Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Raritan Valley Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security on campus 24/7.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs available. It is extremely difficult starting clubs because it is a two year school, and as soon as the club is established the founder is usually graduating.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to focus on learning.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is nothing special, but there are numerous restaurants around the area.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    If a student is willing to put in the effort, the administration has a lot to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    A community college does not provide the college â??lifeâ?? that most movies depict. Raritan Valley is affordable and a good place to go if you do not have a chosen major. If you are not focused on academic success and achievement, you will probably not do well.

    In three sentences

    Raritan Valley Community College is an excellent school for motivated students. Most of the staff is extremely friendly and is willing to work with students one on one. This school will give back as much effort as a student is willing to put into their academic achievements.

  • 12/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who aren't ready to leave home, looking for an inexpensive college, or do not know what to major in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule classes early as they fill up fast and meet with advisors.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are all wonderful and care about their students success.

  • 12/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Raritan Valley is great fro students who cannot afford a 4 year college, if they do not know what to major in, or those who do not want to leave home yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early so that you get in the ones you want to.

    Bang for the buck

    Raritan Valley is an affordable college to go to.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small, and everyone gets to know you. All the administrators are there to help you and answer anything you have questions about.

    Am learning a lot

    The courses you take at Raritan Valley really teach you a lot. You learn new things that you will stay with you in life and throughout the other courses.

  • 05/20/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Part time students, full time students, people who are reentering the work place, Undecided majors, students who plan to transfer to a four year school, and people who will go straight to the workplace.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to classes a little early so as to find a good parking space, if you have time join a club there are plenty of types so i am sure you can find one with your interests, if you dont plan on keeping your books either rent them or use the buy back sale or buy them from last semesters class ( be careful though sometimes they update the edition between semesters). Start registering for classes ASAP because they fill out fast and you don't want to be stuck with a bad schedule.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money for tuition and the lab fees, however keep in mind that the books there can get very expensive so watch out for that and make sure you get the right books you need. Once again teachers at RVCC are pretty understanding about the college books. Also due to smaller classes it is easier to find time to talk to teachers and set up meetings with you to make sure you get the experience and knowledge you deserve from them.

    Did enjoy being here

    I enjoyed my time at RVCC, there are plenty of classes that i enjoyed, there are also many clubs and on campus activities for those who are interested and they are great to meet new friends or maybe even future colleagues in your field of work. Keep in mind though that parking can be a pain to find in certain times of the day and during certain days in general, especially at the beginning of the semester. Also not every teacher is a professor at RVCC so getting meeting times with them may be a little difficult, though the teachers there are usually very friendly and are willing to set up meeting times if you want them or need them for certain classes.

    Did learn a lot

    Learning is expected and easily done as long as students are willing to put the work into it, which is expected of school. The Classes are interesting and due to the wide variety of classes can be beneficial to someone who is unsure as to what they want to do. However for those who already have a planned career and know what they want to do RVCC does have a specified program and series of classes for your choice of career.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have learned a lot. The professors are very skillfull and knowledgeable. The professors motivate students to do well.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    five

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is small and compact; all of the buildings are connected except for the art and childcare building and there is a lot of security at night.

    Greek Life

    i'm not sure - i don't think they have any greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are several student organizations and trips to museums and art shows. i don't know much, but there seems to be a good amount of stuff to do here.

    Great for these types of students

    pretty much anybody. there is a variety of people here of all ages. my mom is 50 and she went back to nursing and loves it. there are people straight out of high school, and people transferring from universities (like me) to get their grip and transfer elsewhere. i think rv is great for anybody who wants to save money on college tuition.

    Bang for the buck

    i feel like rvcc is an extremely good bang for the buck kind of school. because of my federal aid, i am attending rv completely free this semester and i could not be happier about that; it is very inexpensive and it's one of the best community colleges in nj. i think it is definitely worth the money; if you're unsure of a major for an expensive university, go to rv.

    What to do for fun

    rvcc has several clubs and student organizations and there are several sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the cafeteria is actually pretty good - they have a nice variety to choose from and the dining hall is very well kept and is a nice place to sit.

    Dorm Life

    uh.... no. it's a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    it's not hard, it's not easy, but all i'm taking is english ii, astronomy, drawing ii and history so i am not taking hard classes. my mom is in the nursing program and she is constantly studying and fretting but she says it is a wonderful, demanding program. i think it depends what you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would say to just go into it with an open mind; things may turn out better than you think. i was a little bummed transferring from a university to rvcc (university didn't work out) but just take it all in stride - it is what you make of it. if you work hard to get good grades, transferring out again will be a snap, and you save lots of money.

