Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Red Rocks Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Red Rocks has always worked with me and their payments month to month are reasonable. Great small community college to attend to recieve your associates before transfering to another 4 year college. Cheap and they encourage you to apply for COF ( college oppertunity fund ) .

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE THE LIBRARY! It's upscale and really nice. Get lunch food and yummy breakfast burritos. Quite and secluded, small class sizes and personal staff.

    Am learning a lot

    I have done the dual credit with Red Rocks, where I recieve college credit but am learning a trait that can get me into the work field asap at Warren Tech (which is on the same campus as RRCC) and I have had such a successful education.

  • 04/20/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are not sure what they want to do major/career wise. You can get your basics out of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Online class are more expensive than the actual sit in class. I don't know if it is like that everywhere, but I wish I knew it before hand.

    Bang for the buck

    It was a great way to start my college education. I recommend community college for everyone before attending a 4-year school, because it is so cheap. The school will give you information about a monthly payment plan, which helps out a lot. You get what you pay for!

    Did enjoy being here

    I had to move to Denver to attend Red Rocks and the city environment stressed me out, I'm from a small town. The school always had something going on. Free popcorn most days of the week and sometimes other food too. You can't beat that, especially the ice cream days. The staff is friendly. I met some of the best people.

    Did learn a lot

    The instructors are all amazing and will help you with almost anything, if you ask. I've had a couple of instructors who really didn't care that much for teaching and I didn't think I was getting what I was paying for.

  • 08/03/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a non traditional student, this is a great place to up your GPA and take many of the required courses in order to transfer into one of the many good state universities.

  • 11/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who enjoy flex or rigid schedule, great for both.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early for you fafsa early as possible and only use the aide office on saturdays when no ones there.

    Bang for the buck

    well priced compared to other local colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    busy campus and always something to do, if you need work theres the mall near by too.

    Am learning a lot

    So far the classes from what I've seen are pretty laid back, and help for projects is easily found.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of them, from artistic to athletic.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional aged students, and younger students who need to develop academic skills.

    Bang for the buck

    Unbeatable value. This school provides a level of individualized attention which is sadly lacking at most larger schools.

    What to do for fun

    Play Frisbee Golf, table tennis, pool, or just hang out outside!

    Food and Dining

    Decent grill and cafeteria. Nothing special but certainly not slop! Don't forget that the bookstore has a variety of food for sale as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor is what each individual student makes of their own experience. Some of the math and science courses can be a bit of a challenge, while the liberal arts 100 level classes are definitely much easier than the 200 level ones!

    Tips for prospective students

    Assistance is available for anything you can imagine! Just ask. If you need tutoring, academic or personal counseling, study skills improvement or even a job, the school has available resources.

    In three sentences

    A school where the faculty cares about the students. Class sizes are small and tuition is low. This school is a great value when compared to the larger state universities!

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe when walking around campus. Every time I was there I saw at least one police officer, which is plenty for a school so small. The school is also in a generally decent area, where most of the neighborhoods are middle-class. Plus, the location is beautiful as it is lose to the mountains!

    Great for these types of students

    Red Rocks offers a lot of great online classes, so it's perfect for anyone who works or who can't attend classes on campus for various different reasons. If I were a high school student planning to attend college, I would absolutely choose RRCC over any other school in the state, hands down. The most important reasons for this are the low costs and the fact that most high schoolers don't know exactly what they want for a career so it's a good idea to pay as little as possible while getting a great education.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education at a really low rate. I was lucky to receive grants and scholarships for all of my schooling here, but if I had had to pay this would not have made a huge financial dent, which is really nice.

    Food and Dining

    I did not eat at this school because I took all online classes ( I highly recommend this!). I must say, however, that when I did visit the school, the food looked and smelled delicious!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at RRCC!

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that Red Rocks is an excellent academic school. To be quite honest, I initially chose RRCC because it was not far from home and it is not as expensive as many other schools. I did not expect the education I received to be as challenging and thorough as it was. I can say that my expectations were far exceeded.

    Tips for prospective students

    When I started at RRCC, I hadnt been in school for over 7 years, and I really had no idea about what to do in order to pursue my new-found educational dreams. Now that I've made it through 2 years at RRCC, I would just like to exhort future students to get all of the information you can regarding your particular academic goals and financial needs. I got all oft school at RRCC paid for through various grants and scholarships. All I had to do was ask and put in some extra effort to apply!

    In three sentences

    Red Rocks is a great school. I am 26 years old and work full time, and Red Rocks made it really easy for me to go to school online. I loved all of the classes I took over the last two years and I would recommend every single one of my teachers. I felt that each teacher was passionate about teaching and was very active in engaging students, which I k ow is not always easy. I have found that when I am on a school break, I long to be back in school and I think that part of the reason for this is because Red Rocks is a great school. One more thing I would like to add that I particularly liked about RRCC is the small campus!!

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent - about half of the cost of a 4 year college. Apply for the COF and save even more. RRCC also has a foundation that awards scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    I was there for classes only. I did see a lot of the younger students hanging out. There is a work out center, ping pong tables, a log of different clubs, etc. Not for me - I'm too old.

    Dorm Life

    NA - there is nothing on campus. There are condos close.

    Academic Rigor

    I found my classes to be challenging, but when you put in the work requested it is no big deal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute. There is quite a bit of prep work that needs to be done prior to enrolling in classes.

    In three sentences

    RRCC offers many different options for students; days, evenings, online, and accelerated classes. This was perfect for me, being a mom and working full time. Classes also transfer to major colleges.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you are interested in attending college online, i definitely suggest red rocks community college. the online classes are very easy to navigate, and the online teachers respond every day via email or phone call!

    What to do for fun

    red rocks community college is conveniently located between lakewood and golden. rrcc is next to denver, red rocks, the coors brewery and more!

    Food and Dining

    rrcc has delicious food in their food court! they update their menu every day, and you can always expect something new and delicious, for under six dollars!

    Dorm Life

    red rocks community college does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor is great! they have tons of classes and electives to choose from, from on campus classes to online classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    the best tip i could ever give to a prospective student, is to keep your head in the game! it is common to get distracted, but if you study, and do your homework on time, you will do great! keep your head in the game!!

