Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Reedley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    the prices per credit is far.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready because college is a big change from high school. college involves being able to be on top of things because no one tells you what you need to be doing.

    In three sentences

    reedley college is a good school to be community college. the instructors teacher very well. the instructors expect a lot from each student.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    trails walks, events, farm, and sourndings with beautiful nature.

    Food and Dining

    the food is well prepare .

    Dorm Life

    i have not has a dorm life experience.but the dorms just got remodel.look great.

    Academic Rigor

    well educated instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask question and get to know the instructors.always keep your mind set of things positive way. do not procrastinate and keep a routine that helps you through in learning .one important thing is to challenge your self, set goals.

    In three sentences

    helpful and beneficial programs for student. an accredited program by the naeyc child development center in which gives an opportunity for labs in the highest quality for feature early childhood teachers. great instructors.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police is very strict and they circle the parking lot non-stop and walk around campus but other than that the atmosphere and the people are really nice. it's a great school.

    Bang for the buck

    there are bookstores across the street from the school that sell cheaper books then the ones on campus. also finding books online are a way to go.

    What to do for fun

    the games are always fun to go to and the recreation room is always fun. i always hang with friends and play pool.

    Food and Dining

    it's good if you have money.

    Dorm Life

    i live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    awesome academics most classes are transferable and are cheaper to take then at state.

    Tips for prospective students

    be 100% sure of your major, i changed mine like 10x and took classes that were unnecessary for my major when i did graduate. if you plan on going to state afterwards, it's wise to take courses for your bachelor's at city because it's cheaper. you will also spend less time in state and graduate faster.

    In three sentences

    it's a comfortable size school and is east to navigate. the instructors are very helpful and sincere. the staff at this college ate great and help you with what you need.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the things i do for fun well this college counts with an arcade room and a pool room were students can relax and take a break from the hard day.

    Food and Dining

    the food at this college is great it gets freshly cooked daily out of the best ingridients, its better than fast food restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    very secure domes and people are very nice there, many rules that kepp students sae.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor is really good at this college

    Tips for prospective students

    for those of you who are goiing to attend i recomend this college because its a great institution.

    In three sentences

    its a great instituiton full of optimistic people. i have lerned many things in this college . these college has a lot of help and is very nice.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Attend your classes. Do your homework. Do your best.

    In three sentences

    reedley college is a great school. they help students a lot. everything is smoothly going.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is fairly safe, i've never had a problem here. There are cops keeping watch over the campus during the day, and the police house is less than a mile away.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are tailored for the athletes, and the other special programs at Reedley College. But there are not enough clubs and activities for the average student.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are fresh out of high school, students who want to go back to school and get their degree, and students who want to get their general education so that they can transfer to a bigger school with more degrees and options.

    Bang for the buck

    A full course load typically costs about $600, which is the same education for a much better price.

    What to do for fun

    The next town over has a movie theatre and a bowling alley. Reedley has several parks and a gym on campus, and down the road. The hotspot of the town is the local Starbucks across the street, students take coffee breaks there and can even et jobs there. The town has a playhouse, where members of the community are encouraged to audition and come out to see the plays and musicals. There are several churches which have many opportunities for students to come and help out, whether it's a wednesday night or volunteering in the summer.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is rather big, and pretty well. The food may not be the greatest, but it's still rather good.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus, because I lived two miles away from school. I did have several friends living in the dorms that stated they were very nice. New dorms have been built this past year.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are not as difficult as promised, though they will be if one chooses to slack on work and ignore study time. Manage your time and do the work, all will work out for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be wary of who you choose to teacher you, while the majority of teachers want to see you succeed some will still see you as a high school student. I've run into one or two of these teachers, though rare these teachers will not want your opinions but instead their own, regurgitated back at them. The rest of the teachers are a joy to be around, and I would gladly take them at any level of schooling.

    In three sentences

    Reedley College is the ideal school if one is starting out, going back to school, or to gain credits to be able to transfer or graduate. This college will guide one to the correct path and give what is needed for them to get there.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    GOOD.

    Greek Life

    GREAT!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs in the school. I am currently in the PBL Club which stands for PHI BE TA ALAMDA. that is a business club.

    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a good school for any age.

    What to do for fun

    Hang our around with friends or go to shopping.

    Food and Dining

    There are alot of good places to eat outside of the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should check out any of the North Center colleges.

    In three sentences

    The reedlye college gives students the opportunity to become something in life. I mean once people graduate from high school they do not know what they want to do and this community college is a good frist step to start. Plus it gives the students an opportunity to transfer or get a Degree.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    What to do for fun

    Shopping is close by and a bunch of other campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    Love the food at this college, great variety

    Dorm Life

    Have not dormed at this college but have heard good things about it.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, with yet a fun perspective.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard and make friends

    In three sentences

    Reedley College is a good local school. They provide you with a good education, and prepare you to transfer to other schools.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for any students who want to get started with their life.