    In three sentences

    rvcc is a very nice community college and although i've only been here for about two weeks, i feel like there are a lot of possibilities. the campus is pretty and is easy to navigate and most of the professors i have are very nice and eager to help. people kind of keep to themselves, but i think that's the kind of atmosphere you find at most community colleges.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    phi theta kappa

    Great for these types of students

    working.

    What to do for fun

    starbucks.

    Tips for prospective students

    take your academic life seriously. it pays off when it comes to transferring.

    In three sentences

    great value for the money. adjunct professors from big name area schools.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    at rvcc there is many clubs and activities that go on, on a regular basis. our college hour is on a tuesday and thursday from 1:00-2:00 and this is where most of the activities are held. we have a great gym and swimming pool and also a planetarium where many shows are held such as the light show. we also have a theatre where shows and singing competitions are usually held. at rvcc you are sure to have something to do with all the fun held things that go on throughout the week.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining at rvcc is very good. there is a lot to choose from be it breakfast, lunch or dinner. they have wonderful cooks who are there to ensure everyone gets the best possible. there is a variety of foods to cater for all cultures. the canteen is very big so it is never a problem finding somewhere to sit.

    Dorm Life

    at raritan valley community college we dont have dorm facilites as it is only a 2 year college. everyone who attends this college comutes from near by.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor at the school is very good. my gpa is a 3.3 and this just shows how much the professor and students want to learn. many students go on to 4 year colleges and have been on deans list which shows the school has great students with great grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    tips for prospective students would have to be: dont be afraid, there is many great students who are friendly and will help you out make sure you research about your professor and see if they are up to your standards make sure you get early to class if you have morning classes as parking is very hetic

    In three sentences

    raritan valley community college is a wonderful college where you are ensured to succeed to your highest. the professors are very helpful and will work with you in any situation. the whole campus its self is accessible, clean and have many resources on campus to help you succeed to your highest potential.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hike, play pool.

    Tips for prospective students

    study, and study hard. don't let the internet distract you.

    In three sentences

    a great community college, though with a high-school social feel. class availability is better than other area community colleges. the surroundings, too, are conducive to really getting that information in your head.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    call boxes in parking lots (not many), mall cops they call security guards don't do much other than write parking tickets and sit in their cars.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    smaller sports clubs, honors society (phi theta kappa), etc.

    Great for these types of students

    locals hoping to commute and save money, keeping jobs closer to home as well as going to school, adults hoping to continue education/switch occupations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none.

    Bang for the buck

    for what it is (basically just a springboard, a temporary stay to get classes out of the way for a very low price) its the best option hands down for the first two years of schooling and saving big bucks for the same classes taken anywhere else. even though its the most logical choice, its definitely far from a luxurious stay for its students and leaves much to be desired from the way that it looks and there is not much to do. the grass isn't even nice enough to sit on most times, parking is a nightmare almost any time of day (including night classes) , and the potholes and cracked sidewalks are terrible. basically, for its primary use its the best option, but don't expect any extras.

    What to do for fun

    nothing really to do. studying in the commons or outside is most common. the gym is free to any student (obviously) but its not very big and not many people go. most just leave after class.

    Food and Dining

    most of the food can be quite good (no mystery meat days or anything like elementary school) but when i had to buy lunch on campus i felt like i needed to take out a loan just to buy a sandwich...pricing can be outrageous and id much rather pack a lunch or buy elsewhere and bring in my own lunch to save money.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life, commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    this school has some really amazing and challenging classes as well as professors. however, that coin has another side to it and there are some professors that are just downright annoying with unreasonable assignments and grading. this school really is hit or miss in difficulty, some professors like to challenge their students making the class as hard as any 4 year school and other classes are a cakewalk.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you personally check financial aid offices as well as the others (transfer, tuition, etc.) because there tend to be a lot of problems regarding tuition payments, classes, etc. sign up for classes early to make sure you get one that agrees with your schedule and keep up watching payment statuses or they will simply drop you from the classes you signed up for with little notice or reasoning. if you expect decent parking, schedule early classes (before 8am).

    In three sentences

    its a good school for locals to save money and a good place to plan to transfer from. it can be a good school but some professors have too much of their own agenda and personal views butting into their grading as well as the subjects they teach. parking sucks.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Constant security presence. Very low crime area. You can feel safe at any time of day.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities to choose from. Very diverse.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are paying their own way or are not very sure what type of career they would like to pursue. Adults who are going back to school after some time out of high school. People who are living home and do not want to live on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Awesome education without breaking the bank!! A very good bang for the buck!

    What to do for fun

    This college offers a grat deal of clubs and organizations. One is sure to fit your style & like.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great. Many choices to choose from. Dine in the main cafeteria or grab a snack at the small coffee shops.