    In three sentences

    red rocks community college has great customer service. not only do they have great customer service, but they're also very adamant about returning faq questions via email. rrcc, also, has pleanty of parking, which is always nice!

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    red rocks community college offers great tuiton pricing for all students. attending this college is a good way to accomplish your goals for your associates degree before moving on to a 4 year university.

    What to do for fun

    the school offers many opportunities for getting involved. there is a sport club that allows students to create or be involved with a sport. the school also offers discounts on movie tickets and has a gaming room with a pool table and video games.

    Food and Dining

    the school offers a cafeteria and a coffee shop. the cafeteria offers daily deals for meals and snacks.

    Academic Rigor

    red rocks community college academic rigor is reflected by setting high expectations with the students performance and offering support.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are unsure of your major or are struggling ask for help, the teachers and staff are extremely helpful and will assist you in becoming sucessful in your education.

    In three sentences

    red rocks community college offers a diverse population of students and courses. the school offers free walk-in tutoring for many classes as well as some free one-on-one tutoring. the campus encourages student involvement and offers many opportunities to involve yourself.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have sand volleyball in the spring and lots of clubs to sign up for!

    Tips for prospective students

    if you want a cheap school with good teachers, go to red rocks!

    In three sentences

    i have had great english teachers. the writing center is very helpful and willing to help you create wonderful papers. the online library chat is the most brilliant idea and i love it!

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police are very vigilant.

    Clubs and Activities

    they're somewhat hard to find, but they're there.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is such a melting pot, anyone could find their niche here.

    Bang for the buck

    it's pretty cheap compared to most colleges, and you definitely get a valuable education.

    What to do for fun

    there is also a movie theater in the mall as well as a putt-putt course.

    Food and Dining

    colorado mills mall is close by, and there are tons of restaurants around there.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes aren't the hardest, but they're not necessarily easy either.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're not sure about where you want to go with your education, than this is a really great place to start. you'll save money and have fun taking classes instead of stressing over classes you may not need.

    In three sentences

    everyone here is super helpful and are so willing to help you succeed. it's so easy to just walk in and do everything in one day. you can talk to an adviser, register for classes, and sign up for financial aid all in one visit. also, most of the instructors here are so willing to help and the classroom setting is really personal.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's tons!

    Great for these types of students

    young, very young and not really professional.

    What to do for fun

    excersise, meet in den, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in and get out, online classes are the best though this school.

    In three sentences

    It's an okay school, but the staff could be a little more enlighten and helpful to students.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station inside of the school

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs I could not even begin to tell you about all of them. If there is not a club for what you want you can always start one.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL!!

    Bang for the buck

    It is great that all of the credits transfer, so I can take two full years towards my Bachelors degree for cheap then transfer to a 4 year school for only 2 years.

    What to do for fun

    Play tennis, pool, PS3, go to the go all for free. there is much much more.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always good and cheap. The best is that they give out free popcorn and koolaid. For the students that need some extra help they do a food bank every weds.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk to as many people about your proffesor before taking the classes to make sure they would be a good fit for you.

    In three sentences

    Most of the teachers are great. There are many opportunities to be found here. The counselors are very helpful.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 14 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good

    Greek Life

    good

    Clubs and Activities

    Pool

    Great for these types of students

    good

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pool club

    Bang for the buck

    good

    What to do for fun

    Pool

    Food and Dining

    good

    Dorm Life

    good

    Academic Rigor

    good

    Tips for prospective students

    good

    In three sentences

    good

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I would recommend the gameroom where you can play pool or even play video games!

    Tips for prospective students

    just go and have fun, attend school with a good attitude and you'll be on your way to success!

    In three sentences

    A great school where learning is made easy and the size of each classroom facilitates the learning process

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Application process was simple. The Rock is really easy to navigate. Faculty/staff has excellent response time to e-mails.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is around the clock officers and I have never experienced unsafe encounter in my time there.

    Greek Life

    There is the honor society Phi Betta Capa that participates in volunteer and school activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities its always a joy to go to school.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are interested in transferring to a 2 year college and trying to get the best education for a cheaper price. Also those unsure of major wanting to try out classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Behind the school is a frolfing course and a half pipe, as well as a volleyball net.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are reasonably priced, because the education received is very good. Also parking and all other amenities are included in tuition.

    What to do for fun

    The game room has game systems. There is a den with guitar and a big screen monitor. There are ping pong tables, two tv rooms and a gym.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. The food from the grill is cooked at the moment of order in front of you. There is a cafe and vending machines. Also there is always free snacks like popcorn, yogurt, chips etc.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but across from the school are apartment complexes that many students live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The academia can be challenging at times but is manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out your fasfa as soon as possible to receive financial aid on time, and look at all the class options; weekend college online etc.

    In three sentences

    I love red rocks! Everyone is down to earth and very helpful. The classes are small sizes and the teachers are good with helping one on one with problems.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an on-site police station that keeps the campus in order.

    Clubs and Activities

    The list of clubs at Red Rocks Community College ranges from the very causal such as the Video Game and Knitting clubs, to the serious such as Women in IT and Poli Sci.

    Great for these types of students

    I think that this college is great for first time and returning students.

    What to do for fun

    Student life does all kinds of activities, ranging from Halloween costume contests to BBQ's. The student run clubs also do many activities throughout the school year, one of the largest is The Chill which is an all day gaming and anime event put on by the Video Game and Anime clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There is an on-site cafeteria which has two specials almost every day, even in summer. Although they do serve a wide variety of food people with dietary restructions may have a hard time getting food on campus. On the plus side there is also an on-site coffee shop seprate from the cafeteria that serves up a great variety of drinks.

    Dorm Life

    Since this is a community college there is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that Red Rocks Community College places high expectations on its students, and it only made me work harder to ensure I earned excellent grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the free tutoring, and don't be afraid to speak to instructors. I would also suggest joining a club or two to make new friends and find new interests.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college for first time students as well as for students who are returning after a sabbatical. There are many opportunities for students to become involved with clubs, honor societies, and even student government. The staff here is very helpful to all of the students and if the instructor is not available the college offers free tutoring for most classes.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun here, but I usually play pool fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food they serve here are delicious.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The school have high rating of graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many Students are glad they attend at Red Rocks Community College.

