Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Randolph-Macon College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ANYONE!!! There are a lot of opportunities on campus for any student to join an organization or even participate in an athletic sport. There are intramural sport clubs and also a nice gym that has been recently renovated. The campus is small, but is extremely pretty and offers wonderful opportunities for any student interested in anything. If the college does not have an organization, its okay, because you can start it make a lasting impression at Randolph-Macon.

    Tips for prospective students

    Those who are looking for a small college that excepts you for who you are makes Randolph-Macon the right choice for you. It is small and class sizes are too. The professors learn your name and keep you interested in the subject by giving hands on work and opportunities to expand your knowledge. If you are interested in attending a college that is the right fit RMC should be considered.

    Bang for the buck

    RMC is a private college so it is expensive, but it is worth every penny. One can make sure they get their monies worth by going to the gym to workout, eating in the dining facility and enjoying the dorm rooms. Freedom is nice in college and at RMC you have this opportunity.

    Am enjoying being here

    Randolph-Macon College is amazing. Everyone is extremely considerate of one another and you get to know everyone. By attending RMC, you will meet some of the greatest people ever because they make you feel like family and believe in helping others. The campus is small and has a home feeling to it, which allows you to fit right in and not feel so home sick.

    Am learning a lot

    Although I am only a freshman, I have learned a lot both inside the classroom and out. You are able to learn so much at Randolph-Macon because it is a small private college and helps you show your true potential. The classroom sizes are significantly small and teachers keep you involved and interactive.

  • 08/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are here for a fantastic educational opportunity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy. The best way to find your niche in this college is to just get out there and introduce yourself. As in every social situation throughout life, you cannot expect things to come to you--you have to go find them! Also, learn to manage your time wisely as soon as you can. The workload is higher than most colleges, but this also makes you a better candidate when you graduate for early careers and graduate schools.

    Bang for the buck

    The college makes every attempt possible for every student who wishes to attend. Without having any sort of familial support, Randolph-Macon helped me find ways to pay for the tuition and fees without having to submerge myself in debt. Although the cost is pricey for many families, you get what you pay for with every dollar in education, networking opportunities and socialization.

    Am enjoying being here

    As an athlete and member of Alpha Phi Omega, Theta Omega chapter, I've found many ways to entertain myself outside of the classroom. The college offers a nook for everyone willing to lend their time to an extra club or organization; Greek life, varsity athletics, intramural sports, clubs and external activities such as Army ROTC keep the varieties of these options fresh. The staff and faculty are incredibly friendly; there isn't a problem finding a group of friends at this college.

    Am learning a lot

    Coming from a small-town school with no AP courses, I had been used to coasting through schoolwork without ever having to try. Randolph-Macon professors challenge their students and work within their schedules to help individual needs. I've had professors give me their cell phone numbers in case I needed clarification on certain topics or homework questions. The classes are innovative and interesting; with the honors program, every student can find an education suited to fit their needs--no matter what level they enter the college at.

  • 04/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Just about anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    First, take advantage of meeting with your academic adviser early and often. You want to know exactly what you want to do before the next semester comes. They are very helpful and can help you map out your plan all the way to graduation. Second, GO GREEK. The campus is 33% affiliated and only has 1200 students. Trust me, Greek Life is not what you think it is. Check it out.

    Bang for the buck

    Even with all R-MC has to offer in terms of education and campus life, it is a very expensive school. I ONLY get by on student loans, lots of scholarships, academic awards, and the fact that I make a decent amount of money at my job. However, this school is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I came here, as I said earlier, from a community college. I had no intention of being very involved on campus in terms of extra curricular activities or really even taking advantage of many of the college services as it was just not something I was used to. That quickly changed when I learned about all that this college had to offer. I joined the Political Science Student Association, the Young Democrats, and am the re-founding member of our colony of Phi Kappa Sigma fraternity (by the way, I hated the notion of Going Greek when I got here). I'm actually kind of sad that I'll graduate in Spring 2012.

    Am learning a lot

    I transferred here from Rappahannock Community College, which is near where I live, and I almost regret not going to a four-year (namely, this one) right out of high school. Every professor I have worked with here knows what they are talking about and all have interesting experiences in their fields. For instance, I'm a Political Science Major and the Department Head, Professor Turner, always refers to his time in various other countries (Paraguay, mostly) and studying their political systems as examples in class. All of my other professors do the same in regard to their respective fields as well.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Oh, Campus Safety. They're the nice guys who ride around on bicycles right? That's kind of all they do, and let you in your room when you get locked out. But at least they're not mean.

    Greek Life

    R-MC has 3, well technically 4, sororities, and like 7 frats. Not including academic or service frats. They like to party on the weekends.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honestly, I don't know very much about the club and activity scene at R-MC. I know there's an activities carnival every fall semester, and there's always like 80 tables set up for new recruits. So I think there is a wide variety of clubs to choose from, probably to strike any interest.

