Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Rend Lake College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/30/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a cheaper option that is close to home.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a good option if you want to get a Bacholer's Degree, but can not afford to go all four years at a university.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy being here, because it is close to home. It also has small class sizes to make learning easier.

    Will learn a lot

    I will be able to complete my Associate's as a Vaterinary Technician, and be certified in two years.

  • 02/18/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's very great for these types of students because, there are many people who are there to help you in any way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a very good school it will help you learn allot because, there are many people who are there to help you.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy being here because, it's close to home and I have family that attend this school. I also feel I can learn more from this school.

    Will learn a lot

    I think I will learn allot from this college because, I know allot of students that attend here. Also because I have heard allot of good things about this school.

  • 09/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I am learning a lot while going here. I am going here for two years, then transferring to a four year university to save money. I feel like the classes are the same as the university classes, only smaller, and they cost less money.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a small town school, with great teachers and staff. The people there plan great events for the students to get out and get to know one another.

    Am learning a lot

    I really like this school because the classes are small, so the students are able to get the help in class that they need.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe the cops here are very friendly and keep an eye out. I have two night class and I know when I'm going home I will be OK they are out and about. I also work on campus and if I need something all I have to do is call them and they are right there.

    Food and Dining

    Uncle Joe food is the best here in INA.

    Dorm Life

    I live in a town close by I don't live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take Mr. Meek he is the best

    In three sentences

    I love the college the teachers are great. I have done very good here. With I could get my bachelors here.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had any problems there are security guards on campus at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    They do have all kinds of clubs I did not get involved I do know they have thespiens club and PTK

    What to do for fun

    In the south oasis is a pool hall and t.v.s

    Food and Dining

    They have a Subway and a big dining area.

    Dorm Life

    I lived close enough so I drove back and forth.

    Academic Rigor

    They have all kinds of places to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your Homework and study hard. It is a great school and I am thankful I got to expeirence it .

    In three sentences

    Rend lake has been an excellent exprience for me. I would reccomend others to go here. They have some great teachers.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus office present almost everywhere you turn.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many to name. Just about anything you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    *Middle-class *Unconventional *Young Mothers *High School Graduates *EVERYONE!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have an RLC Fun fest every year which is like an on campus carnival. Also nearby they have the polar plunge where participants plunge into the icy lake in the middle of winter, raising money for the Special Olympics and programs alike.

    Bang for the buck

    Rend Lake is a VERY affordable college. I have know many of my friends who went off to expensive four year colleges only to have them return not even a year later to attend Rend Lake. The staff and programs available are an amazing deal for the education you get out of it.

    What to do for fun

    Rend Lake has many sports available to students. They provide a recreational center including a pool and a basketball court. The location is near the actual rend lake where boating, swimming, fishing, water sports and other recreations can be enjoyed nearby.

    Food and Dining

    There is an on-campus Subway Restaurant and at times a local barbecue restaurant has a cart available, but if not they are less than one mile away as is a McDonald's

    Dorm Life

    There are around 10 on-campus apartments available to students, although being a community college most live at home or on their own.

    Academic Rigor

    In my experience with Rend Lake's nursing program they expect ALOT out of their students. You will find no leniency is given. You work hard...you do well. They had a 98% board pass rate and the last two years it has been 100%

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk To a counselor as soon as possible. Get your finincial aid in order before signing up for classes (get your fasfa filled out!) Be realistic about what kind of goals you want to reach, and the amount of work you are willing to put into reaching them.

    In three sentences

    Rend Lake College is a small intimate almost one on one experience in every class that I have had. Teachers are passionate and most every department is more than willing to get you where you need to go. Academic Advisors are VERY helpful in planning for your choice career.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not too many options, but it has great areas to relax and study.

    Dorm Life

    I've heard the apartments are accommodating, but personally I do not know.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty challenging but very helpful!

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what major you want or area you want to strive towards.

    In three sentences

    Rend Lake has a small campus but great opportunities! It has a tightly knit campus community with faculty and staff that will help you in any way they can. The classes are very helpful to guide you on your walk in life.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not much happens here, yet security seems a bit unprepared for if anything happens.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a LGBT club, theater club, book club, honor societies, and several other clubs related to certain education programs.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want the small town feeling.

    Bang for the buck

    It will save you thousands of dollars in tuition.

    What to do for fun

    In the fall, we have FunFest, where students can take part in fun and games and get free food.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway on campus and a McDonald's a few miles away. Students can also drive 10 minutes away for other places.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are only for athletes, as it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, yet understandable if you take participation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start out here. Take your time and take a few classes per semester, as if you overload, this can toll you emotionally and mentally.