    In three sentences

    is a great school to start with. It have a lot of opportunity and many career path. It is also have a lot of program to prepare you to a four years university.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always officers on deck for a clean and safe environment.

    Greek Life

    I have not learned about any type of Greek life yet. It seems to me that there is a great amount of diversity here and all are welcome.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs to choose from come see which one is best for you!!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of student, especially one that enjoys beautiful fresh nature.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is beautiful all around and has a very delightful open area with fresh mountain air.

    Bang for the buck

    The school has everything you need in a college and has an excellent atmosphere for study. You can tell all is new and innovative for the student.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities on campus to do for fun. Some which include: basketball courts, tennis courts, volleyball court, ping pong, pool, and even a gym for physical exercise. There are plenty of computer labs for online fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is phenomenal and everything is cooked in front of you. The cafeteria is nice with good room for enjoying lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Red Rocks Apartments are right across the street from school. Great for any student just minutes away. Beautiful area with a great view of wonderful Colorado.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that the school has excellent teachers that are here for all students to succeed. It's tough, but well organized with great teaching strategies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a nice tour of the school through our administrative office. Make sure to speak with counselor for any additional information on the school. The tuition fees are very low compared to many other colleges.

    In three sentences

    Red Rocks community college has a wonderful study atmosphere. The teachers here are great and I feel that they truly want to help every student succeed. Red Rocks Community College has an excellent amount of study programs to choose from.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feels safe and have never encountered a problem. Not many people at night though which can be a little scary.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Going back to school, performed poorly in high school, on a budget, busy schedule with kids and multiple jobs.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty cheap, but only worth it if your credits transfer.

    What to do for fun

    There is not really a whole bunch to do. There is, however, a rock-climbing wall (I never see anyone use it), a Frisbee golf course, volleyball net, and a few intramural sports.

    Food and Dining

    No food super close by, you'd have to drive. The cafeteria food is OK, but it is not open very late at all. Same with the coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a community college so it's not like it is supposed to be hard, but you definitely learn and have to work at it with some classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know exactly what you want to do before you sign up for classes. If not, you could end up taking a ton of courses that are not needed or won't transfer into the desired program at another school.

    In three sentences

    Campus location is nice and has a good view. Best community college in the area. Prepares you for a four-year for the most part or an applied career.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hiking, pool tables, game room, TV room, gym,

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are hard and some are easy, it really depends on the course and the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources that the collage has available such as; tutoring, computer lab, advisor, etc...

    In three sentences

    Red Rocks Community is an amazing collage with small class sizes, dedicated teachers, and a wide variety of resources for students. This collage is an amazing step up for many students that come from nontraditional settings. Even though this college is much cheaper than other colleges in the Denver area is a great school to attend.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    High security-I have never had any issues, even with my night classes.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Great for these types of students

    New, returning and adult students.

    Bang for the buck

    Great bang for your buck!

    What to do for fun

    Play frisbee golf. Go skiing or biking or hiking. There is tons to do-you have the city and the mountains at your fingertips!

    Academic Rigor

    medium

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help when you are nervous, unsure, or broke. There is an amazing advising staff willing to go the extra distance for you-all you have to do is ask!

    In three sentences

    Red Rocks has been extremely helpful and supportive-being an adult student has been challenging and without the support I have received I don't know how I would have done it. I would recommend Red Rocks to any returning students, adult students, or even brand new college students. Special thanks to the advising staff-they are wonderful especially when I feel apprehensive about a transition or class.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am back to school after 10 years and didn't feel the least bit out of place. It's wonderful for returning students.

    Bang for the buck

    Phenomenal, couldn't be happier with what I got for what tuition costs.

    What to do for fun

    Running near the campus is very nice. Beautiful area, on both campuses.

    Food and Dining

    Great, inexpensive, overall nice offering.

    Academic Rigor

    I had a misconception that a community college would be easier than the University, and was completely wrong, it was challenging in a very good way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors.

    In three sentences

    This place is great, reminds me of the University I got my degree from. Very nice, clean, organized. I preferred going here over the other Colleges which were much closer to where I live.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    An excellent focus on safety, also has a training program for up and coming law enforcement professionals.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many for all interests.

    Great for these types of students

    All students, yet also great for those continuing education later in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    RRCC has a great gaming room and theater program, shows are free to students.

    What to do for fun

    So many activities to choose from, I recommend them all.

    Food and Dining

    Great open cafeteria at a reasonable price for students and the general public.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms provided

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep an open mind and use the services provided.

    In three sentences

    Open, honest and supportive of single parents. Instruction is provided by educators with actual experience in the fields being taught. Many resources for educational assistance.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    9/ 10

    Academic Rigor

    8 out of 10

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus police patrolling the campus all the time and their main office is easily accessible.

    Greek Life

    There is none as far as I know

    Clubs and Activities

    If there isn't a club that doesn't spark your interest you can always start one that will

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want to still experience college and college activities without the big price tag of going to a four year institution. Also for students who need more one on one time to better absorb information from their classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The commons area is a blast to hang out in. There is ping pong, pool, tv, and plenty of places to unwind with your friends between classes!

    Bang for the buck

    I feel since it is a community college it is still pretty pricey per credit hour but in comparison to a four year institution this place is cheap especially with all of the typical college activities still occurring on campus. However the bookstore on campus is a rip off--- I highly suggest you buy your books online.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of clubs on campus and if there isn't a club that interests you there is the option of always starting up your own club. The arts programs host several concerts and plays throughout the year for the public to enjoy and the disc golf course is a blast to play.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has 2 different specials every day and then there is a grill that has the same menu everyday for you to order off of. The only down side is that if you do want to order from the grill area the wait is anywhere between 10 to 30 minutes long because there is typically only 1 or 2 chefs.

    Dorm Life

    As far as I know there is no dorm or on campus living

    Academic Rigor

    I went to Colorado School of Mines before attending Red Rocks to pursue my degree in another field and the Red Rocks courses are just as hard as they were at Mines, which is saying something. The one benefit of going to Red Rocks though is that you get smaller class sizes and more one on one attention from the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are struggling tell someone immediately!!! There are several resources to help you out. Go to the teacher's office hours and use the tutoring in the LARC because even if there isn't a tutor for your class someone there will know who can help you and how to get a hold of them.