    Bang for the buck

    They offer many scholarships, I am going to end up paying for classes, books, transportation, and all other expensives through financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Reedley is near the city of Fresno, which gives students many options.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't tried their food yet, but have not heard anything bad.

    Dorm Life

    I think it is unfair that they offer way more dorms for boys than girls!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be ashamed to start your college career at a junior college. It is a great way to get your general education completed at a fraction of the price. If you are undecided on what you want your major to be, a Junior College is a great start as well.

    In three sentences

    Great school for AG and Forestry. Nice community. One of very few junior colleges to have dorms.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Madera center is ok but too many flies

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are helpful and the workload is easy to handle.

    In three sentences

    Overall its a good college. I am taking nursing prerequisites and feel that I'm getting a good grasp on things before applying to the nursing program.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheap and worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Not much! It's just where you take your classes for cheaper/

    Food and Dining

    Good cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am rarely challenged here and I am even in the Honors program!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would consider first going here and then transferring to willow.

    In three sentences

    Not the highest quality education. Nice staff and students. It's really cheap!

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Students are friendly and campus police are always around.

    Great for these types of students

    Latinos.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Not really since prices of college is skyrocketing.

    What to do for fun

    Not much. Reedley is a small town, but close to Clovis and Fresno. Also close to Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

    Food and Dining

    Reedley has and excellent cafeteria and student cafe. There are also many restaurants nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough. Be ready for two hours of homework for every hour of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrrive at least an half hour to an hour early to find parking.

    In three sentences

    Reedley College is and excellent community college. They offer many classes in alot of subjects. Have wonderful teachers and staff to help you. And the sutdent body seems pleased to be there.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The FAFSA club is great for incoming students they help you out during the course of your first year and make you feel comfortable on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    The tutorial center is great for students who need to either get tutored or just simply get homework done. The computer lab is a good place to go if you need to type up a paper, do research, or print.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs available as well as going to the college games for football, basketball, or volleyball etc. There is a trail where you can rung, jog, walk, bike, etc. As well as go to the movies or even shop in town on main street at the different stores.

    Food and Dining

    Food at the college is great, but if you are looking off campus for food you won't have to look too far. There are many different and excellent places to eat for any occasion.

    Dorm Life

    Relaxed and quite comfortable. One of the different ways to meet new people and make new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic part is challenging, but if you are willing to do what is necessary and to do the work correctly then there won't be any problems getting the work done. The professors challenge you because they know you are capable and can exceed their expectations as well as your own.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to check your student email for importan dates especially for registration. Have a plan of what classes you want to take and then another couple of classes as backup just in case you don't get into your first choice classes. Use the tutoring services that are provided it helps out a whole lot.

    In three sentences

    Has great classes with a good teacher to student ratio. Counselors are very willing to help and give up their own time to do what is right for the students who come to them. Their tutoring program is well structured and has students who know the material inside and out.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Reedley College is a very good local junior college. Most of the teachers are willing to go the extra mile and help any student willing to learn. The best thing about Reedley College is that there is a lot of places on campus to get help with classes.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good but i dont eat here because its too expensive for me.

    Dorm Life

    i wouldnt know. I dont live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    When you dont understand something, it is extremely important you get help. Teachers will be happy to help

    Tips for prospective students

    College is not just about drinking and partying. Theres A LOT of studying involved. If you dont understand something go to tutoring! Dont think you will magically pass all your classes. Its not highschool anymore, youre teachers will not be behind you telling you what you are missing. You have to be on top of things on your own.

    In three sentences

    Reedley college is great! You have all the help and guidance you need. Teachers are very helpful; you can definitely be successful here.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Didn't try the food, i wouldn't have time to eat, always was in and out of school.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't live in the dorms therefore i don't know the Reedley dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Good

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't take more units then what you can handle!

    In three sentences

    Reedley College is not a bad college to begin with when one doesn't have a career in mind. Every semester there is plenty of classes to choose from and one can always crash them if couldn't enroll in the wait list. Instructors are awesome , they help you out in any problem one may have as well as teach you that college is not high school anymore.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cars get broken into quite frequently.

    Greek Life

    They have one fraternity, but it's pretty pointless to join in on greek life unless you're at a university.

    Clubs and Activities

    No very many activities but they have quite a few opportunities for clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    People who enjoyed high school will enjoy this school, it has got the same feel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    School does not have any traditions I am aware of but it's unusual locations would probably be the library, no one uses it

    Bang for the buck

    Best junior college in Fresno, has the most bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    School has tons of available, computers and free internet. My fun for the day however is taking a break between classes and grabbing a coffee and a good book.

