Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Regent University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Online Students - Which I am On Campus Students

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are disciplined if your are taking on line class. I have heard from others that the campus life is wonderful!

    Am enjoying being here

    I am pursuing my degree online and I love it. THe technology is cutting edge and it is perfect for busy adults with a family and a full time job.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much at Regent. The teachers and the advisers are wonderful and they are always praying for their students success!!

  • 12/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Because of how diverse each school within Regent tends to be, nearly nay student can find his or her place. I would say that the most exciting place to be is in the undergrad program. We're busting at the seems with amazing emerging Christian leaders and steadily taking over the campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit our campus! It's a beautiful place to learn and often your tour guide will be a current student who knows the ins and outs of on-campus life. Or you can come during one of Regent's Preview Weekend event. During this event you'll get put up with current students within the on-campus residence halls and get the low-down about the school in various workshops. We'll be sure to show you just how fun Regent can be while showing Mom just how beneficial Regent will be to your education and spiritual walk. If you are a student in exceptional GPA standing looking into Regent's Scholars' Weekend. It's similar to the Preview Weekend but you will compete with other students for full or partial scholarships.

    Bang for the buck

    As a private Christian school, the classes are going to be a bit more demanding on the wallet. However, as stated before, it all depends on how much effort you are willing to put into your education. It also can depend a great deal on your professor. I've found in my experience, though, that the professors here at Regent will either teach the bare minimum or go above and beyond. I've had several professors already who have invested in me and my passions in a way that I will always remember. These professors are, fortunately, the rule rather than the exception at Regent.

    Am enjoying being here

    The student body is fairly small (the school of undergrad was started in 2004 so it is comparatively young) but generally very passionate about the calling God has put on their lives and the school that's helping them get there. On campus life is a blast. The resident assistants (two of which were award winning RAs at this year's Virginia Association of College & University Housing Officers conference) and housing staff go above and beyond to create an intimate and exciting on-campus community.

    Am learning a lot

    With seven different schools, stretching from psychology and law to theater and cinema production (offered at both grad and undergrad levels), Regent University is the place to be if you are a blossoming Christian leader. The learning environment within each school varies from the others. I am enrolled in the Comm. Arts school where the learning environment is highly nurturing to the independent learner. If you are hungry for experience and thirsty for knowledge, the Comm. Arts programs will definitely give back what you put into it.

  • 08/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want a place where you can be involved, this is it. Since their School of Undergraduate Studies isn't ancient like at other schools, they're always looking for student input. They have things like RUC (Regent Undergraduate Council) that allow any regular student to have a voice in what classes they offer, what majors they might develop, and so on. Obviously, it's also a great school for anyone who wants to grow in their spiritual walk. Again - everyone is friendly and willing to help you. We know none of us are perfect, and that's what we've got other people for. We'll help each other as we strive to come closer to God. They have Chapel every Wednesday, UnChapel every Thursday, and all sorts of Life Groups going on, as well - not to mention NeXt on Sunday evenings. Altogether, if you want to make a change in the world, this is also the place to be. Regent's mission statement is to make Christian leaders to change the world, and that's not just words for them. They continuously strive to meet their goal, and they've met it. Already there is a governor and a House Representative in office as fruits of their labor. But Christian leaders doesn't solely refer to government officials - it refers to teachers, psychologists, restaurant managers, police officers - I don't believe it matters what walk of life you come from. As Christians we are called to walk like Christ in every way, and I believe that means seeking to change lives in any way we can. That requires leadership in a sense. Regent is the best place I know of to equip you for a life of serving Christ and serving people. I hope you'll love it as much as I do! Feel free to e-mail me if you have any questions - I'd love to answer them. My e-mail is ennpencilpal91@msn.com. Don't make fun - I made it when I was 11!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't rush into it - be sure to visit the campus and talk to the students if you can. I've seen some prospective students sit in on classes - they sat in on the Creative Writing class I was in - so I know that's a possibility. Don't be afraid to ask questions of any random people you see walking on campus, although they may or may not be weirded out, I'm sure they'll answer your questions! Also, be sure to pick up some food at the Ordinary, since their food is pretty tasty. Also, a good idea for anyone, whether you decide to go to Regent or not: buy your books on half.com. You'll get them for about a quarter of the price you get them for in a university store most of the time, including shipping. This saves you so much money it's unreal.