    Great for these types of students

    R-MC is good for those kids who like to make friends, have a little extra cash to spend on entertainment, and who are motivated enough during the week to let go on the weekends. Also, you have to LOVE class participation, haha.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, there's the ghosts stories of Mary Branch, Thomas Branch, and Wash-Frank Hall. The Peter Pan Statue in front of the science building, and a statue of Mr. Moreland that I SWEAR moves his eyes and watches you walk. As far as traditions, I think partying on the weekends is as far as it goes.

    Bang for the buck

    Randolph-Macon is expensive. That's no lie. But I think in the long run, because they do give so much back to the students, that it might actually be worth it. I pay the same amount with loans and out-of-pocket that I would at any state college/university, but I have the R-MC name on my diploma instead of other alternatives. So do think it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    If you're a social person, you can ALWAYS find something to do. I think that's why people like it so much. But if you get bored easily, and especially if you don't have a car, you might want to look for something a little closer to entertainment. The actual campus doesn't really have anything to do during the week.

    Food and Dining

    This is always my favorite part to tell people. In a word, the food sucks. It's definitely not your mom's cooking. You've got two options, the actual dining hall and Macon Coffee, that has wraps and salads for take out. The dining hall is so lackluster, there's not many food options, so everyone always opts for the go-to sub. It's also only open until 7:30, which to me, is so early!

    Dorm Life

    I personally never engaged very much in the dorm life. But I do know that people LOVE it. People are forever socializing with each other, going from room to room, hangin' out, doin' what they do. The only thing I have to say is that quiet hours start kind of early (10pm Su-Tr, 1am Fr-Sa). And you will get written up if you get caught being a nuisance. I guess that's kind of how it is everywhere, though. *Also, the freshman dorms are the best on campus. Honestly, they kind of deteriorate the further you go.

    Academic Rigor

    I came here after going to community college, and I almost died. I thought it was going to be harder than high school, yes, but I wasn't expecting it to be like it was. But R-MC is like that because it's a good school, it wants to prepare you for the future! To take the words from my friend, It's easy to get in, but hard to stay in. Luckily there are like an infinite amount of resources to keep you on track.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think everyone that comes here is expecting it to be super awesome, wasted err'day, never-go-to-class glory. Honestly, that's not what it is. The professors care to much to let any of that happen! You'll be expected to be a student during the week, and let go on the weekends. But there's always something to do, so it's not so bad.

    In three sentences

    Randolph-Macon is an adorable little private college right off the interstate. It's got a newly built dorm, with others recently renovated, and housing is guaranteed for everyone. The head-honchos are also making big improvements and additions to all of the buildings (library, campus center, science building, etc).

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety are always patrolling. Although they are always out and about, a lot of students get away with a lot of things. Even high school students are in our parties and in our dorms.

    Greek Life

    The Greeks are not very influential. They don't hold functions very often and don't appear to play their part in the community. But you can always catch them at a party.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of different clubs and organizations on campus that are always having some type activity on and off campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for aspiring cheerleaders.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tradition to formal when going to the football games.

    Bang for the buck

    The school store sucks. It sells things on bumped up prices when you can get the same gear at the Wal-mart down the street.

    What to do for fun

    There are parties to go to and friends to hang out with. Also there is lots of groups and organizations to join that always have something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very bland and hurts your stomach at times. It takes time to adjust. The staff also are very rude for no apparent reason.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't bad. There are a couple ridiculous rules to go along with it though.

    Academic Rigor

    It is fast paced to pay attention. Have detailed notes and a good relationship with the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to everything and take notes. Meet with the professor about once a week to make sure you understand what is being taught. Have a good relationship with moodle and the school email.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Because the school itself is small, the clubs are also pretty small. This is actually a good thing because it allows for all members to become comfortable with one another and for group activities in which all members are involved.

    What to do for fun

    Weekend parties and sports events are probably the most popular activities on campus, for people who don't enjoy these things there are not many options. Off-campus, the closes activities to do are probably located about 20 minutes away and are mostly things like shopping and the cinema.

    Food and Dining

    Although, some people may say that the food in the dining hall is decent, I definitely can not agree less. I am being completely honest when I say that I have managed to not eat a single meal at the dining hall for a full 3 months. I would rather just pick up a quick meal from Macon-coffee, than eat a large quantity of food that I would qualify as sub-par.

    Dorm Life

    Although I am living in what is considered the worst dorm building on campus this year, I wouldn't really complain about it because it's better than living on the streets and because the independence from home always makes up for the lack of air conditioning, cramped quarters, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes really remind me of my high school. At times it feels even easier because homework isn't as common as in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure that before accepting to attend R-MC you've checked to see if R-MC offers an array of courses for your desired Major, or even if they have a well-developed program for that major. Also if you plan on attending R-MC make sure you plan to stay for all 4 years because transfer is nearly impossible unless you plan on throwing away earned credits that are non-transferable.