    Academic Rigor

    Although the courses could be challenging, the class sizes are smaller, so one on one with the teacher helps out!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared. Like all colleges, you get wheat you put into into it. Study, work hard, and you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    This college is very competitive, cost effective & current. The campus is beautiful, large, and most importantly, functional. The faculty, staff & students are friendly and diverse.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As with any other college/university, RVCC hold campus security as its priority. Being coordinated with the various police and emergency services available through both Hunterdon and Somerset Counties of New Jersey, RVCC prides itself as being among the safest and most rapidly responding colleges in the state of New Jersey.

    Greek Life

    Aside from a few Honors Fraternities, no Greek life is present at RVCC. The Honors Fraternities serve as aids to academic and professional growth of students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and activities at RVCC; athletic, social and academic. Other than being a member of the Alpha Beta Gamma Honors Fraternity, I have very little knowlege of this field. But as previously stated, Many students do partake in the on campus organizations with relish and enthusiasm.

    Great for these types of students

    Recent NJ high school graduates who may be struggling financially or not interested in attending a larger four-year college/university Young adults/adults and tight budgets wishing to continue their education or seeking a new line of work Anybody interested to get to work ASAP without the hassle of degree which may take too much time.

    Bang for the buck

    RVCC is the most affordable institute of higher education that I have found. Cost is fairly based on the level of academic rigor the student wishes to take responsibility of. Plus; it helps that it is a publicly funded school.

    What to do for fun

    The are numerous student clubs and organiztions; athletic, social and academic available at RVCC. I for one work full-tiem as well as attend school full-time, so I have very little experience in this field. But from what I have witnessed, these organizations are well recieved by the student body and involvement is looked at as a positive experience

    Food and Dining

    Most college dinign gets a bad rep because it is usaully bad quality food for an outrageous cost. At RVCC, the dinning is not bad. You have several cuisine options to choose from all at competitive price leves as compared to of campus dining. I'm not saying its exellent, but beeter than most school food I have experienced in my life.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college without on campus living facilities. Students commute from home.

    Academic Rigor

    RVCC is a community college designed to get you into the workforce following completion of an AAS degree, or to transfer to a four-year program after obtaining an AS degree. That being said, courses are challenging just as in any other college, and require attention and effort for one to succeed in their area of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    One: pick a major and stick with it. RVCC is a community college, and many programs are designed as two-year degrees. You have the option to continue into a four-year college after graduating RVCC, and credit earned are fully transferable within the same are of study. Also, just stick with it. Many of us do not enjoy the prospect of school (myself especially), but it truely is the most rewarding investment for your future.

    In three sentences

    RVCC provides a high level of education at a very affordable rate. The Faculty and students are genuinely commited to succeed both academically and personally. An overal great learning and growing environment.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as I know the school is generally safe. In my two years I have not heard anything about break-ins or assaults. I have heard about ipods, phones & laptops being swiped in the library & other public areas so I would keep an eye on my things at all times but I do that in any public space.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa, an educational co-ed fraternity is one of the biggest student organizations on campus (& provides many scholarship & transfer opportunities). There is also Psi Beta, an educational Greek organization for psychology students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot & they are varied. Events thrown by clubs tend to be music or performance oriented but there are all kinds of educational, leadership, video game, theater, art and sport activities too. The Planetarium is awesome & has cool events for all ages.

    Great for these types of students

    Unsure of major, career choice. Financially independent, or just struggling. Working full or part time. Left college & trying to decide if you should go back. Adult professionals looking to start a new career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You can't smoke on campus so kids smoke in islands where there are trashcans in parking lots. There is an area by the planetarium where kids hang out & smoke cigarettes too. Relay for Life is a big deal & happens every year in the spring.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're unsure of what to do or where to go RVCC can't be beat for the cost effective undecided college experience. There are multiple opportunities, resources & people for you to talk with for you to figure out what to do. You'll have a grounding experience & feel a tie to your community.

    What to do for fun

    There's a mall nearby, I'm sure people do that. Socializing is either done in the parking lot smoking cigarettes, in the library pretending to do homework, in the cafeteria & though the school's clubs & organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Corporate influence is strong, specifically from Starbucks. Sodexho provides the regular sub par stuff in the cafeteria but there is a salad bar open for most of the day. Nearby there are several fast food & somewhat healthier options.

    Dorm Life

    There is none, most live at home with their parents or are adults with their own households.

    Academic Rigor

    For a community college the majority of classes I took were challenging on the level that's expected. Teachers were strict with deadlines & expected papers to be well-written, researched and cited. However, there are some teachers who get the reputation of being easy & are popular with the student body.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved in a club or start your own if you see there is nothing that suits your interests. Don't be afraid to talk to your teachers/other faculty & form relationships because they will be an asset if you plan on transferring. Parking is not so bad & there is a bus that runs throughout Somerset county to the college every weekday. If you plan on transferring, do an internship either through the chair of the department of your academic major or through the internship opportunity office (where there are also career services & figuring out your major services).