    Bang for the buck

    It won't break the pocketbook like some of the other schools out there - I mean, it's not cheap like the state schools, but it's most definitely good for a private school! I don't mind sharing personal information, so my tuition and housing costs for this coming semester (Fall 2011) came up to approximately $10,000, including all the small fees associated with colleges. Regent does have scholarships to help you in this department - you can find them by clicking on the Financial Aid link located on the drop-down menu on their site. You can also always consult a Financial Aid Adviser if you feel like you need further help.

    Am enjoying being here

    The staff here is very nice. Although they're human and they do make mistakes, they're always quick to respond to your queries and fix the problem as soon as they are able. You'd be hard put to find any kinder and more efficient staff members than at Regent University. The campus is absolutely beautiful; the students and professors alike are generous people. It's pretty freaking hard to beat!

    Am learning a lot

    This school is wonderful in that they don't just spout information at you - they force you to think. Once you attend, you will no longer be able to take anything you here for granted, you will question and consider before taking something as a fact. You will analyze the comments of the carefully chosen experts on news stations and be able to distinguish for yourself whether or not they are giving a professional, factual opinion or a biased one. The fact that the current governor of Virginia (Governor Bob McDonnell) graduated from Regent's Law School says no small thing about the quality of education there.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to make a change in this world. Great for students who have a fiery passion inside of them and are looking for a university that holds the students to high standards. A wonderful place to be for every growing child of God.

    Tips for prospective students

    I urge the prospective students to get involved and jump right in! There is a lot of information available on financial aid, the division of schools, and anything else you could possibly want to know about. Visit the campus and see if Regent is right for you. Before anything, pray. Pray that God will lead you to the right path. If you trust and follow in the Lord, He will never lead you wrong.

    Bang for the buck

    Regent is a private university so it is a bit more expensive than other schools. Fortunately financial aid and scholarships are readily available. The financial aid counselors are more than willing to help you find ways to afford Regent.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful and the people are friendly! I can always find a smiling face and helping hand on Regent’s campus. Regent is a smaller campus so everything is easy to find. There is always something fun going on and there is a wide range of activities for every type of person.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Regent are wonderful. They take the time to help you when you need it and are readily available. The professors care about your academic life as well as your spiritual life. If you are lucky you will receive a professor who has such a love for their subject that you will end up loving it as well. Very well rounded education for Christian leaders who will be sent out to change the world!

  • 10/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend this college to students with religious tendencies and diligent working habits. Those who are highly motivated will do well. Because this is a private institution they require you to take core classes based on theology and Christianity. If this interests you, or at the very least does not offend you, this university may be right for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Again, I'll note that one might find a professor's expectations at Regent University to be more than those presented in community colleges or even in some state colleges. I say this because I have noticed that many of my peers prefer easy classes where professors demand little and test or quizzes are open-book or allow multiple attempts. The experience at Regent is well worth the effort, in my opinion, especially if you intend on attaining an education on a Master's or Doctorate level. Also, they have great opportunities for military families and those interested in online distance learning.

    Bang for the buck

    It is more expensive than a state college as it is a private institution. Since I am also in a separate state and I work to pay for college I am well aware of the great difference in expense. Thankfully, they can reduce some of the tuition based on academic merit. The quality of the education, in my opinion, is well worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    I am taking classes online as I live in Florida. Still, I am enjoying my time here. The classes are so modern as they implement cutting edge technology. I believe this helps my experience in distance learning. Plus, the professors expect such academic excellence from the students we are pushed to hone in on our analytical and writing skills. This makes us better students!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot in terms of my intended major and in the honing of my academic writing and communicative skills. I couldn't ask for anything more!

  • 11/10/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Regent is a great opportunity for anyone looking to better not only their mind, but Spirit as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan a trip to the campus and talk with an admissions counselor. They are most helpful and encouraging when making your decision.