    In three sentences

    The small size of the school limits the activities that students can enjoy on campus and even off campus because of the school's location. The amount of classes that are offered are filled quickly and more often than not, students have to settle for undesired classes or have to struggle to fill required courses that aren't offered every semester. It's a small school with a pleasant atmosphere, but its limitations at times outweigh its positive aspects.

  • 04/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I walk around at night and I never feel unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Osma is pretty active and fun, Macon Peer Response is great, and the rest of the clubs are absolutely amazing. A great student body and a nice town create a lot of opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    It's really easy to have fun on campus; sometimes, it's a little too easy.

    Food and Dining

    Macon coffee is good, the food in town is good, the food in Estes will eat you unless you eat it quickly. Occassionally, the vegetarian cuisine is okay but usually not. I can't vouch for the non veggie food, but I hear it's the same.

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman, try for Andrews Hall; it's the only good freshman dorm. But then, after first year, there are some pretty nice dorms like Conrad. It's fairly easy to get along with the other people in the dorms, though they can be a tad noisy (I assume that is a feature of all colleges).

    Academic Rigor

    These are really hard classes It doesn't seem like it at first, but then you find yourself in the middle of the semester wondering how your grades got where they are and you tend to hit the library fairly hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sleep is probably the number one to not forget to do. Also, studying and knowing how to study properly are two of the greatest skill sets to have here; knowing how to study would have helped me a lot my first semester.

    In three sentences

    It's a decent school; I would apply here at the very least. The faculty is friendly and the campus is gorgeous in the Autumn and Spring. You should beware of inchworms.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    THEY ARE AWESOME AND VERY FRIENDLY. THEY ARE ALWAYS IN SIGHT.

    Clubs and Activities

    THERE ARE SO MANY CLUBS I GUARANTEE THEY WILL HAVE SOMETHING ON CAMPUS FOR YOU!! AND IF THEY DONT THEN YOU CAN MAKE THE CLUB!!!!

    What to do for fun

    OF COURSE THERE ARE PARTIES BUT YOU COULD ALWAYS GO WATCH A FREE NEW MOVIES ON CAMPUS. THERE IS ALWAYS AN ACTIVITY TO DO EACH WEEK.

    Food and Dining

    BREAKFAST IS GREAT, FRIED CHICKEN FRIDAYS, WING WEDNESDAY, THE FOOD IS OKAY

    Dorm Life

    GREATNESS!!!!

    Academic Rigor

    IT IS HARD BUT IT IS MANAGEABLE. ALSO STUDY WHEN YOU CAN.

    Tips for prospective students

    LEARN TO MANAGE YOUR TIME. IF YOU NEED TO TALK TO YOUR TEACHER GO DURING THEIR OFFICE HOURS AND TALK IF YOU VCANT IN CLASS. IF YOUR SCHOOL HAS FREE TUTORING USE IT!!! IT CAN HELP A GREAT DEAL

    In three sentences

    I GIVE THE SCHOOL A TEN OUT OF TEN. I LOVE THE TEACHERS DEDICATION AND INSPIRATION GIVEN TO STUDENTS. THEY REMEMBERED ME EVERY TIME I COME ON CAMPUS!!!

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious about learning and willing to open their horizons should definitely check out R-MC. If you enjoy school, and love meeting different types of people, and trying different sorts of activities, R-MC could be a very good fit. Randolph-Macon is great for students who want to learn outside of the traditional classroom, work hard, challenge themselves, and have a lot of fun doing it. ;-D

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to be serious about your college education no matter where you go. If you're planning on coming to Randolph-Macon or any other private school where tuition is quite high, you've especially got to be serious! Visit & try to meet the professors of the departments you think you'd like to major or minor in if you know. Try to sit in a class or two with current students. Visit more than once & fall in love with R-MC...make (www.rmc.edu) your best friend! Once you're here, take advantage of EVERYTHING you can! Get your money's worth by actively engaging yourself in academics & campus life: visit the Career Services Center & network, network, network!

    Bang for the buck

    Randolph-Macon is no joke when it comes to tuition/fees!!! The cost is up there, but honestly, I know I'm receiving a good education. Like many other students, I've had the chance to study abroad & participate in internships relative to my career objectives. Other experiental learning opportunities include, summer or semester long research projects and student teaching. Free services to students, like the Career Services Center, which holds mock interviews, resumes workshops, and network luncheons to help prepare you to get a job or internship, counseling services, tutors, etc., also make this school well-worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    I get to know my professors here well. They know my name, and that personal relationship was important to me for my college education. It's not hard to know a good number of people at the college, whether staff, faculty, or students, because of the small school environment. When you get involved in different campus activities, you'll find that you can get to know different types of people on campus. The smaller numbers makes it easier to see the different activities that different students are involved in: you get to mix it up, but still build relationships...and I think that makes it very enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    As a double major in Psychology & Sociology, I can especially speak for these two programs here at R-MC. Though they are rigorous, the professors are willing to work with you so that you become a better student and life learner, not just to achieve a better grade. With small class sizes, I've had a better shot at learning and receiving individual attention in any subject area that I've taken here & I've definitely benefited from that academically as well as personally. The liberal arts education forces one to learn a little bit of everything, which makes for a well-rounded student! Also, with the writing-intensive curriculum, I've learned how to write a pretty darn good paper too. ;-}

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    R-MC is really a diverse community and everyone seems to find their own group of people to fit in with. I have never had such a wide variety of people that I am so close to until I came to R-MC.