    In three sentences

    Red Rocks is an inviting institution that focuses on their students success. It has highly involved teachers with offices hours, tutoring in the library, and fellow students to help you get through the rough patches. The teachers are knowledgeable in their fields even when compared to a four year institution.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not involved

    Great for these types of students

    People with odd work schedules, parents and high school seniors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The theater is hidden, but they put on great shows - and you can rent costumes from their costume department.

    What to do for fun

    There is a volleyball pit in the courtyard!

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with advisors early in the current semester for the upcoming semester to avoid not getting the classes you prefer and the long waits for one to be available.

    In three sentences

    I love the smaller classes! Red Rocks has energetic helpful professors who care about their students success. The advisors are very knowledgeable about what is needed to graduate and transfer schools.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am so happy that I chose Red Rocks to continue my college career. I know that I am guaranteed a great education and help on my journey to becoming a police officer. There are tons of oppurtunities that Red Rocks has to offer and I am so greatful for all the staff's help they have given. GO RED ROCKS!

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The wonderful officers and security guards are more concerned on public safety than harmless mistakes. They are willing to help the students and guests to the fullest potential. Just do not park illegally.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a laid back but motivated person, you will like this school. The student body and interest is diverse. If you are looking to learn something you never thought you would enjoy or fathom, this is a great start to a new beginning.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that for the money I have invested in my college career at RRCC I have received an excellent amount of education. I am overall satisfied with my decision to attend Red Rocks right out of High School.

    What to do for fun

    Red Rocks CC offer a plethora of student involved activities. You can join clubs such as knitting, hiking, frolf, ect. There is a game room, movie room, library, and occasional bingo offered.

    Food and Dining

    The school cafeteria has a great staff and offers decent food and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    This is community college, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is always willing to work with its students and their needs. Failing classes is not acceptable but if there is a failed class here and there Red Rocks Community College will assist in advising or creating tutoring plans to keep grades up. The expectations are directed more on the students behalf, what do they want to achieve?

    Tips for prospective students

    Play around with some classes at Red Rocks community College. Find something new and unique to dig into, you might fall in love with something you never imagined. Create a self goal or plan for your college career. Keep your priorities in line; go to class and do your homework because it always pays off. Remember to have fun and make a difference!

    In three sentences

    This is a great school to begin with right out of High School. Red Rocks Community Colleges strives to offer students a plethora of opportunities to dig their hands in. Whether the students know what their educational goal is or for those who are just letting the story unfold this is a beautiful start to find a great path in life.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out all the different student services they have there are many just make sure to ask

    In three sentences

    This is an amazing school. Very friendly staff and student. Many services to help you achieve while in school.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards are great! Very considerate and concerned with the students, I needed to visit them to get a handicapped placard for my car, they were very nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    The tutoring help available here is great! The disability office has been very accommodating, and is caring about all students. The student lounge is a great place to just hang out.

    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend Red Rocks to a student fresh out of high school, or a non-traditional student seeking more skills or a degree. The atmosphere is welcoming to all.

    Bang for the buck

    Red Rocks is one of the least expensive ways to begin your quest for those college credits. Consult your adviser to confirm the classes you want will transfer, if you are seeking a four year degree.

    What to do for fun

    The Colorado Mountains are beautiful anytime of year. There are places to horse-back ride or hike, ski, fish or just sit and enjoy the peacefulness. There are many fairs and fests through out the year. In the fall I like to make it to as many of the harvest fests as possible.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the college is so good, and reasonable too. They have a full meal deal each day or a grill menu to choose from. The full meal is a lot like home cooked food.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't do this, sorry!

    Academic Rigor

    I've taken most of my classes through the C.C.C.O. (online) portal at Red Rocks. Because the integrity of the college and your own integrity is at stake, expect to work a little harder on online courses. The first semester you should put aside at least 6 hours of homework time for each class you take. Hang in there!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for your FAFSA early, and check your college email often. If your classes seem overwhelming at first, don't be discouraged; after the first few weeks it will be a breeze. Hang in there and don't give up!

    In three sentences

    Red Rocks community college is a place to start earning your credits towards your degree. The advisers know just how to guide you towards your goals. The people there make everyone feel welcome and at home.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I would HIGHLY encourage potential students to look into going to RRCC. It is a great place to learn in beautiful Lakewood,CO.

    Food and Dining

    Yum! I love lunch time.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be challenging but it is worth it and they go at a reasonable pace.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go and talk to an admissions counselor- they can help you every step of the way and they are fountain of knowledge.

    In three sentences

    I love this college! They are caring thorough and helpful in every way imaginable. I can't wait to spend the next couple of years here.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police cars are always parked in front of the school and the police are easy to contact because of the small campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are around ten clubs currently and not many people get involved in them.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who may be older and looking for better job opportunities. The school is also good for students strapped on cash who cannot afford a four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    This school costs less than half of what a university will cost. It's a good option to start out here and transfer later on to save money.

    What to do for fun

    There are typically events held every week, such as movie nights and concerts for the school's symphonic band. There are a handful of clubs as well like Psychology Club and Rainbow Alliance.

    Food and Dining

    Although I have not tried the dining room food before, I have heard complaints about it.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes have been fairly easy and the teachers have been pretty leniant about the assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students who planned on going elsewhere but couldn't afford going to a university for all four years, this college can be a disappointment. Just be patient and you'll make it through!

    In three sentences

    Red Rocks Community College does not have many social opportunities. It can be very difficult to make friends here because most people just do their own things. The classes themselves can be very interesting though, and the teachers care about their students.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore Denver! There are great trails and outdoor life near campus

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at red rocks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial situation figured out immediatly. Advising is tough to deal with. Red Rocks is a very simple school.

    In three sentences

    Red rocks is a good simple community college. It is very student oriented with teachers looking out for the success of students. Red Rocks is a small campus allowing good interaction with fellow students.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always cops on site and red rocks has their own separate fire safety course that trains students to become fire fighters.

    Greek Life

    At red rocks community college, the only greek club that they have is also their honors club, its an awesome club given that you are among a bunch of students who are wanting to transfer to a 4 year university.