    In three sentences

    On a scale from 1 to 10, I give it a 7. Almost any program that you want or need to take is available here. The majority of the instructors or counselors will do their best to help you.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's an okay amount of active clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    It's good for students just wanting to get generals out of the way and then go to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not a bad price considering it's a community college.

    What to do for fun

    This is a college out in the middle of a corn field, literally. There isn't a whole lot to do but meet new people and become friends.

    Food and Dining

    All we have is a McDonalds and a Subway. You can of course drive about fifteen minutes and have a good choice, but that's only if you get a longer break.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not even for sure if they have dorms, if so it's very limited and not a lot of people stay there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask the professors questions! They are willing to help you there.

    In three sentences

    The professors here are nice and willing to work with you if you need extra help. Everyone seems to be friendly. The downside is it's a really small community college, so if that's not your thing then it probably isn't for you.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hunt/fish/play pool/ and golf.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good.

    Academic Rigor

    This past semester at Rend lake I received a 4.0 and got on the President's List. 1st time ever.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework-apply for scholarships-apply for financial aid early-and have fun .

    In three sentences

    They have helped me get on the right track of my career by my innitial classes. My instructors help me on a 1 to 1. Rend Lake has offered me a jump start on a career.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as I know, it is safe. Campus police on campus all day.

    Greek Life

    We have a few.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone and everything and if there isn't you can make one.

    Great for these types of students

    Gleeks out there our drama club and theater members are a lot of fun and put on entertaining events.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you bargain for. There are various clubs you can be a part of if you speak up and ask, there are plays and musicals to see, every holiday invites something new. If there is anything you are interested in making on campus, such as a club or organization, chances are you can.

    What to do for fun

    It's Southern Illinois. There are theaters to attend, bowling alleys, golfing, horseback riding, and any other Southern fun you can think of.

    Food and Dining

    The only food site currently on campus is Subway. Down the road is a gas station connected to a McDonalds with a Barbecue place next door. That is the only bummer.

    Dorm Life

    The only housing on campus is for athletes. However, there are apartments in the cities located by Ina.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on your major and what course load you take on. However, the professors test your knowledge and your capability. They are able to do it in a way that challenges you and makes you bring out the potential you didn't know you had. Don't pick morning classes if you're not a morning person. You may end up late a lot and missing some very important class discussions.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is in a small area so be prepared for that. Agriculture and mining are a big deal here since it is Southern Illinois. Always look to guidance counselors and/or STARS faculty to help you out with whatever you need. Your first time adjusting from high school to college shouldn't be scary and it doesn't have to be. Rend Lake is all about your success and fitting in just nice.

    In three sentences

    A very friendly and close-knit atmosphere. Teachers are down-to-earth and open your mind to learning to experiences. I felt my talents were challenged to the best of my ability.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Thespians - this is the comedy improv acting group on campus and I personally LOVE it. The best thing about Thespians: it's all done on the spot! The actor/actress has the freedom to create any situation/character/world they can possibly think of! Acts are similar to the games played on the hit TV show, Whose Line Is It Anyway?

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get every dollar worth out of your time at Rend Lake College.

    What to do for fun

    There are two pool tables and a couple of ping-pong tables in the Student Center, which contains a television (w/ cable) as well. The gym is open to use, most of the time, as are the aquatics center and cardio/weight room. Outside, there are multiple driving ranges for golfing purposes. Do you sing? Rend Lake College has a Choir and holds an annual musical in the Spring! Don't sing, but would like to play an instrument? Then Band is the place for you! Traditional Concert Band instruments are played, with the additions of keyboard and electric guitar! Finally, acting and theatre are more alive than ever at RLC with the Fall Play and the Thespians, a comedy improv group. There is much to do for fun at Rend Lake College. In fact, you may just find yourself having the time of your life!

    Food and Dining

    RLC does not have a cafeteria, but the Student Center does play home to Subway. Nearby food choices are a McDonalds and two locally owned restaurants, the Bonnie Cafe and Burton's Cafe.

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure about On-Campus housing since I commute to RLC.

    Academic Rigor

    Those in the Music Program easily have one of the busiest schedules at Rend Lake College, and the music room, along with the six, individual practice rooms, provide more-than-adequate accommodations for the participants. In the History department, students are required to write full essays for their tests, while still participating in multiple-choice tests. In the Communications field one is able to get a firm grasp on the art of communication, whether it be in Speech class, Interpersonal Communication, or another communications course

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a campus organization! College is what you make it; make the most of it by getting involved! Don't be afraid to step out of your comfort zone; if you want to try out for the Spring Musical, do it!

    In three sentences

    Small-town, but with a good, homey feel. Once on-campus and involved with campus organizations, the sense of community can really be felt. Teachers love what they teach, and it is easily seen after the first day in class.