    Will enjoy being here

    I am enrolled as an online student, but plan to participate on campus in various planned events.

    Will learn a lot

    Regent has a wonderful reputation and I am looking forward to being educated by this institution.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am an online student but have heard that the campus is very protected.

    Greek Life

    I am an online student.

    Clubs and Activities

    Even for online students there are many clubs and study groups you can be involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    The online program is great for someone who needs a flexible schedule, and a more cost effective program. Also, they have more degrees in their online program than other schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am an online student

    Bang for the buck

    One of the reasons I chose this school is because I can get my degree for less money than at other schools. Even though it costs less the program is comparable to other more expensive programs.

    What to do for fun

    I am always getting emails about the fun stuff they do on campus. They do everything from movie nights on the lawn, to Sundae parties, to mattress swims across the lake, if you are on campus you won't be bored!

    Food and Dining

    I am an online student

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard work but it is very rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for hard work!

    In three sentences

    I love Regent University! I am enjoying getting my undergraduate degree in Biblical and Theological Studies there! I get so much support from the faculty and the community there, it is great!

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are tons of campus police all over campus. I have never felt unsafe at Regent, even late at night. There are also a few call boxes for use in emergencies located throughout the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Campus Ministries offers many internships each semester. There is a campus worship team made up of students for the more musically talented student (instruments and vocal). International Justice Mission has an active club. Regent Roundtable is a discussion group that has dialogue on current events and theological concepts. The Daily Runner is the student run campus newspaper. LIFE groups are composed of different halls and serve as hang-outs and discussions as well as bible studies complete with mentors (usually older students). These groups are usually willing to 'adopt' those students who live off-campus but want the close relationships these groups foster.

    Great for these types of students

    Regent is perfect for many types of people, but is especially designed for already Christians desiring to grow closer to God and learn where He wants them. The campus has made itself into a place where questions about God and faith aren't feared but rather considered and the best answers are sought through the Bible, wise counsel, and the Holy Spirit.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fountain is a gorgeous center of campus. Every fall there is a touch football tournament called the Chili Bowl. There are, at this time, no official sports teams so this is a fun event for students and alumni.

    Bang for the buck

    Regent is private so it is expensive, but the price is extremely competitive and I think fair. The price is actually a huge part of what drew me to this school. The scholarships are doled out to most students though they are not usually stack-able (i.e. you can only use one form, but the admissions office will give you the highest percentage off your tuition that you qualify for)

    What to do for fun

    The beach is about 30 minutes away - with traffic. Hit it up as much as possible! Bring your friends and some textbooks. Downtown Norfolk has some great restaurants as does City Center in Virginia Beach. Williamsburg is just about an hour away had has great shopping as well as the historic Colonial Williamsburg which is a must see for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The Ordinary is the campus cafeteria. The workers are extremely pleasant and never seem to be harsh with students. The food is pretty good too, especially when you remember it's a college cafeteria. The nearby restaurants are great too. Starbucks and Cafe Moka are perfect for study spots, Chick-Fil-A is also a campus favorite for meals and is about a mile from campus near Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived on campus, but I have spent time there with friends. The walls are thin so be ready for that, but the relationships that develop seem to be worth the noise. The kitchens in each room are a major plus as is the nearby laundry. Studios are really small though, so be ready to really get to know your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    The profs are demanding, but also care deeply about their students. Be ready to do a lot of writing as every department tries to emphasize that skill.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend making connections before hand. Regent is a very person-based system and not knowing anyone can lead to challenges. Keeping on top of your own academic schedule is a must - the advisers seem to rotate frequently as I have had three in the past year. Get involved. There are tons of activities on campus, and they add new things each year. There is no excuse to have missed out an any sort of volunteer experience or club.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Considering I take my courses online, I would say my safety is top-notch.

    Great for these types of students

    Regent is great for students who have a hunger for knowledge.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Regent University is very affordable and has a very helpful FinAid staff. Regents gifts many awards and scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Study!

