a huge on campus event around Halloween where there is free food, games, shirts, and events that Ramapo students can take part in. Overall, there are always events going on at RCNJ no matter how big or small!

    Food and Dining

    The dining halls that are available to students are Pavilion (located next to Bischoff and Mackin) or Birch Tree Inn (located next to Pine). The Birch Tree Inn has slightly more of a selection of food, and is larger than Pine. The food is edible but definitely does not compare to a mother's cooking! Late night dining is available until 1 a.m. which is great for late night eaters at both Pavilion and Birch Tree Inn.

    Dorm Life

    RCNJ is known for having one of the best dorms in the state. For freshman, Mackin, Pine, and Bischoff are available. Mackin, the dorm that I reside in, has rooms that are triples (3 beds in one room) that has one bathroom. Pine has doubles (2 beds in one room) where 3 doubles are connected by a common room and bathroom. The rooms are smaller than Mackin's, but has an extra common room that mackin does not have. The last option is Bischoff which is for honors and transfer students and has the same set up as Mackin. The rooms are all accommodated with desks, chairs, a mini fridge, a microwave, and heaters/air conditioners.

    Academic Rigor

    RCNJ professors do expect a lot from their students, but nothing that is unbearable. As long as students keep up with their assignments and show effort during class, a passing grade is almost guaranteed.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students entering Ramapo College of New Jersey, I would recommend learning how to manage your time, and take advantage of everything the school offers. For example, if you find yourself struggling in a particular subject it would be in your best interest to go to a tutoring session, or even visit a professor during their office hours. Professors are always willing to help if you show the effort!

    In three sentences

    Ramapo College of New Jersey is a liberal arts school that offers great professors and educational opportunities. Located in the mountains of Ramapo Valley, the college also has tons of events that are provided simply for fun. Overall, RCNJ offers a good mix of academics and leisure activities.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ramapo College hires their own security called public safety that work 24 hours of the day, and at times local Mahwah police may patrol the campus. http://www.ramapo.edu/publicsafety/

    Greek Life

    http://www.ramapo.edu/greek/chapters/

    Clubs and Activities

    http://www.ramapo.edu/clubs/ (Over 100+ Clubs Easy to start club, just need 10 members.)

    What to do for fun

    There is much to do for fun, especially in the Bradley Center which is open to the student body for use of the auxiliary gym, swimming pool, rock wall, weight room, and dance rooms. In J.Lee's located on campus, students can play pool, ping pong, as well as many choices to any Play Station 3, X-Box 360, and Wii games. Students can also purchase tickets to watch on campus shows, or even off campus shows with transportation available.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is great, with a buffet style cafeteria that is open all seven days of the week serving breakfast from 7-10am; lunch from 11am-2pm, dinner from 4:30-7:00pm, and late night service from 9:00pm-1:00am. There is also convience stores open weekdays from 8:00am-11:00pm.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life in Ramapo College is also one of the best in the State of New Jersey. All dormitory buildings are just a five minute walk from the academic buildings. I've heard of how some colleges provide shuttles for students to get to class from there dorm. That is not necessary in Ramapo College. There are 6 dorm buildings on campus for Freshman, Sophomore, Junior, and Senior residents. Every room in the dorm comes with its own bed, desk, closet, chair, microwave, and refrigerator. In certain dorm buildings are equipped with common area, with sofas, couches, and coffee tables for the residents.

    Academic Rigor

    One of the best business schools in the state of New Jersey. We also have a new building under construction for nursing majors. A great performing arts school, which has its own building as well called the Berrie Center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you love the college you will be going to. Visit as many campus tours as possible. The professors in Ramapo College are very educated but always willing to help a student when its necessary. If there are any problems with writing papers, the school also has a Creative Reading & Writing Center which is free to the student body to help with writing research papers.

    In three sentences

    Ramapo College of New Jersey is a wonderful college. One of the best state colleges in New Jersey for the fact that they have smaller classes with a maximum of 35. Ramapo College also excels in there School of Business which is accredited by the Association of to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB).

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    commutersss

    What to do for fun

    MEET PEOPLE, MAKE FRIENDS. upperclassman are the best bet.