    In three sentences

    Raritan Valley is a community college with a diverse student body. It can be boring & seemingly filled with slackers or kids forced to go to college by their parents with little interest in school. But the silent majority are professional, school-minded students who are just looking to better themselves or their family. Some students who have the luxury of time work very hard to give back to the school community.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ANY!!!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a two year school it won't be as much a four year school. You get your moneys worth out of RVCC and a lot more.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many fun clubs and there is always some kind of event going on at the school you can join in on.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great school. Yes, its not an away school but you learn just as much if not more and you save so much money while attending a community college.

    In three sentences

    At first I thought I was not going to like RVCC, but I love it, I honestly never expected to learn so much in one year here at RVCC. I love the teachers and the campus, everyone is just so helpful and kind. I am happy with the choice I made to start out here and I would not change it for the world.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    One of the best malls in the east coast, the bridgewater mall, is located just 10 to 15 minutes away from the college. If you are looking for time to kill between classes this a great option.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall is a bit pricey but their is a quick check, wendy's and shoprite less then a minute drive from the school.

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    All of my classes offered a lot of different challenges for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your hardest in all of your classes, just because there is a community college attached to the name of the school doesn't mean that it is any easier. If you try your best you will do your best and receive the best education

    In three sentences

    This is a overall excellent school. The teachers expect the best from their students and nothing less. This school is a great option for perspective students wanting to save money and get a great education.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    STUDENT AMBASSDORS AND PTK!

    Bang for the buck

    The price for the education you receive is unbelievable!

    Food and Dining

    Really really enjoy the bacon Pizza

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned alot from this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    do the very best you can and get involved!

    In three sentences

    I love this school. I think it is a perfect school to start off your college career. it was a perfect transition after high school!

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is around 24hrs a day, everyday. There are also emergency phones on every floor of each building that can connect you directly to the security office.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to join ranging from Math Club to Rotaract!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that haven't really decided what to major in, or aren't sure if they can adapt to college life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual traditions. There are some locations on campus that not many know about, just have to go out and explore ;)

    Bang for the buck

    Worth attending!

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, play some sports at the athletic fields, or workout at the gym!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria provides a lot of food options. The dining hall is very nice. There is a student cafe that has Starbuck coffee, and the book store also sells snacks. Vending machines are everywhere.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but the facility is big and still growing.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends much on the major that the student has chosen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend the school tours to get a better feel of the school. Participate in the clubs to meet new people and support the community.

    In three sentences

    The school provides many opportunities, academically and socially, to suit its diverse student body. The professors are friendly and supportive of their students. The student body is diverse in age and ethnicity which allows one to gain a better perspective in class discussions.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's bike patrol lol

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always some club or organization doing something on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for a small class setting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is so small that there is no unusual location.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the Academic support center. They will help you understand some things your teachers can't.

    In three sentences

    RVCC is a great institution. They have excellent teachers as well as state of the art classrooms. The environment is friendly and welcoming.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at the orientation was nice.

    Dorm Life

    I won't be dorming here.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm excited to start, but afraid of how I will pay for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute to do anything, do it right away.

    In three sentences

    It's very diverse and open. Visiting there was a pleasant experience. I would love to be able to afford to attend here

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    pool, outdoor basketball courts, library

    Dorm Life

    commute only school

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe, but some of the security guards will hassle your for no reason.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life except for the honors students, and that really isnt like a 4 year fraternity or sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a decent amount of clubs, and if you want to make one then you can too. The only problem with the clubs are that they do not promote too often.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students that are shy, because students are usually very helpful and friendly. The school is helpful for people that are not sure what major they want to pursue, because there is a wide variety of classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Quality education that you can not beat for the first two years of college. Why spend 20 times the amount per semester to take crowded classes, and have less interaction with your fellow students. Teachers are generally very helpful, and you can use this to your advantage.

    What to do for fun

    RVCC has sports teams that are decent, and there are a decent amount of clubs that students can join. The people generally are very friendly at the college, so there is usually plenty of things to do. Stores are nearby and places to eat, and lounge at a Starbucks if you want.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average like any high school type cafeteria. There is room for students to sit usually, and for the most part a person can always find seeing. The food can become costly though for small amounts, so i would recommend just bringing your own lunch.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, because it is a community college. There is talk though of making RVCC a 4 year college, and then adding dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at RVCC are challenging, and the summer courses in science are no cake walk. Keep up with your homework, and pay attention in class. If you do your work, and are active in class then there should be no problems. Take advantage of the small classes, and get your pre-req's out of the way before transferring to save money. The smaller classes help to learn easier, because it gives students the chance to get help if it is needed. There are free tutoring sessions available in the library.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class early to get close parking if you need that. Take advantage of all of the opportunities, and get involved with the school. This school is a great stepping stone in order to get into the university, and the major that you want. If you have a problem with something at the school do not hesitate to ask other faculty members. I had a problem and it took going to a handful of different people in order to get it fixed, and it was worth doing that.