    Food and Dining

    I cannot provide an answer to this as I live several states away.

    Dorm Life

    Considering I live off-campus, I cannot provide an opinion of dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Regent are rigorous, sometimes intense, but manageable and fulfilling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid, as Regent is very generous in their grants and awards.

    In three sentences

    Education received from Regent University fulfills one's need for knowledge. Regent's online/distance program is stream-lined and efficient. The educators at Regent University are personable and committed to their subjects and the students.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Regent has many different clubs and a variety of activities available to students.

    Great for these types of students

    Regent is great for non-traditional and online students.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is always fun!

    Food and Dining

    As an online student I do not have experience with the dining halls.

    Dorm Life

    As on online student I do not have any experience with the dorms. However, from the information given online, Regent has very modern dormitories and even apartments for married with children.

    Academic Rigor

    The online courses are taught over 8 weeks versus the traditional 16-17 week semesters. So, if you register for 4 classes, you have 8 weeks to fulfill the requirements of each one. This makes the academics extremely challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are an online student be prepared to devote many hours and hard work to each course. Online does not mean easy; in fact, in some ways it is more difficult than a traditional course. Take advantage of all the resources available to help students succeed - Regent has more of these than most colleges. Be prepared.

    In three sentences

    Regent University has a fantastic online degree program whereby non-traditional students can obtain a degree without ever having to set foot on campus. The online program is a US News and World Reports top 100 and provides challenging courses and coursework to all students. Additionally, Regent has lowered their tuition in order to make higher education more affordable for everyone.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    yes small size

    Bang for the buck

    the school is totally worth it

    What to do for fun

    i love learning and video games and Facebook and church

    Food and Dining

    loved their cafe is is wonderful

    Dorm Life

    i live with parents

    Academic Rigor

    all faculty is active and love what they do

    Tips for prospective students

    be very specific and know how to ask question and now your grammar a must

    In three sentences

    i visited the school is very impressive and i love there education school

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    yes

    Great for these types of students

    i can only speak for online students

    Academic Rigor

    again, i never expected course work to be this rigorous and challenging, but i say that in good way. remember you are there to get an education not on vacation.

    Tips for prospective students

    if considering law, psychology or just an online degree you definitely need to do yourself a favor and check it out. make sure you qualify for financial aid because it is a private institution and definitely not cheap compared to public institutions. nonetheless, very reasonable considering it is private.

    In three sentences

    christian but not overbearing at least not online. great discussion and class interaction online. never thought that curriculum could be so rigorous and intellectually challenging in a good way.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    this is where it gets ugly. $10,000 a year for what some community colleges do better, unfortunately. i think that's wrong.

    Tips for prospective students

    unless you are specifically called there, avoid the financial debt and get a comparable or better education for much, much less elsewhere.

    In three sentences

    a school of decent moral integrity. a school that would do well to re-evaluate the quality of classes including online classes. a school that would do well to re-evaluate the cost of attendance vs. quality of the education/experience. (for some reason cappex does not want to retain capitals at the beginning of sentences....)

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    online student.

    Dorm Life

    online student. never lived on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    academic rigor is what regent upholds to. courses provide learning with the expectation of student application of assignment requirements.

    Tips for prospective students

    for prospecting students, i would encourage them to get as much information as to what programs regent offers. the enrollment, academic and financial aid advisers are great at assisting with any information that is needed. they are prompt and courteous.

    In three sentences

    regent university provides a wonderful academic career for those who are serious about community leadership. the university offers courses that are well structured and organized with the best professors.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go off-campus. There's alot to do in VA Beach.

    Food and Dining

    Most people cook in their rooms.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing but there is not much going on on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on your major. Government Department classes are much harder than most other majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Regent is not for everyone, but it is the perfect place for a select group of students. Make sure you visit to determine which group you fall into.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Regent University has an EXCELLENT online degree program, so I am able to attend class based on my schedule. I'm a small business owner and work from my home, so I can fit my classes around my business and vice versa. I'm also a non-traditional student, returning to school after a 28-year hiatus. The students in all my classes have a wide variety of backgrounds - young, old (I'm surprised to find I'm not usually the oldest - or the youngest!), single, married with children, business owners, military members, housewives, grandparents, high school students. The variation gives us a unique learning environment that has truly been an asset.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Regent University is a Christian university, but it also has excellent degrees in many fields. Biblical and Theological Studies, Christian Ministry, Criminal Justice, Communication, Business, IT, Leadership and Management are just a few of the degrees offered.