    Tips for prospective students

    * Don't be afraid to branch out a try a bunch of clubs and activities. You may not stick with them but making friends with people all across campus will make you feel more a part of the community. * GO GREEK! I hesitated to become a part of the Greek community my freshman year but after some goading from my friends, I joined my sophomore year and my life has been forever brightened since. You make so many new bonds through joining a Greek organization and your brothers or sisters become your family at school and are there for you through thick and thin. * Getting a campus job is a great way to bring in a little extra cash and still be on campus. Most of the departments on campus need student help and it can be a great way to not only make new friends, but also to get to know faculty on a more personal level.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition costs may seem a little expensive compared to some of the other schools in Richmond and elsewhere nearby but I feel as though they fit the one of a kind experience you receive at Randolph- Macon. The classes are amazing and the professors are so helpful and dedicated. There are so many opportunities provided by the school to experience amazing travel experiences and exclusive internships. The school is very helpful in getting students on their feet and on a career path before graduation.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is like it's own community and everyone finds their own group of friends to fit into very quickly. The campus is really nice on sunny days when you can take a blanket and sit out on the grass and do work. I love being able to walk around campus and wave to people I know and not have to walk forever to get to my classes.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel as though R-MC has such a broad range of classes to interest every type of student. There are a braod range of classes that discuss interesting topics and even one that studies Disney movies. The professors are very available and willing to help their students with any questions they may have. I love that the classes are so small and there is no feelings of being lost in a sea of people.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    the small class sizes and great professors make randolph-macon a wonderful learning environment.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is always there when you need them, whether it's someone fainting or class, or a student who locked themselves out of their room in the middle of the night. they're friendly and always saying hi to the students.

    Greek Life

    there are more than just the typical fraternities and sororities at randolph-macon. we have apo which is a fraternity for both boys and girls that want to participate in helping others. it's a strictly community service fraternity. also, many of the fraternities and sororities participate in community service, and have parties as fundraisers.

    Clubs and Activities

    randolph-macon offers a variety of different clubs and activities. there's an equestrian club and macon outdoors which is where students take trips trying out different outside activities, and some trips have even been overnight. there's something for everyone at randolph-macon.

    Great for these types of students

    students who want to be in a tight-nit community, randolph-macon is the place for you. students who want to be able to go to their teachers, and their teachers already know them personally by the first week of school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i don't think there are any unusual traditions on campus, but there is a train station going through the middle of campus which causes for quite a bit of noise, but is very convenient when you want to take a trip to dc. additionally, we have an international house for people from different countries to blend together culturally which is unusual but very diverse.

    Bang for the buck

    while randolph-macon is a very nice school, it's quite expensive. they do offer scholarships and deans awards, and are very generous, but if you are not able to get scholarships it is extremely difficult to pay for.

    What to do for fun

    we have movie nights, and beginning next spring we will have a theater in the campus center which is always nice. during the winter there was a campus wide snowball fight which was a lot of fun. also, getting involved in extracurricular activities can prove to be very fun such as relay for life, which hosts nights where you go to places such as sweet frog or other local restaurants and part of your money will be donated to research for cancer.

    Food and Dining

    randolph-macon's weakest point is their food, which will generally make you gain weight. the dining hall specializes in carbs, and nothing else. they do, however, offer phenomenal nights, such as steak and seafood night where the food is exceptionally tasty.

    Dorm Life

    it's a small campus and you will find yourself with a small group of close friends generally speaking, and all the dorm rooms are fairly close together so you will always be close to your friends. the rooms themselves are generally nice except for one dorm building that lacks air conditioning.

    Academic Rigor

    it's a difficult school, but it only takes time and dedication to do well. if you work hard and keep on top of your school work, you will do well. randolph-macon also offers a program for special needs students that is very accommodating.

    Tips for prospective students

    this school isn't as easy as you think it is. stay dedicated to your school work, and participate in the extracurricular activities that randolph-macon offers. remember to go to your teachers whenever you need help, they're always willing to help you with any problems you are having.

    In three sentences

    randolph-macon is an excellent school for those looking for a small liberal arts school. the professors are easy to talk to and get a hold of because they're dedicated. the classes are difficult, and challenging, yet fascinating and entertaining.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to parties. Participate in school prmoted events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for many scholarships. Take advantage of all opportunites travel abrouad and jterm.