    Food and Dining

    foods okay, bearable. i cant complain but im not a picky eater

    Dorm Life

    Nice dorms from when you first get here and they get better as you progress through the years. nice, nice rooms. easy to change if you are unhappy with roommate set-up

    Academic Rigor

    there are many resources that are out in place to help students and also professors are very willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    dont pay attention to rumors, go here because you want to and youll enjoy it more. Also, be involved. dont be scared to. It'll make the time go by faster and more enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    great school beautiful campus. can be boring at times but that is something you would have to get used to. Academically, it is where you want to be.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The campus's many Greek organizations not only include social fraternities and sororities, but many professional fraternities as well. Alpha Kappa Psi Business Fraternity was introduced at Ramapo in 2012-13 and has quickly become a favorite among those who want a co-ed Greek experience at Ramapo. For those who stick to social Greek life, the many fraternities and sororities have something for every student to enjoy.

    Clubs and Activities

    Ramapo has a wide range of clubs and activities, ranging from the Harry Potter-centered Dumbledore's Army and the on-campus Disney Club to religious organizations such as Campus Crusade for Christ, Intervarsity Christian Fellowship, Catholic Student Ministries, and Hillel. Other activities include major-specific clubs as the Finance Club, Enactus, and the Accounting Club, the Ramapo News student newspaper, WRPR 90.3 radio station, and Ramapo College TV (RCTV, channel 3-2). The American Studies Club is a great one for those interested in every aspect of the United States, while international and foreign language clubs are perfect for those who want to explore a world of cultures without leaving New Jersey.

    Bang for the buck

    Ramapo is a great value among colleges not only in New Jersey, but in the Northeastern United States as well. Laundry in the on-campus residence halls is free, which means that no quarters are necessary. Free events on campus include After Dark parties held at night that do not feature alcohol, but do include catering from places such as Moe's Southwest Grill, CARS Late Night Delivery in Ramsey, and Sonny & Tony's Pizzeria.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports and various on-campus events are great ways for Ramapo students to interact with one another and take opportunity to develop long-lasting friendships. Off-campus activities include shopping at Garden State Plaza, Paramus Park Mall, and the Outlets at Bergen Town Center in Paramus, NJ, and the many shops, eateries, and attractions at the Palisades Center in nearby West Nyack, NY. Because the college is conveniently located 30 minutes away from Manhattan in Mahwah, NJ, many Ramapo students travel into New York City to visit the Empire State Building, art galleries, and other attractions the Big Apple is known for. Hiking, mountain climbing, and other outdoor activities abound at the nearby Ramapo Reservation, directly across Route 202 from the College.

    Food and Dining

    Ramapo's food service provider, Sodexo, creates many interesting menu options for its all-you-care-to-eat Birch Tree Inn and Pavilion restaurants. Past dishes on the menu have included Brazilian beef stew with Portuguese sausage, Caribbean-style jerk chicken thighs, and Greek gyros at the flat-top Mongolian Grill. Late-night service features a limited menu but could include some healthier options, including a wider variety of fresh fruit and vegetables aside from the salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms themselves are spacious and feature modern conveniences such as mini-refrigerators and microwaves already installed in the rooms. Free laundry is another perk. Although entertainment is somewhat limited, RA's hold events throughout the course of the semester that allow residents to socially interact with one another. Options such as gender-neutral housing, introduced less than five years ago, are available for all students. These qualities make Ramapo's residence halls a great place for students who want to enjoy the full campus experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Ramapo is more challenging than other NJ state schools. The liberal arts curriculum places a heavy emphasis on hard work and significant amounts of studying for exams. Although the nursing program and, to a lesser extent, the Anisfield School of Business program, are somewhat difficult, professors are easy to approach if students need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Here are a few tips for prospective students: Submit your applications as early as possible. Also make sure to visit the campus either through a campus tour, open house, or immediate decision day. Only 47% of students who apply to attend Ramapo are actually accepted.

    In three sentences

    Ramapo College is a great choice for New Jersey students and one of the most affordable colleges in that state. Without the large lecture halls found at most state schools, Ramapo has a much more personal learning environment than other NJ schools. Ramapo is an excellent choice for those who want a quality education that is affordable.

  • 08/11/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Many option unless you are a vegetarian however there is a good stand to get veggie burgers and you can get food delivered to the dorms.

    Dorm Life

    Been on the campus many times and dorms are ok depending on which housing you're placed in. Basically if you're an honor student you'll get better dorms and access to a better dining hall. Be prepared to walk because it's all spread out which is nice in the spring but really annoying in the winter.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly like most colleges you can't just slump through things you have to work. Depending on your major the difficulty getting harder the closer you are to graduation.