    Bang for the buck

    Returning to school was a big decision for our family. I wanted an education that made the best use of my time, and Regent has done that. The classes are challenging - pushing me harder and further than I ever thought possible.

    What to do for fun

    As an online student, after I finish all my studies, my time is my own to have fun wherever I wish.

    Food and Dining

    I'm an online student - I live at home, and our food and dining is always superb!

    Dorm Life

    I'm an online student - I live at home, so dorm life is great!

    Academic Rigor

    At Regent University, academics are important. Classes are challenging and thorough. Professors are top-notch and care deeply for their students. Online classes are fast-paced and well-worth every hour spent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Regent University offers a good selection of school scholarships and grants so be sure to check out all the options when you apply.

    In three sentences

    Regent University provides challenging and relevant degree programs on campus or online. The academics and professors are top-notch, providing all of us with one of the best educations available. I may be biased, but Regent University is truly the best choice of schools for non-traditional students who want to learn online.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The beach is located about 10-15 minutes from campus and is a favorite attraction of students and professors alike. Cafe Moka is a favorite hang out/study spot and there are many calm, peaceful parks in the area as well. A day trip to Busch Gardens, Jamestown, Yorktown, or Colonial Williamsburg makes for an exciting and enriching experience. Furthermore, on-campus activities include ballroom dance lessons, Zumba classes, movie nights on the lawn, game nights, ice cream sundae socials, and so much more. Chapel for undergraduate students is held every Thursday night and is a favorite part of everyone's week. Needless to say, one never lacks something to do for fun at Regent University.

    Food and Dining

    The Ordinary is the on-campus dining hall and offers a wide selection of food. Yet there are several nice places to dine throughout the Virginia Beach area and one will never be at a loss for new dining experiences.

    Dorm Life

    Regent University is located on a beautiful campus designed with the Colonial Williamsburg atmosphere in mind. It's resident halls are spacious, complete with a small kitchenette, living area, bathroom, and bedroom. Overcrowding is not an issue and the gym is always open for a late night workout. Multiple student activities and life groups are available to both on and off campus students.

    Academic Rigor

    Regent University is an academically challenging institution. Depending on the course of study, classes may vary in rigor, however in my experience my Regent education has been an essential part of my overall academic growth and development as it has challenged me in ways I have never known. Yet, despite the challenges, I know that when I graduate I will be well prepared to begin my career and perform to the best of my ability.

    Tips for prospective students

    To prospective students seeking a strong Christian education with high academic standards and a perfect student to professor ratio, I would say Regent is the perfect match. I can honestly say Regent students and faculty become a family and if you are willing to work hard, you will not only thrive in the environment, but you will be well-equipped to enter the real world and be successful as you make an impact for Christ's sake.

    In three sentences

    Regent University cultivates an academically challenging environment while maintaining a balance with the social aspect of one's education. This institution is focused on raising Christian leaders to change rhe world through a Christ-centered education. Furthermore the campus is gorgeous and the faculty and staff are always more than willing to offer any assistance to the students.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    From what I can tell, the pricing is decent for a private college, especially if you will be living off campus.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian students who want to experience the college life without some of the vices

    What to do for fun

    It's in Virginia Beach so there is plenty to do, about 20 minutes from the oceanfront. There are places to go kayaking, horseback riding, fishing, and also many clubs and places to eat out.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good but can be expensive for cash strapped students. There is a meal plan available, but it is a bit expensive as well. It is a nice treat though when you can afford it.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is amazing. The community is safe and staff is very efficient. Neighbors are nice and I have never had any problems. Excellent for Grad students with families.

    Academic Rigor

    Very academically challenging yet not impossible. You will be stretched beyond your comfort level but it's quite rewarding.