    Food and Dining

    Decent cafe, I recommend bringing a sack lunch, the food isn;t worth the cost.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I was in the Honors program and the academics were at a steady pace, but most classes are taught by great teachers so you shouldn't worry about it as long as your doing the homework!

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out ratemyprofessor.com to make sure you don't get stuck with the few less then reputable teachers. Take advantage of the cheap units! Take as many classes as you can there before transferring.

    In three sentences

    Very cheap way to finish all general ed classes. School has very decent teachers and is a well kept institution.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    CC's save you money, so yes it's worth going, and get a 2-year degree while you're at it.

    What to do for fun

    Not too many events as a Community college but keep an open eye

    Food and Dining

    Not that good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your subject...

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs, use their resources, such as tutorial center and library.

    In three sentences

    Good community college for major preparation. Not much of a student life, but I suggest joining clubs on campus, for the priority registration at least. Two-year degrees are also offered.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many sports to do there like soccer, football, volleyball, etc.

    Food and Dining

    I do not dine at the school.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay at a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers grade too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all your homework, especially at the beginning so the main grade does not drop.

    In three sentences

    It's small and helpful. It sort of feels like a high school. No one cares how you dress.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not-so regular patrols, and its crazy that even though this campus is out in the sticks, we still have issues with car burglaries. If you lock your doors and do not leave anything valuable in plain site (or if your car is a junker like mine), you should not have any problems

    Clubs and Activities

    Haven't joined any yet. Want to join the Meditation Club, but my schedule never seems to work with them.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students, returning students.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a community college, so you frankly cannot beat the prices. But I have to say that this is probably the cleanest, friendliest and most technology-friendly campus in the Fresno area.

    What to do for fun

    The computer lab, also called the pit, is a great place to hang out, study, or work on papers.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe on campus is blah at best, but if you have your own transportation there are far better options available to you. Grocery stores, fast food, and my fave is the E.M.W. China Bistro.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not know if I have just been lucky or what, but a great majority of my instructors have been driven, intelligent and very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your instructors before you commit to a class. Do not be afraid to ask questions. Be patient with the student staff at the counselor office, and you will reap the benefits. Check out the Tutoring Center!!

    In three sentences

    Willow International Community College Center has a small but brilliant administrative staff, sincere teachers, and state of the art technology. It is still fairly new but it has so much potential for growth!

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Playing sports and other extra curriculum would be fine.

    Food and Dining

    I hope the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    My roommate is from Florida and he is mexican. We get alone good.

    Academic Rigor

    I will be looking into tutoring as I need it. It's good to know it is available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and maintain focus, and get help when you know you need it.

    In three sentences

    By looking at the website, the campus seems diverse which is a good thing because there is more than one race or color in the world. You can't always judge a book by it's cover, but I hope the experience is far better in person. I am a socialable person so I hope to meet new people.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My campus is in the mountains where everyone knows everyone so its the safest campus ever.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that have to work full time as well as attend school. Students who need a flexible class schedule. Students who aren't sure what they want to major in just yet and want to take a little of everything to figure it out.

    What to do for fun

    Join plenty of groups and clubs on campus. You will meet new people and friends.

    Food and Dining

    The campuses I attended had snack and soda machines.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know because I attended classes far from the main campus that has the dorms and I lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly it depends on the teacher. Some teachers can expect a lot from their students, giving no exceptions to their classroom rules or assignment schedule. Then some teachers will take time out of their weekend to help study with you if you are having difficulty with the material or offer extra credit to help boost your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes from one of the smaller campuses. They have smaller classes and the teachers are more likely to work with you to better your chances of succeeding in the class.

    In three sentences

    A fantastic school with amazing teachers. There are many branch campuses to choose from so you have many options for locations to attend your classes. Generally they have small class sizes and teachers who are more than willing to help outside the classroom.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If something happened at Willow, and the one or two security officers weren't there, it would take a long time to get help. Willow feels generally safe, but in reality it is a big, open, isolated campus. There are emergency poles with a button or a phone or something. Just the fact that police are not close by makes it reasonable to have someone walk you to your car at night, especially if you are parked far from the buildings.

    Greek Life

    There's a greek club for honors students, or something like that, but I'm not familiar with it.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've covered clubs and activities in a previous section of this review.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Willow is great for people who notice and appreciate the little things, because it may seem like there's no social life there, but there really is. Notice the way people interact, notice the beautiful pink flowers they have growing, get involved and you will find some great people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Willow has designated smoking areas, which are great for non-smokers, but the smokers don't always observe the rule.

