Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Randolph Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe at Randolph Community College.

    Great for these types of students

    Randolph Community College caters to students used to small environments with academic disadvantages that wish to transfer to a four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    The photography program is no doubt the best bang for the buck when it comes to photography programs in the United States.

    What to do for fun

    The North Carolina Zoological Park is located near the Asheboro Campus. This is one of the most exciting things in the area, bringing in tourists from all over North Carolina.

    Food and Dining

    The Food and Dining was about average, exceeding expectations for most cafeterias. The overall environment is inviting and comfortable.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    The general education classes are much more on the easy side as they are geared to put every student on the same level to ensure success going into the work place. Indiviualized programs can be much more challenging. The photography program, for example, looses an average of 50% of students after the first year due to failing grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will be provided with the resources and assistance you need from the professors. It is a friendly environment in which students are pushed to reach their individual potential. If you work hard and let your professors know that you are trying, you are surely to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Randolph Community College has a unique, small-school feel to it with professional level programs at an affordable cost. Being located in Randolph county, the demographic of students tends to be a non-diverse, conservative, traditional outlook. Some programs shine more than others, with the Photography Program being ranked as one of the top in the nation.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    participate in school i.e clubs etc

    Food and Dining

    Pudding for 50 cents, and its good

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be a pain like the early high school kids

    In three sentences

    Randolph Comm has great librarians The president is down to earth One of the best math teachers name Mrs. Teague, I hope she gets her masters

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not on campus but I do participate in the things the college offers.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of restaurants nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    It is only as challenging as you make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to get to know your advisor. Let them get to know you and properly advise you on classes to take that will help you achieve your goal in a timely manner.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school. I enjoy the small classes that give me more one-on-one learning. I live 45 minutes away but it's worth the drive.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    cheeleading , work study etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the design center way in the back and the parking overlad area.

    Bang for the buck

    I really like college , i have no car but yet to miss a day of school , im a got get her type person and im heaed in the right direction.

    What to do for fun

    Participate in extra curriculum activities

    Food and Dining

    The Food Is Great at times

    Dorm Life

    We dont have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have a good attitude and my academic integrity is great

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips i would give is to be on time , stay focused and be yourself.

    In three sentences

    Its a great college that has a good nursing program. The teachers are great and teach you on on one if you need it . Everybody is very friendly and helpful.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is incredibly safe, I have walked through there late at night and felt just as safe as walking through my own home. It is a great campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and sports offered at the school, it is open to all students including online ones who are able to get to them. I play on the soccer team the school has and I find it incredibly rewarding to participate in a team sport, while my family cheers from the sidelines

    Great for these types of students

    This school is actually phenomenal for any type of student. It is incredibly diverse with students attending from all walks of life, no matter who you are or where you come from you can find your niche in this school.

    Bang for the buck

    Randolph Community College offers and incredible education, especially for those who want to save a bit of money before heading to a four year institution. You get a high quality education for incredible value. The savings of completing a degree this way are unbeatable.

    What to do for fun

    There are bars in Asheboro and Greensboro is not a long drive away. There are also parks all around for those students who have children, and the Asheboro Zoo is nearby with discounts for residents of the town.

    Food and Dining

    The college has a cafe on it that offers well rounded options that are quick and extremely reasonably priced. The is also many restaurant and fast food options all over town, easy to drive to as Asheboro is not a very big town.

    Dorm Life

    Randolph Community college does not offer dorms, there are some lovely apartment complexes nearby that offer competitive rent and amenities.

    Academic Rigor

    This school offers a good academic education that is equal to what you would gain in a 4 year university in the first 2 years. The teachers are also more willing to help, it seems community colleges hire teachers with a drive to teach as oppose to some 4 year institutions with professors that have a drive to research and teach on the side. Be prepared to put in the extra work, and have a drive to obtain good grades, the teachers want to see this and seem to take the time for those that ask, and who look like they truly want to be doing this.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early, classes fill up incredibly fast, and be flexible for online classes because many of the ones you gear towards a specific four year degree were not even available within the classroom courses. Do not think it will be an easy ride, although some classes are not difficult, they are geared towards making you ready for a work environment or 4 year college, you will need to study to pass.

    In three sentences

    I currently take both in class and online classes at Randolph Community College, and there seems to be quite a difference in the teacher quality between them. I highly recommend taking actual classes over online, face to face the teachers truly seem to be dedicated to your success and willing to help however they can. Online is different, although it is easy to maintain an A average if your willing to put in the time, it is considerably harder to get any help you need as an online student.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always doing a great job to keep RCC as safe as possible. Everyone feels safe and secure at the campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities for any and everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    RCC campus is great for all types of students! There is always something for everyone!