    In three sentences

    Excellent, forward moving school.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    many! My favorite is the International Justice Mission chapter that helps fight human trafficking.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is high, but you get what you pay for!

    What to do for fun

    Tons on activies and areas of interest

    Tips for prospective students

    Research every college carefully and look for a curiculum that meets your desires. Also consider what activities each offers, as connection to the school is vital for completion.

    In three sentences

    Regent University provides a challenging learning environment with high integrity. The curriculum encourages strong leadership and vision. It has a wide variety of classes to fit just about any schedule.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Regent recently sent all of us students their police report. I don't think you could be any safer if you were in your own log cabin in the middle of the woods. There was a total of around four infraction in the past four years! None of which were major.

    Great for these types of students

    Regent is a Christian school, hence all curriculum is thus influenced.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared with many Virginia schools, it is rather affordable (as far college goes).

    What to do for fun

    Since I'm at home, whatever I like.

    Food and Dining

    Same as above.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently and online student so... I don't know. Based on the rest of the school I'll give it a five.

    Academic Rigor

    As already said, this is a very challenging school. But it is not impossible - just rigors.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is not a school for slackers. If you do not put in the work you WILL fail your classes. With that said, all the professors that I have encountered have been willing to work with me when ever I had problems.

    In three sentences

    Regent is a very engaging and rigorous school. The faculty are extremely accessible and helpful. I very much enjoy their programs construction and instruction.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I dont live in the area and have never been to the campus to know anything about this. I dont understand this rating question!

    Greek Life

    I dont know anything about this and cannot give an answer

    Clubs and Activities

    I dont know anything about this and cannot give an answer.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of

    What to do for fun

    Write and read

    Food and Dining

    I dont live in the area and have never been in the area to know anything about this.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Friendly admissions representives. Small class cohorts. Great webinars.

    In three sentences

    Friendly admissions representives. Small class cohorts. Great webinars.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Email or speak with your Admissions Counselor on a regular basis. Send in your required information as soon as you can so that the process can get on its way.

    In three sentences

    Just from the website and speaking with my Admissions Counselor, I know that this university is saturated in Jesus Christ. That is their main focus and then come the academics. This is the way life should be.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's great school and yes it's expensive but you truly get what you pay for out of this school.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat there on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging because these are not easy courses. You truly do learn something from Regent. The professor are great and they make sure that every student get the understanding of the class and plus, they are a little more understanding when it comes to the unexpected.

    Tips for prospective students

    In reference to tips for prospective students, I would say check out the school website or take a tour of the campus and see if this school interest you because it is not like any original school. Regent is different. This school have great degree programs and some of these programs you can incorporate minor courses with your major. For instance, my major is Business which focuses on Business Administration with a minor in Youth Ministry.

    In three sentences

    Regent is a great school for online classes. It's for those who are looking for a change. It's for those of us who prefer to be on the go rather than sitting in a classroom. It's for those who are on fire to learn all they can about the creator of this world, GOD!

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Online student

    Academic Rigor

    I would have done better to purchase the books and be self-taught. However, that is not what one would expect from higher education. For example, one particular class, the professor had not responded to anyone in the class for over three weeks. Other classes, the professors were either mixing assignment due dates, or posting general information in a less lecture format.