    In three sentences

    Quality academic class, and for a fraction of the cost. Teachers are generally very helpful with any problems students have in class. Parking can be an issue on some days.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    A lot of clubs to chose to get yourself involved, open gym and always something happening on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't eaten in the Cafe since freshman year, but I hear we have upgraded.

    Dorm Life

    there aren't any.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers I have had are good others no so.

    Tips for prospective students

    To register on time and meet ALL deadlines.

    In three sentences

    I love RVCC , they ave allowed me to grow so much as student. They provide awesome extra-curricular activities. The academic support center is a great tool too.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards everywhere in the campus and it's pretty safe for everyone attending the college.

    Greek Life

    Phi theta Kappa Sigma theta kappa (nursing honors society)

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs you can join, or make up a club, if you can recruit people and host events and other programs related to college activity and majority of the students' interests. You can do community services and plan events for donations to the poor and needy.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, there are various clubs you can join to keep you active. There is a gym to releive your stress away, so that you can focus on your studies. There is a tutoring center; if you need help in anything, the tutors will help you out; they are nice!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is expensive, it is much healthier to prepare food at home and bring it for lunch. As for dining, you have to make friends to eat together and that way you enjoy eating lunch better. However, the college is at a great location because there are many restaurants and fast food places that are approximately, 4 minutes drive form the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Raritan Valley Community does not have a dorm; since it is approximate to the other counties.

    Academic Rigor

    In terms of Academic Rigor, professors wants you to study in the way you understand better because every student learn differently and they want you to study before hand for exams. Some professors make the tests based on the lecture and some on the book, but some form both the book and the study guides, or lecture.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's an accredited college and it has great degree programs that can be transferred to other four year colleges easily, but you have to maintain your G.P.A. All your courses' credits (you must keep you r grade to C, or above, for it to be transferred) will be transferred and I heard from many students, who came from four year colleges that RVCC is better than the four year college!

    In three sentences

    Raritan Valley Community College has the best nursing program and the professors are very helpful in terms of learning skills and exam preparations. Because of few people in the class, each students receive professors' attention and their questions are answered. I will rank this college 5 out of 5!

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are interested in nursing and criminal justice, this is DEFINITELY the school for you. They cater to those majors the most, as well as a few others. Also, if you are a quiet person who is all about the academics, this is also the perfect atmosphere for you.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs available, but because this is a community college, most people who attend the school have their own lives going on. So, it's difficult getting people involved in festivities, thus, making the campus kind of boring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you pay attention to the curriculum of your major before registering to attend. Make sure RVCC caters to your particular major so that you can excel here.

    In three sentences

    The classes are great, but the curriculum for my major is ridiculous and should be improved. Plus, the campus is boring. I don't think this is the college for me.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who don't know if going away is the best move for them.

    What to do for fun

    Attending sporting events such as basketball and baseball games, and several clubs and different on-campus activities.

    Dorm Life

    None

    In three sentences

    RVCC is a great place to start for someone who is unsure where to begin when beginning their college career. They have a wide variety of courses, majors, and programs to help students decide what they would like to major in. Small class sizes allow the professors to work one on one with students when they are struggling or need advice.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security here is five-star all the way. They have cars patrolling all of the parking lots as well as telephones at each of he lots with a direct line to security just in case your having any trouble. There are also numerous security officers patrolling the school grounds inside and outside of the school. The main security office is a few feet right from the main entrance making it convenient if you lost something or are having a problem. Also, if you are going to school for any type of degree dealing with law enforcement the security department has a work-study program so that you can have some security experience on your resume.

    Greek Life

    To be totally honest, there is not a huge Greek Life on our campus as we are a 2-year community college. There is the normal Honors Society and Nursing Honors Society Phi theta Kappa Sigma theta Kappa and that's about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs to get involved with, you just have to figure out what your interests are and what you want you to do with your future might help as well because one of the clubs you join can go on your resume. There is a game room as well if you just want to take a load off and rest for awhile, it has a pool table, ping pong, T.V., couches, amongst other games, it's a good place to go with a friend and relax for a little bit.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for all types of students that are not already settled on and headed out to the four-year institutions yet. For the more mature student or someone looking to learn a new career, it's great because you can work your schedule around your classes if need be and there's all kinds of financial aid available. For students who are unsure of what they want to be, it's great because they can take many different classes figuring out what suits them best without costing mom and dad loads of money. Also for those with small kids, there is a daycare at the school so there is no need faraway pick-up and drop-off of children. What ever your specific needs are or your situation is I;m pretty sure I ran into someone like you at RVCC, it's a very diversified school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not too many of these on campus but we are supposed to have our first Humans Vs. Zombies game this Spring (it was cancelled over the fall due to Hurricane Sandy) so hopefully this will become a tradition for our campus. Also to the right of the main school by the parking lots there is a table and some benches that is a hugely popular hangout. That's about as unusual as our campus gets, which, i know isn't saying a lot.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the best features of this school is the fact that it is so affordable. The financial aid department is super knowledgeable and helpful so if you feel like you can't afford college, at least take the time to speak to them to see if they can help you come up with something first (chances are, they will). Also, for the lower-income students out there, the school has a special program called the EOF program, which does take a limited number of students. but is this schools secret gem! The director and co-director are amazing human-beings with hearts of gold and even EOF is full they will take the time to help each and every student that has a problem (I know from personal experience).