    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat the education for the price. I have been very pleased so far!

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun! Asheboro has a ton of shops that fit most everyone's needs. There are a lot of historical venues as well as tons of great places for amazing photographs.

    Food and Dining

    Most people have the vision that school food may be comparable to hospital food, however this is not so at RCC. The food has been amazing and the staff is always happy to assist you.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that that academics at RCC are top notch. With RCC being a smaller community college, students are able to have a more one on one time with instructors while being able to learn more.

    In three sentences

    RCC is an amazing community college to attend. I have been more than pleased with my education thus far and am very excited to continue there. The staff at RCC is remarkable.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school seems like a great school and I have been accepted. I have heard so many great things about their academics. I cannot wait to possibly attend here.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    Read!!!

    Food and Dining

    They are a small college that has a small cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms at this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read all of your assignments. Double check all of your work and always do your best.

    In three sentences

    I would refer all students to this college. My son is actually attending this school. It is a great experience before a four year university.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have officers who regularly patrol the campus grounds who are personable but attentive to anything that might endanger the safety and well-being of anyone on the campus.

    Greek Life

    As I mentioned above.

    Clubs and Activities

    The students at RCC have the privilege to become members of the global society, Phi Theta Kappa, along with several other organizations that range from religious to community service oriented and everything in between.

    Great for these types of students

    Potential students looking for a career in photography, nursing, radiography, logistics and early child hood education. As well as students who want to pursue a 4 year degree with the assistant programs for Salem and High Point Universities, just to mention a couple.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    RCC has the Richard Petty automotive building that is sponsored by Richard Petty Enterprises. There is a new addition to the campus, the continuing education building that is devoted to emergency personnel education, from police to firefighters to paramedics. The photography program is one of the best in the country.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is affordable and provides it's students opportunities to afford tuition with their scholarship programs, work study programs, and payment plans. The administration is motivated to assist students in completing their degrees and diplomas.

    What to do for fun

    There are regular motivating and exciting events at RCC, something for everyone, throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    RCC has updated and invested in our cafeteria and is constantly on the look out for ways to improve the food choices, cafeteria, and dining/snack areas. throughout the colleges man buildings.

    Dorm Life

    Since I live on my own, I am not aware of any dorm life. I am giving 5 stars because it will downgrade the college rating if I do not and it is a mandatory field, which it should not because there are many community colleges that do not need college campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    RCC does set the standards much higher than other schools. Please do not allow this to intimidate you since the staff and instructors are ready to go above and beyond to see you achieve your goals and dreams with higher education.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would like to encourage anyone who is thinking of attending college for the first time, or returning to college, to visit the Welcome Center at RCC and talk to a counselor. The personnel are extremely knowledgeable and helpful; they want to see you succeed.

    In three sentences

    RCC is a growing small town college with strong leadership and an amazingly supportive staff. Everyone from the administrative to faculty personnel are determined to support and inspire all their students, curriculum to continuing education. RCC sets their standards higher than any other community college in the region by assessing grades on a seven point scale rather than the norm of a ten point grading system.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always an officer or two on patrol and if you need help with anything, all you have to do is ask.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't been able to participate in any clubs or sports.

    Great for these types of students

    To be honest, all students would love RCC!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus places a nice lovely sleigh with presents near the library for Christmas where one can go and take pictures with. There are also tons of festivals one can go to and they always have great things to do and eat. There was once an ugly sweater party with delicious food and music. We may not be a University but we sure know how to have fun.

    What to do for fun

    You are able to join sports, clubs, participate in blood drives, help and be in festivals (which there are plenty of), and if you get to become friends with other students, they could ask for help in things such as modeling and singing.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is opened as early as 7:30 a.m. and closes around 9 p.m. The food is great and the staff in the kitchen do a great job at making the food and keeping the cafeteria clean. There are a number of condiments readily available along with microwaves and vending machines. We also have a coffee shop with great frappes! Seating is great and there is a good amount of space inside the cafeteria as well as outdoors and in the lounge.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in RCC.

    Academic Rigor

    It obviously depends on what you're majoring in but for a Community College, I would say it does a great job in challenging one brain, especially if you go into special majors such as photography!

    Tips for prospective students

    -Make sure to do what the teacher says (take notes and listen) -Do not procrastinate -Organization is key -Take all the help you can get -Don't be shy and ask around

    In three sentences

    Faculty and staff do 10/10 to help you on whatever you need, all you need to do is ask. Services are available if you need help with anything, from counseling, writing, help with MLA and APL styles, tutoring, and so much more! There are always chances of participating in school activities so do not be shy!