    Clubs and Activities

    In the honors club, red rocks has quite the support group and within this club there are many opportunities to gain leadership experience and/or volunteer hours.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is perfect for those students that can't really afford college expenses or for those who would like to save some money on their first couple of years in college. Also this college is perfect for those who want to just get an education and not trashed from so many college parties.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since this college is nothing more than a community college there isn't a developed culture, which makes it seem kinda plain.

    Bang for the buck

    For how much the college cost, this college is perfect, because we all have to pay so much money for college. If you plan on transferring, why not spend half on your first two years here and spend the rest of it at the expensive university.

    What to do for fun

    They have some ping pong tables and a game room where you can play pool or video games and they do have a large list of games available to play. Besides that, you could alway go into their computer labs and mess around there.

    Food and Dining

    Most of their food is pretty good and the menu changes every week, but its not exactly a 5 star restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have official dorms but they do have apartments that are right across from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They give you a healthy challenge but the college students are treated as if they just got out of high school and not students that have just entered college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before you decide on what classes you should take make sure you get a student's point of view on the teachers available, because there are some teachers that are amazing and some that shouldn't even be teaching.

    In three sentences

    Great place for those who want to get back into the college world. They offer great classes that are transferable at a discounted amount. Among colorado's community college, Red Rocks is by far one of the best.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I rarely hear any bad news. So, I think the campus is quite safe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I definitely have to say the unusual location on campus would be the theater/arcade area? I don't think there's a lot of schools that have that.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is definitely very affordable!

    What to do for fun

    There's massage available. There's a workout room. And I guess a theater area with free popcorn!

    Food and Dining

    I never really eat on campus much. But when I did, I thought the food was ok. There's always free popcorn!

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college, there are no dorms on campus. There are plenty of apartments and homes located around the area. The environment is definitely beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the instructor, class, and degree. And probably also depends on how well you adapt to the studying habits to enable you to keep up with the courses. Maybe also depends on how well you can understand the material, and if not, then how you go about learning it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to enter into a different studying environment, mostly if you have just finished high school and this is the first college experience. Definitely ask a lot of questions, if you are ever uncertain then speak up and ask. Try to find a study group, helps to learn and hear from another perspective.

    In three sentences

    Red Rocks is a beautiful campus. The students are very eager to learn and the instructors are very helpful and passionate about their job. The campus overall is a great place to earn a degree because of the friendly and challenging environment.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am a mom to a toddler and Red Rocks provides the schedule and affordability that allows me to attend. It is also welcoming to people of all ages, so everyone can feel comfortable here.

    Bang for the buck

    Red Rocks is very affordable and provides an excellent education.

    What to do for fun

    I love that the school provides fun activities. There is a gym available for students, pool tables, video games, and much more!

    Food and Dining

    The food is affordable, healthy, and tasty. The dining area has plenty of room and is never too crowded.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, so I am unable to accurately rate dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been challenged, but also enthused in my learning. I have also been able to receive and assistance I needed to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is always someone available to answer questions, so as long as you can stay organized and have self-discipline you will do excellent.

    In three sentences

    Red Rocks is a wonderful college that provides wonderful opportunities to everyone. The teachers are all kind, flexible, understanding, and most importantly knowledgeable. The various schedule options and financial aid have also helped me to be successful here.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is their own police on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    One for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Recovering addicts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have recovery meetings on campus to help with maintaining sobriety which is awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    I think it's very fairly priced.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of activities on and off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and use the resources on campus! They are free and extremely helpful.

    In three sentences

    I love Red Rocks! It's been very easy to get the classes I want and at the times I want! Teachers, Learning Center, and Writing Center are awesome!

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kapa is a great club, all you have to do is keep your grades up.

    What to do for fun

    Join Clubs, or watch a film outside of Red Rocks on a huge screen! They always provide free popcorn!

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good food!

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Ask for teacher recommendations. Most of the teachers are excellent, but I did have two not so good teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always buy textbooks for the class even if the teacher says they are needed not recommended. Although they're not recommended, they are ALWAYS helpful.

    In three sentences

    Red Rocks is a great school, it offers a great sense of community and togetherness. To make the most out of your learning experience I would suggest joining a club or two!

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Red Rocks has tons of clubs to join that people might be interested in. I didn't have the time to join one, but I did get a good look at a few of them while I was there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fine, but personally I'd rather head to the Denny's down the road.

    Dorm Life

    There is no Dorm Life, however there are apartments next to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers there are all there to help you learn, and will do anything they can to make sure you're getting the education you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'd recommend this if you're planning on getting college classes on your belt, they're great with helping you get acclimated with college classes and how you should prepare for future college life.

    In three sentences

    Red Rocks, at it's best, is a great school to attend for anyone looking to grab a couple of classes on the college level of learning under their belt. I was able to get the information I needed as well as get used to how much you'll have to do in university classes. If I could change one thing, it'd probably be the amount of online material from each class.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone at all. Red Rocks has an extremely diverse array of people, and it is a very welcoming place to be. You will find people just like you in no time!

    Bang for the buck

    This is the perfect place to go if you are looking to save money on some general education courses! I have saved so much money this year.

    What to do for fun

    Look into the many clubs they offer, relax in one of the several lounge areas, play games in the game room, watch movies and eat popcorn in The Den, or sit outside and enjoy the lovely scenery and amazing Colorado weather!

    Food and Dining

    Red Rocks has a wonderful cafeteria and a super cool coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Red Rocks Community College, but if there were I am sure they would be great!

    Academic Rigor

    It certainly depends on what classes you take, but the general college courses I've taken so far have been quite easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry one bit if you aren't sure where you'd like to go for college and everything in the future. I was as confused as could be, so I took a year to get some general education courses completed at Red Rocks, and I am so glad I did! Now I am transferring to CU Boulder, and I have a very good idea of what I'd like to go into. Over this past year, not only have I saved lots of money from getting some general courses out of the way, but I've also been inspired, met amazing new people, and had a very great time at Red Rocks.

    In three sentences

    Red Rocks is a wonderful place! There are so many different opportunities and there is such a diverse array of people. Whether you're planning on finishing college at Red Rocks or transferring somewhere else, they certainly have you covered with their giant selection of fantastic classes and excellent teachers!