    In three sentences

    Randolph Macon is a strong party school. They have a decent curriculum. Randolph Macon is an aquired taste.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe -- in my 3 years here I've never been afraid. Campus security staff are decent... they keep us safe without hassling the students. Town police are good to students as well. Advice -- walk if you've partied too much... you can access just about everything with two feet!

    Greek Life

    Oh yeah!

    Clubs and Activities

    The Greek life is it. Lots of social and sports groups. You can do as much, or as little as you want too. Soccer, football, tennis, field hockey, riding, dance, theatre, etc. are available

    Great for these types of students

    Kids who like small schools; those who are motivated, energetic, and like to have a good time. I wasn't a brainiac in high school, but I have really shined here. I'm going on to grad school -- and this summer I'm headed for Greece to dig at the Agora in Athens! All thanks to fellowships, grants, and a hard-working mom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ashland is the center of the universe (according to the signs). Students along the eastern corridor can take a train to school -- really. The train stops on campus! The Greek life is wild, the dorms are decent, and the classes are small and mostly interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    Love this school, love the college life. You need to be motivated, but profs are really good about helping. Finances -- ok, it's expensive, and me and my mom will be paying back loans for years -- but 98% of the students get decent aid. You can come here... just be creative about finding financing. Oh, and you work on campus too.

    What to do for fun

    Party hardy! Or, if partying isn't your bag, its only 20 minutes to Richmond where there are theaters, museums, the coolest cemetery on the planet (Hollywood Cemetery), and batman's car (science museum).

    Food and Dining

    So, ok... it's cafeteria food, but make friends with the lunch ladies and you're good to go. They make me corned-beef hash whenever I ask! :)

    Dorm Life

    LOVE it! Been in the dorms (3 different ones) for 3 years... will go into senior housing this coming year. Dorm life, or Greek life, is the place to be here at RMC.

    Academic Rigor

    As tough as you make it. Classics department isn't for sissies! However, every student who comes here is encouraged to go abroad to study, has the opp to work as an intern, and can get into grad school if desired. Its the kind of school where the profs want their students to achieve, so they go the extra mile to guarentee it.

    Tips for prospective students

    1]. If you want or need individual attention from your profs, come here. 2]. It has a great social network -- and is known for its parties 3]. Safe campus, lots of great activities, so you'll want to stay on campus on weekends 4]. Lots of sports, the Greek life, and small classes

    In three sentences

    Randy-Mac has been home for three years -- and in that time I have come to love the school, the town in which it resides, and its level of academic challenges and social life avaliable all students. It's a small school, a really small school, actually -- which is great if you want individual attention, a great party atmosphere, and professors who go that extra mile to make sure you're doing what needs to be done to achieve. I am thriving here -- and love the fact that it's close to a big city (Richmond) yet small enough that we all know one another; so come to Randolph-Macon for an amazing four years!

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are very sufficient. If you lock yourself out your room and your RA is not avaliable they will come and unlock it for you. If you are out late alone on campus you can call them to escort you to your room.

    Greek Life

    There are fourteen option a student can do pertaining to Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Women of Color; Black Cultural Society; Soroities and Fraternities; Equine Club; Humanities; Newspaper

    Great for these types of students

    Upstairs in the library and Thomas Branch are great places for students to go when they need absolute silence to work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is the best place for social group meetings

    Bang for the buck

    The frat parties are pretty cool to go to when you don't have anything productive to do on a Saturday night. Be careful when wearing heels though, it tends to get wild an ddrinks will be spilled.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers activities throughout the months during the semester. Sometimes there are carnivals and dances on campus.

    Food and Dining

    In Estes you have many options for food. sometimes there are theme nights such as seafood and Asian food nights. Macon Coffee is another option for when you don't want to around a lot of people and you can take the food to your room.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are community or suite style for bathrooms. Have bug spray just in case. If you are in a suite style dorm be sure to bring your own toilet paper and on good terms with your room mate and fellow dorm mates.

    Academic Rigor

    There are requirement classes you have to take. You just can't take classes pertaining to your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what major you trying to major in. Be aware of your surroundings, know the location of stores and restaurants. Make sure you have a job, in case your parents can't send you money.

    In three sentences

    Randolph-Macon is lively. The professors are friendly and dedicated. It is also quite diverse.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Haven't eaten any yet

    Dorm Life

    Haven't moved in yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Haven't started classes yet.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful Campus a lot of grass and trees and up to date buildings. Friendly Staff willing to help. Great sports complex it has everything.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Safety at Randolph-Macon is fantastic. It has a team of individuals who are constantly on the lookout for a student in need, but remain friendly and personable. They are quick responders and do their best to assist where they are needed.