    Tips for prospective students

    To address the inefficiency of online classes: The cost is way out of range first off, the lack of professor's feedback, second, with the exception of a few professor's, but most of the professor's would qualify as poor or non-existent in interacting with the student, rather in critical feedback, or constructive criticism. Professors are virtually silent at Regent University online classes. I would have done better to purchase the books and be self-taught. However, that is not what one would expect from higher education. For example, one particular class, the professor had not responded to anyone in the class for over three weeks. Other classes, the professors were either mixing assignment due dates, or posting general information in a less lecture format. It was difficult to navigate at times, the many outdated posting of due dates or what qualified and what the professors were looking for from research paper's to a simple posting of rules on discussion board. Generally, the syllabus is clear, but hardly was the case if one was using an outdated syllabus. Although, there were a few professor's that did take the time to actually teach and take time with their students, and was clear on the expectations of what was need to succeed in the class. The high price tag and regular online classes of 8 weeks for one class, which is well over priced, and the amount of worked packed into a 8 week class that is generally 16 weeks on campus is part of the problem. Either the professors are overworked or online classes attract less quality of professors. I agree that online classes or rigorous and fast paced. However, I managed the rigorous schedule, and keep up with assignment and discussion post. Otherwise, one could fault this negative review. If the purpose of the surveys were honestly to look in improving the students experience online, then there would be no backlash from professor's comments, such as, I have 60 other students to review..., or, I ask for this telephone conference, so I could tell you personally, you've will not pass this class. These and many more comments in their feedback are just a few, but many more compounded my experience with Regent and with this less favorable review. I would barely give this school a two star rating. The main reason is the callousness of the professor's and lack professional courtesy, which one would expect more criticism that is constructive, than given, the critical remarks that make it difficult for a student to overcome. Rather this school represents a Christian perspective, and do tout of its excellence, I would prayerfully consider another school. (Regent raised their tutition every consective year I attended, and the increase was well over 500.00 each year).

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Regent is a great place for those who want to be challenged and who enjoy learning.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Regent is a private university, the education and experience is worth the cost of attending. The faculty and students come from a variety of backgrounds and global locations which adds depth, interaction, and understanding of other cultures.

    What to do for fun

    Regent University is in the heart of Hampton Roads. This location provides activities that range from historical sites, beach fun, water sports, semi-pro athletic teams, and an arrangement of the arts.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten on the campus during annual residencies and the food and service are exceptional.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown, as I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There is an expectation of excellence at Regent. This may look different for different students, but all can expect to invest time and hard work to earn the grades they receive. If someone is simply looking for a piece of paper that states they have completed college, this may not be the right school for them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Regent University combines scholarly research and intellectual discussions with a Christian foundation. I suggest that when prospective students apply to Regent they understand that grades are not given, they must be earned and that not only will they develop their academic repertoire but also grow their character.

    In three sentences

    Regent University has displayed professionalism throughout the application process and during my first year of school. The university not only teaches excellence, it practices it through it's staff and faculty. Regent sets a standard for others to follow.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Regent is great for students who are looking to receive a first rate Christian education, and who desire to be a part of the larger community of Christian's around the world.

    Bang for the buck

    Regent provides a substantial amount of financial aid, and I believe my education will be well worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    Regent definitely challenges me academically, but I know I am much better for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply, and see what happens! They have great financial support too.

    In three sentences

    I love Regent! The teachers are knowledgeable and supportive, and the community is wonderful! I would definitely recommend this school.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    NO GREEK LIFE WHATSOEVER!

    Great for these types of students

    Religious or graduate.

    What to do for fun

    GO OFF CAMPUS. Not many activities, except a small volleyball area.

    Tips for prospective students

    A good commuter school.

    In three sentences

    Seems to be great for most, but for me, seems a little bland with the lack of clubs and activities. Good programs and resources, however.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is about 40 grand a year for the undergrad program and the tuition has increased 25% this semester.

    In three sentences

    It has a strong biblical foundation. Very focused on always improving both the online and on campus experience. Provides safe and fun social opportunities for students.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security are on duty 24 hours a day! This is a totally safe place to be!

    Greek Life

    NA. Awesome fun on this campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to name! :-)

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who desires to know more!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Awesome fun on this campus!

    Bang for the buck

    I love Regent because they don't nickle and dime you to death with a bunch of unnecessary fees! They provide amazing education for the tuition!

    What to do for fun

    The school is in the heart of Hampton Roads, so there is always something fun to do!

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining hall on campus and there are several eateries all within 1 mile of the school!

    Dorm Life

    Lived off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Study to show yourself approved and you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll today!

    In three sentences

    Regent University is a breath of fresh air for those seeking true lifelong learning experiences! I could not have chosen a better institution! Regent ROCKS! The faculty,staff, and students all make attending Regent worth while!