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is well maintained and is staffed with it's own full-time police department.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide variety of active clubs. The student life center hosts a number of events each semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Those looking for a place to take a few classes while continuing to work full time, or those who want to save money by taking the general ed. courses before transferring to a larger university.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are very cheap compared to many other colleges and universities [~$2500 per semester for a full time student]. Many discounted or free services are available and paid for by the student fees.

    What to do for fun

    Many people are currently working, but a large number utilize many of the local parks and trails, or any of the activities offered by the college.

    Food and Dining

    Number of local restaurants within easy driving or walking distance, and a decent cafeteria and coffee shop.

    Academic Rigor

    Many classes are designed as general ed. courses that transfer directly to most regional colleges. Other classes are often highly specialized.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources available: talk yo your instructor and go get free tutoring of you need it.

    In three sentences

    Smaller college that offers wide variety of courses and scheduling options. Classes are small, with instructors who know how to teach and know their subject well, often from experience.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs available to join. Always check out the Student's Center to get the latest news. Free popcorn at the movie center plus a gym!

    Food and Dining

    There is only a small food court, which I haven't tried yet.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I was told in my Astronomy class that we use the same textbooks as they do in Harvard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get involved in as many organisations as possible to make the most of your stay here. Don't be afraid to talk to couselors because they always have great advice.

    In three sentences

    I think Red Rocks is a good transition from high school to university. There are lots of activities and clubs available to join. The staff and students are very friendly and make you feel right at home.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many people hang around at the school between classes so get to know people! There are also many clubs and activities!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has been my favorite so far and they are open late!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes varie in difficulty. I have been very pleased with my instruction. So far I feel very prepared for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions and get to know people.

    In three sentences

    Red Rocks has been a very good school for me. The Teachers and Staff are helpful and eager to get you where you want to be. They give sincere advice and truly want whats best for their students.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Great for starting off

    In three sentences

    It is a great school

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are very helpful, and the average response time from the nearby fire department, from my personal experience, is about 3-4 minutes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everyone is so accepting here, so you could probably find the club you want if you look hard enough.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone who is willing to put in the time and effort, ranging from someone just taking some classes to learn on their own time, to students such as myself, working to transfer as an engineer over to Colorado School of Mines.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The hallway by the cafeteria always has events going on, such as career fairs and college fairs. These helped me on my way alot! The Learning Commons, located below the library, offers a wide range of tutoring and other success help!

    Bang for the buck

    Again, make sure you know what you are getting into. Red Rocks will remove you from a course if you do not attend, and trust me it is worth it to attend class!

    What to do for fun

    Clubs ranging from chess club to theatre club. The 'Den', or the hangout area will show movies and have guest speakers, and usually has free food for the students. Visit rrcc.edu for upcoming events!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria and coffee shop are wonderful! The cafeteria always has specials, and their menu can satisfy just about everyone.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home with my parents; so the commute is really what I deal with. The parking is not all that bad as long as you don't mind a bit of a walk some days. During the winter there are always plows and workers making everything as clear and safe as possible.

    Academic Rigor

    Watch out for the teachers you sign up for. Some will grade you on their opinion of you, whereas others will stick to the point scale grading system.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check in with your counselor if you are unsure about anything! They want to help you succeed! Only sign up for those classes that you are willing to do the work for; remember, you are paying for this!

    In three sentences

    Great place to start if one is undecided on a major. There are classes ranging from the beginning yoga class to differential equations. The campus is beautiful and everyone there is ready and willing to help you succeed.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    pool, gaming, table tennis, and many school activities are offered.

    Food and Dining

    they have a grill in he cafeteria and they make very delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    very good

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out what classes you need to take and be sure to check if there are prerequisites.

    In three sentences

    is great, it has a variety of students and programs offered and a variety of clubs and activities to do.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Red Rocks Community College is a college that I highly recommend for people who are fresh out of high school and who are looking for a nice transition from a high school setting to a college setting. This college has excellent instructors and advisers who are always willing to help students out. The class size for every classroom is, in my opinion, just right for any college freshman, because the class size usually consists of 12 to 18 people per class.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Denver is 15 minutes away, but it would probably be better to study instead of going down town.

    Food and Dining

    Can't say, never tried anything past the vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is dorm life. One of the benefits of RRCC is it is usually very close to home so you don't have to live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Just like any college class, it really depends on the professor you get. Try to do research and find friends who have taken the class before to find out how hard or easy the teacher is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention during the orientation. It'll help you out with navigating the online aspect of college such as registering for courses and going to online classes.

    In three sentences

    RRCC may not seem like much on the outside but it has a lot to offer. The teachers and staff are very helpful and are there to help you succeed. RRCC is keeping up with technology to make it a great college for people just starting.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    51 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i felt Red Rocks Community College is pretty safety.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i'm not really sure

    What to do for fun

    i playing sport , like tennis.

    Food and Dining

    same as high school

    Tips for prospective students

    -study hard -looking up for the future -never give up in the life.

    In three sentences

    I like Red Rocks Community College so far, and it is easy and sample. the major i trying to attending Red Rocks Community College because prices were pretty cheap.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well there is a lot to do for fun around here. There is a lot of places nearby to have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start here if you don't know where to go. It is a great place to start, it will definitely lead you to where you want to go.

    In three sentences

    Well Red Rocks is an amazing college for everyone. It is a college with opportunity and with freedom. It is a great place to study and to start off your education.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ones that don't fit the typical university description... people with alternative lifestyles, children, jobs, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    5 stars

    What to do for fun

    Sit outside, socialize, or play in the game room. Most likely you'll seek fun outside of the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is not the healthiest or tastiest. The coffee shop is great.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty varies based on classes. Some are more straight-forward and easy than the classes I took in high school. Others challenge both your ideals as well as your academic commitment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan out your degree path or make sure that the classes you are taking are transferable.

    In three sentences

    A culturally diverse school. It offers one-on-one attention in nearly all classrooms as well as through campus services. You are not just a number or a source of money, here at Red Rocks you are recognized as a human being that, with the right assistance, can change the world.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students needing to get their bang for their buck. Students that need flexibility in class schedules. Students that prefer online classes.