    Greek Life

    Greek organizations are a major part of the Randolph-Macon College experience. There are fraternities and sororities for all student's personality types. The Greek Life provides the opportunity for students to build a connection with their fellow classmates. There are many other options for similar bonds for those who choose to not be associated with Greek organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Randolph-Macon is a great college for any student who wants to be part of a community, not just another student. It is for the student who wants to be challenged as well as have the well-rounded college experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fountain located in the middle of campus is a staple of Randolph-Macon life. It is a great place for students to study or just hang out and it is a tradition for graduating seniors to jump inside the fountain on graduation day.

    Bang for the buck

    Randolph-Macon is a more expensive school, however most students receive academic scholarships. The school's academic rigor, as well as its reputation, make it well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Throughout the year, Randolph-Macon provides many opportunities for students to have a little fun on campus including guest performances, game nights, and weekly movies. Off-campus there are a myriad of choices for entertainment as well. A mall and movie theater are only a ten minute drive, and the city of Richmond is only 15, in which there is shopping, museums, and scenes for the night life.

    Food and Dining

    Estes dining hall is centrally located and offers a wide variety of healthy and comforting, home-made foods. The staff try to create fun and interesting foods from multiple cultures. Macon Coffee is also a food option available on campus from which students may order food to go so that they may take it to their rooms or wherever they please. Randolph-Macon is also located close to many other food options for students to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Randolph-Macon is not a young college and does not have all new dorms, although a new freshman dorm, Andrews Hall, was just completed in August, 2012, and plans for a new senior apartment building are currently being drawn up. The current dorms on campus are not in brand new condition, but are very easily made to feel comfortable and like a home-away-from-home.

    Academic Rigor

    Randolph-Macon definitely does not have low standards when it comes to academic achievement. The professors do not give busy work to the students, but give assignments designed to increase the students learning and research capabilities. Writing research papers and giving individual presentations are not an uncommon occurrence in classes throughout campus. That being said, there are many opportunities provided to students to succeed and thrive, including the Higgins Academic Center and its many tutors and student mentors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should recognize that Randolph-Macon is a smaller school and therefore offers a more challenging curriculum. Be prepared to write papers and give speeches in addition to having a more personal experience with professors. Also, don't be afraid to get involved socially on campus. Clubs and student organizations are a great way to be involved as well as make friends who share common interests.

    In three sentences

    Randolph-Macon College is a school with a very tough curriculum and very high standards for its students. While it is a liberal arts school and therefore encourages a well rounded education, its classes are tailored to enhance the student's knowledge of each specific subject. In addition to the increasingly rewarding academic experience, Randolph-Macon has a beautiful campus on which its diverse student body can enjoy no matter what the season may be.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have not started school yet. During orientation security team shared campus safety program

    Greek Life

    unknown at this time

    Clubs and Activities

    Have not started school yet. Will play womens varsity soccer for the school

    Great for these types of students

    small school with strong academic rigor. Lots of clubs to join and become involved

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Have not started school yet

    Bang for the buck

    School is awesome as the faculty cares about each student and is genuinely interested when you meet and talk with professors.

    What to do for fun

    Have not started school yet

    Food and Dining

    Have not started school yet

    Dorm Life

    Excited to meet my roommate and move into my dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Have not started school yet

    Tips for prospective students

    Create a pro and con list of each college you are interested Reach out and meet people Don't wait to the last minute for financial aid

    In three sentences

    Academic Challenging Small Student to Teacher Ratio Diversity

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never heard or seen anything wrong going on campus.

    Greek Life

    I do not know much about it but a lot of my friends are in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs that the school has and if you cannot find one that suits you, then just create one.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like to party, but while still focusing on their education.

    Bang for the buck

    The web service is not great. There are multiply programs that the school uses which makes it difficult to get everything you need without visiting multiply websites.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, you attend student events or go to the Brock Center to play pool, tennis, or work out.

    Food and Dining

    The workers are very polite and remembers individuals names. The food is okay with occasionally having great food.

    Dorm Life

    Living in Andrews is awesome but sadly I am at Starr. The people are very immature.

    Academic Rigor

    The college is not very difficult but there is a huge amount of work load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to manage your time and ask for help when needed. Never be ashamed of asking for help from professors, faculty, staff, or classmates.

    In three sentences

    The school is very small which allows you to have better access to the friendly professors. Everybody on campus is very friendly including the neighbors. Down side is the lack of student center but they are building a new one.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Football games and tailgating; lots of clubs and Richmond is not that far away and there is plenty to do there!

    Food and Dining

    Need to have more fresh fruit and better vegetarian entrees.

    Dorm Life

    It can be very noisy but like the dorm I am living in

    Academic Rigor

    classes have been good and the professors and other students want to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with other students who may be from the area you are from, especially if you do not have a car on campus. If you are a light sleeper, the dorms can be noisy, so bring ear plugs for sleeping.

    In three sentences

    So far so good! Love my classes and the friends I have made.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a decent presence. People who drink find them obnoxious.