    What to do for fun

    As you will see reiterated on one the bottom questions I mentioned the game room which is a great place to hang out and let your brain relax after taking that really hard mid-term or just use on a regular basis. Fact is, since this school services both Hunterdon and Somerset Counties, chances that some of your friends go there anyway, so there are various comfortable and relaxing indoor and outdoor areas to meet with friends or a group from class to either hang out or get a project and homework done.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a Starbucks Cafe and regular big Cafeteria as well as food and drink vending machines located throughout all the buildings. While the food is moderately priced, it tastes really great and the cafeteria has a wide variety of breakfast and lunch choices that are hot and cold, healthy and tasty (just kidding, i don't know what the healthy food tastes like). The Starbucks coffee is a bit on the expensive side, but hey, one it's Starbucks and two after studying until two in the morning we do need our caffeine fix don't we?

    Dorm Life

    Unforantley, there is no dorm life but again this is only a two-year community college. But, once you attend you'll wind up liking it so much here that you spend so much time it feels like your living here.

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends on what classes you take and how serious you take them, because, let's be honest there are some people in colleges that are just...checked out. For those of you that are serious, at the beginning of each semester, your professors (much like high school) will give you a syllabus of what the rest of the semester holds for that class. So for the most part, as long as you pay attention to what the Professor is teaching and do the homework you will do fine and can even get ahead by following the syllabus, if your feeling confident in that class with what your learning. As you get beyond your General Education courses into your degree specific ones, this is where the classes will begin to get more intensive, but, again pay attention in class, do the homework and if your having trouble, either talk to the Professor or try out the tutoring center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the ASC Tutoring center, the tutors are phenomenal, they always have plenty of people to help and they really take their time to explain something to you. Do your homework at the school, there are plenty of indoor and outdoor areas as well as computer labs that are comfortable, quiet, and super conducive to getting your homework done without any interruptions. Make sure to give yourself at the very least two hours of studying time for each class you take, this is important as you want to be prepared for quizzes, tests, and general know-how of each class your taking regardless.

    In three sentences

    Its a fantastic school with great programs linked to four-year University's. The Professors are great and willing to help if you seek them them out after class. The price to attend is lower than most schools and the financial aid department goes out of their way to help you get the funds needed to attend.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    worth every penny. $2000 for 5 classes.

    Food and Dining

    good chefs and food.

    In three sentences

    RVCC is a great school. It is a bit tough for those fresh out of high school and still not serious about life, but its a place to kick off your college career.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at the school!

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not in any at this time

    Great for these types of students

    This school is faboulous for anyone who loves hands on activities class.

    Bang for the buck

    By going to the community college I am able to get what I pay for. The credits and books are very reasonable compared to other schools.

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of clubs and activities if you are interested.

    Food and Dining

    I live at home

    Dorm Life

    I live at home

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't as hard as I thought. You have to manage your time wisely and don't take too much on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't put too much on your plate. Start of small and get used to college life.

    In three sentences

    So far my experience has been incredible. I am able to take classes close to my home and even at a local high school. With the ability to do things online scheduling, questions, financial aid is easy!

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're everywhere..

    Great for these types of students

    Older students seem to take more advantage of the academic opportunities.

    Bang for the buck

    Amazing Professors for a Community College price.

    What to do for fun

    The game room, various malls and restaurants are within a short drive of campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are extremely easy, while others are very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the tutoring center and the study rooms in the top floor of the library. Parking sucks, get there early.

    In three sentences

    For the most part the professors are the best I've seen, I attended another college for two years before. The campus is small and easy to navigate. Parking sucks, get there early.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security does a fine job

    Clubs and Activities

    LEO's is for the older set of students and they do a great job.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to explore community college and the undecided students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As a part time student, I am not aware of any however I am sure they exist.

    Bang for the buck

    Community college is the best way to go.

    What to do for fun

    Visit the student lounge, weight room and pool.