    Bang for the buck

    As long as you make sure your classes will transfer, it is so much cheaper to knock classes out through RRCC to get the credits taken care of for a cheap price.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is a community college, and some of the classes I have taken have required an extensive amount of time on a weekly basis, and some classes require very little effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into different coursework medium opportunities. Classes are offered in all three semesters, and they can be accelerated, online, hybrid, or lecture based classes.

    In three sentences

    The online courses are extremely helpful for pursuing requirements for a future degree. All of the teachers are understanding and try to help the students understand the system as well as pass the class. Each class offers a new skill to learn and helps students broaden their knowledge in computers, school- based knowledge, as well as people skills.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Right out of HS or the non-traditional student

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are cheap and the FREE walk-in tutoring is so fantastic!!

    What to do for fun

    We have tons of clubs and activities for people to get into. If you want it and we don't have it, you can always start up your own club or group!

    Food and Dining

    We have a regular cafeteria that serves decent food. We also have the coffee shop and they do a great cup of coffee and grab and go type things to eat.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    As with any school, the teacher makes the class. I have had great luck with my teachers but I do look them up and ask around about them to give myself the best chance to find a good teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the Learning Commons!! We have tons of great resources for students and this school goes above and beyond to help students succeed. We offer walk-in tutoring which is a great help!

    In three sentences

    I love this school! I work on campus also and that gives me a chance to meet a lot of new people and be involved in the school from two perspectives.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The entire I've attended for the last two years, I've only heard of one student's car getting broken into in the parking lot, and there have been no other safety issues that I have been aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and organizations for all different interests, from metaphysics club to russian club to math club, engineering club, and technology club. Honors society and student government are very accessible.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap tuition (comparatively), amazing student resources, small class sizes, and great professors. Facilities are great for many areas of study.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations at the school, as well as the den with a large projector screen to watch movies or play games on. There is a game room which has pool tables, gaming consoles, and games.

    Food and Dining

    There is the cafeteria which is closed except for weekday mornings and afternoons, and the coffee shop which has pretty good drinks and awesome employees. The den also offers free popcorn and kool-aid to students. It's great when your budget is a little tight.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at a community college aren't going to be as difficult as those at a university, but the concepts and the material are covered thoroughly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and be actively involved in whatever passions you may wish to pursue. There is almost something for everyone here.

    In three sentences

    Red Rocks Community College is the best thing that ever happened to me. The small class sizes and sense of community enable students to realize their own potential. The student resources and campus activities have made my experience here unforgettable.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When it comes to campus safety, the campus police are always around the campus and they are usually station at the main entrance.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lot of clubs on the Red Rocks campus that any of the Rock's student can fit in. Even if you try joining a club and you notice it is not right for you, there are many more out there that you could be interested in.

    What to do for fun

    The gamming room is open at almost every time where you can find different games including video games. you can also gather outside with your friends and play any outdoor game for fun because there is both shade and open field.

    Food and Dining

    Although I haven't spent longer time at the Rocks or don't usually get food from the cafeteria, the few times I have been to the cafeteria, it is not like a four years college. And all the times I went there, I got what I wanted.

    Dorm Life

    Like other community colleges, Red Rocks doesn't have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Other than the first week of school where I was getting used to the campus, everything have been going on smoothly.

    In three sentences

    Red Rocks is one of the affordable colleges in the Denver Metro area. It has articulated transfer agreement with some of the top ranked universities in the Nation and the short time I have been here, I believe things never get better than this because there is lot of fun stuff to do on campus.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have Red Rocks Police Department and police that patrol the area. A warning to people who speed down the road next to the campus because they are always stopping to issue a ticket for speeding.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs

    Bang for the buck

    I have saved a lot of money compared to a University for just my regular classes. It's cheaper to get those out of the way and then transfer to a University and finish out your degree.

    What to do for fun

    They have basketball courts, tennis courts, and volleyball court on campus. Also, their are a lot of open space to just toss a frisbee or baseball around.

    Food and Dining

    I have not really eaten the cafeteria food but I'm sure it's comparable to $8-$10 meal.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms but I believe apartments that are associated with the college. I have not had a chance to live much in the dorms. I have crashed in a few friend's dorm rooms a few nights. I always lived with roommates near the school. I can say that living on the dorms, my friends seem to make it to class more than my friends that lived off campus. So, living in the dorms is positive reinforcement for the students.

    Academic Rigor

    I've learned many new things that I can apply to day to day life. I use to see through my created cultural lens, but now I can see in unique ways that I couldn't before.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on setting a goals focused on a weekly schedule. First, you have 1-2 weeks before a paper is due. Second, create a daily schedule to find time to find your sources for the paper. Every day you can write a paragraph or set out 45 minutes to focus on your paper. Finally, you will have plenty of time to focus and get momentum on your next assignment. NEVER, try to cram in studying or papers. I've tried doing many cramming assignment and studying and it always fails.

    In three sentences

    My psychology teacher really knew his material and had many personal experiences, stories to share with the class. He was over qualified for this psychology course, due to having his own clinal psych practice, volunteer firefighter, and working at the hospital.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is an excellent option to get the general requirements out of the way then transfer. Its sooo much cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    There are manny clubs to join and if there isn't one available you can start your own! There are events and there is free popcorn almost all of the time.

    Food and Dining

    Popcorn. all the time. There is also a little cafe which has good pizza.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes as early as possible. They get filled up right away. Sign up for clubs or go to some of the events that the school has in order to meet new people. Also don't be afraid to talk to a professor or adviser. Always ask questions.

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent school to go to if you don't know what you want to do for a career as well as to meet people of all cultural backgrounds and ages. The class sizes are small and its relatively easy to talk to a professor or adviser. If you want to move on to a university most gen ed courses are transferrable to any college in Colorado, which is a huge plus.

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Second degree students who want a skill that will make them employable.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent job skills training.

    What to do for fun

    Most people are there to get a job.

    Food and Dining

    Very few people eat there. It is more a commuter campus

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most tests are multiple choice and classes are pretty traditional.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you are there for. Social development and a liberal arts exposure are probably not going to be found. Red Rocks is a good place to get real knowledge that will help you get a job.