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Alpha Phi Omega

    Clubs and Activities

    Enactus, Council of Graduate Students, International Justice Mission,

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, philosophical, conservative

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our annual Chili Bowl event is a campus favorite. h

    What to do for fun

    The Virginia Beach Oceanfront, movies, and dinner with friends. Also, Regent is in short driving distance to several cities with numerous activities to include festivals, museums, and historical events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all of the opportunities presented. Utilize all resources available to you. Get to know your professors and classmates. Enjoy one of the best libraries in Hampton Roads.

    In three sentences

    The small classes make it possible to get individual attention. The instructors have real life experience. There are plenty of opportunities for networking with professionals.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Quick to text alerts.

    Clubs and Activities

    Leadership and Business.

    Great for these types of students

    Theology, Business, Creative Arts & Film industry.

    Bang for the buck

    The Writing Center surpasses it's expectations!

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy worshiping God and spending time with my children and grandchildren.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are structured to meet a working professionals time constraints. The courses are intensive but relevant to today's spiritual, cultural, and techie lifestyles..

    Tips for prospective students

    Collaborate with your academic adviser often to make sure you are taking the required courses for your degree plan.

    In three sentences

    Regent University's academic advisers are top notch. The college's degree programs and courses are intensive but worth it. Regent University is dedicated to developing convergent thinkers and professionals in the market place.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Small dorms

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent.

    Greek Life

    Also on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, conservative, and just wanting a great academic environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Travel coupons from tourist centers and rest stops which provide travel, entertainment, and eating places in the area.

    What to do for fun

    Virginia Beach, the Atlantic Ocean, restaurants, and places to visit.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, but somewhat pricey.

    Academic Rigor

    Acceptance standards are quite high.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should expect faculty, staff, and students to be very kind and supportive as you attend the University. Do not expect any liberal based policies or attitudes. It is a very conservative and sanctified place to be.

    In three sentences

    Very supportive and informative to prospective students. I got a tour of the campus, its history, and the expectations of its students. I respect the positive and moral environment for learning which is faith-based.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This is not an easy school. Like all universities you have to study hard. Not only will you learn the secular information, but you will also learn how that integrates with Christianity.

    In three sentences

    Regent has been a place where I can grow in my education and also in Christ. The teachers are well informed and educated. Definitely a great school!

  • 08/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. Even though it is a public campus, they have the booths where is someone needs to call for help, they can. Plus they have their campus policemen patrolling, especially late at night. Also, to get into dorms, a student must have a key card and a visitor has to be let in by a student pass a certain time.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, Regent hosts a lot of events like parties and interactive student activities. They have campus games that it is hard not to do when starting to play. For fun, I personally like getting involved in the clubs. They have a lot of clubs and even some sororities.

    Food and Dining

    Regent's Ordinary is great. They have a lot of options you can choose from and they taste good. Plus if you want something off campus, they have a lot of fast food and sit down restaurants you can choose from. And a lot of them are in walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are AMAZING!!! Each dorm has there own kitchen and bathroom. They also have different styles of dorm that you can choose from. There also safe cause only people with access can get in. There's no curfew or anything. There really pretty and you can decorate your own room how you want it. It feels like having an apartment except for you don't have to pay monthly like an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Regent offers a lot. There are so many courses that you can take. However, a lot of classes are lectures. There's only a few that are really interactive. However, a lot of that has to do with the teachers. All the teachers are nice and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Regent University is not your average school. The campus is very safe. Regent University hosts a lot of events that students can go to and have fun. There is a certain vibe about Regent that makes one feel calm and peaceful. Just like every school, Regent has rules, but they're not a lot or intense. Just common sense rules. Plus the teachers here are really nice. The classes aren't so bad.

    In three sentences

    Regent University is a great college is you want to learn a lot about your major but also have a great college experience that will help someone prepare for the real world. Regent has a lot of clubs and other extracurricular activities that are fun and interactive with students at the school and neighboring universities in Virginia. If you want to go to a university where the teachers are helpful and the campus/students are nice and fun, the Regent University is or you!