    Bang for the buck

    It's well worth the money if you put enough effort into it.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, eat in the cafe, participate in the outside sports, when available, actually talk to and get to know the person sitting next to you in class, and just try to make someone's day each time you go to school. It will make you happier! :)

    Food and Dining

    The chicken quesadillas in the cafe are the BEST! And the bookstore has See's lollipops!

    Dorm Life

    Willow does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As for Academics, you get what you put into college! If you are lazy, miss a lot of class, don't turn in your homework, you're not going to learn much and you're going to get bad grades as a result, which could end up being a waste of money. College is expensive, so if you are going to put the money towards it, you may as well give it a good effort and do well. Some classes are harder than others, and it all depends on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important thing to know about any Community College is you have to learn the system yourself. Many of the people I met at Willow International and Fresno City had to stay more than two years because their counselor messed up their planned classes, and gave them the wrong advice. It is best to figure out how the registration process works yourself, and do get advice, but take it with a grain of salt. Secondly, get involved in the community! I joined the Meditation club halfway through my first semester in college, and instantly my experience with college improved. The people were friendly, funny, open to newcomers, and the environment was one where everyone gives a little in order to make things happen. Also, check out the events held on campus! Every year they get bigger, and therefore better. People I met who had never been to the Mexican Heritage Celebration, Spring Extravaganza, Alive Convention, or other campus events, and who did not try to get involved in clubs and organizations on campus, always said that they didn't really like going to Willow because it was boring. I found that once I got to know people in my classes or in clubs, they would come up and talk to me on campus, and every time that happened, it totally made my day! Lastly, always be overly prepared for every day of class, because you never know when the teacher will give a pop quiz. I've had classes where the lectures were easy, homework was minimal, and then the tests were horribly hard. Some other classes were average all the way through. It seriously pays off to be more prepared than you think you need to be. However, time management is the most important part of college!

    In three sentences

    First of all, this review is of Willow International, not Reedley College; this is because Willow does not show up, but it is technically part of Reedley. Willow is clean, light, spacious, and windy. The community of students and staff are very encouraging and generally pleasant to be around.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My first year here the majority of my classes were night classes and I was relieved to see the campus police parked in the parking lot without having to be called. The campus is always busy, even at 8 in the evening. There also campus alarms or sirens, I'm not sure what they are called, but they are a lot spread throughout the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for student's who want to major in agriculture or business, since it's in the central valley, Reedley has a lot of great professors. It's also ideal for a student who wants to save for a university.

    Bang for the buck

    For a community college it is affordable. Most students have the Board of Govenor's Fee Waiver (BOG) which pays for their classes. You can also rent your books or buy them on amazon (they are a little cheaper). Reedley also has other student services that provide financial help: EOPS, Financial Aid, CalWorks, SSS, etc.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs on campus, especially for those who have agriculture, health, and business majors. Just a half hour away there are two cinemas in Selma and Dinuba and you can go bowling. Reedley also has a beach!!!...I'm kidding, a beach in Central California?! The river that passes Reedley is the biggest hotspot in this tiny town so we call it the Reedley Beach. It's fun to go floating, boating, swimming, have a BBQ and spend time with friends!

    Food and Dining

    Food is great. They have new menu deals that are affordable. Plus there is a Jack In the Box, McDonald's, Carl's Jr, KFC, and other restaurants right across the street!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in dorms so I can't really give a review.

    Academic Rigor

    These professor's don't mess around! If you are having trouble with a class there are plenty of opportunities on campus that can provide help. There is free tutoring, Beyond the Classroom (BC) help--which is kind of like a study group but with people who have passed the class before, and there is a Writing Center. And professors don't mind if you visit them in their office hours if you need help (that's what they're there for!). Besides going to Reedley you can also take classes at Madera Center Community College, Willow International, and Fresno City College!

    Tips for prospective students

    Check your school issued e-mail account once a week for any updates regarding your financial aid or classes. Also, check your WebAdvisor and e-mail before you contact a staff member to help you so you can say to a staff member, Well I read my e-mail and WebAdvisor and I still don't get it... They will give you a better detailed explanation.

    In three sentences

    Reedley Community College has wonderful professors who are genuinely invested in your education. Reedley's faculty transform you from a shy bumbling freshman into a confident individual.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Reedley college has many extracurricular activities, clubs, and athletic programs for students to enjoy and interact. They also have a student service center to unwind from their classes and just relax.

    Food and Dining

    Reedley college has a great cafeteria program and gives many food options for students to enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    They have a newly built student center as a living space for students.

    Academic Rigor

    They offer subjects and classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great school for those who look for a small and close-net good college.

    In three sentences

    Reedley College is a nice small college that is good in my standards. They provide many opportunities for students to excel in life, education, and career choices. They offer many services to help students in their academics and to succeed and pass their classes.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I enjoy the food and company.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor is an easy going, just right amount of work to complete for each class you take.