    Greek Life

    There are several fraternities and sororities on campus. I am not familiar with them, but that's where the parties are every weekend.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many at all, hard to find enough students for any clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like a small town and small community, this is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a very busy railroad right next to campus. For those of you who like trains, this is a plus.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive school but the networking is supposedly fantastic.

    What to do for fun

    Very little in Ashland itself, but Charlottesville is only an hour away and that is the gateway to hiking, rafting, camping, and skiing.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of restaurants in Ashland because it is right next to the Interstate. However, they are mostly chains and the only unique ones are expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There's one freshman dorm that's really nice, the rest of freshman village is decent, but upperclassmen dorms are horrible.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses usually require full attention and engagement.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you're okay with a small school. Try to decide your major early so you don't waste time freshman year. Don't bring a car unless you like looking for parking.

    In three sentences

    Randolph-Macon is a small school. Randolph-Macon is has a rigorous curriculum. Randolph-Macon is in a boring town.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety officers are extremely helpful, and are never far when you need help. They work with the RAs, and their office is right on campus; incredibly easy to get to.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a large part of life for many students on campus, but is not necessary to fit in.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a plethora of clubs and activities available for students to join. Just don't be that student that signs up for EVERY club at the activities carnival, but never shows up to a single meeting. Sign up for what you will actually be able and willing to commit to, not just because someone is trying to guilt you into signing up for the club.

    What to do for fun

    To be honest, there isn't all that much around to do. However, off campus, there is a skating rink, and shopping within a reasonable driving distance. The campus events committee works hard to bring entertainment on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Not many colleges have gourmet dining; it's difficult to cook for so many people, and have it be fantastic every time. Randolph-Macon tries to cater to different dietary needs. I am vegetarian, and sometimes it can be difficult to find food I can eat, but there is usually something there.

    Dorm Life

    There are some housing options on campus that allow for variety. We have the regular dorms, then we have greek housing, the Quiet Dorm (upperclassmen only), and special interest housing, like the honors house, international house, swim team house, etc. Freshmen do not have many options beyond suite style vs. community bathroom (which is NOT that bad. There is always an available shower!)

    Academic Rigor

    I have often heard people say Easy to get in, hard to stay about Macon. There are definitely some difficult classes, but there are some easier classes too. The professors are serious about their classes, and will give you the grade you earned, so don't slack off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come into college with an open, and don't be afraid to try different classes to figure out what you want to do. Who knows, you may find a new passion! Don't take negative reviews to heart; people exaggerate.

    In three sentences

    Randolph-Macon was the perfect fit for me; they had everything I was looking for, and offered a great financial aid package. The staff and faculty are all very friendly, and willing to work with students. This really is a college that cares about its students.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very on top of things, but are lenient when it comes to parties

    Greek Life

    very important on our campus, rush only occurs in the fall though.

    Clubs and Activities

    not many clubs

    What to do for fun

    party.... that is all

    Food and Dining

    Estes is the dining hall. Macon Coffee is a sb shop, made-to-order.

    Dorm Life

    Try to live in andrews, its suite style. most buildings in freshman village arecommunity style bathrooms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay away from frat row durring your fit fall semester.

    In three sentences

    I am in love with the small class sizes and the beautiful campus. Its nice have a choice of where to eat, but i wish there was 24 hr food acces. The school is nice but extremely over priced.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very helpful and present on campus. There are many phones to instantly call them, and they are on a 24 hour hotline. They will help students in anything that is asked of them.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is very big on campus, 26% of students are members of a fraternity or sorority. The Greek groups are extremely involved on campus from community service to leadership positions in other groups. The Greek life is an importnant part of Randolph-Macon.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers many oppurtunities for students to have fun including intramurals, greek life, and sometimes trips to locations such as ski resorts for a reduced price. Any time of the year ther is something for someone to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Every night the cafeteria has something different and usually it is really good. Options are given for any type of pallet from vegan to meat lover. Unfortunately some food does not taste well or is not made properly.

    Dorm Life

    Most dorms and facilites are fun and well kept. Some dorms are not as maintained as they should b, but these are only some of the freshmen dorms. Overall the dorm life is good.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes require much study and time outside the class room. The assignments are not simple and easily done, thinking and time are needed to do well in any class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be pushed in your classes, and be ready to work long hours for papers and exams. There is alot of oppurtunity to relax and have fun, but do not be consumed by it all. Balance time between social and school and it will be enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school where a student can learn and have fun. It offers activities and courses for any person who could possibly attend. Its curriculum is difficult, but the environment is very satisfying

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They can take a while to resond to certain situations

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activities including intramural sports

    Great for these types of students

    Sports Players Abnormally smart people

    Bang for the buck

    EVERYTHING is expensive here

    What to do for fun

    There is a new student recreation center being built that includes a lot of cool things

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall does not give a lot of options. There is nothing that is open late

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really small.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a tough college, but the professors and the academic (tutor center) are always ready to help

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to familiarize yourself with academic plans

    In three sentences

    Randolph Macon is a small private college. It has a lot of option for one majoring in the sciences. Great place to be.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    i love my sorority

    Bang for the buck

    it is expensive to go here but you will fall in love

    Food and Dining

    its ok

    Dorm Life

    the rooms are a little small but it becomesyour home

    Academic Rigor

    it is a very good academic school

    Tips for prospective students

    you need rain boots

    In three sentences

    It is a very beautiful school. The teachers are great.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Are Campo are always up to scale, they always there when needed.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a very prominent aspcet on campus; many different sororities and fraternaties.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various opportunites for all students!