    Food and Dining

    Have not experienced the dining on campus. Plenty of places to go in the area. So it gets 4 stars for the local restaurants

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more challenging than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become part of the community, join clubs, ask for help with anything that you have questions about.

    In three sentences

    I attended RVCC in 1978 and was not ready for the college experience. Thirty years later, I am finding the college experience to be better than anticipated. RVCC is a wonderful place for anyone who is returning to college later in life.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They enforce no smoking on campus at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am interested in their foreign language clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    The expenses are not unreasonable.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs or organizations, Visit the campus library, and athletic groups.

    Food and Dining

    The atmosphere is similar to a food court in the mall.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but dorms are up to par.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many interesting degrees to receive at Raritan Valley.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take every opportunity given, be diligent, and work hard.

    In three sentences

    Raritan Valley is quite a unique college. I believe it has the atmosphere of a real university. It is a great start for any college career.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Don't eat on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome school

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply and Challange yourself for success

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to get involved in

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to save money or students who are not sure what they want to major in yet.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are just looking to take a few courses just for fun, this school has a huge variety to choose from. Prices are reasonable. If you want to attend a 4 year school you will save loads of money the first 2 years attending RVCC.

    What to do for fun

    There is a large mall close by.

    Food and Dining

    This is a Junior College - not much more than vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the courses are not much more than an extension of High School however, I will say the Art classes I have taken have absolutely helped me to expand my Art talent.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend this school especially if you are not certain that you are prepared to attend a 4-year school yet. The professors groom you for your future and the tuition is extremely reasonable for the education your receive. Great investment toward your future!

    In three sentences

    This is a top-notch junior college. It fully prepares you for a 4-year college/university. The professors are extremely skilled and most teach at 4-year schools as well.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, campus security is very helpful and always around.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is the national honor society for community colleges and is the largest club in the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs, so there are options for all types of students. There are also a lot of activities at the school throughout the year, the one that stands out the most from last year was relay for life where funds and awareness were raised for cancer research.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is ideal for students looking to make an easy transition into college and want to get the most out of their money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The planetarium is the best building in the school. They hold a meditation under the stars there and have various shows there throughout the year.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very low but you would never know it by going to school there. The professors are extraordinary, the tutoring center is more than helpful, and there are so many little extras like the planetarium, the gym, and the amazing cafeteria.

    What to do for fun

    The physical education building has a great gym, a pool, and basketball courts for all students to enjoy. There is also a student lounge with pool, ping pong, and a comfortable place to relax.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great and they even make special dishes for special diet needs when requested!

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing available.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great and they make a big difference, but you get out of your education what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the most out of your time here and the low tuition, don't be afraid to explore and take classes that are not required for your major.

    In three sentences

    Raritan Valley is an ideal school to start your college career. The tuition is low but the education you get is excellent. As far as your transfer and future career is concerned, the advisors and professors are great about helping you decide on the best path for you.

  • 10/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    RVCC has a business club called ENACTUS which is a non-profit organization specializing in entrepreneurship, and helping those who are less fortunate! its an amazing club, but otherwise they have a variety of great clubs to join.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an amazing school for the price, I have friends that regret going away to universities because RVCC is just as recognized and much much cheaper.

    Food and Dining

    The caf has pretty decent food.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors do not treat you any different just because it's community college, the workload is just as hard if not harder.

    In three sentences

    RVCC is such a great school, all of the professors are amazing and love what they teach. The campus makes you feel like your attending a university instead of a community college. Most of the students here are very nice and are always there to help.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is a really inexpensive community school that will save you a lot of money that you will need to spend on graduate school.

    What to do for fun

    They have quite a few sports one can part take in along with simply just going to the gym/athletic center. Also the school holds many and various events. There are trips, light shows, and movies happening all the time.

    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten at the school, but they have starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, sorry.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be quite challenging, after all they are college level courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to go to the counseling office, they can help with changing majors, finding what majors or paths are best matched for you, and even with more personal oriented issues. Personally I am a fan of hybrid classes because you only need to be on campus once a week for that class and then all the homework is open on online, with due dates, but it makes it so much easier to get ahead when you get that free time.

    In three sentences

    RV is a great community school were everyone is extremely without being too much in your business. What I like about RV is how different from high school it is; it doesn't make you feel like you're stuck in school constantly. I have had great experiences with the staff here thus far, I really enjoy their hybrid classes so I can devote more time to other things.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe here. Raritan New Jersey is a safe area in general.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and things to be a part of! Sudent Life plans all the events from dances, chili cook offs, Relay for Life, Denim Day, coffee houses, meditation in the planetarium, and so much more! And when there isn't a large event happening, all of the clubs are planning something fun to do with each other. I didn't become involved into my second year of RV which is my largest regret. There is a club for everyone, and if not it is so easy to create one! My friend and I began the Social Justice Club last year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The smoker's bench is fun. Many different personalities converge here and hang out in between classes. People here are very exciting and have intersting information to share. The planetarium is free for RV students and they usually have great shows. The cafeteria is the best place to hang out, but they are building a new recreation center which should be awesome for students!