    In three sentences

    An efficient, utilitarian education. Quality for a really affordable price. No frills, bells or whistles.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never seen anything go wrong at red rocks. There is always school security helping out and ready for anything. They are always friendly too.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like stated in the what to do for fun, Red Rocks has an extensive list of clubs and activities available to students.

    Great for these types of students

    Red Rocks is perfect for students that don't know what they want to go into, students that don't want to go full time, or students that are just broke and want to save money before going on to a 4 year school.

    Bang for the buck

    Every teacher I've had in my two years has been over the top, fantastic, easy to work with, and they all have a desire to see you succeed. For the cheap pricing of classes, you definitely get all the bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    The den offers several club options like video game club and anime club, there are several sport and outdoor options that are always available to join, there is a full FREE fitness center, and a game room with pool tables, pinball, and video games as well. There is plenty to do for fun at red rocks if you just keep your eyes open.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Red Rocks is phenomenal. The kitchen in the cafeteria has never disappointed and has always made delicious food. There is a full menu and several snack options that are very affordable and great. Also, there is free popcorn in the den every day.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms or on campus housing at Red Rocks, but there are apartment complexes right across from the school that offer a discount as a student. They are decent considering their price, but living at home and commuting or finding a different complex nearby may be more beneficial.

    Academic Rigor

    Certainly depending on classes you take, some classes will be more rigorous than others. Overall these classes are meant for people who work full time jobs and try to fit school into their busy lives, so professors aren't going to make the class unbearable and impossible because they understand that the majority of students are busy and are doing more with their life than school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always explore your options and try several different classes. Compared to university these classes are dirt cheap, so take as many as you want in as many different fields as you want. Red Rocks has a very diverse lineup of classes that are suitable for anyone.

    In three sentences

    The best place to start into college. Has fantastic teachers. Very inexpensive.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Two locations.

    What to do for fun

    Disc Golf!

    Food and Dining

    The Arvada staff is wonderful about having snacks available throughout the day.

    Academic Rigor

    Easier than most colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be organized.

    In three sentences

    Welcoming, friendly staff. Small class sizes. Offers all the basic courses.

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    63 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, but still get the college feeling!

    In three sentences

    I actually did some high school classes that allowed RRCC credit. I love that this school allows me to have that opportunity, and I'm eager to see what other chances I'll have there. So far, it's a great school!

  • 06/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are very friendly and always willing to help out!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus, and it's easy to start a new one!

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students getting back in to college, or high-school students that want to try out some cheap classes.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great place to get some general ed courses out of the way for cheap before transferring to a larger school.

    What to do for fun

    You're in the city of Lakewood, the mountains are about 10 miles away. Go hiking! If not you're also just 10 miles from Denver.

    Food and Dining

    The campus cafeteria provides... cafeteria food. It's not that great, but it's cheap. There is also a coffee shop that provides fairly decent coffee and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorms. This is community college

    Academic Rigor

    The classes generally aren't that hard, it is a community college after all. It really depends on the instructor though. Some instructor's will really challenge you, while others will practically hand you an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's easy to get in. Once you start attending, make sure not to slack off!

    In three sentences

    Probably the best community college in the Denver/Metro Area. Beautiful campus, and a lot of transfer opportunities.

  • 10/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    RRCC actually has a full-blown police station INSIDE the school.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is the well-known honor society of Community Colleges and has a huge role at RRCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have oodles of clubs at RRCC, from lacrosse and rugby to psychology and table-top gaming. Joining one or more isn't merely a matter of resume padding, but a way to instantly integrate into the community.

    Great for these types of students

    I'd recommend RRCC for anyone that likes to move at their own pace (whatever pace that may be), as well as anyone who is found of massive amounts of resources, events, and facilities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    By the West entrance, there is a massive cement area that goes down three floors to the ground. The wall of the building is painted into a gorgeous surrealist mural by our resident artistic super star, Mary Schaefer-Brink. Her work can be found all over the school and for sale in the Coffee Shop.

    Bang for the buck

    Location, location, location. RRCC is not only at an evironmental intersection, but an active one as well. We're right by dozens of restaurants, fast food joints, and the mall. Not to mention two different movie theatres and a slew of bookstores, grocery stores, and a national park or two. All within five minutes of the school.

    What to do for fun

    There are oodles and oodles and, big surprise, OODLES of clubs. If by some chance we don't have one you're interested in, feel free to start one, with only a handful of members you not only have an official club, but weekly snacks and a semester-based budget. If you're not interested in all that, go watch our theatre kids put on shows, or hang out in the Game Room to play pool, Xbox, Playstation or just mess about on the PCs. You could also wander down to the Den and see what event they're putting on, or just check the school calendar (emailed weekly). But if hustle-and-bustle is beyond you, a walk around campus is the best way to clear your head and unwind after classes.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria, while staffed with friendly, helpful folks, doesn't have the greatest food. It's more the quality of what's ordered, rather than how it's prepared. Likewise, if you have any dietary concerns or allergies, you may want to look elsewhere (like the wealth of local restaurants). That said, there are great, healthy, and often allergy-friendly snacks available in the coffee shop and bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    We don't exactly have dorms, but we do have nearby (within walking distance) and relatively affordable apartments. They're predominately marketed to students, and rumor has it that if we become a four-year college, they may become dorms outright.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not a huge fan of the star system for this. As with most schools, the academic rigor here depends upon your major, your teachers, your workload, and your work ethic. There are some teachers who will throttle you with learning so hard that your brain will be bruised by knowledge for life, and others who understand the occasional need for mental regression and throw random silly art projects into the mix every week or so. Just ask around to find out who's who.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn the landmarks. The Bridge, the Den, the Coffee Shop, Bookstore, Great Hall, Learning Commons, the Student Life Desk, and Community Room are key navigational points to the interior of campus and will guide you in getting everything from a latte to your next class on time. Also, make use of the resources. We have tons of free tutoring, counseling, food, events, materials, and even work opportunities. Ask around and we'll show you where to go and what to do; after these are all products of your student fees at work.

    In three sentences

    Red Rocks sits at the intersection of mountains, plateaus, city, planes, and sky. It brings this diverse Coloradan center to its lush campus and thriving student body, letting everyone in on its sense of scenic unity. The faculty and staff (largely comprised of students), only serve to reinforce this.