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in Liberal Arts

    What to do for fun

    There are always various sports games going on on campus. Not to mention, there are many clubs that can appeal to an assortment of students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is catered by Cartwell's; there are always many options for everyone

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are for the most part adequate. One of the dorms on campus (Mary Branch) is a historical building.

    Academic Rigor

    The school offers very rigorous courses that are often very challenging, yet the students are able to deal with professors on a personal level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a car; if you don't have a car you won't be able to leave campus easily!

    In three sentences

    Randolph-Macon is a very small private college that is continually growing. It has great professors, offers intriguing courses, and the sports teams are really helping to make a name for this school. I would defintely reccomend this school to anyone who is looking for a environment aspires to feel like a loving community.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Stuck up, arrogant, assholes.

    Bang for the buck

    Way too much money, for the education offered.

    What to do for fun

    I played soccer, which was kind of fun, besides the coach. Also, they offer Young Life, which was fun. You can also walk around Ashland, it's a great town.

    Food and Dining

    Not many options. Nothing really healthy offered. There was pretty much the same options every single day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms weren't bad. All of my friends were people in my dorm. The RA and cleaning lady were both really nice, and there to help when needed.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers were awful. With it being such a small school, with very few students in each class, they call you out for every little thing. They don't care about the student's emotions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't attend this school. It was awful, and everyone hates it. Unless you are an athlete that the coach favors or a super smart student.

    In three sentences

    It sucked so bad. The teachers were awful, and so was the soccer coach. No one was concerned with the individual students.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around, on their feet, willing to help, and make their services very useful. From locking yourself out of your own car, to saving some poor, inexperienced sould from alcohol poisioning, campus safety effectively does it all.

    Greek Life

    From a first-hand perspective, greek life at this college is an exceptional thing to be a part of. As a recently initiated brother of Sigma Alpha Epsilon, i can vouch for any glorifying words spoken on behalf of all sororities and fraternities at Macon. It is a great way to meet friends and become very close to them, a great way to become involved in your school and community, and the greatest honor for recognition of being a well-rounded and successful college student.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs, intermurals, activities, groups, etc. to choose from at RMC. There is one for just about any and every type and kind of student i have seen, no exaggeration. Also, if you would like to create one, it could easily be done.

    Great for these types of students

    RMC is great for students who would like to be an individual in a rather conformed society. Students who want their voice to be heard usually attend this school, will grow (with the help of Randolph-Macon) to be well-spoken leaders of the public.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, if I went and shared all of our traditions then they would lose value! However, I will enlighten the fact that a church on campus is religiously sufficing, considerate, and a very good idea.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive feat to attend RMC, but as far as getting what you pay for, every cent is worth it. One look at a liberal arts degree can put your application on top of hundreds, sometimes thousands of others, and the fact that it is from Randolph Macon may just be the icing on the delicious cake of a successful future.

    What to do for fun

    The Brock Center (workout facility) is easily accessible, which is an incentive to improve my fitness, and my skills as a lacrosse player because i play for the team at RMC. Other than that, I hang out with my friends a lot. It is easy to form tight bonds quickly with your fellow students at this college.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, the food is unappealing. It is bareable at times, and I appreciate the consistent hard work of all staff members involved in dining, but for the most part: no good.

    Dorm Life

    The living situation could be better, it could be worse. Students who commit eariler than others are offered overall better dorms: more spacious, better quality furnishing,etc. No student is any more privelaged with living necessities than the next colleague in line, and any student at RMC will concur.

    Academic Rigor

    It's tough, plain and simple. However, the fact that the curriculum is slightly more challenging than most public schools only offers you a chance to get the edge on other educatees from all over the nation. If you accept the fact that it will only better you in the end, then you should prevail academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know when to crack down on studies, and when to hang out with your friends. There are distinct times for each of these activities, and they usually cannot be done simultaneously. School must be a priority, and after your workload is completed, then you can begin to have fun.

    In three sentences

    Randolph-Macon is an exceptional learning institution that produces only the finest men and women society can offer, in my opinion. In merely one semester, I have improved my social skills astronomically, learned how to manage time in correspondance to my priorities, and included myself in one of the tightest, and strongest social communities a new student could ask for. Sure, it is college, the work is inevitably trying at times, but it is all very doable; another lesson RMC has already taught me.