    Bang for the buck

    Going to RVCC was the best optinon that I could have chosen. My professors we all sufficently qualified in their fields and most had personal experiences to reflect on. You will recieve more than an education at RV, but an internal journey of self awareness and discovery, which is priceless.

    What to do for fun

    Definately join a club or Student Life! Those people are the most inspiring, insighful and dedicated people you will know. There are so many activities that they plan and get involved with in order to better the student body and outside parties. You will never be bored with these people! You will make such loyal and lifeime friends at RV.

    Food and Dining

    They make pretty good sandwiches and have great pizza. Across the street is Starbucks, a pizza place, a mexican restaurant, and a World Class Shop Rite with other food.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college sothere are no dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    You teachers are passionate about what they teach, and therefore uphold a certain standard at which you apply yourself to the class. They expect great things from their students, not only on paper. Many of my teachers stressed personal growth and development through their subjects, and encouraged students to analyze how their subjects will effect their lives. That being said, the actual course work is not too hefty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definately go here! The professors are so passionate about what they are teaching, and after class they are willing to sit with you with questions on your work or just have an informative discussion. I still keep in contact with several of my professors from RVCC. Although it is a communter college and not everyone sticks around all day, there are so many dedicated students in a variety of clubs that contribute to RV's ecclectic student body. You can find your niche anywhere doing anything you want at RVCC. There is such a strong sense of a community that you will not want to leave the nest.

    In three sentences

    RVCC is one of the most fantastic higher education institutions. The teachers, students, and faculty support you and provide you with an abundence of opportunity to grow as a person as well as an educated individual. This place has changed my life and my perspective on the world forever.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and get involved in campus life activities.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and a few other locations to purchase food.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Professors really do try their hardest to meet the needs of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at all your options and take advantage of help being offered.

    In three sentences

    The professors- student ratio allows students much time one-on-one with the professor which many people would find beneficial. Also, counselors and other staff members have the student's best interest in mind. Students need to simply take advantage of the help being offered.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always security at the school and police to make sure everybody's safe. I never feel unsafe when I am there. The security guards are very friendly and say hello to me everyday.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs! There's literally a club for everybody and if there is a club that you want to have there but you haven't seen, you can create the club!

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody. Students who want to get involved would be perfect for this school but if you just want to take classes and succeed, this school is great for you as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a celebration every fall and they give us free food and there's a DJ. It's basically a Welcome celebration.

    Bang for the buck

    There is also a great theater program at the college that I am a part of. I am a dancer at the college. I have danced since I was 3 years old and I have become very passionate about it. Every semester we have a performance to show everybody what we have learned and worked so hard on all semester and I invite all of my friends to come and watch me and we make a big deal out of it. It's a wonderful experience. There's so much you could do at this school and I truly feel capable of everything and anything because of this school. I know I am going to be successful because this school offers so much help and the professors genuinely care about their students and want them to succeed. The classes are filled with about 20 students which is great because you get more individual attention from your professors. The professors are very passionate about what they do and you can even go to this school and take Rutgers classes at Raritan and graduate with a Bachelor's Degree from Rutgers! It's great! I could just go on and on about how much I love this school.

    What to do for fun

    The school has a free gym and indoor pool so you can get active. They have plenty of sports that make it more fun because you get to go to the games that our sports teams have and you do not feel like you are in a community college. I feel like I am in a university except I get to live at home. There's a big mall about 8 minutes away from the school where you can go and hangout with your friends. There are also a ton of clubs that you can participate in. I am in the hip hop club and the Filipino Peace Club (even though I am not Filipino) and they are a TON of fun! There is a club for everybody!

    Food and Dining

    There's everything that you could ever want to eat near the school. The cafeteria is awesome! They have a huge variety of food and if you want anything else, there's plenty of restaurants there that you can go to!

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college therefore, I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but in a good way. Not too challenging but just challenging enough. Free tutoring provided by the school helped me a lot therefore, I did not struggle much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to college! It's so important nowadays and Raritan offers free tutoring and that is honestly the biggest blessing that I ever received because tutoring could be very expensive. There's excellent professors at this school and all credits are transferable. You cannot go wrong with this college! It is absolutely wonderful!

    In three sentences

    Raritan Valley Community College is a wonderful school. I have always struggled with math to the point where I almost did not graduate High School because I struggled so badly in that subject and the professors at Raritan are phenomenal! They gave me hope and encouraged me to be successful and I got an A+ in my math class this past semester thank you Raritan you are the best decision I ever made!